728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Tillers & Cultivators or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 13 in. Rear Tine Counter Rotating Tiller

13 in. Rear Tine Counter Rotating Tiller

Tear into your work with Cub Cadet's 190 CC Rear-Tine Tiller. It turns the hardest earth into fertile soil that's perfect for planting a garden or growing grass. Features tines that are mounted behind the large 16 in. tires, with the Honda OHC engine mounted forward, over the wheels to provide the unit with better traction and balance. Rear Tine Tillers operate more smoothly and are easier to handle that Front Tine Tillers, even in smaller areas. Recommended for installing new or maintaining gardens up to 10,000 square feet.
Overall rating:
4.364 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(11 reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
90%of customersrecommend this product9 of 10reviews
Rating Breakdown 11 reviews
4.4 out of 5.0
5
(7)
4
(2)
3
(1)
2
(1)
1
(0)
90%of customersrecommend this product9 of 10reviews
Customer reviews for 13 in. Rear Tine Counter Rotating Tiller
Review 1 for 13 in. Rear Tine Counter Rotating Tiller
bronco84
from burlington nc

the best tiller ever!!!

PostedMarch 23, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
i just want to say i love this tiller. it is very well built , has a honda engine starts on the 1st pull every time barely uses any gas i bought this tiller on a sat morning added the supplied oil and a little gas. it will till 7 inches deep in any kind of soil i have used it to till a plot for a big garden, gets the job done i have also used it to till up a new flower bed it gets the job done.i have a cub cadet lawn tractor so i knew they made good products but now that ive used this tiller i know it works better then expected. also it cost a lot less they other tillers that i looked at like troy built and craftsman, save your money and buy the best at the same time. it has forward netural reverse and forward with tines forward and forward with tines reverse its also easy to use my wife used it with ease. it has big tractor tred tires, heavy duty steel i have hit big rocks and have no bent metal. this is just a great tiller if your thinking about buying one go ahead and do it i promise you wont be sorry .
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 13 in. Rear Tine Counter Rotating Tiller
guidosfish
from austin Tx.

rear tine counter rotating 13 in. tiller

PostedJuly 13, 2010
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Overall design was good, engine is great.
I was told you had to jam the the shifter in gear. it worked good in reverse tine mode.
When you managed to place it in forward tine mode it would rocket forward
I worked my previously tilled soil 20 by 20 ft garden.
The transmission froze after an hour of use.
I was told It was a 2009 model so the price was 729.00 reduced from 799.00.
It was returned and received full credit.
Hopefully the tranny problem will be corrected for the 2010 model.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 13 in. Rear Tine Counter Rotating Tiller
Tillerless

wannabe good tiller

PostedSeptember 11, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Have used tillers before, decided to buy a good tiller as my first one for my own. Gear box a little stiff, I thought it would work itself out. Purchase date was 04/05/2008 gear box driving tine has gone out about 5 months after warrenty expired. I now have a $800.00 doorstop. Will probably cost about half the price to repair unit. Bummer.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 13 in. Rear Tine Counter Rotating Tiller
Brad68der1
from Western PA

Great Machine!!

PostedMarch 31, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Just bought this tiller on saturday. Today is teusday, tilled the garden (1500 sq. ft) in less than an hour! I used the forward tine position, and all the old plant material that was left on the garden last fall disappeared!!! I tilled with the depth stake at half depth and I'm in 7 inches already! My garden grows rocks, they did not affect this machine at all! After useing it one time I believe I made the right choice for a tiller. I wanted a Troy Built but opted for the Cub Cadet. I'm glad I did. Thanks Cub Cadet. keep up the great work.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 13 in. Rear Tine Counter Rotating Tiller
MikeA
from SLC, UT

Great Tiller

PostedMarch 27, 2008
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Just completed the maiden voyage and am impressed with the machine, but experienced multiple times when the motor stalled out and died when I hit big rocks - softball size and up. Honda manual suggests using fresh gasoline as a remedy for "engine lacks power", and to be fair the gas has been in my garage for several long winter months. Otherwise, I LOVE the big tractor wheels and the simple operation - Honda motor is very nice, easy start, etc. The tiller made quick work of about 2000 sf garden area tilling at max depth on first pass. Also ran over the dog patch - very hard pack - and ripped it up pretty easily in 2 passes - this time half depth each pass. I wanted the largest tiller available without going to a tractor, and this fits the bill well.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 13 in. Rear Tine Counter Rotating Tiller
Don1212
from Dillsburg, PA

I like it!

PostedApril 13, 2008
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I used this on our 40'x40' garden. Worked really well! Like some of the other reviews, it hangs up on larger rocks. Perhaps this is a safty feature, not sure because it didn't come with a operating manual! my garden grows rocks, so this was a little tiring, but I'd rather have it take me longer then break the machine. It does a great job of tilling from scratch (new garden space). Just a few passes and your once grass area is ready for planting. Would have gotten 5 stars if it came with the manual.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 13 in. Rear Tine Counter Rotating Tiller
gman5656
from Rome, PA

Great Buy

PostedApril 4, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This tiller is a great buy. I would recomend it to anybody. I have had a Tro Built for years, and was not impressed with what they had now. So I l looked at the Cub Cadet and liked what it had to offer. Plus the reviews were all god. Set up was easy, pulled the cord twice after putting oil and gas in it and it fired right up.
I have tilled the garden in one day from grass. That is just great. I have a 25x75 plus a 25x25 Strawberry patch and it did it in ease.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 13 in. Rear Tine Counter Rotating Tiller
Pence
from Big Clifty, Ky

Cub Cadet Rear Tine Tiller

PostedJune 16, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Biggest, Baddest tiller we have ever owned.
Starts first time, everytime.
We have used it for a couple of weeks and it does a fantastic job.
Only issue with it is the shifter sticks, so you have to use force to get it to change gears, which the store told us that is the way it is on all these tillers, something the company needs to improve on.
But, it will get the job done!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 13 in. Rear Tine Counter Rotating Tiller
GoingtoLowes
from Shapleigh Maine

Great Machine

PostedAugust 18, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought this machine a few months ago and it's worked like a charm. Only problem has been knobs to hold bottm guards come loose and if you don't catch that in time you'll loose them, which I did. Had to make new ones. Still a great rugged machine.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 13 in. Rear Tine Counter Rotating Tiller
guineaman
from California desert

great tiller

PostedMay 10, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quiet , powerful, pretty easy to use. That being said, a little beat up from shipping but home depot customer service was excellent in ordering missing parts, once up and operating a great machine especially for the price even with shipping.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 13 in. Rear Tine Counter Rotating Tiller
citydude
from San Jose, CA

Powerful and well built.

PostedJuly 6, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this tiller for preparing vegetable bed in my back yard. The tiller was well packed and came 99% assembled, what I needed to do was installing handle assembly, shifting rod, add engine oil (included), gas and it's ready to go.
Honda engine has much better build quality than briggs stratten of my wood chipper, much quieter, much lighter to pull and I can leave the gas in the tank for a few days without worry been drying out. The only problem I have with the engine was the engine oil fill cap/drain is in the awkward location, it is very easy to make a mess when you add/change engine oil.
Counter rotating is a great feature, I can dig up to 7 inch of hard, heavy clay with a slow single pass, it's a 10 minutes job compare to day's of back breaking work with pick and shovel. The 16 inch agriculture tire with deep thread provide great traction, one can really appreciate these tire when tines are counter rotating on hard soil.
Maneuverability is also good, my wife is 5'2 and she's able to operate this tiller as well.
Overall, I like the design, build quality and will recommend it to my friend and family.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.