728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Handy MIG Welder

Handy MIG Welder

The Lincoln Electric Handy MIG Welder is a user-friendly, compact portable and lightweight wire-feed welder that plugs into a 115-volt, 20 Amp outlet. 4 voltage settings and a continuous wire-feed speed adjustment allow you to weld mild steel from 24 gauge to 1/8 in. thick. This handy welder includes gun and cable assembly, work cable and clamp, gas nozzle, gas regulator and hose, spool of solid wire, contact tips and a hand shield with filter plate and lens.
Overall rating:
4.626 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(91 reviews) 86
Open Ratings Snapshot
97%of customersrecommend this product83 of 86reviews
Rating Breakdown 91 reviews
4.6 out of 5.0
5
(68)
4
(16)
3
(4)
2
(2)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Value 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
97%of customersrecommend this product83 of 86reviews
Customer questions and answers:
13 Questions | 59 Answers
Customer reviews for Handy MIG Welder
Review 1 for Handy MIG Welder
deskjocky
from Redding Ca
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Spend the other $200

PostedOctober 22, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I am not an expert welder but consider myself fair. Have a lot of stick time but wire feed only about 8 hours using in the past. This unit would be great for light work with exception of the wire feeder. The plastic was a bad choice for the manufacture to use. I took it back and I must say I appreciate Home Depots no question's asked policy. I upgraded to the 140HD and I am extremely pleased, it is a gas hog compared to the 80 but the wire feeder has not failed me yet. I am making 90 feet of deck rail and it is coming out fantastic thanks to the 140HD. Spend the $200 more for the 140.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
Cons: Not Durable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Handy MIG Welder
Nheller
from Salem, OR, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

AMAZING!

PostedSeptember 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have never welded before I got this product! In the first day I was flux core welding a shift box for my truck without any problems! If u are learning this IS the welder for u. U do need to get gloves and a new welding helmit but its got everything else u need. For the price I haven't found a better welder!
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Handy MIG Welder
THOMAS
from BOWLEYS QUARTERS
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

BOUGHT FOR MY HUSBAND TOM..HE ABSOLUTELY LOVES IT!

PostedMarch 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
TOM LOVES HIS NEW LINCOLN MIG WELDER. HE'S OUT IN THE GARAGE WITH IT NOW PRACTICING. THE WELDER HAS EVERYTHING HE NEEDS AND HE EVEN CUSTOM BUILT A CART JUST FOR IT! FANTASTIC VALUE AND VERY, VERY FAST SHIPPING! I'VE GOT ONE "HAPPY" HUSBAND!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Handy MIG Welder
Bonehead
from Aristes, PA 17920, USA
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The product is fantastic!

PostedMarch 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The product came with a huge amount of extra things, other welders like this were unequipped with. The set up was extremely easy and i was welding in minutes. I like how you get Mig wire with the welder as well as tips,hose ,regulator and a nozzle for mig, O and absolutely everything to weld with flux core. I use this product all the time! And it was a great investment!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+16points
23out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Handy MIG Welder
OLNOVA
from California, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great handy welder for small projects !!!!

PostedAugust 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this welder to do automotive body work. It does that perfectly !!! I also own a Lincoln 220V pro-mig 175 which is great for medium duty stuff but on thin stuff it melts through. The Handymig is great for the smaller stuff you need to weld around the house from fenses to pipes. 1/8" steel seems to be its limits. It has so so penitration (i wouldn't build a racing frame with it) but being 110 V what more can you ask for. Its nice to just plug in an extention cord anywhere and start welding. Great welder for what it is but know it has limits.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Handy MIG Welder
oldude
from Phoenix, AZ, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

all aspects excellent

PostedDecember 25, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
received product earlier than scheduled. included instruction book for beginners like myself and within the first hour I felt almost like expert. The easy to follow manual showed machine setup as well as different techniques to follow. Only practice will make better welder. Attached is photo of first welding project done with only one hours practice.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, High Quality, Nice Design, first project
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+10points
21out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Handy MIG Welder
HotRodder65

Good welder for a good price

PostedOctober 16, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This welder has been a good value so far. I have had it for a couple of months now and have used it quite a bit. I have used both flux core wire and solid MIG wire in it. I have used it on angle iron, flat steel, sheetmetal and strut. Does a great job. Obviously if you have $2k to spend you can find a nicer welder, but this welder does a fantastic job in this price range. The wire feed mechanism works very smoothly and does everything it should. The key is to take your time and pay attention to keeping the machine clean and making welds in an organized manner. So far it has made some very nice beads, plenty of heat for what I am doing and I have not once had the machine go into thermal overload. I noticed on the back of the machine it has a 'Made in Poland' sticker. That tends to give me more confidence in the machine than some other units on the market. If it lasts for a number of years, it will definitely be a 5 out of 5.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Handy MIG Welder
Steve

Good welder for the beginner, Great price

PostedApril 25, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
As a novice welder, with little training from friends and co-workers. I have been able to do basic sheet metal welding, on my project car, with good out come,with the welder.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+11points
21out of 31found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Handy MIG Welder
CHall3
from Naperville, IL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great welder for the price when you use gas

PostedJuly 30, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great price on high quality little welder, but to get the most out of it you need to spend a little more and get a tank of shielding gas and an auto-darkening helmet. I have been welding with flux core for years and the improvement in weld quality and appearance with MIG is amazing. You can get professional results up to about 3/16 steel with this little gem. All the welder I will ever need.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Handy MIG Welder
drew
from Orange, CA, USA
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great welder

PostedApril 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
great welder, Iv never welded before I took this handy mig kit out of the box and with in 15 minutes I was laying down some pretty decent beads. great bang for your buck! free shipping only took 4 days to get to ca. I'd recommend this welder to anyone thinking of trying out welding or just looking for a quality pice at a great price. thanks Home Depot and Lincoln Electric for offering such a great product at a resonable price.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Handy MIG Welder
John
from Willcox, AZ
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great entry level MIG welder

PostedJune 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I already had stick arc and oxy-acetylene welding capability in my shop. I went straight to mixed gas MIG welding with this new welder. I am not using the supplied gas regulator. When I bought the mixed gas tank, I also bought a regulator with a pressure gauge and flow meter. I wanted to know how much gas remained in the tank and the ability to vary the gas flow. It was easy to set up. It took about 15 minutes practice to get really good quality weld beads. Wire feed seemed to be excellent. I have not tried it with flux core wire and probably won't unless I need to use it outside with some wind.
+14points
18out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Handy MIG Welder
happyvirginwelder

Excellent Beginner Welder!

PostedJune 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
3 things for fast viewers looking to buy this welder.
First: The welding mask that comes with it is brown moist and stinky. spend a few skins and get the smart tools auto darkening helmet and you will be ready to roll.
Second: If you are going to use gas eventually, you going to want to upgrade the regulator, the one that comes with it does not have gauges for readings and it uses only an allen key for changing the pressure.
Third: Go ahead and order a good wire brush, there cheap. The one that comes with it doesnt have much wire. same thing with the hammer tip on it, go ahead and get a welding chipping hammer. You wont need it with mig gas, but you will with flux.
With that said: GREAT WELDER for a beginner, LIKE ME!
My girlfriend likes using it as much as me! Its nice to be able to start out with flux but the gas is a great addition for beautiful beads once you get the gas set right, I had to turn mine up on the regulator it came with (before I bought a new one). Either way for the price you are getting an awesome deal.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, High Quality, Nice Design, great for beginner/ hobbiest
Cons: regulator is busch league
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Handy MIG Welder
Mark
from PA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Little welder.

PostedAugust 8, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am a seasoned welder with gas and stick. It took me 20 or 30 practice beads to get up to speed with technique and settings. This little thing does a great job with sheet metal. In an hour I can weld what used to all day with the torch and do a nicer job (less heat warpage.)
Do yourself a big favor and get the Argon/CO2 setup and junk the flux core. The results are not really comparable.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Handy MIG Welder
Tinkerinthegarage
from Illinois
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to use, portable.

PostedSeptember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
For the price this is a great little machine, in the first week I've fixed a broken hanger on my wifes exhaust, some broken spot welds on a gas grill burner, and did a fillet weld on an axle where the shocks mount on at, the old shock was loose and wore it bigger. Just filled it in the drilled it back out. I believe it has paid for itself all ready.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Easy to Clean, High Quality, Nice Design
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Handy MIG Welder
shauste
from Deatsville, AL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent Welder

PostedDecember 31, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am a novice welder but this machine seems to do the trick. It uses both flux and gas wire with a gas hook up. Easy set up.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Handy MIG Welder
Rainman

Great little 110 unit

PostedAugust 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Works great on the 110 circuit I have in my hangar, which typically pops the breaker when I try to run my 30 gallon compressor. Great instruction manual. Nice that it comes with a regulator. I opted to run the 75/15 Argon/Co2 mix with solid wire, and this puts down some nice beads with very little splatter. I'm using it to tack weld 4130 steel on a homebuilt aircraft, and will finish welding with oxy/acetylene. This little mig welder is making quick work of things.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, High Quality, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Handy MIG Welder
DIYED
from California, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great small welder

PostedApril 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought one Dec. 2012. It had a defective gas trigger valve. HD & Lincoln replaced it and the second one has worked fine. I have welded thin sheet metal to 1/8" steel with good results. I have limited welding experience. I recommend using the argon/co2 gas. It makes welding faster and easier. I have used the flux core wire and it works well. This is an excellent welder for light work. Home, auto, hobby. Go to U-Tube for great MIG welding instructions and welding tips.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Handy MIG Welder
mm2095

Excellent Wellder

PostedSeptember 8, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The welder is easy to use, and works well. I've been welding motorcycle parts, fences, and other metals. Excellent product.
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Handy MIG Welder
Rainman855
from Ronkonkoma, NY, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

LE-K2185-1 Handy Mig MIG/FC Wire Feed Welder

PostedMarch 3, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Since I am new to welding, I got exactly what I expected...an entry level MIG/FC wire feed welder. I will be using it for around-the-house repairs and small projects. It will not weld a bridge or any serious structural steel items but it does beautifully on 1/8" & less steel. So if your looking to weld >1/8" thick steel on a regular basis, this unit isn't for you. (Once I get my feet more wet with it I may try to push 3/16" thick steel but it's still too early for that; I did happen to try it on 1/4" steel for yuks since I had some laying around and it bogged down...not going there again.) It is a quality product with quality documentation & support. Assembly (wire spool feed) was easy provided you followed directions and heeded the experiences of other reviewers in that regard. The unit operates flawlessly; FC wire feeds smoothly. Will take some time adjusting to WFS & power level combos but that's part of the fun of it. Bought a bunch of accessories to complete the repertoir (e.g. auto-darkening helmet, gloves, MIG cart and welding blanket.) Have only used the FC feature, so far. Did buy a 60CF bottle of C25 and am looking forward to MIG'ing with that. If you plan on doing any reasonable amount of gas welding, I would recommend getting no less than a 60CF C25 gas bottle. The regulator is the only "weak" spot in the whole magilla. It is not adjustable but Lincoln indicated that the flow is 18CFH, so the 60CF gas bottle will last just over 3 hours of continuous welding...probably a lifetime for some of us. To give me more options and flexibility, I also purchased a cheapie HFT C25 regulator. It gives bottle pressure and flow rate. The welder will weld SS but you need He90+ gas mix and that is relatively expensive. FC SS wire is available but it, too, is expensive & requires a lot of research/work. I'm not that brave, yet. Overall, the possibilitites are virtually endless and, staying within the limits of the machine, it is a great deal. HD's price blew everyone away. I would most definitely recommend this welder.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Handy MIG Welder
Travis

good quality entry level welder

PostedAugust 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This welder is a quality brand name product that delivers what it claims. If I had more money I would have gotten a bigger welder but this suits my needs at a great price. It takes a few days processing which I didn't notice so I called the Home Depot and they were incredibly helpful and polite. I was even give a discount for my job over the phone. Really happy with this buy.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Lots of Features, High Quality, 110 v
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>