728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Savannah Oak 18 in. Vent-Free Natural Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote

Savannah Oak 18 in. Vent-Free Natural Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote

The 18 in. Vent-Free Natural Gas Fireplace Logs operate with the chimney flue closed, safely keeping 100% of the heat produced by the unit in your home. It has the most realistic natural fire and highly detailed logs. The remote control allows for easy on/off control at your fingertips. 3-year warranty on logs, 1-year on all other hardware.
Overall rating:
3.69 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(155 reviews) 154
Open Ratings Snapshot
76%of customersrecommend this product111 of 146reviews
Rating Breakdown 155 reviews
3.7 out of 5
5
(59)
4
(45)
3
(18)
2
(10)
1
(23)
Quality 
3.6 out of 5
3.6 out of 5
Value 
3.9 out of 5
3.9 out of 5
76%of customersrecommend this product111 of 146reviews
Customer reviews for Savannah Oak 18 in. Vent-Free Natural Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote
Review 1 for Savannah Oak 18 in. Vent-Free Natural Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote
from Morehead, KY, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Good Price

PostedOctober 13, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
For the price, these logs or OK, Me and my wife looked for a long time for logs we liked. We seen these and was worried about buying them without seeing them in person. But we took the chance. I was a little dissapointed in the looks. In the stock pictures it doesnt show that the controls are in the front of the logs and and the first thing you see when you look at the logs are the 2 knobs and a light switch in the front of the logs. The logs alot taller then most logs in order to fit the controls in the front. See my attached picture for actual logs. Also we purchased them in Sept 2012 and the date on the tag of the burner was 2008. But they work good and are good for backup heat. But again they were 1/2 the price of any other log set we had looked at.
Pros: Easy to Use, low price
Cons: stock pictures dont look like actual logs
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+45points
47out of 49found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Savannah Oak 18 in. Vent-Free Natural Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote
from MO
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awesome product

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was sceptical buying without seeing them in person but I am glad I did. I don't think there has been a single day they have not been on. I leave my heat on 58 and turn them on as soon as I get home. It warms the entire house in no time and keeps it steady. My house is over 2000 sqft 2 story and it heats the entire house on low. With it on low it will be up to 68 in a short time and keeps it there even on these below 0 days. My electric bill was only 50$ last month from the furnace barely running even though its the costed year in the last 20. My gas bill is the same or just a bit less than usually because these logs are so efficient. With the cost of gas going up its a great investment that will pay for itself in no time flat. The remote is nice to turn it on and off I didn't think it would make a difference but I do really like it even though it doesn't adjust the temp. I will be buying one or two more sets for my cabin.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Savannah Oak 18 in. Vent-Free Natural Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote
from Lakeview, Ohio
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Easily installed, works great

PostedDecember 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Product was shipped sooner than expected. Packaged nicely, no missing or broken parts. Installation was easy for my husband. Works as we expected it to. We love it!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Savannah Oak 18 in. Vent-Free Natural Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote

Installed today, so far so good!

PostedMay 31, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Everything worked right away. I'll give a brief runthrough:
When you are done hooking it up and lighting it for the first time, depending on the lenght of pipe you ran, you'll have to hold the pilot knob down for a while until the O2 is bled from the lines.
You have one knob which controls the intensity of the flame, low to high.
Basically, this thing is a barbeque. You turn on the gas, ignite the flame by holding down the pilot button (allows gas to enter chamber), and clicking the ignitor to light the pilot light.
Once the pilot light is lit you can:
1-turn on the fire with a On-Off-Remote switch
2-turn on the fire with the remote, with switch position to "Remote". (Fire intensity still pre-determined by other knob which is manually operated, remote is just off/on)
Hope this helps!
+49points
49out of 49found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Savannah Oak 18 in. Vent-Free Natural Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote
from Perrysburg, OH, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Not what we were looking for

PostedOctober 21, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ordered these online, they look nothing like the photograph used. The controls are huge and ugly in the front of the unit. We were looking to switch from LP to Natural Gas and wanted to replace the log set. Our old logs use a switch on the wall, so we really didn't want a remote, we aren't that lazy. Removing them from the box instantly filled the room with a weird "paint thinner" odor, that lasted well after we repackaged them and put them into the garage. We intend to return them in the morning to the local store.
This was our first let down from HD, and we are long time shoppers.
Cons: not as pictured
+24points
25out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Savannah Oak 18 in. Vent-Free Natural Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote
from Ohio
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Worth the money

PostedNovember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We bought these logs to replace the wood burning fireplace. We needed the 18 in to fit our fire box and these were the best I found in our price range. My husband installed them but he is an Engineer and pretty good handyman. I didn't give them a 5 star because the instructions on putting in the batteries for the remote were unclear and the front legs do not touch the floor and the whole set rest on the battery box. We called CS and were told that is how they came from the manufacturer and to place a couple of washers under the legs. No problem with odor. We opened the damper and burned them on high for about 4 hours. Remote works fine but we don't use it because the beeping upset our dogs LOL. All In All we are pleased with our purchase.
Pros: Looks Great
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Savannah Oak 18 in. Vent-Free Natural Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote
Age Range:65 or over

Very dissapointed with the battery life for the remote.

PostedFebruary 18, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
We wanted to have a remote insert. Was surprised of the short battery life. Since Nov had to replace them twice.. Paid for a remote that now I have decided to start manually.
Cons: Difficult to Use, battery replace
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Savannah Oak 18 in. Vent-Free Natural Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote
from South Lawrence, Lawrence, MA 01843, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

I was very disappointed

PostedOctober 30, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Product had no thermostat on remote, only on and off. It should have had a way to regulate the flame. I was very disappointed in this by Sure Heat.
Pros: Nice Design
Cons: Difficult to Install, Difficult to Use
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Savannah Oak 18 in. Vent-Free Natural Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote
from Summerville,SC
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Unit was not assembled correctly.

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was disappointed in the installation. Once the installer had the unit in and polit light lite the burner would not light. Calling the help line was no help, after a long wait they disconnected him. On the 2nd call their expert said our gas pressure was too low; however, our local gas company found this was not the case. Another installer came out and took the whole unit apart and found a wire in the remote was not connected. He fixed this and the unit worked fine. But I had an additional $100 in labor.
Cons: Difficult to Install
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Savannah Oak 18 in. Vent-Free Natural Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote
from Clifton, NJ, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

product review

PostedNovember 12, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this vent free unit in Sept. and had it prof. installed by a lic. plumber. It operated well for about a month. Then it started to give me lots of trouble. It would lite and then go out about 1/2 minute later. I called the company Emberglow and spoke to a trouble shooter who advised three or four different things to do to the unit ie: brush the starter area with a toothbrush and then vac. the area where the flame came out of the unit. Got very tired of trying to have the unit stay lit, then washed my hands and sent it back. Surprised that Home Depot would carry a inferior product. Save your money& your sanity.
Pros: Sturdy, Looks Great
Cons: Not Durable, Difficult to Use
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Savannah Oak 18 in. Vent-Free Natural Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote
from texas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent product and a super value.

PostedDecember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The only problem with this product is the included instructions. They need to be written a little better for setting up the remote.
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great, Nice Design
Cons: instruction not clear
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Savannah Oak 18 in. Vent-Free Natural Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote
from New York, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

A good value-but.....

PostedDecember 14, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ordered this log set over a month ago and today I finally installed it. Had to have two logs replaced because they arrived broken. Had a difficult time getting help from the customer service center for Sure Heat. Home Depot's customer service reps were great and helped to get the log replacements. The unit needed a little tweaking to get it fired up. Have it on now and it has made our house nice and cozy. I'd buy it again.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Savannah Oak 18 in. Vent-Free Natural Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote
from Norfolk, VA

Few helpful tips to future buyers

PostedFebruary 7, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I'm reviewing the SURE-HEAT 18in log set. Home Depot does not reveal the brand name when purchasing which makes me believe manufacturer can vary depending on their suppliers.
Great product for a good price. Gas log retailers, as well as online, wanted twice as much for similiar products. I have a smaller sized ventless firebox I installed the logs in and they were almost TOO HOT even on the lowest setting.To remedy I just slightly closed the emergency shutoff valve (recommended and usually required) to limit the flow of gas to the unit and it worked like a charm. This unit puts out some serious heat, follow the instructions for minimum mantle distances installed above. And think about recessing your TV in the wall if hanging it above. Remote works fine.
Cons..... As I read in other reviews, log placement illustrations were awful. Poor quality and look like they were photocopied on an old machine. We used the model number and manufacturer to find the color pictues online but those still didnt match well to what logs we had. Bottom line is there are 3 main logs that run horizontal in the appopriate slots, the remaining smaller logs just need to be placed so no flame directly touches.
That's all though, all in all great product for a cheap(er) price
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Savannah Oak 18 in. Vent-Free Natural Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote

Great Purchase

PostedApril 28, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The double burner provides warmth and gives a natural appearance. The remote works from a distance and is very convenient.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Savannah Oak 18 in. Vent-Free Natural Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote
from Eureka IL

Heats the whole basement...warms the whole house!

PostedApril 3, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
If you're considering installing this yourself...READ ALL of the reviews, starting with the 5 Star ones. If you are not VERY knowledgeable about installation...hire an expert. After searching everywhere for a replacement...we decided on this one! You will not find a better set for even twice the price! Having said that, here are my cautions: First set ordered had broken and missing logs; remote wouldn't work...set had obviously been sent back by someone else and not inspected. Home Depot said to send it back (Prepaid UPS ticket was enclosed.) Second unit was new and worked perfectly (slightly different than first one.) We put it in a Ben Franklin Stove...fit was perfect (no extra room anywhere.) On high, the room got so hot we had to go upstairs! The smell burned off of our logs in about 5 hours with the windows open. We turned the safety valve nearly off for a minimum flame that looks nice and heats the 15 x 20 basement in a few minutes. Our remote works about 33 feet away upstairs (out of sight of the fireplace.) Heed the other reviewers...you may not get this exact unit (we have no thermostat on the remote...we check the heating thermostat upstairs!) We had to use a 1/2 to 3/8 flare adapter to hook ours up, and the pipe runs under the unit from left to right. Our second one had the starter on the right...much easier to do. Make sure your top logs are not over a flame...unless you like the smell of burning ceramic. We trimmed the bottom cover of the remote receiver...ours was black, and stuck a log in front of it, as suggested. We love our remote for turning the logs on instantly! Anyway, quit reading reviews and get yours ordered!...before they run out!
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Savannah Oak 18 in. Vent-Free Natural Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote
from Decatur Ga
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy Instalation

PostedJanuary 20, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Heavy duty and easy to install.
Provides great warmth and good looking.
Pros: Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Savannah Oak 18 in. Vent-Free Natural Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote
from PA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very Nice

PostedDecember 31, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The instruction book was, for the most part, worthless. Most of the instructions were for the installation of as lines and specs for construction. However installations was a breeze. The logs look good and fire is cozy. With a fireplace screen in place it all looks like a natural wood fire. My only complaint is the size of the pilot light, it's a little high.
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Savannah Oak 18 in. Vent-Free Natural Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote
from Cedar Park, Texas 78681
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

Remote control fireplace set

PostedApril 14, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The Item was easy to set up. I actually had a plumber bent and connect the gas line that hooks to the gas source from the log set to make sure I did not kink it and to make sure the fittings did not leak. Probably could have done it myself, but rather be safe than sorry
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Easy to Install, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Savannah Oak 18 in. Vent-Free Natural Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote

Awesome product!

PostedDecember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
These gas logs are wonderful! We are enjoying them; And the remote is a real added feature. We had our gas company to install them. The installer said they were a great product so that really gave us an even more comfort level that we had made the right choice. You can't go wrong if you need them or if you just want them!!!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Savannah Oak 18 in. Vent-Free Natural Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote
from Virginia, USA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

FAIR

PostedJanuary 23, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
A bit better then what i allready had,But less then what i expected.The sediment that had to burn off, took 5 days about 10 hours. i had to disconect all smoke alarms and open all windows and doors. I do mean all .Heat remains in room a bit longer then old one. So if one can adore Windows' doors open a few hours a day for 5 days or more and the awful smell of sediment burning off, and the fact that this dirty sediment smell is all over your curtains funirture and floors. And will take a lot of time to clean. You then will have to decide if it is a worthy product and worth the cost. I do belived that if the company that makes this fireplace could and would burn off this sediment before selling it. It would a good fireplace to purchase.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 8 >>