728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Fireplace Logs or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Oakwood 24 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs

Oakwood 24 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs

This Manual Vent Free Liquid Propane Gas Log Set operates with the chimney flue closed, safely keeping 100 Percent of the heat produced by the unit in your home. The manual control allows for easy adjustment of flame height and heat output. Easy to install and no outside venting required, does not require a working chimney or flue. Also there is no need for messy clean ups like real wood logs.
Overall rating:
4.16 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(156 reviews) 156
Open Ratings Snapshot
87%of customersrecommend this product125 of 143reviews
Rating Breakdown 156 reviews
4.2 out of 5.0
5
(78)
4
(49)
3
(15)
2
(4)
1
(10)
Quality 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
87%of customersrecommend this product125 of 143reviews
Customer reviews for Oakwood 24 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs
Review 1 for Oakwood 24 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs
from Fuquay-Varina, NC, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great logs

PostedFebruary 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought these LP logs to replace the non-functional LP logs I had in my house. I hadn't used those in 3 years, and they just didn't work. These were a perfect replacement. They arrived very well packed; nothing was broken. They shipped with a rigid pipe that was too long for my fireplace, so I had to go purchase a flexible line (SKU # 345407). I could have cut the pipe down, but I didn't have a pipe cutter or flaring device.
The heat output is amazing; I have to turn the flame down to low after about 30min because the living room is so warm. I can't comment on how much LP they use yet, I've only had them for a few weeks. The logs did have a smell the first time I used them, but it wasn't bad, just noticable. Now the only thing I smell is LP fumes (they are bad, either, I can just smell it). I also purchased a carbon monoxide detector since I'm using the logs now; It's never registered anything, so I guess things are working good.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Oakwood 24 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs
from NJ
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Beautiful fire log set

PostedMay 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Installed your 21 vent free propane fireplace log set in an out side fireplace. Looks great, plenty of heat, no clean up or mess.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Oakwood 24 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs

Seems good

PostedOctober 25, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
These logs seem to be a good product considering the price paid. The owners manual looks EXACTLY like what you see on the web site (aka run off on the world's poorest copier ) and the controls do not match the one's in the manual. Also after the break-in period when you start the logs, the propane smell is fairly strong for a couple of minutes before it levels off and is pretty good. Other than that the logs are a pretty good value
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Oakwood 24 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs
from Cleveland, OH, USA
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Great Product but TERRIBLE Instructions

PostedOctober 6, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this log set to fulfill a city requirement. I have never installed gas logs before and I had to do A LOT of outside research to learn how to install gas logs. The instructions are terrible; they never specify the process of actually connecting the connector from the gas line to the unit. They also picture the igniter in the wrong location. You must by a flexible line, the one they provide won’t work for anyone. They never tell you that you must have gas line specific Teflon tape (designed specifically for high temperatures). Whatever coating is initially on the logs sticks for about two days and we had to keep the windows open, then it was fine. Overall happy that I didn’t have to spend $500 for gas logs but more help would have been appreciated.
Pros: Performs Well, Great Value
Cons: No Instructions, Difficult to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Oakwood 24 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs
from Durham, NH

21 inche log set

PostedApril 28, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The gas heater and the logs arrived in perfect condition about six days after they were ordered. We had our local gas supplier hook up the gas heater to an existing line in our real fireplace. The hook-up was very simple and took less than 30 minutes.The heater gives more than adequate heat and the logs are attractive. The only negative point is the loose gravel which is supplied to hide the front of the burner. Our two cats would be delighted to use the gravel as a litter box so we substituted some local rocks to hide the heating unit and controls.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Oakwood 24 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs
from Austin, Texas

Gas Logs-Great customer service.

PostedDecember 15, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Too affordable to be good? That was my first impression. This is a bargain! I even experienced a problem with the pilot light not wanting to stay on. Called the factory, and the excellent customer service suggested some tips, and said if they didn't work, they'd send out a new set. Their suggestions worked! I'm quiet impressed with the look and construction of this product.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Oakwood 24 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs
from West Texas

Very satisfied

PostedFebruary 21, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very satisfied with product. Shipping time was exactly as stated. The product was easy to assemble. The workmanship and features are as stated. The product not only looks good but also puts out good heat. Any prospective buyer should pay attention to warnings on measurements on and to the mantle as a hood may be required. Mine needed a hood which only made the system work better. This was an added expense but now I have an attractive and good working system.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Oakwood 24 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs
from West TN

Nice for the price

PostedJune 25, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is a nice set of logs for the money. The end of the longest log was broken off when it was delivered but it was too much trouble to send the whole thing back so I just kept it that way. Other reviewers have had trouble with damaged logs also. That's really the only negative. You need to hook them up to a propane tank and get them real hot a couple of times before using them in the house or the smell is pretty bad as they first burn off. That's true for any of them.
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Oakwood 24 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs
from Georgia

Great Purchase

PostedJanuary 21, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This was a great purchase. I like the way Home Depot double packaged the log container. You would have had to hit it with a forklift to damage the logs.
The logs work great. My house is a two story and over 2000 square feet and I have never set the heat more than low. Easy to install and look great also.
It's a Win, Win in Georgia on those cold days.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Oakwood 24 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs
from CLARKS SUMMIT, PA

SIMPLE, EFFECTIVE AND PRICED RIGHT

PostedJanuary 27, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
ONE OF THE BEST HEATER THAT I EVER BOUGHT. SIMPLE TO HOOK UP. JUST TURN THE KNOB AND HEAT THE ENTIRE PLAYROOM 30 X 40. IF YA WANT SIMPLE AND SAFE, THIS MAYBE GOOD FOR YOU. IF YOU AREN'T HAPPY, THE PRICE IS LIKE FREE. GO GET A MORE EXPENSIVE ONE
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Oakwood 24 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs

worked fine

PostedJuly 10, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
bought it because it was cheep, works fine easy hook up very happy
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Oakwood 24 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs
from San Diego

Propane fireplace kit

PostedFebruary 17, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We love the fireplace. Easy to install.
There is/was a strong and unpleasant odor initially, for the first few uses. Must have been the new logs getting "burned in"
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Oakwood 24 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs
from Connecticut

Shipping not product problems

PostedSeptember 29, 2008
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Since it wasn't available locally, ordered online. The first set was received with 3 broken logs. Packing at bottom of box for logs was poor in my estimation.
The second set arrived with the wrong set of logs which would not fit the burner. There was no improvement in the packing although the box was better labeled regarding how to handle it.
Returning it each time cost nothing, so Home Depot was good on that, just called for a return number, stuck on the enclosed label with the number and sent it back. Note these are coming right from manufacturer so it's not even a Home Depot packing problem.
Ended up buying a different set locally. Frankly it looks like a good set for the price.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Oakwood 24 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs
from Texas, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great buy

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great starter set. Has a strong smell when you first begin use. Best to open flue or windows for the first day of use. Good quality for the price, no issues since purchase and puts out awesome heat.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Oakwood 24 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs
from Oregon, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Works like a charm

PostedOctober 15, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Just installed using a 20 pound tank. Have damper open to burn off log paint. Still brought the 700 square foot room up 4 degrees in 20 minutes. Easy to install and fired right up after I got the air out of the lines. The price was great and you can manually turn it off so the pilot isn't eating fuel. Now if the smell would just go away
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Oakwood 24 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs
from URIAH
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great value for the price. Easy to install and looks Great sitting in my fireplace.

PostedNovember 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The whole unit, looks, and performs very well. Easy to install and produces great heat. It even had a manual ignitor to start the unit.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Nice Design
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Oakwood 24 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs

Technical Support Required

PostedJanuary 3, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I ordered this unit to replace one that was two years old and problematic. It was a higher end unit with remote but was also a Sure Heat product. I did not realize both were Sure Heat products... I believed a manual gas log would have less problems associated with it but I was wrong. Out of the box, the unit failed to operate. I called tech support and they had me "bend" and re-adjust the pilot sensor and pilot housing. I then was unable to keep the fire lit for more than 4 minutes. I again called tech support and they had me bend another sensor bracket away from the gas plenum as far as possible. These parts did not shift or get maladjusted during shipping, they appeared to be designed or mounted improperly. There appears to be a reason Sure Heat products are the cheapest products on the market... I am hoping this log will last more than two years... but it will definitely be my last Sure Heat product.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Oakwood 24 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs
from California, KY, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent heat output and a great value.

PostedFebruary 2, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was pleasantly surprised with this burner and log set. Given the price i expected something significantly less. The burner/gate is heavy steel. The heat output is amazing, the unit works great.
The only initial downside is you get minimal smoke and a wicked smell when initially burning...but that fades away.
I highly recommend.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Oakwood 24 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs

Both units unacceptable, not working and subsequently returned to local Home Depot.

PostedJanuary 6, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
One unit worked when initially installed, but failed shortly thereafter and would not come back on. The other arrived with one broken log and the gas input line totally crushed and could never have worked.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Oakwood 24 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs
from Nashville, TN 37221, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Propane Gas Log Set

PostedJanuary 25, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Works great. Produces fantastic heat. Log set itself looks cheap. Overall, very pleased with the product.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 8 >>