728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Window Hardware or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 36 in. x 25 ft. Charcoal Super Solar Screen

36 in. x 25 ft. Charcoal Super Solar Screen

The ultimate in shading protection, this fabric blocks up to 90 percent of the sun's heat and glare before it reaches the window or glass. In addition to providing excellent sun control properties, this mesh also serves as an insect screen. It offers excellent outward visibility and is available in Charcoal and Silver Gray colors.
Overall rating:
4.848 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(46 reviews) 46
Open Ratings Snapshot
95%of customersrecommend this product42 of 44reviews
Rating Breakdown 46 reviews
4.8 out of 5.0
5
(40)
4
(5)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
95%of customersrecommend this product42 of 44reviews
Customer reviews for 36 in. x 25 ft. Charcoal Super Solar Screen
Review 1 for 36 in. x 25 ft. Charcoal Super Solar Screen
from Lakewood, CO
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Looks nice.

PostedAugust 18, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I put the screen on this past weekend and it looks real nice. I did a test for two days, one with the new screen and one with the regular old screen. During the day there really isn't a huge difference when looking outside (see comparison photo). The cats and dog didn't have a preference and sat in front of both windows to look out. :) This did increase the privacy when looking in, but only during the daytime. It makes it real hard for the passerby's to simply look in without trying.
At night it does make it a bit harder to see out when it's dark on the outside with no lighting. Obviously if your lights are on inside those passerby's can see in, it just shades it a little bit, but not much. The privacy plus is definitely during the day.
A big plus is it helps with the pesky little tiny flying insects that would squeeze through a regular screen. This has helped reduce those little suckers! I don't find them on my counter top in the kitchen much anymore.
The biggest downfall to this screen is the breeze you lose. I held up a piece of paper in front of the regular screen and the paper blew horizontal. However, when I held this same piece of paper up to the new screen it only moved a little bit.
Overall, I'm still very pleased with the screen. It looks much better on the outside, kind of classy, and it does help with the privacy during the day. I believe it will also help with UV damage on the inside since it does help with the strength of the sun that comes in, as you can see in one of the other photos.
Pros: Durable, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, increases daytime privacy, decreases little tiny bugs from coming in, looks nice, reduces sun glare
Cons: decreases breeze, hard to see out of at night
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 36 in. x 25 ft. Charcoal Super Solar Screen
from Midwest
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product for heat control

PostedOctober 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I purchased this solar screen material to control the heat transfer from the south side of my house. It works really well and kept my house 2 to 4 degrees cooler inside.
I only replaced the screen material from the original screens that came with the windows. The only issue that I came into the screen material was thicker that the original screen and I had to change the spline to one size smaller. .125 to .105. I was able to do 9 screens with the material.
If you use this material invest in a good set of scissors, utility knife and a spline roller.
It does darken the room more that before but that was not an issue to me. It does give more privacy to the room. If you want more light you may have to go to a lower blocking fabric.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Stylish, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+55points
55out of 55found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 36 in. x 25 ft. Charcoal Super Solar Screen
from Baton Rouge area
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female

Love this screen

PostedSeptember 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I absolutely love this screen. I can't say if it will help with cooling bills because I have half screens, but I love the way it cuts the glare in the house. One reviewer didn't like the look because she had half screens. I don't see that as an issue. My husband wanted to pay someone to install screen for us, but after watching a couple of YouTube videos I knew I could do this. Don't buy the Phifer Black Screen Mouse (cheap plastic) buy the Spline Roller with Wooden Handle instead it was cheaper and worked much better.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 36 in. x 25 ft. Charcoal Super Solar Screen
from Reno, NV, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent heat reducer

PostedMay 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We bought a new house a couple of months ago and I've been looking for a way to reduce the heat gain in the master bedroom (faces southwest/west) in the high desert. I looked at every option available, and I mean every option. These screens reduce heat tremendously, are easy to work with and unlike tint you can take them down (depending on how install them) in the winter when you want the extra sun. The master bedroom is now the coolest room in the house right now thanks to these screens.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 36 in. x 25 ft. Charcoal Super Solar Screen
from HOPE MILLS,NC
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best bang for the buck

PostedJuly 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product has reduced the heat and light coming in the windows that face west. I do not have full screens so I had to cut the pieces to fit the frame and used Velcro strips to attach. The Velcro did not adhere to the screen so I stapled it on. So far so good.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 36 in. x 25 ft. Charcoal Super Solar Screen
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female

Not for me

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I didn't want to want to lower the rating of these quality screens so I was careful with how I rated it. Yet for me, these did not work out and caused my poor husband to rescreen what he had just screened. We have half screens on our windows and live in the country with beautiful views. Maybe if our house had full screens I might have been happier with them? From the exterior, each window looked blacked out from outside the house. Looking through these screens blurred the outside images like you were looking through some strange camera filter and turned the inside of the house into a cloudy day. I was going for energy efficiency but couldn't live with the filtered views in our light and bright house. Material was excellent and you definitely can't see through them from the outside, so you may love them in your situation. Just not for me.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install
Cons: vision clarity
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 36 in. x 25 ft. Charcoal Super Solar Screen
from ga
Age Range:65 or over

Beat the summer heat

PostedApril 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This product is a thick nylon fabric that blocks an amazing amount of heat and glare while leaving the outside view still visible from inside the house. When windows are viewed from the outside the screen blocks light so the window is not visible providing privacy. Value is a subjective item, the material is somewhat expensive.
Pros: Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, i used spline from existing screen
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+11points
17out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 36 in. x 25 ft. Charcoal Super Solar Screen
from Swansboro, NC
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

installed on All windows in my home in NC......no more hot glass radiating into the house...will reduce cost of cooling this summer.....

PostedJuly 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to install on existing screen frames............
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 36 in. x 25 ft. Charcoal Super Solar Screen
from Land O Lakes, FL
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Super Solar Screen

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Great product, I just wish Home Depot sold thicker/larger screen frame. Using this product causes the frame to bend substantially, as the solar screen does not stretch. Home Depot also does not sell materials for inserting cross braces to prevent the bending of the frame.
I was able to prevent much of the bending by inserting temporary cross supports during screen spline installation. After removal, the screen frame still bends, but not as much. The screen just has some slack in it.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Nice Design
Cons: compatible hardware is limited
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 36 in. x 25 ft. Charcoal Super Solar Screen
from West Charlton, NY
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Perfect for sun drenched rooms

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We have 4 large skylights in our sunroom that allowed far to much sunlight into the room, making it almost unbearable to sit in.
I replaced the existing screen with this product and it easily dropped the temperature in the room by 10-15 degrees. I have also installed it in other skylights in the house with similar results.
Can't recommend this product enough if you have a room that allows too much sunlight in.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 36 in. x 25 ft. Charcoal Super Solar Screen

This product is amazing!

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product is amazing! It was easy to re-fit my window screens with the new screen material. It has made our south-west facing sunroom comfortable and cooler.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 36 in. x 25 ft. Charcoal Super Solar Screen
from Colorado Springs, CO

works as advertised

PostedAugust 9, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
does its job. HOWEVER, and this is a big "BUT", AIR does NOT come through this screen easily. I live in Colorado, and believe it or not, it does it hot here. At 6000 feet, the sun it pretty darn warm during the day. But at night, it still gets pretty cool and we like the windows open, usually with a fan in them. We noticed a HUGE difference in how the fans operate with this screen. Our rooms do NOT get cool even with the fans after installing this screen. The fans can't pull air through the screens. BIG DOWNSIDE for us. We are going to be removing some of the screens from the windows we use at night because of this.
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 36 in. x 25 ft. Charcoal Super Solar Screen
from Minneapolis, MN, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Way to Save on Solar Screens

PostedJune 25, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought the 25 foot roll for $52. I stapled hem at top and put in Spring rods. Covered 9 narrow windows in my sunroom.
I'll pop them out in Winter!
Love the privacy at night. They are in window behind my wooden blinds.
Couldn't be more thrilled! Ordering solar panels for these windows would have cost $100's!
+38points
38out of 38found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 36 in. x 25 ft. Charcoal Super Solar Screen

Worth the effort

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product is terrific in my opinion! It is a big help in reducing electric bills. I have rental property. I am in the process of putting it on all the properties.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 36 in. x 25 ft. Charcoal Super Solar Screen
from Texas, USA

This is an excellent product. I would recommend this product for those who want to cut down on their utility bill.

PostedJune 13, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is an excellent product. I would recommend this product for those who want to cut down on their utility bill. I installed the solar screen on all the windows and it does a great job of keeping out the heat.
I normally set the thermostat on 70 degrees during the summer while I’m away. So far this year setting the thermostat on 76, keeps the house cool. Since this is the beginning of Texas summer, I’ll have to wait another month to see if I need to adjust my thermostat.
+22points
22out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 36 in. x 25 ft. Charcoal Super Solar Screen
from Galloway NJ
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

What we wanted

PostedJune 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Provides good privacy. You also get some solar protection.Because this material is thick you will need a thinner spline.
Pros: Sturdy
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 36 in. x 25 ft. Charcoal Super Solar Screen
from Omaha, Nebraska
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Must have!!!

PostedApril 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We will never be without these screens on our home again. Not only is the reduction of heat tremendous but the daytime privacy is great too and they gave a very uniform look to the house on the outside. All of our neighbors are now wanting these screens.
The only cons are that window fans don't work as optimally and the screen is a little on the pricey side. But now having these screens keeps our A/C from running ALL DAY LONG... it actually shuts off now throughout the day saving energy.
Installation was also extremely easy. If you need to cut the heat and want privacy too, buy this screen - you won't be disappointed.
Also, we just had a couple of days of severe weather (thunderstorms) and the screens held up perfectly.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 36 in. x 25 ft. Charcoal Super Solar Screen
from Illinois, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very effective product

PostedJune 5, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Very satisfied with the product. Does a very good job reducing the solar heat gain on a bank of non-opening windows on the west side of house. I do not have a non-contact thermometer to measure the surface reduction in temps to say it is a full 90% reduction in heat, but I will say the A/C works a lot less now. The product is very thick. so make sure you allow for this when purchasing the spline (think very small diameter here) otherwise you will have a difficult time. Offers excellent light transmission even when sun is not shining directly in windows, but looks like someone painted the windows with a black paint when looking in from the outside (excellent privacy control). I am very satisfied and highly recommend this product.
+19points
21out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 36 in. x 25 ft. Charcoal Super Solar Screen
from Ottawa, Illinois
Age Range:65 or over
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works well

PostedJuly 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Applied to wooden screens using 1/8-inch router straight bit and .125 spline. Greatly reduces effect of sun on wooden windows on south and west and seems to keep some summer heat out. Screen blocks view from outside in day but at night, with light on inside, folks outside can see inside. Product is heavier than ordinary screening of same size. Complete satisfaction.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 36 in. x 25 ft. Charcoal Super Solar Screen

Solar Screen Winner

PostedMay 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We purchased this solar screening because we get a lot of sun coming in the house. It has helped reduce the heat. We did have to air the screens out for a few days before we put them in and they are much darker than normal screening. But overall it was an excellent purchase for us.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>