728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Cooktops or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Profile CleanDesign 36 in. Smooth Surface Radiant Electric Cooktop in Stainless Steel with 5 Elements

Profile CleanDesign 36 in. Smooth Surface Radiant Electric Cooktop in Stainless Steel with 5 Elements

The GE Profile CleanDesign 36 in. Glass Built-In Electric Cooktop features electronic touch controls that offer easy, point-and-cook convenience. The cooktop's ribbon heating elements provide powerful heating beneath a smooth glass surface to ensure even heat distribution and fast warm-up times. A dual-size ribbon element on the cooktop offers a convenient choice of a 5 in. or 8 in. heating element, depending on the size of your pan. The cooktop's control lock capability protects against unintentional activation to help you stay safe.
Overall rating:
4.13 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(46 reviews) 46
Open Ratings Snapshot
80%of customersrecommend this product36 of 45reviews
Rating Breakdown 46 reviews
4.1 out of 5
5
(30)
4
(6)
3
(1)
2
(4)
1
(5)
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.7 out of 5
3.7 out of 5
Value 
3.7 out of 5
3.7 out of 5
80%of customersrecommend this product36 of 45reviews
Customer questions and answers:
12 Questions | 13 Answers
Customer reviews for Profile CleanDesign 36 in. Smooth Surface Radiant Electric Cooktop in Stainless Steel with 5 Elements
Review 1 for Profile CleanDesign 36 in. Smooth Surface Radiant Electric Cooktop in Stainless Steel with 5 Elements
from Boca Raton, FL

Great Cooktop!

PostedJuly 12, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This cookop is great because the 36" width gives you so much more work space between pots. I used to have a 30" and my pots were always hitting each other. The cooktop heats up quickly which makes it nice for boiling water and frying. Also it has a good sensor when you need to turn the heat up or down in some recipes and doesn't leave you wondering if it's working or not. The overall design of the cooktop looks fantastic in the kitchen too.
The only drawback I can think of is that the smooth control top buttons can easily turn on if you set anything down on them while the cooktop is off. I have learned to always LOCK the cooktop when I'm not using. it.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Profile CleanDesign 36 in. Smooth Surface Radiant Electric Cooktop in Stainless Steel with 5 Elements

Easy to install, looks and works well.

PostedDecember 22, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The cooking range was very easy to install. I was able to replace the old range in less than 30 minutes. The appearance is also good. The steel border is elegant and would protect the chipping of corners. The controls are convenient and easy to operate. Time will tell its reliability.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Profile CleanDesign 36 in. Smooth Surface Radiant Electric Cooktop in Stainless Steel with 5 Elements
from Georgia

Looks and Works Great.

PostedMay 21, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I love all the burners on it. I didn't think one more extra burner would make that big of a difference but it does. I like the fact that the middle burner gives me the option on what size pan I'm putting on 6" 9" or 12". I also love the warmer burner. Overall I couldn't be more satisfied, and it also looks great on my countertop.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Profile CleanDesign 36 in. Smooth Surface Radiant Electric Cooktop in Stainless Steel with 5 Elements
from Bakersfield, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Love the power and flexibility

PostedNovember 15, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I just love this cooktop.Power burner is just that and being that its a 36 inch theres plenty of room between pots being used.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Profile CleanDesign 36 in. Smooth Surface Radiant Electric Cooktop in Stainless Steel with 5 Elements
from pembroke pines, florida

AWSOME

PostedOctober 13, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Great cooktop. Ver easy to use. No problems so far. Expensive but pays off ! !
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Profile CleanDesign 36 in. Smooth Surface Radiant Electric Cooktop in Stainless Steel with 5 Elements
from Boston, MA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

We got a lemon...

PostedFebruary 17, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Profile CleanDesign 36 in. Smooth Surface Radiant Electric Cooktop in Black with 5 Elements
We bought this cooktop as a replacement for an older GE cooktop. We have had nothing but trouble with this cooktop. There are 5 burners, and every time I use more than 2 simultaneously, it shuts down. All burners go off and the controls will not work! It's a beautiful looking appliance, but the fancy "touch pad" is definitely troublesome. I'm also finding when we use the burner directly above the control panel, it heats up and affects the digital display on the number closest to the burner. We have to shut everything down and wait for the entire until to get COLD before we can even consider turning it back on. We've re-set it at the circuit breaker and everything. So bummed! I am a all out GE customer, but I'm questioning tis purchase for sure!!! Beware the cool looking electronics, they've led to nothing but trouble! :(
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Response from By GE AnswersFebruary 22, 2015By GE AnswersFebruary 22, 2015
Hello desi10984 - this is Nancy at GE. We are very sorry to hear of the difficulty you have had with your new GE cooktop. This is not the outcome we would expect to hear and we apologize for your unfortunate experience. Please check that your cookware is flat bottomed, and large enough to cover the surface burner heating element. Otherwise, we recommend contacting GE Factory Service at 1-800-432-2737 for assistance. Thanks for choosing GE! GE_Appliances
Review 7 for Profile CleanDesign 36 in. Smooth Surface Radiant Electric Cooktop in Stainless Steel with 5 Elements

Stove Top Dimensions

PostedApril 21, 2010
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Profile CleanDesign 36 in. Smooth Surface Radiant Electric Cooktop in Black with 5 Elements
I am remodeling my kitchen and ordered this stove top with the understanding that the height was 3.25 in. as described on the website. I had drawers made to go under this stove top. When it got here and we went to install it, we discovered there is another box attached on the 3.25 in that increases that to almost 6 in in depth toward the back of the stove. Also, the power conduit was installed facing the front of the stove which eats up even more space.
+18points
19out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Profile CleanDesign 36 in. Smooth Surface Radiant Electric Cooktop in Stainless Steel with 5 Elements
from Chicago
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

GE cooktop - what a disappointment

PostedOctober 3, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Profile CleanDesign 36 in. Smooth Surface Radiant Electric Cooktop in Black with 5 Elements
i purchased this cooktop 2 years ago and now the elements don't heat up.
called GE service and the technician determined that we need 2 parts for a total of $700 plus the service charge of $85.00.
I had my Amana cooktop for 31 years and only replaced it because I wanted a larger cooktop.
what a mistake. I will never purchased another GE appliance and I will make sure t hat my
friends and relatives are warned.
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Profile CleanDesign 36 in. Smooth Surface Radiant Electric Cooktop in Stainless Steel with 5 Elements
from I bought 4 major appliances from home depot.

beware of the shape. Its not a perfect rectangle.

PostedMarch 16, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Profile CleanDesign 36 in. Smooth Surface Radiant Electric Cooktop in Black with 5 Elements
I bought this item to replace my 36 in existing cook top. When the installer put the cooktop in there were gaps at the two front corners. Not a good product for replacing cooktops. New installs only.
There's no fix for this problem.
I believe all the GE Profile have this same shape.
It shaped like the letter D.
+14points
16out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Profile CleanDesign 36 in. Smooth Surface Radiant Electric Cooktop in Stainless Steel with 5 Elements
from Tampa, FL

GE Profile 36 In. Built-In CleanDesign Cooktop

PostedJanuary 3, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:Profile CleanDesign 36 in. Smooth Surface Radiant Electric Cooktop in Black with 5 Elements
love it ! we shopped and researched, and this is what we really like - easy to cook, operate, clean -quality. Great features, flexible for all types of cooking and recipes. We had an older stove/cooktop combo, this is absolutely super. Love the controls also.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Profile CleanDesign 36 in. Smooth Surface Radiant Electric Cooktop in Stainless Steel with 5 Elements
from Granite Bay, Ca

The Ultimate Cooktop

PostedNovember 16, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:Profile CleanDesign 36 in. Smooth Surface Radiant Electric Cooktop in Black with 5 Elements
Instant cooking: push a button, select desired heat level and go...
The simplicity of usage is fabulous. The 5 burners of various sizing and power outputs, gives the ability to use a wide range of cooking utensils, from small sauce pans to oversize stock pots. With the complete sealed glass top, clean-up is a pleasure, even with spillage and burnt on mistakes. The elegance when not in use is superb, the curve of the front adds a stylish design element . The safety feature of requiring a temp setting after turning burner on is a blessing when mistakes occur.
I would highly recommend this cook-top to anyone who enjoys cooking and wants easy cleanup.
This unit was simple to install, the pigtail is long enough to reach most any power supply. Minimal intrusion in the underside of the cabinet makes loss of drawer/cabinet space minor. 11/09
+9points
11out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Profile CleanDesign 36 in. Smooth Surface Radiant Electric Cooktop in Stainless Steel with 5 Elements
from Missouri

Great product with one problem

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This review is from:Profile CleanDesign 36 in. Smooth Surface Radiant Electric Cooktop in Black with 5 Elements
Touch buttons are awesome. The power boil is great - - very quick. The only problem is after you cook, the cooktop has to be buffed each and every time to look black. It has these weird rings where the pans were heated.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Profile CleanDesign 36 in. Smooth Surface Radiant Electric Cooktop in Stainless Steel with 5 Elements
Based on the average of (34) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
28 out of 33 recommend this product