728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Fireplace Logs or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 20 in. Electric Crackling Fireplace Logs

20 in. Electric Crackling Fireplace Logs

The Pleasant Hearth Electric Crackling Fireplace Logs sit beautifully in your fireplace, bringing a cozy ambiance to your hearth. This set allows you to enjoy the look and sound of a real fire without the hassle of soot or smoke. Made from real wood, these logs are convenient and maintenance-free, producing a crackling wood sound and the look of dancing flames. When plugged in, the 1-light mechanism creates the glowing effect of burning embers without adding heat, so you can enjoy a fireside experience year-round.
Overall rating:
4.56 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(182 reviews) 181
Open Ratings Snapshot
95%of customersrecommend this product167 of 176reviews
Rating Breakdown 182 reviews
4.6 out of 5
5
(126)
4
(42)
3
(7)
2
(4)
1
(3)
Quality 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5
95%of customersrecommend this product167 of 176reviews
Customer questions and answers:
15 Questions | 34 Answers
Customer reviews for 20 in. Electric Crackling Fireplace Logs
Review 1 for 20 in. Electric Crackling Fireplace Logs
from Jacksonville, FL
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product!

PostedOctober 31, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I built my own fireplace for decorative use only, so I needed something that would not produce any heat. This is perfect! It comes with an orange 25 watt bulb, but I replaced it with an orange LED bulb so that it now uses only 5 watts! This was the finishing touch on my DIY project and I couldn't be more pleased. It looks great, and sounds so real. It's very relaxing. I would definitely recommend it. It does have a long cord that plugs in, so if you are buying it for a built in fireplace you will have to consider that the plug may show. I just have mine going through the back of the fireplace.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 20 in. Electric Crackling Fireplace Logs
from California, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Amazingly realistic

PostedOctober 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is tacky but in a good way,,,
When turned off the logs look completely real, when on most who have seen it think its a real fire (minus the mess and fire hazard).
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Quiet, Easy to Clean, High Quality, Economical
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 20 in. Electric Crackling Fireplace Logs
from Denver, CO, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

retro fun

PostedOctober 9, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Good quality and good value. It really looks warm behind the screen. Gets five stars for the enhancement of nostalgia. It's easy to adjust the level of "crackling".
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
+30points
31out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 20 in. Electric Crackling Fireplace Logs

GREAT SAFE FIREPLACE AMBIANCE AT B&B!

PostedSeptember 24, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
(This is a true story)
More than 5 years ago I bought three of these EXACT sets at Home Depot -- one for each of the fireplaces in my "in town" California B&B because I needed something that was attractive in the small, shallow fireboxes that was also 100% safe for the guests, something that required no "tending the fire" skills. Each log set was placed behind glass fireplace doors in the existing fire grate. I placed two small real logs - the kind with the bark still on the log - at odd angles in front of each log set to further enhance the "real" wood look and I also positioned the log set at a slight angle to capture the look of "smoke" curling up the back side of the firebox.
Five years and counting . . . each log set is still working just fine. In all those years at the B&B, I never had one guest complain about the log sets. Of course I was the type of innkeeper who let guests know at time of reservation, and on the web site, that the fireplaces did not burn real wood any longer (for safety reasons) but that each had an ambiance log set. The fireplaces were not a source of heat because each room had a split-mini heat/cool unit -- nothing but the best! (Check with Home Depot for the split-mini product for heating & cooling and you will be totally amazed.)
I sold the B&B two months ago to a happy new innkeeper because too many guests kept coming to the inn! I am now living at the country club - behind locked gates, oops I guess I shouldn't have mentioned the gate thing - okee, where the heck was I? I am living at a golf country club and we are buying a log set tomorrow at Home Depot for the firebox at our new house!
HINT: Keep an extra 25-watt amber light bulb in supply for quick replacement. Sometimes these bulbs are not the easiest to find in stores, especially when you are in a hurry! Take it from me, a voice of experience!
P.S. The crackling sound was never audible to me, especially with the glass doors closed. So don't get your hopes up too high about the crackling sound and you won't be disappointed.
In the image in the upper right corner of this post (CLICK ON THE IMAGE TO ENLARGE IT), the glass fireplace doors are open to avoid glare. The true ambiance does not show per se, but it gives you the idea of one historic fireplace (c. 1889) where this log set was quite successfully used and appreciated by paying guests! These log sets have a fire-like "glow" -- no flame look. At the B&B I kept the fire log sets "ON" continually -- each log set uses only 25 watts.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+28points
28out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 20 in. Electric Crackling Fireplace Logs
from Texas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Great Purchase

PostedOctober 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We received our logs yesterday and spent the day in front of the fireplace. We have a fireplace that will not draw so a wood fire is out. We also are allergic to propane (the only gas we can get out at our ranch) so that is out.
We have missed a fire so I decided to buy a set of electric logs. We are thrilled with them. We have a 1880 antique fireplace with an antique iron grate box that is on legs. We filled the box with 19" wood logs from our forest and placed the log kit on top. We were so pleased that I ordered a battery operated fire crackler sound system, an antique chestnut roaster, a brass cricket (for good luck), brass oil pot, bag of coals and some other tools to make the fireplace look real. We also had an antique fire fender that is in front of the fireplace. The flames dance on our back wall of the fireplace and flicker, they really looked real. Very, Very pleased. I now have my fireplace back and it does not look cheesy. Don't hesitate to buy these logs, you will love them. I guarantee that our friends and family members will back up to the fireplace to get warm.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Quiet, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Good Shape, Great Value, Easy to Clean, High Quality, Economical, Reliable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+18points
19out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 20 in. Electric Crackling Fireplace Logs
from Dayton, OH, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Very realistic

PostedSeptember 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Love this !! Looks like a real fire and crackles like a real fire. No mess/no fuss, economical to run and safe around the grandkids. Have always wanted a fireplace, this is the closest I have gotten.
Highly recommend.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Quiet, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Great Value, High Quality, Economical, Light Weight, realistic, safe
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 20 in. Electric Crackling Fireplace Logs
from Tampa, Fl
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Awesome product !!

PostedOctober 30, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Works beautifully, looks and sounds like a real fire, even has the flickering look of flames. We took the doors off the center bottom cabinet of our entertainment center (under the TV) and turned it into a fireplace. We didn't want anything that produced heat. Just wanted it for the looks and it does look great and adds wonderful ambiance to the room. Only thing that would make it better......a remote control !!
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Good Shape, Great Value, High Quality, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 20 in. Electric Crackling Fireplace Logs
from TampaBay, FL

Awesome

PostedFebruary 7, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
More than I expected...everyone is in awe when they see. A great addition to non-working fireplace and what a showpiece while my house is on the market. And.....made is USA!!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+11points
13out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 20 in. Electric Crackling Fireplace Logs

Better than expected

PostedJanuary 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This produces a much better faux burning fire effect than we expected. Brought life to an unused, dark fireplace. Replacing a tea light faux log unit, this was originally bought to be used for the holiday season, but we decided to use it year round. Provides a nice burning fire effect (especially at night). I'm sure that there are more authentic looking and operating products out there, but for the money, this is REALLY nice and our guests all loved it too. You'll want the hearth which is extra (you can use your old hearth if you have one). Glad we purchased and would recommend.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Great Value, Economical, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 20 in. Electric Crackling Fireplace Logs
from Orlando, FL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

So Happy

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
These electric logs are great. The fire looks real. So easy, just unpack and plug in. A great addition to my living room. My log burning fireplace had rusted out and was unsafe for the real thing. This just makes it beautiful again.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 20 in. Electric Crackling Fireplace Logs
from Georgia, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

For the money this is a great way to bring a little "warmth" into your home.

PostedNovember 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We are in an apartment after 38 years in houses with gas log fireplaces. We have a fireplace but I can't stand the clean up of a real fire, nor the smell. Plus I can't be sure of the chimney condition. So we found this to fill the black hole and it has worked perfect. For a great price we get the idea of a fire without any work or worry. It looks great!
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Economical
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 20 in. Electric Crackling Fireplace Logs
from Orlando, FL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Daily

Value can't be beat!

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Does what it says, it's clean, realistic, and the price is great. It makes my once dark fireplace a real focus point now. Everyone loves it. I live in Florida so I don't require a heating element. Just the feeling it gives is all I wanted.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Good Shape, Great Value, Easy to Clean, Economical, Reliable, Light Weight
Cons: none
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 20 in. Electric Crackling Fireplace Logs
from New York City
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love it, loveit, love it

PostedDecember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I love it, I love it, and I love it. I bought it in November 2014. After it was installed and I turned it on I noticed about 4 small holds in the plastic. No! I did not return it because I was too excited so I kept it. It looks and sounds like real fire. The crackling sound is just right. It doesn’t have a plastic smell either. When I come home from work the first thing I do is to turn on my fire place grab a glass of wine and listen to some music. It’s very relaxing. I do agree that the cord is very short. However, I simply added extension cord and that takes care of that problem. My fire place is narrow at the bottom and it is not deep, but I got it to work. I do hope Home depot would make some smaller inserts.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, very good performance and good weight
Cons: electrical cord is too short
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 20 in. Electric Crackling Fireplace Logs
from Malden, MA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good insert

PostedJune 9, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Decent fireplace insert. I use it during the summer months when a real fire is not necessary. Makes the "dark hole" look like a fire is burning
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Lots of Features
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 20 in. Electric Crackling Fireplace Logs
from Orlando, FL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

crackling fireplace logs

PostedJune 9, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Shipped in well protected box. Arrived as promised.
We are very happy with this product.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 20 in. Electric Crackling Fireplace Logs
from Georgia, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

this product was better than i expected

PostedJanuary 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have never used my bedroom fireplace because i didn't want the mess of cleaning out the ashes. I decided to try this fireplace log because of the positive reviews...and I'm glad I did! This product was perfect. I have central heat and air so i didn't need it to put out heat. My husband wired the unit to a light switch for a convenient way to turn it on and off.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Good Size & Weight, Great Value, Economical, i love the realistic crackling noise
Cons: original plug in cord and switch is too short
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 20 in. Electric Crackling Fireplace Logs
from Mahopac, NY, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female

LOVE THIS LOG SET!!!

PostedDecember 15, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I had gone to a fireplace specialty store and they wanted 3 times the price for this and the grate. I decided to purchase this one (and a grate) at Home Depot and boy was I one happy customer!!! These logs are beautiful and very well crafted.... Very realistic looking. This product has a light crackling sound to it and when you read the directions it gives you tips on how to make the crackling sound somewhat louder.... Faux flames appear on the back of your fireplace opening which make it look like a "crackling fire" and a little fireplace "movement" going on. Motor sound is very quiet. In my opinion this is a very well made piece-- so well made that I purchased another one. I had been without this type of product for a few years and now my fireplace has literally "come back to life". I never want to be without these logs again!!! Thanks for giving me back the "ambience of a realistic fire" in my faux fireplace this Christmas....Happy Holidays to All!!! Here's a tip-- even if you don't have a faux fireplace it would look nice in a bookcase, on a table, even used as a centerpiece... etc...just about anywhere you would like a little fireplace crackling going on especially for the holidays...
+21points
22out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 20 in. Electric Crackling Fireplace Logs
from Cincinnati, OH, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Looked good, good value

PostedAugust 7, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Needed to improve the looks of our non-functioning fireplace and purchased these electric logs. These looked pretty good and gave us the desired effect.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Good Shape, Great Value
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 20 in. Electric Crackling Fireplace Logs
from Missouri, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

This product is very soothing

PostedMay 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I absolutely love my fireplace logs. Easy to install and it looks great. I love the sounds of the crackling fire. It makes the room feel warm.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 20 in. Electric Crackling Fireplace Logs

Money Well Spent

PostedJanuary 8, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought a different set for a higher price at another store and while very pretty, the crackling sound was not realistic and was very annoying. I returned it and bought this one after reading a good many of the reviews. It is everything everyone says it isand I love it. It is so realistic that even after having it a couple of months and KNOWING it doesn't put out heat I still want to warm myself by it, as do my friends and family when they first see it. I let it run day and night. I figure if it falls apart- which I don't think it will- at this price another one is not only affordable but money well spent.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 10 >>