728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Lawn Care or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 20 lb. Grass Contractor's All-Purpose Seed

20 lb. Grass Contractor's All-Purpose Seed

The VIGORO 20 lb. All-Purpose Grass Seed Mixture is a high-performing blend of fast-germinating and self-repairing grasses, including panterra. The seed yields medium to dark-colored grass and can be grown in low to high-traffic areas.
Overall rating:
3.909 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(11 reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
70%of customersrecommend this product7 of 10reviews
Rating Breakdown 11 reviews
3.9 out of 5.0
5
(7)
4
(1)
3
(0)
2
(1)
1
(2)
Quality 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
70%of customersrecommend this product7 of 10reviews
Customer reviews for 20 lb. Grass Contractor's All-Purpose Seed
Review 1 for 20 lb. Grass Contractor's All-Purpose Seed
from Virginia

Fescue Who!!

PostedMay 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This grass seed is one word..Amazing! I wish I knew about this grass seed sooner. Its only been one week and most of my yard covered with lush green grass about 3 inches tall. I will give it one more week before its first cut.
My steps were
1. Brought in 7 cubic yards of top soil 15% Compost
2. Used Scotts seed spreader on setting 6
3. Used Vigoro All purpose fertilizer
4. Watered lawn 3 times a day for 10 minutes @ 4AM, 10AM and 4PM
With these steps I had grass shoots in 3-4 days and 3 inches tall in one week.
The picture below is 6 days later!!
Pros: quick
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 20 lb. Grass Contractor's All-Purpose Seed
from Sterling, CO
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Garbage

PostedJuly 28, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The 5 star reviews for this product are ridiculous! I used it to overseed the lawn and it was cultivated in by hand, which nearly gave me heart failure, to assure contact with the soil, and in one small 4'x8' location, new seed which I covered with clippings to hold moisture. All of the lawn was fertilized with Richlawn, being particularly generous with the fertilizer AND seed on the newly seeded portion and the extremely thin, almost bare areas. Water applied 3 times a day, with the ONLY exception being subtracting a hand watering on days when it rained. The ground was not left to dry. I am being extremely generous when I estimate 10% germination rate after 10 days on the newly seeded location, 1% would be more accurate, and finding a sprout in the overseeded portion of the lawn is literally looking for the needle in the haystack. With the amount of time and sweat invested I am beyond disappointed, I am flat out angry! Water bill is going to be outrageous and for what? Photo added of the new area, taken at night with a flash because you can barely see ANY results in full sunlight. I will be returning the small unused portion and going back to Pennington. This is what I get for trying to save a few dollars, 10 days behind in getting roots down before winter and ALL of the work to do over hoping it will be in time.
Pros: none
Cons: waste of time sweat and money.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 20 lb. Grass Contractor's All-Purpose Seed
from Jericho, NY, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

easy to grow

PostedOctober 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
very easy to germinate and grow,good value for the price, will buy it again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 20 lb. Grass Contractor's All-Purpose Seed
from Tualatin, OR, USA

Definite Thumbs Up

PostedMay 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
About 5 years ago, we bought a 120 year old farm house. As you can imagine the weeds that filled this lot were unsurmountable. I began stripping the so called "sod" (weeds) at about 1" per section of the yard, which varied in size from 100x100 feet to 40x20 feet. I've tried purebreed varieties, I've tried the standard contractor types for other areas I don't see in day to day inspections. To date, I've tried 11 company products of varying blends and varieties. I have to say this is the best product I've used so far in terms of product and reliability. The grass is a dark green spreading VERY rapidly after germination. This is also at the upper end of the germination scale in terms of speed. I had sprouts in 5 days and a "lawn" in about 2 weeks. I applied a 10-2.6 fert after and it's golden. From scratch to walking, with this seed and fert, took just over 5 weeks and looks GREAT!!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 20 lb. Grass Contractor's All-Purpose Seed

It Grows!

PostedJune 11, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After stressing over what grass seed to buy, i chose this one because it is all seed, as apposed to most of the others which are about hals seed and half additives. I Used this seed to replace a lawn overrun with weeds, which i tilled under. I applied with a scotts drop spreader set a 12, and covered with straw. There was noticeable growth within 1 week and I have a nice lush, fine blade lawn in just over a month. I used no fertilizer and only watered for the fist couple weeks
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 20 lb. Grass Contractor's All-Purpose Seed
from nj
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

vigoro contractor mix

PostedMay 26, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
the best seeds. jast follow instraction.my new grass looks like rug
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 20 lb. Grass Contractor's All-Purpose Seed

Fast Germination!

PostedSeptember 13, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Wow! I have new top soil, added Vigoro new lawn starter fertilizer and this Contractor's all purpose seed. I watered three times a day and in five days I had grass sprouting and now after seven days I can see my green lawn from the street. I gave it only four stars because I haven't seen the final product yet, but from dirt to 1-1/2" of green grass in one week...I will recommend this seed to everyone.
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 20 lb. Grass Contractor's All-Purpose Seed
from St Louis MO
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked well in St Louis

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought labor day weekend because we had to dig up the remains of a stump in our front lawn that had decayed and caused sink holes where the roots were. We put down some zoysia sod and I filled in with this seed. I had a lot so I also used it on the side of the house and in my neighbor's front yard as she had a lot of dead spots from sun damage from the previous summer. Some of it went down on fresh top soil and some was overseeded. I was amazed at how well it grew. I watered am and pm for about 20 mins a day for the first week, mainly because of the sod, it not only grew it prospered. That was last fall, and after the sub-zero winter we had, it has come back amazingly strong. My yard looks like I know what I am doing. I bought more and am going to overseed the backyard. I did not read the directions, simply threw it all over the yard and watered twice a day. It seems like grass for dummies. My husband who is an engineer and always does things very specifically was surprised at my success.
Pros: Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 20 lb. Grass Contractor's All-Purpose Seed
from ohio
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

After trying others this is the best!

PostedMay 28, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have used "other brand" and "other brand" seeds with not so great luck. I would water 2 times a day and neither of those would take with only a few sprouts here and there. So after a summer of frustration I decided to over-seed my front yard using the vigoro contractor blend. I followed the normal over-seeding procedures (scalping, aerating, etc) and spread this over 5000 square feet. In about 3 days I noticed sprouts popping up and after a week I had nice green grass coming up lush and full. I don't know why they call this "contractors" as this might scare away homeowners but its a wonderful product.
Pros: Great Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 20 lb. Grass Contractor's All-Purpose Seed

I can't believe what I got for the price.

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I seeded this contractor grade last fall and noticed that the grass grew a brighter green than the darker green on the rest of my lawn. The grass came in strong and filled in my lawn but I wasn't content with the shade of green. Well we had some heat waves up north and this grass all turned brown. Looks dead and this is my front lawn. I am irate that I did all that work and was left with such a lousy lawn. The rest of my lawn is OK with some yellowing but nothing like this seed. I watered it more than the rest of my lawn because I new it was a newer lawn. Totally disgusted with this product. I didn't read the other reviews but I will never waste my money on their products again.
Cons: Not Durable, poor quality seed for northeast
-4points
2out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 20 lb. Grass Contractor's All-Purpose Seed
from Michigan
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Mediocre results

PostedSeptember 6, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Followed all directions. Annual and perennial ryegrass seed germinated and grew, fescues and blue grass did not seem to produce at all. Appeared from my experience with this product that it contained abnormally high levels of crabgrass and quack grass seed.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.