728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 3.6 Cu. Ft. Large Capacity Front Load Washer

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Home Depot.

3.6 Cu. Ft. Large Capacity Front Load Washer

3.6 Cu. Ft. Front Load Washing Machine with Front Controls, White
Overall rating:
4.517 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(207 reviews) 201
Open Ratings Snapshot
89%of customersrecommend this product185 of 207reviews
Rating Breakdown 207 reviews
4.5 out of 5.0
5
(153)
4
(33)
3
(4)
2
(9)
1
(8)
Features 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Quality 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
89%of customersrecommend this product185 of 207reviews
Customer reviews for 3.6 Cu. Ft. Large Capacity Front Load Washer
Review 1 for 3.6 Cu. Ft. Large Capacity Front Load Washer
4kidsmom
from dusty Oklahoma

An expert needs good tools!

PostedMarch 1, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
When I went to buy a washer & dryer to replace our faulty top of the line Kenmore, I knew I had to have an LG. While I don't literally do laundry all day, every day like I tell my kids, I do a LOT of laundry and this machine has handled it all. I love the drawer that slides open to put in the detergent, bleach and softener. Initially I was worried that it would get dripped on and become a mess, but it is very easy to take out and clean. It's never needed cleaning, I'm just obsessive. I'm also hard to please, but this washer has performed really well. The controls are very intuitive, the hardware on the door is solid, and it is pretty quiet, even at the incredible RPMs of the spin cycle. I would take off a half star for price, but the other companies make washers at this price that are not the same quality, so FIVE stars it is!
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 3.6 Cu. Ft. Large Capacity Front Load Washer
LoBe
from Albuquerque, NM

Good deal!

PostedJune 11, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We have had our washer for a few weeks now, and we're really enjoying it. Our old washer was only a few years old, and for the last year or so was not spinning properly at all, so it's great to have a machine that works so well! Our clothes get really clean, and I've noticed that the clothes are less wrinkled, and take less time to dry. I washed sheets for the first time in this machine today, and I can't believe how much softer they feel, and the amount of time they took to dry was considerably less than before. I am VERY pleased with this purchase, and I will definitely be considering LG for my future appliance purchases.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 3.6 Cu. Ft. Large Capacity Front Load Washer
Talia
from Pittsburgh, PA

Love this machine

PostedOctober 10, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great machine; gets cloths really clean. Have had it for a couple of months now and no problems with rubber smells or any of the other complaints. Yes, takes longer to clean, but you have to sacrifice something when you use less water and less electricity (both washing and drying).
I had a HE top load washer; clothes did not get clean. Terrible washing anything big (rugs, comforters..). Took less time, but price you paid was dirty clothes.
Buy the LG!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 3.6 Cu. Ft. Large Capacity Front Load Washer
mary123

maybe i m doing something wrong?

PostedJuly 28, 2007
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
i have my washer and dryer for over a year now. i notice the clothes smells like stale water. maybe i m not doing something right? i notice a little compartment at the bottom of the washer where u drain the water. being i work so many hours , when i have the time i will check it out. can someone tell me why my clothes smell . maybe i need to buy the stand? u do save money on ur water bill.
now the dryer has a sensor when the clothes are dry it stops.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 3.6 Cu. Ft. Large Capacity Front Load Washer
hoopty
from Portland, Oregon

PostedMarch 28, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this LG to replace a 16 year old White-Westinghouse
front loader. I immediately noticed how quiet it ran through out
the washing cycle. It's a nice looking machine and it runs smooth
without a lot of vibration as compared to the White-Westinghouse
front loader. With 10 percent off from Home Depot, Oregon
Energy Tax Credit and Energy Trust Rebates it brought the price
of the LG down to around 350.00.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 3.6 Cu. Ft. Large Capacity Front Load Washer
Peanut76033
from Cleburne, TX

So Easy to Use: Washer

PostedFebruary 26, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought this washer 01/17/08. Have had it for a month. Caught it on sale with an extra 10% off. Very easy to use (my 5 yr old daughter already knows what buttons to push depending on what I'm washing). Be aware that the "washing time" is a bit longer than a regular machine, but well worth it. The clothes come out ALOT cleaner and you do not use near the water as in a regular one. I just got my water bill and it used to run about 60 bucks a month (higher in the summer), and this month was only 24.22......and that is in just one month! BE SURE TO WIPE THE INSIDE OF THE DOOR FOR HAIR, ETC. AFTER EACH LOAD OR IT WILL NOT SEAL GOOD.
Also, when I purchased this washer, the delivery date was apparently goofed when the salesperson put it in (I was told it was d/t computer problems), and I ended up having to go to the store manager in my hometown to get it all straight. But he fixed me up and was really great about it.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 3.6 Cu. Ft. Large Capacity Front Load Washer
JLGgreensboro
from Greensboro, NC

PostedApril 7, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After doing much research on front loading washing machines, I decided on this model. Some of the reviews I read had some negative comments. Here is how to avoid problems. Some reported a smell. I wipe the seal dry after every use and leave the door open and have no problems with odors. Some reported "rocking". I did not buy the base and have the machine direcly on a concrete floor. The machine doesn't move at all and is more quiet than my old top loader. The clothes are definitely cleaner and it uses less water. I highly recommend this model and Home Depot. This was my third major appliance purchase from Home Depot and I have not had any problems.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 3.6 Cu. Ft. Large Capacity Front Load Washer
BoughtLG
from Eight Mile, Al.

Great Machine

PostedDecember 6, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this machine 3 weeks ago and it performs better than I imagined. It is very quiet even when its spinning at high speed and the amount of water the machine extracts has cut our drying time down to almost half on most item, blue jeans especially. A feature on the LG machines I like is the drain for the tub, it allows you to remove excess water left in the tub and that keeps it from smelling stale, the TUB CLEAN option is a great idea too. It is amazing at how clean it gets our clothes using such a small amount of water and where we live our water bill rates just went up 30%, we need to save all the water we can! Buy LG, it is worth the money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 3.6 Cu. Ft. Large Capacity Front Load Washer
Tea1
from boston, ma

Beware of mold problem with these front loaders

PostedNovember 22, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Although I think the washer does a great job cleaning clothes, there is a huge issue with the gasket on this washer. Please do some research before purchasing a front loader... there is a ton of information about this issue on the internet. This is a known issue with many front loaders, not just LG.
We purchased this LG washer about 2 years ago. The gasket has a serious issue with mold growing inside on the bottom and the smell can be intense. So far it hasn't caused our clothes to smell permanently, but I have heard of it affecting others in that way. You need to remove your clothes immediately to avoid this. Also you need to keep the door open after a cycle to avoid mold growth, but even that has not really helped us. You should also dry the gasket after each use.
It is a very difficult issue to deal with and no amount of bleach or vinegar has really taken care of the problem for us. We have only had the washer two years and I am thinking about getting rid of it and going back to a regular top loader.
It's great to be able to save water, but at what expense? The mold smell will takeover whatever room it is in.
The gasket is stained black on the bottom from the mold and I have read before that the mold is usually much deeper inside where you can't see it. I have been able to improve it somewhat by scrubbing with vinegar...but it doesn't last long.
Be very cautious. Some models may have improved on this issue...but research to find out which ones.
The washer itself works well and does a good job cleaning clothes. The normal cycles also are extremely long, but they do have a quick cycle and the delicate cycle is a lot shorter. Most normal wash cycles are about an hour. Not sure if the quick cycle really cleans clothes as well. So far I have only used it on clothing that was not really very dirty.
I am giving this a one star because although it does a good job washing clothes this mold problem makes the washer almost unbearable.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 3.6 Cu. Ft. Large Capacity Front Load Washer
pickymom
from Wimberley, Texas

Oh my goodness!

PostedOctober 29, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I finally know what it is like to have really clean clothing, and Wow! My husband works in health care and his work clothes used to be frightening-but with the LG's Sanitary wash cycle, his clothes are perfect,co-workers have commented about how good his clothes look. This machine does not wear our clothing out or beat them to death, they get super clean and not destroyed. I have owned Maytag, Kitchen Aid and Hot Point washing machines, this one has them all beaten by a mile. The LG cost a lot more, but I certainly got a lot more for my money and have never been happier with any purchase. This machine has cut our water use by 50%
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 3.6 Cu. Ft. Large Capacity Front Load Washer
tucsoncook
from TUCSON, ARIZONA

Great for that big family

PostedFebruary 24, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We purchased this washer along with the matching dryer a week ago. Home depot delivered it as promised and the installers were very professional.
I researched online for almost 3 months before deciding on the LG's . Boy I am glad we did. they wash our large familys clothes ( 6 of us) in no time. what used to be 3 loads are now 1. the clothes come out alot cleaner, and are almost dry. (we have yet to use the highest spin speed) . Super quite too!! all in all this was one of the best purchases we have made in a long time. living in Tucson with the high water rates this washer should help on the cost of our bills.
would recomend this to everyone as a great product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 3.6 Cu. Ft. Large Capacity Front Load Washer
PJC426
from Plymouth, MA

LG Frontload Washer

PostedMarch 26, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
LOVE this washing machine! I purchased this unit to replace a 14 year old top loading Speed Queen.. and it is so much better. It's quieter and uses much less water. I know others mentioned that it vibrates when on the spin cycle... but mine has not budged... not even one bit. The only negative is the longer wash cycle... it's 53 minutes. I just need to get used to that. I only wish my dryer wasn't new... or I'd buy the matching one.
Best price out there... and I did a lot of comparison shopping. Delivery was on time... very polite and they hooked up everything ready to go... and took away the old washer... great service!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 3.6 Cu. Ft. Large Capacity Front Load Washer
Sean702
from Las Vegas

Awesome washer

PostedJanuary 13, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this washer to replace and old GE I had. This is my first front load washer and I wish I had purchased one long ago. This machine is quiet even in spin mode, sometimes I forget it is on because its so quiet. It cleans clothes so much better than top load machines. The clothes come out smelling so clean. It has an end of cycle signal that you can turn on or off and its not that annoying loud buzz most machines have. I must say I was sceptical at first but I am so glad I bought this. You can fit a lot of clothes in this machine. I purchased mine online and delivery and installation were not a problem. Vert Happy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 3.6 Cu. Ft. Large Capacity Front Load Washer
tamika
from Texas

LG FRONT LOAD WASHER

PostedApril 15, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My washer is approximately 1 year old. No problems to date...other than one needs to leave the door open for about 15 minutes. Wipe it off first and inside as well, otherwise if closed while damp one might get a slight moldy smell...but a quick wash w/ bleach and hot water will rid this quite well. My shirt come out wrinkle free, eliminating the old ironing board. I highly recommend this washer to anyone! I am getting ready to purchase the matching dryer soon. (my old dryer still works so I couldn't justify the money on a new dryer. Definetely a great buy!! Buy the stand...beats bending over if you are older!:)Tameka
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 3.6 Cu. Ft. Large Capacity Front Load Washer
rytycatesmom
from IL

I will never buy another front load washer!!

PostedApril 20, 2009
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was very excited to finally buy a front load washer. It was supposed to save water and electricity. However, I am so disappointed in the washer. The washer seems to work fine, however, the mildew build-up is awful. I wipe the rubber gasket and leave the door open as suggested, and at first that worked, but, now after almost a year, I just can't get rid of the mildew smell. I have finally asked my husband to take the washer apart, so the outside of the drum can be cleaned. I hope this works, otherwise, I hope Home Depot will take back a year old washer. I will NEVER buy another front load washer.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 3.6 Cu. Ft. Large Capacity Front Load Washer
psars61
from Canton, OH

This toploader delivers as advertised!

PostedAugust 13, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We've had our LG about a month now. We're enjoying washing/drying bigger loads so it cuts down on the time. Even with 1/2 cap concentrated detergent, the laundry is clean. Thanks to the exceptional spin cycle, the longer wash time is offset by the much shorter dry time. Rather than purchasing the costly pedestals, I built a platform out of 2 x 12" and 3/4" plywood. Very little vibration, especially compaired to the old top loader. The features are great, the price is right, and the monthly savings in utilities make this washer a no brainer in my book! I'll be back in a year for an update.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 3.6 Cu. Ft. Large Capacity Front Load Washer
rroberts
from Sevierville, TN

You have to be kidding me

PostedJanuary 17, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this washing machine 2 days ago and I have never been so disappointed in ANYTHING. I guess it would be ok if you don't mind your washer literally dancing around your garage while spinning out. Very quiet until then. It vibrated so much it moved 5 or 6 feet forward and it unplugged itself from the wall ! We leveled it and leveled it and ... well you get the point.... Do NOT buy this machine.... Unless you want a big headache. Took it back today . I really like Washing machines that stay where you put them. I guess it could be this particular machine, but why take the chance?
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 3.6 Cu. Ft. Large Capacity Front Load Washer
filoghorst
from portland , oregon

8 months and still working great

PostedAugust 26, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
My partner wanted a front loader to save water and I was a little concerned about all the extra mechanisms and electronic control board etc. This thing is rock solid but not as quiet as i was hoping. Great for people who don't really soil their clothes. I have to pre wash or pre soak most of my really grubby stuff and use the stain cycle to get really grubby clothes clean, this is why it gets 4 stars in my book.. Holds a huge load and has lots of wash options that really work. So far no problems with funky smells but we do our best to clean the filter often and keep the tub and door seal clean. Really a great deal in Oregon with the rebates and we got it on sale as well. So far it seems to be helping our water bill.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 3.6 Cu. Ft. Large Capacity Front Load Washer
CC24
from Omaha Ne 144th and Maple location

LG front load washer

PostedApril 30, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I love it! It gets the clothes clean and has such a great spin cycle the clothes are almost dry when you pull them out! Our washer gets tons of use, 3 kids and several loads a day, yet we have not had a repair in the year we have owned it. I checked with our repair man and one of the reasons we bought an LG was he said it was one of the brands he serviced the least. There are tablets you can buy for the mold and we just leave the door open sometimes, that seems to take care of it. I can't wait to save up enough money for the dryer!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 3.6 Cu. Ft. Large Capacity Front Load Washer
tedsfab
from PA

Great Washer

PostedMay 7, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
for all of the people that are having issues with your washer literally dancing across the floor, make sure you removed the shipping bolts from behind the washer... we made this mistake and could not figure out why in the world it was walking across the floor on the spin cycle, someone skipped a step in the directions and the bolts were still trying to hold the center in place while it was trying to spin at the same time.... after that was solved, it's a great washer! you can barely hear it while it runs and it does a great job
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>