728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Mailboxes & Mailbox Posts or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for No-Dig Ground Screw

No-Dig Ground Screw

The Mayne No-Dig Ground Screw helps you install your Mayne mail post in a cleaner and easier way. It's an ideal way to avoid digging a hole and mixing concrete, it truly is a time saver. The No-Dig Ground Screw comes with 5 lag bolts and 20 in. length of rebar for twisting the screw into the ground.
Overall rating:
4.389 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(18 reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
94%of customersrecommend this product15 of 16reviews
Rating Breakdown 18 reviews
4.4 out of 5.0
5
(10)
4
(6)
3
(1)
2
(1)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
94%of customersrecommend this product15 of 16reviews
Customer reviews for No-Dig Ground Screw
Review 1 for No-Dig Ground Screw
from Gambrills, MD
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Easy to install in rain drenched, sandy soil

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Single woman, so this mailbox post was super easy to install, waited for rain drenched soil, the soil in the front where I installed it is sandy, too. Installing it myself saved me a bundle, got a ridiculous quote from a local handy man to complete the same mailbox repair.
Pros: Easy to Install
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for No-Dig Ground Screw

Easy peasy

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This was an extremely simple product to install (especially since the ground was soft due to recent rains). I was able to reuse the existing 4x4 and bolt it to the metal bracket on the ground screw. I was worried about the stability but it seems to be holding up nicely so far. Only negative might be that mail post covers will not slip all the way down to the ground due to the protruding bolts. Overall, no mess and no fuss installation in lieu of all the digging and concrete pouring/setting etc.
Pros: Easy to Install, Nice Design
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for No-Dig Ground Screw
from Austin, TX, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Did what it said it would.

PostedOctober 22, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It was longer than I envisioned (goes at least 2 1/2 feet into the ground), but realistically just the right size. I was putting up a tree house in an area with lots of large tree roots. This allowed me to go between the roots in a place where digging a sufficient hole would have been impossible. I couldn't screw it down very far to start even with help, but after a six inch rain, it easily screwed in completely and I have a lovely bird house perched just where I want it. The post does appear to be quite sturdy, but I would not use it where it would be frequently jolted or subjected to sideways pressure, such as a gate post versus just a fence post or mailbox post.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Easy to Move, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for No-Dig Ground Screw
from Macon, GA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not as easy as it looks

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I found it easier to take post hole diggers and install the mailbox the old way. I never could get the ground screw to take hold in the red Georgia clay.
Cons: Difficult to Install
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 5 for No-Dig Ground Screw
from Lawrence, KS, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good solution for mailbox installation

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Went into cold Midwest ground without trouble but some effort, of course. Pilot hole was very helpful for starting and maintaining vertical position. Extra leverage beyond provided length of rebar was required (long pipe over rebar).
Used for mailbox (2ft of 4x4 attached to screw). End result very sturdy and definitely beats digging a hole, etc.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Nice Design
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for No-Dig Ground Screw
from NJ
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Better than cement...and easier!

PostedApril 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Purchased for use with a Step2 mailbox with post. I was able to insert the Mayne into the ground in less than 10 minutes using the 20" rebar. I used a 20" length of 4x4 bolted to the Mayne and mounted the mailbox to the 4x4. The screw itself is very well built and appears to be zinc coated for corrosion protection, and once inserted into the ground provides very strong support for the mailbox.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Easy to Move, Good Size & Weight
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for No-Dig Ground Screw
from Michigan

Almost as good as I hoped

PostedJune 19, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Received in 2 days-super. Claims to be galvanized but had surface rust inside. Came with 5 way-too-small screws to fasten post. I drilled the top and bottom front holes through the post and back of the bracket (use clamps) for 5/16" carriage bolts (galv.). Then it was very strong. Very easy to screw into the ground but hard to get exactly straight. Used a large pipe wrench to do last 1/2 turn, bringing the bottom of the bracket to ground level. Why not put the driving holes into the post bracket instead of the screw? I only used this with a 4 x 4, not an outer sleeve. Good for handy person but not for beginner.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 8 for No-Dig Ground Screw
from Wisconsin, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Solid ground anchor

PostedNovember 15, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We have a lot of clay. I used the hole from the previous small "pound in" anchor as the pilot hole. It would have been very difficult to start without some kind of pilot hole. The supplied piece of rebar is a bit understated. I added a 3.5 ft length of pipe over it for added leverage. The last two turns of the screw would not have gone without the added leverage of the pipe. The supplied rebar actually bent quite a bit with the required force. As noted by others, it is a bit tricky to keep vertical. I was able to adjust the 4x4 for the slight shift off vertical. In place it is very solid and should last a long time. The supplied lag bolts worked well. The 4x4 post does not move at all. A reasonable product. I would buy it again.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for No-Dig Ground Screw
from Northeast PA
Age Range:55 to 64
Home Improvement Profile:Other

It held my post up but turns so I had to cement around the screw. It was pretty easy to use.

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Easy to install after finding the right spot. Had to cement the base to keep it from turning..
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: kept turning after installation.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for No-Dig Ground Screw

Easy to use and well made.

PostedNovember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I dreaded using a post hole digger in clay. I found this solution online and could not be happier.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for No-Dig Ground Screw
from Ohio
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Idea

PostedApril 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is a very sturdy alternative to digging a hole, and using a 4 X 4 then filling with concrete. So far we have been very impressed. We will see how it holds up during a winter.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for No-Dig Ground Screw
from winston-salem, nc

eaqsier than diigging a hole

PostedApril 30, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
this is easier than digging a hole. keeping it perfectly vertical is tricky.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for No-Dig Ground Screw
from Arlington, VA, USA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Really works as advertised

PostedFebruary 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The No Dig Ground Screw really works as advertised. My mailman knocked our mailbox post over, braking it at ground level during an ice storm. It was too cold, and the ground too hard to dig out the remainder of the in ground portion of the cemented in pole. I installed the ground screw immediately behind the existing hole, covered over the old post hole,cut the bottom of the old post, and in stalled it to the ground screw. Stable, sturdy and far easier than any other alternative.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for No-Dig Ground Screw
from Montana
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Very sturdy

PostedJune 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Went in easy, make sure ground is damp. Very sturdy. And bar provided works well. Just make sure you use it the right way.
Pros: Sturdy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for No-Dig Ground Screw
from PA
Age Range:35 to 44

Works great ~

PostedMay 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very satisfied ~ easy to install ~ happy with product ~
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for No-Dig Ground Screw
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice alternative

PostedJanuary 15, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Worked as advertised, seems reasonably sturdy we'll see over time if as secure as concrete. bent the rebar furnished on last couple turns which made more difficult to finish. we have clay soil - maybe that was it but maybe something stronger than rebar in order.
Pros: Sturdy, Nice Design
Cons: rebar lever bent
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for No-Dig Ground Screw
from Richmond, VA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

High priced, but worth every penny!

PostedNovember 13, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Used this to replace a "no dig, drive in the ground" mail post holder which had been run over by a trash truck. It seemed to be high priced and was a struggle to plant (good Virginia clay and old macadam at 24 inches) but it is rock-solid and not about to move in this lifetime. I recommend this product highly.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for No-Dig Ground Screw

Looks easy to install, but I did not use

PostedOctober 19, 2009
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I ended up using the post for my old mailbox. I was putting a plastic mail box that goes over a 4X4, so I really didn't need this because my old post was still solid.
-14points
2out of 18found this review helpful.