728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Window Hardware or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 36 in. x 25 ft. Charcoal Super Solar Screen

36 in. x 25 ft. Charcoal Super Solar Screen

The ultimate in shading protection, this fabric blocks up to 90 percent of the sun's heat and glare before it reaches the window or glass. In addition to providing excellent sun control properties, this mesh also serves as an insect screen. It offers excellent outward visibility and is available in Charcoal and Silver Gray colors.
Overall rating:
4.882 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(34 reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
97%of customersrecommend this product31 of 32reviews
Rating Breakdown 34 reviews
4.9 out of 5.0
5
(31)
4
(2)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
97%of customersrecommend this product31 of 32reviews
Customer reviews for 36 in. x 25 ft. Charcoal Super Solar Screen
Review 1 for 36 in. x 25 ft. Charcoal Super Solar Screen
Boomer69
from Midwest
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product for heat control

PostedOctober 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I purchased this solar screen material to control the heat transfer from the south side of my house. It works really well and kept my house 2 to 4 degrees cooler inside.
I only replaced the screen material from the original screens that came with the windows. The only issue that I came into the screen material was thicker that the original screen and I had to change the spline to one size smaller. .125 to .105. I was able to do 9 screens with the material.
If you use this material invest in a good set of scissors, utility knife and a spline roller.
It does darken the room more that before but that was not an issue to me. It does give more privacy to the room. If you want more light you may have to go to a lower blocking fabric.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Stylish, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+36points
36out of 36found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 36 in. x 25 ft. Charcoal Super Solar Screen
JimmyG
from ga
Age Range:65 or over

Beat the summer heat

PostedApril 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This product is a thick nylon fabric that blocks an amazing amount of heat and glare while leaving the outside view still visible from inside the house. When windows are viewed from the outside the screen blocks light so the window is not visible providing privacy. Value is a subjective item, the material is somewhat expensive.
Pros: Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, i used spline from existing screen
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+4points
9out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 36 in. x 25 ft. Charcoal Super Solar Screen
Merrill
from Minneapolis, MN, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Way to Save on Solar Screens

PostedJune 25, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought the 25 foot roll for $52. I stapled hem at top and put in Spring rods. Covered 9 narrow windows in my sunroom.
I'll pop them out in Winter!
Love the privacy at night. They are in window behind my wooden blinds.
Couldn't be more thrilled! Ordering solar panels for these windows would have cost $100's!
+31points
31out of 31found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 36 in. x 25 ft. Charcoal Super Solar Screen
JoeD
from Englewood, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Effective at blocking sun's rays

PostedDecember 15, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Product was easy to install and effective at blocking sun's harmful rays. However, I can't say it reduced the temperature as some folks wrote in previous reviews. The before and after temps were very similar.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 36 in. x 25 ft. Charcoal Super Solar Screen
Paul
from Texas, USA

This is an excellent product. I would recommend this product for those who want to cut down on their utility bill.

PostedJune 13, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is an excellent product. I would recommend this product for those who want to cut down on their utility bill. I installed the solar screen on all the windows and it does a great job of keeping out the heat.
I normally set the thermostat on 70 degrees during the summer while I’m away. So far this year setting the thermostat on 76, keeps the house cool. Since this is the beginning of Texas summer, I’ll have to wait another month to see if I need to adjust my thermostat.
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 36 in. x 25 ft. Charcoal Super Solar Screen
SECO
from Colorado Springs, CO

works as advertised

PostedAugust 9, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
does its job. HOWEVER, and this is a big "BUT", AIR does NOT come through this screen easily. I live in Colorado, and believe it or not, it does it hot here. At 6000 feet, the sun it pretty darn warm during the day. But at night, it still gets pretty cool and we like the windows open, usually with a fan in them. We noticed a HUGE difference in how the fans operate with this screen. Our rooms do NOT get cool even with the fans after installing this screen. The fans can't pull air through the screens. BIG DOWNSIDE for us. We are going to be removing some of the screens from the windows we use at night because of this.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 36 in. x 25 ft. Charcoal Super Solar Screen
JennB
from Omaha, Nebraska
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Must have!!!

PostedApril 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We will never be without these screens on our home again. Not only is the reduction of heat tremendous but the daytime privacy is great too and they gave a very uniform look to the house on the outside. All of our neighbors are now wanting these screens.
The only cons are that window fans don't work as optimally and the screen is a little on the pricey side. But now having these screens keeps our A/C from running ALL DAY LONG... it actually shuts off now throughout the day saving energy.
Installation was also extremely easy. If you need to cut the heat and want privacy too, buy this screen - you won't be disappointed.
Also, we just had a couple of days of severe weather (thunderstorms) and the screens held up perfectly.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 36 in. x 25 ft. Charcoal Super Solar Screen
AFVet
from Illinois, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very effective product

PostedJune 5, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Very satisfied with the product. Does a very good job reducing the solar heat gain on a bank of non-opening windows on the west side of house. I do not have a non-contact thermometer to measure the surface reduction in temps to say it is a full 90% reduction in heat, but I will say the A/C works a lot less now. The product is very thick. so make sure you allow for this when purchasing the spline (think very small diameter here) otherwise you will have a difficult time. Offers excellent light transmission even when sun is not shining directly in windows, but looks like someone painted the windows with a black paint when looking in from the outside (excellent privacy control). I am very satisfied and highly recommend this product.
+17points
19out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 36 in. x 25 ft. Charcoal Super Solar Screen
consumer

Solar Screen Winner

PostedMay 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We purchased this solar screening because we get a lot of sun coming in the house. It has helped reduce the heat. We did have to air the screens out for a few days before we put them in and they are much darker than normal screening. But overall it was an excellent purchase for us.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 36 in. x 25 ft. Charcoal Super Solar Screen
GSD3
from Colorado
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

More than I actually expected it to do.

PostedJuly 20, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is the first time I have ever reviewed a product but because I was so impressed I could not pass it up. Afternoon sun was killing me, I could never get the AC below 75 and worse on the second floor. I installed these on almost all of my west facing windows and could tell a difference after installing the first one. I have one big 70x70 window and 2 34 x 70 windows next to it which is where my thermostat is located. Yesterday temps were 98 and I actually had to turn the AC off when it showed 73 because it was cold in the house. I know it has only been 2 days but have no reason to believe these screen would not help anyone having the same problem I did. I actually ended up building full screens to cover the entire window and placed them inside behind the wood blinds. Also did the master bedroom on the second floor which has 2 sliding glass doors out to the deck. I only did the screen but am considering putting velcro or command strips to cover the other half. Wife is a day sleeper and even with the best tint I could find the sun was brutal, well not anymore she is as snug as a bug in a rug.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Easy to Move, Good Size & Weight
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 36 in. x 25 ft. Charcoal Super Solar Screen
Tech
from Walterboro, SC

Solar Screen

PostedJuly 25, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
36 In. x 25 Ft. Charcoal Super
This is the best window screen. It does deflect the heat by the sun by at least 90%. And you can see out of the window real well. I put it on a window space that has 4 windows taking up a a area of 4'x4' that we could feel the heat from the sun coming in 10' away from the window, now no more heat comes in.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 36 in. x 25 ft. Charcoal Super Solar Screen
taxidermist
from Blountsville, AL 35031, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product.

PostedOctober 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It keeps the sunlight heat from entering your windows and provides daylight security from anyone looking into your home from the outside. Home Depot was the only place I could find the larger rolls at a reasonable price. The free shipping was also a big plus.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 36 in. x 25 ft. Charcoal Super Solar Screen
hatonam
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

So far so good

PostedMay 23, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Can't really tell how well this stuff works yet, since the heat of summer has not arrived. The best way to describe screen is that it acts like exterior shade for a window. Using an infrared thermometer the screened windows seem to be about 5 to 6 degrees cooler than adjacent unscreened windows and also block a majority of the heat coming from the glass.
On a side note, if making large screens try to get a cross bar or something to hold the screen frame square when rolling the screen in place or the screen frame may bend slightly.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 36 in. x 25 ft. Charcoal Super Solar Screen
Anonymous
from San Antonio, Texas

Solar Screen

PostedFebruary 17, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have installed these solar screens in every window in my home. Living in in San Antonio, Texas, we are faced with extremely hot weather for at least 6 months each year.
Although my all-electric home still has the meter spinning during the heat of the day, I would hate to imagine how much my electric bill would be without these screens.
Very reasonably priced, and easy-to-follow instructions make this a product which will pay for itself through lower energy costs.
Thank you Home Depot!!!!
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 36 in. x 25 ft. Charcoal Super Solar Screen
plincoln54
from Culleoka, Tennessee

Great Product

PostedSeptember 15, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This solar screen blocks a lot of the heat coming in thru the windows when the sun is really beaming down. We have double pane windows, but were still getting a lot of heat coming thru, but after replacing the screen mesh with this super solar material, it cut the heat down by at least 3/4 of what it was. I was also impressed by how easy it was to install on the screen frames. This was my first time to ever replace screening and I had absolutely no problems with this product.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 36 in. x 25 ft. Charcoal Super Solar Screen
Storm
from Outer Banks
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great Product!

PostedAugust 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We have been using the Super Solar Screen for approximately three years and have found it to be an excellent product. It reduces heat from the sun, which helps with your electric bill, and has withstood several storms on the Outer Banks of NC.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 36 in. x 25 ft. Charcoal Super Solar Screen
jds276
from Malibu, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

really cuts heat

PostedMarch 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased the screen to make my own skylight solar covers. I cut and placed them over our velux skylights using black boat ties. Can't even tell they are on my roof and cuts down on heat tremendously. Saved a bunch of money in purchasing premade skylight covers--can take them down at the end of summer and wash. Well made to withstand the sun and So Cal Santa Ana Winds.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 36 in. x 25 ft. Charcoal Super Solar Screen
BillF
from Dillard, GA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product

PostedJune 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
One end of my house gets the full blast of the evening sun. I put solar film on the windows and it helped a little but not enough. I installed it today, went to dinner and when I came back there was a definate drop in temperature from what it was just the day before. I still have some additional windows to do, wish I found this product earlier.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Easy to Move, Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 36 in. x 25 ft. Charcoal Super Solar Screen
LMNO1

This worked at cutting out the heat from the sun!

PostedAugust 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product was incredible at cutting out the sun's heat in a front bedroom. It is very black looking from outside the house, but you can see clearly outside from the inside. We still can't believe how cool our room is now.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 36 in. x 25 ft. Charcoal Super Solar Screen
1998gst
from Melbourne, FL 32940

Charcoal Super Solar Screen

PostedMay 1, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Excellent item, it saves on heat cosumption from radiating thru the window and improves the tinting effect from having too much light from the sun beaming thru the window, its a must living here in florida i could tell the difference using the super solar screen over the ordinary house window screen and best of all i think its worth the price!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 >>