728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Fireplace Logs or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Oakwood 24 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs

Oakwood 24 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs

This Manual Vent Free Liquid Propane Gas Log Set operates with the chimney flue closed, safely keeping 100 Percent of the heat produced by the unit in your home. The manual control allows for easy adjustment of flame height and heat output. Easy to install and no outside venting required, does not require a working chimney or flue. Also there is no need for messy clean ups like real wood logs.
Overall rating:
4.191 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(194 reviews) 194
Open Ratings Snapshot
87%of customersrecommend this product157 of 181reviews
Rating Breakdown 194 reviews
4.2 out of 5
5
(102)
4
(57)
3
(18)
2
(4)
1
(13)
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
87%of customersrecommend this product157 of 181reviews
Customer reviews for Oakwood 24 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs
Review 1 for Oakwood 24 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs
from Nashville, TN
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great Deal for the Price

PostedFebruary 3, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have owned three sets of propane logs. One set had a remote, fan and multiple settings, these lasted two years. They cost $1400.00. I have a set that had a fan and multiple settings. These are also propane. They cost less then $200.00 and were bought over ten years ago. They are still working. These logs also cost less then $200.00, I bought these logs for another room. They are propane and have a high and low setting. They do not have a fan but they do heat up a room nicely. Sometimes I need to turn them off due to the heat put out. They are easy to light. I would buy these again for the price. I would suggest professional install only because it is gas.
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Oakwood 24 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs

24 inch, Vent free, gas logs, 36,000 btu

PostedJanuary 22, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Economical , easy to start, very good price for what you get. I am able to get about 15 days, 3 to 4 hrs a night burn time. On a 40 lb tank. I picked up a 10bag of lava rock from Home Depot also. For aprox 10$ I didn't care for the gravel bag they had enclosed. But overall I can't complain. I do recommend this product.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Oakwood 24 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs
from Lottsville, PA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not installed yet.

PostedFebruary 17, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I haven't installed it yet, other work to do first. Need to run propane line. Parts are all there and in good condition (no breakage) and instructions look very understandable. I am totally confident that product will work as described. Thanks
Pros: Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Oakwood 24 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs

Pleased with this purchase

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
We were warned that the vent free gas logs would put off a smell into the house and that it would be unpleasant if we used them heavily. We have found that there is occasionally a gas related odor. It is not unpleasant at the levels that we have experienced it. Simply detectable. It is not there most of the time. We do not use the gas logs continuously. We light it up for two or three hours in an evening and let it add some warmth and ambiance to our living room. On occasion we have had it on as many as six hours in one stretch. We have been very glad to have made this purchase. We have a brick fireplace which gets very warm when the fire is on. The nice thing about that is that it continues to radiate heat into the room for several hours after we put the fire out.
Pros: Easy to Use
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Oakwood 24 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs
from Winder, Ga.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Satisified

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The logs were very easy to assemble. It gives the appearance of a real fire burning without the mess of a real fire. I would recommend this to anybody that is considering to have a real fireplace built. It provides the heat we need to stay comfortable without using our electric heat. It would be a great investment to save energy cost.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Oakwood 24 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs
from Meridian, MS
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Would not recommend these gas logs

PostedJanuary 31, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I ordered these gas logs for our vent free fireplace in December. I was pleased with the service from Hope Depot when the shipment arrived on time; however, the manufacturer of the gas logs is what I have had difficulty with. We hired a service man from a gas company to install the logs. He told us that the logs were missing a thermocouple, which is part of the igniter. I contacted Sure Heat to get a thermocouple sent because I didn't want to unhook the logs from our gas line, and I didn't want to have the logs sent back to Home Depot, since we have no Home Depot in our town. The person I spoke with at Sure Heat at first told me that they had never had any complaints about a missing thermocouple before and she insinuated that the part was not missing. I took picture of the igniter section of the logs and sent them to her via email. She then agreed that the part was missing and that she would have it sent to me by the end of the week, which was January15. After waiting for the part to arrive for another week, I called again on January 26. I spoke to another person at Sure Heat and was told that for whatever reason the part had not been sent and was assured that the part would be sent within 10 business days. I have yet to receive the part from Sure Heat. I'm sure I will be pleased with the gas log set, if I ever get the part needed and put on. I would not recommend this company's products.
Pros: Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: Difficult to Install, missing part
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Oakwood 24 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs

Oakwood LP review

PostedFebruary 17, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The logs are a good value for the money. The start button is on the side and I have to move the logs to ignite. They would be a better design if the ignitor button was on the front with the gas controls. Professional installation is essential for all related products. Overall a good product.
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: ignitor button is on the side near the back.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Oakwood 24 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs
from NC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy installation. NO THERMOSTAT

PostedFebruary 10, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased this log set to replace an older one. The description/measurements were accurate. Our mistake was assuming that a thermostat was automatically a part of the unit (as was on our older unit). NOT. This results in manually turning off and on. Probably won't get much use because of this. May even consider replacing the unit.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
Cons: Difficult to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Oakwood 24 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs
from New London, NH
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great basic ventless gas log

PostedFebruary 13, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ventless gas log was delivered promptly and was easy to install. Great value with just off-low-high settings. Pilot lights easily. Logs give off lots of heat. Probably could have bought lower BTU unit.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Oakwood 24 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs

wonderful

PostedFebruary 15, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Was easy to install a great price and definefly covers least 1000 sq foot
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Oakwood 24 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs
from tobyhanna pa
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

excellent works perfectly heats my entire living room

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
best value for my living room it was easy to install delivery to store was fast,and it works great
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great, Durable, High Quality, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Oakwood 24 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs
from Fuquay-Varina, NC, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great logs

PostedFebruary 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought these LP logs to replace the non-functional LP logs I had in my house. I hadn't used those in 3 years, and they just didn't work. These were a perfect replacement. They arrived very well packed; nothing was broken. They shipped with a rigid pipe that was too long for my fireplace, so I had to go purchase a flexible line (SKU # 345407). I could have cut the pipe down, but I didn't have a pipe cutter or flaring device.
The heat output is amazing; I have to turn the flame down to low after about 30min because the living room is so warm. I can't comment on how much LP they use yet, I've only had them for a few weeks. The logs did have a smell the first time I used them, but it wasn't bad, just noticable. Now the only thing I smell is LP fumes (they are bad, either, I can just smell it). I also purchased a carbon monoxide detector since I'm using the logs now; It's never registered anything, so I guess things are working good.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Oakwood 24 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs
from Phoenix, AZ
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good unit for the price.

PostedDecember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The unit was packaged well, not broken, everything there, good instructions, works good, wife happy. There is a smell for the first few times it is used as expected.
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Oakwood 24 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs
from Bath, NY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product, its what I expect from Home Depot

PostedDecember 24, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Have the gas line done by a professional. The rest is cake.
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great, Stylish
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Oakwood 24 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs
from Durham, NH

21 inche log set

PostedApril 28, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The gas heater and the logs arrived in perfect condition about six days after they were ordered. We had our local gas supplier hook up the gas heater to an existing line in our real fireplace. The hook-up was very simple and took less than 30 minutes.The heater gives more than adequate heat and the logs are attractive. The only negative point is the loose gravel which is supplied to hide the front of the burner. Our two cats would be delighted to use the gravel as a litter box so we substituted some local rocks to hide the heating unit and controls.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Oakwood 24 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs
from Cleveland, OH, USA
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Great Product but TERRIBLE Instructions

PostedOctober 6, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased this log set to fulfill a city requirement. I have never installed gas logs before and I had to do A LOT of outside research to learn how to install gas logs. The instructions are terrible; they never specify the process of actually connecting the connector from the gas line to the unit. They also picture the igniter in the wrong location. You must by a flexible line, the one they provide won’t work for anyone. They never tell you that you must have gas line specific Teflon tape (designed specifically for high temperatures). Whatever coating is initially on the logs sticks for about two days and we had to keep the windows open, then it was fine. Overall happy that I didn’t have to spend $500 for gas logs but more help would have been appreciated.
Pros: Performs Well, Great Value
Cons: No Instructions, Difficult to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
4out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Oakwood 24 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs

Seems good

PostedOctober 25, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
These logs seem to be a good product considering the price paid. The owners manual looks EXACTLY like what you see on the web site (aka run off on the world's poorest copier ) and the controls do not match the one's in the manual. Also after the break-in period when you start the logs, the propane smell is fairly strong for a couple of minutes before it levels off and is pretty good. Other than that the logs are a pretty good value
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Oakwood 24 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs
from NJ
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Beautiful fire log set

PostedMay 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Installed your 21 vent free propane fireplace log set in an out side fireplace. Looks great, plenty of heat, no clean up or mess.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Oakwood 24 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs
from virgie kentucky
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

gas logs

PostedNovember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
very easy to install.....works well and produces even heat flow....would highly recommend
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Oakwood 24 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs
from Austin, Texas

Gas Logs-Great customer service.

PostedDecember 15, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Too affordable to be good? That was my first impression. This is a bargain! I even experienced a problem with the pilot light not wanting to stay on. Called the factory, and the excellent customer service suggested some tips, and said if they didn't work, they'd send out a new set. Their suggestions worked! I'm quiet impressed with the look and construction of this product.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 10 >>