728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for K-400 Drain Cleaner

K-400 Drain Cleaner

The K-400 offers several unique, user-friendly features to make the toughest drain cleaning jobs easier and hassle-free. Designed with a sleek profile, the K-400 is a great fit for drain cleaners, service plumbers, facility and institutional maintenance departments and property management companies.
Overall rating:
4.576 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(59 reviews) 58
Open Ratings Snapshot
95%of customersrecommend this product54 of 57reviews
Rating Breakdown 59 reviews
4.6 out of 5.0
5
(40)
4
(13)
3
(6)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Ease of installation 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
Quality 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
95%of customersrecommend this product54 of 57reviews
Customer questions and answers:
18 Questions | 38 Answers
Customer reviews for K-400 Drain Cleaner
Review 1 for K-400 Drain Cleaner
from Los Angeles, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Another Rave for the K-400

PostedJune 9, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The K-400 lives up to the RIDGID reputation for professional grade tools. Used it to clear a sewer drain from an outside cleanout and it worked just as described in the manual. Instruction DVD was a big help as this is a fairly complicated tool for a DIY homeowner. Wish it came standard with the autofeed option. Only problem is workmanship related: I noticed after using the tool that the cable end was not secured in the drum clamp. Looks like one of the cable clamp screws are cross threaded and the cable either wasn't installed in the clamp or was loose and came out. Other than this minor problem 5 our of 5 stars and after one or two more uses it will have paid for itself!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+23points
25out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 2 for K-400 Drain Cleaner
from rego park
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Excellent value but NOT for thick roots

PostedDecember 31, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
HD has been my "go to" store for emergency purchases and the last time I purchased a electric drain cleaner was when I purchased house. Recent trunk line clog required something more stout other than hand held electric snake hence a K400 purchase. Clog cleared however the heads provided in kit are of limited use. C-cutter eventually cleared tree root clog and I wish HD would stock a better selection of cutter heads along with 1/2 inch cables. FYI, the drain cleaner rentals at HD are "hit or miss" not to mention ocassional malfunctioning units which is why I purchased new. Cost analysis on purchase indicates a minimum of 2 useages before purchase is completely paid for...not a problem for me since I lend it out to family members. Home Depot Rocks especially with their tool department....I'm like a kid in a candy store each time I walk down the tool aisle!
Pros: good unit for homeowner use
Cons: stock more replacement cables and cutters hd!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+26points
36out of 46found this review helpful.
Review 3 for K-400 Drain Cleaner
from Odessa, TX, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great!

PostedMarch 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We bought this snake to replace a very old one of a similar type which was on its last legs. We live out in the country and get clogs in the sewer line going to the septic tank about once a year. This new Ridgid snake works great and feeds into the drain pipe very smoothly. We used it to clear a clog in the main sewer line when the old snake failed to do it. Used the bulb auger and got the drain flowing well again when the snake was removed. Very valuable to have on hand and not have to wait for or pay the plumber...in a few more uses it will have paid for itself. On the old one we had, the belt was continuously coming off but not on this new one. Looks very well made and the built-in wheels and handle are handy for rolling it to the sewer cleanout outside.
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 4 for K-400 Drain Cleaner

Drain Cleaner Does the Job

PostedJanuary 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I run the maintenance and construction department for a private college, and must spend my money wisely on both materials and tools. I researched the quality and versatility of many commercial grade drain cleaners and found that I was the most comfortable with the K-400. I came to realize that out in a rural setting, that saving the money of having a plumber come and clean a main drain just 2 times pays for the machine. It has already paid for itself in less than one month. No regrets. No Complaints.
Pros: Reliable, Good Instructions, light enough for one person to lift.
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 5 for K-400 Drain Cleaner
from IL
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Buy it! Will work on 4" sewer lines and WILL WORK ON ROOTS!

PostedJanuary 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I don't want you to have to go thru what I went thru, hence this review. I spent - not kidding - 10 hours researching online. Amazon, home depot, plumbers forums. I needed to clear my main line of tree roots, feminine products, etc. Many plumbers said I would injure myself, possibly crack my skull. Also, that this product was too small to work on a 4" line and roots. Well, they couldn't be more wrong. I suppose there are always exceptions, but at no time did I fear injury from using this product. I did not follow the manufacturers instructions. I put it right in the 4" line and went to work on the 4" roots. It took 8 passes 75' out with the supplied 3/8" line, but this machine pulled approximately 5 pounds wet of tree roots. I don't like being lied to, and I believe the worst thing you can do many times is listen to free advice. Buy it. You'll be glad you did when it's 20 degrees out and you can't get a plumber to answer the phone, or they answer the phone and you wish they hadn't. Enjoy!
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+45points
47out of 49found this review helpful.
Review 6 for K-400 Drain Cleaner
from Bayside, Queens, NY, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Worth it if used

PostedJanuary 7, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Machine is sturdy and does the job.
I chosen to buy instead of renting or calling for service because I have a clog once or twice a year, and when it happens...it is a hassle because MURPHY's always on your side and you are usually in trouble!
Machine does a great job removing ROOTS (my main problem) with supplied hardware.
You DO HAVE TO be careful when operating, it is very important to read the safety tips before attempting to use it, however there is NO WORRIES in using the machine if you follow instructions and work slowly, as the machine is very well made and has some good safety features.
Pros: Easy to Install, Reliable, Good Instructions, no heavy
Cons: cleaning after service is difficult
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for K-400 Drain Cleaner

life saver

PostedAugust 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
First time ever snake out sewer drain uncloged
in 45 minutes baby wipes great investment highly recommended
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for K-400 Drain Cleaner
from Clear Lake City, TX 77058, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good machine, resolved my problem in a half hour

PostedMay 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After spending Saturday with a 50 foot spring snake trying to clean out a kitchen/laundry drain line, I took the plunge and got a Ridgid k400. Machine comes with 75' cable, three cleaning tips, gloves, and an instructional CD. I ran the 'pear' tip through the plugged drain in 15 minutes, and it came out full of hair. It was followed by a flat cleaning tip, and drain flows just fine. Note: instructions (inside the box) specifically say that the K400 is not intended to cut roots. Fortunately, roots weren't my problem, just a congealed mass of hair, soap solids, and grease.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 9 for K-400 Drain Cleaner
from Santa Rosa, California

It works but....

PostedFebruary 14, 2009
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
First time use the belt came off. Belt keeps coming off in reverse. Most important is that it works for what I need it for but is a bit of a pain due to belt slipping off. All it needs is a bumper to keep the belt from falling off the drum. I will probably make one when the pain of it coming off really bothers me.
So - belt issue gives it 3 stars if not for that then for the value it is worth 5 stars. Prige is good and of course Ridgid is my choice of power tools always.
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 10 for K-400 Drain Cleaner
from Austin, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product at higher price

PostedMarch 5, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Easy to use, light enough to haul around, upstairs and 3rd floor apartments. Works great if you try to snake it from inside the house out. The provided 75ft x 3/8" cable tends to twist a bit when using on the main sewage line. The printed aid (online and from the box) is wrong. This machine can only handle 75ft - 1/2" cable or 100ft - 3/8" cable. It cannot support the 100ft 1/2" cable as advertized after verifying with manufacturer. I would not buy this machine if I knew this info before hand.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 11 for K-400 Drain Cleaner
from Raleigh, NC

What a great machine!

PostedJuly 5, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had a stuck drain which had been nagging us for the past 3 months. We have tried everything-small snakes, handheld snakes, and drain chemicals to dissolve the blockage. We decided we needed a drum type snake. I then went to the rental store to rent a drum type snake. I got it home and plugged it in and found out that the motor was burned out. So I brought it back to the rental store and they credited back my credit card. I finally decided that I am going to buy the best and I went to Home Depot and bought the Ridgid K-400. I plugged it in and went to work on my drain. I couldn't figure it out. It wouldn't drain like it should. I tried all the different bits that are supplied and last of all I put the cutting bit. Suddenly all the water disappeared! I was so relieved. We started pulling up fragments of a rag. I don't know how it got down there, but now the drain is clear and it is draining. I also have rentals so that is another reason I decided to buy the machine. I am very happy. All I can say is after you have exhausted all other means, use this machine. It worked great and I would recommend it to anyone who has a serious job to do. Tom in Raleigh, NC.
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 12 for K-400 Drain Cleaner

great drain cleaner

PostedMarch 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used it yesterday with a 3 1/2" c cutter. I know it says not for over 3" lines but I used it and worked slowly. it brought out a bunch of feeler roots. I purchased this for routine cleaning of my sewer line. it works great. just in case the 3/8" cable fails due to me forcing the issue I purchased a 1/2" x 50' cable to replace it with. I put it to the test yesterday and it passed with flying colors. watch the DVD that comes with it, very informative. highly recommend.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for K-400 Drain Cleaner
from Port Richey, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Gets the Job Done Everytime

PostedFebruary 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I told my wife that after renting these machines from HD at least 5 times over the past few years that I was going to buy one & i wouldn't have to worry about paying $50-$75 depending on how many hours i had the machine for.
My son seems to clog the Drains more than i care to mention. Since i have had this machine i have used it at least 3 times. My clean out drain goes right by my Giant Camphor Tree which causes some of the Backups.
Machine is easy to Operate & it gives you 3 different attachments to choose from. Sometimes i do have to rerun the cable more then once through the pipe but ultimately it gets the Job done. I was thinking about starting my own clean out service until Troy who works at the HD location in Port Richey,FL told me that you need to have a License to do that. I figure that another few more back ups & the machine will have paid for itself. Wish I would have bought it sooner.
The machine has wheels on it so it is easy to pull around. Very Easy to use. Glad that I made this Purchase. Plus I was told that this unit has a Lifetime Warranty on it.
Just make sure to properly clean & dry cables & attachments as well. You will get Rust on the cable if you don't dry off the Cable.
Pros: Reliable, Good Instructions, easy to haul, long cable
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for K-400 Drain Cleaner
from Santa Ana
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Machine!

PostedOctober 8, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
With a little time and patience, this thing cuts through roots, which was exactly what I needed! It's quiet and powerful. Build quality is good and sturdy. It says made in the US but not all parts of it are which is a little dissapointing but overall Rigid products has never let me down so far. Lifetime warranty! For the price, they could have included the autofeed. Other than that, I'm a happy customer!
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 15 for K-400 Drain Cleaner
from Illinois, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Small roots no problem

PostedMay 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We was very impressed with how fast this machine cleaned out our sewer. We had tree roots in our sewer and it pulled them out with ease. This has already paid for itself.Especially for a week-end emergency. We have another rodder, but the cable is constantly kinking up. You will not have that problem with this rodder. We were debating on replacing our old cable or buying this heavy duty machine. It is the best investment we could have made. since I am a plumber by trade, it will come in handy.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, does not kink up
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for K-400 Drain Cleaner
from Pennsylvania, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

its a workhorse

PostedNovember 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Use in a small hotel (100 rooms ) with old clay pipes for sewer clogs . It does a great job and saves me money from getting a professional company out to clean out the pipes. Sturdy and reliable
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for K-400 Drain Cleaner
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to use

PostedNovember 26, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this product do to clogged drains to clear roots. I hired professional plumber before to clear my pipes but it was getting pricey. So i picked up one. It does work great on larger pipes and straight shots, Some 90 degrees were difficult to maneuver. You have to go slow but it does get through small roots, i will need to invest in a cutting head. Only complain is they need a 100ft cable, not 75ft
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 18 for K-400 Drain Cleaner
from Redwood Falls, MN 56283, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

GREAT PRODUCT! HIGHLY RECOMEND

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
WORKS GREAT I WOULD HIGHLY RECOMEND THIS PRODUCT!!!!!
Pros: Reliable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for K-400 Drain Cleaner
from Silicon Valley,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent Product

PostedJune 30, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I also "took the plunge" and bought this unit about two years ago. My only regret is that I did not buy it sooner. Yes, one or two uses and it is indeed paid for. Not that hard to use at all, especially if you have observed a rooter guy routing out your main line. Follow the instructions, see the video and it's a snap for the intermediate DIYer. And yes, the auto-feed attachment is nice to have, but not essential - I eventually bought one. Product is a Rigid, so rest assured you get a well-built, quality product. Find a place to store it with your important tools. You are going to have it for a long, long time.
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 20 for K-400 Drain Cleaner
from Brooklyn, NY

It got the job done but....

PostedDecember 4, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
the rubber foot switch is it's weak link. I\within an hour of constant on and off foot switching, the base of the pump started to crack and released air. In order to finished the job, I had to cut off the defective pump, get an empty hydrogen peroxide bottle drill a small hole in the cap just to make it a temporary pump. Will contact RIDGID on this and have no intentions of returning the Cleaner because it's a great machine overall.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>