728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Window Hardware or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 48 in. x 25 ft. Charcoal Super Solar Screen

48 in. x 25 ft. Charcoal Super Solar Screen

The ultimate in shading protection, this fabric blocks up to 90 percent of the sun's heat and glare before it reaches the window or glass. In addition to providing excellent sun control properties, this mesh also serves as an insect screen. It offers excellent outward visibility and is available in Charcoal and Silver Gray colors.
Overall rating:
4.739 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(23 reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
96%of customersrecommend this product22 of 23reviews
Rating Breakdown 23 reviews
4.7 out of 5.0
5
(20)
4
(2)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
96%of customersrecommend this product22 of 23reviews
Customer reviews for 48 in. x 25 ft. Charcoal Super Solar Screen
Review 1 for 48 in. x 25 ft. Charcoal Super Solar Screen
from Winter Haven, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does exactly what it advertises

PostedOctober 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We had installed solar screening on our house windows and noticed a big difference. We then decided to do our screen room , but had to special order because of the large size. We received the screens within one week and they look great after we installed them..We could not be happier...
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Stylish, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 48 in. x 25 ft. Charcoal Super Solar Screen

Excellent product for reducing solar transmission

PostedMarch 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Didn't want to put up curtains as want to enjoy the view but need to cut down on the solar heating and uv damage inside the house. Screen worked great mounted on the inside of the windows.
Pros: Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 48 in. x 25 ft. Charcoal Super Solar Screen
from Mission, TX, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

the best screen

PostedJune 25, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
i Live in the mission, tx or (RGV) so our summers are hot. at 1am the temp is around 83 degrees and in the day its from 100 to 110 easy. it so hot, we have contest to see whos eggs cooks the fastest on the street, no joke :) thses super solar screen are the best since i have in put them in my house is a lot cooler and my ac unit doesn't run as mush. plus you really can see in but you can see out with no problem. ill be honost i dont have the money to do all my window at one time, thats to expensive. i did two windows at a time over a course of 4 months, i have 10 big windows. but it is worth it cuz my electric bill went down from 180 to 100-120.
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 48 in. x 25 ft. Charcoal Super Solar Screen
from portland, maine
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

did not perform

PostedJune 20, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
i read the reviews for this product before buying and all were positive. however, after installing this screening on 3 southwest facing windows, i measured the inside temperature against similar windows with regular screen and noticed no difference at all...heat transfer just the same. the 60' roll i received looked like it had been cut from a larger roll by hand and the label stuck on after. i am not sure i got the material i ordered, especially since another reviewer described the material as nylon-like. this roll seemed like regular fiberglass mesh and performed the same. i am returning it for a refund.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 48 in. x 25 ft. Charcoal Super Solar Screen
from lancaster ca
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

product good quality

PostedJuly 19, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Product good quality have already recomended to a freind
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: No Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 48 in. x 25 ft. Charcoal Super Solar Screen
from Florida
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Seems to work

PostedApril 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had done part of the screens and seemed to help keep things a little cooler, so bought this roll to finish up the rest and you can tell even better now. Keeps out about 50% of the sunlight coming into the house, which seems to help with the fading of materials and flooring.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Easy to Move, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 48 in. x 25 ft. Charcoal Super Solar Screen
from Kaufman, TX

Excellent Product

PostedSeptember 10, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
All the details/specifications provided by the manufacturer about this product are accurate. Before, the heat transfer alone on the window frame was enough to burn you hands despite running a/c inside. There is no heat transfer on the window casing, thus reducing my energy consumption. It is difficult to see into the home from outside at night, and impossible during the day. Yet you can still see outside at anytime. The product is substancially cheaper at my local store. Online availability shouldn't deter you from checking your local store, my store carries the 36" roll despite stating online that they do not. If you intend to open your windows, I would recommend setting a box fan in the window seal to create a draft. The close knit design of this material doesn't flow air as freely as traditional aluminum screening. I would recommend this product to anyone looking to cool their home inexpensively. You will begin seeing savings on your utilities the moment you install. I was using 110Kwh per day, now using 60-80kwh whereas without running my a/c at all I draw 33-34kwh per day. By cutting off the a/c in which I have done, I have reduced my energy bill by approximately 66%
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 48 in. x 25 ft. Charcoal Super Solar Screen
from Zephyrhills, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

blocks alot of the hot sun

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
was easier to install than I anticipated, does a good job of blocking sunlight and give more privacy. The only downfall I have noticed is when it rains and screen gets wet you can not see through it
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 48 in. x 25 ft. Charcoal Super Solar Screen
from Oroville, CA

Super Solar Screen

PostedAugust 3, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Purchased this product and found it worked out even better than I had hope. By purchasing the big roll I was able to rescreen four windows and add one for less than if I purchased the smaller ones in the store. Also saved over $240 from the esitmate from our local glass shop.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 48 in. x 25 ft. Charcoal Super Solar Screen
from Pennsylvania, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Did the job

PostedMay 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was looking initially at window film to try to cool down a very hot sun room during the summer. After a very messy try with window film, I found this on an internet search. I didn't even know it existed. Luckily, I have full screens on all the sun room windows and gave it a try. Much easier to replace screening than to apply film. I will say that the room is a bit darker, but the temperature difference is worth it. Highly reccommend.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 48 in. x 25 ft. Charcoal Super Solar Screen
from Michigan, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Better than I expected.

PostedJune 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used it to screen in a covered car port. It was stapled to
4X7 ft. frames made from 2X3. Worked better than expected.
Pros: Durable
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 48 in. x 25 ft. Charcoal Super Solar Screen
from alameda
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

solar screen material

PostedJuly 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The solar screens are working just right to block the heat from the sun.
The room are 20 degrees cooler
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 48 in. x 25 ft. Charcoal Super Solar Screen
from Orange Park, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This product saves money on utility bills and gives you privacy

PostedJune 12, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I own a small home repair business and i tell all my friends and clients about this great product
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 48 in. x 25 ft. Charcoal Super Solar Screen
from Palmdale, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

cooler home

PostedJuly 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Our a/c comes on less, no bright sun in house, like under a shade tree, back of hand on window feels much cooler after installing these screens, put one on non screen part of window, too, for added coolness (using industrial velcro).
Pros: Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable
Cons: Difficult to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 48 in. x 25 ft. Charcoal Super Solar Screen
from Colorado, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great Product!

PostedJune 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was able to use on screens facing west. Colorado sun is intense - shading was good with view preserved. Easy to do yourself - slightly smaller spline was nicer to work with. I looked at solar shades that were going to cost several hundred dollars.
Pros: Easy to Install, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 48 in. x 25 ft. Charcoal Super Solar Screen
from Alabama

Knocks out the glare!

PostedJuly 10, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We found super solar screen when we lived under the hot, cloudless skies of CA. My kitchen window was directly over a stainless steel sink. It would sizzle with heat under the direct sunlight. When we put the screen up...what a difference! The glare was gone and the heat was drastically reduced. Since then, we've used this screen for our screened in porch and for all our windows. I love that during the daytime, I can look out, but it isn't easy for someone else to look in. The greatest thing about the screen, though, is the way it reduces the glare and DRASTICALLY cuts down on the heat coming in through the windows, Highly recommended!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 48 in. x 25 ft. Charcoal Super Solar Screen
from Nevada
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for afternoon sun

PostedApril 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Covered 3 large living room windows facing the afternoon sun here in the desert and they work great! At least 70% of sun' heat blocked. Wil eventually cover all windows on home.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, cheaper than a contracor if you do it yourself
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 48 in. x 25 ft. Charcoal Super Solar Screen
from Oregon
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product!

PostedAugust 21, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We had tried other ways to block the hot sun from coming through the skylights and nothing worked ... this product does. We even put it in our sliding door screens ... works great!
Pros: Durable, Sturdy
Cons: thicker than reg screen material, had to purchase narrower spline
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 48 in. x 25 ft. Charcoal Super Solar Screen
from Nashville, TN, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

excellent price and value for covering our pergola

PostedMay 29, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great price and quality for covering our pergola and blocking out heat. Also blocks out light rain which is nice for sitting outside.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 48 in. x 25 ft. Charcoal Super Solar Screen
from Kentucky

This product is GRAT!

PostedMay 15, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We have just finished putting our new solar screen on our screened-in porch. We only did part of the porch but now we are going to re-do the rest with the solar screen; it works great.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 >>