728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 40 lb. Premium Wood Pellet Fuel

40 lb. Premium Wood Pellet Fuel

This Pres-to-Log 40 lb. Premium Wood Pellet Fuel helps heat your home in an environmentally responsible way. It comes in a compact, recyclable bag for easy storage.
Overall rating:
3.625 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(32 reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
67%of customersrecommend this product20 of 30reviews
Rating Breakdown 32 reviews
3.6 out of 5.0
5
(14)
4
(7)
3
(2)
2
(3)
1
(6)
Quality 
3.3 out of 5.0
3.3 out of 5
Value 
3.4 out of 5.0
3.4 out of 5
67%of customersrecommend this product20 of 30reviews
Customer reviews for 40 lb. Premium Wood Pellet Fuel
Review 21 for 40 lb. Premium Wood Pellet Fuel
84NHMOM
from southern New Hampshire

Efficient and Economical

PostedOctober 3, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Low ash, burns nicely!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 22 for 40 lb. Premium Wood Pellet Fuel
Manassas
from Northern Virginia

Great price!

PostedDecember 7, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchase my pellet insert this year and Home Depot had this brand pellets on sale for $250 a ton, plus I had a 10% off coupon. I purchased 3 tons and I love them. I burn 1 1/2 bag per 24hrs. They do burn hot!
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 23 for 40 lb. Premium Wood Pellet Fuel
central1
from Greenwood Lake,N.Y.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Yearly

NOT AS ORDERED

PostedSeptember 4, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I ordered these pellets for pickup at store and when picking up
was given another brand when I explained that is not what was
advertised on your web site "Presto-to Log" I was told that any picture is placed there and not necessarly the brand name as shown. What is shown on your site should represent what is going to be provided to the coustomer not some other brand name
+28points
32out of 36found this review helpful.
Review 24 for 40 lb. Premium Wood Pellet Fuel
Leisureworld
from Baltimore, MD, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Much better than Stove Chow

PostedNovember 25, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased a half ton of the Presto pellets and I am very satisfied with their heat output and amount of ash produced. They do not have the resin content of Stove Chow pellets and as such don't build up residue in the burn pot like Stove Chow did. They burn clean and consistent.
I would not hesitate to recommend these and at the price Home Depot is selling at they are a bargain.
Pros: High Quality
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 25 for 40 lb. Premium Wood Pellet Fuel
chuckolboy
from north.Country, n.h.
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

not bad they worked

PostedApril 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
the pellets you had online are not available in my Littleton n.h. store. no big deal I got the same pellets that I got in august (green supreme) which burn very well 18-20 hours per bag. the( fire side pellets) I think are much better you get about 18-22 hours per bag and cost the same but burn slower
Pros: High Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 26 for 40 lb. Premium Wood Pellet Fuel
Robert52
from Susanville, California

Home Depot Premium Pellets

PostedOctober 15, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have used these pellets for the past 3 years and I have found them to be of high quality with little clinker. I will be continuing to use them. The price is better than most and they burn hot. My stove is large and I use at least one bag every 24 hours. I am an HVAC tech for a living and, I can certify that these pellets are as good or bettter than other preimum grade pellets like "Golden Fire" and are less expensive.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 27 for 40 lb. Premium Wood Pellet Fuel
Dave

Terrible!

PostedNovember 17, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We bought 5 bags. 1st bag the pellets were not of uniform size, nor did they smell like wood. In fact they smelled like garbage! They jammed up the auger. Pellets were up to 4 inches long! The 2nd bag was no better. We will be returning the unused bags.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 28 for 40 lb. Premium Wood Pellet Fuel
brattsgirl
from Jessup, Maryland

Happy with product

PostedNovember 21, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was only able to get about 6 bags of these and they worked out great. Burned hot and very little ash. But when it came time to order a ton these were not available and ended up with Bayou brand which are horrendous. They were the same price but worlds apart in quality & value. These I'd definately buy again. This is the nature of wood pellets, every year the quality changes and you never know what you are getting. I should have ordered a ton of these when they were available. Lesson learned.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 29 for 40 lb. Premium Wood Pellet Fuel
Clare
from Sacramento, CA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Although I haven't had a need to use this product yet. It's not cold

PostedOctober 2, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The help that was given was outstanding. I've forgotten the names now but I do remember that it was an supervisor jn garden shop area and another employee that helped me. they were outstanding.
Pros: Easy to Use
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 30 for 40 lb. Premium Wood Pellet Fuel
Suzanne
from Lewes Delaware
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A TON of ASH

PostedJanuary 7, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
First and last time I will be using this brand of pellets. Too much ash. I did use Lowes brand last year and was very happy, low ash and hot burn. I hope Home depot changes their brand for next year. I ordered two tons and am now stuck with them. Take my advice and do not use this item.
Delaware
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for 40 lb. Premium Wood Pellet Fuel
rms71
from Oakdale, CT

No problems so far!

PostedDecember 23, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We just installed our pellet stove and before purchasing a ton of pellets, we bought several different brands. Some fell apart and clogged the auger, others did not burn consistantly resulting in the flame going up and down, which kicks on the combustion blower. These seem to burn just fine, not a lot of ash, and consistant. We will be buying a ton of these this weekend!
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 32 for 40 lb. Premium Wood Pellet Fuel
pmah

good pellets

PostedJanuary 31, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These prestolog
pellets burn pretty hot and don't make as much ash as some others I've used. Quite a bit of fine dust when poring, but not sawdust.
Pros: High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
<< 1 2