728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Garage Storage Systems & Accessories or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for FastTrack Garage 84 in. Hang Rail

FastTrack Garage 84 in. Hang Rail

FastTrack rails are quick and easy to install. Their heavy steel construction provides extra durability, and they hold up to 1,750 lbs. A wide range of accessories can easily attach to the rail to create a customized garage storage system.
Overall rating:
4.676 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(68 reviews) 63
Open Ratings Snapshot
97%of customersrecommend this product65 of 67reviews
Rating Breakdown 68 reviews
4.7 out of 5.0
5
(53)
4
(11)
3
(2)
2
(1)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
97%of customersrecommend this product65 of 67reviews
Customer questions and answers:
8 Questions | 24 Answers
Customer reviews for FastTrack Garage 84 in. Hang Rail
Review 1 for FastTrack Garage 84 in. Hang Rail
from North West, Loudoun Virginia
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

Great product to hang heavy items

PostedApril 17, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This rail is very easy to install. Installation is a breeze if you have the right tools i.e. Power Drill, Stud Finder and Level. Rail material is solid and will definitely hold heavy weight items as long as the rail screws are right in the middle of the studs. The hooks for this rail work like Plug & Play; you can slide them or remove them without any tools. The only issue I see in this product is that hooks for this rail cost you about 75% of the face price of the rail. I wish that hooks were a little cheaper. Overall, it’s a great product.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Well Made, Excellent Quality, High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Looks Great, Nice Design
Cons: hooks are expensive
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+35points
35out of 35found this review helpful.
Review 2 for FastTrack Garage 84 in. Hang Rail
from Atlanta GA

Good product

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I installed 2 rows of 84" rails (4 rails) on one wall and also put a 48" rail on another wall. My husband helped me with the longer rails (to get the level and the holes marked). The rails are heavy. I have several hooks (basket, both bike hooks, rake hooks, ladder hook, power tool hooks, cord hooks). It takes items off the floor and gives necessary and flexible organization. I did not use the Rubbermaid hardware. I read almost all of reviews (on 84" and 48" rails) and bought 2 1/2" screws (2" ones were out of stock that day) and Cobra 364R anchors. Thank you to those who provided that information regarding the screws and anchors!
Pros: Durable, Functional, Sturdy, Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for FastTrack Garage 84 in. Hang Rail
from Las Vegas, NV
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female

2nd home I have put this in!

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to install and I love that I can change it up when I need to.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Looks Great, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for FastTrack Garage 84 in. Hang Rail
from Phoenix, Oregon
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male

Absolutely amazing!

PostedApril 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
*Movie guy voice*
One Man, one afternoon, his garage, and one Home Depot trip!
This spring one man conquers his garage, in an epic battle over clutter and disorganization! His wife watches as he epically conquers the cooler, his children's bikes, ladders, and even the car luggage rack!
With the power of his drill and Rubbermaid Fast Tracks (purchased at The Home Depot), the mighty clutter is defeated by one man, and one man alone! In an afternoon not filled with swearing and sweat, due to ease, the once cluttered garage is finally organized!
Don't miss out on this Spring's most epic of garage related battles! Arm yourself at The Home Depot, and conquer the clutter!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, Excellent Quality, High Quality of Material, Great Instructions, Sturdy, Looks Great, Looks High End, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
-1point
4out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 5 for FastTrack Garage 84 in. Hang Rail

looks and functions great

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Be aware: the rail does not come with the mounting hardware. you have to buy them separately.
It took me some time to find the studs and mark all the screw holes. one tip I found is when pre-drilling the 1/8" holes, drill it all the way in. Otherwise it will be hard to put the 2" screw in..maybe my drill is weak but that's what happened to me.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for FastTrack Garage 84 in. Hang Rail

Get your tool/garage items off the floor and on the wall in less than one hour.

PostedOctober 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This was quick to install; all you need is a stud finder, a bubble level, a power drill (for pilot holes) and a screwdriver. Bought this with the vertical bike wall hang (for my mountain bike), a ladder hook, 2 multi-purpose hooks (one for my rakes, shovels, and garden tools and one for my hoses/extension cords), and a power tool holder (perfect for a Ryobi Expand-It)
In 30 minutes, quicker if someone assists, I had all the aforementioned off the garage floor and out of the way.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Functional, Nice Design
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 7 for FastTrack Garage 84 in. Hang Rail
from Georgia, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

Easy to install, modular and lots of options

PostedMarch 5, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
My garage was cluttered and unorganized with piles of tools, hoses, toys, bikes...etc at every corner. I looked at shelving units then I realized they took up too much space so I looked at the Fast Track rail and attachment system. Installation was a breeze and the various connection options made it a great solution to my clutter problem. I have since added additional rails and connection hangers in my garage and shop. Price is affordable and quality is good.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Sturdy, Looks Great, Durable, Functional, Lots of Features, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for FastTrack Garage 84 in. Hang Rail
from Miami, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female

Great system

PostedMay 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used it to hang electric guitars in my sons bedroom.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, Sturdy, Looks Great, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for FastTrack Garage 84 in. Hang Rail
from Orlando, FL, USA

Installed on block too.

PostedJune 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of setup 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I installed 2-48" rails on drywall/framed wall on 16" centered studs with 2" drywall screws and compliment of anchors (I like metal toggle anchors vs plastic ones, I think they provide more support).
While Rubbermaid does not recommend install on brick or block (likely due to weight rating of 1750lbs on wood studs), I anchored 2-84" rails on block using 3/16" by 1-1/4" Tapcon screws. I pre-drilled 1/8" and 5/32" pilot holes right into block with corded hammer drill with hammer drill bits.
I had no problems with hooks, although I preferred smaller compact hooks and cooler hooks (each hold up to 25lbs) not available at Home Depot. Multi-purpose and utility hooks are great rated at 50lbs, but I preferred smaller hooks which are also less expensive.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for FastTrack Garage 84 in. Hang Rail
from Centennial, CO, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female

Excellent System

PostedJune 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I love this system for organizing the garage. I was even able to get large things off the floor of the garage to free up more space. The flexibility of being able to rearrange the hooks makes it even better to use.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Functional, Excellent Quality, Looks Great, Looks High End, Nice Design
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for FastTrack Garage 84 in. Hang Rail
from Minneapolis
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female

Great organizational product

PostedOctober 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great product for organizing the garage. Holds multiple size objects and easy to install.
Pros: Durable, Lots of Features, Sturdy
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for FastTrack Garage 84 in. Hang Rail
from Saint Cloud,Fl

FastTrack

PostedJuly 10, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
1.Easy instructions
2.Not alot of tools to use.
3.Install in 1 day
4.Organizes your entire Garage.
4. Customize to your needs.
5. Online support through sight is awsome.
6.It impresses the neighbors !
Thank you,
We2bfree
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for FastTrack Garage 84 in. Hang Rail
from Sacramento, CA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product but the mounting hardware is inadequate

PostedDecember 24, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The screws that come in the hardware pack (sold separately) were too puny, and their heads stripped when I drove them into the studs. I was using a brand new screwdriver bit. I recommend buying additional good quality 2" woodscrews or similar, with a good deep cross head on top, to use instead of the provided hardware. Better screws will allow you to remove the hanging rail when you eventually need to remove or replace it. Note you should still get the hardware pack because it contains some wall anchors which are pretty handy.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for FastTrack Garage 84 in. Hang Rail
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

Works Great!

PostedFebruary 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I love the Rubbermaid Fastrack system. I installed 2 rows so far and it's amazing how easy it is to install and even easier to install the accessories!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Excellent Quality, Looks Great
Cons: not enough accessories in the store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for FastTrack Garage 84 in. Hang Rail
from Bee Cave, TX 78738, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Good idea, execution needs a little work

PostedFebruary 10, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The model I bought was an 84", it had lots of holed drilled in it (saw a video from Rubermaid that had only a few holes). The instructions tell you to drill holes for every stud, then in between for the wall anchors. This sounds great, but the holes drilled in the rail assume your house is built with perfect 16" on center studs. Have never seen a house where all of the studs are exactly 16" on center, if one is off by say half an inch, each subsequent stud will not be exactly where it is supposed to be on paper. For the rail, it meant I had to drill two sets of holes through the rail in between the existing holes. If they would have fewer hole that were actually slots that allowed for say 1/2 inch of play, it would be much better. Overall, it looks neat when up and the hooks are nice.
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: Difficult to Install
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 16 for FastTrack Garage 84 in. Hang Rail
from Washington Township, MI 48094, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

This product is easy to install and very versatile.

PostedAugust 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I love the fact that after the rail is install, you can use any hook, anywhere on the rail. Very sturdy and looks great.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Functional, Vibrant Color, Well Made, Excellent Quality, High Quality of Material, Great Instructions, Lots of Features, Sturdy, Looks Great, Looks High End, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for FastTrack Garage 84 in. Hang Rail
from HBG, PA

PostedFebruary 21, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I installed the numerous rails in a garage addition I built. They are attractive, strong, and very versatile. My customer loves them!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for FastTrack Garage 84 in. Hang Rail
from AZ
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

No Better System on the Market

PostedMarch 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
There are cheaper systems but none that match the quality and style of the RubberMaid Fast Trak system. When you want the best this is it. Oh, the hanger bars can be modified to fit the space desired by using a simple metal cutting hack saw (manual or electric).
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Excellent Quality, Sturdy, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Functional, Looks High End, Nice Design
Cons: none
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for FastTrack Garage 84 in. Hang Rail
from Florida
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female

Nice!

PostedJuly 23, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I thought this was very easy and quick to install. I hung this in the garage with the intention of using for a bike rack. I've found that it works perfectly. I plan to buy more of the same now that know how nicely it hangs on masonry. BTW I have a womens bicycle that can be hung
horizontally on the double prong bike holder w/no prob!
Pros: Easy to Assemble, High Quality of Material, Great Instructions, Sturdy, Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for FastTrack Garage 84 in. Hang Rail

A great purchase

PostedAugust 26, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of setup 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought these tracks for my garage and I have no regrets. Sturdy and offers many options with the different attachments. I highly recommend this product.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, Excellent Quality, High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Looks Great, Looks High End, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>