728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Do-It-Yourself Deck Designer How-To Software

Do-It-Yourself Deck Designer How-To Software

Deck Designer allows you to quickly and easily design custom deck plans. The plans and materials list help simplify your project because Deck Designer provides up-to-date pricing and SKUs from your local Home Depot store. To create a deck, select a professionally designed deck template or create a new custom design. Click and drag to size the deck. Add bay notches, angles, corner cuts, or deck holes. Select your design preferences, including footing type, decking direction, deck materials, and overhangs. Select multiple stair options, including traditional, wraparound, or stairs with landings. Choose from lumber railing styles or composite kits. The materials list updates accordingly as you make changes. Deck Designer creates a variety of designs, including platforms, free standing, attached to house, hot tub and pool decks, notched decks, L-shaped, and octagon deck designs. Complete your project with an accurate, personalized shopping list with local Home Depot prices.
Overall rating:
2.533 / 5
2.5
 / 
5
(15 reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
43%of customersrecommend this product6 of 14reviews
Rating Breakdown 15 reviews
2.5 out of 5.0
5
(3)
4
(2)
3
(2)
2
(1)
1
(7)
43%of customersrecommend this product6 of 14reviews
Customer reviews for Do-It-Yourself Deck Designer How-To Software
Review 1 for Do-It-Yourself Deck Designer How-To Software
from RHODE ISLAND

DIDN'T HELP

PostedMarch 14, 2009
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I BOUGHT THIS PRIMARILY BECAUSE IT SAID IT WILL GIVE YOU A LIST ONCE YOU DESIGN YOUR DECK WITH THE SUPPLIES YOU WOULD NEED AND WHAT THEY WOULD CURRENTLY COST AT THE SELECTED STORE.
I TRIED THIS 5 TIMES. THE FIRST FOUR, IT CAME BACK WITH ERROR MESSAGES. FINALLY, TODAY IT SEEMED TO CONNECT, BUT THE ENTIRE LIST CAME BACK WITH "SKU NOT FOUND". THE TOP OF THE LIST SAID "SPECIAL ORDER". I WOULD THINK IF YOU BOUGHT DECK SOFTWARE FOR A SPECIFIC COMPANY THAT WAS SUPPOSED TO GIVE YOU CURRENT PRICES, IT WOULDN'T TELL YOU SKU NOT FOUND, SPECIAL ORDER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Do-It-Yourself Deck Designer How-To Software
from Nashville Tennessee

Deck Designer

PostedMarch 3, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It is not user friendly. I was not able to design a deck the size I want, rather had to accept the size from those offered. The options available to me where not those I could or would use. For example, I wanted only four post since the deck would be attached to a ledger but the designer kept adding post. I wanted to use the designer to show my customer what the finished deck would look like. I'm returning the designer.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Do-It-Yourself Deck Designer How-To Software
from PA

Poor program

PostedApril 5, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I should have paid more attention to other reviewers. This program is horrible. It is not the most user friendly program by any means. I ended up drawing on paper to scale. It puts posts in places that left many people scratching their heads. It also showed things that my local HD had in stock and it listed them as special order so it wouldn't include in the price list. Spend your $15 elsewhere
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Do-It-Yourself Deck Designer How-To Software
from Clinton, Ut

Product not up to date

PostedJune 23, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It was exactly what I was looking for I thought. To bad the program doesn't work at all with vista. I don't no many people that don't have Vista anymore. They should keep up the the times. Don't waste your money if your computer is up to date it won't work at all.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Do-It-Yourself Deck Designer How-To Software
from Louisville, OH

Do NOT Buy!

PostedMarch 2, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I wish I would have read these reviews before purchasing the Deck Designer. I was VERY disappointed when it arrived. It was in a paper sleve- not a box like it shows in the picture. There were no directions other than the help that is included inside of the program, which was not helpful at all. I estimated the materials for the deck we designed (using the templates because it wouldn't let me design my own like it advertises) and priced it using the Price It feature. I then tried to price the same deck, but with different building materials (trex) and it wouldn't let me. Every time I tried to print a new materials list it still used the original materials list- it wouldn't let me price out the composite decking. I even tried building the deck again and it still wouldn't let me. This item is DEFINATELY NOT A DO-IT-YOURSELF item. I think you needed to take a class to understand how to use it and I am very computer literate. It would be worth the few hours it would take to just go to the store and have them design it. I am definately taking this back and getting a refund.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Do-It-Yourself Deck Designer How-To Software

3D Deck Designer

PostedSeptember 10, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought the software for my husband to build our deck. I liked that it helped figure out how much lumber and hardware that we needed. I would definitely recommend if you are building your own deck.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Do-It-Yourself Deck Designer How-To Software
from Charlotte, NC

DIY Decj Desig rev

PostedSeptember 1, 2008
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
this program came with no instructions other than the "help" on the cd, it was slow to respond, on 3 major areas it would not allow us to make changes, ie no matter what was done when printing out the materials list or making changes to a deck needing steps it would not allow the change. i plan on returning this for my money back, it was much quicker to go spend 3 hours in a HD store for the staff to design the deck. We were very disappointed in this product
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Do-It-Yourself Deck Designer How-To Software

needs physical manual

PostedNovember 1, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
software works as advertised. Learning curve is steep and program needs update for Windows 7
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Do-It-Yourself Deck Designer How-To Software
from Georgia

PostedMay 31, 2008
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this product thinking it would help with making bibs, but it is the worst. You can not design your own decks like it says you can. You have to use preinstalled decks that are on the program. You can not change anything on the decks on the program, so I would not tell anyone to buy it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Do-It-Yourself Deck Designer How-To Software

Diaillusioned

PostedAugust 3, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Ordered this item assuming that it would work on my comp. Well There was too many items I would have to delete to get it to work so I have a new frisbe,doesn't work on my laptop .with Google Chrome.What a waste
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Do-It-Yourself Deck Designer How-To Software
from Annapolis, MD

Good Shopping List

PostedApril 20, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I downloaded it. Designed my deck on my PC saved me alot of time. Only 2 pickup truck trips to Depot for materials. Got some friends with tools to help. Looking good for the summer!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Do-It-Yourself Deck Designer How-To Software
from Union, KY

Do-It-Yourself Deck Designer

PostedApril 13, 2009
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
It would be better if it let you modify the deck plans to meet your needs better. But other than that it is nice to be able to figure out the materials needed and the prices.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Do-It-Yourself Deck Designer How-To Software
from warrenton,or

PostedAugust 21, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The only problem I had with this was that you could not add any lattice to the deck, which I need.
Other than that product was great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Do-It-Yourself Deck Designer How-To Software
from Akron OH

Do-It-Yourself Deck Designer

PostedMay 20, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Fast and easy to use
The only drawback I have is with the popup box wanting you to register and or update the information every time you try to get a price Quote.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Do-It-Yourself Deck Designer How-To Software
from ny

Anyone can build the product that are in here .

PostedJune 23, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Me and my wife built the deck of your dreams with the deck Designer . Thanks Home Depot
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.