728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Outdoor Wall Mounted Lighting or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 1-Light Black Outdoor Dusk-to-Dawn Wall Lantern

1-Light Black Outdoor Dusk-to-Dawn Wall Lantern

The Hampton Bay Wall-Mount Outdoor Dusk-to-Dawn Lantern combines a classic look with lighting technology that will give you peace of mind. This traditional and timeless fixture is finished in black and features a dusk-to-dawn photocell that activates the light bulb at dusk and turns it off at dawn. The clear beveled glass diffuser provides a clean, sharp appearance. Uses 1-100-Watt maximum light bulb (not included).
Overall rating:
3.877 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(73 reviews) 73
Open Ratings Snapshot
76%of customersrecommend this product54 of 71reviews
Rating Breakdown 73 reviews
3.9 out of 5
5
(38)
4
(14)
3
(4)
2
(8)
1
(9)
Appearance 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Quality 
3.8 out of 5
3.8 out of 5
Value 
3.9 out of 5
3.9 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
76%of customersrecommend this product54 of 71reviews
Customer questions and answers:
8 Questions | 14 Answers
Customer reviews for 1-Light Black Outdoor Dusk-to-Dawn Wall Lantern
Review 1 for 1-Light Black Outdoor Dusk-to-Dawn Wall Lantern
from Chesapeake, Virginia
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Bad Purchase - Bad Photo Cells

PostedJuly 3, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We bought this outdoor dusk-to-dawn wall lantern for over our garage door. This first one we bought, the photo cell went out on it about 30 days in use. I returned the product to Home Depot for a refund. I thought, what the heck. Try another one, maybe the last one was a lemon. The second one lasted 6 months and the photo cell went out on it, same as the first. We are stuck with this one because it's over the limit on refund days. We took the photo cell out and replace it with a screw on between the bulb and socket photo cell. It works, but doesn't look to fancy. DON'T BUY THIS WALL LANTERN! It has weak photo cells that don't last lone. Once the photo cell goes, the light will not work until you unwire and take out the photo cell. Bad Purchase!
Cons: bad photo cells
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1-Light Black Outdoor Dusk-to-Dawn Wall Lantern
from Miami, FL

Dusk-to-dawn wall lantern, problematic sensor

PostedJune 19, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
My third lantern has failed and it's the same problem each time - the sensor fails after a couple of years. I'm convinced it's just cheap parts from China. Granted, the lantern does look nice and it's easy to install, especially after several installations. It's interesting to note that my first lantern had a lifetime warranty, but the new one's only have a 3 year warranty.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Looks Great
Cons: cheap sensor
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1-Light Black Outdoor Dusk-to-Dawn Wall Lantern
from Knoxville, TN, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice Upgrade

PostedJuly 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I installed this light fixture outside my garage about 1 & a half months ago & so far, I couldn't be happier with it. The light switch for this exterior light is inconveniently located on the far side of the garage, so turning it on & off every time you wanted light in the driveway was unrealistic & leaving it on all the time meant replacing the bulbs every 3 weeks. So, this fixture was the perfect solution. I leave the switch on & it's motion activated, so it comes on when I pull into the driveway at night or walk in front of it. I've also used the dusk-to-dawn feature when I was going to be away for a few days, and it worked as promised. Installation was a breeze, it's attractive, you can easily switch between lighting modes & it works like it should - overall, excellent upgrade!
Pros: Well Made, Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+11points
14out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1-Light Black Outdoor Dusk-to-Dawn Wall Lantern
from Dallas, TX, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The lamp was perfect for our needs!

PostedDecember 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The dusk to dawn lamp works great for us and eliminates the need to remember to turn the outside light off and on. It was easy to install, looks great and was quite affordable. I am not sure why everyone does not have such a lamp to add to the security of their homes and give them peace of mind.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Very Bright
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1-Light Black Outdoor Dusk-to-Dawn Wall Lantern

Cheap for a reason

PostedDecember 9, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Appearance 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The dusk to dawn photo cell fails every few months. Though affordable on the front end, they make up for in the long run at about $9 a pop. After a couple years the powder coating comes off in sheets
Pros: Stylish
Cons: photo cell failures, powder coating falls off in sheets
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1-Light Black Outdoor Dusk-to-Dawn Wall Lantern

Light

PostedMarch 9, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Perfect light. First one lasted 10+ years (until the door hit and broke it). Bought a new one and again works perfectly. On as the sun goes down and off just at daybreak.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1-Light Black Outdoor Dusk-to-Dawn Wall Lantern
from Muskego, WI
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

These are classy looking lights

PostedJune 27, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
These are attractive lights at a good price that were fairly easy to install.
Pros: Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1-Light Black Outdoor Dusk-to-Dawn Wall Lantern
from Sarasota, Fl
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Good looking light fixture

PostedApril 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
It looks very nice against the outside wall and flatters the other lights that are the same quality. Thank you for all the fun times I've had buying Home Depot products,
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1-Light Black Outdoor Dusk-to-Dawn Wall Lantern

great light for a good price

PostedJune 24, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Bought 3 lights a year ago and haven't had problem with any of them. Easy install and works great with the new type cfl bulbs.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1-Light Black Outdoor Dusk-to-Dawn Wall Lantern
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

pHODUCT GOOD

PostedApril 21, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The light was ease to install and has work perfect so far.
The price for the light was not bad.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1-Light Black Outdoor Dusk-to-Dawn Wall Lantern
from Indiana
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very good product

PostedJune 9, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Very easy to install dusk to dawn works great very nice look
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Looks Great, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1-Light Black Outdoor Dusk-to-Dawn Wall Lantern
from Barrington, IL

DOES work with CFL's

PostedNovember 25, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We bought this light for our front porch because we wanted the Dusk to Dawn feature. This lamp is wonderful! It IS CFL compatible - We are using a 23 watt (100w equivalent) with no problems. Gives off a lot of light, and is totally automatic. Highly recommended.
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1-Light Black Outdoor Dusk-to-Dawn Wall Lantern
from punta gorda, fl
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

disappointed in light sensor

PostedFebruary 10, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought two, one for each side of garage door. From day one right side light came on at least 1/2 hr before left side even though sun set on right side. After 1 yr (just after manufacturer warranty expired) that light's sensor died leaving light on 24/7.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: unreliable sensor, not bad deal if $10 cheaper
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1-Light Black Outdoor Dusk-to-Dawn Wall Lantern
from Guyton, Ga.
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works Good

PostedMay 6, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Straight Forward to install, and LED it workst great!
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 1-Light Black Outdoor Dusk-to-Dawn Wall Lantern

Outdoor wall lantern Hampton Bay

PostedDecember 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is a great simple install product to provide additional security and outdoor front or back lighting to the home. We have a few concrete steps out front and back of our house and this light paired with another helps to illuminate the danger and keep unwarranted visits away at night. The photo cell only comes on when it's dusk and off at dawn so it saves on electricity when not necessary or when trying to sleep in or just away from home. Beware of the photo cell when installing during the day because it will appear that it is not wired correctly because it won't turn on in the daylight. I learned the hard way, rookie mistake just read the directions at least to number 6.... Great product and pleasing to the eye as well. Inexpensive too!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 1-Light Black Outdoor Dusk-to-Dawn Wall Lantern
from Huntsville, Alabama

Doesn't work well

PostedApril 13, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Dusk to dawn light never worked well. Light was on a porch and it stayed on most of the day, sometimes 24 hours a day/night. The first time we had to change the light bulb, the dusk to dawn feature never worked again. It worked for a while with the switch but then stopped working altogether. It's a very pretty light so I was really disappointed.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 1-Light Black Outdoor Dusk-to-Dawn Wall Lantern
from Marietta, Georgia
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Good Purchase

PostedApril 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Very beautiful, it is a conversation piece. It is a keeper.
Pros: Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 1-Light Black Outdoor Dusk-to-Dawn Wall Lantern
from Melbourne, Florida
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Poor Lighting Control

PostedOctober 30, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We installed 2 of these to replace 2 other rusted lanterns. The photocells on our 2 lanterns are very sensitive to any daylight or any other light such as security floods or car traffic etc, even the brightness of the moon. The lanterns do not have a time delay and flicker with occasional random light. It must be almost virtually absence of any light for them to activate and stay lighted.
I called Home Depot Hampton Bay and they admitted to a design flaw so I eventually painted over the sensor with matching paint and now it works fine...when I have a chance I will take them down and bypass the photo cell as we honestly failed to realize that they were equipped with photocells when we bought them in HD.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: too sensitive to light., flickers with passing clouds and bright moon., no time delay to prevent flickering
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 1-Light Black Outdoor Dusk-to-Dawn Wall Lantern
from myrtle beach, sc
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Material it's constructed of is misrepresented!

PostedOctober 9, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
In the product overview, it states, "Black finish with rugged CAST ALUMINUM housing that is ideal for outdoor installation".
So imagine my (unpleasant) surprise when it arrives, and the entire housing, top, and base are PLASTIC!!!
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional
Cons: made of plastic not the aluminum represented
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 1-Light Black Outdoor Dusk-to-Dawn Wall Lantern
from Buffalo, NY
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female

So easy "A girl can install it"

PostedOctober 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought 2 of these to replace some very old ones. I had the old ones dismantled and had these put together and up in less than an hour! They look really nice on each side of the door, beveled glass gives it a classy look, and the dusk/dawn feature works great! Not to mention, the price was more than reasonable for how nice it is. Also, I have a CFL bulb in each one and it works just as good as any other reg bulb. Highly recommend!
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>