728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Outdoor Wall Mounted Lighting or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Black 1-Light Outdoor Dusk-to-Dawn Wall Lantern

Black 1-Light Outdoor Dusk-to-Dawn Wall Lantern

The Hampton Bay Wall-Mount Outdoor Dusk-to-Dawn Lantern combines a classic look with lighting technology that will give you peace of mind. This traditional and timeless fixture is finished in black and features a dusk-to-dawn photocell that activates the light bulb at dusk and turns it off at dawn. The clear beveled glass diffuser provides a clean, sharp appearance. Uses one 100-watt maximum light bulb (not included).
Overall rating:
3.778 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(36 reviews) 36
Open Ratings Snapshot
76%of customersrecommend this product26 of 34reviews
Rating Breakdown 36 reviews
3.8 out of 5.0
5
(18)
4
(7)
3
(1)
2
(5)
1
(5)
Appearance 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Quality 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
76%of customersrecommend this product26 of 34reviews
Customer reviews for Black 1-Light Outdoor Dusk-to-Dawn Wall Lantern
Review 1 for Black 1-Light Outdoor Dusk-to-Dawn Wall Lantern
Judson
from Knoxville, TN, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice Upgrade

PostedJuly 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I installed this light fixture outside my garage about 1 & a half months ago & so far, I couldn't be happier with it. The light switch for this exterior light is inconveniently located on the far side of the garage, so turning it on & off every time you wanted light in the driveway was unrealistic & leaving it on all the time meant replacing the bulbs every 3 weeks. So, this fixture was the perfect solution. I leave the switch on & it's motion activated, so it comes on when I pull into the driveway at night or walk in front of it. I've also used the dusk-to-dawn feature when I was going to be away for a few days, and it worked as promised. Installation was a breeze, it's attractive, you can easily switch between lighting modes & it works like it should - overall, excellent upgrade!
Pros: Well Made, Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Black 1-Light Outdoor Dusk-to-Dawn Wall Lantern
DGP52
from Dallas, TX, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The lamp was perfect for our needs!

PostedDecember 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The dusk to dawn lamp works great for us and eliminates the need to remember to turn the outside light off and on. It was easy to install, looks great and was quite affordable. I am not sure why everyone does not have such a lamp to add to the security of their homes and give them peace of mind.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Very Bright
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Black 1-Light Outdoor Dusk-to-Dawn Wall Lantern
jokar51
from NM

Install it and forget it.

PostedApril 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very good step-by-step directions. Follow them and you're done. The lights come on at dusk and go off at dawn, as advertised.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Black 1-Light Outdoor Dusk-to-Dawn Wall Lantern
dddd

not great quality

PostedJanuary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
I bought two of these lights. They worked fine for about 7 months and now one of them does not work at all. Changed the bulb and nothing. I somehow saved the box but I'm hesitant to try a replacement. Why is it so hard to find a quality dusk to dawn light?
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Black 1-Light Outdoor Dusk-to-Dawn Wall Lantern
Cheri
from Buffalo, NY
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female

So easy "A girl can install it"

PostedOctober 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought 2 of these to replace some very old ones. I had the old ones dismantled and had these put together and up in less than an hour! They look really nice on each side of the door, beveled glass gives it a classy look, and the dusk/dawn feature works great! Not to mention, the price was more than reasonable for how nice it is. Also, I have a CFL bulb in each one and it works just as good as any other reg bulb. Highly recommend!
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Black 1-Light Outdoor Dusk-to-Dawn Wall Lantern
Jeff
from Hamburg, NY 14075, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good light - direct replacement

PostedJuly 30, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I got this light to replace the same model which lasted about 8 years until the light sensor failed. It seems to be slightly lower quality than the original, but still acceptable. I couldn't get the light to come on by covering the sensor, but after dark it did turn on. Satisfied. Local H.D. had it in stock.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: not easy to test in daylight
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Black 1-Light Outdoor Dusk-to-Dawn Wall Lantern
gramirez2012
from Barrington, IL

DOES work with CFL's

PostedNovember 25, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We bought this light for our front porch because we wanted the Dusk to Dawn feature. This lamp is wonderful! It IS CFL compatible - We are using a 23 watt (100w equivalent) with no problems. Gives off a lot of light, and is totally automatic. Highly recommended.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Black 1-Light Outdoor Dusk-to-Dawn Wall Lantern
Homeowner
from Richmond, VA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

1 out of 3 lights defective

PostedMarch 12, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
We bought three of these and had all three professionally installed. Two are working just fine and very pretty up and running. The third one has power going to the unit, but the unit itself, does not work. We now have to take it down, and exchange it and install the new one.
I rated ease of installation as poor as we now have to do 2x as much work to get one that works.
Pros: Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design
Cons: bought 3 lights 1 out of 3 did not work
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Black 1-Light Outdoor Dusk-to-Dawn Wall Lantern
acz711
from Huntsville, Alabama

Doesn't work well

PostedApril 13, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Dusk to dawn light never worked well. Light was on a porch and it stayed on most of the day, sometimes 24 hours a day/night. The first time we had to change the light bulb, the dusk to dawn feature never worked again. It worked for a while with the switch but then stopped working altogether. It's a very pretty light so I was really disappointed.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Black 1-Light Outdoor Dusk-to-Dawn Wall Lantern
Patelee
from New Orleans
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Looks good

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
The inside where it should attach was frozen in the wrong direction and we had to use a hammer to losen it up so we could put it on. Very difficult to work with.
Pros: Functional, Looks Great, Stylish
Cons: Difficult to Assemble
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Black 1-Light Outdoor Dusk-to-Dawn Wall Lantern
GarnetMesa
from Delta, CO, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Outdoor lights

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The light fixtures are good quality metal construction. The photocells are super sensitive and react to any type of light, not just sunlight.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Stylish, Well Made, Eco-Friendly, Very Bright, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Black 1-Light Outdoor Dusk-to-Dawn Wall Lantern
Carmen
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It was easy to install and it looks great!

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It was easy to install and it looks great and the price was resonable.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Fast / Speed, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Black 1-Light Outdoor Dusk-to-Dawn Wall Lantern
ILoveMyHomeDepot
from Northeast Ohio
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Love these Lights

PostedJanuary 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
When we had our small one-car garage repainted again in 2013, I really wanted to put lights on it. I had trouble finding the right scale for the size of the garage. These were perfect. I purchased two of them and had them professionally installed. I love the dusk-to-dawn feature. I feel much safer now. Really makes a difference!
Pros: Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Black 1-Light Outdoor Dusk-to-Dawn Wall Lantern
J2155

Light is easy to install and dusk to dawn

PostedDecember 31, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very easy to install this light on an outside wall. Works well nod looks good.
Pros: Functional, Looks Great, Very Bright
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Black 1-Light Outdoor Dusk-to-Dawn Wall Lantern
tn19
from wi

worked for 3 weeks

PostedOctober 4, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
worked great for three weeks then the photocell went out. just enough time for me to throw out the box and reciept.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Black 1-Light Outdoor Dusk-to-Dawn Wall Lantern
Mazangi
from Arbutus, MD, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It is what I was looking for.

PostedAugust 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Good product. Not difficult to assemble, but it wasn't just snap and go type assembly. It lights my back yard every evening and turns off in the morning without me turning off the switch.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Black 1-Light Outdoor Dusk-to-Dawn Wall Lantern
fishdoc
from albany ny
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

hampton bay outdoor light

PostedDecember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
bought a couple for side of garage....6 months ago....now 1 never turns off..the auto light sensor is no good on 1 light....but this is should not surprise anyone..with a cheap light problems like this are sure to happen....should have bought a light from a regular lighting house.....I am sure this would not have happened....
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Looks Great, Nice Design
Cons: quality of electric eye
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Black 1-Light Outdoor Dusk-to-Dawn Wall Lantern
Neil
from Vermont
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best Outdoor Light for the Price!

PostedNovember 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have tried a variety of outdoor lighting and this light was the best choice for a dusk to dawn solution that was price competitive and looks great! I have two of them that have worked for the past 5 years and one of them just had the dusk-to-dawn sensor fail. So I called the 800 number and they're sending a replacement for free! Great light!
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Black 1-Light Outdoor Dusk-to-Dawn Wall Lantern
14Ron
from Novi, MI

Incandescent only

PostedMay 2, 2010
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Have to use 40 watt at front since sun doesnt hit it, on 24/7. These cant take CFL's and waste a lot of energy. On the other 3 that I mounted 2 years ago I had to install 100 watters. I tried the CFLs but they burned out immediately since the sensor gradually delivers power to the bulb and the CFLs require full power. The dimmables dont work for these types of lights. These are easy enough to replace that when I find one that gives off 100 watts of light by using only 23 watts, Im replacing them. The other possibility is to have a new type of light sensor.
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Black 1-Light Outdoor Dusk-to-Dawn Wall Lantern
MikeOnLI
from Copiague, NY

So far, very pleased

PostedJanuary 13, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've had this up for a few weeks and so far, I'm very pleased. I always hated coming home to a dark house so I love that this turns on automatically. I've read some reviews that had issues but none yet for me. I actually have a covered porch about 5 feet deep and that hasn't caused any problems.
Installation was very easy. No different than any other fixture. The appearance is very nice. I would say that the base may be more narrow side to side than some others. It was fine for me, but I could see it possibly causing some problems based on what it's replacing.
Pros: Looks Great, Nice Design, dusk sensing
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 >>