728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Cartridges & Stems or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 9H-8 Hot/Cold Stem for Price Pfister Faucets

9H-8 Hot/Cold Stem for Price Pfister Faucets

Repairing a leaky faucet is an easy and inexpensive alternative to replacing the faucet. DANCO has the right part for the job with this 9H-8 Hot/Cold Stem for Price Pfister Faucets. Stopping the leak saves water, energy and money.
Overall rating:
1.1 / 5
1.1
 / 
5
(10 reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
0%of customersrecommend this product0 of 10reviews
Rating Breakdown 10 reviews
1.1 out of 5.0
5
(0)
4
(0)
3
(0)
2
(1)
1
(9)
Ease of installation 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
0%of customersrecommend this product0 of 10reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Customer reviews for 9H-8 Hot/Cold Stem for Price Pfister Faucets
Review 1 for 9H-8 Hot/Cold Stem for Price Pfister Faucets
from Houston, Tx
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Be warned before purchasing

PostedNovember 4, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I've been through several of these. Unfortunately, we're stuck with having to use them. They require a ridiculous amount of torque to turn. There is no way of backing these down as there is no packing nut.
If you have the misfortune of having to look this product up then I suggest searching for an alternative like a single handle option. These are not built like they used to be and you will be replacing them frequently.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 9H-8 Hot/Cold Stem for Price Pfister Faucets
from Los Angeles
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Poor quality, plastic keeps on breaking.

PostedNovember 5, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The initial stems and diverter lasted about 12 years. First the diverter went bad and it was replaced. Then the cold water started to leak and that was replaced. Now over a one-year period, I've had to replace the hot water stem 6 times. These were purchased at various stores; Lowes, Home Depot and one came directly from Price Pfister. I believe these "Chinese" stems are part of a very bad batch. I will be contacting Price Pfister again to see about being compensated for all these bad stems. Wish me luck! Note: Price Pfister will replace these for free, but you have to wait for it to be shipped. Unless you have another bath area available with a shut-off valve, you can't wait. But it's worth having one as a spare when it fails.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: Leaks, very bad batch for the last two years., plastic part breaks within 3-4 months
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 9H-8 Hot/Cold Stem for Price Pfister Faucets
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

inner valve keeps breaking

PostedNovember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
always seem to breaking with the water still on and can't turn the water off :(
exchanged this 3 times. Each time not lasting as long as the first replacement.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 9H-8 Hot/Cold Stem for Price Pfister Faucets
from Warren, OH, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

BUYER BEWARE

PostedMay 30, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
These stems need to be remade . Lasted only five months and broke again. We all just can't be buying lemons. The company needs to know. Call the customer service line and see if you can get any any answers.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 9H-8 Hot/Cold Stem for Price Pfister Faucets
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I had to replace 3 times

PostedOctober 30, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It is a simple instalation but it keeps leaking after 2 week of hot water use. When I sked the employee about the issue he said that it must have been a bad batch. with the new one, so far, do good.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: Leaks
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 9H-8 Hot/Cold Stem for Price Pfister Faucets
from California
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

VERY bad quality

PostedOctober 29, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Just like everyone else has said before. The plastic housing that rotates the ceramic discs for flow/no-flow has a plastic "lug" on it that fits into the stem which the faucet handle is screwed to. This plastic housing has an o-ring on it and it begins to get dry over time. This dryness then increases the force required to turn the water off and on which eventually puts too much torque on the plastic housing lug, shearing it off. I replaced the hot stem after less than 1 year because of the breakage. While I was at it, I noted that the cold stem was squeaking and had high drag. Took the cold stem apart, put plumbers grease on the o-ring, reassembled, worked like new. When I got the new one for the hot stem, I disassembled it and made sure that it, too, was greased up for long life. Absolutely terrible materials used in the construction of this stem!
Cons: very poor quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 9H-8 Hot/Cold Stem for Price Pfister Faucets
from Upper Darby, Drexel Hill, PA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product is JUNK!!!!!

PostedDecember 2, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I replaced it in January of this year, and now in December! I didn't save the receipt, so another twenty five plus tax. Water wouldn't shut off, so I had to shut the water off to the bathroom. Now I have to wait until morning to get to the store to buy another. JUNK JUNK JUNK!!!!!!!!!!!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 9H-8 Hot/Cold Stem for Price Pfister Faucets

Beaks easily

PostedJune 21, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This was 2nd bought bc first o w broke within 2wks. This one broke this morning.
Cons: breaks easily
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 9H-8 Hot/Cold Stem for Price Pfister Faucets
from Mission, KS, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Complete Trash

PostedMay 1, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought a nice Price-Pfister tub/shower valve thinking that it would be a quality product. 1 year later, I'm replacing this valve for the 2nd time. Seeing all the reviews from other people that are having the same problem, it would appear that this design was poorly researched/tested, and these valves are simply "junk by design". The truly unfortunate part of this is that you don't know it until you've sealed the valve in the wall and would have to spend thousands of dollars to tear into the wall and rip the stupid thing out. My next stop today will be the Price Pfister website to file a claim with their customer service... I doubt I'll get anywhere, so if I don't, I'll just go to every website that will allow me to review the faucet and make certain I tell others not to purchase it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 9H-8 Hot/Cold Stem for Price Pfister Faucets

horrible product

PostedApril 17, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
If you can avoid this product, do so. I have to change this valve out every 3 months. I'm at the point where it's time to rip the tiles off the wall and start over. just like everyone else said, it's absolute trash.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.