728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Fuel or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 40 lb. Premium Wood Pellet Fuel

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Home Depot.

40 lb. Premium Wood Pellet Fuel

This Pres-to-Log 40 lb. Premium Wood Pellet Fuel helps heat your home in an environmentally responsible way. It comes in a compact, recyclable bag for easy storage.
Overall rating:
3.625 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(32 reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
67%of customersrecommend this product20 of 30reviews
Rating Breakdown 32 reviews
3.6 out of 5
5
(14)
4
(7)
3
(2)
2
(3)
1
(6)
Quality 
3.3 out of 5
3.3 out of 5
Value 
3.4 out of 5
3.4 out of 5
67%of customersrecommend this product20 of 30reviews
Customer reviews for 40 lb. Premium Wood Pellet Fuel
Review 21 for 40 lb. Premium Wood Pellet Fuel
from Sacramento, CA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Although I haven't had a need to use this product yet. It's not cold

PostedOctober 2, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
The help that was given was outstanding. I've forgotten the names now but I do remember that it was an supervisor jn garden shop area and another employee that helped me. they were outstanding.
Pros: Easy to Use
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 22 for 40 lb. Premium Wood Pellet Fuel
from West central MN
Age Range:45 to 54
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Not as you order

PostedFebruary 17, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Claim pellets are 8500-8900btu. What I got is 8000. More work,less value. Go to store as what you order will be what they have. I was stuck between a snow bank and a cold place so had to take what they had.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for 40 lb. Premium Wood Pellet Fuel
from southern New Hampshire

Efficient and Economical

PostedOctober 3, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Low ash, burns nicely!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 24 for 40 lb. Premium Wood Pellet Fuel
from Baltimore, MD, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Much better than Stove Chow

PostedNovember 25, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased a half ton of the Presto pellets and I am very satisfied with their heat output and amount of ash produced. They do not have the resin content of Stove Chow pellets and as such don't build up residue in the burn pot like Stove Chow did. They burn clean and consistent.
I would not hesitate to recommend these and at the price Home Depot is selling at they are a bargain.
Pros: High Quality
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 25 for 40 lb. Premium Wood Pellet Fuel
from Joshua Tree

HDX Brand Pellets are Terrible

PostedJanuary 25, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Our local HD switched over from Heatrs brand to the HDX and the difference is very noticable. The HDX pellets do not burn as hot, requiring the the feed settings to be increased. They also burn poorly and fill the burn pot with clinkers that have to be emptied after every use (even if only for an hour). Not much ash because the pellets form clinkers instead. Worst pellets I have ever used.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for 40 lb. Premium Wood Pellet Fuel

Would not recommend

PostedFebruary 14, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is a new product for Home Depot, they switched brands recently. It does not work as well. it is more difficult to light and seems more smokey than the previous brand.
Pros: Easy to Clean
Cons: Difficult to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for 40 lb. Premium Wood Pellet Fuel
from NE PA

Prest-O-Log Wood Pellets

PostedMarch 13, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Clean burning. Low ash. Higher heat output than any pellet fuel I ever used. Use them in an Englander Stoveworks 1500 sq ft pellet unit.
I hope these are stocked in our local Home Depot next year. I will definitely use this brand again.
A whole lot cheaper than oil.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 28 for 40 lb. Premium Wood Pellet Fuel
from Mechanicsburg, PA

Burns well, but too much ash

PostedApril 22, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I am surprised that several other reviewers have reported low ash content with this brand of pellet. I have experienced quite the opposite. In my experience burning about a half a ton of these, I have seen a large amount of ash from these pellets. I have had to empty the ash dump once already, when I would have emptied it only twice the whole season versus the Turman brand pellet. Along with that, I have had to turn up the heat an extra notch to produce the same amount of heat as the other brand I have used. Pricing is a bit lower, but I have to consider if it is worth the extra cleaning and maintenance for the 25 cents in savings per bag.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 29 for 40 lb. Premium Wood Pellet Fuel
from Abingdon, MD 21009, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

good product

PostedFebruary 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
no problems with this product, little ash, burn good
Pros: High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for 40 lb. Premium Wood Pellet Fuel

Terrible!

PostedNovember 17, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We bought 5 bags. 1st bag the pellets were not of uniform size, nor did they smell like wood. In fact they smelled like garbage! They jammed up the auger. Pellets were up to 4 inches long! The 2nd bag was no better. We will be returning the unused bags.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 31 for 40 lb. Premium Wood Pellet Fuel
from Greenwood Lake,N.Y.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Yearly

NOT AS ORDERED

PostedSeptember 4, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I ordered these pellets for pickup at store and when picking up
was given another brand when I explained that is not what was
advertised on your web site "Presto-to Log" I was told that any picture is placed there and not necessarly the brand name as shown. What is shown on your site should represent what is going to be provided to the coustomer not some other brand name
+28points
32out of 36found this review helpful.
Review 32 for 40 lb. Premium Wood Pellet Fuel
from Alamogordo, NM 88310, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Dont buy unless you like cleaning

PostedJanuary 15, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I tried the home depot brand of pellets, The HDX pellets. They are terrible, They leave a heavy amount of carbon deposit all over the stove, the only thing I could say good about them was, very little fines. They dont burn very hot, and they burn very quick. The heats pellets at home depot are a much better buy at the same price.
Pros: no fines
Cons: burns terrible
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
<< 1 2