728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Landscaping or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 4 in. x 12 in. Gray Concrete Garden Wall Block

4 in. x 12 in. Gray Concrete Garden Wall Block

Use the 12 in. x 12 in. Concrete Garden Wall Block to create a stone wall that adds class and natural charm to your landscape. The gray blocks are trapezoidal to allow for the construction of either a straight or a curved wall. The durable concrete construction ensures a wall that is long-lasting and natural-looking.
Overall rating:
4.087 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(23 reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
86%of customersrecommend this product19 of 22reviews
Rating Breakdown 23 reviews
4.1 out of 5.0
5
(14)
4
(3)
3
(3)
2
(0)
1
(3)
Quality 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
86%of customersrecommend this product19 of 22reviews
Customer questions and answers:
8 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer reviews for 4 in. x 12 in. Gray Concrete Garden Wall Block
Review 1 for 4 in. x 12 in. Gray Concrete Garden Wall Block

great sale in garden block

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
made a planter next to the foundation three blocks high . Perfect for my herb garden. Used 60 blocks
Pros: Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 4 in. x 12 in. Gray Concrete Garden Wall Block
from Perry Hall
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

gardens I built

PostedMay 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I love this product, it's great for building small entrance garden and circle types around trees. you can get very creative with them and have fun doing it. I even stay in shape with them hauling them from one place to another, hahaha
Pros: Multi Use
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 4 in. x 12 in. Gray Concrete Garden Wall Block
from Maryland, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Retaining Wall Block

PostedAugust 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Used over 175 blocks in gray to build 2 retaining/flower bed walls. Easy to set after you get the first course down(Use a level). Ensure to check the depth of the blocks (I found some to be 7 1/2 inches, spec stated 7 inches) 2 inch cap to top the wall. Great value.
Pros: Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+25points
25out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 4 in. x 12 in. Gray Concrete Garden Wall Block
from Broadalbin, NY, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

My memorial garden

PostedAugust 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I just bought and finished my memorial garden. I searched for months and finally went in the store and talked with someone who helped me so much. It took three of us but the finished product was better than I ever imagined. I was short on the second row but it looked better without it. I just love it. Now after I plant some flowers I will enjoy years of enjoyment just looking at my wall.
Pros: Durable, Vibrant Color, Easy to Install, Strong, Great Quality, Good Shape, beautiful
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 4 in. x 12 in. Gray Concrete Garden Wall Block
from Oak Harbor, WA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy and durable border

PostedJune 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This border was easy to build and appears attractive and durable. It is a work in progress and will be much more attractive when mature plants are added.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality, Durable, Strong
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 4 in. x 12 in. Gray Concrete Garden Wall Block
from Monroe, Washington
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Much better than a wood raised bed and cost effective.

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I replaced a wood boarder on a raised bed garden created a few years ago that was completely rotten. These were easy to install, look nice, and contain the garden nicely.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Functionality, Great Quality, Good Shape
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 4 in. x 12 in. Gray Concrete Garden Wall Block
from Freeland, WA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Poor quality

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Living out of the area on an island, I ordered ten bricks to raise a wall I built on the edge of our property intending to order more once I got these set. I was disappointed to see the quality was much poorer than I had ordered from Home Depot before. They are the same size in the description but actually much shorter, the concrete is more porous (falling apart as I tried to lay them) and the fit isn't snug. It cost me over $25.00 traveling expenses to take the truck over and pick them up. Really disappointed with their lack of quality control on this. Makes me wonder who's minding the shop. If your as big as you are, you need to exercise more leverage with your suppliers insuring that they are providing you the best quality product at the best price possible.
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 4 in. x 12 in. Gray Concrete Garden Wall Block
from Youngstown, Ohio
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female

Looks great and price is right!!

PostedMay 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We wanted to make a raised pond for our backyard patio. The blocks were easy to position and look really nice. We had to make 3 trips to the store to bring the amount home that we needed. They are heavy and we didn't want to overload my son-in-laws truck. All we need to do is to fill it in with river rock.
We are thinking of also making a fire pit with them now.
Pros: Multi Use, Easy to Install
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 4 in. x 12 in. Gray Concrete Garden Wall Block
from atlanta, ga
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Disappointing

PostedMay 25, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I guess Home depot has changed vendors. I bought this block about 4 years ago and was extremely satisfied with the construction and quality.
Just received a pallet load today and the depth is smaller by an inch and the back lip is much smaller and does not really hook on to the block when you stack them. Also, on many of the blocks some of the lip is broken off.
While the old product was fantastic, this replacement is trash. I do not recommend.
Cons: Not Durable, pathetic, poor design
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 4 in. x 12 in. Gray Concrete Garden Wall Block
from Pittsburgh, PA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great retaining wall blocks...but they don't carry the matching cap stones?

PostedJune 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased 243 blocks on sale and I had to rent a truck from Home Depot. I had to make three trips due to the truck capacity, and the employees were very helpful loading it each time. The blocks turned out great and I didn't have any broken pieces. Once prepared, building a retaining wall with these blocks is pretty easy and splitting them with a chisel was simple (they come with a groove in the middle). The overall value is great when compared to some of the other "locking" wall blocks, without losing a lot of quality. They handled getting stacked six-high and they look great as a finished product.
Pros: Easy to Install, Stylish, Great Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 4 in. x 12 in. Gray Concrete Garden Wall Block

Garden Wall Blocks

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Bought right at 100 palleted blocks, 5 were broken in half, 7 had broken corners. I used them all, the chipped and broken blocks were used on bottom row of my landscape project.
I should have done a careful inspection. On the otherhand, those less than perfect were no big deal.
Pros: Easy to Install, Strong
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 4 in. x 12 in. Gray Concrete Garden Wall Block
from Long Island NY
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Better than expected!

PostedMay 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I'm building a very large wall around my pool for flower beds etc. Bought 250 blocks and need about 250 more this product works well when you do your research on how to prepare the site for the wall. If you take the time needed for the first course (making sure its level and straight) the rest will fly. Don't forget to use a crushed rock base with a hand held tamper plate. Good talk....
Pros: Easy to Install, Strong, Good Shape
Cons: delivery was alittle steep $85.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 4 in. x 12 in. Gray Concrete Garden Wall Block
from St. Louis, MO, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This product looks great and we had no broken blocks.

PostedJune 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I ordered 100 of these in the store on Memorial Day and they were delivered on Wed. None were broken. We used all 100 and needed more. Went back to store on Wed., ordered 25 more and 45 caps. They had these ready for store pick-up within an hour plus they had went on sale and we got the adjustment for the 100 we purchased on Monday.
Pros: Durable, Great Quality, Good Shape
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 4 in. x 12 in. Gray Concrete Garden Wall Block
from Fair Oaks, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This is the older version, which is no longer in stock.

PostedMay 30, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the older "Grey" with out the white specs... They are 12 by 4 but are now 9in deep not 8. If you try and match your existing older wall, you are not in luck. It seems that HD did not change the SKU #... Feel sorry if you are ordering online, cuz your gonna get a surprise when they deliver. And yes... the lip in the back is weak and breaks easily.
+13points
14out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 4 in. x 12 in. Gray Concrete Garden Wall Block
from Lothian, Md
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

enhances the lawn and garden whille separating lawn and mulch

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
makes the lawn/garden look much more like it was professionly done
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality, Stylish, Durable, Strong
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 4 in. x 12 in. Gray Concrete Garden Wall Block
from Richland, WA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice finishing touch

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This block was easy to use. Being a smaller block also made it easier to move into place. It really has made our yard have a good finished look.
Pros: Easy to Install, Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 4 in. x 12 in. Gray Concrete Garden Wall Block

2 blocks were damaged when received

PostedApril 30, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
These blocks make a great circle for the fire pit I built.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality
+14points
19out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 4 in. x 12 in. Gray Concrete Garden Wall Block
from Hendersonville, NC, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product for small projects

PostedApril 30, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
While the blocks are good for small projects, the back lip, which holds the block in place, has been shrunk in size from previous years. This makes the lip more prone to being broken in transit or during stacking on the job site.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: potentially not durable
+10points
13out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 4 in. x 12 in. Gray Concrete Garden Wall Block
from Robbinsdale, MN, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best value for block.

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Best price found, easiest blocks to add on to existing garden
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Functionality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 4 in. x 12 in. Gray Concrete Garden Wall Block
from Anacortes, WA 98221, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

only 7"

PostedJuly 26, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
specs show 8" deep, showed up 7"deep... what am I going to do with these smaller blocks.... I understand they change vendors, but !" short? any body want the 3 pallets of them I have...?
Cons: not sized as advertised!
+5points
8out of 11found this review helpful.
1 2 >>