728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Resilient Vinyl Planks or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 6 in. x 36 in. Blue Slate Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft./case)

6 in. x 36 in. Blue Slate Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft./case)

The TrafficMaster Allure 6 in. x 36 in. Blue Slate Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring is water resistant and ideal for use in high-moisture areas, such as basements, kitchens and bathrooms. The flooring has the look and feel of real wood with the added comfort of warmth and quiet underfoot. The flooring installs in just a few hours with easy, interlocking-edge planks that require no glue.
Overall rating:
4.261 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(23 reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
83%of customersrecommend this product19 of 23reviews
Rating Breakdown 23 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(15)
4
(4)
3
(1)
2
(1)
1
(2)
Appearance 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Quality 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Value 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
83%of customersrecommend this product19 of 23reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer reviews for 6 in. x 36 in. Blue Slate Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft./case)
Review 1 for 6 in. x 36 in. Blue Slate Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft./case)
JK446
from Youngstown, OH, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent Brand

PostedMarch 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This floor is soft and comfortable on your feet. Easy to clean and water resistant. Install is super easy. No issues. Some complained of smell because of the vinyl material. Ours only had a very faint odor that was gone after install and first cleaning. I ordered a sample before making the purchase. There isn't a lot of blue in the planks. Mostly light and dark grey with some brown swirls which is what we wanted. Very happy with Allure.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Easy to Clean, Comfortable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 6 in. x 36 in. Blue Slate Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft./case)
Andee
from California
Age Range:35 to 44
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I love this floor!

PostedAugust 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We are new DIY-ers, and we put off redoing our kitchen floor for a long time because we were intimidated. The previous owners had put down vinyl tiles and they had slid and moved and left gaps. It was terrible. We bought new peel and stick vinyl tiles to cover it, but just never go around to doing it. Then I read about this product. We returned the tiles and ordered this flooring. No prep, no fancy tools, no headaches. Just a utility knife and a measuring tape. It took us one day to do our kitchen and laundry room. I also like that you can cut out a plank and replace it. Something you can't do with real wood or laminate.
We went to Home Depot and looked at the options and I fell in love with this one. Don't let the name fool you, this does not look like slate and it isn't really blue. Maybe they thought driftwood wouldn't be an attractive name, but that is what it looks like and I love it. It looks like gray weathered driftwood. It's gorgeous. The fact that is already looks distressed, I hope, will hide wear and tear. We've had it for a month, two cats and dog, and so far, no scratches or scuffs.
This floor feels warmer than wood or tile under your feet, and because it floats over your existing floor, it has a little cushion feel to it. I find it much more comfortable to stand on while I'm cooking than on the vinyl that was stuck to the floor.
I don't know how long this will last. We chose it as a temporary floor because we are doing a remodel in a few years. But I love it so much we are thinking of doing this flooring in our bedrooms now.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Looks Like Wood, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Modern, Great Instructions, Easy to Clean, Comfortable, Looks High End, Effective
Cons: Scratches Easily
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 6 in. x 36 in. Blue Slate Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft./case)
Sandi
from Kansas, USA

Highly recommend this flooring

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This flooring was very easy to install and the only tools we needed were a knife and a tape measure. We put it in the bathroom and went back to get more for the kitchen. It looks great and high quality.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Looks Like Wood, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Easy to Clean, Comfortable, Looks High End
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 6 in. x 36 in. Blue Slate Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft./case)
eab402
from valley stream
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

floor is easy to install and looks great

PostedOctober 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
very happy with this product.
works great in my gym and my guest room
color is prettier in person
Pros: Very Adhesive, Easy to Clean, Comfortable, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Modern
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 6 in. x 36 in. Blue Slate Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft./case)
sacurtis
from Hagerstown, MD

Beautiful flooring

PostedMarch 25, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This flooring is really beautiful and easy to put in. The color is a little deeper then appears on the screen--more of a blue grey. Installation can be over existing flooring even if the flooring is damaged. You do not need leveling solution. The flooring just floats over the existing flooring. Cutting of the planks can be accomplished with a exacto knife and straight edge and then snapped off. We used this flooring in a bathroom and it is waterproof, tough and easy to clean. We even accidently spilled some paint on it and it easily came up with rubbing. Great flooring for the remodeling challenged.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 6 in. x 36 in. Blue Slate Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft./case)
Satisfied

Great high end look with low price

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very easy to install. Creates a dramatic change with very little time, effort, and money. One down fall of the product is that the instructions say not to clean it with a steam cleaner or cleaning wipe, which are two popular cleaning methods.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Modern, Looks High End
Cons: Difficult to Clean
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 6 in. x 36 in. Blue Slate Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft./case)
MsLabMgr
from Gainesville, FL 32607

Super Easy & Beautiful

PostedFebruary 7, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Just redid my entire bathroom and used this flooring. I've never installed any type of flooring before, but this was VERY easy. Just score with a knife and snap off for straight cuts. I used heavy duty kitchen scissors to make curved cuts - like around the drain for the toilet. Then replace the 1/4 round molding and you are done. Will definitely use this product again. May just do the whole house in Allure Flooring.
Wish I could post a picture for you to see - it looks fabulous. Oh, and it is gray, NOT blue! Get a sample at your local store before ordering.
Posted pictures on my Facebook page and have already had 2 people ask about the flooring.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 6 in. x 36 in. Blue Slate Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft./case)
John
from Independence, MO, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does not stay down.

PostedMarch 20, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Very easy to install, looks good but does not stay down. After talking to my brother who had installed this product in his home I was very careful putting it down and making sure to follow instructions but after a few days I had areas that were coming up. The areas coming up were always together, two or three pieces making me believe that the problem was probably in the batch and not a mistake in installing them. When an area comes loose, I use gorilla glue to place it down and so far have not had any more problems with it. I would reccomend this product but would caution any one using it to be aware of this problem since my brother had it also.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 6 in. x 36 in. Blue Slate Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft./case)
HubbChick
from Leominster, MA

Allure Flooring

PostedOctober 5, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
In a word "beautiful", it was a risk to order this product online without actually seeing it, I needed 170 sq ft which was not a small expense. I was immediately pleased. It is easy to install but I had to go on line for instructions (not included in the boxes), once I began it took less than a day to complete. I waited a few months before writing this review to see if there were any changes. None, just as beautiful as it was the day I finished installing it. Its the first thing people notice when they go into the bathroom, its a unique looking floor. The color is grayish blue.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 6 in. x 36 in. Blue Slate Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft./case)
SheilaD
from Michigan
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Generally pleased--easy to install.

PostedJune 12, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Color not as represented. Wanted a country blue but product was more dark grey with splotches of lighter grey. Gave it a very weathered look. Easy to install--husband did our bathroom in approximately 3 hours and it looks great installed. I would recommend the product but don't rely on the color.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 6 in. x 36 in. Blue Slate Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft./case)
Gidget59
from South Daytona, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product!

PostedAugust 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We bought the slate blue Traffic Master to do our family room and a new bathroom added on the room. My husband laid the floor which is a pretty good sized room in 2 days.
The color of this tile really is more of a slate gray than blue. I bought it sight unseen and we still liked it. I think you should be aware that there are a lot of variations in the pattern of all the tiles even though they were all from the same lot. We have had to do a little extra "rolling" on some spots where it needed some extra convincing to adhere completely.
The floor is comfortable, really easy maintenance, and it looks much more expensive than it was. I ordered it on line and it came within a week.
We plan to eventually get another color to do our two bedrooms to match a porcelain tile we put in our living/kitchen area.
We would certainly buy this again.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Looks Great, Modern, Easy to Clean, Comfortable, Great Accent, Effective, really easy to handle by yourself, great for diy-ers
Cons: varies is pattern greatly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 6 in. x 36 in. Blue Slate Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft./case)
tuelle
from Delaware USA

Easy to do, looks beautiful

PostedApril 12, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is the second Allure floor I've put down. The first one I helped someone do (in my master bath) and learned from that install. That was a rectangular room and I thought I could do the guest bath myself. This room though was full of weird angles, but with perseverance I was able to install it completely on my own. A suggestion: have a super sharp utility knife, a good hard flat surface on which to cut it, and have good straightedges that don't slide around on the plank as you're cutting. It took a bit of frustration to figure that out. In both rooms though the finished product looks stellar and in the first bath, 5 months later, it still looks and feels wonderful. The blue slate color and distressed look of this product is all we hoped for and more. Perfect with our grey walls and white trim.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 6 in. x 36 in. Blue Slate Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft./case)
lopinjules
from Lebanon, OR 97355, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

LOVE it! Easy to handle and installs quickly

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I purchased this product over a year ago and have now purchased an additional amount to extend the area I originally installed it in.
It is ridiculously easy to clean and maintain. The only thing bad that I can say is that it can be a bit slippery in socks, so if you have mobility issues or fall easily, it may not be the product for you. Also, an oil scent plug in leaked on a small section and ate through the color finish. Other than that spill, nothing has marred the finish at all and we spill a lot with a child running around. I also have several dogs and their nails have done nothing to the product.
I am a female DIY'er and found it very easy to install, and easy to cut with a box cutter. If you can measure and cut straight you can install this product. However, once the adhesive strips come in contact with each other, they are stuck, adjustment isn't really possible. I was easily able to install it by myself in my average size kitchen in about 2 hours. I also installed the same product in my parents bathroom. It is excellent in water splash areas.
Pros: Very Adhesive, High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Easy to Clean, Comfortable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 6 in. x 36 in. Blue Slate Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft./case)
Skat
from Chattahoochee Hills, GA 30268, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product is very sturdy, easy to clean and looks good.

PostedJune 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We put this in the hallway downstairs in the basement and it is beautiful. Easy to clean.
Pros: Looks Like Wood, Sturdy, Looks Great, Easy to Clean, Great Accent, Looks High End
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 6 in. x 36 in. Blue Slate Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft./case)
Htopper15
from Connecticut, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This products after 11 months doesn't hold

PostedJanuary 14, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was looking for a floating floor and my wife liked this one, for its color and me for the price. We had it professionally installed in February 2011. Now after only 11 months the glue that should hold them together doesn't. The edges are sticking up making it difficult to walk on the floor. I have contacted Home Depot demanding they address this matter. Made in China, right!
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 6 in. x 36 in. Blue Slate Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft./case)
mbnel

GRAY

PostedJanuary 10, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Appearance 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was so excited by the idea of slate blue flooring. I was quite disappointed when the tile came and was dark gray. It's going back. There is NO BLUE coloring at all.
Cons: color misrepresented
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 6 in. x 36 in. Blue Slate Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft./case)
harb
from Kansas, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It's different

PostedMay 10, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am very pleased with the way this product turned out. We did something a little different; we bought four different colors and laid them randomly to get a unique look. I'll try to attach a picture if I can, but it really did turn out great and we have all ready gotten so many compliments. We needed to lay flooring over existing linoleum in our kitchen and mud room. What a time saver it is to just lay this product over the top of our existing floors!! Seriously, this saved us SO much time, energy, effort, and probably money too. This particular project, we purchased 3 boxes of Barnwood, and 2 boxes each of Blue Slate, Limed Oak, and Muskoga Oak.
The Blue Slate is different. I can't quite tell if they were wanting to make it look like wood or like slate. It's kind of confusing. The way we used it, it looks good but I'm not sure I would do a whole floor with this one color.
The product was easy to install. It probably took about 8 hours total to install the mudroom and the kitchen floors. Some of the time my husband helped me but I did do quite a lot of it myself. The most time consuming part is making the cuts around things like door frames, plumbing, etc. I do recommend looking up installation on YouTube because the videos I was able to find were really helpful and gave good pointers on how to get a tight fit between planks. The instructions that come with the products aren't all that in depth, so I liked being able to find videos so I could see it done first. Making cuts was pretty easy. You'll want to have a straight-edge and a sharp utility knife and really that's all you need. You cut on the "pretty" side and then bend the product at the cut and it merely snaps apart. Super easy!
I would definitely recommend this product if you want to update your floors but are on a budget. It looks a lot more expensive than it is.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Modern, Effective
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 6 in. x 36 in. Blue Slate Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft./case)
adr97

PostedOctober 15, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I ordered this product for my master bath. I did my smaller bath in the cordoba and loved it. The picture online doesnt give it justice. Looked diffrent, but I actually liked it better after it was down. A little expensive but well worth it if it survives my household!!! Easy to work with!!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 6 in. x 36 in. Blue Slate Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft./case)
Chris

It looks great. Very easy to install

PostedFebruary 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I highly recommend the slate color for the kitchen floor
Pros: Very Adhesive, High Quality of Material, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Easy to Clean, Comfortable, Effective
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 6 in. x 36 in. Blue Slate Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft./case)
bj42

Color Completely Different

PostedNovember 21, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The picture shows a pretty lighter blue - the product is very dark and almost looks like dark cement when several pieces are laid together. The quality and ease of installing would rate 5 stars but the vast difference between the pictured color and the actual color brought me to tears. Without paying $265 in freight, there is no way to return it so we are putting it in our basement as it looks like a cement floor anyway. Too bad - I was so excited about putting this lovely pictured blue in our new sunroom with white wicker furniture. Bummer!!
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 >>