728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for ST2200T Butane Micro Torch

ST2200T Butane Micro Torch

BernzOmatic Butane Micro Torch Kit is for precision light soldering, poly foam cutting and heating, craft and hobby projects, electronic repairs and small household projects. It is refillable and has a built-in push-button igniter. The kit includes a soldering tip.
Overall rating:
3.844 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(32 reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
69%of customersrecommend this product22 of 32reviews
Rating Breakdown 32 reviews
3.8 out of 5.0
5
(17)
4
(5)
3
(2)
2
(4)
1
(4)
Ease of installation 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Quality 
3.3 out of 5.0
3.3 out of 5
Value 
3.5 out of 5.0
3.5 out of 5
69%of customersrecommend this product22 of 32reviews
Customer reviews for ST2200T Butane Micro Torch
Review 1 for ST2200T Butane Micro Torch
from Fair Haven, MI 48023, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Butane Micro Torch

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This Butane Micro Torch is the perfect size for making jewelry. It is real easy to use and I can control the size of flame I need for specific jewelry pieces. It fits nicely in my hand. I love it!
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks, Compact
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for ST2200T Butane Micro Torch
from Fort Lauderdale, fl
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great table lighter for cigars

PostedNovember 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I use for lighting cigars and is a great value instead of buying a table tighter for cigar companies.
Pros: Easy to Install, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for ST2200T Butane Micro Torch
from Idaho
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Easy to use with one hand

PostedApril 30, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The igniter quit working after 10 uses not built to last only good for a few short uses. Have had 5 of them just kept taking them back for exchange.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
Cons: doesn't last
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for ST2200T Butane Micro Torch
from Fort Lauderdale, Florida

Good for occasional and short use ONLY

PostedFebruary 21, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I would agree with other reviewers that this torch is good for the occasional use. But I cannot recommend it at all if you need a torch that you need to burn for more than a few minutes. This torch gets hot quickly, and the heat generated at the tip, tends to radiate throughout the rest of the top section. When this happens, it also heats up the plastic igniter toward the rear and eventually melts it, making it non-functional.
If your needs are to ignite the torch more than a few times within an hour, you need to look for something a bit more rugged, perhaps made with higher quality metal components. Considering the higher cost of this torch, I was quite surprised to see such cheap, plastic parts being used in its construction.
I had bought the first torch but soon returned it because the igniter stopped working. Got the second one thinking maybe the first one was a lemon, but the second one broke just like the first one did. The heat transfer caused the igniter to melt apart leaving me with a torch that needed a separate lighting source. And who wants that when Bernzomatic already makes one of those, (a pencil torch), for ten bucks? I have one of those also and it works great. But I just can't recommend this more expensive model for more than simple, very light usage.
+34points
34out of 34found this review helpful.
Review 5 for ST2200T Butane Micro Torch

Great for small projects.

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
A great little torch for small projects and hobbies. I purchased mine for use with some of my hobbies but found many other uses for it. Well worth the money.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for ST2200T Butane Micro Torch
from Honolulu HI
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Little Tool

PostedNovember 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very easy to use, looking forward to using it for more projects.
Pros: Reliable
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for ST2200T Butane Micro Torch
from Lindon, CO
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Butane Micro Torch

PostedOctober 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The Torch is easy to fill and great to get into those hard spots that don't have much room!!
Pros: Easy to Install, No Leaks
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for ST2200T Butane Micro Torch
from Illinois
Age Range:55 to 64
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Butane Micro Torch

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The lock is a little hard to work with but the product started right up no problem so far.
Pros: Good Instructions
Cons: price sorta high
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for ST2200T Butane Micro Torch
from Newport News, VA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male

Made 16 audio patch cables

PostedJuly 28, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this to solder together some audio patch cables. It worked very well, better, in fact, than most electric irons I have bought for the same price, and the heat was almost instant. it only took about 30 seconds to get up to heat. It's very convent as you don't need to be near a power source. It is also a butane torch, which has plenty of uses on its own. It runs for a long time too; about 20 minutes before needing to re-fill
When you do refill it, make sure all of the pressure out of the unit. depress the fill valve and shake the unit. if you don't do that, air will build up inside and hake it difficult or impossible to light after a couple of fills.
My only gripe, and the reason that I gave it 4 stars and not 5, is that the tip started melting! I guess it got too hot! the tip is changeable, so I can just screw a new one on. even though half of the tip is gone, it still works well.
Pros: Reliable, quick heat, changeable tips, long run rime
Cons: my tip melted
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for ST2200T Butane Micro Torch
from Fuquay Varina, NC
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Okay torch

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The torch does not ignite every time you hit the trigger. It takes a few times to light it where other torches light on demand.
Pros: Good Instructions
Cons: Too Slow
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for ST2200T Butane Micro Torch
from Spokane, Wa
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Ingiter doesn't work

PostedApril 18, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The igniter is insufficient to reliably light the flame. I saw this in other reviews and then I saw one where someone said you need to partially depress the button to let gas flow some before fully depressing to ignite. Tried it. Didn't work. The only way I could get it to light was to use a separate lighter. Taking it back immediately for a refund on the torch and the can of butane used to fill up the device that won't work.
Cons: igniter doesn't work
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for ST2200T Butane Micro Torch
from Columbus, GA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent Refillable Torch

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have one of these in my shop that I use consistently on different projects. I also work on my car in the garage and needed one to leave at my workbench there, too.
I decided since the older one worked so great, that I wouldn't mind at all having another one available.
My older one has lasted years and years with absolutely no problems, so the choice was not hard to make.
Pros: Reliable, Good Instructions, No Leaks, easy fill with butane
Cons: none
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for ST2200T Butane Micro Torch
from Lisbon, NH
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Very Handy Tool

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This torch unit is very versatile. It will blow warm air or solder without a flame. Can also be used as a mini blow torch. Highly Recommend this unit.
Pros: Reliable, No Leaks
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for ST2200T Butane Micro Torch
from Kansas City

Lighter doesn't last

PostedDecember 7, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Worked for about the first 50 lights but after that, it becomes harder and more rare that it lights at all. For the cost, 50cents a light, just isn't worth it. If you have a flint igniter you can use that. In that case it becomes a mini torch like the big boys, which need a separate igniter. But that's not why I bought it. I'll be looking elsewhere for something that lasts.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 15 for ST2200T Butane Micro Torch
from Cedar City, UT
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for small jobs.

PostedJanuary 16, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this for the small odd jobs that I would need a torch. I have used it to heat a bolt that was stuck with red loc-tite, to melt thick ice on some hoses and wires, and for making creme brûlée. It worked great for all three. The longest I ran it constantly was about 4 minutes. The tip heated up, but I didn't notice any excessive heat on any other part of the head. All the rest of the plastic portion was fine. The only time I had trouble getting it to light was was when the butane was low. Filled it up and it started right up. There's a switch that allows you to keep it on without holding down the button - its convenient an easy to use. It does not hold a lot of butane. There is a reason its called "micro". Its for small jobs. If you need a torch to burn longer than a few minutes you should look for something else. Even for small jobs you will probably have to refill it after each one or you will have trouble getting it to light.
Pros: Easy to Use
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for ST2200T Butane Micro Torch
from Chester county, PA

micro torch

PostedMay 7, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
this is a very useful little torch that runs off standard high grade butane fuel. It gets very high temperatures, and is fully adjustable. Comes with a built in igniter which is very handy for anyone who has used torches without them (knows the hassle of using a striker or match to light a torch). Perfect for hobbies and small plumbing jobs. Comes with a heat gun attachment so you can strip paint or do heat shrink tubing on wires. Very handy indeed.
overall a good product, though maybe a bit expensive for what it is.
hope this helps!!
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 17 for ST2200T Butane Micro Torch
from Leesburg, VA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great product!

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Excellent Butane torch. Very versatile. Very easy to use. Would definitely buy again/recommend! The only possible issue in future might be the plastic child proof switch but I'm not too concerned..
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks, great brand name
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for ST2200T Butane Micro Torch
from Papillion, NE, USA

Torch works but not for soldering

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The torch portion of this worked great until we tried to use the soldering tool. The whole thing shut down. Not only were we unable to solder, we also could not use the torch. Luckily we were able to get our money back.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for ST2200T Butane Micro Torch
from Davenport, IA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The micro torch works well for what I use it for. Took a little getting used to because of the extra safety feature.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, No Leaks
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for ST2200T Butane Micro Torch
from Owosso, Michigan
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

Wouldn't reccommend

PostedMarch 22, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I've bought two of these and neither has worked for longer than 2 weeks. The first one started throwing a 2 foot flame that couldn't be turned down. The second one still lights manually but the self igniter only lasted about a week. I use mine several times a day(sometimes more), maybe they're just not meant for this kind of heavy use.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 >>