728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Welding or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Century 80GL Wire Feed Welder

Century 80GL Wire Feed Welder

The Lincoln Electric Century 80GL Wire Feed Welder is a flux-cored welder that can weld from 18-gauge sheet metal up to 1/8 in. steel. This 80 Amp welder is great for general purpose metal repairs and building projects, and features 2 separate heat settings and an infinite wire speed control. Its sturdy wire-feed design and multi-insulated transformer provide for reliable operation and long life.
Overall rating:
3.167 / 5
3.2
 / 
5
(12 reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
70%of customersrecommend this product7 of 10reviews
Rating Breakdown 12 reviews
3.2 out of 5
5
(3)
4
(2)
3
(4)
2
(0)
1
(3)
Quality 
3.8 out of 5
3.8 out of 5
Value 
3.3 out of 5
3.3 out of 5
70%of customersrecommend this product7 of 10reviews
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 9 Answers
Customer reviews for Century 80GL Wire Feed Welder
Review 1 for Century 80GL Wire Feed Welder
from Perris, ca

Welder

PostedJune 6, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The product is to set up and ready to go out of the box. The product is easy to operate and understand. We were welding metal in less than 10 minutes.
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Century 80GL Wire Feed Welder

Great starter welder but....

PostedAugust 28, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
It isn't very user friendly for a beginner. What I mean is, the controls don't give any details. No way to set wire feed speed in inches per minute and no way to know exactly what volts or amps you're using. I've never welded before and when I ask for advice from others, they always talk about wire feed and amps and volts and this machine only has a knob from 1 to 10 for wire feed and two rockers for the amps etc...
I guess that makes it easy to use but very hard to adjust. Takes a lot of trial and error to do things that's could be done quicker if it just told you the wire speed, amps, etc...
I still recommend it for a beginner like me...just know you'll waste a lot of wire trying to learn where things need to be for certain jobs. After I get a bit better, I'm definitely upgrading.
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Century 80GL Wire Feed Welder

Lincoln Electric Century 80GL Welder (FOR HOME)

PostedSeptember 7, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This is perfect for small welding jobs around the house. Just make sure you have a 20 Amp circuit available. Well worth the money. You can spend more and get less, but remember, this is a "Lincoln" welding machine.
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Century 80GL Wire Feed Welder
from Buckeye Az
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

like dynamite

PostedDecember 27, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This small welder is perfect for my shop . It is small , but plenty of power . Like a little stick of dynamite . I bought it to replace floor pans , rocker panels and such on my 65 mustang . I don't have much welding experience , so I went to a junk yard and bought a scrap piece of car to cut and weld on for practice . It's a lincoln!!
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Century 80GL Wire Feed Welder
from Orange, California
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Don't settle for less / this unit has limits / spend some cash and get the good gear

PostedJanuary 29, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This little flux core welder is great...If your welding garden art sculptures or ultra clean 1/8" tube.
Note that the wire feed motor runs at an inconsistant feed speed causing pits and drop outs in beads as you drag your puddle forward. I need to stay close and tight on some materials and run several extra beads
to ensure an acceptable weld bond. the amperage drop switch is quick and easy for soft metals. Sure it's great out of the box and a nice addition to grandpa's garage, but seriously for another $200.00 you can get a great Lincoln welder thats more versitile and is worth learning all the basic welding techniques with. Nice unit if you have a quick project or you could find a professional welder and get the job done right. So whats your time and frustration worth?, add that onto your savings at this price. This unit is not for commercial purposes. Hey business owners, don't burden your employee's with the wrong gear. Do some research and spend some cash. You may encounter a need for a real welder in the field.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Century 80GL Wire Feed Welder

Decent welder for the price

PostedJuly 3, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I have had this welder for a couple of years now and it welds as well as I can. I'm not an expert welder but have used this for myriad jobs from welding thin stock to putting together a series of 1/4" plate for a tractor weight. If I was a more skilled welder I'm sure it would do a great job. With me at the controls it does a very acceptable job.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Century 80GL Wire Feed Welder

PostedDecember 17, 2009
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I USE THIS WELDER AT WORK TO REPAIR HOSPITAL EQUIPMENT. IT SMALL AND LIGHT WIEGHT WHICH IS A GREAT THING WHEN YOU ARE MOBLE. IT MAKE WELDING EASY WITH NO DANGEROUS GASES. THE WELDS ARE SMOOTH AND STEADY, THE MACHINE OPERATES WITH EASE. GREAT FOR LIGHT WIEGHT METAL AND SMALL JOBS. VERY RELIABLE WELDER TO HAVE. I STRONGLY RECOMEND THIS PRODUCT, I AM GLAD TO OWN ONE.
+5points
25out of 45found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Century 80GL Wire Feed Welder

Good price/value, but...

PostedMarch 22, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
...but the wire feeder was running weird, not at constant speed. Hard to weld like this. The good thing - it's not getting hot, even when running at maximum heat settings.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Century 80GL Wire Feed Welder
from TX
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very nice welder

PostedAugust 29, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Definitely very good welder
Longer cables much better...
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: short cables
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Century 80GL Wire Feed Welder
from slower lower

good starter

PostedDecember 24, 2009
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
great starter ready in box
-3points
6out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Century 80GL Wire Feed Welder

I expected more from it

PostedJune 11, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Before buying this welder I did a lot of research regarding to performance and value over all. Most reviews showed it to be a good purchase but It is not such a great welder. Being this one a Lincoln I expected more. I tried using different flux wire and still, not much difference. I would just say it is way below my expectations.
-3points
3out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Century 80GL Wire Feed Welder
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

The product could not be made to work properly, it would not run a Continuous beed.

PostedJanuary 11, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The product had some unknown defect. It could not be made to work by a professional welder with 30 years of experience. The product was returned.
-8points
3out of 14found this review helpful.