728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Sharpening Tools or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 750X Drill Bit Sharpener

750X Drill Bit Sharpener

The Drill Doctor 750X Drill Bit Sharpener is easy to use and works fast, sharpening bits in less than a minute. It restores dull and broken bits from 0.094 to 3/4 inches in size. This sharpener helps create a self-centering bit for less drill bit wandering while you work.
Overall rating:
4.63 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(27 reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
96%of customersrecommend this product24 of 25reviews
Rating Breakdown 27 reviews
4.6 out of 5
5
(20)
4
(5)
3
(1)
2
(1)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
96%of customersrecommend this product24 of 25reviews
Customer reviews for 750X Drill Bit Sharpener
Review 1 for 750X Drill Bit Sharpener
from Gustine, CA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Just what the "Doctor Ordered"

PostedDecember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
On receiving my Drill Doctor 750 I watched the CD and then went out to my shop and was able to sharpen several drill bits with no problem. I even sharpened one mason bit. I am totally satisfied with this product!
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 750X Drill Bit Sharpener
from Victorville California
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

One of the best experiences I have had buying something.

PostedMarch 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
There was a bit of a learning curve, but the enclosed dvd solved this issue.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 750X Drill Bit Sharpener
from Fullerton, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Good addition to maintenance tools

PostedMarch 25, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Once the instruccions are understood it is very usefull and simple.....but does a great job...
Pros: Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Cons: instruccions not too easy to understand at first
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 750X Drill Bit Sharpener
from Oregon
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

BETTER THAN FACTORY

PostedJanuary 16, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have used this sharpener in my shop for over three years, and it has paid for itself many times over! It is really nice to always have a perfect drill bit to use. We have about two thousand different drill bits, and the "Drill Dr." has been able to put a better than factory cutting face on most all of them.
Not only do we hardly ever have to order new drill bits, but our shop is much more productive because of having the right tool, at the right time!
I have demonstrated the "Drill Dr." to two business associates, and they both have purchased the "Drill Dr."
I feel that the quality of the "Drill Dr." enables use to use the perfect tool every time!
THANK YOU HOME DEPOT ! ! ! !
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accurate, Strong, Long-Lasting
Cons: none
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 750X Drill Bit Sharpener
from Maryland
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This product will Save you money and time!

PostedDecember 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
After considering the other two models I found that you get what you pay for. Go for the 750 model and you will be able to sharpen every single drill bit you own. It offers the 118 degree and 135 degree angles as well as the split point. After sharpening a dozen bits and trying them out on various woods I was impressed.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 750X Drill Bit Sharpener
from Kansas City, MO
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Disappointed

PostedFebruary 7, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased this online, I've sharpened my bits for years by hand and seldom have a bit that won't cut the first time. I just needed something like this to center the cutting edges again and get the bits back to the correct angle. But...... the smaller bits seemed to sharpen pretty good but by the time I got to the half inch size, the flutes would cut ok on the outside with a negative relief but the point of the bit's flutes would have a positive relieve consequently it wouldn't cut nor even start a hole. In addition, it had a tendency to dub off the top part of the opposite flute too. Never did figure out why this was happening. I tried all kinds of different adjustments with no avail. You can't see the actual grinding going on so everything is a guess as to what direction to go to correct the problem. The DVD wouldn't play on my computer's Windows 8.1 OS so that was of no help either, not sure what it was designed for. Sadly, I'm sending it back. I had high hopes of if working with no problem but not so in my case.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
Cons: poor finish cuts
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 750X Drill Bit Sharpener
from Punta Gorda, FL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

KillowattSharpens drills very well,

PostedFebruary 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I'm older and can't see that well anymore. So it came in handy to sharpen small drills. This does the job well and works like it is supposed to.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: none
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 750X Drill Bit Sharpener
from Arizona, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product, easy to use.

PostedFebruary 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I had drill bits that I had kept around that were dull and some of the bigger ones were broken. I kept saying that one day I get a drill bit sharpener, I saw the drill doctor and decided to buy one and check it out. It is one of the best tools I have ever bought. The best thing is this tool really pays for its self. In one day I sharpened over 110 drill bits. This tool never slowed down, never over heated, and sharpened the bits with ease. If you been putting off getting this tool, don't wait, get it now!
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Strong
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 750X Drill Bit Sharpener
from Brownsville, TX
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Actually works as advertised

PostedFebruary 2, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Unfortunately, I have been disappointed time after time buying new products that make promises they rarely keep. This is one that actually does what it says! I have used my old 350x model for many years and have probably sharpened drill bits over 500 times. It worked pretty good, but was a pain to use due to its chuck. I would have to fiddle with it to try to get the bit to align properly. Using it for masonry bits was a real shot in the dark. This model 750x has a terrific alignment chuck that couldn't be any simpler to use. Whoever designed this is quite an engineer. I can easily sharpen tiny bits all the way up to 3/4" monsters. An 8 year old could do it. I have just finished going through virtually all of my old bits around 225 or so and sharpened them all in one 3 hour session. Drill bits are very expensive these days. I now have 225 new drill bits! On masonry bits - where I had trouble with the old model, this new alignment chuck is a snap. Sharpen a masonry bit in about 1 minute complete. I even sharpened those masonry bits that are about a foot long and 5/8". They cost $36 each to buy new. Now, they are as good as new! This a great product. You will wear down the abrasive wheel in time but can reverse it to double its life. Replacement ones cost about $20. I'm going to sharpen all the bits of my friends too!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 750X Drill Bit Sharpener
from Douglas, Wyoming

drill doctor

PostedDecember 9, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is a great product it really does beat trying to sharpen bits on a bench grinder. I have gone through a large box of old drill bits and sharpened them all. If the bit i am using gets dull i just use the drill doctor to resharpen it and keep going. I will never have another dull drill bit or have to run out and buy a new drill bit when one brakes or becomes dull.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 750X Drill Bit Sharpener
from Prescott, AZ, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great if you follow the directions.

PostedSeptember 11, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
There's nothing more frustrating than trying to drill a hole in steel with a dull bit. And drill bits have become expensive.
This unit works as advertised, but you have to read the directions and follow them exactly. Once you get the hang of it, you'll love it.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 750X Drill Bit Sharpener
from Rialto, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Sharpens drill bits, it does it's job.

PostedMay 29, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
For the money, this is a good tool. It isn't hard to learn usage and will save a lot of money allowing re-use on drill bits instead of throwing them away after 1 use.
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 750X Drill Bit Sharpener

a "must have" product

PostedFebruary 22, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
best feature? the instructions. they are on a cd. like every prideful man, I live by the code, "real men do not read instructions". (but watching them is permissable)
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 750X Drill Bit Sharpener

worked great

PostedMay 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Running the machine was so fun, I sharpened the neighbors bits too. Only problem was the instructions are on a dvd. I went to the Drill Doctor website and printed the instructions so I could use them in the shop.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate
Cons: No Instructions
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 750X Drill Bit Sharpener
from Pasadena Texas

The Drill Doctor 750X is well worth the ccost

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The Drill Doctor 750X is a money saver, you can get all your money back the first time you go threw your drill bit drawer and sharpen all your dull drill bits.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 750X Drill Bit Sharpener

My husband is looking forward to using this product!

PostedFebruary 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Really appreciate how this item was packaged - inside a brown box without catchy labeling. Much better than the last order where the item shipped was obvious to anyone who saw it because it was sent in its original box as would be seen on the store shelf. Thank you! Felt much better coming home to this box on my doorstop!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 750X Drill Bit Sharpener
from Marlborough, MA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Replaced older model .

PostedApril 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
It does more than the older unit we had. It does larger
drills than previous model - also very easy to use.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 750X Drill Bit Sharpener
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male

It does everything I wanted it for.

PostedJuly 30, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have only had this a month. I've sharpened about 10 drill bits and it works good. My only complaint is the build quality ,it looks cheaply made. But it does a lot for the money.
Pros: good value
Cons: cheaply made
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 750X Drill Bit Sharpener

It does everything!

PostedJanuary 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
It's a great product but too bad it took weeks to receive instead of days!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 750X Drill Bit Sharpener
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great Tool for the money

PostedJuly 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The Drill Doctor works well. All you have to do is follow the directions, and the machine does the rest. I have sharpened drill bits of various sizes and I am satisfied with the results. If you do shop work, YOU NEED ONE OF THESE.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 >>