728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Saws or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 11-Amp Reciprocating Saw

11-Amp Reciprocating Saw

The Makita Reciprocating Saw is ideal for cutting metal and wood, drywall, plaster and plastics, as well as remodeling and demolishing. It combines a powerful 11-Amp motor with less weight at only 7.3 lbs. for all-day use and improved performance. It also has a 1-1/8 in. blade stroke for efficient cutting.
Overall rating:
4.812 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(32 reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
94%of customersrecommend this product29 of 31reviews
Rating Breakdown 32 reviews
4.8 out of 5
5
(28)
4
(2)
3
(2)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
94%of customersrecommend this product29 of 31reviews
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer reviews for 11-Amp Reciprocating Saw
Review 1 for 11-Amp Reciprocating Saw

Good product

PostedMarch 31, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Good saw for the money. Had a Makita 9amp saw for 30 years and it finally gave up the ghost. Compared it to the 12 amp Milwaukee and they were very comparable. I gave the quick change blade feature to the Milwaukee, but I liked the trigger on the Makita better; big enough to put two fingers on for better control and less fatigue. Makita also had a better case and was less expensive. Don't think you could go wrong with either. Only gave it four stars because the Milwaukee blade change was better.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 11-Amp Reciprocating Saw
from Chanhassen, MN, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Terrific for my needs

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I'm a DIYer, and I bought this to do some renovations in the basement. Makita has the easiest to use blade changing mechanism out there. I also liked the adjustable shoe. What makes it particularly appealing is the wide trigger and the rubberized grip on the front as it is easy to operate upside down, which is frequently needed when doing demolition.
For demolition you'll want to buy some new blades, like the Diablo ones sold at HD. They're thicker and more durable. The Makita blade is thin and bent on me the first time I used it.
This was a really good value, and has a lot of features you don't find in other brands lower priced models. A terrific value for the DIYer.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 11-Amp Reciprocating Saw
from ohio
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Just awsome!

PostedMay 12, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This thing feels like a tank in your hand that could probably mow down anything you can throw at it. First off, the case is great. Its not one of those canvas bags that everyone seems to use now, but a heavy duty hard plastic that just looks good. The saw is just with all the power you need to cut wood, metal, plastic or anything else you need. The saw itself has sort of a rubber casing, not a cheap plastic that you have to worry about cracking, and the blades are just to easy to change. All you have to do is take the new blade and push it in, and for taking it out, just twist the lock and out out in 2 seconds; no special tools. It also comes with two blades in the case, so that was nice. You will not regret buying this saw, trust me.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 11-Amp Reciprocating Saw

Nice Saw

PostedFebruary 24, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
As a homeowner I don't necessarily need contractor grade tools, and would have preferred to purchase something in the $50-$80 price range, but those options either had several bad reviews or were not in stock at my local HD.
I picked the Makita over Milwaukee because it was $20 cheaper at the time and I'm familiar with Makitas quality. The Dewalt was also an option, but it was 2 pounds heavier. Also, the Makita included two saw blades (metal and wood); neither the Milwaukee or Dewalt included blades.
The saw preforms flawlessly, and I'm sure it's as good if not better than the other options available at the time of my purchase. I'm hoping it will last a lifetime considering it will only be used occasionally.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Cons: pricey
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 11-Amp Reciprocating Saw

Fantastic, durable saw

PostedMay 20, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this saw to do some heavy demolition in an old house remodel. I have beaten it relentlessly, dropped stuff on it, cut things that I shouldn't have, you name it. Not a single problem yet, it's been a year. Made in u.s.a., can't go wrong.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 11-Amp Reciprocating Saw

Great for demolition

PostedMay 11, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Bought this saw to cut up huge 8 person fiberglass/wood hot tub. It cut through everything like butter. Used 2 demolition blades. Highly recommend this saw.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 11-Amp Reciprocating Saw
from Garland
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Reciprocating saw MAKITA

PostedMay 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This product very good. Motor running very quite and easy to operate any angle you want.
Pros: Durable, Strong Suction, Powerful, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 11-Amp Reciprocating Saw

Makita saw

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is one powerful reciprocating saw! I love it. Works great and blades are easy to change and it comes with a really nice hard case with room for extra blades. Highly recommend. I would definitely purchase this saw again. For the price it is a great value.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 11-Amp Reciprocating Saw
from Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Makita has been my tool of choice for years

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Always gets the job done and it gets thrown around like a child's toy.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 11-Amp Reciprocating Saw
from Oklahoma
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Mikita Reciprocationg saw

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I am impressed with the power of the 11 amp motor after using a B&D firestorm for many years. The performance is very good and will meet my needs. The only negative is the trigger lock is located where it can be pressed without knowing and it continues to run.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 11-Amp Reciprocating Saw

Nice sawsall!

PostedDecember 31, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Got this as a gift for my hubby. He is very happy with the quality of this sawsall. Good quality, especially for the price.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 11-Amp Reciprocating Saw
from Connecticut, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fast, quiet, easy to control

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This saw is fast, easy to control, quiet and as accurate as one would expect for rough work. I was very pleased.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 11-Amp Reciprocating Saw
from Michigan

Great Saw

PostedNovember 21, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I love this saw. I wish I had bought it years ago. It cuts through wood like a hot knife through butter. I tore down an 8 x 20 deck with it in about a half hour.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 11-Amp Reciprocating Saw
Gender:Male

Great product

PostedMarch 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Simple tool that works great every time. quality on par with a tool of its price. gets used and abused from the job to the farm and hold up well. Love the easily removable/adjustable guard. only complaint is the blades are hard to change with cold or gloved hands, but taking off the guard solves that in a hurry maybe not important but the case has a great blade storage area, i can fit up to 20 blades in the case so i always have them at hand.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 11-Amp Reciprocating Saw
from Oak Brook, IL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great saw & comes with a great case.

PostedJuly 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I looked at several saws in this price range. This saw has all the features I was looking for, including good power, stroke length and speed. It also comes with a hard plastic case big enough to hold the saw with a blade in place.
Pros: Powerful, strong case
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 11-Amp Reciprocating Saw
from Berlin
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A little workhorse

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This saw is easy to use and powerful. I'm a woman who uses power tools and this one is just right for me, not too heavy but strong and multi-purpose. I bought it to cut tree branches and it does the job. It is quite worth the money.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 11-Amp Reciprocating Saw
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Just what he wanted

PostedDecember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
He could not wait to try it out - brought me a sample cut the first night
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 11-Amp Reciprocating Saw
from Charleston, SC, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

works nice and fast

PostedNovember 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have bought others before.But the rest do not compare to this. I would recomend to others to buy.It performs great for my kind of work.It real fast.
Pros: Powerful
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 11-Amp Reciprocating Saw
from Grand Rapids, Michigan
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

New Favorite Tool

PostedJuly 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
More power tools !! Wanted one for a while. Forget batteries, gotta be electric. Different all together, much more maneuverable/versatile than a circular saw for tight/awkward spaces. Titanium blade demolished Corkscrew Hazel branches to 3 inches thick. Didn't read directions to find out about trigger lock. Takes a couple tries to load blade. Don't have real strong hands to keep the blade lock open. After how many cuts had to rest my hands for a sec. Weight not an issue. Thumbs up.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 11-Amp Reciprocating Saw
from Schaumburg, IL, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great product

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
works great, a bit heavy for DIY but gets work done well!!
Pros: Durable, Powerful
Cons: Too Heavy
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 >>