728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Shower On-Off Push-Button Flow Control

Shower On-Off Push-Button Flow Control

The DANCO Shower On-Off Push-Button Flow Control is an innovative design to make showers more water and energy efficient. It is placed between the shower's head and arm and restricts the flow of water to a trickle. It is crafted with metal for strength and plated with chrome for added durability.
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2
 / 
5
(16 reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
33%of customersrecommend this product5 of 15reviews
Rating Breakdown 16 reviews
2.0 out of 5.0
5
(3)
4
(0)
3
(2)
2
(0)
1
(11)
Quality 
1.3 out of 5.0
1.3 out of 5
Value 
1.2 out of 5.0
1.2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.1 out of 5.0
3.1 out of 5
33%of customersrecommend this product5 of 15reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 3 Answers
Customer reviews for Shower On-Off Push-Button Flow Control
Review 1 for Shower On-Off Push-Button Flow Control
from Oil City, PA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This product could be better

PostedJune 4, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I must reduce the volume of water coming out through the shower head in order for this device to work.
Cons: Weak Water Pressure
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Shower On-Off Push-Button Flow Control

Do not buy this product!

PostedNovember 2, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The product did not do as I was expected it would do. The plunger part to shut off the water let a continuous stream of water out. Wasted $5.00 getting this product.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Shower On-Off Push-Button Flow Control
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Leaks then falls apart

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This item leaked when the water was turned on. A fine spray from around the valve stem with the valve in the closed position. When the push button valve stem was pushed to open the valve it came completely out of the valve body and water sprayed all over the place. When the valve stem was replaced the item still leaked badly and the valve stem push button kept coming out of the valve body.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Shower On-Off Push-Button Flow Control
from Ashland,Ohio
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't waste your money !!!

PostedDecember 16, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought 3 of these valves, and they all suck.They install easy,but when you put water to them they all leaked out of the button.Don't waste your money buying this product.I don't know how Danco stays in business.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: leaks bad
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Shower On-Off Push-Button Flow Control
from Frederick, MD, USA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Valve leaks!

PostedMay 13, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The only one I tried blasted a strong stream of water sideways from the shut-off button. You do get what you pay for with this product - lesson learned!
Cons: low quality
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Shower On-Off Push-Button Flow Control

piece of junk, dont buy it

PostedMarch 24, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
nothing but a bad experience with this product,,, as soon as I got it home, I hooked it up, and water came squirting out from around the seal of the button.... when I was at the store, I opened several packages of them and they all seemed to have different issues with the button itself... I got the one I thought best,, apparently it wasnt
Cons: cant hold water pressure
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Shower On-Off Push-Button Flow Control
from Texas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Do not buy this product.

PostedJanuary 30, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product does not work, leaks no matter what you do. It does not shut off water flow, it will reduce, but then it leaks in different parts.
Cons: does not work leaks.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Shower On-Off Push-Button Flow Control
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Bad Choice

PostedJanuary 16, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
As others have said, shoots a stream of water out the side of push valve which is ill fitting. Don't waste your time taking home and installing!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Shower On-Off Push-Button Flow Control
from MD

NOT UNIVERSAL!

PostedJune 23, 2010
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This device does not work with some modern shower heads. Namely those with the new no plumbing tape-required larger diameter plastic connectors (kind of like on a garden hose). I purchased such a shower head at HD at the same time as this and the connector butts up against the pin mechanism, keeping it from moving. The should have made the threaded part just 1/2 or so longer. This also would have helped with my shower caddy if they had made it longer. It is not universal and is too short. Although its compact size may be a positive for some installations I realize.
It also looks to restrict the flow of water based on the diameter of the inner hole.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Shower On-Off Push-Button Flow Control
from Russellville, KY 42276, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Junk

PostedApril 7, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I tried two of these and both leaked and made no difference in water flow. Looking at other reviews, seems like Danco has a reputation for poor products.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Shower On-Off Push-Button Flow Control
from Rocklin, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wish I'd read the reviews

PostedJanuary 22, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Installed very easily. But then again, the slide button pushed right through to expose the sealing washer on the other side and spray water everywhere when I went to shut the water off. Also, when in the open position, the flow restriction took the shower head flow to a such a weak flow that the shower head didn't even function correctly. Don't waste your time with this valve.
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great
Cons: Weak Water Pressure, Leaks, falls apart
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Shower On-Off Push-Button Flow Control
from Fremont, CA

DANCO Shower On-Off Push Button Flow Control

PostedApril 16, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This device works perfectly and is very easy to install. Although, the online photo for this device is incorrect. It is an on off push button shut-off switch, which I actually prefer, NOT a turn valve.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Shower On-Off Push-Button Flow Control
from Logan Township NJ

DANCO Shower On-Off Push Button Flow Controler

PostedJune 13, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
In todays economic", I look for ways to reduce my household expenses.
I am man with a family how take long showers. And to adapt and adjust to that,
The DANCO shower On-Off Push Button Flow Control was the perfect solution.
Easy to install with no maintenance. We were able to reduce the water usage by 25%.
Best thing the wife and kids don’t even know or notice it.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Shower On-Off Push-Button Flow Control
from Portland, ME, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Junk

PostedDecember 27, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Turn it on, water shoots out of one side of the valve "switch button". Turn it off, it shoots out the other side of the valve "switch button".
Today I bought two DANCO products to fix my shower. Both failed miserably.
I do not know if it applies to every item that the company makes, but I will avoid buying anything made or marketed by DANCO ever again.
Cons: leaks badly around valve
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Shower On-Off Push-Button Flow Control
from Darien, IL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Failure as noted by other author

PostedDecember 31, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Perhaps latest run of product is junk, but water sprayed out of each side of this item after proper installation, much like other review author. Not truly a shut-off, as noted on product packaging it is only partial.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Shower On-Off Push-Button Flow Control
from california

nice product

PostedJuly 23, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Good price. Fast shipping. Fit was good. Would recomend
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.