728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Snow Equipment or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 12 in. Electric Power Shovel Snow Blower

12 in. Electric Power Shovel Snow Blower

The Toro Electric Power shovel snow blower delivers a 12 in. snow clearance, making this an ideal choice for sidewalks, steps, decks and small driveways. This powerful blower moves up to 300 lb. of snow per minute and blows snow up to 20 ft. away, helping you quickly and easily clear an area. The blower's telescoping handle alters the handle height to fit the user, and its adjustable handle controls are easy to use. The blower is rust-resistant for long-lasting use.
Overall rating:
4.044 / 5
4
 / 
5
(409 reviews) 397
Open Ratings Snapshot
81%of customersrecommend this product313 of 385reviews
Rating Breakdown 409 reviews
4.0 out of 5.0
5
(195)
4
(126)
3
(34)
2
(19)
1
(35)
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
81%of customersrecommend this product313 of 385reviews
Customer questions and answers:
16 Questions | 94 Answers
Customer reviews for 12 in. Electric Power Shovel Snow Blower
Review 1 for 12 in. Electric Power Shovel Snow Blower
from Pepperell, MA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female

The shovel is lightweight and adjustable and very easy to use right out of the box. Very good buy.

PostedFebruary 3, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We have only had the opportunity to use it once this year. The shovel was able to clear the snow (4 inch deep) easily off our new deck (32' x 16') in half the time it would have taken if shoveled manually. Next time we will try the shovel on the driveway. Tip: spray the blades with silicone spray and the snow won't stick and collect on the blades. The shovel is lightweight and adjustable and very easy to use right out of the box. Very good buy.
Pros: Easy to Use, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 12 in. Electric Power Shovel Snow Blower

This is the best thing since Sliced Bread

PostedNovember 1, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I'm 51 year old female and my job after the storm is wielding the shovel :(. For years, the snow of the upper deck didn't get removed from the wrap around deck until spring when it finally melted but last year the amount of ice that accummulated in front of the downstair slider door became really treacherous from the slow melting and freezing of snow from above. This year I hounded my husband for a mini snow blower and he found this for me. It slides easily and handles 3-4 inches of snow easily enough. The last snow storm was 15 inches total but I went out on the deck 3 times and It didn't take long at all, and surprisenly enough if throws the snow a good distance. My husband was impressed as well.
+37points
37out of 37found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 12 in. Electric Power Shovel Snow Blower
from Bar Harbor, ME, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Disappointed: too heavy, maybe underpowered

PostedJune 15, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I thought this would be a good idea, especially based on the brand and the reviews. I only have a deck, short walkway, and steps to clear. However, it's really heavy and awkward to handle. Hard to keep it from sinking into the snow while you are trying to make a pass; ends up "tunneling". The idea was to use this so I wouldn't be breaking my back shoveling! Ha! I will try it next season with some sort of brace (I see people have these using a trimmer, so maybe it will help).
The design: the snow exit puts the snow straight ahead of you. It would be better if it were angled to one side (OR, be able to point the output where you want). It also doesn't seem to "spin" very fast at all.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Too Heavy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 12 in. Electric Power Shovel Snow Blower
from Chicago,IL

20 inches in 24 hours

PostedFebruary 5, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My power shovel saved my life. When the snow fell on Feb 2, 2011 it was a record fall. I was able to remove snow that came to my thigh. Im only 5'5'', and a woman. Also, I was barracaded in my garage with snow drift as high as my shoulders. I was able to cut a path allowing me to get my car out of the gararge. I thank you Toro for inventing this marvelous product. KUDOS. P.S This is my second winter with this product.
+32points
32out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 12 in. Electric Power Shovel Snow Blower
from Upstate NY

Great for the deck!

PostedJanuary 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I'm a 52 year old woman who always had to do our somewhat large composite deck (while the boys did the driveways with the "big toys".) The extra lifting to get the snow over the railing while shoveling was always quite a chore. I bought this and used it for the first time this winter when our predicted 6" turned into a foot of snow. Even at that depth, this power shovel pushed right through and threw the snow right over the railing...LOVE IT! It was slightly more cumbersome doing the path in the lawn out to the garage, but still much easier than shoveling. Sometimes the hardest part of shoveling is "where to put the snow"...you don't have to worry about that with this power shovel!
Pros: Easy to Use
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 12 in. Electric Power Shovel Snow Blower
from Cincinnati, OH, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for smaller areas

PostedDecember 29, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased the Toro snow shovel from Home Depot and we finally had a snowfall of 4 inches. The snow was heavy, but the snow shovel plowed right through with ease. It is relatively light weight and easily maneuverable. Because the snow was heavy it only threw the snow 5-6 feet which was not a problem. All the snow is thrown in front of the shovel and there is no adjustment for this. I was able to clear my sidewalk in by my front door and the driveway with ease.Using a longer electric cord would have allowed more cleaning. The cord locks in place. It sure beats using a snow shovel and saves my back. I love it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Small Turn Radius, Easy to Store, Light Weight, a lot of power for such a small package., does the job quickly.
Cons: no adjustment to direction of snow dispersal.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 12 in. Electric Power Shovel Snow Blower
from Colorado
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female

Toro Shovel Snow Blower

PostedJanuary 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Absolutely love the snow blow shovel!! I'm a 5'2 woman 110 lb woman and I can use this very easily. I was worried when I ordered it that it might be heavy and awkward to use but it is so easy to use. It blows the snow a long way, about 20 ft. I just got finished using it for the first time on our deck, what use to take me 20-25 min. to shovel was done in 10 min. The snow was about 5 inches deep and it moved through it easily. I would highly recommend this to everyone. I'm going to buy one for my parents they are in their 70's and I know they will have no problem using it.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 12 in. Electric Power Shovel Snow Blower
from DC Metro

It Saved my Back!

PostedDecember 22, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this snowblower about two weeks ago with the intent of using it on my sidewalk if we had a storm. Then we had the blizzard that slammed the NorthEast last weekend. It worked like a charm here in the DC Metro area. I was SMILING the whole time!
I had about 19 inches in my community. I was expecting a delivery of new applicances that day, so I had to keep the sidewalk cleared for safety. I cleaned it twice of about 5 to 6 inches each time. Each time took an average of 15 to 20 minutes. I also cleared my neighbors sidewalk, when we collectively dug out cars and sidewalks.
Amazingly AFTER I finished, the teenagers with shovels came around. I definately got my money's worth and then some from this machine.
This really is a small unit for a small driveway, or just sidewalks like I have. It was perfect for me, at the $99 price. No maintenenance and it has a two year warranty. Just open the box, read the instructions, (for safety) plug it in and go.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 12 in. Electric Power Shovel Snow Blower
from Boston, MA

handy in the right circumstances

PostedJanuary 22, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We live south west of Boston in Norfolk county. This winter has been tough so far: 50 inches, where the average is 41 inches per year. I only use this power shovel and a hand shovel to clear my short driveway, the sidewalk and a curving walkway.
Foregoing larger snow blowers, I bought this because I need to work around tight areas. Two cars parked bumper to bumper sit on our driveway; there was no space to maneuver a snow blower. So far the logic has held up and the power shovel does a good job.
Only cons I have, largely the same as the other reviewers:
1) For 4+ inches of snow, two passes are needed.
2) Watch out for the wind; snow can drift to the spaces already cleared, or shoot back to your face.
3) Works best on smooth surfaces.
4) Can't handle ice or wet snow well, so clear snow early and frequently
5) Powering on requires squeezing the on button and a lock; this can be tiring.
6) Vibrations can make extended use painful.
I didn't notice these issues the first time I used the power shovel last year. Now I'm now thinking of upgrading to a snow plow. This year's winter is predicted to be brutal and I doubt if this tool is adequate.
+16points
17out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 12 in. Electric Power Shovel Snow Blower

worked good until

PostedNovember 10, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this electric snow shovel last year at a gread price and it worked great until one of the paddles broke, so used it again and the other paddle broke leaving me to shovel by hand. If you have any stones or loose gravel it will break the little plastic paddles. Won't buy another one but move up to something that has either metel or rubber paddle blades.
+13points
14out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 12 in. Electric Power Shovel Snow Blower
from Detroit, MI

Great product, great price!

PostedFebruary 2, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I live in Detroit, MI. I purchased this Power Shovel about 2 mos ago, and really put it to use today. It goes all the way to the cement even breaking up the ice.
I'm a female 4'7" and this worked great for me. Easy manuevering. No more shoveling!!!
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 12 in. Electric Power Shovel Snow Blower
from Boulder, CO, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

excellent solution for snow shoveling

PostedNovember 15, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
living in Colorado I had already 2 storms of 10" snow each. it is making shoveling snow much easier BUT slower. so if you are limited in time this will not work.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 12 in. Electric Power Shovel Snow Blower
from Kansas City
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Buy - for Midwest Snow Levels and Types.

PostedJanuary 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I Live in Kansas City. I have used this product for ten years. Lately I have been helping the neighbors with their drives and sidewalks. It handles the light and even heavy wet snows. I have never stalled out the motor and it really can throw snow twenty feet. My neighbors wanted to buy one, so I was checking on the price for them. I had paid 70 dollars ten years ago, it has been worth every penny. I recommend a 12 gauge extension chord.
I would buy this Toro-12-in-Electric-Power-Shovel-Snow-Blower again.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
Cons: none
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 12 in. Electric Power Shovel Snow Blower
from Philadelphia, PA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

not as effective as I thought it would be.

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Not as impressed as other users of this product,I did not find its snow removing abilities as effective as other people had found.
The electrical cable is not fun to have trailing around in the snow and you have to make sure your not going to eat it up on one of your passes through the snow.
Probably ok to use on a deck but on a pathway I was not impressed and by the time I had got it out of the basement wired it up to use i could have lifted a fair bit of snow with a shovel as it is only good for light snow.
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 12 in. Electric Power Shovel Snow Blower
from Washington, DC, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Outstanding Product

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I live in the greater Washington DC area. I bought this this year after a big snowstorm and my back was hurting from shoveling. I live in a townhouse with no driveway or garage. I usually shovel my front walk and sidewalk, around our cars in the parking spaces, and I make a nice path out the backdoor to walk the dogs. Usually takes me about an hour or so. Two more sizable snow falls hit after I purchased this and I used it to clear all of the above, plus two of the neighbor’s walks and parking spaces. I was finished in about 15 minutes. I LOVE this thing. It is well made and really cranks the snow out. It only throws the snow in front, but it goes far enough that it does not affect your work. Highly recommend this product.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Light Weight
Cons: cannot change the direction the snow is thrown.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 12 in. Electric Power Shovel Snow Blower

Shockingly excellent!

PostedOctober 30, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I just bought this Toro electric power shovel yesterday before our freak Oct. snow storm was about to hit (I've been meaning to get one to do my deck). Well, we got 7" of wet sticky snow and my 9 1/2 horse power snow blower wouldn't do a thing with the snow. I tried the Toro Power Shovel and it went through it like nobody's business. I was so impressed with how it performed on my deck that i decided to try one of my 2 driveways. It blew the snow 20' away like advertised and made clearing out the driveway a BREEZE!! I'm SO glad I bought this!!! Thanks Home Depot for carrying it!
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 12 in. Electric Power Shovel Snow Blower
from CT
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worth Every Penny!

PostedSeptember 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My hubby bought this for me so that I could clear our deck and stairs easily. This power shovel enabled me to clear 3 feet of snow off our 22' x 12' deck as well as 2 flights of stairs last year. Though it took a long time and I had to go a layer of snow at a time, it did the job, did it well, and did not strain. It was a wet heavy snow. for a normal storm under 12" this thing clears the deck in minutes, and I don't mind going out there to do it a few times throughout a large storm. It throws the snow far enough so as not to land where you have just cleared, and did I mention it does not strain?: My only complaint is that the cord sometimes unplugs itself if you are not paying attention, so I tied it around the handle so as not to yank it out. works well but I guess that is the nature of an electric item such as this.
Pros: Easy to Use, Powerful, Great Engine
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 12 in. Electric Power Shovel Snow Blower
from pawtucket Rhode Island
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

GREAT FOR SENIORS

PostedApril 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We bought our second one last year, does a whole driveway in under an hour. Due to age cannot life a shovel but this is easy. Love it.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 12 in. Electric Power Shovel Snow Blower
from Flagstaff, Arizona

Throwing snow at an angle

PostedOctober 14, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have a short, steep driveway and it is difficult to push the shovel at an angle to avoid throwing the snow into the street. (The city prohibits it.)
It would be a more covenient machine if Toro ahd provided the shovel with a retaining ring where the head attaches to the handle so that the shovel head could be angled up to 45 degress left or right. It would be much easier to handle and cut the snow removal time considerably.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 12 in. Electric Power Shovel Snow Blower
from Bend, OR, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great tool

PostedNovember 21, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have a two car concrete driveway and the usual walks in front and back of the house. The electric power shovel worked great...One of the best things besides doing the work is that it is easy to store when not inused.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 10 >>