728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Century 80GL Wire Feed Welder

Century 80GL Wire Feed Welder

The Lincoln Electric Century 80GL Wire Feed Welder is a flux-cored welder that can weld from 18-gauge sheet metal up to 1/8 in. steel. This 80 Amp welder is great for general purpose metal repairs and building projects, and features 2 separate heat settings and an infinite wire speed control. Its sturdy wire-feed design and multi-insulated transformer provide for reliable operation and long life.
Overall rating:
3.4 / 5
3.4
 / 
5
(10 reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
75%of customersrecommend this product6 of 8reviews
Rating Breakdown 10 reviews
3.4 out of 5.0
5
(3)
4
(2)
3
(3)
2
(0)
1
(2)
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.3 out of 5.0
3.3 out of 5
75%of customersrecommend this product6 of 8reviews
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer reviews for Century 80GL Wire Feed Welder
Review 1 for Century 80GL Wire Feed Welder
from Perris, ca

Welder

PostedJune 6, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The product is to set up and ready to go out of the box. The product is easy to operate and understand. We were welding metal in less than 10 minutes.
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Century 80GL Wire Feed Welder

Lincoln Electric Century 80GL Welder (FOR HOME)

PostedSeptember 7, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is perfect for small welding jobs around the house. Just make sure you have a 20 Amp circuit available. Well worth the money. You can spend more and get less, but remember, this is a "Lincoln" welding machine.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Century 80GL Wire Feed Welder
from Buckeye Az
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

like dynamite

PostedDecember 27, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This small welder is perfect for my shop . It is small , but plenty of power . Like a little stick of dynamite . I bought it to replace floor pans , rocker panels and such on my 65 mustang . I don't have much welding experience , so I went to a junk yard and bought a scrap piece of car to cut and weld on for practice . It's a lincoln!!
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Century 80GL Wire Feed Welder

Decent welder for the price

PostedJuly 3, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have had this welder for a couple of years now and it welds as well as I can. I'm not an expert welder but have used this for myriad jobs from welding thin stock to putting together a series of 1/4" plate for a tractor weight. If I was a more skilled welder I'm sure it would do a great job. With me at the controls it does a very acceptable job.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Century 80GL Wire Feed Welder
from TX
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very nice welder

PostedAugust 29, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Definitely very good welder
Longer cables much better...
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: short cables
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Century 80GL Wire Feed Welder

Good price/value, but...

PostedMarch 22, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
...but the wire feeder was running weird, not at constant speed. Hard to weld like this. The good thing - it's not getting hot, even when running at maximum heat settings.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Century 80GL Wire Feed Welder

PostedDecember 17, 2009
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I USE THIS WELDER AT WORK TO REPAIR HOSPITAL EQUIPMENT. IT SMALL AND LIGHT WIEGHT WHICH IS A GREAT THING WHEN YOU ARE MOBLE. IT MAKE WELDING EASY WITH NO DANGEROUS GASES. THE WELDS ARE SMOOTH AND STEADY, THE MACHINE OPERATES WITH EASE. GREAT FOR LIGHT WIEGHT METAL AND SMALL JOBS. VERY RELIABLE WELDER TO HAVE. I STRONGLY RECOMEND THIS PRODUCT, I AM GLAD TO OWN ONE.
+1point
21out of 41found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Century 80GL Wire Feed Welder
from slower lower

good starter

PostedDecember 24, 2009
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
great starter ready in box
-3points
5out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Century 80GL Wire Feed Welder

I expected more from it

PostedJune 11, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Before buying this welder I did a lot of research regarding to performance and value over all. Most reviews showed it to be a good purchase but It is not such a great welder. Being this one a Lincoln I expected more. I tried using different flux wire and still, not much difference. I would just say it is way below my expectations.
-2points
2out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Century 80GL Wire Feed Welder
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

The product could not be made to work properly, it would not run a Continuous beed.

PostedJanuary 11, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The product had some unknown defect. It could not be made to work by a professional welder with 30 years of experience. The product was returned.
-6points
3out of 12found this review helpful.