728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Outdoor Wall Mounted Lighting or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 1-Light Outdoor Black Dusk-to-Dawn Wall Lantern

1-Light Outdoor Black Dusk-to-Dawn Wall Lantern

The Hampton Bay Wall-Mount Outdoor Dusk-to-Dawn Lantern combines a classic look with lighting technology that will give you peace of mind. This traditional and timeless fixture is finished in black and features a dusk-to-dawn photocell that activates the light bulb at dusk and turns it off at dawn. The clear beveled glass diffuser provides a clean, sharp appearance. Uses 1-100 watt maximum light bulb (not included).
Overall rating:
3.845 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(58 reviews) 58
Open Ratings Snapshot
75%of customersrecommend this product42 of 56reviews
Rating Breakdown 58 reviews
3.8 out of 5.0
5
(31)
4
(10)
3
(2)
2
(7)
1
(8)
Appearance 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Quality 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
75%of customersrecommend this product42 of 56reviews
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer reviews for 1-Light Outdoor Black Dusk-to-Dawn Wall Lantern
Review 1 for 1-Light Outdoor Black Dusk-to-Dawn Wall Lantern
from Dallas, TX, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The lamp was perfect for our needs!

PostedDecember 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The dusk to dawn lamp works great for us and eliminates the need to remember to turn the outside light off and on. It was easy to install, looks great and was quite affordable. I am not sure why everyone does not have such a lamp to add to the security of their homes and give them peace of mind.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Very Bright
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1-Light Outdoor Black Dusk-to-Dawn Wall Lantern
from Knoxville, TN, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice Upgrade

PostedJuly 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I installed this light fixture outside my garage about 1 & a half months ago & so far, I couldn't be happier with it. The light switch for this exterior light is inconveniently located on the far side of the garage, so turning it on & off every time you wanted light in the driveway was unrealistic & leaving it on all the time meant replacing the bulbs every 3 weeks. So, this fixture was the perfect solution. I leave the switch on & it's motion activated, so it comes on when I pull into the driveway at night or walk in front of it. I've also used the dusk-to-dawn feature when I was going to be away for a few days, and it worked as promised. Installation was a breeze, it's attractive, you can easily switch between lighting modes & it works like it should - overall, excellent upgrade!
Pros: Well Made, Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+11points
13out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1-Light Outdoor Black Dusk-to-Dawn Wall Lantern
from ravenna, oh
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

great lamp for dusk til dawn

PostedDecember 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
easy to mount and set up, this light looks modern an stylish
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1-Light Outdoor Black Dusk-to-Dawn Wall Lantern
from San Diego, CA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product!

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These lighting fixtures were very easy to assemble, and install. They work as they are supposed to, and as expected. One light does come on a little earlier than the other, but, that is not the fault of the fixture assembly, it is due to the fixture being mounted under the front porch overhang, therefore losing the sunlight earlier than the other fixture. Great product. Works as advertised and looks great. In the past I would sometimes forget to turn on my front patio lights, and the front of the house, gate, and sidewalk would be dark when my daughter came home from work. Now, we just leave the front patio light switch on all the time, and they turn on/off with the sun, and are always on when my daughter gets home from work at night. I am using CFL bulbs that put out as much light as a 100 watt incandecent bulb, but use kess than 20 watts each. Leaving them on all night has made no noticeable difference in my monthly electric bill. I Highly recommend these units for replacements, or, for new installations.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Well Made, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Stylish
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1-Light Outdoor Black Dusk-to-Dawn Wall Lantern
from myrtle beach, sc
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Material it's constructed of is misrepresented!

PostedOctober 9, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
In the product overview, it states, "Black finish with rugged CAST ALUMINUM housing that is ideal for outdoor installation".
So imagine my (unpleasant) surprise when it arrives, and the entire housing, top, and base are PLASTIC!!!
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional
Cons: made of plastic not the aluminum represented
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1-Light Outdoor Black Dusk-to-Dawn Wall Lantern

Cheap for a reason

PostedDecember 9, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Appearance 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The dusk to dawn photo cell fails every few months. Though affordable on the front end, they make up for in the long run at about $9 a pop. After a couple years the powder coating comes off in sheets
Pros: Stylish
Cons: photo cell failures, powder coating falls off in sheets
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1-Light Outdoor Black Dusk-to-Dawn Wall Lantern
from Daytona Beach Florida
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love these lamps

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
great product - I bought 5 of them for a consistent look around my house
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1-Light Outdoor Black Dusk-to-Dawn Wall Lantern
from Melbourne, Florida
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Poor Lighting Control

PostedOctober 30, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We installed 2 of these to replace 2 other rusted lanterns. The photocells on our 2 lanterns are very sensitive to any daylight or any other light such as security floods or car traffic etc, even the brightness of the moon. The lanterns do not have a time delay and flicker with occasional random light. It must be almost virtually absence of any light for them to activate and stay lighted.
I called Home Depot Hampton Bay and they admitted to a design flaw so I eventually painted over the sensor with matching paint and now it works fine...when I have a chance I will take them down and bypass the photo cell as we honestly failed to realize that they were equipped with photocells when we bought them in HD.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: too sensitive to light., flickers with passing clouds and bright moon., no time delay to prevent flickering
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1-Light Outdoor Black Dusk-to-Dawn Wall Lantern
from strongsville ohio
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't Buy this product spend a little more otherwise you will have to replace it. Doesn't last.

PostedNovember 8, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought 2 within 6 months the first one went bad the photocell just stopped working so I did a swap bought a new one and returned the old one ( 6 months). Then about year later the second went bad same thing photocell so I did the same thing had to clean it up a bit but now I am getting good installing these things wish I would've paid a little more and got a better quality one I expect it to go bad again made cheap.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Looks Great, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1-Light Outdoor Black Dusk-to-Dawn Wall Lantern
from Fort Collins CO
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

LIGHT OUTDOOR BLACK DUSK-TO-DAWN WALL LANTERN

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Works just like it should, has a taller light bulb area and fits my flourescent outdoor pole light much better than my old light and puts out much better light with the same bulb.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Looks Great, Very Bright
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1-Light Outdoor Black Dusk-to-Dawn Wall Lantern
from Barrington, IL

DOES work with CFL's

PostedNovember 25, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We bought this light for our front porch because we wanted the Dusk to Dawn feature. This lamp is wonderful! It IS CFL compatible - We are using a 23 watt (100w equivalent) with no problems. Gives off a lot of light, and is totally automatic. Highly recommended.
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1-Light Outdoor Black Dusk-to-Dawn Wall Lantern
from Farmington Hills, Michigan
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Perfect replacement fixture

PostedJune 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought two to replace 20 year-old fixtures. The installation was relatively easy (you always find a few bumps when replacing something). Had to make a quick call to Home Depot customer support and they quickly answered my questions. Job took about 1.5 hours (for a novice electrician) and instructions were prefect.
Lights worked as advertised. One caveat however: the dusk to dawn eye does not operate until it becomes reasonably dark, so be patient. All of the other (original) lights in our sub went on about 20 minutes earlier than these. I am very pleased with this purchase.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Looks Great
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1-Light Outdoor Black Dusk-to-Dawn Wall Lantern
from Buffalo, NY
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female

So easy "A girl can install it"

PostedOctober 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought 2 of these to replace some very old ones. I had the old ones dismantled and had these put together and up in less than an hour! They look really nice on each side of the door, beveled glass gives it a classy look, and the dusk/dawn feature works great! Not to mention, the price was more than reasonable for how nice it is. Also, I have a CFL bulb in each one and it works just as good as any other reg bulb. Highly recommend!
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1-Light Outdoor Black Dusk-to-Dawn Wall Lantern
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

base is smaller than average

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
this wall attaching outdoor light covered the out door attachment,poorly and had to be be corked and painted to look like it fit,,the adjusting screw got stripped 2 times needing to be brought back and exchanged
Cons: Difficult to Assemble
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 1-Light Outdoor Black Dusk-to-Dawn Wall Lantern
from waynesburg pa
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good light

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
the light was easy to put up and looks very good on the house
Pros: Well Made, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 1-Light Outdoor Black Dusk-to-Dawn Wall Lantern
from Texas
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Did not work right out of the box.

PostedSeptember 25, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Would not work. Waste of time to buy, install, and return.
Cons: non-functioning
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 1-Light Outdoor Black Dusk-to-Dawn Wall Lantern
from NM

Install it and forget it.

PostedApril 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very good step-by-step directions. Follow them and you're done. The lights come on at dusk and go off at dawn, as advertised.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 1-Light Outdoor Black Dusk-to-Dawn Wall Lantern
from Huntsville, Alabama

Doesn't work well

PostedApril 13, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Dusk to dawn light never worked well. Light was on a porch and it stayed on most of the day, sometimes 24 hours a day/night. The first time we had to change the light bulb, the dusk to dawn feature never worked again. It worked for a while with the switch but then stopped working altogether. It's a very pretty light so I was really disappointed.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 1-Light Outdoor Black Dusk-to-Dawn Wall Lantern
from Fort Collins, CO, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

My electrician installed these quickly and they are working well. Very costly offer by a light company required ordering.

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I picked these up and had electrician install. They are beautiful and economical and save electricity when leaving the lights on all day.
Pros: Well Made, Unique, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright, Nice Design, very satisfied economical.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 1-Light Outdoor Black Dusk-to-Dawn Wall Lantern
from newark delaware
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

lights

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Great lights were dusk to dawn easy to install, would recommend them to anyone
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Well Made, Looks Great, Very Bright, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>