728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Dryers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 2.6 cu. ft. 120 Volt Compact Electric Dryer-DISCONTINUED

2.6 cu. ft. 120 Volt Compact Electric Dryer-DISCONTINUED

A new innovation from Haier is solving the problems of apartment dwellers and homeowners alike. The HLP140E compact dryer is powerful but takes up absolutely no floor space. Instead, it is a mounting dryer that is installed on the wall above a compact washing machine or countertop, providing the ultimate laundry center thats not bulky or inconvenient. This dryer is extremely efficient and uses a standard 110-volt (120VAC, 15amp) outlet, eliminating the need for the special 220-volt 30amp wiring that most other dryers require. Its perfect to use as the primary dryer in an apartment or a secondary dryer in a home, convenient near the baby or childrens room, or a home gym, where frequent clothes washing is inevitable. Haier makes five washing machines that will fit underneath this mounting dryer that can handle the same load capacity. Together, they create an attractive set that gets the laundry clean and dry while keeping energy costs low.
Overall rating:
4.333 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(129 reviews) 129
Open Ratings Snapshot
93%of customersrecommend this product112 of 121reviews
Rating Breakdown 129 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(73)
4
(40)
3
(7)
2
(4)
1
(5)
Features 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Quality 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
93%of customersrecommend this product112 of 121reviews
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 14 Answers
Customer reviews for 2.6 cu. ft. 120 Volt Compact Electric Dryer-DISCONTINUED
Review 1 for 2.6 cu. ft. 120 Volt Compact Electric Dryer-DISCONTINUED
from Delaware, USA

Amazing Portable Dryer

PostedJanuary 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great portable dryer. It is just perfect for an apartment. Small and convenient and it does dry your clothes. I guess it takes a little bit longer compared to the regular dryers but for the price and the convenience you can't ask for more. Really happy with the purchase. Thanks Home Depot!!
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2.6 cu. ft. 120 Volt Compact Electric Dryer-DISCONTINUED
from NYC

Packs a Great Little Punch

PostedMay 22, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have to say this little dryer may be small but its quite awesome, yes you have to dry smaller loads, I was use to a very large gas dryer but since I had to down size this was the best option over going to the laundromat. I waited to write my review because most do not state how it is on your monthly electric bill......well people I have the washer and dryer set and it hasnt raised my bill more than $ 9 bucks a month and I run these machines for hours on end...so yes this little machine is awesome!
+47points
47out of 47found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2.6 cu. ft. 120 Volt Compact Electric Dryer-DISCONTINUED
from Fort Pierce, FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Very efficient for its size!

PostedJune 21, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am very happy with this little dryer that does a great job with light loads. It has good functionalities and good quality for the price. But don't expect it will dry a heavy load of bath towels in a jiffy -- it is best to hang them to dry for a while and when still a bit humid put them one or two at a time in the dryer which will efficiently finish the job and fluff them up nicely.
+35points
35out of 35found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2.6 cu. ft. 120 Volt Compact Electric Dryer-DISCONTINUED
from San Diego, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Just right for Grandma

PostedJune 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Tired of getting somebody else's gum distributed on my laundry in eternal strands in the complex's laundry room dryers. I have the smaller 1.0 cu. ft. Haier washer, so 2.6 cu. ft. dryer is only between 1/3-1/2 full (3-4 loads/week). Dryer stands on a dresser with its mounting bracket anchored by bolt/wire to wall for tip-safety around grandbaby. Vents into a nylon knee-high stocking, but have a portable A/C unit in the room I can run briefly to exhaust out window if gets too hot/humid (combined with frequent humidity where I live by the coast).
Started out with the monster spinner from Laundry Alternative to use with their little bucket washer (which never worked for me!). Got the Haier washer last year and continued air-drying on rack/rod. But towels, sweats, etc. dry hard-as-a-rock since I can't hang them outside in the wind, so I broke down this year and bought the dryer. I get at least a pint of water out of each load in that huge spinner before drying--if you picture aiming a hairdryer at that size of a puddle, you can see how pre-spinning shortens my drying time. So now I wash-superspin-dry. Dry usually about 30 minutes; the longest it's ever taken to dry (w/ 3 dryer balls fluffing load) is 45 minutes; in fact I have to be careful not to overdry. Haven't noticed a utility spike: my total household electric bill is still under $25/mo.--live in 300+ unit building in a 550-sq.-ft condo, so my small & surrounded space pays off that way. ;-)
Only irritant is the charcoal lint pad: lint collects along its edges that has to be removed by hand, pinch by pinch--the edge unravels a bit doing that. Lint wipes right off the middle screen layer, though, and the charcoal pad surfaces (top/bottom) vacuum easily with a mini-vac. I only clean the filters ever 3-5 loads, depending on how "linty" my loads are. The plastic grille and 2-filter-pad assembly pops off/on the back center inside the drum; requires firm tug/push.
That's about it. I feel blessed to have it these past few months: can warm up toddler's bath towel and wash small oops!-loads without worrying about plunking full-load money into laundry-room machines (or hiking over there). Since I already had a jet-engine spinner on hand, I won't ever have to suffer the 2-hours-to-dry syndrome. And I'm sure it's less wear-and-tear on the spinner than the little washer to run an extra spin cycle (only takes 1-2 minutes & no pump required).
+35points
35out of 35found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2.6 cu. ft. 120 Volt Compact Electric Dryer-DISCONTINUED
from Roaring Spring, PA 16673, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Good dryer for the money

PostedJanuary 9, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
At first I had misgivings about the small dryer. It was affordable but it wasn't on casters and the controls were near the floor. The dryer came with wall mounting brackets and instructions for mounting, so I anxiously mounted it to the wall above the utensil ledge. This put the controls and dryer opening at eye level. Now, it is just perfect for our needs! The companion washer resides in a space next to it and these two are efficient and never in the way in our kitchen! We are so very pleased! Heavier loads like towels take a timed cycle but most other loads dry very well with a normal or heavy cycle.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2.6 cu. ft. 120 Volt Compact Electric Dryer-DISCONTINUED

Little Gem

PostedDecember 20, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This dryer is great for the apartment. I have a Haier washer that is taller but not as wide and the two work well together. For a few years I've used the washer and hung the clothes to dry which takes so much time. The dryer makes laundry a lot easier to deal with. The way the lint filter works was a little weird to me coming from "traditional" dryers, but it seems to be very effective. It's a large (frisbee-sized or so) disk at the back that you pop out. I have it vented to a "Dundas JafineProFlex Indoor Dryer Vent Kit (TDIDVKZW)" (purchased at the same time from Home Depot) which is basically a bucket with a couple holes and water in it.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2.6 cu. ft. 120 Volt Compact Electric Dryer-DISCONTINUED
from Manhattan, New York, NY, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

2.6 cu. ft. 120 Volt Compact Electric Dryer

PostedJune 19, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Contains all of the optional features of a stand alone dryer, however it is meant to be mounted on a rack along with a washing nachine, buttons for operation are on the lower panel and it is very inconvenient to read the cycle information in a stand alone position.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2.6 cu. ft. 120 Volt Compact Electric Dryer-DISCONTINUED
from NYC
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

A great convenience for small apartment

PostedNovember 6, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have enjoyed using the dryer. Easy setup, and operating. Don't overload, and clean filter after every load for greatest efficiency. For heavy items such as towels, I air dry overnight, then use dryer to finish drying and fluffing --saves electricity.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, good settings choices
Cons: doesn't come with vent hose
+18points
24out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2.6 cu. ft. 120 Volt Compact Electric Dryer-DISCONTINUED
from New York, NY, USA

Good little dryer for a small apartment!

PostedJanuary 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Was looking for a dryer that I could mount in my bathroom to go with my small frontloader. The unit came in with lots of packaging and no dents or scratches from shipping. I have had the unit for the past week and it is great for small/medium loads. I already knew that the dryer would take longer to do its job being that it runs on a regular outlet and that it was smaller capacity. As long as you keep these things in mind, you will have realistic expectations and be satified with this dryer. This is much better than me lugging my clothes down 2 flights of stairs to the laundromat, I'd rather it take a longer time in my own home than being chained to an outside facility. I plan on doing 2-3 small loads a week for myself, husband and baby and so far its been manageable.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2.6 cu. ft. 120 Volt Compact Electric Dryer-DISCONTINUED

Perfect for a Senior Apartment

PostedJanuary 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We purchased this and a Haier washer for my mother's senior apartment. Everything works really well, is very quiet. These are the perfect appliances for a single person. We chose to mount it on the wall above the washer, but I think it can also work well on the floor, or even on a table. It does have a dryer vent...it is not ventless. Overall, this pair was a much better fit than purchasing a stacked unit.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2.6 cu. ft. 120 Volt Compact Electric Dryer-DISCONTINUED
from Richmond, VA

Very affordable dryer for a smaller space

PostedMay 14, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Purchased this dryer for an apt. in my home because i did NOT want another appliance there that required a 220 electrical supply. Before installing it, i tried it myself. Of course it takes longer to dry a load than a regular dryer, and of course the loads have to be smaller, but that should be expected. The wide range of timing and chcle choices, etc. is really outstanding for a smaller unit. PLEASE don't let someone tell you it does not have to be vented, however. That would be a true fire hazard. For a small space such as an eff. apt., this is a great choice. Glad i brought it and i'm happy to recommend it. Don't know yet how it will impact my electric bill.
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2.6 cu. ft. 120 Volt Compact Electric Dryer-DISCONTINUED
from Los Angeles
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Drying is time consuming

PostedJanuary 3, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
While this has been a big improvement in my laundry situation, I have to say it does take a while to dry articles. I haven't gotten my electric bill yet, so I'm hoping the energy use is efficient and not costly. It seems to be an average time of about an hour to dry things. Considering you can't put a whole lot in there, one top sheet for example, it's a long time. Still and all, being an apartment dweller, it's significantly better than having to share with other tenants or worse going to the laundromat. I also have the Haier portable washer that I love. Both appliances really do make doing the chore of laundry easier.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2.6 cu. ft. 120 Volt Compact Electric Dryer-DISCONTINUED

Great little dryer

PostedSeptember 30, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this dryer to go with the Haier washing machine. Best decision I have ever made. I have a small apartment with no conventional washer/dryer hook-ups. Now I can do all of my laundry (except bed spreads of course) in the comfort and convenience of my own home. No more schlepping my clothes to the laundry mat. Before you buy this you have to know what you are getting into. It is not a regular dryer. It only runs off of 120v. So of course your loads have to be smaller and it does take a little longer. Even with that, it really does an excellent job. I also purchased an indoor venting kit because I have no way to vent the dryer outside. It does release a little heat and moisture but its nothing that my a/c cant handle. With winter coming the little added moisture in the air is going to be welcomed. Plus my house smells so good :) I recommend this dryer to anyone with a limited amount of space and to all those that want to avoid the coin operated nightmare of your local soap n'suds.
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2.6 cu. ft. 120 Volt Compact Electric Dryer-DISCONTINUED

This product is great!

PostedSeptember 7, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Do not let the small size of this dryer fool you. It has proven to be effective for my household of 2 teen-age boys and myself. It can handle medium sized loads quite well.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2.6 cu. ft. 120 Volt Compact Electric Dryer-DISCONTINUED
from Long Pine, NE, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

PERFECT FOR RV

PostedNovember 14, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I received my dryer today and I am very pleased with my purchase. I got this because it would fit in the small confines of my 29' travel trailer and would run on 110 volt outlet, it has an adjustable vent and I was told by HAIER coustomer service it was safe to use in RV, As far as quality it appears to be well built and sturdy although the door handel is plastic but appears to be easy to replace should it break. It was shipped quickly and was well packed in double box and arived in undamaged condition through UPS shipping service. It may take longer to dry clothes and the drum is small but if you are sick of pumping quarters into RV park dryers only to end up with damp clothes you will appreciate this small compact little unit. THANKS to HOME DEPOT for offering this unit at a good price and thanks to HAIER for building it!!!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2.6 cu. ft. 120 Volt Compact Electric Dryer-DISCONTINUED
from Oregon, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

My second Haier purchase

PostedJanuary 15, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Love this little dryer! I've had mine for a year and just bought one for my mother. Perfect for single women living in small spaces, maybe not so much if you have a lot of heavy-duty work clothes to dry. Be sure to do as they say - clean the filter after each use and it will be surprisingly efficient for a 120V dryer.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2.6 cu. ft. 120 Volt Compact Electric Dryer-DISCONTINUED
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Goodbye Laundromat!!

PostedDecember 2, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
So I live in San Francisco in an amazing apartment for a really cheap price, but what is it missing? WASHER AND DRYER! We do not have hook-ups in our apartment and I am beyond sick and tired of the laundromat and this dryer saved my sanity! Yes, it's true, this little baby does take a long time to dry. For a large load we might be talkin' 3 hours....but that is not a problem for me because it works great and makes the clothes come out smelling fresh and amazing. The laundromat dryers always make my clothes smell like gas, like it isn't being vented correctly or something, but this dryer does no such thing. My clothes smell so fresh, I get to walk 10 feet to put them away once they are dry and I am in love. We have not purchased the vent to stick out the window, but we have a back door that we leave cracked and put it in front of it and so far so good. It has not made the house steamy and I feel like a changed woman...with really clean clothes!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2.6 cu. ft. 120 Volt Compact Electric Dryer-DISCONTINUED

Haier dryer

PostedDecember 13, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
As a single mom in a small studio house, the two drying racks we were using took up too much space, and as the days/nights turned colder our clothes were taking days to dry. Took the plunge, got this dryer and love it! Sure it takes a bit longer than a 220v dryer but much better than days of clothes hanging around. It's compact size makes it easy to place and have it not be in the way.
Be sure to pick up a indoor vent kit too, if you live in a place without an outside vent option. Sure that is a bit bulky but it allows for dryer use and that's awesome!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2.6 cu. ft. 120 Volt Compact Electric Dryer-DISCONTINUED
from Reno, NV, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

PERFECT FOR A APARTMENT OR CONDO

PostedJanuary 17, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
NOT MANY CHOICES OUT THERE FOR A APARTMENT OR CONDO ... THIS UNIT WAS PERFECT FOR MY APARTMENT AND NEEDS
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2.6 cu. ft. 120 Volt Compact Electric Dryer-DISCONTINUED
from Columbus, OH, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Compact size is great, easy to operate

PostedFebruary 22, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this with the Dundas JafineProFlex Indoor Dryer Vent Kit since I didn't want to vent into my tiny condo. The convenience and compact size is well worth the price.
Right now the dryer is sitting on top of a shorter, but wider & well constructed bookcase with the vent sitting on top of it and that works fine until I have a chance to install both on the wall.
I had considered purchasing an all-in-one wash-to-dry machine but was concerned about the excess drying time everyone mentioned in the reviews. This works just like a regular dryer, about the same drying time, just for smaller loads. You must be sure to thoroughly clean out the filter each time. The filter is located in the back inside "wall" of the dryer and you have to separate the filter layers to clean it. Due to that I was a little concerned that part would be complicated and time consuming, but its pretty quick & easy - just a few quick swipes of my vacuum (the hose brush attachment) on each piece. I assume using my hand vac will work fine and be even easier but I just moved and haven't got it from storage yet.
I also purchased the 1.46 cu ft Haier Pulsator Washing Machine but haven't had a chance do the minor assembly - at first glance it has a few more pieces to assemble than the dryer, so I decided to wait until after finals (am a college student + work FT) to review more in depth.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>