728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Concrete Drilling Tools or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Heavy Duty 1/2 in. Corded VSR Hammer Drill-DISCONTINUED

Heavy Duty 1/2 in. Corded VSR Hammer Drill-DISCONTINUED

The RIDGID Heavy-Duty 1/2 in. corded VSR Hammer Drill features a 7.5 Amp motor with hardened-steel gears and a heavy-duty, 1/2 in. keyed chuck with an all-metal design for reliable durability. The automatic clutch reduces the stress load on the motor during use, and the dual speed/torque gearbox provides the torque and the drilling speed you need to finish the job. The 360-degree auxiliary handle assembly includes a depth stop rod so you can reposition the depth rod for precise control of the drilling depth.
Overall rating:
3.737 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(19 reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
67%of customersrecommend this product12 of 18reviews
Rating Breakdown 19 reviews
3.7 out of 5.0
5
(11)
4
(2)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(5)
Quality 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
Value 
3.5 out of 5.0
3.5 out of 5
67%of customersrecommend this product12 of 18reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer reviews for Heavy Duty 1/2 in. Corded VSR Hammer Drill-DISCONTINUED
Review 1 for Heavy Duty 1/2 in. Corded VSR Hammer Drill-DISCONTINUED
from Pontiac, MI

Broke chuck during 6th hole!

PostedAugust 25, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I needed a more powerful drill to replace my 20 year old tool for drilling through floor joists while installing piping. I bought this drill yesterday because of its 7.5 amp rating and because of the lifetime warranty. It seemed to be very similar to the Milwaukee product except that the chuck was made by Rohm instead of Jacobs.
Well, I was impressed by the power of the drill and was looking forward to adding it to my tool collection. Lo and behold, right from the beginning, the chuck had trouble clamping down to hold a boring bit. No matter how tightly I cranked down the chuck, it still worked loose. During my sixth hole, I noticed that the bit had fallen out of the chuck. When I looked at the drill, one of the chuck jaws had broken. Sadly, the jaw showed a granularity to suggest that it was sintered metal or MIM instead of forged or machined steel. I guess that's how they kept cost down.
This $99 drill turned out to cost me much more since I had to waste time drilling holes with my other brand cordless drill. My cordless drill was less powerful but it got the job done and held the bit without any problem.
Ridgid needs to make the chuck good enough to stand up to the torque that can be placed on it by the motor. No question, the motor is strong and stout but the drill is no good without a suitable chuck. I returned this drill today.
A lifetime warranty means nothing to a contractor if the tool is not dependable. What am I supposed to do? Drop what i'm doing to drive my drill to the nearest service center and wait for a repair or mail it in and wait for it to come back? No thanks. I spent the extra money for a Milwaukee like I should have done in the first place.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Heavy Duty 1/2 in. Corded VSR Hammer Drill-DISCONTINUED
from Iowa
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Exceeded all expectations.

PostedMay 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This past weekend, I had the need to drill 4 holes in concrete. Not just any concrete and not just any hole. I have an Insulated Concrete Form (ICF) home with 8" concrete sandwiched between 2.5" Styrofoam. The holes are 1" in diameter, to fit exterior frost free faucets. I used a Bosch Blue Granite 1" x 12" bit, and honestly I don't know how it could have worked any better. If you think about the hole, that's s LOT of concrete to remove. The drill NEVER stalled or hesitated and it performed perfectly. Heavy chuck, long lighted plug cord. The swivel handle allows you to move the handle to the most comfortable location.
I would buy **this** drill in a heart beat.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Heavy Duty 1/2 in. Corded VSR Hammer Drill-DISCONTINUED
from New Philadelphia, OH, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

One Of The Best

PostedJuly 1, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have had this drill now for about 3 yrs. It has drilled anything and everything you can think of. Concrete, Brick, Cement Block, Cast Iron, Steel and many other materials and it has come through everything with flying colors. I've had other name brands which I won't mention and they never performed as well as this one. For the money it is worth every penny
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Heavy Duty 1/2 in. Corded VSR Hammer Drill-DISCONTINUED
from Florida
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Perfect For The Weekend Project Warrior

PostedFebruary 25, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
More drill than any average DIY guy would ever need. It seems it could hang with a professionals demands as well. Plenty of power, pluglight that indicates that the outlet is energized, paddle bits, masonry bits, brad bits........ive used it with all and no hiccups. If you break this drill it seems you may be using the wrong tool for the job, otherwise it has a lifetime service warranty.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Heavy Duty 1/2 in. Corded VSR Hammer Drill-DISCONTINUED

Failed after three drillings..

PostedJune 29, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Attempted to drill 1/2" holes in concrete. First hole worked fine. Second, the extra grip handle broke. Third hole, the chuck would no longer hold the bit....
Returned same day I bought it.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Heavy Duty 1/2 in. Corded VSR Hammer Drill-DISCONTINUED

Love it.

PostedOctober 9, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I did all the research and figured this was the best value for a homeowner who will use it once in a while. I was not disappointed. It cut through paving blocks like butter. Very happy with it.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Long-Lasting, lifetime service warranty
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Heavy Duty 1/2 in. Corded VSR Hammer Drill-DISCONTINUED
from Seattle, WA

Great Hammer Drill

PostedJuly 28, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I use it more as a drill than for its hammer function, but it goes through metal like wood and cement like butter.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Heavy Duty 1/2 in. Corded VSR Hammer Drill-DISCONTINUED

reason its discontinued

PostedJune 21, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Used it 7 times and the VSR switch stopped working. Now the drill does not turn off. First time I bought non-german tools. Absolutely rubbish
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Heavy Duty 1/2 in. Corded VSR Hammer Drill-DISCONTINUED
from Ohio, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

did not last

PostedJanuary 15, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Used this three time to drill concrett block for use tapcom
1/8 hole the motor started to smell now it dont turn work any more
model 5013 1/2 drill
Cons: did not last
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Heavy Duty 1/2 in. Corded VSR Hammer Drill-DISCONTINUED
from Chicago ILL.

best cored drill

PostedMay 23, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is one of the best corded drills I have ever used.. Has all the power you could ask to have in a drill..
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Heavy Duty 1/2 in. Corded VSR Hammer Drill-DISCONTINUED
from Klamath Falls, OR, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Brand-new Broke after 20 minutes of use

PostedDecember 4, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Was using brand-new drill and mixer blade to mix thinset for tiling. Quit working after mixing 6th batch. About 20 minutes of use.
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Heavy Duty 1/2 in. Corded VSR Hammer Drill-DISCONTINUED
from Sebring, Fl

Caution

PostedAugust 29, 2010
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was aprehensive about buy a "store brand" product. Based on the warranty, I gave into the recommendation of the store clerk . This drill may have at one time come with a depth/stop rod. But it appears it no longer does. Mine neither has the rod or a place to put one. I'm now a little anxious about the overall quailty and may return it for a brand I know to be dependable; such as Milwakee or Dewalt.
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Heavy Duty 1/2 in. Corded VSR Hammer Drill-DISCONTINUED

Worked better than all expectations

PostedMay 14, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I needed to mount an outdoor lighting fixture onto a bluestone slab. I needed to drill 4, 1/4 diameter holes about 2 inches deep. I first thought I would rent a rotary hammer drill but that would have cost $80 at the local tool rental. For a few more dollars i decided to buy this drill. I thought the whole process would take hours. With a new carbide tip I was able to drill all four holes in under 5 minutes. I was stunned. This was the best drill I have ever used or owned.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Heavy Duty 1/2 in. Corded VSR Hammer Drill-DISCONTINUED
from Sebring, Fl

retracting previous review

PostedSeptember 10, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
After taking the drill back to the store, it was discovered someone must have switched the drills in the boxes, thinking they'd get a hammer drill for the price of the VSR drill. Silly theives. Both drills are the same price.
This does come with the depth gauge and has a hammer on and hammer off switch. I havent used it yet, but everyone I've talked to says they are decent drills.
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Heavy Duty 1/2 in. Corded VSR Hammer Drill-DISCONTINUED
from Arizona

Does the Job Well

PostedJuly 20, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
A solid product that works as advertised. Effective as a hammer drill or rotary and it cut through cinder block with no problem.
Well worth the money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Heavy Duty 1/2 in. Corded VSR Hammer Drill-DISCONTINUED
from san diego, CA

PostedJune 10, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is one of my favorite tools i have. It has the power i need and does the job with perfection. I would highly recommend it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Heavy Duty 1/2 in. Corded VSR Hammer Drill-DISCONTINUED
Based on the average of (3) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
2 out of 2 recommend this product