728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Animal & Pest Control or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Electronic Mouse Trap

Electronic Mouse Trap

The Victor Electronic Mouse Trap is an easy-to-use mouse trap with no springs to set and no messy glue. The trap activates when the mouse completes the circuit by touching metal plates inside the plastic housing. It will exterminate up to 50 mice using 1 set of 4 AA batteries (not included). The trap is designed to quickly and humanely kill mice.
Overall rating:
4.093 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(150 reviews) 150
Open Ratings Snapshot
78%of customersrecommend this product115 of 147reviews
Rating Breakdown 150 reviews
4.1 out of 5.0
5
(109)
4
(8)
3
(0)
2
(4)
1
(29)
Quality 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
78%of customersrecommend this product115 of 147reviews
Customer reviews for Electronic Mouse Trap
Review 1 for Electronic Mouse Trap
from Philadelphia. PA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Use good batteries and fresh peanut butter and it does its job.

PostedFebruary 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
First for $20 it's well worth it. I put it out and 30 minutes later it got one. It didn't die but that was my fault I found out later on since I used cheap batteries in it. After that first miss I put in Duracell batteries and 30 minutes I had a dead mouse. So I set out a second trap in a different area and voila another dead mouse 30 minutes later. So after using them for 8 hours with Duracell batteries and a fresh jar of peanut butter I have 4 dead mice and no more scratching sounds. Best mouse trap on the market hands down. GET IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!
PS. Make sure you put the peanut butter in a very small dab in the upper back corner on the inside of the trap. That way the mouse hits both metal plates and cant run off. And fold a piece of newspaper over it like a tent it works like a charm.
Pros: Durable, Multi Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong, Great Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Electronic Mouse Trap
from Denver, CO
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Effective, humane & clean

PostedMarch 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the first year I've had a mouse problem in my kitchen and garage, probably due to a kitchen remodel. After finding mouse droppings and seeing mice darting about, I used steel wool and chalking to block all potential entrances I could find, and put out herbal mouse repellents to no avail.
I wanted a humane way to rid my house of mice without putting my dog or other wildlife in danger, poisons were NOT an option. This product works like a charm. It took only a day before the trap in the kitchen and the trap in the garage swiftly sent 2 critters to mouse heaven. After 4 mice in 2 days, we bought two more traps.
They are easy to empty out, no blood or gore to deal with and easy to reset. I would totally recommend this product.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality, it works!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Electronic Mouse Trap
from PA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Outstanding Results! Caught 8!

PostedMarch 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
In desperation we opted for this rather expensive solution to a mouse problem that went undetected for weeks while everyone was ill and snow shoveling was the occupation of the week.
I set up the trap and followed the instructions CAREFULLY. Please note - I said CAREFULLY!! I don't know what's going on with the unsuccessful capture reviews, but we have successfully captured a mouse almost every day for the past 10 days for a total of 8 mice. There is evidence of one more, so the trap has just been set again.
On one occasion I was too ambitious and applied too much peanut butter which gooped down and touched the metal plate. When I turned on the trap, it blinked red. I used several Qtips to both carefully remove the PB and to gently clean off the plates and the inside of the unit with clean water. After letting it dry, I changed the batteries (use good NEW batteries in this unit) and reapplied the PB (watch where you put it -- I put it on the back upper corner of the left wall so it would not touch the plates and the mouse would have to go all the way inside to get to it.) The first few catches occurred within hours, the last few took overnight. The trap was moved as areas where the mice had been active were discovered.
Since this (hopefully) last mouse seems to be more shy and much smaller, the trap has been placed in the area of visible activity (in the now empty drawer under the kitchen range). There is every expectation that we will catch this one as well.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Functionality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Electronic Mouse Trap

So far, so good

PostedAugust 13, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
WIth all the mouse-killing products out there, I was skeptical about spending $20. But I'm glad that I did. My mouse family was very small and was able to avoid stick traps and clean off traditional snap traps without setting them off. After a month of battling them, I decided to give this thing a try. Within four hours, I had my first mouse. I heard the trap make a sort of buzzing noise for a few seconds, then it stopped and the green light started flashing. I dumped out the body and reset it. I caught another mouse overnight, though I took one star off because the green light was not flashing, even though the kill was well within the 24 hours it's supposed to light. Luckily, I decided to check the trap anyways and, sure enough, there was another dead mouse. So my only recommendation would be to check the trap regardless of the light, because you won't catch anything with a dead body in there.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality
Cons: light indicator unreliable
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Electronic Mouse Trap
from Herndon VA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best mousetrap ever! I highly recommend it! Works every time!

PostedDecember 25, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have tried snap traps and the mice eat the peanut butter bait without snapping the trap. Glue traps work sometimes. This time the mice continued to eat the bait from the center of the glue trap without getting caught. I put 4 traps together and they still managed to eat the peanut butter without getting caught and even knocked one of the traps onto the floor. I had doubts about this electric trap but nothing else was working. I found a dead mouse in the trap every day until they were gone, a whole mouse family. I feel bad and would rather trap them humanely and release somewhere outside but it was the mice or me!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality
+25points
25out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Electronic Mouse Trap

great purchase

PostedSeptember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this trap earlier tonight and am now laying in bed after just emptying it out for the third time, and I only thought there were two.... I'm hoping that was it but either way I'm prepared. I didn't even have to hide it, they step right in and then I guess just kinda never step out. This is definitely the most humane way to go about ridding yourself of mice, I considered a catch and release trap though I live in NYC and there is no place I could release them without making it someone else's rodent.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Electronic Mouse Trap
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Electric Chair for mice...

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
My boyfriend and I set this trap up last night and it did work; however, I was woken up at 3:30am by the sound of the buzzing of the trap followed by squeals of the mouse, then the buzzing, then the squeals... about 4 or 5 times until it finally killed it. We live in a 2 floor apartment and the trap was on a separate floor than our bedroom. I would recommend this product for killing the mice as long as you are ok with hearing the whole thing happen (or can put it somewhere like a basement where it is too far to hear) I personally can not handle listening to it; I feel too bad for the mouse. If this was strong enough to kill the mouse with one electrocution instead of four or five then I would give it 5 stars. (and we have Duracel batteries so they should be strong enough)
Pros: killed mice, no touch / no sight
Cons: too loud, doesn't work on first shock
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Electronic Mouse Trap
from ridgecrest, ca
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

recall of previous review

PostedOctober 18, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is a recall of a previous review because it does work. My hubby took it back to depot and they wouldnt take it back because we already had a mouse in it, but it got out. They said it was hazmat. We got our 20 bucks and did not know what to do with the thing so we tried again. It works nicely. We put in the same batteries and no bait. You can hear it zap and the green light comes on after. Victor is a good product, but was surprised it didnt work the first time. We caught 4 mice already in an hour.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Electronic Mouse Trap

Excellent product

PostedApril 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
At the first sign of a mouse in my apartment, i immediately went online to try and find the best trap out there. I read the great reviews on this one and decided to try it. Set the trap Saturday night and by Wednesday it caught and killed 3. All i had to do was spread peanut butter inside just once and install fresh batteries. After shocking the mouse all i had to do was flip the top and dump out the dead critter without any mess and reused it over and over again. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!!!!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Electronic Mouse Trap

Saved my life

PostedOctober 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We were having trouble with mice and I wasn't having it, droppings EVERYWHERE. I was a little skeptical about the reviews but now I know for sure this work. I got my first dead mouse the first day I put it down and I am continuing to do so. I placed peanut butter/rotten cheese. A little observation I noticed is that every time you clean their droppings the mouse wants to immediately go back and put more, I used this to my advantage.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality, Great Quality
Cons: have to empty it with each mice you catch
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Electronic Mouse Trap
from Denver, CO, USA

Gets the job done!

PostedFebruary 26, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This trap works great. I have tried many other mouse traps with little success. The Victor Electronic Trap is easy to use and within the first week, I caught 3 mice. I would recommend this product to others. Gets the job done!
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Electronic Mouse Trap
from Rochester, NY
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Expensive joke!

PostedOctober 10, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this mouse trap at Home Depot 7 days ago and have had laughable results. I visually observed a mouse in my Family room one evening and purchased this product the very next day in an attempt to get rid of the critter . I loaded batteries and a dap of peanut butter for bait, placed it against the wall and watched as the mouse climbed all over it without entering. Recon mission I suspect because next morning the LED was flashing , the bait was missing and the trap was empty! So I re-baited the device, placed it against the wall again and 3 days later the same result. Their customer service representative could only offer that insects or a lizard could be to blame. So, escape proof - FALSE; kills mouse with high voltage - INEFFECTIVE. Don't waste your time or money on this product.
Pros: can't think of one
Cons: does not work, expensive
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Electronic Mouse Trap

it is bad

PostedOctober 16, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It did not work like others have said. What happened to us was that the mouse ate the peanut butter and peed on the trap. It got out. The light turned green, but it still escaped. We are thinking that the voltage is not high enough to kill it, only to stun. I do not recommend because we thought it would kill them. It is getting brought back, but maybe with a little poison, it may work for others.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Electronic Mouse Trap
from Saratoga, New York
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A Life (and House) Saver!!

PostedOctober 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I discovered evidence of a mice problem, and was in shock.
Immediately searched for effective and clean kill traps and found the Victor Electronic. In the first 72 hours, I had humanely killed 9 mice. Have not seen one since. Traps are still out and ready. They are sleek and house guests have commented that they don't look like mouse traps. Very easy to set, empty and reset.
Have already recommended this trap to two people--and they have had success too!
WELL worth the price.
These traps are amazing!!
Thank you, Victor!
My only complaint would be that the door broke off one of my traps on the 2nd day. Had to fix with tape.
Pros: Multi Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality
Cons: door broke off too easily
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Electronic Mouse Trap
from Fairfax, VA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It did not work

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We bought this and it did not work. No rat got trapped but we used the sticky type and we got 3 rats and we returned this product as we tried both and that one worked and not the electric one.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Electronic Mouse Trap
from Cleveland, OH, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

excellent product

PostedAugust 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
i recommend this to everyone. couple of key things to keep in mind; mice are suspicious of new things so it might take a day or two for them to get into the trap. also, you must make sure there are no other food sources they can get to so that they are driven to the trap. no food on the counter, bread bags, chocolate, seeds, nuts, even home made soap. they will eat things with high fat in them. once you've eliminate all food sources, you should start catching them, provided you have placed your trap against a wall/baseboard.
this is the most humane way to kill them and is especially good for women who don't want to deal with them. once the light is blinking to show one is caught, you just open the door over a garbage can and drop them in. i actually toss my little dead bodies into the woods. other animals come along and feast on the bodies and no chance they will be poisoned. i keep two in my kitchen (live in a 100 year old house) and once i did all the above, i caught 13 in a row. great product.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Electronic Mouse Trap

Good product

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This trap has worked very well. Easy to clean and is effective. My only complaint is it drains batteries quickly.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Electronic Mouse Trap

Good bye mouse ears

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I live out in the country and with all the fracking going on my house became what I call infestied with mice. I've bought many types of traps (NEVER the sticky traps) and would wake to find only parts of mice a(ie legs, ears, part of a nose) and to be honest it bothered me ripping mouse limbs off for them to scream and run to hide (who knows where)I bought 2 of theses traps and now have no mice in my house with in,id say a week, its quick to kill, no mess and quick to reset. Needless to say I realy like theses traps.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Electronic Mouse Trap
from Northwest Connecticut
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I have never reviewed a product before, but these things deserve one

PostedAugust 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have never reviewed a product before, but these things deserve one. They are easy to use, and they work. Had a mouse in our kitchen and less than an hour after putting three of these electronic mouse traps out, it was captured, with no mess, and a very low "yuck" factor. Frankly, if you have to kill a mouse to get rid of it, this seems to be a relatively humane way to do so.
Just make sure that you review, understand and follow the instructions EXACTLY. The instructions that come on the packaging are not great, so go to the manufacturer's website, where the instructions they have posted are quite adequate. Also, the construction of the trap is just inexpensive plastic, so go easy on the thing. It is sturdy enough to do the job, but it is not an artistic triumph of "fit and finish," though the design itself is very well thought out. (Good architecture, not quite as good engineering.)
Do not use too much bait, a smear of peanut butter worked fine. And, make sure that both of the metal plates in the bottom of the trap are COMPLETELY clean and dry. Otherwise, the device will prematurely "fire" and then will be sitting there uselessly. (Respectfully, I think this might be the problem some of the other, not so pleased, reviewers may have had.) I used a dry cotton swab ("Q-Tip") to make sure that the metal plates were completely clean and dry. I suppose, if necessary, a little rubbing alcohol might help that process.
Again, I have NEVER been inspired to review a product before, no matter how good, but I was really impressed by these traps, for the simple reason that they did the job quickly, effectively and with minimal stress on my part. (The poor mouse, if it had even a moment to realize what was happening, was probably not so pleased.)
Pros: Multi Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality
Cons: construction a bit flimsy, must follow set up instructions exactly!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Electronic Mouse Trap

PLEASE! PLEASE! PLEASE! BUY THIS TRAP!! IT WORKS!!

PostedSeptember 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
True Story - early Saturday morning 09/26/2014 about 3am, my husband woke me up and said he seen a baby mice in our hallway as he went upstairs to our bedroom. That woke me up and I couldn't go back to sleep. I'm not terrified of mice but refuse to have them living in our house. Now I immediately started searching online for the best traps on Google and YouTube. I came across this one on the home depot website so later that morning we got up and got one. I also got a 3pk of the victor plug in sound repels. Yes the trap and plug ins are $20 each but its worth it. We got home and cleaned the house top to bottom, cleaned with ammonia, and packed all holes with steel wool pads. We set the trap upstairs with peanut butter and I put it where my husband said his saw it. Two days later he was caught and I admit I had someone to dump it. Lol but he was in there so yes it really works and it works fast. It has been set again just in case we may have more. But I highly recommend this trap. Follow the instructions and you can't go wrong!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 8 >>