728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Butane Micro Flame Torch and Accessory Kit

Butane Micro Flame Torch and Accessory Kit

The BernzOmatic Butane Micro Flame Torch and Accessory Kit includes a precise needle-point flame torch, a storage case, a cleaning sponge, a 0.9 oz. rosin-core solder, a hot knife, a large solder, a fine-point solder, a hot blower and a chisel-point pencil. Added tinning powder helps to pre-tin the piping.
Overall rating:
3.645 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(31 reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
72%of customersrecommend this product21 of 29reviews
Rating Breakdown 31 reviews
3.6 out of 5.0
5
(13)
4
(8)
3
(3)
2
(0)
1
(7)
Ease of installation 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Quality 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
Value 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
72%of customersrecommend this product21 of 29reviews
Customer reviews for Butane Micro Flame Torch and Accessory Kit
Review 1 for Butane Micro Flame Torch and Accessory Kit
from Phoenix, AZ
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great - but no piezo electric starter

PostedOctober 31, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I got this for a light soldering job where a cordless soldering iron would be handy, and yes it is very handy. It heats to soldering temperature in about 30 seconds and gets plenty hot enough. It does not have a piezo-electric starter, so a match or lighter is required to light the torch, but once lit it works quite well. Also, butane is not included, so expect to purchase that separately.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Butane Micro Flame Torch and Accessory Kit
from Massachusetts
Age Range:45 to 54
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great tool for the cost

PostedDecember 15, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've had many butane torches in the past and this is right up there with any of the good ones.
I would have given 5 stars but there is nothing to light it with.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: no igniter
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Butane Micro Flame Torch and Accessory Kit

Great for in the field repairs

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Worked great and very mobile. Refills very fast and works great used the solder tip and torch. Would recommend to anyone looking for a portable iron.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Butane Micro Flame Torch and Accessory Kit
from Plant City, FL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Hot little tool

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great little butane tool. Accessories included are very handy and helpful. I used it to solder a bunch of electrical joints and then apply shrink wrap tubing and it was perfect for this task.
Pros: Reliable, Good Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Butane Micro Flame Torch and Accessory Kit
from Lisbon, NH
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great Portable Soldering Iron & Torch

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This butane iron has multiple soldering tips to allow you to match the heat to the job at hand. Also includes a hand hot knife blade and a hot air tip. It is also usable as a mini open flame torch. Great for the hobbyist, home owner or professional.
Pros: Reliable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Butane Micro Flame Torch and Accessory Kit
from Visalia, CA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Perfect for the job site

PostedFebruary 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Used this for low voltage connections. Soldered 100's of pairs of speaker wire and camera voltage cable! The fact that it's portable and heats up fast saved me time and made me money! Great product for board level work as well! A+++
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Butane Micro Flame Torch and Accessory Kit
from Surprise, AZ
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Quick Fixes

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This was a good product for the price and does quite a bit. The biggest issue I had was it not being clear that the is NO butane with this, so make sure you buy some or you will be making another trip like I did!
Pros: Easy to Install, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Butane Micro Flame Torch and Accessory Kit
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product with fast heat up

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had a standard electric Solder Iron 30W but needed something hotter to handle 12 ga wire and large copper connectors. This device heats up in no time and has several end units to handle small through to large heat transfer bits.
No power cord to get in the way and the gas lasts several minutes - It has never run out on me.
Its one of my best tools, love it.
I use it in airplane model building
Pros: Reliable, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Butane Micro Flame Torch and Accessory Kit
from Boise ID
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for model railroading

PostedJune 18, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Does a fast and easy soldering job on train track and related wiring. Easy and small enough to get in tight places without melting everything in the surrounding area.
Pros: Reliable, Good Instructions
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Butane Micro Flame Torch and Accessory Kit
from Little Rock, AR, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Funny Use.......but PERFECT!!!

PostedAugust 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought mine specifically for cooking. I've looked everywhere for a kitchen torch and they are $30 and up. This is totally perfect and so tiny I can put in a kitchen drawer for when I need it (creme brulee) :) I might even share with my husband!
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, great price, easy to use for first timer
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Butane Micro Flame Torch and Accessory Kit
from Denton, TX
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nifty Tool for Hobbyists

PostedMarch 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I needed to repair some 22 gauge wires, and this was perfect for the job. It's small enough to hide in a drawer or a backpack, yet it will get the job done like a proper soldering iron. The unit ships pre-filled, but depending on usage, you may need to refill it as you go. Though be aware that it does not include extra butane. I have had mine running for a total of about ten minutes, and it hasn't needed a refill. Also note that you will need an open flame to ignite the burner every time you use it. Just a minor nuisance but it could be an issue if you are in the field without a lighter or some matches. The soldering iron gets quite hot relatively quickly, I am able to melt solder from the point of ignition within 30 seconds or so, and it's definitely more than enough for small electronics. For the money and what it can do, this is very hard to beat. If you are only going to be soldering 12 gauge or smaller wires for occasional repairs, look no further.
Pros: Lots of Features, High Quality, Good Size & Weight
Cons: Difficult to Use
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Butane Micro Flame Torch and Accessory Kit
from alameda ca
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

tiny torch how about that?

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
A bit hard to light but once it's going seems to work well,. I tried it as a big solder iron to solder 12g wire to an outlet type plug so a regular solder iron wouldn't do. THis worked with lead but couldn't silver solder
Pros: No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Butane Micro Flame Torch and Accessory Kit
from San Antonio, TX

Not hot enough, uneven heat

PostedJune 7, 2010
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this for minor electrical soldering. It would melt the solder fine for about 2 minutes, then it would sometimes be hot enough but usually not. It was difficult to light. Instructions are no help. Had to figure how to "rig" it to get it to stay lit. Took it back and got a cheap electric one that was not very good either but at least heat was even and melted the solder consistently.
On the plus side the miniature torch did a great job on heat shrink
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Butane Micro Flame Torch and Accessory Kit

Unit did not work

PostedJune 27, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
I filled the unit as instructed and ignited. Unit would not heat the tip, no matter where I set the flame level.
Cons: would not heat the tip
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Butane Micro Flame Torch and Accessory Kit

Great value! - The Instructions could be better...

PostedJuly 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Once I learned how to use the catalyzer tip for this torch, it has become a VERY useful tool. Flame is only necessary for the open-tipped torch use. Once ignited, the heating/catalyzer tip makes plenty of heat for soldering and "hot knife" work (without open flame)
Pros: Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Butane Micro Flame Torch and Accessory Kit
from Longmont, CO, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It worked, but lacking quality and clear documentation

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This butane torch is hard to keep lighted and the user manual that was included didn't provide enough detail for good operation.
Pros: Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
Cons: Not Durable, Difficult to Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Butane Micro Flame Torch and Accessory Kit
from Loganville, GA 30052, USA
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awesome little solder gun

PostedAugust 1, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this after reading all the reviews on people saying the flame goes out or it doesn't heat evenly.. so i decided to give it a try even with all the bad reviews and I'm glad i did! If you read the instructions on how to use it... there shouldn't be a flame only a orange glow through the open exhaust.. After you light it correctly you could wave back and fourth really fast and its still on if done right! It even heats evenly!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: none!
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Butane Micro Flame Torch and Accessory Kit
from Texas, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

useful item

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
handy item for doing small solder jobs with heat shrink tubing. Change out of the tips during use from solder to heat shrink can be time consuming waiting for cool down.
Pros: Good Instructions, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Butane Micro Flame Torch and Accessory Kit
from Santa Ana, CA, USA
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

great little tool

PostedOctober 16, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
i just want to say i read all of the reviews and let me tell you i was unsure to get this item but i did get it got home light up AND YES THE FLAME GOES OFF BUT I DID READ THE MANUAL THEN LIGHT IT UP ACCORDING THE MANUAL AND LET ME TELL YOU THE TOOL ROCK YOU CAN BLOW THE FLAME WITH YOUR MOUTH AND THE FLAME DOES NO GO OFF!!!! THE ONLY THING YOU NEED TO DO IS PUSH UP THE SPRING LOADED ADPATER AND LIGHT IT AND YOUR FINE !!!! OUTDOOR IN DOOR !!!! FOR THOSE PEOPLE THAT PUT A BAD REVIEW PLZ READ THE MANUAL FIRST AND THEN REVIEW!!!!!
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Butane Micro Flame Torch and Accessory Kit
from Omaha
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Absolute Garbage

PostedJanuary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this to do small jobs away from a power outlet. This torch is hard to light, and goes through butane like a V-10 engine goes through gas. The tip does get hot but cools off after a few seconds in the middle of a solder, thus, making the solder worthless. The exhaust port directs the hot gasses right into a group of wires if you have to work in between a wire harness. Poor design, poor reliability. The gas that I put into the torch (in my opinion) was worth more than the torch. Do yourself a favor and spend the extra money for a torch that works.
Pros: Nice Design
Cons: Not Durable, Difficult to Use
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 >>