728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 20-Ton Stubby Bottle Jack

20-Ton Stubby Bottle Jack

The Big Red 20-Ton Stubby Bottle Jack can lift some of the heaviest loads. Use this jack to raise as much as 40,000 lb. to a maximum height of nearly 11 in. It sits on a large base for stability.
Overall rating:
4.565 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(23 reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
95%of customersrecommend this product20 of 21reviews
Rating Breakdown 23 reviews
4.6 out of 5.0
5
(15)
4
(7)
3
(0)
2
(1)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
95%of customersrecommend this product20 of 21reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer reviews for 20-Ton Stubby Bottle Jack
Review 1 for 20-Ton Stubby Bottle Jack
from Minnesota, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Needed Muscle

PostedJuly 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased 3 of these bottle jacks to raise a sagging 100 yr old house. Center load bearing wall needed raising 2" and when placed on top of 7" dia. heavy gauge steel pipe w/ 1/2" flanges, they raised it with ease. Doing this kind of work is dangerous so I take my time and raise slowly. It helps to have heavy duty jack posts to assist me as I move down the beam. Walls above floor joists are also supported by jack posts and raised at the same time. If your looking at these jacks for house raising you'll love them., just make sure you have enough of them and a solid base and you'll be fine.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 20-Ton Stubby Bottle Jack
from MO
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent lift capability

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Purchased three of these to level my house. From previous reviews and as described in the pamphlet I bled the jacks first, easy to do. Two of the three jacks performed flawlessly the first time. The third jack did not hold its height and I had to re-bled again, after that it worked well. Excellent value and quality for the price.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 20-Ton Stubby Bottle Jack
from VA
Age Range:55 to 64
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Very nice bottle jack for the price. Solid built and great for the project DIYer

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought 6 of these jacks to do a floor lift project. First jack out the box drifted real bad but I remembered from another review to do a post shipping bleed on it. So I opened the valve, gave about 10 strokes to the pump to bleed down side air. Then I closed the valve and pumped the jack up to full stroke ( about 10 extra pumps after reaching full stroke resistance. opened valve and pushed piston down to full low position. Worked like a champ with only .006 drift on a 8 ton load in 5 days. ( yes I put a dial indicator on it) I think some jack have been returned in error because this post ship bleed down was not done.
oh by the way, about 2 weeks after use I read the manual and low and behold .... right there ..... post ship bleed warning.
When in a tight crawl space , you want a quality jack supporting the load and protecting your life.
Pros: Sturdy, Nice Design, a lot of quality for the price
Cons: jury still out
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 20-Ton Stubby Bottle Jack

Big Red stubby

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used this Jack to jack up my house to repair a floor joice and it did it with no problems. Great little Jack. Great Price!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 20-Ton Stubby Bottle Jack
from Live Free or Die State.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best on the Market

PostedAugust 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Best stubby jack on the market (and only affordable one). Lowest overall height. Easy to use. Used it level my shed and it was a piece of cake with this jack. HD's free shipping option made this jack very affordable! Highly recommended!
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 20-Ton Stubby Bottle Jack

Works great

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this item online because of the better price and reviews compared to what was available in the store - works great.. I've used this twice so far while remodeling a 1937 home. First time was to jack up some ceiling joists between the first and second floor where a previous owner had removed a window header and the wall was sagging. Put the jack under a 4x4 and raised the joist up about 1 3/4 inches to put in a new header. Second use was to support part of a wall while I enlarged an opening and put in a new header. No problems.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 20-Ton Stubby Bottle Jack
from asheville n,c.
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

found what i was looking for

PostedAugust 20, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have used this product before and was very pleased with it. I bought a new one because my old one was left behind when I moved
Pros: Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 20-Ton Stubby Bottle Jack
from Carrboro
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Perfect for lifting your house support/joists

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We used these jacks to lift up our single story house (just a tad bit) to replace the existing supports. It does the job.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Move
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 20-Ton Stubby Bottle Jack

Worth the money.

PostedMarch 29, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I was doing some leveling work on my mobile home and this came in handy. Super strong and easy to use.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 20-Ton Stubby Bottle Jack

easy to operate, does a good job

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Did a gook job for what I bought it for.Good lifting capacity.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 20-Ton Stubby Bottle Jack
from Annandale MN

20 Ton Stubby Bottle Jack

PostedApril 30, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is great. I liked it so well I got a 2nd one.
I am jacking up my house and being female I do not have shoulder strength that men do and this has made my job so easy that everyone should have one or two in my case.
I have already recomended it to 3 people.
+12points
15out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 20-Ton Stubby Bottle Jack

Only 10% fail rate = Pretty good

PostedOctober 2, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought 10 of these little buggers from Home Depot. They come in 2 packs for shipping purposes which was nice.
Of the 10 jacks I bought, only 1 failed to hold the load, it had a 1/2" per hour fall. The rest less than 1/128" Per hour @ 1500# load. I took the failed one to the local Home Depot and they refunded it (no problem : ) I wished they stocked these at the HD but I guess it takes shelf space.
All Jacks seam a bit low on oil = at the top they seam to run out and pump some air, this only affects the top 1/4" of the stroke and can be fixed by adding oil to the jack. Just the mfg shaving to many pennys.
All in All I think these are pretty good, I would have paid 50% more for USA built Jacks, but all USA Brands seam to be about 3 times the price. Oh well.
Lastly make sure you have a lever or pry space under the jack when jacking, as the cylinder does not like to come down with out 30 + pounds of force which you can do with a screw driver if you lift it a little. = Space in one small area under the jack to pry it up moving the cylinder enough to give you room to remove it.
Pros: Easy to Move, Nice Design
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 20-Ton Stubby Bottle Jack
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Reason why I bought this stubby jack...

PostedOctober 2, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought a 3 year old Chevy Silverado 3500HD pickup truck. Didn't think much about it until i noticed that the original OEM jack and hardware were missing. Checked pricing to replace the jack hardware and Oh Boy sticker shock. So I bought this stubby jack instead. I measured the height under the wheels to make sure it would fit. It does. The jack is obviously over kill but my intention is to haul a 5th wheel trailer so I wanted all the muscle I could get. The jack got pretty good reviews as I have seen so far. Haven't had the occasion yet to put it to productive use, but it has worked initially. The jack handle is kind of hokey. It comes in three pieces with each outer piece inserted into the middle section and secured with 1/4 inch bolts. So you have a bunch of pieces floating around until you need to use it that you have to bolt together.
Pros: note: this jack is heavy
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 20-Ton Stubby Bottle Jack
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent Jack

PostedOctober 5, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We are using this jack to help lift an outer walls of an above ground house in order to replace a bad sills. The jack has performed well. It is effortless to do the lifting with this jack. The short height is a positive. We are getting another one to help with future work. It seems very well made.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 20-Ton Stubby Bottle Jack
from 21114
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Strong little rascal!

PostedNovember 30, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This bottle Jack works great. It easily lifted my house. It is small enough to fit in the space of a concrete block. It did not bleed down when left loaded for a few days.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 20-Ton Stubby Bottle Jack
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

As advertised

PostedNovember 9, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This jack is just what I needed. Having to jack up a small shop that is about to fall in and it is about 18" off the ground so this jack is perfect
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 20-Ton Stubby Bottle Jack
from Boston- South Shore

Less than $2 per ton

PostedAugust 24, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Needed to lift rear enclosed poarch due to sonna tube fondation posts settling. Looked at house/railroad jacks on Craig's list at about $50 to $75 each but 100 plus miles drive (@$.50 per mile say $50 min) total over $100. This jack is new, very ruggard , no driving, lifted poarch with ease and saved at least $50. Kept dry and clean it should last for years and years and be available to do so.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 20-Ton Stubby Bottle Jack

Extremely impressive especially for the price

PostedJuly 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These are great little jacks. They're small enough to get into tight spots, they hold pressure over time, they're very easy to use, and they really do lift real heavy things, like the beams under a house, with very little effort on my part.. They are made of extremely thick iron or steel - no aluminum or plastic to be found, and all that at an excellent price.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Easy to Move, Nice Design, small size
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 20-Ton Stubby Bottle Jack

Excellent product for the price

PostedSeptember 20, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was extremely pleased with the jack and it's ease of use. The prep instructions were clear and easy to follow and the jack preformed well for the tasks that I wanted it for.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 20-Ton Stubby Bottle Jack

Chinese knock off.

PostedMay 14, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Just fine if you do not nedd a serious jack. Bought 2, one would start to rise even though pressure was released. Ram comes up 1 inch on its own...with no pressure.
Cons: poor design
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 >>