728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 8 Lb. Maul with Fiberglass Handle

8 Lb. Maul with Fiberglass Handle

MAde of drop forged, heat treated steel. Manufactured to all Federal Specifications. For use for splitting Wood. Wood cutting blade on one end and round opposite end to drive wedge.
Overall rating:
1.778 / 5
1.8
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
22%of customersrecommend this product2 of 9reviews
Rating Breakdown 9 reviews
1.8 out of 5.0
5
(1)
4
(0)
3
(1)
2
(1)
1
(6)
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
22%of customersrecommend this product2 of 9reviews
Customer reviews for 8 Lb. Maul with Fiberglass Handle
Review 1 for 8 Lb. Maul with Fiberglass Handle
from Rochester, NY

CHEAP! AVOID!

PostedMarch 21, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I don't mind splitting wood and I only need to split about 2 FC a season. I split the pieces as I need them. I have been using my father's American made maul axe with a replaceable wooden handle. It has to be 20+ years old and the handle has been replaced at least once.
We my mom thought it would be a great Christmas present to get my own maul axe so she got me this one. The third time I used it I noticed the epoxy cap popped off that seals the head to the fiberglass handle. The next time I used it I saw that the head was beginning the separate from the handle. What a poor design. Hopefully Home Depot will give me store credit to buy something else because I don't want another one of these.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 8 Lb. Maul with Fiberglass Handle
from Illinios

Poor Design

PostedMarch 22, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
While this maul feels good and works well at first, the design just doesn't hold up. The back of the head simply is not strong enough. Unless you can split your logs with a single swing, you will crack and break the head if you drive the maul with a sledge. Mine lasted one season and was trash. Yes, HD replaced it but it will break again so I will be shopping for a real maul elsewhere.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 8 Lb. Maul with Fiberglass Handle
from Phoenix, AZ

PostedSeptember 26, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
In three words: "Do not buy"
I purchased this before a 2 week hunting trip to split wood at camp. On day 2 the head was broken off the handle. I didn't abuse the tool (although a tool like this should survive abuse). It is just a junk design. Home depot took it back of course but I was left with 12 days of camping and no way to split logs
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 8 Lb. Maul with Fiberglass Handle
from Atlanta, GA

Good Functional Log Splitter

PostedNovember 22, 2008
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Over the summer I got my hands on about a cord and a half of oak that needed to be split and dried in time for the winter, so I figured it was time to get a serious log splitter. In researching log splitting tools & techniques online, I found a lot of folks saying an 8lb maul was the way to go, and I liked the price-point on this particular one, so I thought I'd give it a try.
On the good side, it got the job done.
On the down side, it has a little sleeve of rubber padding at the top of the handle that didn't last through the first half-cord before being thoroughly shredded. The other feature on this maul that I'm not crazy about is the non-replaceable fiberglass handle. I think the fiberglass is supposed to be more durable than a traditional wooden handle, but if it ever does begin to break, the whole maul will have to be replaced.
Drawbacks aside, I think this is a good functional log splitting maul, so I would still recommend it to a friend.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 8 Lb. Maul with Fiberglass Handle

poor quality tool

PostedSeptember 16, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
within 45 minutes of leaving the store, and 2.5 cherry logs the maul was in 4 pieces. I hit the logs on the edge with the grain, and did not abuse it. The rubber guard slid down the shaft first, then the butt of the handle broke off. after a few more swings the handle and the maul seperated. The home Depot exchanged it with no problem. If this one doesn't work out any better, I'll go somewhere else and buy a different brand.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 8 Lb. Maul with Fiberglass Handle
from Eastern Connecticut
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT!

PostedDecember 26, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The 8 pound maul with fiberglass handle is junk. Experience One with Maul One. Broke it within an hour (no overstrikes). Exchanged for Maul Two with no hassle. Experience Two with Maul Two. Broke it within an hour and a half (a few overstrikes). Returned for Store Credit with no hassle. Purchased Fiskars X27. X27 arrived day before Christmas (had to order online). Split for about 4 hours today (large diameter, knotty and less than straight grained Maple). X27 is AWESOME! X27 worth the extra money! Save yourself the headache and buy an X27 first.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 8 Lb. Maul with Fiberglass Handle
from Arizona Mountians

Best head out there

PostedAugust 26, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I split up to 3 cords a year(12" to 24" oak) yes I should buy a wood splitter but I am too cheap. Several people have complained about the wood tearing up the rubber around the head, to prevent tearing the rubber you should always start at the edge of the log never in the middle that is why I have two mauls and an 8 pound hammer. So I can work around the log, works quite well. I have two mauls and both of them still have their rubber on them with minor nicks. The handles are very durable I have had one of them for 6 years now. I can even split green wood with this maul, some mauls won't even stick in green wood.
I would recommend this tool for anyone is looking for some hard work. Home Depot do not get rid of the Lundell tools they are great.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 8 Lb. Maul with Fiberglass Handle
from Ohio

High Price for Low Quality

PostedJuly 21, 2010
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Manufacturer claims product to be "Indistructible".
This is not so. After splitting 2 dozen logs the rubber collar was shreded and the fasteneing shim broke inside the head. If you looking for a serious tool to last for many logs. Consider another product. Might consider an old fashioned wood handle. At lease wood can be replaced. Once this handle breaks it needs to be returned for replacement of handle and head.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 8 Lb. Maul with Fiberglass Handle
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

dont waste your money

PostedNovember 14, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
split 1/2 cord.. handle started to crack... up at the top of the maul head.. Didnt use after that.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.