728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Savannah Oak 18 in. Vent-Free Natural Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote

Savannah Oak 18 in. Vent-Free Natural Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote

The 18 in. Vent-Free Natural Gas Fireplace Logs operate with the chimney flue closed, safely keeping 100% of the heat produced by the unit in your home. It has the most realistic natural fire and highly detailed logs. The remote control allows for easy on/off control at your fingertips. 3 year warranty on logs, 1 year on all other hardware.
Overall rating:
3.724 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(116 reviews) 115
Open Ratings Snapshot
79%of customersrecommend this product85 of 108reviews
Rating Breakdown 116 reviews
3.7 out of 5.0
5
(42)
4
(36)
3
(15)
2
(10)
1
(13)
Quality 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
79%of customersrecommend this product85 of 108reviews
Customer reviews for Savannah Oak 18 in. Vent-Free Natural Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote
Review 1 for Savannah Oak 18 in. Vent-Free Natural Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote
Christina
from Lakeview, Ohio
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Easily installed, works great

PostedDecember 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Product was shipped sooner than expected. Packaged nicely, no missing or broken parts. Installation was easy for my husband. Works as we expected it to. We love it!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Savannah Oak 18 in. Vent-Free Natural Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote
Happycustomer
from MO
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awesome product

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was sceptical buying without seeing them in person but I am glad I did. I don't think there has been a single day they have not been on. I leave my heat on 58 and turn them on as soon as I get home. It warms the entire house in no time and keeps it steady. My house is over 2000 sqft 2 story and it heats the entire house on low. With it on low it will be up to 68 in a short time and keeps it there even on these below 0 days. My electric bill was only 50$ last month from the furnace barely running even though its the costed year in the last 20. My gas bill is the same or just a bit less than usually because these logs are so efficient. With the cost of gas going up its a great investment that will pay for itself in no time flat. The remote is nice to turn it on and off I didn't think it would make a difference but I do really like it even though it doesn't adjust the temp. I will be buying one or two more sets for my cabin.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Savannah Oak 18 in. Vent-Free Natural Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote
KevinNKy
from Morehead, KY, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Good Price

PostedOctober 13, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
For the price, these logs or OK, Me and my wife looked for a long time for logs we liked. We seen these and was worried about buying them without seeing them in person. But we took the chance. I was a little dissapointed in the looks. In the stock pictures it doesnt show that the controls are in the front of the logs and and the first thing you see when you look at the logs are the 2 knobs and a light switch in the front of the logs. The logs alot taller then most logs in order to fit the controls in the front. See my attached picture for actual logs. Also we purchased them in Sept 2012 and the date on the tag of the burner was 2008. But they work good and are good for backup heat. But again they were 1/2 the price of any other log set we had looked at.
Pros: Easy to Use, low price
Cons: stock pictures dont look like actual logs
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+41points
43out of 45found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Savannah Oak 18 in. Vent-Free Natural Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote
Logz
from Perrysburg, OH, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Not what we were looking for

PostedOctober 21, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ordered these online, they look nothing like the photograph used. The controls are huge and ugly in the front of the unit. We were looking to switch from LP to Natural Gas and wanted to replace the log set. Our old logs use a switch on the wall, so we really didn't want a remote, we aren't that lazy. Removing them from the box instantly filled the room with a weird "paint thinner" odor, that lasted well after we repackaged them and put them into the garage. We intend to return them in the morning to the local store.
This was our first let down from HD, and we are long time shoppers.
Cons: not as pictured
+22points
22out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Savannah Oak 18 in. Vent-Free Natural Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote
Jetpilot718

Installed today, so far so good!

PostedMay 31, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Everything worked right away. I'll give a brief runthrough:
When you are done hooking it up and lighting it for the first time, depending on the lenght of pipe you ran, you'll have to hold the pilot knob down for a while until the O2 is bled from the lines.
You have one knob which controls the intensity of the flame, low to high.
Basically, this thing is a barbeque. You turn on the gas, ignite the flame by holding down the pilot button (allows gas to enter chamber), and clicking the ignitor to light the pilot light.
Once the pilot light is lit you can:
1-turn on the fire with a On-Off-Remote switch
2-turn on the fire with the remote, with switch position to "Remote". (Fire intensity still pre-determined by other knob which is manually operated, remote is just off/on)
Hope this helps!
+43points
43out of 43found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Savannah Oak 18 in. Vent-Free Natural Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote
Terri
from South Lawrence, Lawrence, MA 01843, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

I was very disappointed

PostedOctober 30, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Product had no thermostat on remote, only on and off. It should have had a way to regulate the flame. I was very disappointed in this by Sure Heat.
Pros: Nice Design
Cons: Difficult to Install, Difficult to Use
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Savannah Oak 18 in. Vent-Free Natural Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote
KK1234

Not as pictured

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
The controls and on and off switch are literally right in front! It is pretty ugly. Also the high and low control knob doesn'e change the flow of the fire very drastically at all. It does put out good heat and warms our house, and we liked the price point. Just in hindsight would have paid more for a better log set.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Savannah Oak 18 in. Vent-Free Natural Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote
tommy1
from Clifton, NJ, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

product review

PostedNovember 12, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this vent free unit in Sept. and had it prof. installed by a lic. plumber. It operated well for about a month. Then it started to give me lots of trouble. It would lite and then go out about 1/2 minute later. I called the company Emberglow and spoke to a trouble shooter who advised three or four different things to do to the unit ie: brush the starter area with a toothbrush and then vac. the area where the flame came out of the unit. Got very tired of trying to have the unit stay lit, then washed my hands and sent it back. Surprised that Home Depot would carry a inferior product. Save your money& your sanity.
Pros: Sturdy, Looks Great
Cons: Not Durable, Difficult to Use
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Savannah Oak 18 in. Vent-Free Natural Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote
Sharpie
from New York, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

A good value-but.....

PostedDecember 14, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ordered this log set over a month ago and today I finally installed it. Had to have two logs replaced because they arrived broken. Had a difficult time getting help from the customer service center for Sure Heat. Home Depot's customer service reps were great and helped to get the log replacements. The unit needed a little tweaking to get it fired up. Have it on now and it has made our house nice and cozy. I'd buy it again.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Savannah Oak 18 in. Vent-Free Natural Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote
ohio62

purchased for the remote control feature

PostedNovember 4, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Shipment arrived in a timely manner and in good shape with no broken logs or pieces, packaged very well. Had trouble with the remote working at first but got it working, make sure to use good name brand batteries in both set and remote. Pilot light can not be adjusted, seems to have a extremely large pilot flame. Price point was better for the remote feature.
Pros: Easy to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Savannah Oak 18 in. Vent-Free Natural Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote
ChrisfromNorfolkVA
from Norfolk, VA

Few helpful tips to future buyers

PostedFebruary 7, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I'm reviewing the SURE-HEAT 18in log set. Home Depot does not reveal the brand name when purchasing which makes me believe manufacturer can vary depending on their suppliers.
Great product for a good price. Gas log retailers, as well as online, wanted twice as much for similiar products. I have a smaller sized ventless firebox I installed the logs in and they were almost TOO HOT even on the lowest setting.To remedy I just slightly closed the emergency shutoff valve (recommended and usually required) to limit the flow of gas to the unit and it worked like a charm. This unit puts out some serious heat, follow the instructions for minimum mantle distances installed above. And think about recessing your TV in the wall if hanging it above. Remote works fine.
Cons..... As I read in other reviews, log placement illustrations were awful. Poor quality and look like they were photocopied on an old machine. We used the model number and manufacturer to find the color pictues online but those still didnt match well to what logs we had. Bottom line is there are 3 main logs that run horizontal in the appopriate slots, the remaining smaller logs just need to be placed so no flame directly touches.
That's all though, all in all great product for a cheap(er) price
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Savannah Oak 18 in. Vent-Free Natural Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote
M2knee
from Wisconsin, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

The pilot is too large and the remote control is pure junk.

PostedJanuary 10, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I looked at reviews before buying the unit. Most reviews were complementary, but several criticized pilot flame height and the remote control system. The unit I received had a very large pilot light, and more importantly, the plastic remote control box was a horrible design with cheap plastic tabs and a tiny switch that would not work properly. I boxed it up and sent it back. Fortunately, Home Depot was great about taking it back and refunding all costs.
Pros: Lots of Features
Cons: Difficult to Install, cheap remote control system
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Savannah Oak 18 in. Vent-Free Natural Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote
none
from Virginia, USA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

FAIR

PostedJanuary 23, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
A bit better then what i allready had,But less then what i expected.The sediment that had to burn off, took 5 days about 10 hours. i had to disconect all smoke alarms and open all windows and doors. I do mean all .Heat remains in room a bit longer then old one. So if one can adore Windows' doors open a few hours a day for 5 days or more and the awful smell of sediment burning off, and the fact that this dirty sediment smell is all over your curtains funirture and floors. And will take a lot of time to clean. You then will have to decide if it is a worthy product and worth the cost. I do belived that if the company that makes this fireplace could and would burn off this sediment before selling it. It would a good fireplace to purchase.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Savannah Oak 18 in. Vent-Free Natural Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote
LindaJohn
from Eureka IL

Heats the whole basement...warms the whole house!

PostedApril 3, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
If you're considering installing this yourself...READ ALL of the reviews, starting with the 5 Star ones. If you are not VERY knowledgeable about installation...hire an expert. After searching everywhere for a replacement...we decided on this one! You will not find a better set for even twice the price! Having said that, here are my cautions: First set ordered had broken and missing logs; remote wouldn't work...set had obviously been sent back by someone else and not inspected. Home Depot said to send it back (Prepaid UPS ticket was enclosed.) Second unit was new and worked perfectly (slightly different than first one.) We put it in a Ben Franklin Stove...fit was perfect (no extra room anywhere.) On high, the room got so hot we had to go upstairs! The smell burned off of our logs in about 5 hours with the windows open. We turned the safety valve nearly off for a minimum flame that looks nice and heats the 15 x 20 basement in a few minutes. Our remote works about 33 feet away upstairs (out of sight of the fireplace.) Heed the other reviewers...you may not get this exact unit (we have no thermostat on the remote...we check the heating thermostat upstairs!) We had to use a 1/2 to 3/8 flare adapter to hook ours up, and the pipe runs under the unit from left to right. Our second one had the starter on the right...much easier to do. Make sure your top logs are not over a flame...unless you like the smell of burning ceramic. We trimmed the bottom cover of the remote receiver...ours was black, and stuck a log in front of it, as suggested. We love our remote for turning the logs on instantly! Anyway, quit reading reviews and get yours ordered!...before they run out!
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Savannah Oak 18 in. Vent-Free Natural Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote
fred
from Corinth. Texas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great product

PostedJanuary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These logs are a perfect fit for my fireplace. Easy to assemble and the flame pattern is great. I put the logs on my gas grill for about 2 hours to burn off the manufacturing smell. I highly recommend this because the odor was pretty bad. Burning these logs on low warms my single story home in no time. We love them.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Savannah Oak 18 in. Vent-Free Natural Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote
Jake81
from Independence, MO, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked pretty well for a month. Remote never did work.

PostedJanuary 2, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
When I received the fireplace it was easy to set up. All the logs we in perfect condition. I did put the logs out on my BBQ grill to burn of the smell that I had heard about from previous reviewers. The unit was easy to install. The directions were very poor though. It took awhile to decipher them. Installed it and everything worked great. Except the remote would not work at all. I called Home Depot and they were going to send a new one in a month from the manufacture. But I didn't mind waiting, until the gas valve started to not work and the flames would burn for about five minutes and just shut off. And just leave the pilot light burning. Very disappointing as it has worked so well for almost a month. It was keeping my entire house warm. And doing a better job than my central air. I returned the item. And Home Depot set me up with a better model at a discount. Hopefully the new one will work better.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Savannah Oak 18 in. Vent-Free Natural Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote
trbodon21

PostedFebruary 3, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Overall I am happy with this gas log. I have had it installed for about a month now.
The only issue was the smell produced due to the manufacturing process. Instructions indicated that this smell was supposed to be gone between 3 - 6 hours of use on high setting.
However, it lasted more like 25 hours progressivly getting better for my particular set, but now it seems fine.
There are two screws that need to be removed to take out batteries, and the plastic plate that covers the battery comparment sticks out further than the legs of the unit so it will not sit flat (this can be fixed)
Overall it's a fair price with expected quality at that price.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Savannah Oak 18 in. Vent-Free Natural Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote
Eulaley
from Birmingham, Alabama

18 Inch Vent Free Natural Gas Logs with Remote

PostedFebruary 6, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I am very pleased with the vent free gas logs. To me, there was not much of an odor. What little there was went away witnin an hour after lighting the logs. The only thing wrong with this fire log set is THAT TO ME the remote is totally useless and the batteries are next to impossible to put in. I did get them in but after installing them I realized that I was not going to leave the pilot on all the time and I had to get down to light the pilot and while I am there I can just turn the logs on. The remote is not worth the trouble it takes to put the batteries in. I had a professional install the logs for me and he said the instructions were very easy to follow but even he had a problem with the batteries with the remote.I have had them a week and just love everthing about them except the remote.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Savannah Oak 18 in. Vent-Free Natural Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote
Rose3
from Mt Pleasant, SC, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Heats very well. Remote control feature is a little misleading.

PostedJanuary 24, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The logs do a great job of heating. The remote control feature is a little misleading. You can't just press the button and the logs start. You still have to manually light the pilot each time you want the fire to start. Or, you can leave the pilot running all of the time, which we don't do. Also, we had a hard time placing the little logs because the photo included is very unclear, and the image online isn't much help. We cleaned soot off of our walls and mantle SEVERAL times before we got it right. The logs are also not as pretty as in the photo because the metal pipes and controls are very visible. At my previous home, I had a switch on the wall which turned my logs on and off so maybe I was expecting too much but they do heat well. I recommend this for heat, not looks or remote control ease.
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Savannah Oak 18 in. Vent-Free Natural Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote
kzort
from wv
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Absolutely wonderful!

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The only thing I can say negative about these logs is there is a slight smell for a few hours. They look real, Its great to have a real fire, real heat and no mess! It warms our room in just a few minutes, not to mention the remote is awesome, sit on the couch push a button!
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: slight odor at first use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>