728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Snow Equipment or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 12 in. Electric Power Shovel Snow Blower

12 in. Electric Power Shovel Snow Blower

The Toro Electric Power shovel snow blower delivers a 12 in. snow clearance, making this an ideal choice for sidewalks, steps, decks and small driveways. This powerful blower moves up to 300 lb. of snow per minute and blows snow up to 20 ft. away, helping you quickly and easily clear an area. The blower's telescoping handle alters the handle height to fit the user, and its adjustable handle controls are easy to use. The blower is rust-resistant for long-lasting use.
Overall rating:
4.05 / 5
4
 / 
5
(403 reviews) 391
Open Ratings Snapshot
82%of customersrecommend this product309 of 379reviews
Rating Breakdown 403 reviews
4.0 out of 5.0
5
(193)
4
(124)
3
(33)
2
(19)
1
(34)
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
82%of customersrecommend this product309 of 379reviews
Customer questions and answers:
16 Questions | 94 Answers
Customer reviews for 12 in. Electric Power Shovel Snow Blower
Review 61 for 12 in. Electric Power Shovel Snow Blower
MrMikeOH

Great product

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Gave this as a gift to my father and he has used it many times. He loves how easy it is.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Store, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 62 for 12 in. Electric Power Shovel Snow Blower
Stac
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

time saving

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
this product is easy to use and makes moving snow very easy!
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 63 for 12 in. Electric Power Shovel Snow Blower
TJAMES
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

LOVE ELECTRIC POWER SHOVEL SNOW BLOWER

PostedJanuary 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
THIS SHOVEL IS WONDERFUL, NO BENDING OR BREAKING YOUR BACK LIFTING SNOW. JUST MAKE SURE YOU HAVE A LONG EXTENSION CORD. I HAVE ONE THE LENGTH OF MY DRIVEWAY AND I CAN ALSO USE IT ON MY WOOD DECK.
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 64 for 12 in. Electric Power Shovel Snow Blower
NJman
from North New Jersey
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

An AID to snow shoveling

PostedFebruary 3, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased the Toro Power Shovel in mid -January of 2014. I live in northwest New Jersey, and the snows this year have been plentiful, so I have had to try this item out in both a 4" powdery snow and this week in an 8" heavier, wetter snow.
I read several reviews and watched a number of videos before deciding on the Toro. Some of its competitors were less expensive but had questionable quality. I am pleased enough with my purchase but I would also advise anyone who is considering this that it is not the "be all and end all" for removing snow.
I live in a rental community and do not have a private garage. Although the streets are well mantained, my parking area is my own responsibility. It is a small area, but since I am now 65 (and can feel it in my back and hands) I thought this Toro shovel would be a big help. I no longer have to lift heavy shovels full of wet snow, but the power shovel does require some muscle to move it forward and backward. A friend of mine, who does a lot of yard work, showed me the proper way to use the shovel. Place it ON the snow and make of couple of passes to remove the snow. The power shovel will not gobbel up more than 4" of light weight snow. It is a snow THROWER not a snow BLOWER!
I did make sure I purchased a heavy duty extention cord of 14 guage so as not to put a strain on the motor. And contrary to some reviews I have read, once you press the release button on the side of the handle and engage the trigger, the button will stay in, so you do not have to hold both the button and the trigger. Once released, however, you do have to re-engage both. And holding the handle trigger for long periods does require some rest breaks.
This power shovel is lighter than some others, so it is easier to carry. The two adjustable handles seem to give a large range of adjustments for just about anyone. We have two more snow storms coming this week, so the Toro is going to get a work out. I do recommend it as long as the purchaser is aware that they will still have to use an old fashioned shovel for some of the work.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Light Weight, good value
Cons: uni-directional throw
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 65 for 12 in. Electric Power Shovel Snow Blower
Sugar
from Pennsylvania, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Fine product

PostedJanuary 23, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Works well. Hard to maneuver where the snow will go. The shovel has power. Moves easily. Maybe , with more experience, I will be able to use it more efficiently. I was covered with snow from head to toe. Not pleasant.
Pros: Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
Cons: not enough instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 66 for 12 in. Electric Power Shovel Snow Blower
grumpy
from New Hampshire, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Feels heavy to use

PostedJanuary 24, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Used fresh out of the box on heavy wet 8 inch snow. This machine blew it off my 12x14 deck with ease. The blower feels top heavy to use. But otherwise works as advertised.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 67 for 12 in. Electric Power Shovel Snow Blower
Medusa
from NH
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great tool, true to all reviews. At 12 lbs. it is still a bit heavy to lift if snow is over 6 inches.

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Works well for decks and steps in snow that is less than 6 inches deep. More than that it is too heavy for me to lift. (I am old and it becomes a 12 lb. shovel). I like it and will make sure I get out there and shovel sooner than waiting for the storm to be over.
Pros: great for decks and steps
Cons: use it on snow under 6" deep
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 68 for 12 in. Electric Power Shovel Snow Blower
GrammyLou
from Unity, NH
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for our large deck!

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am a 65 year old grammy and this is easy to use on our large deck for clearing away snow. We had 10" of snow last week and it did quite well blowing it right over the railing.
Pros: Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 69 for 12 in. Electric Power Shovel Snow Blower
mickey
from Hilton, NY 14468, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Disappointed

PostedJanuary 22, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I used the power shovel twice...just twice. It no longer works. I will be returning it this week. Such a big disappointment.
Cons: Not Durable, not worth the money
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 70 for 12 in. Electric Power Shovel Snow Blower
nybg

Perfect little thrower

PostedJanuary 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This works well with most snowy conditions, just not with snow that has gotten real high. Despite being electric, you will still get a little bit of a workout, but you won't exhaust yourself and with the price, you won't break the bank either. This is perfect if you just have a small walkway/driveway to maintain that does not justify the purchase of a larger snow thrower.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Light Weight
Cons: Limited Features, cannot direct snow other than forward
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 71 for 12 in. Electric Power Shovel Snow Blower
brofford1
from Fort Wayne, IN
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Heavy

PostedJanuary 8, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I first have to say, It does throw snow a good distance. For me( an aging Woman) I found it very difficult to use. It was very heavy. It has a height adjuster but No matter what height I still had to bend over. I Also, I now know NEVER get anything electric outside like in a Cleveland, OH weather I returned it to Home Depot and had no problem. Live and learn. I would not recommend this thrower.
Pros: Sturdy, Powerful
Cons: Difficult to Use, Too Heavy
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 72 for 12 in. Electric Power Shovel Snow Blower
Limmy

Shockingly excellent!

PostedOctober 30, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I just bought this Toro electric power shovel yesterday before our freak Oct. snow storm was about to hit (I've been meaning to get one to do my deck). Well, we got 7" of wet sticky snow and my 9 1/2 horse power snow blower wouldn't do a thing with the snow. I tried the Toro Power Shovel and it went through it like nobody's business. I was so impressed with how it performed on my deck that i decided to try one of my 2 driveways. It blew the snow 20' away like advertised and made clearing out the driveway a BREEZE!! I'm SO glad I bought this!!! Thanks Home Depot for carrying it!
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 73 for 12 in. Electric Power Shovel Snow Blower
Scottiedawg
from Overland Park, KS
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Great for the money!

PostedDecember 22, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Finally got to use my new Toro Electric Snowshovel this morning in Kansas City. Took it out of the box, adjusted the height of the handle, plugged it in and off I went.
Only had about 2 inches, but what use to take an hour and half, I completed it in half an hour. Only negative thing to say is the snow spray, you will look like a cotton ball no matter which direction the wind is blowing.
Wish I would have had this all my shoveling years! Would recommend this to anyone looking for a cheaper alternative for a snow blower!
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 74 for 12 in. Electric Power Shovel Snow Blower
Mike

Handled 4 Inches of Snow Easily

PostedJanuary 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Used the power shovel after our first real snow, and had my drive, patio and walks cleared in about 30 minutes vs 90 minutes plus just using a snow shovel. Beats having to store a full-sized snow blower too. At the price, it is a must have in your garage!
Pros: Easy to Use, Powerful, Easy to Store
Cons: none
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 75 for 12 in. Electric Power Shovel Snow Blower
snowgal
from Boston, MA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Poorly designed

PostedJanuary 12, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have owned a Toro Electric Snow Thrower for over 20 years and I LOVED it. It was lightweight, easy to use, and cleared a surprisingly large volume of snow with ease. So when it finally wore out, I immediately ordered another one. Bad move. This new one is heavier, too heavy for my arthritis, and it has been badly redesigned. There is now a hard-to-push safety button that must be pushed at the same time as the squeeze bar. Someone put it on the left side so it can only be used right handed. This makes it nearly impossible to get into left sided areas of the deck & stairs that need snow removal. Squeezing two things at once is also painful on arthritic hands that already hurt from the cold. I leaned it against the deck railing and it fell over repeatedly because the balance is awkward. If you are strong enough to shovel snow, you could use this blower. However, unless you are fit enough to shovel heavy snow, you will find this blower too heavy. I really wish Toro hadn't tinkered with a good thing. I miss the ease of my old one.
Cons: Too Heavy, Difficult to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 76 for 12 in. Electric Power Shovel Snow Blower
bert

Worth it

PostedJanuary 22, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Glad and surprised to find it was pre-assembled (box was large as a result of this but box still fit in back seat of a 2008 Volvo S60). I bought this because I do not have the storage space for a traditional gasoline powered snowblower. I have a back injury that should prevent me from shoveling snow but somebody has to do the work around here so it is either lifting a manual snow shovel 500 times each snow storm or looking at alternatives.
I placed an order for this online and used Home Depot in-store pick up. The item was ready for pick-up in a couple of hours. The main reason I did this was to avoid the inconvenience of driving to the store only to find they were out of stock, especially prior to the 1/21/2014 blizzard.
This thing moves a lot of snow fast. It is not going to clear 12" deep snow but if you get out there before it reached 8 inches you'll have no problem removing whatever Mother Nature drops afterward.
There is a learning curve to this machine but after 20 minutes you get the hang of it. Apparently tilting the handle will change the direction of the thrown snow but it can be unpredictable. The only design flaw I really encountered is that it is mostly forward throwing - this means a light breeze will coat you in a fine mist of snow. You will inherently develop a strategy to avoid this (blow with the wind, blow on an angle, etc.) but I have to mention it.
I did a 10x30 deck and a 60x12 driveway. Took a couple of hours but my back does not hurt.
I recommend it. The manual (and box) say it comes with a full 2 year warranty. it is a Toro so I have some confidence in this brand going in.
Good luck. No matter what, trust me, it is better then shoveling.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Small Turn Radius, Easy to Store
Cons: Limited Features
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 77 for 12 in. Electric Power Shovel Snow Blower
JPEG
from Barnstable, MA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great product, easy to use right out of the box.

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Cleared 5 inches of snow with ease, the snow drifted upto a foot but with a few passes it took care of it. It was a break from using my loud gas powered machine.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 78 for 12 in. Electric Power Shovel Snow Blower
Plumbergirl
from Berkshire, MA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Not a bad snow blower for the cost.

PostedJanuary 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Used 2 times in about 3-6 inches of light, fluffy snow. Threw the snow great, just not sure how it would do with heavier wet snow tho. Not a bad snowblower for the money.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 79 for 12 in. Electric Power Shovel Snow Blower
Chuck
from Bend, OR, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great tool

PostedNovember 21, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have a two car concrete driveway and the usual walks in front and back of the house. The electric power shovel worked great...One of the best things besides doing the work is that it is easy to store when not inused.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 80 for 12 in. Electric Power Shovel Snow Blower
jimmartin29
from Flagstaff, Arizona

Throwing snow at an angle

PostedOctober 14, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have a short, steep driveway and it is difficult to push the shovel at an angle to avoid throwing the snow into the street. (The city prohibits it.)
It would be a more covenient machine if Toro ahd provided the shovel with a retaining ring where the head attaches to the handle so that the shovel head could be angled up to 45 degress left or right. It would be much easier to handle and cut the snow removal time considerably.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
<< 1 2 3 4 5 6  ... 10 >>