728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 20 in. Electric Crackling Fireplace Logs

20 in. Electric Crackling Fireplace Logs

The Pleasant Hearth Electric Crackling Logs sit in the fireplace and add beautiful ambiance to your hearth. This set allows you to enjoy the look and sound of a real fire without creating soot and smoke. Made from real wood, these logs are convenient and maintenance-free. When plugged in, the logs produce a crackling wood sound and the look of dancing flames. The one-light mechanism creates the glowing effect of burning embers.
Overall rating:
4.581 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(174 reviews) 173
Open Ratings Snapshot
95%of customersrecommend this product160 of 168reviews
Rating Breakdown 174 reviews
4.6 out of 5
5
(122)
4
(39)
3
(7)
2
(4)
1
(2)
Quality 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5
95%of customersrecommend this product160 of 168reviews
Customer questions and answers:
14 Questions | 31 Answers
Customer reviews for 20 in. Electric Crackling Fireplace Logs
Review 1 for 20 in. Electric Crackling Fireplace Logs
from Jacksonville, FL
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product!

PostedOctober 31, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I built my own fireplace for decorative use only, so I needed something that would not produce any heat. This is perfect! It comes with an orange 25 watt bulb, but I replaced it with an orange LED bulb so that it now uses only 5 watts! This was the finishing touch on my DIY project and I couldn't be more pleased. It looks great, and sounds so real. It's very relaxing. I would definitely recommend it. It does have a long cord that plugs in, so if you are buying it for a built in fireplace you will have to consider that the plug may show. I just have mine going through the back of the fireplace.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 20 in. Electric Crackling Fireplace Logs
from California, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Amazingly realistic

PostedOctober 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is tacky but in a good way,,,
When turned off the logs look completely real, when on most who have seen it think its a real fire (minus the mess and fire hazard).
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Quiet, Easy to Clean, High Quality, Economical
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 20 in. Electric Crackling Fireplace Logs
from New York City
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love it, loveit, love it

PostedDecember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I love it, I love it, and I love it. I bought it in November 2014. After it was installed and I turned it on I noticed about 4 small holds in the plastic. No! I did not return it because I was too excited so I kept it. It looks and sounds like real fire. The crackling sound is just right. It doesn’t have a plastic smell either. When I come home from work the first thing I do is to turn on my fire place grab a glass of wine and listen to some music. It’s very relaxing. I do agree that the cord is very short. However, I simply added extension cord and that takes care of that problem. My fire place is narrow at the bottom and it is not deep, but I got it to work. I do hope Home depot would make some smaller inserts.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, very good performance and good weight
Cons: electrical cord is too short
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 20 in. Electric Crackling Fireplace Logs
from Texas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Great Purchase

PostedOctober 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We received our logs yesterday and spent the day in front of the fireplace. We have a fireplace that will not draw so a wood fire is out. We also are allergic to propane (the only gas we can get out at our ranch) so that is out.
We have missed a fire so I decided to buy a set of electric logs. We are thrilled with them. We have a 1880 antique fireplace with an antique iron grate box that is on legs. We filled the box with 19" wood logs from our forest and placed the log kit on top. We were so pleased that I ordered a battery operated fire crackler sound system, an antique chestnut roaster, a brass cricket (for good luck), brass oil pot, bag of coals and some other tools to make the fireplace look real. We also had an antique fire fender that is in front of the fireplace. The flames dance on our back wall of the fireplace and flicker, they really looked real. Very, Very pleased. I now have my fireplace back and it does not look cheesy. Don't hesitate to buy these logs, you will love them. I guarantee that our friends and family members will back up to the fireplace to get warm.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Quiet, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Good Shape, Great Value, Easy to Clean, High Quality, Economical, Reliable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+17points
18out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 20 in. Electric Crackling Fireplace Logs
from Dayton, OH, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Very realistic

PostedSeptember 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Love this !! Looks like a real fire and crackles like a real fire. No mess/no fuss, economical to run and safe around the grandkids. Have always wanted a fireplace, this is the closest I have gotten.
Highly recommend.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Quiet, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Great Value, High Quality, Economical, Light Weight, realistic, safe
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 20 in. Electric Crackling Fireplace Logs
from Denver, CO, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

retro fun

PostedOctober 9, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Good quality and good value. It really looks warm behind the screen. Gets five stars for the enhancement of nostalgia. It's easy to adjust the level of "crackling".
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
+30points
31out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 20 in. Electric Crackling Fireplace Logs

GREAT SAFE FIREPLACE AMBIANCE AT B&B!

PostedSeptember 24, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
(This is a true story)
More than 5 years ago I bought three of these EXACT sets at Home Depot -- one for each of the fireplaces in my "in town" California B&B because I needed something that was attractive in the small, shallow fireboxes that was also 100% safe for the guests, something that required no "tending the fire" skills. Each log set was placed behind glass fireplace doors in the existing fire grate. I placed two small real logs - the kind with the bark still on the log - at odd angles in front of each log set to further enhance the "real" wood look and I also positioned the log set at a slight angle to capture the look of "smoke" curling up the back side of the firebox.
Five years and counting . . . each log set is still working just fine. In all those years at the B&B, I never had one guest complain about the log sets. Of course I was the type of innkeeper who let guests know at time of reservation, and on the web site, that the fireplaces did not burn real wood any longer (for safety reasons) but that each had an ambiance log set. The fireplaces were not a source of heat because each room had a split-mini heat/cool unit -- nothing but the best! (Check with Home Depot for the split-mini product for heating & cooling and you will be totally amazed.)
I sold the B&B two months ago to a happy new innkeeper because too many guests kept coming to the inn! I am now living at the country club - behind locked gates, oops I guess I shouldn't have mentioned the gate thing - okee, where the heck was I? I am living at a golf country club and we are buying a log set tomorrow at Home Depot for the firebox at our new house!
HINT: Keep an extra 25-watt amber light bulb in supply for quick replacement. Sometimes these bulbs are not the easiest to find in stores, especially when you are in a hurry! Take it from me, a voice of experience!
P.S. The crackling sound was never audible to me, especially with the glass doors closed. So don't get your hopes up too high about the crackling sound and you won't be disappointed.
In the image in the upper right corner of this post (CLICK ON THE IMAGE TO ENLARGE IT), the glass fireplace doors are open to avoid glare. The true ambiance does not show per se, but it gives you the idea of one historic fireplace (c. 1889) where this log set was quite successfully used and appreciated by paying guests! These log sets have a fire-like "glow" -- no flame look. At the B&B I kept the fire log sets "ON" continually -- each log set uses only 25 watts.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+28points
28out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 20 in. Electric Crackling Fireplace Logs
from Orlando, FL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

So Happy

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
These electric logs are great. The fire looks real. So easy, just unpack and plug in. A great addition to my living room. My log burning fireplace had rusted out and was unsafe for the real thing. This just makes it beautiful again.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 20 in. Electric Crackling Fireplace Logs
from Tampa, Fl
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Awesome product !!

PostedOctober 30, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Works beautifully, looks and sounds like a real fire, even has the flickering look of flames. We took the doors off the center bottom cabinet of our entertainment center (under the TV) and turned it into a fireplace. We didn't want anything that produced heat. Just wanted it for the looks and it does look great and adds wonderful ambiance to the room. Only thing that would make it better......a remote control !!
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Good Shape, Great Value, High Quality, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 20 in. Electric Crackling Fireplace Logs

Money Well Spent

PostedJanuary 8, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought a different set for a higher price at another store and while very pretty, the crackling sound was not realistic and was very annoying. I returned it and bought this one after reading a good many of the reviews. It is everything everyone says it isand I love it. It is so realistic that even after having it a couple of months and KNOWING it doesn't put out heat I still want to warm myself by it, as do my friends and family when they first see it. I let it run day and night. I figure if it falls apart- which I don't think it will- at this price another one is not only affordable but money well spent.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 20 in. Electric Crackling Fireplace Logs

Better than expected

PostedJanuary 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This produces a much better faux burning fire effect than we expected. Brought life to an unused, dark fireplace. Replacing a tea light faux log unit, this was originally bought to be used for the holiday season, but we decided to use it year round. Provides a nice burning fire effect (especially at night). I'm sure that there are more authentic looking and operating products out there, but for the money, this is REALLY nice and our guests all loved it too. You'll want the hearth which is extra (you can use your old hearth if you have one). Glad we purchased and would recommend.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Great Value, Economical, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 20 in. Electric Crackling Fireplace Logs
from Orlando, FL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Daily

Value can't be beat!

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Does what it says, it's clean, realistic, and the price is great. It makes my once dark fireplace a real focus point now. Everyone loves it. I live in Florida so I don't require a heating element. Just the feeling it gives is all I wanted.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Good Shape, Great Value, Easy to Clean, Economical, Reliable, Light Weight
Cons: none
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 20 in. Electric Crackling Fireplace Logs
from Georgia, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

For the money this is a great way to bring a little "warmth" into your home.

PostedNovember 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We are in an apartment after 38 years in houses with gas log fireplaces. We have a fireplace but I can't stand the clean up of a real fire, nor the smell. Plus I can't be sure of the chimney condition. So we found this to fill the black hole and it has worked perfect. For a great price we get the idea of a fire without any work or worry. It looks great!
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Economical
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 20 in. Electric Crackling Fireplace Logs
from Neverland
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Thrilled to have it!

PostedJanuary 14, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The crackling fireplace logs are exactly what I wanted for my fireplace (which has been sealed from the outside and will no longer be used for fires). The fireplace has a double glass door, so I do not hear the crackling. But I don't mind. I use it every morning and evening. Adds a wonderful ambiance to the room. I plugged in the cord to a power strip so that I can easily turn it on from the strip. The thumb switch is too close to the logs to be useful, especially with the fireplace door being closed all the time.
It's a good buy and does exactly what I expected.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 20 in. Electric Crackling Fireplace Logs
from TampaBay, FL

Awesome

PostedFebruary 7, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
More than I expected...everyone is in awe when they see. A great addition to non-working fireplace and what a showpiece while my house is on the market. And.....made is USA!!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+11points
13out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 20 in. Electric Crackling Fireplace Logs
from Pennsylvania
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

GREAT PURCHASE

PostedJanuary 20, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I love the new log insert. We have a fireplace, but it can't be used, so this is as close to the real thing. I love the crackling sound it makes, and enjoy sitting with a glass of wine and watching it . there was only one small draw back and that is the sliver tines in the back. I noticed a few had fell out. Hopefully no more will fall. Have to check if there is a replacement, if and when I need another part.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 20 in. Electric Crackling Fireplace Logs

Exactly what we were looking for ;)

PostedJanuary 13, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This item gave the ambience of a real fire. With the sounds of the crackle and the flicker of the light filling the room this " fireplace" has added the perfect touch to the holiday and winter season. I hAve debated purchasing this for two years, and am extremely glad we finally did. My son turns it on each day when we arrive home.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 20 in. Electric Crackling Fireplace Logs
from passaic/clifton, nj
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

BEST FIREPLACE EVER

PostedJanuary 15, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
works great and sounds/looks like a real fire. friend next door came in to 'warm her hands' thinking it was real! very nice!
Pros: Durable, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 20 in. Electric Crackling Fireplace Logs
from Kansas City

Realistic looking

PostedJanuary 6, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased this set for a retro preway fireplace & it fits in it perfectly -I did stack some other birch logs around it to give a better looking effect. It is very authentic looking and you can adjust the crackling noise. If you are looking to just get the fire look without heat-Zhou can't beat the value and price!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
Cons: the sides show wood cutting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 20 in. Electric Crackling Fireplace Logs

For show only.

PostedJanuary 10, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
It was a good deal. Used to take pics in front of fireplace.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 9 >>