728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for K-400 Drain Cleaner

K-400 Drain Cleaner

The K-400 offers several unique, user-friendly features to make the toughest drain cleaning jobs easier and hassle-free. Designed with a sleek profile, the K-400 is a great fit for drain cleaners, service plumbers, facility and institutional maintenance departments and property management companies.
Overall rating:
4.541 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(148 reviews) 147
Open Ratings Snapshot
95%of customersrecommend this product138 of 146reviews
Rating Breakdown 148 reviews
4.5 out of 5
5
(102)
4
(31)
3
(11)
2
(1)
1
(3)
Ease of installation 
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
Quality 
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
95%of customersrecommend this product138 of 146reviews
Customer questions and answers:
22 Questions | 46 Answers
Customer reviews for K-400 Drain Cleaner
Review 1 for K-400 Drain Cleaner
from Los Angeles, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Another Rave for the K-400

PostedJune 9, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The K-400 lives up to the RIDGID reputation for professional grade tools. Used it to clear a sewer drain from an outside cleanout and it worked just as described in the manual. Instruction DVD was a big help as this is a fairly complicated tool for a DIY homeowner. Wish it came standard with the autofeed option. Only problem is workmanship related: I noticed after using the tool that the cable end was not secured in the drum clamp. Looks like one of the cable clamp screws are cross threaded and the cable either wasn't installed in the clamp or was loose and came out. Other than this minor problem 5 our of 5 stars and after one or two more uses it will have paid for itself!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+25points
27out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 2 for K-400 Drain Cleaner
from rego park
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Excellent value but NOT for thick roots

PostedDecember 31, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
HD has been my "go to" store for emergency purchases and the last time I purchased a electric drain cleaner was when I purchased house. Recent trunk line clog required something more stout other than hand held electric snake hence a K400 purchase. Clog cleared however the heads provided in kit are of limited use. C-cutter eventually cleared tree root clog and I wish HD would stock a better selection of cutter heads along with 1/2 inch cables. FYI, the drain cleaner rentals at HD are "hit or miss" not to mention ocassional malfunctioning units which is why I purchased new. Cost analysis on purchase indicates a minimum of 2 useages before purchase is completely paid for...not a problem for me since I lend it out to family members. Home Depot Rocks especially with their tool department....I'm like a kid in a candy store each time I walk down the tool aisle!
Pros: good unit for homeowner use
Cons: stock more replacement cables and cutters hd!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+31points
41out of 51found this review helpful.
Review 3 for K-400 Drain Cleaner
from Dearborn Heights, MI
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

GOOD LITTLE MACHINE

PostedJune 22, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I purchased this machine knowing it was not meant for the job I was doing, but it worked out great. I had a main sewer line with root blockage at 60 to 70 foot down the pipe. Tried using the machine with the supplied attachments with little to no success. Found seller (ermas14), on Ebay , who sold several different attachment for this unit. I purchased one that was a circular shaped blade about 2 inches in diameter. Hooked to snake and worked slowly back and fourth against the root ball. After a bit I finally broke through. I am well satisfied with the machine and am looking into a longer cable. I would like to see unit sold with a better assortment of attachments.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for K-400 Drain Cleaner
from Cincinnati, OH
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Incredibly Disappointed

PostedJuly 25, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I debated on renting or purchasing. Despising the thought of lugging that huge rental back to the house, I opted to purchase this one. I regret every minute from the moment I made that decision. The very first obstruction I encountered, I immediately left off the power pedal. Too late, it completely bird nested the coil in the drum. An hour later, the time it took me to fix the cable, I proceeded to run it again in reverse to recoil it. Nope, bird nest again. So much for the torque limiter it has. Now, having not successfully used the device for its intended purpose, the coil is kinked in multiple places and is nearly useless. $500 of regret. And I need to go rent a functional auger. I am contemplating just wheeling it back to Home Depot and leaving it at the front door, that's how angry I am at this purchase.
Cons: useless
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for K-400 Drain Cleaner
from vancouver, wa
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

worked like a charm

PostedJuly 30, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
purchased this about 3 hours ago. main backs up maybe 2-3 times a year. usually just wait as hasnt been too much of an issue. this time persisted for a week and after a c_rap back up in both showers and both toilets i had enough. neighbor and i split it figuring we might both use it 1-2 times a year and for 250$ each paid for itself quickly.
installation takes about 2 mins. there is a video that comes with the unit which is super handy. the instructions are pretty straightforward. cant comment much on quality as first time ive used but i didnt break it. for 500$ vs 200$ for a plumber to show up. easy.
only 'negative' is frankly you're going to work. if you buy the auto cable winding, you definitely scored assuming it works like shown in video. if you dont, be ready to sweat a bit for the 30-45 mins might take to clear the clog. but when you see that water drain out of the main line it's hella worth it.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions, cleared the clog that's what counts
Cons: reasonably demanding physically
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for K-400 Drain Cleaner

Drain Cleaner Does the Job

PostedJanuary 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I run the maintenance and construction department for a private college, and must spend my money wisely on both materials and tools. I researched the quality and versatility of many commercial grade drain cleaners and found that I was the most comfortable with the K-400. I came to realize that out in a rural setting, that saving the money of having a plumber come and clean a main drain just 2 times pays for the machine. It has already paid for itself in less than one month. No regrets. No Complaints.
Pros: Reliable, Good Instructions, light enough for one person to lift.
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 7 for K-400 Drain Cleaner
from IL
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Buy it! Will work on 4" sewer lines and WILL WORK ON ROOTS!

PostedJanuary 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I don't want you to have to go thru what I went thru, hence this review. I spent - not kidding - 10 hours researching online. Amazon, home depot, plumbers forums. I needed to clear my main line of tree roots, feminine products, etc. Many plumbers said I would injure myself, possibly crack my skull. Also, that this product was too small to work on a 4" line and roots. Well, they couldn't be more wrong. I suppose there are always exceptions, but at no time did I fear injury from using this product. I did not follow the manufacturers instructions. I put it right in the 4" line and went to work on the 4" roots. It took 8 passes 75' out with the supplied 3/8" line, but this machine pulled approximately 5 pounds wet of tree roots. I don't like being lied to, and I believe the worst thing you can do many times is listen to free advice. Buy it. You'll be glad you did when it's 20 degrees out and you can't get a plumber to answer the phone, or they answer the phone and you wish they hadn't. Enjoy!
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+49points
51out of 53found this review helpful.
Review 8 for K-400 Drain Cleaner
from Odessa, TX, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great!

PostedMarch 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
We bought this snake to replace a very old one of a similar type which was on its last legs. We live out in the country and get clogs in the sewer line going to the septic tank about once a year. This new Ridgid snake works great and feeds into the drain pipe very smoothly. We used it to clear a clog in the main sewer line when the old snake failed to do it. Used the bulb auger and got the drain flowing well again when the snake was removed. Very valuable to have on hand and not have to wait for or pay the plumber...in a few more uses it will have paid for itself. On the old one we had, the belt was continuously coming off but not on this new one. Looks very well made and the built-in wheels and handle are handy for rolling it to the sewer cleanout outside.
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 9 for K-400 Drain Cleaner
from Trumbull, CT
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Everything

PostedJuly 28, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The Pro Department Staff at the Trumbull, CT location are amazing, kind and courteous.
They know every product and are extremely knowledgeable.
John Koch, another employee is always willing to help and has a wealth of information.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for K-400 Drain Cleaner
from Clear Lake City, TX 77058, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good machine, resolved my problem in a half hour

PostedMay 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
After spending Saturday with a 50 foot spring snake trying to clean out a kitchen/laundry drain line, I took the plunge and got a Ridgid k400. Machine comes with 75' cable, three cleaning tips, gloves, and an instructional CD. I ran the 'pear' tip through the plugged drain in 15 minutes, and it came out full of hair. It was followed by a flat cleaning tip, and drain flows just fine. Note: instructions (inside the box) specifically say that the K400 is not intended to cut roots. Fortunately, roots weren't my problem, just a congealed mass of hair, soap solids, and grease.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 11 for K-400 Drain Cleaner
from Santa Rosa, California

It works but....

PostedFebruary 14, 2009
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
First time use the belt came off. Belt keeps coming off in reverse. Most important is that it works for what I need it for but is a bit of a pain due to belt slipping off. All it needs is a bumper to keep the belt from falling off the drum. I will probably make one when the pain of it coming off really bothers me.
So - belt issue gives it 3 stars if not for that then for the value it is worth 5 stars. Prige is good and of course Ridgid is my choice of power tools always.
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 12 for K-400 Drain Cleaner
from Raleigh, NC

What a great machine!

PostedJuly 5, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I had a stuck drain which had been nagging us for the past 3 months. We have tried everything-small snakes, handheld snakes, and drain chemicals to dissolve the blockage. We decided we needed a drum type snake. I then went to the rental store to rent a drum type snake. I got it home and plugged it in and found out that the motor was burned out. So I brought it back to the rental store and they credited back my credit card. I finally decided that I am going to buy the best and I went to Home Depot and bought the Ridgid K-400. I plugged it in and went to work on my drain. I couldn't figure it out. It wouldn't drain like it should. I tried all the different bits that are supplied and last of all I put the cutting bit. Suddenly all the water disappeared! I was so relieved. We started pulling up fragments of a rag. I don't know how it got down there, but now the drain is clear and it is draining. I also have rentals so that is another reason I decided to buy the machine. I am very happy. All I can say is after you have exhausted all other means, use this machine. It worked great and I would recommend it to anyone who has a serious job to do. Tom in Raleigh, NC.
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 13 for K-400 Drain Cleaner
from Austin, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product at higher price

PostedMarch 5, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Easy to use, light enough to haul around, upstairs and 3rd floor apartments. Works great if you try to snake it from inside the house out. The provided 75ft x 3/8" cable tends to twist a bit when using on the main sewage line. The printed aid (online and from the box) is wrong. This machine can only handle 75ft - 1/2" cable or 100ft - 3/8" cable. It cannot support the 100ft 1/2" cable as advertized after verifying with manufacturer. I would not buy this machine if I knew this info before hand.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 14 for K-400 Drain Cleaner
from Santa Ana
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Machine!

PostedOctober 8, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
With a little time and patience, this thing cuts through roots, which was exactly what I needed! It's quiet and powerful. Build quality is good and sturdy. It says made in the US but not all parts of it are which is a little dissapointing but overall Rigid products has never let me down so far. Lifetime warranty! For the price, they could have included the autofeed. Other than that, I'm a happy customer!
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 15 for K-400 Drain Cleaner
from Watertown Wisconsin
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Welcome tool for my collection.

PostedFebruary 26, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have both rented manual and power drain cleaning equipment to clear the main waste line. I own several Ridgid hand tools,and have had no problems with them. So in my search to purchase and power drain cleaner I went on line to research which brand was preferred. I'm sure the commercial machine that I have rented @ seventy dollars an hour have more power than the K-400,but for the money this machine is a welcome tool for my collection.
Pros: Good Instructions
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for K-400 Drain Cleaner
from Brooklyn, NY

It got the job done but....

PostedDecember 4, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
the rubber foot switch is it's weak link. I\within an hour of constant on and off foot switching, the base of the pump started to crack and released air. In order to finished the job, I had to cut off the defective pump, get an empty hydrogen peroxide bottle drill a small hole in the cap just to make it a temporary pump. Will contact RIDGID on this and have no intentions of returning the Cleaner because it's a great machine overall.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 17 for K-400 Drain Cleaner
from Silicon Valley,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent Product

PostedJune 30, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I also "took the plunge" and bought this unit about two years ago. My only regret is that I did not buy it sooner. Yes, one or two uses and it is indeed paid for. Not that hard to use at all, especially if you have observed a rooter guy routing out your main line. Follow the instructions, see the video and it's a snap for the intermediate DIYer. And yes, the auto-feed attachment is nice to have, but not essential - I eventually bought one. Product is a Rigid, so rest assured you get a well-built, quality product. Find a place to store it with your important tools. You are going to have it for a long, long time.
+9points
11out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 18 for K-400 Drain Cleaner
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to use

PostedNovember 26, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this product do to clogged drains to clear roots. I hired professional plumber before to clear my pipes but it was getting pricey. So i picked up one. It does work great on larger pipes and straight shots, Some 90 degrees were difficult to maneuver. You have to go slow but it does get through small roots, i will need to invest in a cutting head. Only complain is they need a 100ft cable, not 75ft
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 19 for K-400 Drain Cleaner
from Rushville, NE

Doing the jobs the others can't

PostedNovember 29, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I love my little K400 it is doing the jobs that the little snakes can't. So far it has uncloged sewer lines with roots involved that took a little time, and it has done a wonderul job on a drain that I thought we were not going to get through!! Great machine and has options that make it even better!!. This machine will pay for itself very quickly. I have had no problems with it at all!! Way to go Ridgid another nice tool!!
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 20 for K-400 Drain Cleaner
from Oklahoma City

K-400 Drain cleaner

PostedSeptember 1, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
My father and I went in together on this tool we have to call a plumber out about twice a year to clean out the drains and he is getting up in years.the last drain clog we had was on a Sunday, So we bought K-400 ,its very easy to use and the wheels on the machine makes it easy to move around .it came with a set of gloves to keep your hands clean and safe. I like the fact that it has a built in GFCI in the cord to prevent shock. it is a well built machine. The K-400 have the power to keep a home owner happy with out the price of a pro machine. I know that this machine will pay for its self over the next 2 years and not having to wait on a plumber is great. I wished I have bought a drain cleaning machine years ago. So if you are DYI'er or you have a few rent houses
this machine will make you happy and save you money.
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>