728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Garage Door Openers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Whisper Drive Plus 3/4 HP Belt Drive Garage Door Opener

Whisper Drive Plus 3/4 HP Belt Drive Garage Door Opener

The Chamberlain Whisper Drive Plus 3/4 HP Belt Drive Garage Door Opener operates even when the electric power fails in your house. Its EverCharge Standby power system keeps the opener going for up to 20 full cycles when your power fails. The unit's solid steel chassis and rail are durable and long-lasting. The lighting unit is 200 watts for ample illumination of your garage when you pull your car in. You can feel secure knowing the Security Rolling Code Technology changes the code to 1 of 100 billion never-repeated, new codes whenever you activate the remote control.
Overall rating:
4.339 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(127 reviews) 127
Open Ratings Snapshot
86%of customersrecommend this product107 of 124reviews
Rating Breakdown 127 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(93)
4
(10)
3
(6)
2
(10)
1
(8)
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Value 
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9 out of 5
Quality 
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9 out of 5
86%of customersrecommend this product107 of 124reviews
Customer questions and answers:
18 Questions | 41 Answers
Customer reviews for Whisper Drive Plus 3/4 HP Belt Drive Garage Door Opener
Review 1 for Whisper Drive Plus 3/4 HP Belt Drive Garage Door Opener
from New York

Very Quiet

PostedApril 17, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I just replaced 2 11-year old Genie screw drive garage door openers with this opener. Assembly of both openers took 3 hours (1.5 hours each) and installation took 2.5-3 hours for each one. I saved some time because I had most of the necessary wiring in place from the previous openers as well as some ceiling brackets.
You will want to do your homework on what brackets you might need to attach the opener to the ceiling since they do not include the parts for this step. It would be a wise investment to pick up some straight and 90 degree brackets if you don't have any on hand before you start installation.
I ran into one glitch during assembly when I was assembling the Trolly Threaded Shaft. It did not fit into its intended hole, so I tried widening the hole to fix the issue. The instruction state clearly (twice, in bold) "Be sure the belt is not twisted and the FLAT side of the trolly threaded shaft faces the rail" but I stopped reading after "belt is not twisted". So I messed up the threads on the shaft which caused me some aggravation that I ultimately worked through. If my experience prevents someone else from making that mistake, it will be worth it.
Once installed, the openers were remarkably quiet. Our bedrooms are above our garage, so this is a welcome change from 11 years of rattling every time someone came home.
Programming the units to my Honda Homelink was tricky, but I finally got it. Here were the steps:
1. Cleared previous codes from homelink by holding 2 outer buttons (steady flash, fast flashes, no flashes)
2. Pressed and held programmed remote and desired homelink button together (fast flashes, slow flashes, no flashes)
3. Pressed learn button on opener
4. Within 30 seconds, and 10 feet from opener, press and hold desired homelink button until light bulbs on opener blink
My unit came with a security + device that lets you turn on a light or a tv when a programmed button on the garage door remote is pressed. Honestly, I could have done without this. I'll keep thinking of a practical use, but so far, nada.
Finally, I had some issues with the signal of the remotes either requiring that I get very close or not working at all. I was very upset that this unit had all of these cool features, but then didn't do its primary function of opening the garage door. I made two changes, one of which corrected the issue.
1. I stripped about 1" of insulation from teh end of the antenna wire that hangs out of the opener and braided it to some extra wire I had from the installation. I ran that wire along my ceiling across the width of my garage (essentially increasing the size of the antenna)
2. I unplugged the security + device that was plugged into the outlet that the opener was plugged into. (maybe it was causing some sort of interference)
Afterwards, I could open both doors reliably from the street.
All in all, I am happy with these openers and hope they last at least as long as my previous openers.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Whisper Drive Plus 3/4 HP Belt Drive Garage Door Opener
from Atlanta, Ga

Bar none, the absolute quietest you will EVER find

PostedOctober 15, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I installed this a week ago. Installation really was pretty easy. No complaints at all on it. The instructions were very well written and easy to follow.
This HAS to be the quietest garage door opener out there. It is unbelievably quiet. The best way to describe it would be.... imagine it's Saturday morning. There's someone asleep in the bedroom directly above the garage. You need to open the garage, but you really don't want to wake anyone, so you pull the cable that releases the garage door opener from the unit, and ohhhhhh so quietly open it up by hand. THAT's how quiet this one is. The only noise you hear is from the sectionals of the garage separating as it rolls up the curves of the track. MOST likely if you were on your cell phone in the garage (probably even with it on speakerphone), the person on the other end of the phone wouldn't be able to tell you were opening it. It's even quieter going down.
And I LOVE the lighted control panel that comes with it. It's great to just walk into the garage and the lights turn on all by themselves, thanks to the motion detector built in. I put two 100 watt spiral fluorescent bulbs in mine, so it's cool to the touch, and you can never have too much light in the garage. Getting a quick peek at the time and garage temperature is neat too.
Programming the remotes is a breeze too, thanks to pushing a button on the wall mount controller. The only added expense was for their Universal Clicker, because although I now own two garage door openers, the other is a Genie Intellicode. It too, programmed easily, so I'm still driving with only one remote in my car instead of one for this one and one for the Genie.
Bank on it..... if I ever have to sell the house, I will put up a cheaper garage door opener, and this one will go with me.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Whisper Drive Plus 3/4 HP Belt Drive Garage Door Opener
from Atlanta, GA

Will make you a true believer

PostedFebruary 17, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I read all the reviews on this site and I was a little skeptical. My old chain drive opener needed replacement. I first bought a screw drive system from another retailer. After going through the whole process. I just couldn't believe the screw drive was twice as loud as my 13 year old chain drive opener. I returned all three openers that I had purchased. I was told the openers were made by Chamberlain for this other retailer. So again I was a bit skeptical when reading these reviews on the HD900D. I really was going to buy Genie openers because they have a good rep. But they only had Screw drive. I don't change garage door openers for fun, so I didn't really want to go the screw drive route again. I took a chance on the belt drive... Believe me, You will be completely amazed at how quiet and technically advanced this opener is.. I called Chamberlain and asked if it was any different from the model they have on their web site. I was told it was the very same unit with different graphics for Home Depot. The other difference is you get a much better wall console and you also get the surge protector and the light remote for any plug in light in the house with the Home Depot version.
In all the time we lived in this house we just dealt with the noise and considered it normal. Well it is not normal. With this open you only hear a little noise from the rollers on the garage door as they travel in the track. You don't hear the opener at all. Truly unbelievable. This opener opens the door very quickly and doesn't start with a sudden movement or even stop with a bang like all of the other openers. It starts slowly and stops slowly to add to the quietness. You will be very satisfied with this opener and all of it high tech advantages. Highly recommended.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Whisper Drive Plus 3/4 HP Belt Drive Garage Door Opener

Happy until recently....

PostedApril 14, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Warning: Long read...
The install of this unit was easy and straight forward. Up until recently I was quite happy until my wall mount control unit display started to act up. The display would disappear at random. The final nail was when my neighbor called and said that I left my garage door open. This is funny as I sit in the driveway each day to watch it close before I drive off. Anomaly, maybe...fast forward to recently. I was sitting watching TV when I heard the garage door open. I went in to the garage and noticed again that the wall unit display was out AND that the button that is used to activate it was "latched down" or stuck in a state between on and off. I surmised that the switch itself was defective based on the display, switching mechanism(read: cheap) and I contacted Chamberlain customer support via e-mail. At first they were responsive asking for the pertinent data (model, serial #, etc). After not hearing a response for ~2 weeks, I received 2 e-mails. One, stating that my ticket was closed/solved becuase I did not supply the info requested. In fact I did and IO had the e-mail to prove it. I resen the data asking why the ticket was closed, etc. Also a survey asking how satisfied my interaction was with CS was sent at the same time. I responded to the survey expressing my displeasure with closing a ticket without attempting a resolution. I have yet to hear back from them. The unit when it works I am happy with, the CS has not .Based on the internet reviews and the the issues this controller seems to have, they surely must be aware of it. Having a garage door open on it's own is a major security issue and unless this gets resolved I can not at this time recommend this opener or Chamberlain. Sorry..
+16points
18out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Whisper Drive Plus 3/4 HP Belt Drive Garage Door Opener
from Detroit, MI

Garage Door Opener Has It All!

PostedDecember 7, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This opener includes everything you could want. Battery Backup, Remote Keyless Entry, Garage Door Opener Surge Suppressor, Plug-in Light Control - Allows the garage remote to control another lamp or small appliance, two handheld Remotes, Control Panel with Motion Sensor - Time - and Temp.
I installed this in 3 hours. I recommend that you read the instruction manual completely before installing. Follow the instructions carefully. I was replacing another opener so that saved me quite a bit of time because I reused my optical eye sensors, wiring, and bracket supports. Brand new installations will likely require the purchase of additional support brackets. It took me a little extra time to do the optional step of wiring the system into the included garage door surge suppressor. The suppressor actually has connections for the optical sensor wires and control panel wires, as well as power.
This opener is much quieter than my previous chain driven opener. I love all the features. The battery backup allows the door to open and close when there is a power outage. The control panel even has a learn button on it so that you can easily program the remotes or in vehicle remotes without having to use a ladder to press the learn button on the opener. The panel also has a motion sensor. Now when I enter the garage from the side door, where the panel is mounted, the lights turn on as soon as I walk in. No fumbling around for the light switch.
There are cheaper alternatives, but with all these features, I think this opener is a tremendous value.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Whisper Drive Plus 3/4 HP Belt Drive Garage Door Opener
from Utah

Super Quiet, worth the money.

PostedNovember 10, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This opener is very quiet and sets up easily. It took me and my 13 year old about 3 hours to set up, including dismantling the old one. It would have gone a little faster but I was using it as a teaching moment for him. The directions are easy to follow but I wouldn't recommend skipping over them. My 13 year old programmed the door in about 5 minutes. It uses buttons on the unit to set the upper and lower limits so it was like a video game to him. He also set up the keypad remote in no time. The unit has plenty of power and makes less noise than the door rollers. I was nervous after reading the bad reviews that the door would open and close on its own but after 2 months we have not had that happen once. The digital display is nice because it gives you the temperature in the garage and tells you if there is an obstruction of the safety beam. It also has a motion sensor that turns on the units lights when we open the door from the house to the garage, so no more fumbling for the light switch. I wonder if some of the people who have had trouble with these units wired them wrong because the ports for the safety beam lights and the keypad are very close to each other and you MUST refer to the diagram to make sure you are inserting them in correctly. The battery backup has even come in handy after a bad storm and we didn't have power for 4 hours. We are very happy with this product.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Whisper Drive Plus 3/4 HP Belt Drive Garage Door Opener
from Wisconsin

We Love Them

PostedMay 19, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We added a stall onto our garage and now have three single doors. We chose the Chamberlain belt drive 3/4 hp on the ratings we had read from others who purchased them. I cannot think of even the slightest disappointment. Perhaps our favorite of all the features is the motion detector which is attatched to the interior control panel/opener. The lights turn on immediately when we open the door from the house to the attatched garage. No need to look for a switch or press the opener button to turn on the opener lights. In fact, if we don't need to use the car, we don't have to turn on the other garge lights in most cases. The door opener lights takes care of most situtations and we need need to look for a light switch and they turn themselves off.
The opener themselves are out of this world to say the least. They are simply quiet beyond compare. I can't imagine anyone giving this opener anything but 5 stars.
I appreciate all the comments people have made as it helped me make my decision to purchase this unit. We own three and I guess that says we should give them 5 stars x3 or 15 stars
.Our last opener to operate a double wide door was a Chamberlain chain drive. We sold it used after 15 years for $75 and it worked as good as the first day. Wow! Thank you Home Depot and Chamberlain.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Whisper Drive Plus 3/4 HP Belt Drive Garage Door Opener
from East Lansing, MI

Quiet, Fast, Smart, Amazing.

PostedMay 5, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This truely is the best opener on the market. Period. I replaced a old Genie 450 Screw Drive (Mde in 1969) with this opener. I did have to move around the mounting, but that was no big deal. It was great because the manual was very accurate, and I could use most of my old hardware. It is extremely fast! Much faster than most operators. I chose this unit over a Genie Excelerator (Because Genie is not like they used to be. Their products have so many problems and they are not made with quality...) But hey, EverCharge is wonderful. I don't get many outages, but they do happen. Especialy durring thunderstorms. So this unit will be used to mfy benifit.
Ohh, and durring installation, make sure you hook the sensors up properly before even operating the opener. I didn't do that, and tried opening it. The motor will not close. It will keep going towards the unit no matter how many times the buttons are pressed... to the point where it runs into the bolt closest to the unit on the rail and is not good for the opener. So use caution there.
Overall, this is a wonderful opener. extremely fast, extremely quiet, and so on. The panel is awesome. Displays errors with unit. Tells you how charged the battery is, temperature, and time. I will reccomend this to others.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Whisper Drive Plus 3/4 HP Belt Drive Garage Door Opener
from Minot, ND

Excellent Product So Far

PostedJanuary 10, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I recently replaced two of my three Wayne Dalton I-Drives (good in theory, worthless in practice, at least in cold weather area) I had installed when I built my home three years ago with two of these openers. They were relatively easy to assemble, install, and program. They are very quite and work very well in my opinion. They are not super fast but I am satisfied with speed. I like the time and temperature readings on the wall control. I did not install the battery for the battery backup as I rely on a generator if the power is out and I am not interested in the potential of a battery leaking above my new Expedition. I have not tried the remote light switch as of yet. My only complaint is that I have 8' high doors and the rail extension kit you have to purchase seperately is quite expensive. If they would offer a model for an 8' door without the 7' track end piece and belt (that you don't use if you get a rail extension) for perhpas just a little more money, it would be appreciated. I have no complaints other than that and I am really pleased with this opener.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Whisper Drive Plus 3/4 HP Belt Drive Garage Door Opener
from Tempe

Great price, great product

PostedSeptember 17, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is an excellent GDO, at an excellent price. Some other models emphasize the battery backup. This one doesn't emphasize it in the ads, and I didn't realize it was included until I saw the box in the store. Previously I had been looking for another model, specifically for battery backup, until I saw this one.
Very quiet, lots of features. I like that you can program remotes right from the wall console, instead of having to climb a ladder and push buttons on the opener itself. I like the plain English messages on the console, instead of cryptic blinking lights. Time and temperature display is a nice extra.
I was replacing an old Chamberlain, and was able to keep the old safety sensors in place, saving a lot of time remounting and rewiring everything. I also didn't have to replace most of the mounting hardware, again saving time.
Motion limit adjustment is also a breeze. No screws to turn. Just push the purple or black buttons until the door comes to where you want, and you are done.
Now if I get 10 years out of it, like the last one, I'll be happy.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Whisper Drive Plus 3/4 HP Belt Drive Garage Door Opener
from Rowlett ,Tx

A must buy!

PostedJuly 7, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My old Genie bit the dust, and after reading terrible reviews about Genie, and GLOWING reviews about this product, how could I buy anything else? And boy, am I glad I did! This opener was fairly simple to install, with clear, straightforward instructions, and very helpful and courteous customer service reps when and if you need help during your installation. After I installed it, I was amazed. It operates so silently, you literally have to be standing underneath it to know it's even operating. And I love the control pad--it has a motion detector so when I walk into my garage, it turns on the lights for me automatically. It also has a thermometer and a clock, as well as being constantly backlit for easy visiblilty. My old Genie actually hurt my ears if I was in the garage during its operation, and this model makes you wonder why all the others aren't all using this as the one to duplicate. All this, on top of the fact that The Home Depot recently reduced the price of this model to match the price of the 1/2 horsepower model, made it too good to pass up.
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Whisper Drive Plus 3/4 HP Belt Drive Garage Door Opener
from Kingsburg, CA

Best Garage Door Opener on the market

PostedFebruary 18, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This opener is amazing! Super quiet and smooth. I knew that the opener that came with my house was a pile of junk, but I didn't realize just how good an opener could be. I have a two story house and you cannot even hear the opener in the room right above the garage. This is the quietest/smoothest opener that I have ever seen! The instructions are great and the Home Depot package is competitively priced and actually comes with more accessories than other online companies.
The only criticism that I have is that I had to purchase an extension kit for my 8' tall garage door. What a waste to have to throw away a perfectly good belt! It would be more work for the company to package/label/sell two different openers for 7' and 8' doors, but I think that it would be the responsible thing to do considering I just threw away brand new stuff.
That being said, you will quickly forget filling up the landfill after you run this thing a few times. Well worth the extra money....especially when you fire it up for the first time when your neighborhood is without power!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Whisper Drive Plus 3/4 HP Belt Drive Garage Door Opener
from Olathe, KS

Chamberlain Garage Door Opener

PostedJanuary 9, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought my wife this door opener decause her old one stopped working. This thing is great. We have wood doors and it pulls them up and down with no problem at all. Plenty of power! The operation is as quiet as can be too. Our bedroom is above the garage and it's soo quiet, it's amazing. The set up was a breeze, I spent more time reading the manual making sure I was doing it right first. After that I was off and set and running before I knew it. It programs very easily and is very user friendly. Never had a problem, I like it so much I went and bought another one for my side. I have used the battery back up twice and it worked without a hitch! The only down side I have found is that you can't program the code remote for outside to open which door you tell it with one code. 1 code can open both doors, or one door, you can't put in the code and then hit one and it opens the first door, or two and it opens the second door. Parent's genie did that and it was nice. Small complaint for it all. Would buy and recommend to others!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Whisper Drive Plus 3/4 HP Belt Drive Garage Door Opener
from Lakeview, NY

Great Purchase

PostedJuly 14, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had my garage door opener seize up a few days ago. After getting professional installation quotes, I decided to shop around for a unit, and to attempt a self installation. After reading the other reviews on this unit, and seeing the price, I decided to purchase it last night.
The installation of the unit was just as advertised. While I would not call it easy, it was straight forward and the unit is very nicely assembled. All told the installation of the motor (including demotion of old unit) took around three hours. Another hour later, I had the door adjusted, and the remotes programmed. I very satisified with the assembly.
After using the unit a few times, I could not believe how much noise my former unit actually made. This unit is better then advertised in that regard. I was very impressed.
Overall, to get a unit at this price that included battery backup and a remote keypad has made my day. Hopefully the unit will last longer then my previous unit, but only time will tell there...
I highly recommend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Whisper Drive Plus 3/4 HP Belt Drive Garage Door Opener
from Keller, TX

Unbelievably Garage Opener

PostedDecember 14, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was undecided on spending $228 for this opener and it took me approximately two weeks to decide. I purchased this garage opener in December, 2009 at HD.
I called Chamberlain and asked them what was the different in theirs and HD, and the guy told me that it is the same garage door opener, but HD has additional items than they do. Chamberlain sells it for $259. HD has more features and is $31 less, a much better value.
I replaced my Chamberlain chain drive because I wanted a quieter garage opener. This opener is unbelievably quiet, the only thing you could hear are the garage door rollers in the tracks. I put some grease in the tracks and now you cannot hear anything when it opens or closes.
It took me less than an hour to install because I use the same wiring and hardware from my old Chamberlain opener. Instructions are detailed and very easy to comprehend.
This is the best garage door opener I have ever owned or seen. I would strongly recommend this product. You will not be regretful.
Steve
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Whisper Drive Plus 3/4 HP Belt Drive Garage Door Opener
from Grand Prairie, TX

Excellent Buy!!!

PostedApril 29, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Our garage never had a garage door opener, so I figure I would spend the extra money and get this model after reading other reviews about this product. I had a friend of mine that installs garage doors and openers for a living install this opener for me. It took him less than an hour and a half to install it and get it all set up and that was with having a beer in between. The only thing that slowed him down was the learn button feature and getting that tweaked. For your do-it-yourselfers, it doesn't have a manual adjustment screw, but a learn button for adjustments. Other than that, this was one of the best investments I have made for our home. It does what your basic opener does, but I do like the extras such as the motion sensor for the light to come on when you walk right past the console, and I like the lock out feature that allows you to lock out the remotes before you go to bed. All in all this opener is worth the money. I would recommend this opener to anyone. Oh!! and it's quiet!!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Whisper Drive Plus 3/4 HP Belt Drive Garage Door Opener
from Fenton, Missouri

Garage Door opener installation/operation

PostedJanuary 23, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Purchased a couple days ago. Followed the installation to a Tee. Removed all parts from the previous opener including sensors/wall module. The programming for the included remotes was quite easy. No problem adjusting the forces or limits. Remembered installing my old Craftsman opener which was a pain to adjust or learn the programming (23 years ago). Shopped around and priced the openers and also discovered Chamberlain I believe does manufacture the craftsman garage door openers. Love every feature of this product including the outdoor access key pad to the wall mounted pad in the garage which has a motion sensor built in with the time and temp display. The car remotes also feature programming for the garage light and the activation of a indoor house light from the remote. Control.
Other than that I am still trying to get MY HOMELINK on my Envoy to learn the codes as the garage door opener has a series of rolling codes for security reasons. Will keep trying.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Whisper Drive Plus 3/4 HP Belt Drive Garage Door Opener
from Michigan, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

be wary of other reviews!

PostedNovember 2, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Let's start by saying, the difficulties with installation is the only reason I didn't rate higher. First problem: belt tensioning bolts should have a flat on it. Mine didn't meaning I could not continue install without waiting for replacement part or modifying that part myself and moving on. I am handy enough - used a file and lost 15 minutes or so. Problem2: no protective panel in back of the wall mounted control panel. I reused existing wires running from this controller to the door opener. when tightening this panel to the wall, the wires behind it actually flexed the circuit panel to the point that the door opening button was always depressed. Other reviews state that the door opens for no reason - I think mine would have also if I didn't notice this problem. I had to cut a depression in the drywall behind to make space and no problems since. I still like this product, but am disappointed in Chamberlain's quality control and design of that panel.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Whisper Drive Plus 3/4 HP Belt Drive Garage Door Opener
from Northern VA

The BEST garage door opener!

PostedMarch 4, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I initially wanted to purchase the 1/2 HP Chamberlain whisper drive. HD only had the 3/4HP in stock ($30 more). This model had more accessories than I realized! The control panel is very nice. It gives you the time, status, temperature and best of all has a motion sensor that turns on the light when you enter the garage! That is a GREAT feature. The unit came with a surge protector and an accessory that allows you to control a light inside your home! Now for the best part:
This opener is VERY QUIET and FAST! I have never heard a unit this quiet. The garage door is below our office and bedroom. Whether your asleep or awake; you can NOT hear the door open/close. It is amazing! The instructions were very clear. The installation did take all of about 5 hours (New house). I believe it may've been worth it to pay the $120 for the installation. I bought about $50 in angle iron alone...
I can't say enough about this unit. You will LOVE it....
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Whisper Drive Plus 3/4 HP Belt Drive Garage Door Opener
from Macon, GA

Great Quality/Features

PostedAugust 4, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This was worth the extra money. When the door opener that was installed when we bought our house broke, I took the plunge and spent the extra money on this one. I haven't been disappointed. As everyone else has said, it is extremely quiet. We have a room over the garage and the floor no longer vibrates when we use the door opener.
Installation was much easier than I anticipated. I was able to use the exisitng mounting bracket from the old opener and the existing header mount and location for the rails. I was also able to use the existing beams that are used to detect obstructions in the door path. Total install time was less than 90 minutes and I was taking my time.
The family loves the motion sensing lights. No more dark garage when you walk in from the house or from the driveway. I also bought a keychain door remote to carry when I'm out on the motorcycle. The remotes also have much better range than my old unit.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>