728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Savannah Oak 24 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote

Savannah Oak 24 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote

24 in. Vent Free LP Log's operates with the chimney flue closed, safely keeping 100% of the heat produced by the unit in your home. Has the most realistic natural fire and highly detailed logs. Remote Control allows for easy on/off control at your fingertips. 3 year Warranty on logs, one year on all other hardware.
Overall rating:
3.799 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(179 reviews) 179
Open Ratings Snapshot
79%of customersrecommend this product137 of 173reviews
Rating Breakdown 179 reviews
3.8 out of 5.0
5
(71)
4
(61)
3
(13)
2
(8)
1
(26)
Quality 
3.4 out of 5.0
3.4 out of 5
Value 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
79%of customersrecommend this product137 of 173reviews
Customer reviews for Savannah Oak 24 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote
Review 1 for Savannah Oak 24 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote
Louie
from Edgewater, Maryland
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

We're very pleased.

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We already had a connection coming into our fireplace from a previous log set that we had....so we had our plumber install the new log set and attach it to the connection for the propane. It was easy to install, and nothing was damaged. We have a remote with this set and our only complaint is that where you have to install the batteries is not a very convenient or easy to get to place. Once installed, we had our local propane dealer come with the propane tank and hook it up to our log set...he also fired it up to make sure everything was working properly. The only other issue we had was that initially it didn't seem like the remote was going to work but our plumber had installed the on/off plate backwards and the propane dealer attached it correctly and then we had to wait for the remote to "read" to the connection and it all worked fine...and has worked well ever since. We feel we made a good purchase.
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Savannah Oak 24 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote
HeavenlyHome
from Ashley, IN, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Looks Great

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Looks Really Good, Had it professionally installed and it took him 1/2 hour. The remote never worked, but that was the only down side.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Nice Design
Cons: remote didn't work
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Savannah Oak 24 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote
Lgb0250

They work just fine

PostedOctober 15, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Once I figured our the mimeographed instructions were totally useless everything fell into place. Also I couldn't believe they didn't come in their own shipping box! All I received was a big plain brown box with the parts inside and the mimeographed pictures, which are terrible. The product itself works perfectly, including the remote control.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: Difficult to Install, mimeographed photos which are basically unreadable
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Savannah Oak 24 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote
KSB4924

Pretty good value

PostedMay 21, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
There were a few wires that were not connected, could be a big deal for some people to figure out. The remote control components were haphazardly installed on the logs (the unit does not rest flat against the fireplace floor), the battery compartment is really difficult to close. The instructions on log placement are horrible, you can barely see the black and white photo copy (and no website to view them online/ very strange) It is apparent that it is not the highest quality product but when all is finally put together it does function well and looks good.
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: Difficult to Install
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Savannah Oak 24 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote
JAWalker
from Mississippi

24" ventfree fireplace insert

PostedJanuary 22, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is a great heater, puts out plenty heat. The smell of the paint burning from the logs is heavy, but the logs themselves are the best of any heater i looked at, and a great warranty. I did have trouble with the receiver in the heater did not work. I called and now awaiting a new reciever/ sensor for the remote. The heater works great manually. This is a very good product except the remote aspect is not up to par compared to the rest of the product. Highly recomend the heater and good luck with the remote/sensor.The lady I talked to about the remote was very kind and very helpful, hope the receiver comes soon! J. Walker
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Savannah Oak 24 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote
Steve
from Dayton, OH, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Problems with Gas Log set

PostedNovember 26, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
When I opened the box the log set was shipped in, I noticed the gas burner itself looked like it had been thrown in the box. Nothing was supporting it at all. The remote did not work. The gas burner after it was hooked up did not seem like it was working properly or safely. It took about 5-10 seconds before the gas would ignite and gave a loud poof when it did. There was also a small B-nut that was not tightened and it was unclear where it should even be attached. I returned the set to the local Home Depot
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Savannah Oak 24 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote
NorthCountryWoodsman
from New Hampshire, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Visually appealing log set

PostedNovember 15, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This log set seems to be a bargain. The gas assembly seems to be virtually identical to the more expensive set that it replaced. The old set had problems and the repair cost was approaching the cost of this new set. The remote has a cheap look to it but it seems to work fine. The instructions are useless for setting up the logs. The pictures are low resolution and look like they are copies of copies. Be sure the logs don't obstruct the flame or you may get soot. Also, plan on some time with the flue open or the windows open to allow the fumes to burn off the logs.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Savannah Oak 24 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote
Michael
from Pennsylvania, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Good value-some work to get it going!!!

PostedDecember 1, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
First shipment arrived damaged-had to return to store but HD Customer Service was very helpful! Second one arrived timely and had it professionally installed today.
Installer noted two isues-compartment holding batteries on unit itself is located in odd spot and hard to manage when needing to replace the batteries. Also when putting the unit battery cover back on, make sure the space/hole on the back of the cover matches up to the switch otherwise on/off/remote selection will not operate with the remote control! Installer had to remove logs three diff times due to location of this control box-ugh!
The second issue is log placement does not match up to instructions. Logs do smell when first ignited but can deal with it as it is temp situation.
Overall I would rate this as a nice unit and exceptional value for the price paid!
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Savannah Oak 24 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote
GrumpyWings
from Dallas, TX, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Very nice, but needs a tweak

PostedDecember 27, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Two keys for successful use of this log: position the logs so the flames don't touch them constantly. This eliminates the ongoing burning smell. Also, if you experience the log and pilot going out after a short time, check to see if the overtemp switch on the back has tripped. Mine wouldn't stay lit more than 10 minutes, so I jumpered the three wires together at the overtemp switch and now it strictly uses the thermostat to control when it's on and off. Perfect! Now it automatically heats half my house cheaper than the electric heat can. Why they would put a 250 degree overtemp switch 1 inch from a gas log burner tube I won't understand.
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Savannah Oak 24 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote
DocGoodbyte
from Palmyra, VA 22963, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Bad designed remote

PostedAugust 22, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchase this with great hopes but the receiver for the remote is one of the worse engineered designs I have ever seen. The remote receiver is attached on the lower part of the main grate. You must remove the faceplate and two screws to access the battery compartment. I read some of the previous reviews and decide to install the batteries first before installing the main unit into the fireplace. Turned out that the plastic cover that holds the batteries in place had clips that would not hold. When I tried to attach the faceplate with the screws it was impossible with the batteries installed in the receiver. Took it back to my local Home Depot the next day and they were very gracious about having it returned.
Cons: Difficult to Install, poor remote design
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Savannah Oak 24 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote
28751

Love the fireplace.

PostedJanuary 24, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This Fireplace log set is just what we wanted. The gas installer said it was the best looking he'd ever installed. I opened the damper in the chimney and ran it on high for 6-8 hours to get off the new log smell. After closing the vent it warms the whole house with the help of ceiling fans. I only use the expensive eletric to help heat the back rooms.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Savannah Oak 24 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote
ldcretired
from abingdon va

gas logs

PostedJanuary 22, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
good product for the dollars.
There was a couple of issues. One issue I had was the remote box wasn't working properly. Contacted Home Depot customer service (great to work with) and they sent a replacement out promptly. Installed the replacement and works great now. will activate the burner @ 15 feet now and the unit is behind metal screen and glass doors.
The other issue I had was the remote box sets lower then the grate legs which allowed the units weight to set on the box. Fixed with just a 1/4 inch tile under the legs.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Savannah Oak 24 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote
OLH1
from Winter Park, fl

Wondeful Gas Log set

PostedFebruary 5, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I researched for days and compared prices and specs everywhere. I am very amazed by the great value of this set. It looks beautiful and works perfectly too . The remote is a most, you just push the button and there's your fire " simple" maintenance free.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Savannah Oak 24 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote
SKSB
from NC

Realistic

PostedFebruary 5, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We own a 1700 sqft split level home and these logs heat our basement and 1st floor nicely. The remote has made turning the flame on and off extremely simple. It was easy to install and easy initial operation.
The only con is the awful smell and smoke from the first burn. It takes approximately 6-8 hours to completely remove any residual materials from the logs (this is in the manual and is normal)--be sure to open all your windows and do not stay in the room these logs are burning in during that time.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Savannah Oak 24 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote
JudyB13
from Dillsburg PA

Very nice

PostedFebruary 12, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I ordered 2 of these. When they arrived (in separate boxes), the large front log was cracked in one and in the other, the large front log was actually broken in half. I plan to call about this. Went ahead and installed the one that was only cracked. Took about 20 minutes to install. Disappointed about the remote. It seems it's only to turn it on or off, not to adjust the flame. There was not enough of a product description so that information was not available to me. Not that it would have changed my decision to purchase. It looks great and really puts out the heat!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Savannah Oak 24 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote
Sammydawg
from Dacula, GA

realistic

PostedJanuary 24, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Overall, a good product. It looks nice, throws enough heat to warm the family room, kichen, and keeping room. I'm having some trouble right now with the flame going out after about 20 minutes (need to get with tech support on this). The remote works well however, it functions as on/off only... not flame height or temp. With these considerations, I would still buy this again.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Savannah Oak 24 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote
mediman1000
from arkansas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

nice unit

PostedJanuary 31, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
attractive, funtional unit. Puts out good heat. Had it professionally installed(don't like to mess with gas at my level of understanding). Will not use for major heat source, but as emergency and for heating up large living room to create "cozy" environment for kids.
Pros: Durable, Lots of Features, Sturdy, High Quality, Looks Great, Nice Design
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Savannah Oak 24 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote
bokfloyd
from Elgin, SC

24" LP gas fire logs

PostedFebruary 20, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Home Depot was wonderful with great customer service. The only thing I had trouble with was the remote control did not work, but they sent out another one that worked right off. One other thing I would suggest is the installation instructions need to be improved to show exactly what is needed for piping from the logs out to the tank connection. I had to call around and talk to a lot of people to find out exactly what was acceptable and within code for my area. Of course if you want to do it with a professional installation by a qualified plumber, you won't need any additional info. Overall a great set!!!! Thanks Home Depot!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Savannah Oak 24 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote
Ultra
from Illinois

LPG Vent Free logs

PostedOctober 29, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Afriend of mine bought these logs first and we where quite impressed with them. So we converted or wood burning fireplace to LPG logs and saved the hassle of wood mess.
These logs will put out some heat, it would be better if they had a low setting or a thermostat contol so you could better regulate the heat. Our basement is 1850 square feet and is well insulated,these logs make it nice and toasty when its down in the signal digits and makes an excellent back up if the power goes off because of a storm, beats wood. When you first fire the logs I would recommend you have some sort of ventaltion or a fan in a window because the first use will burn your eyes and make everything stink. After a two or three hours on they are fine. Overall it is a great puchase and I would recommend this set, MnM
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Savannah Oak 24 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote
thegreatsillyone
from Wake Forest, NC

Great performance for the price!

PostedJanuary 2, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These logs work very well in the smaller fireplaces. I converted mine from wood burning to gas logs just days before x-mas and the heat these logs put off is incredible! Only bad part is it gets a little too warm after 30 minutes or so. The gas company installed the logs but it only took about 2 hours. At first the remote didn't work but I had to use old batteries in the base because I was out. After installing fresh batteries and bending the lead from the remote base it worked fine from about 40-50 ft away and through 3 walls! I would recommend this set to anyone who wants and entry level ventless set with remote control that doesn't want to spend and arm and leg on the logs because if you are converting over gas fill up and install runs between $450-$750.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 9 >>