728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Fireplace Logs or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Savannah Oak 18 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote

Savannah Oak 18 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote

The 18 in. Vent-Free Dual Burner LP Gas Fireplace Logs operate with the chimney flue closed, safely keeping 100% of the heat produced by the unit in your home. It has the most realistic natural fire and highly detailed logs. The remote control allows for easy on/off control at your fingertips. 3 year warranty on logs, 1 year on all other hardware.
Overall rating:
3.744 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(137 reviews) 136
Open Ratings Snapshot
78%of customersrecommend this product100 of 128reviews
Rating Breakdown 137 reviews
3.7 out of 5.0
5
(53)
4
(40)
3
(17)
2
(10)
1
(17)
Quality 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
78%of customersrecommend this product100 of 128reviews
Customer reviews for Savannah Oak 18 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote
Review 1 for Savannah Oak 18 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote
from WV
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

We love it

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ours was a replacement for a older fireplace. We only disconnected the one and attached the other. The BOOK of instructions was clear. There were even parts to connected it with but we had a flexible hose. The sealer was also included. Read other reviews for better set up, like installing battery box before assembling. When ordering be sure to check the " propane" as natural gas is what shows up when ordering. Our remote doesn't work but we just use the switch. I put a red paint dot by the "off" and green by the "on" so I wouldn't have to bend down to read it.
I'm a 77 year old grandma.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: remote doesn't work
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Savannah Oak 18 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote
from Indiana, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female

Good value.

PostedDecember 25, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We ordered these when we realized that the logs in the home that we bought did not work. I went by the measurements provided as we were not sure what size we needed. According to the website, we ordered 18" which are really too small. We could easily have used 24". The logs look fine but the flame is pretty low. We replaced our gas logs in our NC mtn home and they put out much more heat with higher flames. Overall, they work ok and they were considerably less expensive than anywhere else.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Savannah Oak 18 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote
from Raleigh, NC, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worth the Money

PostedDecember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Had to replace my old set. After reading several reviews I choose this model. Exceeded my expectations. Set up was a little difficult and logs did not fit perfectly but nothing my Dremel couldn't handle. Heats the house nicely. They're not the best looking set but they do the job and thats all I care about. My Electric Heat Pump is not very efficient in winter and I rely on these to heat the house when I am home and I'm very pleased.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Good Size & Weight
Cons: poorly copied manual
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Savannah Oak 18 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote
from alabama
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

don't buy

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
First what you see in the picture is not what you get. The log to hide thecontrols does not come with the 18 in unit. Second the logs you get look cheep and don't match the pictures. Third the remote control receaving unit poorly istalled I hade to pick up the unit about 1/2 inch to get teh cover of to install the baterys. Then it did not work. I am sending this unit back it is just junk
Pros: none
Cons: just junk
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Savannah Oak 18 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote
from Virginia
Age Range:65 or over

Pleased with product

PostedDecember 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This was a replacement for an old set. The remote is great and it heats up the room quickly. The only disadvantage is the propane odor when they are first turned on.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Savannah Oak 18 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote
from orrville, oh
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

gas logs

PostedNovember 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
product worked as advertised, easy to install and came sooner than promised. Nice!!
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Savannah Oak 18 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

for the price a great buy

PostedNovember 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
easy to install and works great. I agree with other reviewers to burn the logs on your outside grill first to burn away the new smell.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Savannah Oak 18 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote
from Chesterfield, Va
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Log my new logs

PostedOctober 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The gas logs are beautiful and easy to work. They glow so beautiful.
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Savannah Oak 18 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote
from CT

Would recommend product subject to caveat in my review

PostedOctober 9, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product is a fantastic value. The grooves in the logs that are designed to help with the placement are terrible and the instructions/ pictures were not very helpful. Lastly, the odor from the initial burn (about 10-12 hours) was terrible. My smoke alarm went off for hours and the smell would likely kill an already dead cat. Beware and plan accordingly. It would also be nice if the side button on the remote had a simple on/off label. Other than the foregoing, I am pleased with the product.
Pros: Stylish
Cons: bad odor, flimsy remote
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Savannah Oak 18 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote
from Georgia Mountains. USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good product.. vague instructions... overall good....

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to assemble but the battery box on unit was not easily identifiable... had to call tech support but once she told me where it was, easy peasy... good product but I was hoping it was thermomatically controlled... guess not... still pretty good set...
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Savannah Oak 18 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote
from Alabama
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Excellent buy

PostedOctober 31, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've had these logs about a month now, wanted to wait to write the review till I'd used them a bit. I LOVE them. They were an excellent buy - believe me, I did my research. Love the remote - it works from across my good sized living room. I paid to have a professional install these and it took him about 15 minutes.
These replace a set I purchased elsewhere in March this year that were supposedly one of the best brands. I was trying to save money as I'm on a tight budget and got logs without a remote. They were useless. Not only were the controls in an impossible place to reach, but old fingers couldn't turn them on.
So, I doubly pleased with my new logs and their remote from Home Depot. Shipping was extremely prompt, they arrived within a couple of days of my placing my order.
LOVE, LOVE, LOVE my new logs!!!
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Savannah Oak 18 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote
from Grimsley TN
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Looks fine but lots of pre-use work

PostedDecember 11, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I don't recall seeing anywhere that there would be a lot of stink when they first burn -- it would be nice to put a slip of paper with the suggestion to set them on a grill OUTDOORS and attach them to a gas source and light them and let burn for the recommended 5-6 hours - that way your house and your nose will not suffer from all the acrid smell that occurs when they are first lit.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Savannah Oak 18 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote
from kentucky
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

have it installed have not used it yet weather still to warm no issue with installing and getting to start looks good waiting for winter

PostedSeptember 24, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
one log was broke called cs and had a replacement within two weeks
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Savannah Oak 18 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Filled the need

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I needed a set of gas logs to replace a set that were bad. This set filled that need.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Savannah Oak 18 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote
from Charleston, SC
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Really Great Gas Logs at a Really Great Price

PostedDecember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These logs are really easy to install; provide great heat output, and look REAL!
We replaced a working set of logs that just didn't have the output in heat that we wanted. These logs, fit exactly as they indicated for their length, width and depth. NO special cutting or adapter was needed. IN FACT, I installed them myself, including hooking up the gas lines. If you can hook up water lines, you can install these logs.
Everything you need is in the box with the exception of some pipe tape to seal up the gas connection. You can even get that at Home Depot also.
While others seems to comment that the direction were unclear, I just gave the log install onto the burner and my grandson (age 12) followed the direction and installed them without problem.
One thing to note, and it is in the instructions, you will need to open the windows/doors for about 2 hours to burn off the sealer on the logs. They do have an odor, but if you burn the logs, on high, for two hours, the odor goes away never to return.
I would order these again in a second. I may have to get a set for my son's home. He really likes them....I hope he doesn't try to take mine!!
Pros: Durable, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Savannah Oak 18 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote
from Harrisburg, PA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not a bad Fireplace, not very flexible

PostedAugust 21, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Log placement is awkward and don't seat right. Fireplace shuts of often. Also if you ever upgrade your home from Propane to Natural Gas, this unit is not longer usable. You have to buy a new unit, according to Sure Heat (the Manufacture) there is no conversion kit for this model.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install
Cons: not able to convert to natural gas
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Savannah Oak 18 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote
from Garner, NC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worth the Money

PostedOctober 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Logs were fairly easy to install. I took advice from some of the previous reviews and let them burn for an hour on a nice day so I could open all my windows and doors with a fan running. The smell was really strong. I have to say that they looked a lot better while burning than I thought and they really heat the house nicely. I did not like the owner’s manual they provided. It was just from a copier and the copies were terrible. I could not make out how to set up the logs and it took me a while to figure it out. I went on line and spent hours looking for the original manual. I even found the website from the manufacturer and nothing. Was a huge waste of time! Other than that the logs work great. I have a 1700 Sq Ft home and they keep the house very comfortable, even the upstairs. My electric heat pump does not do a good job heating in the winter and I rely on these to do the job and so far I am very pleased with them.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
Cons: poor owners manual
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Savannah Oak 18 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote
from Jacksonville, FL

Great addition

PostedJanuary 23, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Works like units costing twice as much. Provides an excellent source of addtitional heat on those chilly nights.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Savannah Oak 18 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote
from MEADOWVIEW,VA/

A MUST HAVE BUY BUY BUY

PostedNovember 5, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
VERY NICE AND HEATS VERY WELL EASY TO INSTALL NO PROBLEMS VERY SATISFIED
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Savannah Oak 18 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote
from rock hill,south carolina

PostedJanuary 17, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
absolutely beautiful...how real do these look.this will change my whole living room!!!!!! order!!!!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 7 >>