728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Fireplace Logs or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Savannah Oak 24 in. Vent-Free Natural Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote

Savannah Oak 24 in. Vent-Free Natural Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote

24 in. Vent Free NG Log's operates with the chimney flue closed, safely keeping 100% of the heat produced by the unit in your home. Has the most realistic natural fire and highly detailed logs. Remote Control allows for easy on/off control at your fingertips. 3 year Warranty on logs, one year on all other hardware.
Overall rating:
3.828 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(198 reviews) 198
Open Ratings Snapshot
80%of customersrecommend this product153 of 192reviews
Rating Breakdown 198 reviews
3.8 out of 5.0
5
(80)
4
(66)
3
(17)
2
(8)
1
(27)
Quality 
3.5 out of 5.0
3.5 out of 5
Value 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
80%of customersrecommend this product153 of 192reviews
Customer reviews for Savannah Oak 24 in. Vent-Free Natural Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote
Review 1 for Savannah Oak 24 in. Vent-Free Natural Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote
from Durham, NC

24 in. split country oak vf lp w/remote

PostedDecember 28, 2007
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is from:Savannah Oak 24 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote
This vent-free gas log set gave my family room a realistic, warming glow and the convenience of the remote makes it very easy to operate. The assembly was very simple and the logs themselves look like real split oak logs. Overall, I like this product for it's esthetic value, however it could pump out a few more BTU's of heat. It looks great!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Savannah Oak 24 in. Vent-Free Natural Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote
from Wake Forest, NC

Great performance for the price!

PostedJanuary 2, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Savannah Oak 24 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote
These logs work very well in the smaller fireplaces. I converted mine from wood burning to gas logs just days before x-mas and the heat these logs put off is incredible! Only bad part is it gets a little too warm after 30 minutes or so. The gas company installed the logs but it only took about 2 hours. At first the remote didn't work but I had to use old batteries in the base because I was out. After installing fresh batteries and bending the lead from the remote base it worked fine from about 40-50 ft away and through 3 walls! I would recommend this set to anyone who wants and entry level ventless set with remote control that doesn't want to spend and arm and leg on the logs because if you are converting over gas fill up and install runs between $450-$750.
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Savannah Oak 24 in. Vent-Free Natural Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote
from Gainesville Florida - Home of the Gators

Gas Logs - Not Vented

PostedJanuary 7, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was about to change my fireplace back to a wood burner. The gas man that came to remove my old logs suggested that I try unvented logs instead.
I did, I can't believe how quickly my new unvented logs warm the entire front half of my house.
LoveMyLogs
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Savannah Oak 24 in. Vent-Free Natural Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote
from Lake Charles, LA

Great Deal!

PostedJanuary 24, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We chose this particular log set because it had the features we were looking for and we thought it was good-looking. And we were not disappointed at all! It's a beautiful, natural-looking set and the fact that it has a remote, makes it a steal for this price. It installed easily too.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Savannah Oak 24 in. Vent-Free Natural Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote
from Tyler, TX

24 In. Split Country Oak VF NG w/remote

PostedJanuary 24, 2008
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The Gas Logs are great. More heat than I really need. We have a smaller home, and I had to "cut down" the main gas feed to reduce the flames, but it sure does work great.
I couldn't get the remote to work, but could be my fault!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Savannah Oak 24 in. Vent-Free Natural Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote
from Washington, DC

Amazing Log Set for the Price!

PostedJanuary 27, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I just installed this vent free gas log set yesterday (1/27/08), and I'm extremely happy. This 24" set replaced an old vented 18" set that had been installed before we bought the home.
The logs and flames are beautiful-- much more attractive than I had expected.
Although there were a couple of problems-- the remote didn't work immediately, and I had to fiddle with it, the screws mounting the millivolt gas valve to the log holder were stripped, and had to be replaced with slightly longer screws and washers, and the piezo electric igniter does not work on my set (I just used a long butane lighter), the remote control, the gas valve, and the beauty of the set far outweigh these minor conveniences.
My one piece of advice, mount the 3 main horizontal logs first, light the burner to make sure no flame/log contact, and then position the top 4 logs while the burner is lit to make sure no flame/log contact (that would cause all sorts of nastiness).
Also, my set emitted an odor for the first couple of hours of use, so make sure you have good ventilation during initial usage.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Savannah Oak 24 in. Vent-Free Natural Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote
from NC

Realistic

PostedFebruary 5, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Savannah Oak 24 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote
We own a 1700 sqft split level home and these logs heat our basement and 1st floor nicely. The remote has made turning the flame on and off extremely simple. It was easy to install and easy initial operation.
The only con is the awful smell and smoke from the first burn. It takes approximately 6-8 hours to completely remove any residual materials from the logs (this is in the manual and is normal)--be sure to open all your windows and do not stay in the room these logs are burning in during that time.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Savannah Oak 24 in. Vent-Free Natural Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote
from Asbury Park, NJ

Great purchase

PostedFebruary 5, 2008
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This product is better than I expected it to be. It looks beautiful. I can't seem to get the remote to work, still working on it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Savannah Oak 24 in. Vent-Free Natural Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote
from Pittsburgh, PA

Best Vent Free Set for the Price

PostedNovember 9, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This unit is great. Assembly is a breeze. This set was able to heat my whole downstairs in my home and the room at the top of the stairs too. Had some problems with the remote like everyone else but after some tinkering around with the receiver unit connected to the burners I was able to get the remote to work just fine. Overall great product, can't beat the price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Savannah Oak 24 in. Vent-Free Natural Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote
from Hebron, Ky

So happy I took a chance...

PostedNovember 17, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Without the reviews I don't think I would have purchased this because of the low price. I love it....it is very realistic and certainly puts out the heat, the assembly was a snap and the remote is just a great plus. I can't imagine wanting to spend more money on something else as this is such a good value...thanks Home Depot :) We used this to convert from vented to unvented, what a difference.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Savannah Oak 24 in. Vent-Free Natural Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote
from Little town in Utah

Gas Fire Log

PostedDecember 27, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
price was a determing factor in our purchase - best price for the appearance - it was easy to install - it is easy to operate and it looks great - it warms the whole family room - i would highly recommend this one.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Savannah Oak 24 in. Vent-Free Natural Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote
from Shenandoah,Ia

PostedDecember 31, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
works great execpt for remote- still working with it otherwise everything works better than I planned first couple of hours it did smoke and smell the house up-but the more you use it the better it gets thanks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Savannah Oak 24 in. Vent-Free Natural Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote
from Virginia

This is the one to buy.

PostedJanuary 26, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I looked at 30-40 gas fireplaces, vented and unvented. I had a wood burning fireplace that I rarely used because it was a hassle to burn wood. I went back and forth on the vented versus unvented option until I decided I didn't need to contribute to more global warming when I was only trying to warm up the office.
That meant a ventless unit that had a remote so that I didn't need to install a remote switch in the drywall near the fireplace. This unit came to the top of the list very quickly because of it's price, reviews and features.
Home Depot won out because I also bought $100 worth of Carbide bits to drill through the existing fireplace to install the gas line. Fortunately the gas line was accessible.
In regards to the remote not working which other have commented on: the issue is the batteries making proper contact in the receiving unit. For some reason, a number of manufactures of electronic devices are coating the contact terminals to prevent corrosion. Unfortunately, that coating also appears to be non-conductive. I simply scratched the contacts in the receiving unit, placed the switch in the remote setting, installed the batteries (it should beep when you put the battery cover on) and hit the transmit button. The receiver beeps three times to indicate it received the code.
That's it!!! I really like this unit, the logs the flame and the price. Plus, it heats the whole office which is more than I can say the wood burning ever did.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Savannah Oak 24 in. Vent-Free Natural Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote
from New Jersey

Vent Free Gas Logs with Remote

PostedApril 21, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am completely happy with this purchase. Before I purchased I looked all over and found this one to be the best.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Savannah Oak 24 in. Vent-Free Natural Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote
from Michigan

Best Product in Price Range

PostedOctober 3, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This model is exactly what I needed to replace an older gas log set. The remote control feature and safety value where the features I wanted in an upgrade. I found Home Depot had the best price available anywhere online or in store.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Savannah Oak 24 in. Vent-Free Natural Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote
from Shiloh, GA

good fireplace, bad remote

PostedOctober 22, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is from:Savannah Oak 24 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote
The firelog set installed without problem and looks great. However the remote would not work. I found that a pair of contacts on the battery cover were reversed. I was able to remove and reverse the piece, and then it worked perfectly. You will need 3 AAA and 4AA to get it working.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Savannah Oak 24 in. Vent-Free Natural Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote
from Illinois

LPG Vent Free logs

PostedOctober 29, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Savannah Oak 24 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote
Afriend of mine bought these logs first and we where quite impressed with them. So we converted or wood burning fireplace to LPG logs and saved the hassle of wood mess.
These logs will put out some heat, it would be better if they had a low setting or a thermostat contol so you could better regulate the heat. Our basement is 1850 square feet and is well insulated,these logs make it nice and toasty when its down in the signal digits and makes an excellent back up if the power goes off because of a storm, beats wood. When you first fire the logs I would recommend you have some sort of ventaltion or a fan in a window because the first use will burn your eyes and make everything stink. After a two or three hours on they are fine. Overall it is a great puchase and I would recommend this set, MnM
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Savannah Oak 24 in. Vent-Free Natural Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote
from Lima Oh.

just as described

PostedOctober 31, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
after pricing several other inserts, was please with the delivered product. Saved money and it looks and works great. no problems at all with the remote device working.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Savannah Oak 24 in. Vent-Free Natural Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote
from Maine

No Regrets

PostedNovember 9, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Savannah Oak 24 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote
I have no regrets about converting one of my two fireplaces to gas and thus far this unit has exceeded my expectations. It does a great job of warming a fair portion of the house if it's operated with the damper closed shut. After burning wood for years in my fireplace, it sure is nice to have the convince of gas in one of them. It' also great to be able come home on a Friday to my old New England farmhouse and after supper sit in front of that gas fireplace and press the remote and presto! a nice glowing fire is started. Within minutes the bricks begin to warm up and heat begins to radiate out. No mess to clean up afterwords either. Can't beat the efficiency either when you consider it can be operated with the damper closed which means nearly 100% of the heat is staying in the living space. Bottom line: I highly recommend this product!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Savannah Oak 24 in. Vent-Free Natural Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote
from WA

Nice Gas FIreplace!

PostedNovember 13, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We bought two of these units (one for upstairs and one for downstairs). after much research in looking at vented (cheap but heat goes "out the window") and ventless (reasonable and highly efficient) and inserts (pricy starting at 2k a pop!) . Very happy with our choice and very easy to install and use these units. Only reasons for not giving 5 stars are following: 1) Iniitial shipment had broken logs though this was fixed quickly for free through replacement logs, 2) Instructions warn you about this but the smell of the paint from logs takes time to ware off and you'll need to vent your house several times to clear smell! It's getting better now after 4-5 nights but still faint smell and now need to do this again on downstairs unit :) 3) The pilot light is quite large and when lit and flames going, makes standard "gas fireplace hissing sound" - wonder if this can be reduced somehow with better design? 4) The remote control is redundant since I prefer keeping pilot light off until I decide to use so this defeats the purpose. Also, the batteries necessary to support the remote control operation are inconveniently located underneath the rack so you have to remove the logs to access (probably a good thing considering safety / heat shielding). All the remote control does is turn on and off the flames if pilot is running but would be more useful if it would "ignite" and adjust the flame so wondering if this is even available? Despite the minor issues, we are very happy with the units since they provide cozy atmosphere, high efficiecy "instant heat" (yes, they heat up the room rather quickly so you'll want to control this with the flame hight and cracked window) and are very reasonable in price. Hope this review helps with your decision and good luck!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 10 >>