728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Animal & Pest Control or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Electronic Mouse Trap

Electronic Mouse Trap

The Victor Electronic Mouse Trap is an easy-to-use mouse trap with no springs to set and no messy glue. The trap activates when the mouse completes the circuit by touching metal plates inside the plastic housing. It will exterminate up to 50 mice using 1 set of 4 AA batteries (not included). The trap is designed to quickly and humanely kill mice.
Overall rating:
4.223 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(112 reviews) 112
Open Ratings Snapshot
82%of customersrecommend this product89 of 109reviews
Rating Breakdown 112 reviews
4.2 out of 5.0
5
(86)
4
(5)
3
(0)
2
(2)
1
(19)
Quality 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
82%of customersrecommend this product89 of 109reviews
Customer reviews for Electronic Mouse Trap
Review 1 for Electronic Mouse Trap
b9009b
from Philadelphia. PA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Use good batteries and fresh peanut butter and it does its job.

PostedFebruary 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
First for $20 it's well worth it. I put it out and 30 minutes later it got one. It didn't die but that was my fault I found out later on since I used cheap batteries in it. After that first miss I put in Duracell batteries and 30 minutes I had a dead mouse. So I set out a second trap in a different area and voila another dead mouse 30 minutes later. So after using them for 8 hours with Duracell batteries and a fresh jar of peanut butter I have 4 dead mice and no more scratching sounds. Best mouse trap on the market hands down. GET IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!
PS. Make sure you put the peanut butter in a very small dab in the upper back corner on the inside of the trap. That way the mouse hits both metal plates and cant run off. And fold a piece of newspaper over it like a tent it works like a charm.
Pros: Durable, Multi Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong, Great Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Electronic Mouse Trap
Haru
from Denver, CO
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Effective, humane & clean

PostedMarch 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the first year I've had a mouse problem in my kitchen and garage, probably due to a kitchen remodel. After finding mouse droppings and seeing mice darting about, I used steel wool and chalking to block all potential entrances I could find, and put out herbal mouse repellents to no avail.
I wanted a humane way to rid my house of mice without putting my dog or other wildlife in danger, poisons were NOT an option. This product works like a charm. It took only a day before the trap in the kitchen and the trap in the garage swiftly sent 2 critters to mouse heaven. After 4 mice in 2 days, we bought two more traps.
They are easy to empty out, no blood or gore to deal with and easy to reset. I would totally recommend this product.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality, it works!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Electronic Mouse Trap
NanK
from PA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Outstanding Results! Caught 8!

PostedMarch 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
In desperation we opted for this rather expensive solution to a mouse problem that went undetected for weeks while everyone was ill and snow shoveling was the occupation of the week.
I set up the trap and followed the instructions CAREFULLY. Please note - I said CAREFULLY!! I don't know what's going on with the unsuccessful capture reviews, but we have successfully captured a mouse almost every day for the past 10 days for a total of 8 mice. There is evidence of one more, so the trap has just been set again.
On one occasion I was too ambitious and applied too much peanut butter which gooped down and touched the metal plate. When I turned on the trap, it blinked red. I used several Qtips to both carefully remove the PB and to gently clean off the plates and the inside of the unit with clean water. After letting it dry, I changed the batteries (use good NEW batteries in this unit) and reapplied the PB (watch where you put it -- I put it on the back upper corner of the left wall so it would not touch the plates and the mouse would have to go all the way inside to get to it.) The first few catches occurred within hours, the last few took overnight. The trap was moved as areas where the mice had been active were discovered.
Since this (hopefully) last mouse seems to be more shy and much smaller, the trap has been placed in the area of visible activity (in the now empty drawer under the kitchen range). There is every expectation that we will catch this one as well.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Functionality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Electronic Mouse Trap
mouseman
from Herndon VA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best mousetrap ever! I highly recommend it! Works every time!

PostedDecember 25, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have tried snap traps and the mice eat the peanut butter bait without snapping the trap. Glue traps work sometimes. This time the mice continued to eat the bait from the center of the glue trap without getting caught. I put 4 traps together and they still managed to eat the peanut butter without getting caught and even knocked one of the traps onto the floor. I had doubts about this electric trap but nothing else was working. I found a dead mouse in the trap every day until they were gone, a whole mouse family. I feel bad and would rather trap them humanely and release somewhere outside but it was the mice or me!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Electronic Mouse Trap
dawn
from Denver, CO, USA

Gets the job done!

PostedFebruary 26, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This trap works great. I have tried many other mouse traps with little success. The Victor Electronic Trap is easy to use and within the first week, I caught 3 mice. I would recommend this product to others. Gets the job done!
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Electronic Mouse Trap
HateMice
from Saratoga, New York
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A Life (and House) Saver!!

PostedOctober 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I discovered evidence of a mice problem, and was in shock.
Immediately searched for effective and clean kill traps and found the Victor Electronic. In the first 72 hours, I had humanely killed 9 mice. Have not seen one since. Traps are still out and ready. They are sleek and house guests have commented that they don't look like mouse traps. Very easy to set, empty and reset.
Have already recommended this trap to two people--and they have had success too!
WELL worth the price.
These traps are amazing!!
Thank you, Victor!
My only complaint would be that the door broke off one of my traps on the 2nd day. Had to fix with tape.
Pros: Multi Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality
Cons: door broke off too easily
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Electronic Mouse Trap
KSSS
from ATLANTA, GEORGIA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

THESE TRAPS DO NOT WORK AT ALL!!! MOUSE ATE THE BAIT, GOT SHOCKED AND TOOK A DUMP INSIDE AND THEN LEFT!!!

PostedJanuary 15, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
THESE TRAPS DO NOT WORK AT ALL!!! MOUSE ATE THE BAIT, GOT SHOCKED AND TOOK A DUMP INSIDE AND THEN LEFT!!!
SIMPLY WASTE OF MONEY AND EFFORTS!!!
Cons: Not Durable, does not work at all!!! mouse got shocked and left
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Electronic Mouse Trap
cook
from Cleveland, OH, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

excellent product

PostedAugust 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
i recommend this to everyone. couple of key things to keep in mind; mice are suspicious of new things so it might take a day or two for them to get into the trap. also, you must make sure there are no other food sources they can get to so that they are driven to the trap. no food on the counter, bread bags, chocolate, seeds, nuts, even home made soap. they will eat things with high fat in them. once you've eliminate all food sources, you should start catching them, provided you have placed your trap against a wall/baseboard.
this is the most humane way to kill them and is especially good for women who don't want to deal with them. once the light is blinking to show one is caught, you just open the door over a garbage can and drop them in. i actually toss my little dead bodies into the woods. other animals come along and feast on the bodies and no chance they will be poisoned. i keep two in my kitchen (live in a 100 year old house) and once i did all the above, i caught 13 in a row. great product.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Electronic Mouse Trap
Coolou1

Excellent product

PostedApril 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
At the first sign of a mouse in my apartment, i immediately went online to try and find the best trap out there. I read the great reviews on this one and decided to try it. Set the trap Saturday night and by Wednesday it caught and killed 3. All i had to do was spread peanut butter inside just once and install fresh batteries. After shocking the mouse all i had to do was flip the top and dump out the dead critter without any mess and reused it over and over again. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Electronic Mouse Trap
mousehunter
from Baltimore, MD
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

ZERO success with these.

PostedDecember 6, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We read all the reviews and thought these would be *the* traps to solve a mouse problem that popped up recently. We bought two and set both using peanut butter. We placed them in the area where we had seen mouse poo and placed the opening along the path we thought they were running. Went to bed and checked the next morning...nothing. Waited until the second morning. Nothing. Waited a week...nothing. The whole time we had the traps set, we could hear the mice running at night so we knew they were around. We re-baited with bread (they had tore through a bag of bread so we knew they liked it) and waited. Moved the traps every now and then. Still nothing.
The final insult was waking up to mouse poo just outside the door of the baited trap (see the picture). They were that close and didn't go in.
We returned both and went with the old fashion snap traps for $0.99. To date, we've caught 7. I'm not sure if our mice were just too fancy (or maybe not fancy enough) to go in to these traps, but we had absolutely no luck using the traps to catch mice. Given the cost of the trap, I was even more disappointed. My advice: stick with the good ol' fashion snap trap for $0.99.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Electronic Mouse Trap
micehater

Bye bye pests

PostedJanuary 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I highly recommend this product. I'm super wimpy and hate handling things like this but this product made it a cinch! I still let out a small screech when I see it caught a mouse BUT the sigh of relief is the best.
Pros: Durable, Multi Use, Easy to Clean
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Electronic Mouse Trap
Mike
from Panorama City
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Too small!

PostedMarch 23, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This trap is way too small for the size of rats I have. They won't fit inside the tiny box opening. Might be ok for mice, but not for rats! No wonder I didn't catch anything for a week. Had to revert to poison. The dead rat I found was big as the entire box.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Electronic Mouse Trap
JDubbleU
from Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not working at all

PostedDecember 9, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased two Electronic Mouse Traps and electronics light up but no success in catching mice. I've tried every mouse bait that is recommended (cheese, peanut butter, bacon bits etc.) and nothing and I still have mice. Have cleaned and cleaned again with gloves on and still nothing. This is not a good performance in my opinion. Spent $72.00 cdn for the two traps and have had up for two or more weeks and nothing. Saw a mouse in the kitchen this morning and the critter walked/ran right by it. Definitely not a happy customer.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Response from Home DepotBy THD Customer ServiceJanuary 22, 2014
Hi JdubbleU,

I did reach out to the MFG for more information on this issue and below is their response.

Placement is a very important factor in the success of the trap. Mice tend to travel along walls and do not often like to be out in the open. For best results, we recommend placing the trap lengthwise against the wall with the entrance hole nearest the wall.

It is also important that the interior metal plates be clear of any dirt, debris or bait to ensure that the trap can properly sense the mice entering the trap.

To clean your trap:

• Remove the batteries.
• Wipe the plates of your trap with a damp cloth – water only, no soaps or detergents (soaps and detergents will repel rodents).
• Allow trap to completely air dry.
• Replace the batteries

Once the trap has been cleaned, be sure to bait the trap with just a small amount of peanut butter on the back wall and check that none of the bait has gotten onto the metal plates inside the trap.

We are sorry to hear that you have not yet seen the desired results with this Victor® Trap and we hope this information has been helpful. If you have tried these steps and are still not seeing results, please do not hesitate to contact our Consumer Relations Team at 1-855-5-VICTOR (1-855-584-2867) for additional assistance.

Hope this helps.
Review 14 for Electronic Mouse Trap
Mich1man
from Oakland county michigan
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Junk don't waste your money

PostedDecember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Just don't work on the smart Michigan Mouses
Had inside and in garage for weeks nothing don't waste your money buy snap type they work a lot better they work as bad as the Detroit Lions
Cons: don't work
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Electronic Mouse Trap
sophieclair32
from Minneapolis, MN
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

The Best

PostedFebruary 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Okay I just bought this thing less then 12 hours ago and have already killed 3 mice with this thing. It works like a charm!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong, Great Quality, quick working!, easy disposal, easy to understand
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Electronic Mouse Trap
Curley
from Central New York
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

totally amazing

PostedSeptember 11, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Our poor mouser is getting old, so she retired from scaring the mice out of the house. One errant one decided to move in and take over our kitchen so I sent for this trap. It arrived fast and I put it right where that mouse was hanging out and pow. Got it the first night. Works like a charm. I highly recommend it. Now, anyone want an old reitred cat?
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Strong, does the job
+13points
14out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Electronic Mouse Trap
fbdbsd
from Oceanside, CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This one works!

PostedFebruary 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Had our first mouse problem after the cat dragged one in and didn't kill it! He could not catch this one in the house because it kept hiding but this trap got it first try. Tried snap traps and the pulse sound repellents but they did not work. Put this out and within an hour the green light was flashing indicating it was tripped. It is a contained unit so pets cant get shocked or see the dead mouse inside. Well worth it!
Pros: Durable, Multi Use, Easy to Install, Functionality, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Electronic Mouse Trap
vikkiholly
from GA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product

PostedFebruary 14, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I read the reviews for all the electronic mouse traps, this was the only one with a good review. BELIEVE IT!!! Ordered it set up day received, I thought only had a mouse or two, we caught 8 in less than 24 hrs. OMG can not believe how good this trap is. Easy to use and empty, what a great product. Thanks for selling this product
Pros: Great Quality, great product
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Electronic Mouse Trap
Mouseinator
from Brooklyn

ONLY TRAP THAT WORKS!

PostedNovember 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We tried EVERYTHING. I mean it. For months. And nothing worked BUT this trap. It's amazing. We've already caught 4 mice in two weeks. We had no idea we even had that many. It's quick and painless - for us and the mice. The only issue we did have is the light stops blinking after a period of time so if you catch it at night it may not still be blinking by the time you see it the next day and we opened it to reset the bait and SURPRISE. Dead mouse. But you can't really complain about that. It's awesome.
Pros: Functionality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Electronic Mouse Trap
BartinBethesda
from Maryland, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

World's most elegant and effective mouse trap

PostedFebruary 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Fortunately, we only get a mouse or two during the coldest days of winter -- they manage to get into the garage and from there try to reach the trash can. I ordered two of these battery-operated traps and put them in place, used corn chips as bait. The next morning, the blinking light on both traps signaled success. No fuss, no mess. Disposal was simple, dumping the departed rodents in the back woods without having to touch them. I reset the traps and left in place for a while, but no more mice. Now the traps are on the garage shelf until next winter. Having lived for 20 years -- and dealt with a number of vermin problems -- in NYC, I can honestly say this is the simplest and most effective trap I've ever used. I'm even thinking about buying the larger rat trap to reduce the chipmunk population in the back yard. Set, zap, gone!
Pros: Multi Use, Easy to Install, Functionality, Good Shape, Durable, Easy to Clean, Great Quality, don't have to touch the dead mouse
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>