728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Butane Micro Flame Torch and Accessory Kit

Butane Micro Flame Torch and Accessory Kit

The BernzOmatic Butane Micro Flame Torch and Accessory Kit includes a precise needle-point flame torch, a storage case, a cleaning sponge, a 0.9 oz. rosin-core solder, a hot knife, a large solder, a fine-point solder, a hot blower and a chisel-point pencil. Added tinning powder helps to pre-tin the piping.
Overall rating:
3.32 / 5
3.3
 / 
5
(25 reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
65%of customersrecommend this product15 of 23reviews
Rating Breakdown 25 reviews
3.3 out of 5.0
5
(10)
4
(4)
3
(3)
2
(0)
1
(8)
Ease of installation 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
Quality 
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6 out of 5
Value 
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6 out of 5
65%of customersrecommend this product15 of 23reviews
Customer reviews for Butane Micro Flame Torch and Accessory Kit
Review 1 for Butane Micro Flame Torch and Accessory Kit
from Austin Tx
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

product knowledge

PostedJune 8, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
I purchased this Product,to fix the brush motor Circuit board on my vacuum Cleaner. But to my surprise,the solder container had no Butane gas in it. I had to make another Trip to Home Depot,to get a refill container in order to it work .The home depot employee could have told me that,when I ask for the Product,but this is not the first time,that there was a lack of product knowledge among Home Depot employees. since I have not had a chance to try this product out, I cannot give it a rating,maybe next time.
-7points
0out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Butane Micro Flame Torch and Accessory Kit

Unit did not work

PostedJune 27, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
I filled the unit as instructed and ignited. Unit would not heat the tip, no matter where I set the flame level.
Cons: would not heat the tip
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Butane Micro Flame Torch and Accessory Kit
from Visalia, CA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Perfect for the job site

PostedFebruary 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Used this for low voltage connections. Soldered 100's of pairs of speaker wire and camera voltage cable! The fact that it's portable and heats up fast saved me time and made me money! Great product for board level work as well! A+++
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Butane Micro Flame Torch and Accessory Kit
from Boise ID
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for model railroading

PostedJune 18, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Does a fast and easy soldering job on train track and related wiring. Easy and small enough to get in tight places without melting everything in the surrounding area.
Pros: Reliable, Good Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Butane Micro Flame Torch and Accessory Kit
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product with fast heat up

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had a standard electric Solder Iron 30W but needed something hotter to handle 12 ga wire and large copper connectors. This device heats up in no time and has several end units to handle small through to large heat transfer bits.
No power cord to get in the way and the gas lasts several minutes - It has never run out on me.
Its one of my best tools, love it.
I use it in airplane model building
Pros: Reliable, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Butane Micro Flame Torch and Accessory Kit
from Denton, TX
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nifty Tool for Hobbyists

PostedMarch 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I needed to repair some 22 gauge wires, and this was perfect for the job. It's small enough to hide in a drawer or a backpack, yet it will get the job done like a proper soldering iron. The unit ships pre-filled, but depending on usage, you may need to refill it as you go. Though be aware that it does not include extra butane. I have had mine running for a total of about ten minutes, and it hasn't needed a refill. Also note that you will need an open flame to ignite the burner every time you use it. Just a minor nuisance but it could be an issue if you are in the field without a lighter or some matches. The soldering iron gets quite hot relatively quickly, I am able to melt solder from the point of ignition within 30 seconds or so, and it's definitely more than enough for small electronics. For the money and what it can do, this is very hard to beat. If you are only going to be soldering 12 gauge or smaller wires for occasional repairs, look no further.
Pros: Lots of Features, High Quality, Good Size & Weight
Cons: Difficult to Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Butane Micro Flame Torch and Accessory Kit
from Texas, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

useful item

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
handy item for doing small solder jobs with heat shrink tubing. Change out of the tips during use from solder to heat shrink can be time consuming waiting for cool down.
Pros: Good Instructions, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Butane Micro Flame Torch and Accessory Kit
from Little Rock, AR, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Funny Use.......but PERFECT!!!

PostedAugust 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought mine specifically for cooking. I've looked everywhere for a kitchen torch and they are $30 and up. This is totally perfect and so tiny I can put in a kitchen drawer for when I need it (creme brulee) :) I might even share with my husband!
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, great price, easy to use for first timer
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Butane Micro Flame Torch and Accessory Kit
from Omaha
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Absolute Garbage

PostedJanuary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this to do small jobs away from a power outlet. This torch is hard to light, and goes through butane like a V-10 engine goes through gas. The tip does get hot but cools off after a few seconds in the middle of a solder, thus, making the solder worthless. The exhaust port directs the hot gasses right into a group of wires if you have to work in between a wire harness. Poor design, poor reliability. The gas that I put into the torch (in my opinion) was worth more than the torch. Do yourself a favor and spend the extra money for a torch that works.
Pros: Nice Design
Cons: Not Durable, Difficult to Use
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Butane Micro Flame Torch and Accessory Kit
from San Antonio, TX

Not hot enough, uneven heat

PostedJune 7, 2010
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this for minor electrical soldering. It would melt the solder fine for about 2 minutes, then it would sometimes be hot enough but usually not. It was difficult to light. Instructions are no help. Had to figure how to "rig" it to get it to stay lit. Took it back and got a cheap electric one that was not very good either but at least heat was even and melted the solder consistently.
On the plus side the miniature torch did a great job on heat shrink
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Butane Micro Flame Torch and Accessory Kit
from Longmont, CO, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It worked, but lacking quality and clear documentation

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This butane torch is hard to keep lighted and the user manual that was included didn't provide enough detail for good operation.
Pros: Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
Cons: Not Durable, Difficult to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Butane Micro Flame Torch and Accessory Kit
from Santa Ana, CA, USA
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

great little tool

PostedOctober 16, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
i just want to say i read all of the reviews and let me tell you i was unsure to get this item but i did get it got home light up AND YES THE FLAME GOES OFF BUT I DID READ THE MANUAL THEN LIGHT IT UP ACCORDING THE MANUAL AND LET ME TELL YOU THE TOOL ROCK YOU CAN BLOW THE FLAME WITH YOUR MOUTH AND THE FLAME DOES NO GO OFF!!!! THE ONLY THING YOU NEED TO DO IS PUSH UP THE SPRING LOADED ADPATER AND LIGHT IT AND YOUR FINE !!!! OUTDOOR IN DOOR !!!! FOR THOSE PEOPLE THAT PUT A BAD REVIEW PLZ READ THE MANUAL FIRST AND THEN REVIEW!!!!!
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Butane Micro Flame Torch and Accessory Kit

Great value! - The Instructions could be better...

PostedJuly 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Once I learned how to use the catalyzer tip for this torch, it has become a VERY useful tool. Flame is only necessary for the open-tipped torch use. Once ignited, the heating/catalyzer tip makes plenty of heat for soldering and "hot knife" work (without open flame)
Pros: Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Butane Micro Flame Torch and Accessory Kit
from Loganville, GA 30052, USA
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awesome little solder gun

PostedAugust 1, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this after reading all the reviews on people saying the flame goes out or it doesn't heat evenly.. so i decided to give it a try even with all the bad reviews and I'm glad i did! If you read the instructions on how to use it... there shouldn't be a flame only a orange glow through the open exhaust.. After you light it correctly you could wave back and fourth really fast and its still on if done right! It even heats evenly!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: none!
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Butane Micro Flame Torch and Accessory Kit
from NJ

Good for what it is intended for

PostedSeptember 25, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is a small butane torch, and portable soldering iron. It is not for plumbing; unless you are doing very tiny pipes!
I had a home theater installation done, and the speaker wires were pulled through the wall, and came out at about 6 feet above the floor in the corners of the room. The wire was 14 gauge stranded copper wire. When it came time for me to install the speakers, I realized that I wanted the ends soldered so that I could push them into the spring clips of the speakers more easily. My regular electric soldering iron would reach with an extension cord, but I did not want to be up on a step stool, with an extension cord dangling, trying to heat up a 14 gauge wire. 14 gauge wire acts as it's own heat sink, and so will wick away the heat too quickly to allow you to solder using a small soldering iron. This is where this tool came in. I used a Vicegrip to clamp the wire; to hold it in position and to act as a heat sink. I then used the butane torch, with an open flame, to heat up the wire and allowed the solder to wick in. Since this was a very high heat flame, the wire heated up very quickly, allowing me to solder it before the insulation started to melt.
This butane torch is a good substitute for a soldering iron, especially if you need to be away from an electrical source. It is also very useful to apply high heat to a small area, and for tinning and soldering heavy gauge wire. It is a bit of a pain to get it lit, and that is why I deducted one star. I carry a small butane barbecue lighter with me when I need to use this tool. It also tends to go out very easily with even a slight breeze, but this may be to it's advantage. If you drop it while using it, most of the time the flame will go out. Every tool has its advantages and limitations. This is not the tool for doing delicate electronic soldering, and it is not for doing household plumbing. If it is used with the understanding of it's limitations, it is a very good tool for what it can do.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Butane Micro Flame Torch and Accessory Kit
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female

Great tool! Awesome for price!

PostedSeptember 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This tool worked perfectly for the small soldering I needed to do! And for the price I have NO complaints! Very easy to fill with gas also.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Butane Micro Flame Torch and Accessory Kit
from Salem, OR, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Not happy with performance

PostedNovember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I've read the reviews and this soldering iron is unsatisfactory. As i've read it might work for extremely light soldering or applying heat shrink. If you light it properly the tip stays lit without a problem, however I found the heat insufficient for proper soldering. It melts the solder but doesn't sufficiently heat up the items you are trying to solder thereby getting an improper solder joint. I have been fighting to solder 2 wires together and to solder some new capacitors with extreme difficulty. Desoldering is just as difficult. I wanted something that you could use in the house, car, etc, but this is NOT the answer.
Cons: Difficult to Use
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Butane Micro Flame Torch and Accessory Kit

Stay away for all costs

PostedJanuary 6, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Owned different butane torch that was "made in China" that was faaar better. This one does not have built-in igniter and the re-fulling vent is of a poor quality, it failed after two refillings with ORIGINAL refill kits. It worked for me for a month and they it died. It's waste of money.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Butane Micro Flame Torch and Accessory Kit
from MI
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male

Does not get the job done !!!

PostedSeptember 29, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
First off let me say that i bought this with the intention of doing some very light soldering on an rc truck. i thought with it being powered by butane it would be nice for using in the field whan something needed to get fixed. Although this looked and felt nice in the hand it does not nearly get hot enough to work at all... i used it in a basement with no wind anywhere near by and even at it's "hottest" setting the tip of the iron would only get to about 280 degrees, Not hot enought to melt solder, let alone be good at it. I will be returning this and going to a soldering station.
Pros: Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight
Cons: does not do the job !!, eat's up butane fast !!
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Butane Micro Flame Torch and Accessory Kit

Good for heat shrink tubing

PostedMarch 1, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Worthless for electrical solder. Nothing worked to get it hot enough for regular electrical solder. The tips are chromed and very poor at transferring heat. Worthless for soldering. The tip material and finish needs to redesigned. Don't waste your time or effort on this product. The case is super cheap also. No matter what you do, the slightest disturbance will blow it out.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 >>