728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 40 lb. Premium Wood Pellet Fuel

40 lb. Premium Wood Pellet Fuel

This Pres-to-Log 40 lb. Premium Wood Pellet Fuel helps heat your home in an environmentally responsible way. It comes in a compact, recyclable bag for easy storage.
Overall rating:
3.625 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(32 reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
67%of customersrecommend this product20 of 30reviews
Rating Breakdown 32 reviews
3.6 out of 5.0
5
(14)
4
(7)
3
(2)
2
(3)
1
(6)
Quality 
3.3 out of 5.0
3.3 out of 5
Value 
3.4 out of 5.0
3.4 out of 5
67%of customersrecommend this product20 of 30reviews
Customer reviews for 40 lb. Premium Wood Pellet Fuel
Review 21 for 40 lb. Premium Wood Pellet Fuel
from Alamogordo, NM 88310, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Dont buy unless you like cleaning

PostedJanuary 15, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I tried the home depot brand of pellets, The HDX pellets. They are terrible, They leave a heavy amount of carbon deposit all over the stove, the only thing I could say good about them was, very little fines. They dont burn very hot, and they burn very quick. The heats pellets at home depot are a much better buy at the same price.
Pros: no fines
Cons: burns terrible
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 22 for 40 lb. Premium Wood Pellet Fuel
from NE PA

Prest-O-Log Wood Pellets

PostedMarch 13, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Clean burning. Low ash. Higher heat output than any pellet fuel I ever used. Use them in an Englander Stoveworks 1500 sq ft pellet unit.
I hope these are stocked in our local Home Depot next year. I will definitely use this brand again.
A whole lot cheaper than oil.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 23 for 40 lb. Premium Wood Pellet Fuel
from Jessup, Maryland

Happy with product

PostedNovember 21, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was only able to get about 6 bags of these and they worked out great. Burned hot and very little ash. But when it came time to order a ton these were not available and ended up with Bayou brand which are horrendous. They were the same price but worlds apart in quality & value. These I'd definately buy again. This is the nature of wood pellets, every year the quality changes and you never know what you are getting. I should have ordered a ton of these when they were available. Lesson learned.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 24 for 40 lb. Premium Wood Pellet Fuel
from Mechanicsburg, PA

Burns well, but too much ash

PostedApril 22, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I am surprised that several other reviewers have reported low ash content with this brand of pellet. I have experienced quite the opposite. In my experience burning about a half a ton of these, I have seen a large amount of ash from these pellets. I have had to empty the ash dump once already, when I would have emptied it only twice the whole season versus the Turman brand pellet. Along with that, I have had to turn up the heat an extra notch to produce the same amount of heat as the other brand I have used. Pricing is a bit lower, but I have to consider if it is worth the extra cleaning and maintenance for the 25 cents in savings per bag.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 25 for 40 lb. Premium Wood Pellet Fuel
from Sacramento, CA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Although I haven't had a need to use this product yet. It's not cold

PostedOctober 2, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The help that was given was outstanding. I've forgotten the names now but I do remember that it was an supervisor jn garden shop area and another employee that helped me. they were outstanding.
Pros: Easy to Use
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 26 for 40 lb. Premium Wood Pellet Fuel

Terrible!

PostedNovember 17, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We bought 5 bags. 1st bag the pellets were not of uniform size, nor did they smell like wood. In fact they smelled like garbage! They jammed up the auger. Pellets were up to 4 inches long! The 2nd bag was no better. We will be returning the unused bags.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 27 for 40 lb. Premium Wood Pellet Fuel
from Show Low, AZ, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Product has good price.

PostedOctober 16, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Compared to ACE and Lowes your product was priced below there's as to comparision.
Pros: Easy to Use
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 28 for 40 lb. Premium Wood Pellet Fuel
from Western Pennslyvania
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

BEST YET

PostedNovember 23, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These Pres-to-Logs pellets are the very best pellets that I have ever used and I have used at least 10 different brands in the 7 years I have had my stove
Pros: High Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 29 for 40 lb. Premium Wood Pellet Fuel
from Baltimore, MD, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Much better than Stove Chow

PostedNovember 25, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased a half ton of the Presto pellets and I am very satisfied with their heat output and amount of ash produced. They do not have the resin content of Stove Chow pellets and as such don't build up residue in the burn pot like Stove Chow did. They burn clean and consistent.
I would not hesitate to recommend these and at the price Home Depot is selling at they are a bargain.
Pros: High Quality
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 30 for 40 lb. Premium Wood Pellet Fuel

Would not recommend

PostedFebruary 14, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is a new product for Home Depot, they switched brands recently. It does not work as well. it is more difficult to light and seems more smokey than the previous brand.
Pros: Easy to Clean
Cons: Difficult to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for 40 lb. Premium Wood Pellet Fuel
from north.Country, n.h.
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

not bad they worked

PostedApril 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
the pellets you had online are not available in my Littleton n.h. store. no big deal I got the same pellets that I got in august (green supreme) which burn very well 18-20 hours per bag. the( fire side pellets) I think are much better you get about 18-22 hours per bag and cost the same but burn slower
Pros: High Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 32 for 40 lb. Premium Wood Pellet Fuel
from Levittown, PA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

just like the others

PostedFebruary 5, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
They seem to be just like all the others. Have no problems with them burning.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
<< 1 2