728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Insect & Pest Control or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Electronic Mouse Trap

Electronic Mouse Trap

The Victor Electronic Mouse Trap is an easy-to-use mouse trap with no springs to set and no messy glue. The trap activates when the mouse completes the circuit by touching metal plates inside the plastic housing. It will exterminate up to 50 mice using 1 set of 4 AA batteries (not included). The trap is designed to quickly and humanely kill mice.
Overall rating:
4.103 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(175 reviews) 175
Open Ratings Snapshot
80%of customersrecommend this product137 of 172reviews
Rating Breakdown 175 reviews
4.1 out of 5
5
(125)
4
(11)
3
(3)
2
(4)
1
(32)
Quality 
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
80%of customersrecommend this product137 of 172reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Customer reviews for Electronic Mouse Trap
Review 1 for Electronic Mouse Trap
from Philadelphia. PA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Use good batteries and fresh peanut butter and it does its job.

PostedFebruary 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
First for $20 it's well worth it. I put it out and 30 minutes later it got one. It didn't die but that was my fault I found out later on since I used cheap batteries in it. After that first miss I put in Duracell batteries and 30 minutes I had a dead mouse. So I set out a second trap in a different area and voila another dead mouse 30 minutes later. So after using them for 8 hours with Duracell batteries and a fresh jar of peanut butter I have 4 dead mice and no more scratching sounds. Best mouse trap on the market hands down. GET IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!
PS. Make sure you put the peanut butter in a very small dab in the upper back corner on the inside of the trap. That way the mouse hits both metal plates and cant run off. And fold a piece of newspaper over it like a tent it works like a charm.
Pros: Durable, Multi Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong, Great Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Electronic Mouse Trap
from Denver, CO
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Effective, humane & clean

PostedMarch 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is the first year I've had a mouse problem in my kitchen and garage, probably due to a kitchen remodel. After finding mouse droppings and seeing mice darting about, I used steel wool and chalking to block all potential entrances I could find, and put out herbal mouse repellents to no avail.
I wanted a humane way to rid my house of mice without putting my dog or other wildlife in danger, poisons were NOT an option. This product works like a charm. It took only a day before the trap in the kitchen and the trap in the garage swiftly sent 2 critters to mouse heaven. After 4 mice in 2 days, we bought two more traps.
They are easy to empty out, no blood or gore to deal with and easy to reset. I would totally recommend this product.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality, it works!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Electronic Mouse Trap
from PA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Outstanding Results! Caught 8!

PostedMarch 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
In desperation we opted for this rather expensive solution to a mouse problem that went undetected for weeks while everyone was ill and snow shoveling was the occupation of the week.
I set up the trap and followed the instructions CAREFULLY. Please note - I said CAREFULLY!! I don't know what's going on with the unsuccessful capture reviews, but we have successfully captured a mouse almost every day for the past 10 days for a total of 8 mice. There is evidence of one more, so the trap has just been set again.
On one occasion I was too ambitious and applied too much peanut butter which gooped down and touched the metal plate. When I turned on the trap, it blinked red. I used several Qtips to both carefully remove the PB and to gently clean off the plates and the inside of the unit with clean water. After letting it dry, I changed the batteries (use good NEW batteries in this unit) and reapplied the PB (watch where you put it -- I put it on the back upper corner of the left wall so it would not touch the plates and the mouse would have to go all the way inside to get to it.) The first few catches occurred within hours, the last few took overnight. The trap was moved as areas where the mice had been active were discovered.
Since this (hopefully) last mouse seems to be more shy and much smaller, the trap has been placed in the area of visible activity (in the now empty drawer under the kitchen range). There is every expectation that we will catch this one as well.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Functionality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Electronic Mouse Trap
from Herndon VA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best mousetrap ever! I highly recommend it! Works every time!

PostedDecember 25, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I have tried snap traps and the mice eat the peanut butter bait without snapping the trap. Glue traps work sometimes. This time the mice continued to eat the bait from the center of the glue trap without getting caught. I put 4 traps together and they still managed to eat the peanut butter without getting caught and even knocked one of the traps onto the floor. I had doubts about this electric trap but nothing else was working. I found a dead mouse in the trap every day until they were gone, a whole mouse family. I feel bad and would rather trap them humanely and release somewhere outside but it was the mice or me!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality
+26points
26out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Electronic Mouse Trap

The Mousetrap the Saved Christmas

PostedDecember 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
After recent work to the foundation of our house, we came home to a mouse infestation - two days before Christmas. We got up at 6am on Christmas Eve and promptly drove to Home Depot purchasing over $120 of all varieties of mouse traps (electronic, glue traps, and traditional snap traps). We also purchased some poison for the basement and some plug-ins that are supposed to deter mice. In less than 48 hours, here are the results:
Victor Electronic Trap: 7 mice
Glue Traps: 3 mice
Snap Traps: 0
We'd seen the great reviews of the electronic traps online and are so glad we bought three. Of note - the location of the trap seems very important. All 7 of the mice caught in the electronic trap were caught in the same trap (behind the kitchen trash can). If you're not having luck, perhaps try moving the traps.
Perhaps the other devices in our arsenal also aided the cause. Regardless, a great buy - it saved Christmas.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality, Great Quality
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Electronic Mouse Trap
from Bridgewater, Nj
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A better mousetrap

PostedDecember 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The old saying is "you can't build a better mousetrap" but it has been built with this unit. It is very effective. It is very easy to use. As suggested, peanut butter works very well as bait. Removing the mouse from the trap is very easy. Simply open the lid to the trap compartment, turn the trap upside down and the mice fall right out. No prying away from a bar or finding mice struggling in a glue trap.
Normally catch several mice before having to re-bait the trap with more peanut butter. Trap is very easy to clean.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality, Great Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Electronic Mouse Trap
from Denver, CO, USA

Gets the job done!

PostedFebruary 26, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This trap works great. I have tried many other mouse traps with little success. The Victor Electronic Trap is easy to use and within the first week, I caught 3 mice. I would recommend this product to others. Gets the job done!
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Electronic Mouse Trap

works like a charm!

PostedMarch 19, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Got the first mouse within 6 hours of getting the trap put out. Easy to dispose of mouse and reset it. Tried all kinds of other traps and this worked... the other didn't.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Electronic Mouse Trap

works great

PostedMarch 13, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Cought 2 at 2 different times. Not sure how it works but works better than others that have tried. There was a time when it took 2 days for it to work against the mouse. Day 1 saw that mouse ate half of food then next day bam got it. So don't be fooled it will come back if didn't get first time.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Electronic Mouse Trap
from warren, OH
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good idea

PostedMarch 3, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I bought 3 electronic mouse traps because my house and car are overrun with mice. I think they're cute and don't want to kill them, but they did damage to my car, so they gotta go. I researched the most humane ways to get rid of them, and this trap seemed like the best option to me. However, I bought 3 of them for $60 and in a month, haven't even caught one mouse yet. So I think it's a good idea, but for me, my mice won't go in them.
Pros: Durable, Multi Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Good Shape
Cons: not working for me
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Electronic Mouse Trap

Works great

PostedMarch 8, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Caught 3 mice within 1 hour, that's a total of 4 since I baught it. I think the main trick is to put something inside by the holes that is stinky and different other then peanut butter some mice are spoiled. I have some sheep/goat cheese I cut a sliver and set it on peanut butter by the holes and bam. Worked like a charm.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Electronic Mouse Trap
from New York, NY
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Pros and Cons

PostedJanuary 16, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I guess the vermin in my house are a lot more savvy than the average rodent. I had to move this thing around to different spots and change up the bait every so often. When I nearly gave up hope, thinking I'd NEVER catch anything, I opened it up to clean out the bait to see a GIANT dead mouse that must have been in there for a little while. Of course, I screamed, had someone else clean it out, and then set the trap up again to catch something new. My only gripe was that the indicator light NEVER came on to tell me it was occupied! Other than that, it did what it said and killed that monster outright. I'm kind of scared to check it again for another tenant.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong
Cons: indicator light faliled
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Electronic Mouse Trap
from Rutherford, NJ
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

So far, so good

PostedFebruary 11, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
After putting out several new style "no touch" snap traps, and then finding the peanut butter gone from the traps the next morning but no mice caught, I bought this trap after reading the reviews. So far, the results are excellent. Put it in the spot where have been noticing mouse dirt at 7:30 in the evening, checked at 11:00, green light blinking, one dead mouse. Emptied it, checked again at 11:30, another dead mouse. Next 2 mornings, same thing. Best $20 I've spent, and I've tried every different trap out there. Easy to use, easy to empty, works as advertised.
Pros: Multi Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Electronic Mouse Trap
from valley, CT
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wow, works like a charm !!

PostedJanuary 19, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Very effective. The first mouse went into the trap within hours of me setting it in my basement. In fact, I was nearby when it happened. I heard something, turned around, and saw the light blinking.
Next day I found another mouse in it. Only problem this time was that the light was not blinking. I turned it off and on just to make sure it was set. When I turned it back on, it buzzed continuously. When I looked inside, another dead mouse. Not sure why light was not blinking. No big deal. Will just have to check it often.
I use peanut batter in the back corner of it to ensure mouse has to go all the way in.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Electronic Mouse Trap
from phoenix, NY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Did not catch i mouse. got the old fashion victor mouse trap killed 3!

PostedFebruary 26, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The mice did not seem to want to go in it. Bought the old fashion Victor wood mouse trap and fought three!
Cons: did not work
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Electronic Mouse Trap

So far, so good

PostedAugust 13, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
WIth all the mouse-killing products out there, I was skeptical about spending $20. But I'm glad that I did. My mouse family was very small and was able to avoid stick traps and clean off traditional snap traps without setting them off. After a month of battling them, I decided to give this thing a try. Within four hours, I had my first mouse. I heard the trap make a sort of buzzing noise for a few seconds, then it stopped and the green light started flashing. I dumped out the body and reset it. I caught another mouse overnight, though I took one star off because the green light was not flashing, even though the kill was well within the 24 hours it's supposed to light. Luckily, I decided to check the trap anyways and, sure enough, there was another dead mouse. So my only recommendation would be to check the trap regardless of the light, because you won't catch anything with a dead body in there.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality
Cons: light indicator unreliable
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Electronic Mouse Trap
from Saratoga, New York
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A Life (and House) Saver!!

PostedOctober 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I discovered evidence of a mice problem, and was in shock.
Immediately searched for effective and clean kill traps and found the Victor Electronic. In the first 72 hours, I had humanely killed 9 mice. Have not seen one since. Traps are still out and ready. They are sleek and house guests have commented that they don't look like mouse traps. Very easy to set, empty and reset.
Have already recommended this trap to two people--and they have had success too!
WELL worth the price.
These traps are amazing!!
Thank you, Victor!
My only complaint would be that the door broke off one of my traps on the 2nd day. Had to fix with tape.
Pros: Multi Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality
Cons: door broke off too easily
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Electronic Mouse Trap
from Cleveland, OH, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

excellent product

PostedAugust 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
i recommend this to everyone. couple of key things to keep in mind; mice are suspicious of new things so it might take a day or two for them to get into the trap. also, you must make sure there are no other food sources they can get to so that they are driven to the trap. no food on the counter, bread bags, chocolate, seeds, nuts, even home made soap. they will eat things with high fat in them. once you've eliminate all food sources, you should start catching them, provided you have placed your trap against a wall/baseboard.
this is the most humane way to kill them and is especially good for women who don't want to deal with them. once the light is blinking to show one is caught, you just open the door over a garbage can and drop them in. i actually toss my little dead bodies into the woods. other animals come along and feast on the bodies and no chance they will be poisoned. i keep two in my kitchen (live in a 100 year old house) and once i did all the above, i caught 13 in a row. great product.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Electronic Mouse Trap

Bye bye pests

PostedJanuary 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I highly recommend this product. I'm super wimpy and hate handling things like this but this product made it a cinch! I still let out a small screech when I see it caught a mouse BUT the sigh of relief is the best.
Pros: Durable, Multi Use, Easy to Clean
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Electronic Mouse Trap

Excellent product

PostedApril 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
At the first sign of a mouse in my apartment, i immediately went online to try and find the best trap out there. I read the great reviews on this one and decided to try it. Set the trap Saturday night and by Wednesday it caught and killed 3. All i had to do was spread peanut butter inside just once and install fresh batteries. After shocking the mouse all i had to do was flip the top and dump out the dead critter without any mess and reused it over and over again. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!!!!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 9 >>