728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 501 Series Genesis Steel Black Prehung Security Door

501 Series Genesis Steel Black Prehung Security Door

The Grisham 501 Series Genesis 36 in. x 80 in. Steel Black Prehung Security Door is powder coated with a durable white finish and has applied weather stripping. The heavy-gauge welded steel construction is fitted with tempered safety glass and includes an interchangeable top or bottom screen panel. A heavy-duty closer ensures smooth opening and closing. This door comes left-hinged, but is reversible for flexible installation options.
Overall rating:
4.511 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(45 reviews) 45
Open Ratings Snapshot
93%of customersrecommend this product40 of 43reviews
Rating Breakdown 45 reviews
4.5 out of 5
5
(29)
4
(13)
3
(1)
2
(1)
1
(1)
Appearance 
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Quality 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
93%of customersrecommend this product40 of 43reviews
Customer reviews for 501 Series Genesis Steel Black Prehung Security Door
Review 1 for 501 Series Genesis Steel Black Prehung Security Door
from Parker CO
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great door, excellent value

PostedJune 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Great looking door. Very well built.
We had it professionally installed as we had to have the entire frame redone. They were very quick and it looks great.
I would recommend this door to a budget minded family with security in mind.
Pros: Energy Efficient, Multi Use, Beautiful Appearance, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Great Value, Functional, Well Made, Easy to Clean, Good Size & Fit, High Quality, Great Detail
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 501 Series Genesis Steel Black Prehung Security Door
from Cincinnati Ohio
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Nice Door

PostedMarch 31, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The door doesn't use normal hardware like other security doors. Had to buy a Kwik set with separate door handle and deadbolt at around $75. Other than that, the door is very solid and closes nicely with authority With my old one I never knew if it would close or not. Also with the glass in the middle, the closer will be above or below the middle of the door so if you have a previous closer in the middle, you'll have to repair the old holes.
Pros: Beautiful Appearance, Great Value, Well Made
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 501 Series Genesis Steel Black Prehung Security Door
from akron ohio
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love this door!

PostedMay 20, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This door is very stylish and adds character to our home.
Pros: Beautiful Appearance, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Well Made, Easy to Clean, Great Detail
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 501 Series Genesis Steel Black Prehung Security Door
from Cleveland, OH, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

attractive & sturdy

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Bought the black door for dad's home. Easy installation, sturdy and attractive. Received many compliments from neighbors. Be sure new door knobs and locks do not interfere with existing door knobs and locks. Check depth between the two doors and their locks before purchasing your new hardware.
Pros: Beautiful Appearance, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 501 Series Genesis Steel Black Prehung Security Door
from Fayetteville, NC, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Highly recommended.

PostedNovember 27, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I am very pleased with this door. I had the experts to install the door and it looks great. Security was an issue and I must say I have the security I was looking for in this door.The rails are iron and not metal.
Pros: Beautiful Appearance, Sturdy, Great Value, High Quality
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 501 Series Genesis Steel Black Prehung Security Door
from salisbury, nc

grisham security door

PostedJune 30, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Got one about 15 years ago. Had some problems with the handle coming off until I drilled it and put a pin in it. Many years later the bronze bushings in the hinge wore out and cost about $50 to order a new hinge. Overall I'm satisfied with it and will buy another one soon. I haven't seen much competition or many to choose from but this one is worth the price.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 501 Series Genesis Steel Black Prehung Security Door
from Florida, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

great security door!

PostedJanuary 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We purchase this door over two years ago. We didn't have any installation problems as we had it installed by the expert. Has added much security to my home. I will be purchasing another one for my back door! I would definitely recommend this door!
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 501 Series Genesis Steel Black Prehung Security Door
from Flint, MI, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This product is not as good as I expected it to be.

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The bottom piece has broken off and we have not had it for more than 2 months. The whole screw broke off. I am upset. I would not recommend the installer. We are getting ice on the inside of the door, if we needed something to prevent this we should have been told.
Pros: Functional, Beautiful Appearance, Easy to Clean
Cons: Quality
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 501 Series Genesis Steel Black Prehung Security Door
from Ohio
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Worth Every Penny

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This steel door was a gift to my Mom. She loves it. We were going to pay to have it installed, but my Dad did it himself. An excellent deal for the price.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 501 Series Genesis Steel Black Prehung Security Door
from Louisville, KY, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

I purchased two of these doors in feb of 2013.

PostedFebruary 28, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I reviewed these doors and read all the information that was provided by home depot. that is how I made up my mind. the doors are simple but have an elegant design. they were easy and quick to installed I used professionals.the doors are heavy duty and strong.
Pros: Energy Efficient, Beautiful Appearance, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Great Value, Well Made, High Quality, doors are sturdy, great price
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 501 Series Genesis Steel Black Prehung Security Door
from Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I Love This Door

PostedMarch 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have put in two.in the last year.They are great. Install was easy and changeing the swing direction easy
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 501 Series Genesis Steel Black Prehung Security Door

great door but not reversible

PostedDecember 19, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The door looks great, but the problem I am having with this door is reversing the door from a left hand door to right hand door . To reverse this door requires you removing the hinges placing them on the opposite side. I finds this a problem since my door comes with glass inserts. Reversing this door requires drilling new holes for the glass inserts and hinges. This not a reversible door.
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 501 Series Genesis Steel Black Prehung Security Door
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Will never close properly due to hinge screw interference

PostedMarch 10, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:501 Series Genesis Steel Black Prehung Security Door
I like everything about the door except - the door will never soft close, the hinge screws hit the framework before the door closes all the way, you would have to adjust the door to slam close or always pull it closed. Most doors are made with recessed flush screws or the framework would have openings in it to prevent contact, the easiest way for the diy'er would be to drill holes in the framework where the screws contact it... but we shouldn't have to do that, my door is going back! I gave it a poor for quality because of this, attached is a photo of the hinge side framework, I have the hinge closed all the way you can see that if the door was parallel to the framework mounting surface the door would be pulling hard on the framework.
Pros: Great Value, Sturdy
Cons: Quality, not functional
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 501 Series Genesis Steel Black Prehung Security Door
from Mount Juliet, TN.
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

501 series genesis black prehung door

PostedMay 12, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:501 Series Genesis Steel Black Prehung Security Door
The door was a good investment and easy to change from a right to left .
Pros: Energy Efficient, Beautiful Appearance, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Great Value, Well Made
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 501 Series Genesis Steel Black Prehung Security Door
from Efland, NC
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Excellant heavy, beautiful security screen door.

PostedApril 14, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:501 Series Genesis Steel White Prehung Security Door
This door is very strong and sturdy. Heavy. Is designed so it fits left or right opening. Just what you want with a security screen door. It has glass and screen panels for top and bottom. I have almost the same style from this company on the front door we purchased 14 years ago and it still looks and operates like new. And you can't beat the price.
Pros: Beautiful Appearance, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Great Value, Easy to Clean, Good Size & Fit, High Quality, 2 glass 2 screen panels
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 501 Series Genesis Steel Black Prehung Security Door
from North Brentwood, Maryland
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great Price

PostedApril 7, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:501 Series Genesis Steel White Prehung Security Door
We love the door wish we had not waited so long to purchase one.
Pros: Beautiful Appearance, Great Value, Functional, Well Made, Good Size & Fit, High Quality
Cons: n/a
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 501 Series Genesis Steel Black Prehung Security Door
from Edgewater, FL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Glad I checked on line, this item was discontinued in the store

PostedMarch 24, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:501 Series Genesis Steel White Prehung Security Door
To easy, I'm not a contractor, but this door was simple to install.
Pros: Beautiful Appearance, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Great Value, Functional, Well Made, Lots of Features, Good Size & Fit, High Quality, Great Detail
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 501 Series Genesis Steel Black Prehung Security Door
from Oak Lawn,IL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent value & quality only one interesting problem

PostedJanuary 8, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:501 Series Genesis Steel Black Prehung Security Door
This is a great door at a great price. I would recommend this door over a more expensive standard storm door. It is very heavy & closes great. I had Home Depot install it & after some initial confusion the installation went fine. I had one problem after about 8 months the outside temperature dropped to about -12 & the bottom panel shattered into small pieces. I have read that other people have had the same thing happen & manufactures claim that the doors have been hit by something causing a fracture that shatters when it gets cold. I think there is something that occurs in the manufacture of the safety glass. I don't blame the door manufacturers. I just wanted to mention this in case others have the same problem.
Pros: Great Value, Functional, Well Made, Sturdy, Good Size & Fit, High Quality, Easy to Install
Cons: glass shattered when very cold
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 501 Series Genesis Steel Black Prehung Security Door
from Indianapolis, IN
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The extra security I need...

PostedJanuary 31, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:501 Series Genesis Steel White Prehung Security Door
Purchased this door following an attempted break-in. My son installed without any difficulty in about 2 hours. He did upgrade the screws that came with the door to something that provides an additional level of security. Although the individuals who attempted to get inside my home were stopped by the steel reinforcements in my door jam and my alarm, I feel much more secure now. My son also installed a double dead bolt. I plan to purchase another one for my other exterior door.
One note: following installation during a cold snap, I had issue with ice forming on the inside glass of the door. I removed the window from the top & installed the screen. There has not been any further issue & of course the door still provides the same level of security with the screen in.
Pros: Easy to Install, Great Value, Functional, Well Made, High Quality, looks great!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 501 Series Genesis Steel Black Prehung Security Door
from Washington, DC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Really like the door, but not the closer

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This review is from:501 Series Genesis Steel Black Prehung Security Door
This is a great door. There are 3 panes of glass and a screen, which is much better than some other "security" doors that are screen only. BUT the closer was defective and had to be returned. The local home depot let me exchange it, and I paid the difference for a hydraulic closer. Go the extra mile and get the quiet hydraulic closer with a button hold-open instead of the cheap spring-loaded one with the little tab that comes with the door. You'll be happier.
Pros: Energy Efficient, Great Value, Functional, Well Made, Beautiful Appearance, Sturdy, Good Size & Fit
Cons: cheap closer
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>