728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Raised Garden Beds or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 4 ft. x 8 ft. x 12 in. Raised Vegetable Garden-DISCONTINUED

4 ft. x 8 ft. x 12 in. Raised Vegetable Garden-DISCONTINUED

Scenery Solutions patented Frame It All System was engineered and designed by landscaping professionals to be versatile, durable, aesthetically pleasing and simple to use. Year round, beautiful Frame It. All raised garden beds provide added soil depth for a bountiful crop of healthy vegetables and exceptional floral displays, simple to maintain and keep moist. Raised bed gardens do not require grass or a yard. Simply remove the bottom stakes, fill with mulch, and you can create a thriving garden on a cement surface or deck.
Overall rating:
4.444 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(99 reviews) 99
Open Ratings Snapshot
95%of customersrecommend this product89 of 94reviews
Rating Breakdown 99 reviews
4.4 out of 5.0
5
(59)
4
(31)
3
(5)
2
(2)
1
(2)
Quality 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Value 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
95%of customersrecommend this product89 of 94reviews
Customer reviews for 4 ft. x 8 ft. x 12 in. Raised Vegetable Garden-DISCONTINUED
Review 1 for 4 ft. x 8 ft. x 12 in. Raised Vegetable Garden-DISCONTINUED

Love this bed!

PostedAugust 11, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I'm a new gardener and though I'm very handy with a saw and hammer, I really didn't want to build planter beds. These beds are very nice and should last a long time without maintenance too.
The installation was easy for me as a 5'1" tall woman by myself. I did pre-drill the holes as another reviewer suggested after struggling with the first one. The only problem I had was that if the screw was tightened just a hair too much, it totally stripped out the hole, and FELL out. Next time I will cut blocks of wood to insert into the hollow space in the boards so it has something to grip onto.
I will be getting 3 more of these as they are the perfect size for the area I need.
Pros: Durable, Functionality, Strong
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 4 ft. x 8 ft. x 12 in. Raised Vegetable Garden-DISCONTINUED
from South Florida Metro, FL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Excellent Purchase

PostedJuly 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Though I had reads the good review on HD and other sites, I was concerned about the amount of landscape rock I had to work with considering the anchors. It was a breeze. It did take quite a bit of time to assemble the garden, but it was well worth it. Everything is growing nicely! Two suggestions I would make- use a rubber mallet when attaching the anchors to the garden and use an electric screwdriver to attach the screws to the slats.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong, Stylish, Good Shape
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 4 ft. x 8 ft. x 12 in. Raised Vegetable Garden-DISCONTINUED

Easy, but took 2 people

PostedJune 4, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We decided on this product since we have wood siding and can't have dirt directly against it. We purchased several kits to make our own design. We started at 9 am and by 1 pm we had 2 raised garden beds completed. Screwing the corner joints into the resin wood took the most time and needed 2 people. After that, only 1 person to fit all the pieces together. Came with all the pieces required. When we get further with the construction of our home, we plan to purchase more.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 4 ft. x 8 ft. x 12 in. Raised Vegetable Garden-DISCONTINUED
from West Valley City, UT, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Product, Slow Delivery

PostedJune 4, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The timber boards are not solid wood, but molded, hollow boards made from recycled materials. They seem strong enough and I'm optimistic they will last despite their apparent thinness. The joint in the middle of the 8' section has a tendency to bend outwards under the pressure of the soil. Perhaps if I had a garden that could be staked into the ground on that side I would not have that problem. I do wish it had been one long, solid 8' timber instead of two 4' timbers. Good overall product. Poor customer service in delivery. I did not get confirmation of delivery of my product until 10 days after I placed my order.
Pros: Stylish
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 4 ft. x 8 ft. x 12 in. Raised Vegetable Garden-DISCONTINUED
from Pensacola, FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easily assembled, sturdy, does what its supposed to do

PostedJune 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The package arrived quickly, it was easy to assemble, sure takes a lot of dirt to fill it. Looks good. I bought it because it is plastic which should be durable and plastic doesn't have the chemicals that is in treated wood, chemicals that could leach into the vegetables. Two of the boards were broken on delivery. Home Depot sent three replacement boards with no problem other than it took three weeks to arrive.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Functionality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 4 ft. x 8 ft. x 12 in. Raised Vegetable Garden-DISCONTINUED
from Temecula, CA

My Garden is perfect!

PostedSeptember 7, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to assemble and I just love my garden. This product works great!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 4 ft. x 8 ft. x 12 in. Raised Vegetable Garden-DISCONTINUED

Easy assembly - Excellent results

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Our raised garden beds arrived in a timely manner. They were easy to assemble with the help of a electric drill with a screw driver bit. I do not recomend trying to use a manual screw driver.
We are well into harvest now and the results are awesome. With all the rain we had this spring, my plants would have drown in our clay rich soil without the raised beds.
I also purchased the frame and netting. It was a little to short for my pole beans, but the cumcumbers have really taken to it.
Thanks!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+1point
7out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 4 ft. x 8 ft. x 12 in. Raised Vegetable Garden-DISCONTINUED
from Orange, CA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Once I got into it, this project went smoothly!

PostedFebruary 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought 6 sets (to build 3 planters two layers high) and the amount of product was a bit intimidating ... so I started out remembering that I was not under any time deadline.
The directions were clear, everything fit together perfectly, and it is exactly what I wanted only better ~ because it is composite wood and I won't need to worry about deterioration.
I had considered alternate designs and am SO glad I chose this one. I couldn't be more satisfied.
Thanks, Home Depot!!
ms lisa
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 4 ft. x 8 ft. x 12 in. Raised Vegetable Garden-DISCONTINUED
from St. Louis, MO

Easily assembled, and constructed of quality, durable materials.

PostedMay 14, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product was purchased to use as a small backyard veggetable garden, and should work perfectly for its' intended purpose.
Assembly was not difficult, although, the enclosed instructions are not very detailed. Attaching the brackets to the timbers with the included screws without a power drill-driver would be difficult. If using only hand tools, I would suggest drilling pilot holes for the screws.
The unit is constructed of all plastic and/or composite materials, so rotting or termites will not be an issue. The pieces were uniform and well packaged.
If assemled stacked in a 4' x 8' x 12" configuration, the unit will require approximately 1 cubic yard of dirt or topsoil.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 4 ft. x 8 ft. x 12 in. Raised Vegetable Garden-DISCONTINUED
from Manhattan, New York, NY, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

An excellent product at a good value that answers many gardening needs

PostedSeptember 13, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We actually bought this product to create a roof deck vegetable garden in the heart of bustling Manhattan. We erected it directly onto the concrete patio base and it worked beautifully. It was easy to put together and it's 12" depth was adequate for virtually any vegetable that we wished to raise. We chose to add a heavy plastic liner to help control moisture on the concrete surface and the design of the product allowed us to integrate this liner easily. In our first season we were overwhelmed with the production of vegetables that was possible in this small space! We overwhelmingly voted to purchase a second unit to better separate our vegetables and to be able to perhaps grow flowers next season. It is a wonderfully simple and durable product.
+11points
14out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 4 ft. x 8 ft. x 12 in. Raised Vegetable Garden-DISCONTINUED
from Texas

raised garden

PostedMarch 19, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The kit is easy to assemble, even though there are no directions. I had help, but an able-bodied person would have no difficulty assembling. Hardest part is probably just preparing the ground inside the box to be sure it is free of grass, etc. It took a cubic yard of garden soil, purchased in bulk. Hope to see some tomatoes, peppers and okra!
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 4 ft. x 8 ft. x 12 in. Raised Vegetable Garden-DISCONTINUED
from Miami, FL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great quality but pricey choice

PostedFebruary 23, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I got an amazing buy 1 get 1 free deal on these raised beds last christmas. The quality is great but if you live where the soil is very rocky or filled in like in south florida, you need to know driving the posts is nothing like the video. The spikes are plastic and they will not get through coral rock fill. If you have good soil, then you don't have to worry about it. Nothing to cut or measure. Very simple.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 4 ft. x 8 ft. x 12 in. Raised Vegetable Garden-DISCONTINUED

exactly what its supposed to be

PostedOctober 19, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have had no problem with this product except trying to get the stakes into the ground. We have VERY HARD packed clay and there isn't a good way to get plastic into the ground because if you pound it too hard it breaks, but most people don't have the crazy soil that we do.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 4 ft. x 8 ft. x 12 in. Raised Vegetable Garden-DISCONTINUED
from Sacramento, CA
Age Range:25 to 34

Great product

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am so sad to see that they've discontinued this product. It is a great product for the price. I have had two for about a year, and I wanted to get at least one more for my garden.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 4 ft. x 8 ft. x 12 in. Raised Vegetable Garden-DISCONTINUED
from nj

Love it!!!

PostedMay 14, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I love love love this raised garden... it beautiful, very sturdy and clean looking to have in your yard. My husband and I work hard in our yard and didnt want an ugly box sitting in it. It has a very classy look other then an old weathered wood box. We love the how its 12" tall and just really stands out. After we ordered one and saw how beautiful it was we placed beautiful rock stepping stones next to it and ordered another to go right along side!!!! What a beautiful site it is and everyone is in love when they come over. So quick and easy to set up... Perfect garden!!!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 4 ft. x 8 ft. x 12 in. Raised Vegetable Garden-DISCONTINUED
from Dallas, TX

Not the quality I wanted, but it works well

PostedMay 1, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The plastic isn't very sturdy. One piece came damaged; they sent a replacement with no problem. Also, no instructions--I had to go on line, which was a nuisance as I needed to change out of my dirt-covered clothes before going upstairs. When you are laying out the frame, use a level to ensure that the two pieces line up perfectly before knocking the connecting pole into the ground. I didn't, and my garden will neve be completely rectangular and looks mediocre. BUT--I've got a raised bed filled with decent topsoil that should make a great garden, and the price was good.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 4 ft. x 8 ft. x 12 in. Raised Vegetable Garden-DISCONTINUED
from San Francisco

Poor Material

PostedJune 26, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product would be good if it was half the price. All the joints and the grounding pegs are made of plastics. All the perimeter boards are made of low quality composite material. The structural frame for these composite boards are very thin. They are so thin that the provided screws meant to hold the joints and boards together do not have enough material to properly anchor themselves. On the bright side, the assembly is quick and easy. The finished product looks good on the outside but flimsy and hollow on the inside. It's totally not worth the price...
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 4 ft. x 8 ft. x 12 in. Raised Vegetable Garden-DISCONTINUED
from Calif

Great herb garden

PostedDecember 11, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a solid design with the plastic internal reinforced beams and strong interconnect posts. The installation is easy after preparation of the area. You must level the ground to ensure a good installation. Squareness must be continually checked throughout installation of the initial bottom rail layer. The second layer of beams easily slide over the posts for a quick finish to the project. With use of a drill motor with a phillips driver, no pre-drilling of the holes is necessary for assemble the beams to the post connectors. Takes roughly one hour to assemble after preparation of the site.
Looks great and will serve our need for years. I highly recommend this product for anyone who is looking to build a raised garden bed
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 4 ft. x 8 ft. x 12 in. Raised Vegetable Garden-DISCONTINUED

Great product although expensive.

PostedNovember 12, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
EZ to assemble, looks great. However, cannot justify cost of product to purchase additional sections.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 4 ft. x 8 ft. x 12 in. Raised Vegetable Garden-DISCONTINUED
from Colorado Springs

Near-Perfect Raised Garden

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We've really enjoyed our Frame It All garden. The composite boards are sturdy and weatherproof and go together easily.
If you have really hard soil, as we do, you won't be able to simply pound the ground stakes into the ground; doing so will probably break them. We had to end up digging out the area where the stakes would go to loosen the soil, then we backfilled and it's been great ever since.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>