728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Animal & Pest Control or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Electronic Mouse Trap

Electronic Mouse Trap

The Victor Electronic Mouse Trap is an easy-to-use mouse trap with no springs to set and no messy glue. The trap activates when the mouse completes the circuit by touching metal plates inside the plastic housing. It will exterminate up to 50 mice using 1 set of 4 AA batteries (not included). The trap is designed to quickly and humanely kill mice.
Overall rating:
4.156 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(128 reviews) 128
Open Ratings Snapshot
80%of customersrecommend this product100 of 125reviews
Rating Breakdown 128 reviews
4.2 out of 5.0
5
(96)
4
(6)
3
(0)
2
(2)
1
(24)
Quality 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
80%of customersrecommend this product100 of 125reviews
Customer reviews for Electronic Mouse Trap
Review 1 for Electronic Mouse Trap
from Philadelphia. PA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Use good batteries and fresh peanut butter and it does its job.

PostedFebruary 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
First for $20 it's well worth it. I put it out and 30 minutes later it got one. It didn't die but that was my fault I found out later on since I used cheap batteries in it. After that first miss I put in Duracell batteries and 30 minutes I had a dead mouse. So I set out a second trap in a different area and voila another dead mouse 30 minutes later. So after using them for 8 hours with Duracell batteries and a fresh jar of peanut butter I have 4 dead mice and no more scratching sounds. Best mouse trap on the market hands down. GET IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!
PS. Make sure you put the peanut butter in a very small dab in the upper back corner on the inside of the trap. That way the mouse hits both metal plates and cant run off. And fold a piece of newspaper over it like a tent it works like a charm.
Pros: Durable, Multi Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong, Great Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Electronic Mouse Trap
from PA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Outstanding Results! Caught 8!

PostedMarch 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
In desperation we opted for this rather expensive solution to a mouse problem that went undetected for weeks while everyone was ill and snow shoveling was the occupation of the week.
I set up the trap and followed the instructions CAREFULLY. Please note - I said CAREFULLY!! I don't know what's going on with the unsuccessful capture reviews, but we have successfully captured a mouse almost every day for the past 10 days for a total of 8 mice. There is evidence of one more, so the trap has just been set again.
On one occasion I was too ambitious and applied too much peanut butter which gooped down and touched the metal plate. When I turned on the trap, it blinked red. I used several Qtips to both carefully remove the PB and to gently clean off the plates and the inside of the unit with clean water. After letting it dry, I changed the batteries (use good NEW batteries in this unit) and reapplied the PB (watch where you put it -- I put it on the back upper corner of the left wall so it would not touch the plates and the mouse would have to go all the way inside to get to it.) The first few catches occurred within hours, the last few took overnight. The trap was moved as areas where the mice had been active were discovered.
Since this (hopefully) last mouse seems to be more shy and much smaller, the trap has been placed in the area of visible activity (in the now empty drawer under the kitchen range). There is every expectation that we will catch this one as well.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Functionality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Electronic Mouse Trap
from Denver, CO
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Effective, humane & clean

PostedMarch 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the first year I've had a mouse problem in my kitchen and garage, probably due to a kitchen remodel. After finding mouse droppings and seeing mice darting about, I used steel wool and chalking to block all potential entrances I could find, and put out herbal mouse repellents to no avail.
I wanted a humane way to rid my house of mice without putting my dog or other wildlife in danger, poisons were NOT an option. This product works like a charm. It took only a day before the trap in the kitchen and the trap in the garage swiftly sent 2 critters to mouse heaven. After 4 mice in 2 days, we bought two more traps.
They are easy to empty out, no blood or gore to deal with and easy to reset. I would totally recommend this product.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality, it works!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Electronic Mouse Trap

So far, so good

PostedAugust 13, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
WIth all the mouse-killing products out there, I was skeptical about spending $20. But I'm glad that I did. My mouse family was very small and was able to avoid stick traps and clean off traditional snap traps without setting them off. After a month of battling them, I decided to give this thing a try. Within four hours, I had my first mouse. I heard the trap make a sort of buzzing noise for a few seconds, then it stopped and the green light started flashing. I dumped out the body and reset it. I caught another mouse overnight, though I took one star off because the green light was not flashing, even though the kill was well within the 24 hours it's supposed to light. Luckily, I decided to check the trap anyways and, sure enough, there was another dead mouse. So my only recommendation would be to check the trap regardless of the light, because you won't catch anything with a dead body in there.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality
Cons: light indicator unreliable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Electronic Mouse Trap
from Herndon VA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best mousetrap ever! I highly recommend it! Works every time!

PostedDecember 25, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have tried snap traps and the mice eat the peanut butter bait without snapping the trap. Glue traps work sometimes. This time the mice continued to eat the bait from the center of the glue trap without getting caught. I put 4 traps together and they still managed to eat the peanut butter without getting caught and even knocked one of the traps onto the floor. I had doubts about this electric trap but nothing else was working. I found a dead mouse in the trap every day until they were gone, a whole mouse family. I feel bad and would rather trap them humanely and release somewhere outside but it was the mice or me!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality
+23points
23out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Electronic Mouse Trap

Excellent product

PostedApril 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
At the first sign of a mouse in my apartment, i immediately went online to try and find the best trap out there. I read the great reviews on this one and decided to try it. Set the trap Saturday night and by Wednesday it caught and killed 3. All i had to do was spread peanut butter inside just once and install fresh batteries. After shocking the mouse all i had to do was flip the top and dump out the dead critter without any mess and reused it over and over again. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!!!!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Electronic Mouse Trap
from Denver, CO, USA

Gets the job done!

PostedFebruary 26, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This trap works great. I have tried many other mouse traps with little success. The Victor Electronic Trap is easy to use and within the first week, I caught 3 mice. I would recommend this product to others. Gets the job done!
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Electronic Mouse Trap
from CA
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Amazing!!

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It was really easy to set up and so far, the mice activity in our has gone down. I believe we've caught about 7 with this product.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Good Shape
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Electronic Mouse Trap
from Saratoga, New York
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A Life (and House) Saver!!

PostedOctober 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I discovered evidence of a mice problem, and was in shock.
Immediately searched for effective and clean kill traps and found the Victor Electronic. In the first 72 hours, I had humanely killed 9 mice. Have not seen one since. Traps are still out and ready. They are sleek and house guests have commented that they don't look like mouse traps. Very easy to set, empty and reset.
Have already recommended this trap to two people--and they have had success too!
WELL worth the price.
These traps are amazing!!
Thank you, Victor!
My only complaint would be that the door broke off one of my traps on the 2nd day. Had to fix with tape.
Pros: Multi Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality
Cons: door broke off too easily
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Electronic Mouse Trap
from Cleveland, OH, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

excellent product

PostedAugust 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
i recommend this to everyone. couple of key things to keep in mind; mice are suspicious of new things so it might take a day or two for them to get into the trap. also, you must make sure there are no other food sources they can get to so that they are driven to the trap. no food on the counter, bread bags, chocolate, seeds, nuts, even home made soap. they will eat things with high fat in them. once you've eliminate all food sources, you should start catching them, provided you have placed your trap against a wall/baseboard.
this is the most humane way to kill them and is especially good for women who don't want to deal with them. once the light is blinking to show one is caught, you just open the door over a garbage can and drop them in. i actually toss my little dead bodies into the woods. other animals come along and feast on the bodies and no chance they will be poisoned. i keep two in my kitchen (live in a 100 year old house) and once i did all the above, i caught 13 in a row. great product.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Electronic Mouse Trap
from Herndon VA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Did not work...my $2 for 4 pack mouse snap traps did waaaayyyy better!

PostedJuly 26, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Had a mouse infestation problem where they went under my garage door and under a garage wall and climbed upstairs to my kitchen via the gas pipe opening thru wall behind our gas range/oven. I put out 4 snap traps and the electronic trap. All using peanut butter as a bait...my snap traps caught 5 mice, ZERO for the electronic mouse trap. I will say there was no visual evidence of the mice even getting into the electronic trap to eat the peanut butter inside. Totally worthless to me esp at $20, compared to $2 for 4 snap traps at Target.
Cons: did not work as advertised
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Electronic Mouse Trap
from Connecticut
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A mouse magnet

PostedAugust 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This electronic mouse trap is a virtual mouse magnet. I have caught a half-dozen mice with it the week I purchased it -- and haven't seen a mouse since. Highly recommended.
Pros: Multi Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality, Great Quality, Good Shape
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Electronic Mouse Trap

Haven't caught the mouse yet

PostedAugust 1, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I followed all of the directions, put Duracell batteries in, made sure the peanut butter I placed in the back of the trap is fresh all the time and kept it on this past week. The trap was placed against the wall next to where I saw it under the stove(practically out of site), and it still hasn't been caught! It's really frusterating because I hate mice and can't sleep with it in the room. I don't understand why it hasn't been caught yet!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Electronic Mouse Trap
from 01824

Works Better Than Any Other Trap

PostedAugust 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product works awesome. Worth every penny. Caught mice that were avoiding all the glueboards. Kills instantly, no suffering for the mouse. No mess, you just dump the dead mouse out and re-bait. You have to rig up your own small bait tray, but it's easy.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong, Great Quality
Cons: rig your own bait tray.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Electronic Mouse Trap
from Northwest Connecticut
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I have never reviewed a product before, but these things deserve one

PostedAugust 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have never reviewed a product before, but these things deserve one. They are easy to use, and they work. Had a mouse in our kitchen and less than an hour after putting three of these electronic mouse traps out, it was captured, with no mess, and a very low "yuck" factor. Frankly, if you have to kill a mouse to get rid of it, this seems to be a relatively humane way to do so.
Just make sure that you review, understand and follow the instructions EXACTLY. The instructions that come on the packaging are not great, so go to the manufacturer's website, where the instructions they have posted are quite adequate. Also, the construction of the trap is just inexpensive plastic, so go easy on the thing. It is sturdy enough to do the job, but it is not an artistic triumph of "fit and finish," though the design itself is very well thought out. (Good architecture, not quite as good engineering.)
Do not use too much bait, a smear of peanut butter worked fine. And, make sure that both of the metal plates in the bottom of the trap are COMPLETELY clean and dry. Otherwise, the device will prematurely "fire" and then will be sitting there uselessly. (Respectfully, I think this might be the problem some of the other, not so pleased, reviewers may have had.) I used a dry cotton swab ("Q-Tip") to make sure that the metal plates were completely clean and dry. I suppose, if necessary, a little rubbing alcohol might help that process.
Again, I have NEVER been inspired to review a product before, no matter how good, but I was really impressed by these traps, for the simple reason that they did the job quickly, effectively and with minimal stress on my part. (The poor mouse, if it had even a moment to realize what was happening, was probably not so pleased.)
Pros: Multi Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality
Cons: construction a bit flimsy, must follow set up instructions exactly!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Electronic Mouse Trap

Bye bye pests

PostedJanuary 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I highly recommend this product. I'm super wimpy and hate handling things like this but this product made it a cinch! I still let out a small screech when I see it caught a mouse BUT the sigh of relief is the best.
Pros: Durable, Multi Use, Easy to Clean
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Electronic Mouse Trap
from highlands Ranch
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Doesn't work

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I've tried replacing the batteries... it just doesn't work. Might exchange it and see if it's just this one unit.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Electronic Mouse Trap

Great trap

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Perfect! It killed the mouse in the first night! It really worth it
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Electronic Mouse Trap
from Maryland

Worked as advertised

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Recently we had work done in the house and a mouse got in via the open garage. Even though we have a cat it made its way to the basement where it has stayed. I purchased several of the tomcat live catch traps and they failed completely. The mouse would either make its way in, eat and somehow get out, or it would tap or move them from the outside and they would close. I set a camera with a motion sensor to observe this behavior and figure out its moving patterns. I then purchased this electronic trap and another victor no-harm trap and set both next to each other. We would have preferred not to harm it but ran out of choices. The mouse selected the electric one over the no harm one and it worked on the first try.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Strong, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Electronic Mouse Trap
from ATLANTA, GEORGIA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

THESE TRAPS DO NOT WORK AT ALL!!! MOUSE ATE THE BAIT, GOT SHOCKED AND TOOK A DUMP INSIDE AND THEN LEFT!!!

PostedJanuary 15, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
THESE TRAPS DO NOT WORK AT ALL!!! MOUSE ATE THE BAIT, GOT SHOCKED AND TOOK A DUMP INSIDE AND THEN LEFT!!!
SIMPLY WASTE OF MONEY AND EFFORTS!!!
Cons: Not Durable, does not work at all!!! mouse got shocked and left
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
-5points
0out of 5found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 7 >>