728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Landscaping or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 4 in. x 12 in. Gray Concrete Garden Wall Block

4 in. x 12 in. Gray Concrete Garden Wall Block

Use the 12 in. x 12 in. Concrete Garden Wall Block to create a stone wall that adds class and natural charm to your landscape. The gray blocks are trapezoidal to allow for the construction of either a straight or a curved wall. The durable concrete construction ensures a wall that is long-lasting and natural-looking.
Overall rating:
4.21 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(19 reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
89%of customersrecommend this product16 of 18reviews
Rating Breakdown 19 reviews
4.2 out of 5.0
5
(12)
4
(3)
3
(2)
2
(0)
1
(2)
Quality 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
89%of customersrecommend this product16 of 18reviews
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer reviews for 4 in. x 12 in. Gray Concrete Garden Wall Block
Review 1 for 4 in. x 12 in. Gray Concrete Garden Wall Block

great sale in garden block

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
made a planter next to the foundation three blocks high . Perfect for my herb garden. Used 60 blocks
Pros: Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 4 in. x 12 in. Gray Concrete Garden Wall Block
from Perry Hall
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

gardens I built

PostedMay 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I love this product, it's great for building small entrance garden and circle types around trees. you can get very creative with them and have fun doing it. I even stay in shape with them hauling them from one place to another, hahaha
Pros: Multi Use
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 4 in. x 12 in. Gray Concrete Garden Wall Block
from Maryland, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Retaining Wall Block

PostedAugust 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Used over 175 blocks in gray to build 2 retaining/flower bed walls. Easy to set after you get the first course down(Use a level). Ensure to check the depth of the blocks (I found some to be 7 1/2 inches, spec stated 7 inches) 2 inch cap to top the wall. Great value.
Pros: Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+23points
23out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 4 in. x 12 in. Gray Concrete Garden Wall Block
from Oak Harbor, WA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy and durable border

PostedJune 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This border was easy to build and appears attractive and durable. It is a work in progress and will be much more attractive when mature plants are added.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality, Durable, Strong
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 4 in. x 12 in. Gray Concrete Garden Wall Block
from Broadalbin, NY, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

My memorial garden

PostedAugust 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I just bought and finished my memorial garden. I searched for months and finally went in the store and talked with someone who helped me so much. It took three of us but the finished product was better than I ever imagined. I was short on the second row but it looked better without it. I just love it. Now after I plant some flowers I will enjoy years of enjoyment just looking at my wall.
Pros: Durable, Vibrant Color, Easy to Install, Strong, Great Quality, Good Shape, beautiful
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 4 in. x 12 in. Gray Concrete Garden Wall Block
from Youngstown, Ohio
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female

Looks great and price is right!!

PostedMay 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We wanted to make a raised pond for our backyard patio. The blocks were easy to position and look really nice. We had to make 3 trips to the store to bring the amount home that we needed. They are heavy and we didn't want to overload my son-in-laws truck. All we need to do is to fill it in with river rock.
We are thinking of also making a fire pit with them now.
Pros: Multi Use, Easy to Install
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 4 in. x 12 in. Gray Concrete Garden Wall Block
from Monroe, Washington
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Much better than a wood raised bed and cost effective.

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I replaced a wood boarder on a raised bed garden created a few years ago that was completely rotten. These were easy to install, look nice, and contain the garden nicely.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Functionality, Great Quality, Good Shape
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 4 in. x 12 in. Gray Concrete Garden Wall Block
from Pittsburgh, PA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great retaining wall blocks...but they don't carry the matching cap stones?

PostedJune 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased 243 blocks on sale and I had to rent a truck from Home Depot. I had to make three trips due to the truck capacity, and the employees were very helpful loading it each time. The blocks turned out great and I didn't have any broken pieces. Once prepared, building a retaining wall with these blocks is pretty easy and splitting them with a chisel was simple (they come with a groove in the middle). The overall value is great when compared to some of the other "locking" wall blocks, without losing a lot of quality. They handled getting stacked six-high and they look great as a finished product.
Pros: Easy to Install, Stylish, Great Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 4 in. x 12 in. Gray Concrete Garden Wall Block
from Long Island NY
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Better than expected!

PostedMay 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I'm building a very large wall around my pool for flower beds etc. Bought 250 blocks and need about 250 more this product works well when you do your research on how to prepare the site for the wall. If you take the time needed for the first course (making sure its level and straight) the rest will fly. Don't forget to use a crushed rock base with a hand held tamper plate. Good talk....
Pros: Easy to Install, Strong, Good Shape
Cons: delivery was alittle steep $85.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 4 in. x 12 in. Gray Concrete Garden Wall Block
from St. Louis, MO, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This product looks great and we had no broken blocks.

PostedJune 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I ordered 100 of these in the store on Memorial Day and they were delivered on Wed. None were broken. We used all 100 and needed more. Went back to store on Wed., ordered 25 more and 45 caps. They had these ready for store pick-up within an hour plus they had went on sale and we got the adjustment for the 100 we purchased on Monday.
Pros: Durable, Great Quality, Good Shape
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 4 in. x 12 in. Gray Concrete Garden Wall Block
from atlanta, ga
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Disappointing

PostedMay 25, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I guess Home depot has changed vendors. I bought this block about 4 years ago and was extremely satisfied with the construction and quality.
Just received a pallet load today and the depth is smaller by an inch and the back lip is much smaller and does not really hook on to the block when you stack them. Also, on many of the blocks some of the lip is broken off.
While the old product was fantastic, this replacement is trash. I do not recommend.
Cons: Not Durable, pathetic, poor design
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 4 in. x 12 in. Gray Concrete Garden Wall Block
from Fair Oaks, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This is the older version, which is no longer in stock.

PostedMay 30, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the older "Grey" with out the white specs... They are 12 by 4 but are now 9in deep not 8. If you try and match your existing older wall, you are not in luck. It seems that HD did not change the SKU #... Feel sorry if you are ordering online, cuz your gonna get a surprise when they deliver. And yes... the lip in the back is weak and breaks easily.
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 4 in. x 12 in. Gray Concrete Garden Wall Block
from Robbinsdale, MN, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best value for block.

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Best price found, easiest blocks to add on to existing garden
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Functionality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 4 in. x 12 in. Gray Concrete Garden Wall Block

2 blocks were damaged when received

PostedApril 30, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
These blocks make a great circle for the fire pit I built.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality
+14points
19out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 4 in. x 12 in. Gray Concrete Garden Wall Block
from Carson City, NV, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Block Tree Ring

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very well priced product, easy to install. Added value to my property at a reasonable cost.
Pros: Multi Use, Easy to Install, Stylish, Durable, Strong
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 4 in. x 12 in. Gray Concrete Garden Wall Block
from Hendersonville, NC, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product for small projects

PostedApril 30, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
While the blocks are good for small projects, the back lip, which holds the block in place, has been shrunk in size from previous years. This makes the lip more prone to being broken in transit or during stacking on the job site.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: potentially not durable
+8points
11out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 4 in. x 12 in. Gray Concrete Garden Wall Block
from Anacortes, WA 98221, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

only 7"

PostedJuly 26, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
specs show 8" deep, showed up 7"deep... what am I going to do with these smaller blocks.... I understand they change vendors, but !" short? any body want the 3 pallets of them I have...?
Cons: not sized as advertised!
+4points
7out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 4 in. x 12 in. Gray Concrete Garden Wall Block
from SALT LAKE CITY , UT

retaingwall

PostedApril 13, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
THE RETAINING WALL STONES ARE VERY GOOD TO USE. IF YOU ARE GOING ARE GOING TO MAKE DIFFERENT LAYERS TO YOUR YARD
+8points
15out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 4 in. x 12 in. Gray Concrete Garden Wall Block
from Moscow Mills, MO
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

The Landscape stone are just what I wanted

PostedDecember 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The stones are good quality and the Customer Service at the O'Fallon, MO store were wonderful. I would recommend this store to friends and family.
Pros: Durable, Multi Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Strong, Stylish, Great Quality, Good Shape
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.