728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Savannah Oak 24 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote

Savannah Oak 24 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote

24 in. Vent Free LP Log's operates with the chimney flue closed, safely keeping 100% of the heat produced by the unit in your home. Has the most realistic natural fire and highly detailed logs. Remote Control allows for easy on/off control at your fingertips. 3-year Warranty on logs, 1-year on all other hardware.
Overall rating:
3.833 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(233 reviews) 233
Open Ratings Snapshot
80%of customersrecommend this product182 of 227reviews
Rating Breakdown 233 reviews
3.8 out of 5
5
(94)
4
(78)
3
(20)
2
(10)
1
(31)
Quality 
3.6 out of 5
3.6 out of 5
Value 
3.8 out of 5
3.8 out of 5
80%of customersrecommend this product182 of 227reviews
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer reviews for Savannah Oak 24 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote
Review 1 for Savannah Oak 24 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote
from Xenia, Ohio
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female

Beleive the reviews!

PostedJanuary 22, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I first would like to say I would actually give it a 4 1/2 stars but can't. I am taking off 1 star because one log was cracked in two (they are sending me one) and I manually start it. That is my choice to manually start I don't like to leave pilot burn. NOW for the good stuff. I purchased these with just the hopes they would work to heat part of the room. We have a vaulted ceiling in an open area of about 660 sq ft. I had purchased a set of logs and paid $824 from a local fireplace shop. I had to literally sit on the hearth to feel the heat coming off of them and the smell that came off of them was horrid, and they had burnt on high with vent open for hours. They never did work after 3 house calls. We were told that was good as it gets. With these logs that are $500 cheaper we turn on the ceiling fan on low, it heats most of our house which is 1700 sq up at least 4 degrees above where the thermostat is set. And that's on low. So yes buy them. I have only had them installed for 2 weeks if something major happens I will let you know. Very good value for your money. The smell burnt off in about 3 hours. There is a slight noise but camp fires make noise. :)
Pros: Looks Great, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Savannah Oak 24 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote
from Maine

Best fire log set out there

PostedSeptember 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My wife's brother and sister-in-law purchased this propane fire log set a couple years ago and we had admired it for some time. This year we went searching for the same or similar log set. We looked at the box that his came in and the address on it read "Sure Heat" as was mine. The address on manual reads "SHM International Corp", same address and phone number. Anyway, you can't find a gas log set with remote, oxygen sensor, high and low flame settings for under $600. Usually the remote alone adds $80-$100. The gas log set works great (SCVFR24L), inexpensive and looks awesome. We don't use it for primary heating only ambiance or taking off the chill in the morning. We paid $329. I would recommend this product to everyone, it can be ordered in either natural gas or propane. I would recommend only having a professional install it, set up isn't complicated, your homeowners insurance probably wouldn't cover you if it wasn't. One con was my manual did not have the pages showing how to properly place each fire log (there is an order), I just jumped on line and down loaded another manual from Sure Heat with the correct illustration for my log set.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, High Quality, Looks Great
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Savannah Oak 24 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote
from Mississippi

24" ventfree fireplace insert

PostedJanuary 22, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This is a great heater, puts out plenty heat. The smell of the paint burning from the logs is heavy, but the logs themselves are the best of any heater i looked at, and a great warranty. I did have trouble with the receiver in the heater did not work. I called and now awaiting a new reciever/ sensor for the remote. The heater works great manually. This is a very good product except the remote aspect is not up to par compared to the rest of the product. Highly recomend the heater and good luck with the remote/sensor.The lady I talked to about the remote was very kind and very helpful, hope the receiver comes soon! J. Walker
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Savannah Oak 24 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote
from Dayton, OH, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Problems with Gas Log set

PostedNovember 26, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
When I opened the box the log set was shipped in, I noticed the gas burner itself looked like it had been thrown in the box. Nothing was supporting it at all. The remote did not work. The gas burner after it was hooked up did not seem like it was working properly or safely. It took about 5-10 seconds before the gas would ignite and gave a loud poof when it did. There was also a small B-nut that was not tightened and it was unclear where it should even be attached. I returned the set to the local Home Depot
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Savannah Oak 24 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote
from Maine
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

Nice product, works well but know what you're buying

PostedOctober 27, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
The upside is that it works well and puts out plenty of heat for my farmhouse. It was easy to install as a replacement for one that was in my fireplace before and it's very attractive.
The downside is that it wasn't what I was expecting in that it's not thermostatically controlled. The two controls allow for a graduated heat setting between "LOW" and "HIGH", and a remote switch that provides only for "Off" and "On". This means that any time the burner is "On" it has a fairly substantial flame and is heating the room even if on the "Low" setting.
I'm disappointed in that I was expecting it to be truly thermostatically controlled as was the one it's replacing. When I called the company to inquire about it I was told that the Savanna Oak series is not thermostatically controlled while the Oakwood series is. I bought this from Home Depot and that's not specified at their website.
Beyond that, I'm not unhappy with it and I will keep the unit. I would just advise anyone considering purchasing one of these to know what they're getting.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Savannah Oak 24 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote
from New Hampshire, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Visually appealing log set

PostedNovember 15, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This log set seems to be a bargain. The gas assembly seems to be virtually identical to the more expensive set that it replaced. The old set had problems and the repair cost was approaching the cost of this new set. The remote has a cheap look to it but it seems to work fine. The instructions are useless for setting up the logs. The pictures are low resolution and look like they are copies of copies. Be sure the logs don't obstruct the flame or you may get soot. Also, plan on some time with the flue open or the windows open to allow the fumes to burn off the logs.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Savannah Oak 24 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote
from pocono lake, pa
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

looks and works awesome

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
couldn't be happier with this product. gives off great heat, flames look amazing and entire set up looks like a real fire. best value i've seen and i've shopped tons of sites before purchasing this. My brother had no trouble setting this up for me, although we had to buy an additional connector
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great, Nice Design
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Savannah Oak 24 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote
from Dallas, TX, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Very nice, but needs a tweak

PostedDecember 27, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Two keys for successful use of this log: position the logs so the flames don't touch them constantly. This eliminates the ongoing burning smell. Also, if you experience the log and pilot going out after a short time, check to see if the overtemp switch on the back has tripped. Mine wouldn't stay lit more than 10 minutes, so I jumpered the three wires together at the overtemp switch and now it strictly uses the thermostat to control when it's on and off. Perfect! Now it automatically heats half my house cheaper than the electric heat can. Why they would put a 250 degree overtemp switch 1 inch from a gas log burner tube I won't understand.
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Savannah Oak 24 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote
from Georgia
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Savannah Oak 24" Vent Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs

PostedApril 7, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Very nice fireplace kit, with only one flaw. It comes with a remote and the battery compartment on the log kit (or even that it NEEDED batteries) was not mentioned anywhere in the instructions. We had to figure out where they were to get the batteries installed and remote working. It's "too" nicely hidden and should have been mentioned in the instructions where they were. We had to do some serious hide n' seek to find it! But overall, very nice kit. Works great.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: difficult to find battery compartment
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Savannah Oak 24 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote
from Summerville SC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Should have bought it years ago

PostedJanuary 13, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I have a 2300 square foot home. This heats the entire home including my up stair where the bed room are. One draw back, propane for a 12 lb tank is gone in two days, that's without turning the unit off. I have found it better to use during morning starts and weekends. Propane now last two weeks instead of two days.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: some bricks were cracked
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Savannah Oak 24 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote
from Pennsylvania, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Good value-some work to get it going!!!

PostedDecember 1, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
First shipment arrived damaged-had to return to store but HD Customer Service was very helpful! Second one arrived timely and had it professionally installed today.
Installer noted two isues-compartment holding batteries on unit itself is located in odd spot and hard to manage when needing to replace the batteries. Also when putting the unit battery cover back on, make sure the space/hole on the back of the cover matches up to the switch otherwise on/off/remote selection will not operate with the remote control! Installer had to remove logs three diff times due to location of this control box-ugh!
The second issue is log placement does not match up to instructions. Logs do smell when first ignited but can deal with it as it is temp situation.
Overall I would rate this as a nice unit and exceptional value for the price paid!
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Savannah Oak 24 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote
from connecticut
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

excellent value

PostedMarch 27, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
excellent quality and value. you definitely need the installation kit. the design is a little awkward for the remote. to replace the battery you have to disconnect the gas line so you can access the battery compartment which is located on the bottom of the unit. gives off great heat. i was quoted $1500 for
an installed replacement of my old set. i installed this unit for a total of $350. i would recommend but probably wont use the remote that much
Pros: Durable, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: remote battery installation is difficult
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Savannah Oak 24 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote

24" vent free fireplace

PostedApril 7, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It worked for one day, then the receiver went bad. I called their customer service and they said they would send it right out, that was about 3 weeks ago and I still don't have the part. I wouldn't recommend this company due to the bad customer service
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Savannah Oak 24 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote
from Hazleton, PA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very Poor Customer Service

PostedApril 7, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Product worked for one day & then receiver went bad. The company said they would ship a receiver right out & still have not yet received it's going on 3 weeks now. I would not recommend this product due to very poor customer service.
Pros: Stylish
Cons: poor placement of receiver
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Savannah Oak 24 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote
from Chesterfield, Virginia
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Auto start sensor defective-can not use remote

PostedMarch 24, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Propane gas technician installed logs and demonstrated that the sensor on the logs was defective and would not respond to the remote. The labor costs of replacing the sensor, even if it is provided free, makes replacing the sensor unfeasible. The time and labor costs of replacing/reinstalling the logs is also too costly an option. I feel stuck with a defective product. Gas log suppliers seem to have very poor quality control standards.
Cons: unreliable product
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Savannah Oak 24 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote
from Mooresville, IN
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Savannah Oak propane logs

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Easy to install, very pleased with my purchase. I recommend this product to any one interested in a fireplace logs.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Savannah Oak 24 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote

Love the fireplace.

PostedJanuary 24, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This Fireplace log set is just what we wanted. The gas installer said it was the best looking he'd ever installed. I opened the damper in the chimney and ran it on high for 6-8 hours to get off the new log smell. After closing the vent it warms the whole house with the help of ceiling fans. I only use the expensive eletric to help heat the back rooms.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Savannah Oak 24 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote
from Honey Brook, PA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Love it!

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The installation was a little harder than expected, but once it was installed and working, it was great. The remote works well too. After the fireplace was burning for the first time, there was a burning smell, but that went away after the first 2 or 3 burns. Nice and warm now!
Pros: Easy to Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Savannah Oak 24 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote
from Frankford de
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Gas logs

PostedDecember 9, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Logs are natural looking when burning but the remote is not durable
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Savannah Oak 24 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote
from king n.c. 27021
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great purchase

PostedMarch 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
the fire logs were easy to install and worked great
Pros: High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 12 >>