728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Resilient Vinyl Planks or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 6 in. x 36 in. Oak Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft./Case)

6 in. x 36 in. Oak Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft./Case)

The TrafficMaster Allure 6 in. x 36 in. Oak Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring has an oak finish that looks and feels like real wood. This flooring features vinyl construction and is stain resistant to help protect the surface from marks and scratches. Ideal for use in high-moisture areas, such as basements, kitchens and bathrooms, this water resistant flooring installs easily and does not require floor prep or adhesive.
Overall rating:
4.296 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(169 reviews) 167
Open Ratings Snapshot
86%of customersrecommend this product138 of 161reviews
Rating Breakdown 169 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(115)
4
(26)
3
(6)
2
(7)
1
(15)
Appearance 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Quality 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
86%of customersrecommend this product138 of 161reviews
Customer questions and answers:
22 Questions | 91 Answers
Customer reviews for 6 in. x 36 in. Oak Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft./Case)
Review 61 for 6 in. x 36 in. Oak Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft./Case)
KT12
from OHIO

Allure Plank Oak flooring

PostedNovember 1, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We had this flooring put down in our dining room. It is beautiful. It really looks like wood. The installers were amazed with it. It was so easy to install. They are also getting some for their home. I am so please with it I am ordering more to have put in our kitchen.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 62 for 6 in. x 36 in. Oak Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft./Case)
cindy001
from Brooklyn Center, MN

Good product

PostedNovember 11, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
My husband and his friend put in the Allure Oak last weekend and he was pleasantly suprised at how easy it was to install. They knocked it out in a couple of hours ( small galley kitchen). Careful with the sticky strip because it really grips and make sure you lay down plywood when moving your heavy furniture back because it will leave shiny marks on the floor. Found out the hard way moving the fridge back. But all in all, we are very pleased with the look. We've gotten great compliments. Good product.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 63 for 6 in. x 36 in. Oak Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft./Case)
Anonymous
from Dallas, TX

we LOVE TrafficMaster Allure!!

PostedNovember 20, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We have a 35-year-old house with possibly 35-year-old carpet in some rooms. We also have a 13-year-old cat, a dog, several birds, a lizard, and a 6-year-old boy.
Our house stinks. 'Nuff said.
So we decided to rip out the sea-foam green carpet in one living room and replace it with something that would clean up easily after the cat pukes, would sweep up nicely before company comes over, and is sturdy enough to endure children and dogs running after each other.
We found it in the TrafficMaster Allure "Oak" product, sold at Home Depot. I can't tell you how much we love this stuff: it looks amazing. Our cat has yacked on it perhaps 15 times since the summer when we put it in, and you still can't tell where she did because the floor is so easy to clean up.
The product comes in 3' lengths, 6" long, and covers 24 sq ft per box, so you will want to be sure to measure the room you're considering it for, before you buy it. (Home Depot stocks this product in large supplies normally, however, so if you run out, you can always run back down and buy more.) No underlayment is necessary because it's built right in to the product, and because it's a floating floor, it doesn't require adhesives to stick to the subfloor or slab. You cut it to length using a boxknife or other razorblade-like instrument, and when you lightly score the surface, you can then snap it very cleanly. This means that odd-length or even odd-shape pieces are easy to make. Each piece has an "over/under" edge on each side, so that you can adjoin two pieces together using the adhesive each edge already has on it. Once together, these pieces do NOT want to come apart, though, so it's good to be a little careful about this part. :-)
The thing I like best about it is how GOOD it looks, and how guests rave about what a great job we did installing it. (Which we did not; I've learned a few things about this stuff, having done a couple of rooms now, which I now wish I could use to do over a couple of other rooms.)
We like this product so well that we're going to invest in the product and re-do our entire house in TrafficMaster Allure. Thanks, Home Depot!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 64 for 6 in. x 36 in. Oak Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft./Case)
jk343434
from New Jersey

Great product

PostedDecember 8, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Put this down 2 months ago. I'm a 60-year female with a bad back. Removed carpeting and installed on a plywood subfloor, just banged some raised nails down, put in some more nails here and there and filled in some gaps. Don't have the floor creaks that I had before. It's very easy to make cuts, and I had a lot. And if a piece is going down wrong, it's easy to lift it up by putting your knee on the piece it's attached to, and lifting up the piece that went down wrong. It IS a job that takes patience and fussiness. Look at every piece before you put down the next. I have to tell people it's not real. Only then do they see that it's not real. I put NEW FELT PADS under all of the furniture before I put it all back in the room. I did close to 300 sf, a living room and foyer. I've done the Pergo rigid boards flooring for my disabled neice in her home, and this is much easier than that was. And you don't need a table saw like you do with those. Do have a hard surface to use to make your cuts on and make sure you're changing your knife blades when they get dull.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 65 for 6 in. x 36 in. Oak Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft./Case)
Chiefman
from Central Texas

Allure

PostedDecember 16, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have used lots of different types of flooring in my do-it-yourself career and I've never used an easier to install, top quality product. Allure has it all - good looks, durability, ease of installation, being waterproof, and overall satisfaction. I had little problem with it my first time out - a little practice made it simple to measure and cut. After a couple of rows, I got down a good pattern and worked quickly, coming up with great finished floor. I am definitely buying more for the rest of my house as well as my rental units. I would recommend nothing else to do-it-yourselfers.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 66 for 6 in. x 36 in. Oak Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft./Case)
Suegirl40
from Winchester, TN

Greatest Floor Ever Made!

PostedJanuary 7, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have several rental homes and this is my #1 choice for flooring. It is extremely easy to lay...cuts can be made with a utility knife or tin snips! It looks wonderful too. You have to get down and touch it to realize it is not wood or tile. I laid this flooring in a friend's basement in 2008 and it looks as great now as it did when it was laid! If you have minimum skills as a do-it-yourselfer, then you can lay this flooring. You will be pleased with its appearance and ease of cleaning! I laid 240 sq ft in 3 hours once the floor was prepped! Great product!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 67 for 6 in. x 36 in. Oak Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft./Case)
steve
from San Diego

IT SHRUNK!

PostedJanuary 19, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I installed this product in my rental, thinking it would be good for areas where water may be an issue.
Yes, this product is easy to install. Yes, this product looks good for vinyl. Yes, this product works well where water spillage may be an issue such as the bathroom or kitchen.
I had it installed over the summer, and now, in January, the planks are developing gaps that never were there when it was put in. The instructions explain to not let the product get too hot or cold, so I ran the AC while this was being installed.
I am guessing the cold winter(San Diego!!) has made the vinyl shrink up.
I will be going back to HD to see what, if anything can be done, but I would NEVER recommend this product.
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 68 for 6 in. x 36 in. Oak Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft./Case)
Anonymous
from California

Excellent flooring

PostedJanuary 21, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have no experience putting flooring in. I put this flooring over a 90 year old uneven sub floor in a bathroom. It was easy to put down and looks fantastic. Becareful when trying to pull the pieces apart if you need to adjust one because the glue strip grabs right away. I am going to use this again in my kitchen and master bath. It looks good and was worth the money by far!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 69 for 6 in. x 36 in. Oak Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft./Case)
GpaF
from Seattle, WA

Excellent Result

PostedJanuary 23, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My wife and I used 12 boxes to cover our kitchen/family room (approx 270 sqft) and are very pleased. This replaced a 40+ year old sheet vinly floor that was badly cracked and uneven. We decided to pull up the old sheet vinyl (a very time intensive job) to eliminate any future issues with asbestos in the old floor and height differences with adjoining rooms. This left a mostly level, but less than smooth plywood subfloor with gouges from taking up the old glue. However, the new floor has covered it with with no problem. We were careful to vacuum the subfloor and keep the glue strips clean and have not had any issues with tile separation. I did use a MultiMax to undercut the door moldings so we could slip the tiles under them, rather than trimming around them, which gives a much cleaner look. We also bought a pair of oversize tin snips to cut the tiles where needed. We were suprised that the oak pattern in our larger floor area actually turned out to be much brighter in color than the small samples and display at the store led us to believe. So, you need to be aware that the color on a large floor area will appear different than the samples.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 70 for 6 in. x 36 in. Oak Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft./Case)
pittsburghbob
from Mc Donald Pa.

PostedFebruary 10, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I really like the flooring,only problem we are having is edges lifting up on some strips. If any advice for glueing let the people no.layed only 2 months now and i hope it don,t continue lifting up.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 71 for 6 in. x 36 in. Oak Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft./Case)
TechWriterD
from Pittsburg, KS

Excellent Finish

PostedFebruary 20, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this flooring for the bathroom during a remodeling project. The finish is absolutely beautiful! The planks lay nicely together, and it looks like a much more expensive flooring than it actually is. A beautiful finish for an excellent price. I hadn't planned to change my kitchen flooring, but after seeing this flooring in the bathroom, I'm changing the kitchen and the entry way to this gorgeous laminate.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 72 for 6 in. x 36 in. Oak Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft./Case)
SC1134
from PA

Happy for the most part

PostedApril 24, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We had the oak Allure installed by Home Depot through every room except our bathroom. We chose Allure because our floors were slightly uneven and we were told laminate wouldn't lay properly, but with Allure's flexibility we wouldn't have a problem. Initially we went with a ceramic tile look Allure in the Kitchen and the rest oak. Eventually we had the kitchen redone to match the rest of the oak. It just didn't look right having them not match. It's been about 8 months now and we have had a few minor shifts in certain planks which show seams a bit. I'm assuming it was due to extreme changes in climate from hot, humid, summer to frigid, cold winter. The biggest thing with this product is making sure there is nothing under it that can poke through. We worked very hard at preparing our floors, but still have a spot here and there where we can see something poking through. I'm just hoping these spots don't eventually poke the whole way through. Overall I'm pleased with the product so far and with Home Depot's installation. I have four dogs on it all the time and it shows no signs of wear. Since we had ours installed there have been upgraded versions of Allure released. I wish I'd known they were coming as I like the patterns a bit better. The woods look a bit more authentic to me. Regardless, I'm happy with the product for now and hoping it holds up in the long term.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 73 for 6 in. x 36 in. Oak Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft./Case)
ScottB
from Solon, OH

Great Product

PostedMay 2, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Just installed over 600sq ft in a basement. We recently had a flood and had to remove all the carpet. Under the carpet was residue from a previoursly glued down indoor/outdoor carpet so it was pretty rough. With minimal prep the Alure planks went down great and it looks fantastic.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 74 for 6 in. x 36 in. Oak Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft./Case)
j2shay
from North Branch, MI

Great Flooring Product!

PostedMay 16, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This flooring is beautiful. We used it to finish nearly 700 sq. ft. in our basement over concrete. It conforms to the floor with no prep whatsoever and is beautiful. Super easy to install and very quiet compared to Pergo type floors. A lot less expensive also. There is truly no better choice for a basement floor.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 75 for 6 in. x 36 in. Oak Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft./Case)
1madmammajamma

darker than what images show

PostedSeptember 8, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
we orders this product online and were looking for a lighter color when this product arrived it was 2 to 3 shades darker. so beware that it may not be exactly as it appears.
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 76 for 6 in. x 36 in. Oak Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft./Case)
TimF
from Delaware
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Fantastic Product

PostedSeptember 25, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have installed over 3000 sq feet of this product and it is outstanding. The thing to remember is floor preperation before installing this. Take the time to lay down new luan plywood if you need to. I read some reviews saying the seams were coming apart, I have not run into this at all. Roll all the seams with either a laminate roller or rent a floor roller to do this. This makes the glued seams impossible to pull apart. Weather and humidity do not factor in when the seams are rolled during installation. I use a utility knife and metal shears for the cutting, and it's very easy. Take your time and you will be very happy with the results.
+21points
22out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 77 for 6 in. x 36 in. Oak Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft./Case)
JR11
from Milwaukee, WI, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Product is failing after 1 month of install

PostedOctober 7, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I read the reviews and decided to use this flooring for our basement after some hesitation. There were concerns regarding the adhesive not sticking. Other reviews noted the adhesive was improved and worked fine. Our floor is coming up at about 40-50% of the seams and corners. I would strongly suggest to not use this product and find an alternative. Our basement floor is dry and the humidity levels are low. The adhesive strips were not contaiminated in anyway during the install as well.
I will be contacting the company about a warranty claim regarding this floor. Once again, I would not recommend this flooring. In the mean time, we will use area rugs to hide the failing seams.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 78 for 6 in. x 36 in. Oak Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft./Case)
NormalDIYGuy
from Denver, CO

Amazing!!

PostedOctober 10, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am not one to write a review for a product, unless the product is absolutely terrible or incredible. This product falls into the incredible category. I used this product for ~400 sq ft in a basement remodel. The product does not require any under-layer, although for all basements a good water barrier is best. It took about five hours to lay the flooring in, and a majority of the time is spent going around obstacles. The floor is able to floated, but if there are slopes (floor drain) it can be glued down with liquid nails. The look is better than any laminate I've installed, and although it can never match a true wood floor the look is extremely tasteful. I highly recommend this product!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 79 for 6 in. x 36 in. Oak Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft./Case)
yorkie
from Goreville, IL 62939, USA
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

do not buy if you have a dog!!

PostedNovember 13, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
You will need socks for your dogs feet. It dose not matter if your dogs toe nails are taken care of they will still scratch the floor. The floor is not smooth! Even with furniture sliders on the bottom & you slide aganist the grain of the floor it will leave marks. Do not use a green scratch pad as recommeded, it will take the finish off the floor & look dull. Use a non scratch with allure cleaner. The only thing I liked now about the floor it is waterproof.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 80 for 6 in. x 36 in. Oak Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft./Case)
NoclueDIYster
from Twin Cities, United States
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Easy fast

PostedNovember 21, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Delivery of these planks was fast! Put into the garage, thanks! Well packaged, no broken pieces etc. I'm a female, don't do this on a regular basis. ...
Got arthritis in both hands now, but was able to put this down in two days by myself, over 1400 square feet . Most time went into prepping the floor of the basement.
Make sure you don't sit on the vinyl planks while readjusting...I learned the hard way:) That being said: if you do make a mistake there is plenty of time to readjust. The kids " helped" by running and jumping on the pieces that were in in the evening and to get the glue to stick properly. Used some wood filler in a neutral color to fill up some difficult corners under the doorways. You cannot tell. Hope it holds up. Easier to lay then laminate. Invest in a good utility knife and it is a piece of cake. Just make a slit and it will break easy. Or just use a kitchen knife for difficult patterns. It worked for me! Barely had any waste. Still got two packages left, will save it for replacing worn spots in the future. But lets hope we don't need it!
We've got two dogs, two kids: its in now for two months, still no scratches, looks nice considering the value we bought it for. Nicer then the carpet in there previously any way. Easy to clean. Would recommend .
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
<< 1 2 3 4 5 6  ... 9 >>