728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Snow Equipment or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 12 in. Electric Power Shovel Snow Blower

12 in. Electric Power Shovel Snow Blower

The Toro Electric Power shovel snow blower delivers a 12 in. snow clearance, making this an ideal choice for sidewalks, steps, decks and small driveways. This powerful blower moves up to 300 lb. of snow per minute and blows snow up to 20 ft. away, helping you quickly and easily clear an area. The blower's telescoping handle alters the handle height to fit the user, and its adjustable handle controls are easy to use. The blower is rust-resistant for long-lasting use.
Overall rating:
4.05 / 5
4
 / 
5
(403 reviews) 391
Open Ratings Snapshot
82%of customersrecommend this product309 of 379reviews
Rating Breakdown 403 reviews
4.0 out of 5.0
5
(193)
4
(124)
3
(33)
2
(19)
1
(34)
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
82%of customersrecommend this product309 of 379reviews
Customer questions and answers:
16 Questions | 94 Answers
Customer reviews for 12 in. Electric Power Shovel Snow Blower
Review 1 for 12 in. Electric Power Shovel Snow Blower
NCW1
from Pepperell, MA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female

The shovel is lightweight and adjustable and very easy to use right out of the box. Very good buy.

PostedFebruary 3, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We have only had the opportunity to use it once this year. The shovel was able to clear the snow (4 inch deep) easily off our new deck (32' x 16') in half the time it would have taken if shoveled manually. Next time we will try the shovel on the driveway. Tip: spray the blades with silicone spray and the snow won't stick and collect on the blades. The shovel is lightweight and adjustable and very easy to use right out of the box. Very good buy.
Pros: Easy to Use, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 12 in. Electric Power Shovel Snow Blower
santorellakl

This is the best thing since Sliced Bread

PostedNovember 1, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I'm 51 year old female and my job after the storm is wielding the shovel :(. For years, the snow of the upper deck didn't get removed from the wrap around deck until spring when it finally melted but last year the amount of ice that accummulated in front of the downstair slider door became really treacherous from the slow melting and freezing of snow from above. This year I hounded my husband for a mini snow blower and he found this for me. It slides easily and handles 3-4 inches of snow easily enough. The last snow storm was 15 inches total but I went out on the deck 3 times and It didn't take long at all, and surprisenly enough if throws the snow a good distance. My husband was impressed as well.
+37points
37out of 37found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 12 in. Electric Power Shovel Snow Blower
gunflash
from Philadelphia, PA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

not as effective as I thought it would be.

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Not as impressed as other users of this product,I did not find its snow removing abilities as effective as other people had found.
The electrical cable is not fun to have trailing around in the snow and you have to make sure your not going to eat it up on one of your passes through the snow.
Probably ok to use on a deck but on a pathway I was not impressed and by the time I had got it out of the basement wired it up to use i could have lifted a fair bit of snow with a shovel as it is only good for light snow.
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 12 in. Electric Power Shovel Snow Blower
Scout1290
from Washington, DC, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Outstanding Product

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I live in the greater Washington DC area. I bought this this year after a big snowstorm and my back was hurting from shoveling. I live in a townhouse with no driveway or garage. I usually shovel my front walk and sidewalk, around our cars in the parking spaces, and I make a nice path out the backdoor to walk the dogs. Usually takes me about an hour or so. Two more sizable snow falls hit after I purchased this and I used it to clear all of the above, plus two of the neighbor’s walks and parking spaces. I was finished in about 15 minutes. I LOVE this thing. It is well made and really cranks the snow out. It only throws the snow in front, but it goes far enough that it does not affect your work. Highly recommend this product.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Light Weight
Cons: cannot change the direction the snow is thrown.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 12 in. Electric Power Shovel Snow Blower
plarry1
from Parker, CO, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great Product

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The electric snow shovel is awesome especially for small spaces like stairs and sidewalks that a front discharge works well with. I highly recommend it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 12 in. Electric Power Shovel Snow Blower
Miclt
from Upstate NY

Great for the deck!

PostedJanuary 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I'm a 52 year old woman who always had to do our somewhat large composite deck (while the boys did the driveways with the "big toys".) The extra lifting to get the snow over the railing while shoveling was always quite a chore. I bought this and used it for the first time this winter when our predicted 6" turned into a foot of snow. Even at that depth, this power shovel pushed right through and threw the snow right over the railing...LOVE IT! It was slightly more cumbersome doing the path in the lawn out to the garage, but still much easier than shoveling. Sometimes the hardest part of shoveling is "where to put the snow"...you don't have to worry about that with this power shovel!
Pros: Easy to Use
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 12 in. Electric Power Shovel Snow Blower
Monteman
from Wilmington, DE, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I love my electric snow shovel!

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this the end of December 2013 for the 2014 winter season which was the worst we have had probably on record. This thing is a god send. I recommend it to EVERYONE!. I used it alot this winter and it held up well. Not sure how many years it will last, but if it died after the 2 year warranty I'd surely buy another one. For 100.00 you cannot beat it!
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 12 in. Electric Power Shovel Snow Blower
arnie
from Cincinnati, OH, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for smaller areas

PostedDecember 29, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased the Toro snow shovel from Home Depot and we finally had a snowfall of 4 inches. The snow was heavy, but the snow shovel plowed right through with ease. It is relatively light weight and easily maneuverable. Because the snow was heavy it only threw the snow 5-6 feet which was not a problem. All the snow is thrown in front of the shovel and there is no adjustment for this. I was able to clear my sidewalk in by my front door and the driveway with ease.Using a longer electric cord would have allowed more cleaning. The cord locks in place. It sure beats using a snow shovel and saves my back. I love it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Small Turn Radius, Easy to Store, Light Weight, a lot of power for such a small package., does the job quickly.
Cons: no adjustment to direction of snow dispersal.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 12 in. Electric Power Shovel Snow Blower
ClearsDriveway
from Kansas City
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Buy - for Midwest Snow Levels and Types.

PostedJanuary 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I Live in Kansas City. I have used this product for ten years. Lately I have been helping the neighbors with their drives and sidewalks. It handles the light and even heavy wet snows. I have never stalled out the motor and it really can throw snow twenty feet. My neighbors wanted to buy one, so I was checking on the price for them. I had paid 70 dollars ten years ago, it has been worth every penny. I recommend a 12 gauge extension chord.
I would buy this Toro-12-in-Electric-Power-Shovel-Snow-Blower again.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
Cons: none
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 12 in. Electric Power Shovel Snow Blower
Soupy3185
from Franklin Square, NY, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

LOVE IT!!!

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Just recently found one in my mothers garage while cleaning it out after she moved out of the house. The thing is about 30 years old, I remember using it as a kid. I brought it home to use on my deck when it snowed and it still worked like a charm. Excellent to shovel out those tight spots that the snowblower can't get and the front of your driveway and spot after the plow has pushed all the snow to your side of the street and packed it in, (Just take it off in layers). So impressed on how well it still worked I went out and bought one for my elderly in-laws, they love it.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 12 in. Electric Power Shovel Snow Blower
w1ndyc1ty
from Chicago,IL

20 inches in 24 hours

PostedFebruary 5, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My power shovel saved my life. When the snow fell on Feb 2, 2011 it was a record fall. I was able to remove snow that came to my thigh. Im only 5'5'', and a woman. Also, I was barracaded in my garage with snow drift as high as my shoulders. I was able to cut a path allowing me to get my car out of the gararge. I thank you Toro for inventing this marvelous product. KUDOS. P.S This is my second winter with this product.
+32points
32out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 12 in. Electric Power Shovel Snow Blower
191145
from WI
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

small snow thrower that handled deep wet snow on short sidewalk fine.

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Light weight, strong enough that handle wet snow. I have only used it a couple times so I can not attest to durability.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 12 in. Electric Power Shovel Snow Blower
taris
from nj
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female

Not worth it

PostedMarch 2, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I thought I thoroughly did my research before buying this product but when I used it I was extremely disappointed. My thumbs were sore for holding the power button while pushing the snow shovel. I wished they made it where you just have to push a button and it would automatically turn on.. The power depends on your fingers, if you don't have a firm grip, the shovel would turn off. I purchased it in 2011 but that year there wasn't much snow. I only got to use last year 2013 and after a couple of use, it died and never turned on again. This is a waste of money.
Cons: Not Durable, Difficult to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 12 in. Electric Power Shovel Snow Blower
handimom
from Whitehall, PA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

love the value and quality

PostedMarch 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I HAD 1 BEFORE THAT WAS A WORK-HORSE. IT SUSTAINED A TON OF ABUSE (HEAVY &/OR DEEP SNOW; AND, BROKEN WALKWAY WITH LOOSE STONES). I HATED TO RETIRE IT.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 12 in. Electric Power Shovel Snow Blower
PKB8437
from Colorado
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female

Toro Shovel Snow Blower

PostedJanuary 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Absolutely love the snow blow shovel!! I'm a 5'2 woman 110 lb woman and I can use this very easily. I was worried when I ordered it that it might be heavy and awkward to use but it is so easy to use. It blows the snow a long way, about 20 ft. I just got finished using it for the first time on our deck, what use to take me 20-25 min. to shovel was done in 10 min. The snow was about 5 inches deep and it moved through it easily. I would highly recommend this to everyone. I'm going to buy one for my parents they are in their 70's and I know they will have no problem using it.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 12 in. Electric Power Shovel Snow Blower
Greatbooks22
from Salem NH
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Much more effective than you might think

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used this for the first time last week - 8+ inches of moderately sticky snow. Once I got the hang of it, it felt like using a vacuum cleaner, although the snow offers more resistance than trying to vacuum a carpet, but the motion and the approach is about the same. Don't try to pick it up each time - no need to. I got this because my front walk has a few steps along the way so I can't use my snowblower. The power is surprising. I sprayed my nonstick (DuPont) shovel teflon spray inside the housing before starting. I can't vouch for the longer-term durability or reliability, but so far, so good.
Pros: Light Weight
Cons: too soon to tell
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 12 in. Electric Power Shovel Snow Blower
RGT49
from Burnsville, MN
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Product is only fair in it's performance.

PostedMarch 17, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product is truly functional only if the snow is fluffy in nature. Any heaviness to snow makes thrower less than stellar.
Not all that easy to handle either. Weight of head makes a bit to lug around. Smaller users will have a bit of a struggle.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 12 in. Electric Power Shovel Snow Blower
wlt36
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

toro snow shovel

PostedMarch 19, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Product well made but too heavy and bulky for me to use. I was looking for just this kind of product but after one use will have to return.
Pros: Sturdy
Cons: Too Heavy, Difficult to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 12 in. Electric Power Shovel Snow Blower
happycustomer
from Harrisburg, PA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Machine

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used my Home Depot phone app to order and pay for the unit while I was at work, My wife had no problems picking it up. It was waiting at the service desk when she got there. The whole transaction was smooth. The machine is better then expected. It worked right out of the box. It's great for small areas and sidewalks. I have a 3000 square foot driveway. Some storms are too small to get out my big blower and too big to try to shovel with my arthritis. It's just the right size to clean my steps and deck. It's a little heavy on the steps. It's moving parts are plastic so we bring it in the house and let it drain in a plastic pan, till it dries. That keeps the snow from melting and refreezing in the machine thus breaking the plastic parts. this may be why some of the reviews are claiming it doesn't work after the first use.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 12 in. Electric Power Shovel Snow Blower
Paul

Product is not as useful as I expected

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Product is not as useful as I expected. It works ok on a flat surface with no wind. Could be a little more powerful. Hard to maneuver.
Pros: Light Weight
Cons: Difficult to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 10 >>