728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Fireplace Logs or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Savannah Oak 24 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote

Savannah Oak 24 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote

24 in. Vent Free LP Log's operates with the chimney flue closed, safely keeping 100% of the heat produced by the unit in your home. Has the most realistic natural fire and highly detailed logs. Remote Control allows for easy on/off control at your fingertips. 3 year Warranty on logs, one year on all other hardware.
Overall rating:
3.816 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(196 reviews) 196
Open Ratings Snapshot
79%of customersrecommend this product151 of 190reviews
Rating Breakdown 196 reviews
3.8 out of 5.0
5
(78)
4
(66)
3
(17)
2
(8)
1
(27)
Quality 
3.5 out of 5.0
3.5 out of 5
Value 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
79%of customersrecommend this product151 of 190reviews
Customer reviews for Savannah Oak 24 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote
Review 1 for Savannah Oak 24 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote
from Maine

Best fire log set out there

PostedSeptember 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My wife's brother and sister-in-law purchased this propane fire log set a couple years ago and we had admired it for some time. This year we went searching for the same or similar log set. We looked at the box that his came in and the address on it read "Sure Heat" as was mine. The address on manual reads "SHM International Corp", same address and phone number. Anyway, you can't find a gas log set with remote, oxygen sensor, high and low flame settings for under $600. Usually the remote alone adds $80-$100. The gas log set works great (SCVFR24L), inexpensive and looks awesome. We don't use it for primary heating only ambiance or taking off the chill in the morning. We paid $329. I would recommend this product to everyone, it can be ordered in either natural gas or propane. I would recommend only having a professional install it, set up isn't complicated, your homeowners insurance probably wouldn't cover you if it wasn't. One con was my manual did not have the pages showing how to properly place each fire log (there is an order), I just jumped on line and down loaded another manual from Sure Heat with the correct illustration for my log set.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, High Quality, Looks Great
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Savannah Oak 24 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote
from Mooresville, IN
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Savannah Oak propane logs

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Easy to install, very pleased with my purchase. I recommend this product to any one interested in a fireplace logs.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Savannah Oak 24 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote
from pocono lake, pa
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

looks and works awesome

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
couldn't be happier with this product. gives off great heat, flames look amazing and entire set up looks like a real fire. best value i've seen and i've shopped tons of sites before purchasing this. My brother had no trouble setting this up for me, although we had to buy an additional connector
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Savannah Oak 24 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote
from Maine
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

Nice product, works well but know what you're buying

PostedOctober 27, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The upside is that it works well and puts out plenty of heat for my farmhouse. It was easy to install as a replacement for one that was in my fireplace before and it's very attractive.
The downside is that it wasn't what I was expecting in that it's not thermostatically controlled. The two controls allow for a graduated heat setting between "LOW" and "HIGH", and a remote switch that provides only for "Off" and "On". This means that any time the burner is "On" it has a fairly substantial flame and is heating the room even if on the "Low" setting.
I'm disappointed in that I was expecting it to be truly thermostatically controlled as was the one it's replacing. When I called the company to inquire about it I was told that the Savanna Oak series is not thermostatically controlled while the Oakwood series is. I bought this from Home Depot and that's not specified at their website.
Beyond that, I'm not unhappy with it and I will keep the unit. I would just advise anyone considering purchasing one of these to know what they're getting.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Savannah Oak 24 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote
from Mississippi

24" ventfree fireplace insert

PostedJanuary 22, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is a great heater, puts out plenty heat. The smell of the paint burning from the logs is heavy, but the logs themselves are the best of any heater i looked at, and a great warranty. I did have trouble with the receiver in the heater did not work. I called and now awaiting a new reciever/ sensor for the remote. The heater works great manually. This is a very good product except the remote aspect is not up to par compared to the rest of the product. Highly recomend the heater and good luck with the remote/sensor.The lady I talked to about the remote was very kind and very helpful, hope the receiver comes soon! J. Walker
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Savannah Oak 24 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote
from Dayton, OH, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Problems with Gas Log set

PostedNovember 26, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
When I opened the box the log set was shipped in, I noticed the gas burner itself looked like it had been thrown in the box. Nothing was supporting it at all. The remote did not work. The gas burner after it was hooked up did not seem like it was working properly or safely. It took about 5-10 seconds before the gas would ignite and gave a loud poof when it did. There was also a small B-nut that was not tightened and it was unclear where it should even be attached. I returned the set to the local Home Depot
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Savannah Oak 24 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote
from Quaker Hill, CT
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Defective product

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Product did not work when installed. Company support said to have propane company check line. It cost me $100 to have them come only to find that there was something wrong with the product as the pilot light would not stay lit.
Pros: Nice Design
Cons: defective
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Savannah Oak 24 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote

They work just fine

PostedOctober 15, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Once I figured our the mimeographed instructions were totally useless everything fell into place. Also I couldn't believe they didn't come in their own shipping box! All I received was a big plain brown box with the parts inside and the mimeographed pictures, which are terrible. The product itself works perfectly, including the remote control.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: Difficult to Install, mimeographed photos which are basically unreadable
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Savannah Oak 24 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote
from New Hampshire, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Visually appealing log set

PostedNovember 15, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This log set seems to be a bargain. The gas assembly seems to be virtually identical to the more expensive set that it replaced. The old set had problems and the repair cost was approaching the cost of this new set. The remote has a cheap look to it but it seems to work fine. The instructions are useless for setting up the logs. The pictures are low resolution and look like they are copies of copies. Be sure the logs don't obstruct the flame or you may get soot. Also, plan on some time with the flue open or the windows open to allow the fumes to burn off the logs.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Savannah Oak 24 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote
from Pennsylvania, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Good value-some work to get it going!!!

PostedDecember 1, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
First shipment arrived damaged-had to return to store but HD Customer Service was very helpful! Second one arrived timely and had it professionally installed today.
Installer noted two isues-compartment holding batteries on unit itself is located in odd spot and hard to manage when needing to replace the batteries. Also when putting the unit battery cover back on, make sure the space/hole on the back of the cover matches up to the switch otherwise on/off/remote selection will not operate with the remote control! Installer had to remove logs three diff times due to location of this control box-ugh!
The second issue is log placement does not match up to instructions. Logs do smell when first ignited but can deal with it as it is temp situation.
Overall I would rate this as a nice unit and exceptional value for the price paid!
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Savannah Oak 24 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote
from Dallas, TX, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Very nice, but needs a tweak

PostedDecember 27, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Two keys for successful use of this log: position the logs so the flames don't touch them constantly. This eliminates the ongoing burning smell. Also, if you experience the log and pilot going out after a short time, check to see if the overtemp switch on the back has tripped. Mine wouldn't stay lit more than 10 minutes, so I jumpered the three wires together at the overtemp switch and now it strictly uses the thermostat to control when it's on and off. Perfect! Now it automatically heats half my house cheaper than the electric heat can. Why they would put a 250 degree overtemp switch 1 inch from a gas log burner tube I won't understand.
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Savannah Oak 24 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote

Pretty good value

PostedMay 21, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
There were a few wires that were not connected, could be a big deal for some people to figure out. The remote control components were haphazardly installed on the logs (the unit does not rest flat against the fireplace floor), the battery compartment is really difficult to close. The instructions on log placement are horrible, you can barely see the black and white photo copy (and no website to view them online/ very strange) It is apparent that it is not the highest quality product but when all is finally put together it does function well and looks good.
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: Difficult to Install
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Savannah Oak 24 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote

Love the fireplace.

PostedJanuary 24, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This Fireplace log set is just what we wanted. The gas installer said it was the best looking he'd ever installed. I opened the damper in the chimney and ran it on high for 6-8 hours to get off the new log smell. After closing the vent it warms the whole house with the help of ceiling fans. I only use the expensive eletric to help heat the back rooms.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Savannah Oak 24 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote
from Palmyra, VA 22963, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Bad designed remote

PostedAugust 22, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchase this with great hopes but the receiver for the remote is one of the worse engineered designs I have ever seen. The remote receiver is attached on the lower part of the main grate. You must remove the faceplate and two screws to access the battery compartment. I read some of the previous reviews and decide to install the batteries first before installing the main unit into the fireplace. Turned out that the plastic cover that holds the batteries in place had clips that would not hold. When I tried to attach the faceplate with the screws it was impossible with the batteries installed in the receiver. Took it back to my local Home Depot the next day and they were very gracious about having it returned.
Cons: Difficult to Install, poor remote design
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Savannah Oak 24 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote
from abingdon va

gas logs

PostedJanuary 22, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
good product for the dollars.
There was a couple of issues. One issue I had was the remote box wasn't working properly. Contacted Home Depot customer service (great to work with) and they sent a replacement out promptly. Installed the replacement and works great now. will activate the burner @ 15 feet now and the unit is behind metal screen and glass doors.
The other issue I had was the remote box sets lower then the grate legs which allowed the units weight to set on the box. Fixed with just a 1/4 inch tile under the legs.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Savannah Oak 24 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote
from Winter Park, fl

Wondeful Gas Log set

PostedFebruary 5, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I researched for days and compared prices and specs everywhere. I am very amazed by the great value of this set. It looks beautiful and works perfectly too . The remote is a most, you just push the button and there's your fire " simple" maintenance free.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Savannah Oak 24 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote
from NC

Realistic

PostedFebruary 5, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We own a 1700 sqft split level home and these logs heat our basement and 1st floor nicely. The remote has made turning the flame on and off extremely simple. It was easy to install and easy initial operation.
The only con is the awful smell and smoke from the first burn. It takes approximately 6-8 hours to completely remove any residual materials from the logs (this is in the manual and is normal)--be sure to open all your windows and do not stay in the room these logs are burning in during that time.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Savannah Oak 24 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote
from Dillsburg PA

Very nice

PostedFebruary 12, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I ordered 2 of these. When they arrived (in separate boxes), the large front log was cracked in one and in the other, the large front log was actually broken in half. I plan to call about this. Went ahead and installed the one that was only cracked. Took about 20 minutes to install. Disappointed about the remote. It seems it's only to turn it on or off, not to adjust the flame. There was not enough of a product description so that information was not available to me. Not that it would have changed my decision to purchase. It looks great and really puts out the heat!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Savannah Oak 24 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote
from Dacula, GA

realistic

PostedJanuary 24, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Overall, a good product. It looks nice, throws enough heat to warm the family room, kichen, and keeping room. I'm having some trouble right now with the flame going out after about 20 minutes (need to get with tech support on this). The remote works well however, it functions as on/off only... not flame height or temp. With these considerations, I would still buy this again.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Savannah Oak 24 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote
from Elgin, SC

24" LP gas fire logs

PostedFebruary 20, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Home Depot was wonderful with great customer service. The only thing I had trouble with was the remote control did not work, but they sent out another one that worked right off. One other thing I would suggest is the installation instructions need to be improved to show exactly what is needed for piping from the logs out to the tank connection. I had to call around and talk to a lot of people to find out exactly what was acceptable and within code for my area. Of course if you want to do it with a professional installation by a qualified plumber, you won't need any additional info. Overall a great set!!!! Thanks Home Depot!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 10 >>