728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 40 lb. Premium Wood Pellet Fuel

40 lb. Premium Wood Pellet Fuel

This Pres-to-Log 40 lb. Premium Wood Pellet Fuel helps heat your home in an environmentally responsible way. It comes in a compact, recyclable bag for easy storage.
Overall rating:
3.625 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(32 reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
67%of customersrecommend this product20 of 30reviews
Rating Breakdown 32 reviews
3.6 out of 5.0
5
(14)
4
(7)
3
(2)
2
(3)
1
(6)
Quality 
3.3 out of 5.0
3.3 out of 5
Value 
3.4 out of 5.0
3.4 out of 5
67%of customersrecommend this product20 of 30reviews
Customer reviews for 40 lb. Premium Wood Pellet Fuel
Review 1 for 40 lb. Premium Wood Pellet Fuel
from Mechanicsburg, PA

Burns well, but too much ash

PostedApril 22, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I am surprised that several other reviewers have reported low ash content with this brand of pellet. I have experienced quite the opposite. In my experience burning about a half a ton of these, I have seen a large amount of ash from these pellets. I have had to empty the ash dump once already, when I would have emptied it only twice the whole season versus the Turman brand pellet. Along with that, I have had to turn up the heat an extra notch to produce the same amount of heat as the other brand I have used. Pricing is a bit lower, but I have to consider if it is worth the extra cleaning and maintenance for the 25 cents in savings per bag.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 40 lb. Premium Wood Pellet Fuel
from Greenwood Lake,N.Y.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Yearly

NOT AS ORDERED

PostedSeptember 4, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I ordered these pellets for pickup at store and when picking up
was given another brand when I explained that is not what was
advertised on your web site "Presto-to Log" I was told that any picture is placed there and not necessarly the brand name as shown. What is shown on your site should represent what is going to be provided to the coustomer not some other brand name
+28points
32out of 36found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 40 lb. Premium Wood Pellet Fuel
from Baltimore, MD, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Much better than Stove Chow

PostedNovember 25, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased a half ton of the Presto pellets and I am very satisfied with their heat output and amount of ash produced. They do not have the resin content of Stove Chow pellets and as such don't build up residue in the burn pot like Stove Chow did. They burn clean and consistent.
I would not hesitate to recommend these and at the price Home Depot is selling at they are a bargain.
Pros: High Quality
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 40 lb. Premium Wood Pellet Fuel
from Jessup, Maryland

Happy with product

PostedNovember 21, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was only able to get about 6 bags of these and they worked out great. Burned hot and very little ash. But when it came time to order a ton these were not available and ended up with Bayou brand which are horrendous. They were the same price but worlds apart in quality & value. These I'd definately buy again. This is the nature of wood pellets, every year the quality changes and you never know what you are getting. I should have ordered a ton of these when they were available. Lesson learned.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 40 lb. Premium Wood Pellet Fuel

LOW ASH

PostedOctober 24, 2008
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
First time burning this brand of pellets. Low on ash. I have used other pellets that burn hotter. The cost of pellets is high. The average cost in the area is about $260-$280 Spotsylvania VA.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 40 lb. Premium Wood Pellet Fuel

Heat'rs Pellets

PostedNovember 26, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Very disappointed with the new pellets Home Depot is selling. Makes a ton of ash which requires the burn pot to be cleaned every 1/2 of bag. Heat'rs are not worth the savings.
Cons: makes to much ash.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 40 lb. Premium Wood Pellet Fuel

Doesn't burn well in my small stove

PostedJanuary 20, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The pellets burn great in my friends stove which has a 45,000 BTU rating but my little stove just doesn't get them hot enough so I end up with way to much ash and a clogged burn pot.
Good price.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 40 lb. Premium Wood Pellet Fuel
from Susanville, California

Home Depot Premium Pellets

PostedOctober 15, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have used these pellets for the past 3 years and I have found them to be of high quality with little clinker. I will be continuing to use them. The price is better than most and they burn hot. My stove is large and I use at least one bag every 24 hours. I am an HVAC tech for a living and, I can certify that these pellets are as good or bettter than other preimum grade pellets like "Golden Fire" and are less expensive.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 40 lb. Premium Wood Pellet Fuel
from NE PA

Prest-O-Log Wood Pellets

PostedMarch 13, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Clean burning. Low ash. Higher heat output than any pellet fuel I ever used. Use them in an Englander Stoveworks 1500 sq ft pellet unit.
I hope these are stocked in our local Home Depot next year. I will definitely use this brand again.
A whole lot cheaper than oil.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 40 lb. Premium Wood Pellet Fuel
from north.Country, n.h.
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

not bad they worked

PostedApril 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
the pellets you had online are not available in my Littleton n.h. store. no big deal I got the same pellets that I got in august (green supreme) which burn very well 18-20 hours per bag. the( fire side pellets) I think are much better you get about 18-22 hours per bag and cost the same but burn slower
Pros: High Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 40 lb. Premium Wood Pellet Fuel
from southern New Hampshire

Efficient and Economical

PostedOctober 3, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Low ash, burns nicely!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 40 lb. Premium Wood Pellet Fuel

Terrible!

PostedNovember 17, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We bought 5 bags. 1st bag the pellets were not of uniform size, nor did they smell like wood. In fact they smelled like garbage! They jammed up the auger. Pellets were up to 4 inches long! The 2nd bag was no better. We will be returning the unused bags.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 40 lb. Premium Wood Pellet Fuel
from Western Pennslyvania
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

BEST YET

PostedNovember 23, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These Pres-to-Logs pellets are the very best pellets that I have ever used and I have used at least 10 different brands in the 7 years I have had my stove
Pros: High Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 40 lb. Premium Wood Pellet Fuel
from Show Low, AZ, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Product has good price.

PostedOctober 16, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Compared to ACE and Lowes your product was priced below there's as to comparision.
Pros: Easy to Use
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 40 lb. Premium Wood Pellet Fuel
from Oakdale, CT

No problems so far!

PostedDecember 23, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We just installed our pellet stove and before purchasing a ton of pellets, we bought several different brands. Some fell apart and clogged the auger, others did not burn consistantly resulting in the flame going up and down, which kicks on the combustion blower. These seem to burn just fine, not a lot of ash, and consistant. We will be buying a ton of these this weekend!
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 40 lb. Premium Wood Pellet Fuel
from florence colorado
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

this order, pellets seem to be old

PostedOctober 8, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
usually this brand has been ok, but in this order- I found alot of dust and some pellets were clumped together like they had been wet.
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 40 lb. Premium Wood Pellet Fuel
from Berkeley, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wood Pellet Fuel

PostedNovember 22, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
this is an excellent price for this produce. I believe it was unchanged from last year. Competitors seem be be charging more.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 40 lb. Premium Wood Pellet Fuel
from Northern New Jersey

Fuel Pellets

PostedOctober 12, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Excellent product....come back every year to buy---(for two years since i bought my home with a pellet stove). This year I am buying a pallet. Very cost effective and efficient. Does burn less ash (meaning, less clean up). Would reccomend to anyone using a pellet stove.
Thx Home Depot.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 40 lb. Premium Wood Pellet Fuel
from Alamogordo, NM 88310, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Dont buy unless you like cleaning

PostedJanuary 15, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I tried the home depot brand of pellets, The HDX pellets. They are terrible, They leave a heavy amount of carbon deposit all over the stove, the only thing I could say good about them was, very little fines. They dont burn very hot, and they burn very quick. The heats pellets at home depot are a much better buy at the same price.
Pros: no fines
Cons: burns terrible
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 40 lb. Premium Wood Pellet Fuel

Great Product

PostedNovember 17, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The stove chow pellets are the best we've tried less clinkers(almost none) and very low ash
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 >>