728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Outdoor Wall Mounted Lighting or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 1-Light Motion-Sensing Outdoor Brushed Nickel Lantern

1-Light Motion-Sensing Outdoor Brushed Nickel Lantern

The Hampton Bay 1-Light Brushed Nickel Motion-Sensing Outdoor Lantern is wall-mounted and has a contemporary two-tiered design. The curved beveled-glass panels perfectly set off the housing and brushed-nickel finish, while the built-in motion-sensor greets visitors and makes it easier to find your keys. This stylish and practical lamp is UL listed for safety. Uses one 100 watt maximum light bulb (not included).
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3
 / 
5
(12 reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
50%of customersrecommend this product6 of 12reviews
Rating Breakdown 12 reviews
3.0 out of 5.0
5
(5)
4
(1)
3
(0)
2
(1)
1
(5)
Appearance 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Quality 
3.2 out of 5.0
3.2 out of 5
Value 
3.4 out of 5.0
3.4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
50%of customersrecommend this product6 of 12reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Customer reviews for 1-Light Motion-Sensing Outdoor Brushed Nickel Lantern
Review 1 for 1-Light Motion-Sensing Outdoor Brushed Nickel Lantern
evb2000

Don't buy for the motion detector.

PostedFebruary 11, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Had to make three trips to the store to get all the right parts after it became obvious the box I had purchased was previously returned. This has more to do with Home Depot, but the fact is that people are returning this brand frequently.
After I finally got all the parts needed to mount the light, I set the motion detector to work as I wanted and tested, but the next day the light would not come on at all when I approached. After reseting the sensitivity, the bulb then would not go off at all. The inconsistency in the settings became so frustrating that I just returned the unit which is a shame because I liked the looks and design, but I really wanted the motion detector to work.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1-Light Motion-Sensing Outdoor Brushed Nickel Lantern
gckshopper
from Kansas

Great outdoor lighting with class

PostedJanuary 14, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This light is the best purchase I have made for my outdoor porch light. It gives out a lot of light even with all the fancy decorations. I the energy saving light bulbs and for the first 3-5 minutes, the light can me dim; however, it will light up and your guests can see where they are going. I have had complements on it and how much light it puts out without blinding them. I highly recommend it. It does cost a little more than the others, but it does a wonderful job of lighting your porch and stairs. It is a great buy and you will be happy with it. I had it professionally installed, but it does come with instructions to install. It looks easy, but I am not electrically talented so I opted for an electrician. You will not be disappointed with this purchase. I hope this helps. Thank you for listing. SJV - Kansas
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1-Light Motion-Sensing Outdoor Brushed Nickel Lantern
SoFl

Rusts and motion sensors go.

PostedNovember 4, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I expected the finish to last at least 5 years in the South Florida heat and humidity, but no. I installed these on both sides of the garage door and they are already rusting after only two years; not just a little, a lot. Ante up for the better quality.
The sensors worked great and actually worked at 20ft, but, again, 2 years later...you have to practically wave your hand in front of the light for it to sense you.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1-Light Motion-Sensing Outdoor Brushed Nickel Lantern
Malin
from Tampa, FL>

Poor Quality

PostedSeptember 29, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought two of these lights in Aug. 2010. As stated in previous reviews the motion sensor is not good. The lights come on when your within ten feet of them. I have talked to the manufacturer and they claim because the lights are both run of one switch, but thisw is not the case. The lights look nice but the quality is not worth 66 bucks. And I noticed that they are starting to rust a little all ready and they are supposed to be weather resistant. Stay clear of Hampton Bay.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1-Light Motion-Sensing Outdoor Brushed Nickel Lantern
SoutheastMo
from Southeast Missouri

Motion? Light

PostedAugust 6, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
If you need the motion sensor to work at more than 10 feet do not purchase this light. I tried the different setting, made sure the light was perpendicular to the ground. I talked to a factory rep. 10 feet is the greatest distance it will work, which will not work for me. But it would of looked good.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1-Light Motion-Sensing Outdoor Brushed Nickel Lantern
Hayseed
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not very good, can not properly adjust.

PostedOctober 15, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Disappointing as the adjustments for sensitivity and time will not adjust.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1-Light Motion-Sensing Outdoor Brushed Nickel Lantern
Chas
from Westerville, OH, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Replacement fit perfectly and led to an Upgrade!

PostedFebruary 11, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We have three lights of this type that were not motion sensing. The one nearest our door became damaged. Fortunately Home Depot had a like physical replacement, however, the replacement was motion sensing. I am pleased to report the replacement fit perfectly and we now are comfortable with the motion sensing: it offers the same coverage (when needed) and are saving electicity and money. We looked for a replacement and ended up with an upgrade.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1-Light Motion-Sensing Outdoor Brushed Nickel Lantern
Lightsout

Light will not turn off

PostedJune 24, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After one day, the light will not turn off. It appears the auto function has stopped working.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1-Light Motion-Sensing Outdoor Brushed Nickel Lantern
Simple4ever
from Salem, NH, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This lamp was an easy DYI install

PostedApril 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These lanterns blend in with my home perfectly! The install was so simple, and adding the bulb requires no disassembling of the unit, my hand and the bulb fits through the opening at the bottom of the light!
About the only difficulty is in the adjustment, though to be expected being of the motion detection type.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1-Light Motion-Sensing Outdoor Brushed Nickel Lantern
Jill
from CT
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female

Happy with this purchase

PostedFebruary 7, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I really liked the look of this brushed nickel light & I love the fact that it's motion sensered. It matches a light we bought a few years ago for our front door. At the time, we couldn't find it with motion sensing. This is for our side door (used daily). I gave it a 4 star rating & quality b/c I did notice a small scratch/defect in the paint.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1-Light Motion-Sensing Outdoor Brushed Nickel Lantern
Betts
from Berea, OH, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Looks really great on my house.

PostedNovember 29, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The installer was courteous and efficient, and even came back after dark to see if the motion lights were working correctly.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1-Light Motion-Sensing Outdoor Brushed Nickel Lantern
Bill
from North Adams, MA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great product for a good price.

PostedJuly 31, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to install and very good documentation. The professionals at Home Depot were very helpful in describing the product.
Pros: Functional, Well Made, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.