728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Butane Micro Torch

Butane Micro Torch

BernzOmatic Butane Micro Torch Kit is for precision light soldering, poly foam cutting and heating, craft and hobby projects, electronic repairs and small household projects. It is refillable and has a built-in push-button igniter. The kit includes a soldering tip.
Overall rating:
3.632 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(19 reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
63%of customersrecommend this product12 of 19reviews
Rating Breakdown 19 reviews
3.6 out of 5.0
5
(10)
4
(2)
3
(0)
2
(4)
1
(3)
Ease of installation 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Quality 
2.9 out of 5.0
2.9 out of 5
Value 
2.8 out of 5.0
2.8 out of 5
63%of customersrecommend this product12 of 19reviews
Customer reviews for Butane Micro Torch
Review 1 for Butane Micro Torch
FASRNU2
from Columbus, GA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent Refillable Torch

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have one of these in my shop that I use consistently on different projects. I also work on my car in the garage and needed one to leave at my workbench there, too.
I decided since the older one worked so great, that I wouldn't mind at all having another one available.
My older one has lasted years and years with absolutely no problems, so the choice was not hard to make.
Pros: Reliable, Good Instructions, No Leaks, easy fill with butane
Cons: none
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Butane Micro Torch
NavyWife09
from Papillion, NE, USA

Torch works but not for soldering

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The torch portion of this worked great until we tried to use the soldering tool. The whole thing shut down. Not only were we unable to solder, we also could not use the torch. Luckily we were able to get our money back.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Butane Micro Torch
technition
Age Range:18 to 24
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Will not buy again

PostedMarch 30, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I had bought one earlier this year and used it atleast once a day. it dropped from a cars engine bay onto concrete and it broke. I had dropped it before with out it breaking also. So I bought another one because I did like it and thought it was just a fluke that it broke. My next one only lasted a week maybe before breaking. I am VERY upset with this torch NOT worth the price at all for how long they last. GARBAGE
Pros: Good Instructions
Cons: Leaks, breaks easily
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Butane Micro Torch
UTbadger
from Cedar City, UT
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for small jobs.

PostedJanuary 16, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this for the small odd jobs that I would need a torch. I have used it to heat a bolt that was stuck with red loc-tite, to melt thick ice on some hoses and wires, and for making creme brûlée. It worked great for all three. The longest I ran it constantly was about 4 minutes. The tip heated up, but I didn't notice any excessive heat on any other part of the head. All the rest of the plastic portion was fine. The only time I had trouble getting it to light was was when the butane was low. Filled it up and it started right up. There's a switch that allows you to keep it on without holding down the button - its convenient an easy to use. It does not hold a lot of butane. There is a reason its called "micro". Its for small jobs. If you need a torch to burn longer than a few minutes you should look for something else. Even for small jobs you will probably have to refill it after each one or you will have trouble getting it to light.
Pros: Easy to Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Butane Micro Torch
sam4545
from Owosso, Michigan
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

Wouldn't reccommend

PostedMarch 22, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I've bought two of these and neither has worked for longer than 2 weeks. The first one started throwing a 2 foot flame that couldn't be turned down. The second one still lights manually but the self igniter only lasted about a week. I use mine several times a day(sometimes more), maybe they're just not meant for this kind of heavy use.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Butane Micro Torch
shoporegon2
from Milwaukie, OR, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

This product has great features

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is marvelous! I am going to purchase a 2nd one!
Great product. There is a reason it was sold out three times when I went to purchase it. Finally, I got lucky and was there the day it was restocked.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Butane Micro Torch
Superhiway
from Fort Lauderdale, Florida

Good for occasional and short use ONLY

PostedFebruary 21, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I would agree with other reviewers that this torch is good for the occasional use. But I cannot recommend it at all if you need a torch that you need to burn for more than a few minutes. This torch gets hot quickly, and the heat generated at the tip, tends to radiate throughout the rest of the top section. When this happens, it also heats up the plastic igniter toward the rear and eventually melts it, making it non-functional.
If your needs are to ignite the torch more than a few times within an hour, you need to look for something a bit more rugged, perhaps made with higher quality metal components. Considering the higher cost of this torch, I was quite surprised to see such cheap, plastic parts being used in its construction.
I had bought the first torch but soon returned it because the igniter stopped working. Got the second one thinking maybe the first one was a lemon, but the second one broke just like the first one did. The heat transfer caused the igniter to melt apart leaving me with a torch that needed a separate lighting source. And who wants that when Bernzomatic already makes one of those, (a pencil torch), for ten bucks? I have one of those also and it works great. But I just can't recommend this more expensive model for more than simple, very light usage.
+27points
27out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Butane Micro Torch
Herb
from Astoria, OR, USA

Would buy it again

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My first mini-torch was from Harbor Freight, but after starting on fire, I was hesitant buying ANY mini-torch. Now I'm happy I did, as this torch is of much higher quality and performs as I hoped my HF torch would.
Don't throw money away on a cheap mini, go with this one and you won't have to shop for another.
Pros: Reliable, Good Instructions, No Leaks, the only torch you will have to buy
Cons: no cons!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Butane Micro Torch
echoth
from Kansas City

Lighter doesn't last

PostedDecember 7, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Worked for about the first 50 lights but after that, it becomes harder and more rare that it lights at all. For the cost, 50cents a light, just isn't worth it. If you have a flint igniter you can use that. In that case it becomes a mini torch like the big boys, which need a separate igniter. But that's not why I bought it. I'll be looking elsewhere for something that lasts.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Butane Micro Torch
pikaziotype
from Chester county, PA

micro torch

PostedMay 7, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
this is a very useful little torch that runs off standard high grade butane fuel. It gets very high temperatures, and is fully adjustable. Comes with a built in igniter which is very handy for anyone who has used torches without them (knows the hassle of using a striker or match to light a torch). Perfect for hobbies and small plumbing jobs. Comes with a heat gun attachment so you can strip paint or do heat shrink tubing on wires. Very handy indeed.
overall a good product, though maybe a bit expensive for what it is.
hope this helps!!
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Butane Micro Torch
Shadowcat1969
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Piece of garbage

PostedSeptember 12, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is one of the worst torches I have ever seen much less had the displeasure to purchase. The self igniter has not worked once, the torch will not stay lit when I am trying to use the soldering attachment.
Don't waste your money.
Cons: doesn't work
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Butane Micro Torch
Jdog

Worked for two minutes

PostedOctober 14, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Torch worked for two minutes went back 3 hours later tried to get it to work Nothing!
Do not bother purchasing this.
Pros: nothing good about it
Cons: junk
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Butane Micro Torch
Scoutmaster
from Cincinnati, OH, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for small jobs

PostedDecember 29, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Bought this for my son who wanted a small torch for lighting campfires in Boy Scouts. It produces a nice flame almost as big as a full sized torch. It took us a little bit to figure out how to use it. You can't just pull down the safety and pull the trigger. You have to pull it slowly so the gas has a chance to get out and the spark can light it. Otherwise the spark goes off and there is no gas yet to ignite, but once we learned to pull the trigger slowly, it worked great. I didn't find that the metal tip got hot, at least not after using the flame for 30 seconds. In fact my son wanted to prove it to me by putting the metal end against my hand, and it was cool. Perhaps it gets hot after several minutes - I don't know. It's great for starting fires - way faster and better than matches, and more fun. It has a nice base so it can rest flat on a surface. My only suggestion for improvement would be to make the handle more ergonomic, like a pistol grip that fit nicely in your hand, like fishing rods have. But my son is very happy with it. I think it's so cool, I may get one for myself. Why should he have all the fun on campouts? It doesn't come with fuel, so make sure you also buy a can of fuel. It's very easy to fill. Just push the base of the torch down on the plastic cylinder/spout on top of the butane can.
Pros: Reliable
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Butane Micro Torch
lkm55
from CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Best cigar lighter out there

PostedJuly 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this to light cigars....very hot flame, easy to use, reliable, and cost 1/3 what a branded "cigar" lighter would cost.
Uses a much ,less expensive butane as well.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Butane Micro Torch
DiRa
from San Antonio, TX

Improvement on my part

PostedAugust 1, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I recently purchased a Benzomatic Torch to make a small repair at home. Being a female who has no experience with metals I have never been good with soldering materials and rarely ever work with them, but this time I was desperate to repair a metal object. The torch not only worked well, it was automatically a complete improvement to my soldering skills. The material was really easy to master and I now have the ability to take on more projects. A really great product at a great price I would suggest it to anyone who does'nt have much experience with torches.
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Butane Micro Torch
QueenDIY
from Euclid

Tool Box Must Have

PostedJune 14, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I brough this based on a recommedation of a friend and it is GREAT. I am a DIY gal and was in need of a small safe torch. This torch is just perfect for around the house fix its . It gets to 2500 degrees super quick. It is so easy to fill and use. It has easy clear directions with it. I orriganally brought it to use to melt a stripped plastic nut that was stuck around a metal bolt it was melted in 5 seconds!, When I went into Home Depot the hardware department associate was so helpful. I love my Home Depot and my new torch!
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Butane Micro Torch
besouro
from florida

YESS!!

PostedDecember 21, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Perfect item for lighting cigars.
-7points
5out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Butane Micro Torch
reborto
from BayShore New York

Best Tool Ever

PostedMay 5, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We use this tourch in many application at my company. This tool is great to heat shrinking end caps on electrical wire and has many more uses.
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Butane Micro Torch
AltoHorn
from Wake Forest, NC

Great Product

PostedJanuary 1, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It is easy to use, easy to hold, lightweight, and easy to ignite. This is a neat hobby torch. I am very impressed.
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.