728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Saws or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 11-Amp Reciprocating Saw

11-Amp Reciprocating Saw

The Makita 11-Amp Reciprocating Saw (model JR3050T) combines a powerful 11 -amp motor with less weight (7.3 lbs.) for all day use and improved performance. The 11-amp motor with variable speed (0-2,800 SPM) has a 1-1/8 inch blade stroke for efficient cutting. It is ideal for metal cutting, wood cutting, drywall and plaster, plastics, remodeling, and demolition applications. The JR3050T also features an internal dust blower system to clear debris from the line of cut for improved visibility, with a heavy-duty shoe and “tool-less” blade change for fast blade change and removal.
Overall rating:
4.792 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(24 reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
91%of customersrecommend this product21 of 23reviews
Rating Breakdown 24 reviews
4.8 out of 5.0
5
(21)
4
(1)
3
(2)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9 out of 5
91%of customersrecommend this product21 of 23reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer reviews for 11-Amp Reciprocating Saw
Review 1 for 11-Amp Reciprocating Saw
from Chanhassen, MN, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Terrific for my needs

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I'm a DIYer, and I bought this to do some renovations in the basement. Makita has the easiest to use blade changing mechanism out there. I also liked the adjustable shoe. What makes it particularly appealing is the wide trigger and the rubberized grip on the front as it is easy to operate upside down, which is frequently needed when doing demolition.
For demolition you'll want to buy some new blades, like the Diablo ones sold at HD. They're thicker and more durable. The Makita blade is thin and bent on me the first time I used it.
This was a really good value, and has a lot of features you don't find in other brands lower priced models. A terrific value for the DIYer.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 11-Amp Reciprocating Saw

Makita saw

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is one powerful reciprocating saw! I love it. Works great and blades are easy to change and it comes with a really nice hard case with room for extra blades. Highly recommend. I would definitely purchase this saw again. For the price it is a great value.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 11-Amp Reciprocating Saw
from Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Makita has been my tool of choice for years

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Always gets the job done and it gets thrown around like a child's toy.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 11-Amp Reciprocating Saw
from Oklahoma
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Mikita Reciprocationg saw

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am impressed with the power of the 11 amp motor after using a B&D firestorm for many years. The performance is very good and will meet my needs. The only negative is the trigger lock is located where it can be pressed without knowing and it continues to run.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 11-Amp Reciprocating Saw
from Connecticut, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fast, quiet, easy to control

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This saw is fast, easy to control, quiet and as accurate as one would expect for rough work. I was very pleased.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 11-Amp Reciprocating Saw
from Oak Brook, IL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great saw & comes with a great case.

PostedJuly 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I looked at several saws in this price range. This saw has all the features I was looking for, including good power, stroke length and speed. It also comes with a hard plastic case big enough to hold the saw with a blade in place.
Pros: Powerful, strong case
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 11-Amp Reciprocating Saw
from Berlin
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A little workhorse

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This saw is easy to use and powerful. I'm a woman who uses power tools and this one is just right for me, not too heavy but strong and multi-purpose. I bought it to cut tree branches and it does the job. It is quite worth the money.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 11-Amp Reciprocating Saw
from Grand Rapids, Michigan
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

New Favorite Tool

PostedJuly 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
More power tools !! Wanted one for a while. Forget batteries, gotta be electric. Different all together, much more maneuverable/versatile than a circular saw for tight/awkward spaces. Titanium blade demolished Corkscrew Hazel branches to 3 inches thick. Didn't read directions to find out about trigger lock. Takes a couple tries to load blade. Don't have real strong hands to keep the blade lock open. After how many cuts had to rest my hands for a sec. Weight not an issue. Thumbs up.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 11-Amp Reciprocating Saw
Gender:Male

Great product

PostedMarch 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Simple tool that works great every time. quality on par with a tool of its price. gets used and abused from the job to the farm and hold up well. Love the easily removable/adjustable guard. only complaint is the blades are hard to change with cold or gloved hands, but taking off the guard solves that in a hurry maybe not important but the case has a great blade storage area, i can fit up to 20 blades in the case so i always have them at hand.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 11-Amp Reciprocating Saw
from Michigan

Great Saw

PostedNovember 21, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I love this saw. I wish I had bought it years ago. It cuts through wood like a hot knife through butter. I tore down an 8 x 20 deck with it in about a half hour.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 11-Amp Reciprocating Saw
from Charleston, SC, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

works nice and fast

PostedNovember 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have bought others before.But the rest do not compare to this. I would recomend to others to buy.It performs great for my kind of work.It real fast.
Pros: Powerful
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 11-Amp Reciprocating Saw
from Schaumburg, IL, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great product

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
works great, a bit heavy for DIY but gets work done well!!
Pros: Durable, Powerful
Cons: Too Heavy
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 11-Amp Reciprocating Saw
from San Jose, CA

Very good quality

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to use, very powerful. No need to worry about charging nor the battery life. I bought a 100-feet extension power line to make sure this tool can be used at every corner of my yard.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, All In One, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 11-Amp Reciprocating Saw
from Austin, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Heavy duty and powerful

PostedJanuary 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Super heavy duty! weight is more than my wife can handle for our DYI pojects but works great for me. Is rather large so not good for tight spaces but has the power to cut through 4X4 in no time at all.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Sturdy, Long-Lasting, makita product
Cons: Too Heavy, big for tight space
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 11-Amp Reciprocating Saw
from California
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great light weight pro level saw

PostedFebruary 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Light weight, plenty of power, lock on, quick release chick, rubber grip, two finger trigger paddle, great case with lots of storage space. Awesome tool.
See it in action by viewing this video review.
Pros: Powerful, Light Weight
Cons: no led light
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 11-Amp Reciprocating Saw
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

power to spare

PostedJanuary 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great Balance, Excellent Power. Comes With Blades, But Buy Your Own.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 11-Amp Reciprocating Saw

Design Flaw

PostedJuly 19, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I tried out all the sawzalls in the price category. Looked forward to the Makita but found the units button locking mechanism to be very dangerous. The button next to the trigger is hard not to hit while using the sawzall. It then locks the unit into gear and the trigger is then bypassed leaving you to wonder whether or not the unit is going to stop when you need it to. Took it back and got the Milwaukee and couldn't be more happy with it.
-9points
5out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 11-Amp Reciprocating Saw
from Macungie, PA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good tool

PostedJanuary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've been cutting through wood laced with nails and had no problem. The heavy vibration and noise is, while unpleasant, understandable. Wear earplugs.
Pros: Accurate
Cons: heavy vibrations and loud noise
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 11-Amp Reciprocating Saw
from West Coast, CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great re-built saw

PostedDecember 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
You will not recognize this saw as "used". Going over the entire casing, electrical cord, exposed metal parts - everything looks new on the outside. The saw must have had a thorough check on the internal parts and cleaned. The saw sounds great when fired up. There is a limited warranty. Good value.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 11-Amp Reciprocating Saw
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Powerful and easy to use

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have owned sawzall of different brands but this is the best one I've had easy to use and lightweight
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Good Size & Weight, Durable
Cons: none
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>