728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Outdoor Wall Mounted Lighting or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Black 1-Light Outdoor Dusk-to-Dawn Wall Lantern

Black 1-Light Outdoor Dusk-to-Dawn Wall Lantern

The Hampton Bay Wall-Mount Outdoor Dusk-to-Dawn Lantern combines a classic look with lighting technology that will give you peace of mind. This traditional and timeless fixture is finished in black and features a dusk-to-dawn photocell that activates the light bulb at dusk and turns it off at dawn. The clear beveled glass diffuser provides a clean, sharp appearance. Uses one 100-watt maximum light bulb (not included).
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4
 / 
5
(46 reviews) 46
Open Ratings Snapshot
82%of customersrecommend this product36 of 44reviews
Rating Breakdown 46 reviews
4.0 out of 5.0
5
(26)
4
(9)
3
(1)
2
(5)
1
(5)
Appearance 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
82%of customersrecommend this product36 of 44reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer reviews for Black 1-Light Outdoor Dusk-to-Dawn Wall Lantern
Review 1 for Black 1-Light Outdoor Dusk-to-Dawn Wall Lantern
from Dallas, TX, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The lamp was perfect for our needs!

PostedDecember 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The dusk to dawn lamp works great for us and eliminates the need to remember to turn the outside light off and on. It was easy to install, looks great and was quite affordable. I am not sure why everyone does not have such a lamp to add to the security of their homes and give them peace of mind.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Very Bright
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Black 1-Light Outdoor Dusk-to-Dawn Wall Lantern
from Knoxville, TN, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice Upgrade

PostedJuly 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I installed this light fixture outside my garage about 1 & a half months ago & so far, I couldn't be happier with it. The light switch for this exterior light is inconveniently located on the far side of the garage, so turning it on & off every time you wanted light in the driveway was unrealistic & leaving it on all the time meant replacing the bulbs every 3 weeks. So, this fixture was the perfect solution. I leave the switch on & it's motion activated, so it comes on when I pull into the driveway at night or walk in front of it. I've also used the dusk-to-dawn feature when I was going to be away for a few days, and it worked as promised. Installation was a breeze, it's attractive, you can easily switch between lighting modes & it works like it should - overall, excellent upgrade!
Pros: Well Made, Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+8points
10out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Black 1-Light Outdoor Dusk-to-Dawn Wall Lantern
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great quality and looks great.

PostedAugust 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Pleased with the purchased. I purchased it for my home and the look was great that my mother wanted one as well.
Pros: Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Black 1-Light Outdoor Dusk-to-Dawn Wall Lantern
from Cherry Hill, NJ
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Looks great, works well!

PostedAugust 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This light makes the front of my house look so much better. The installation was ok but it didn't match the previous light so it was a little tricky. All in all it is a good product and I would recommend it to anyone.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Black 1-Light Outdoor Dusk-to-Dawn Wall Lantern
from Hoover, AL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Makes the outside of the Garage look great

PostedAugust 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to install and works great. Like the dusk to dawn feature
Pros: Looks Great, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Black 1-Light Outdoor Dusk-to-Dawn Wall Lantern
from NM

Install it and forget it.

PostedApril 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very good step-by-step directions. Follow them and you're done. The lights come on at dusk and go off at dawn, as advertised.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Black 1-Light Outdoor Dusk-to-Dawn Wall Lantern
from Fort Collins, CO, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

My electrician installed these quickly and they are working well. Very costly offer by a light company required ordering.

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I picked these up and had electrician install. They are beautiful and economical and save electricity when leaving the lights on all day.
Pros: Well Made, Unique, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright, Nice Design, very satisfied economical.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Black 1-Light Outdoor Dusk-to-Dawn Wall Lantern
from Wyoming, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Glad I bought it

PostedMay 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
So far so good. Installed it and it works exactly as advertised. Solid frame. Fit snugly into an old 1950s set up. Much better than the old piece of junk my landlord had up.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Lots of Features, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Black 1-Light Outdoor Dusk-to-Dawn Wall Lantern
from Philly
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good light for price

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Good looking product and very easy to install and great price
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Black 1-Light Outdoor Dusk-to-Dawn Wall Lantern
from Farmington Hills, Michigan
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Perfect replacement fixture

PostedJune 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought two to replace 20 year-old fixtures. The installation was relatively easy (you always find a few bumps when replacing something). Had to make a quick call to Home Depot customer support and they quickly answered my questions. Job took about 1.5 hours (for a novice electrician) and instructions were prefect.
Lights worked as advertised. One caveat however: the dusk to dawn eye does not operate until it becomes reasonably dark, so be patient. All of the other (original) lights in our sub went on about 20 minutes earlier than these. I am very pleased with this purchase.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Black 1-Light Outdoor Dusk-to-Dawn Wall Lantern
from Buffalo, NY
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female

So easy "A girl can install it"

PostedOctober 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought 2 of these to replace some very old ones. I had the old ones dismantled and had these put together and up in less than an hour! They look really nice on each side of the door, beveled glass gives it a classy look, and the dusk/dawn feature works great! Not to mention, the price was more than reasonable for how nice it is. Also, I have a CFL bulb in each one and it works just as good as any other reg bulb. Highly recommend!
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Black 1-Light Outdoor Dusk-to-Dawn Wall Lantern
from Barrington, IL

DOES work with CFL's

PostedNovember 25, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We bought this light for our front porch because we wanted the Dusk to Dawn feature. This lamp is wonderful! It IS CFL compatible - We are using a 23 watt (100w equivalent) with no problems. Gives off a lot of light, and is totally automatic. Highly recommended.
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Black 1-Light Outdoor Dusk-to-Dawn Wall Lantern

not great quality

PostedJanuary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
I bought two of these lights. They worked fine for about 7 months and now one of them does not work at all. Changed the bulb and nothing. I somehow saved the box but I'm hesitant to try a replacement. Why is it so hard to find a quality dusk to dawn light?
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Black 1-Light Outdoor Dusk-to-Dawn Wall Lantern
from Huntsville, Alabama

Doesn't work well

PostedApril 13, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Dusk to dawn light never worked well. Light was on a porch and it stayed on most of the day, sometimes 24 hours a day/night. The first time we had to change the light bulb, the dusk to dawn feature never worked again. It worked for a while with the switch but then stopped working altogether. It's a very pretty light so I was really disappointed.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Black 1-Light Outdoor Dusk-to-Dawn Wall Lantern
from Hamburg, NY 14075, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good light - direct replacement

PostedJuly 30, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I got this light to replace the same model which lasted about 8 years until the light sensor failed. It seems to be slightly lower quality than the original, but still acceptable. I couldn't get the light to come on by covering the sensor, but after dark it did turn on. Satisfied. Local H.D. had it in stock.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: not easy to test in daylight
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Black 1-Light Outdoor Dusk-to-Dawn Wall Lantern
from Batavia, OH 45103, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very nice addition to the house

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The unit came with all the required parts and the installations documents were easily understood. It was very easy to install and looks good over the front door.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Black 1-Light Outdoor Dusk-to-Dawn Wall Lantern
from Richmond, VA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

1 out of 3 lights defective

PostedMarch 12, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
We bought three of these and had all three professionally installed. Two are working just fine and very pretty up and running. The third one has power going to the unit, but the unit itself, does not work. We now have to take it down, and exchange it and install the new one.
I rated ease of installation as poor as we now have to do 2x as much work to get one that works.
Pros: Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design
Cons: bought 3 lights 1 out of 3 did not work
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Black 1-Light Outdoor Dusk-to-Dawn Wall Lantern

Works better than I expected

PostedMay 6, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I was afraid to hang two lights on either side of the door since I thought one being on would effect the other. It didn't both work as advertised.
Pros: Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Black 1-Light Outdoor Dusk-to-Dawn Wall Lantern
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Got for dusk to dawn feature & it works as expected.

PostedMay 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Got for dusk to dawn feature & it works as expected.
Pros: Functional, Well Made
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Black 1-Light Outdoor Dusk-to-Dawn Wall Lantern
from wi

worked for 3 weeks

PostedOctober 4, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
worked great for three weeks then the photocell went out. just enough time for me to throw out the box and reciept.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>