728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Snow Equipment or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 12 in. Electric Power Shovel Snow Blower

12 in. Electric Power Shovel Snow Blower

The Toro Electric Power shovel snow blower delivers a 12 in. snow clearance, making this an ideal choice for sidewalks, steps, decks and small driveways. This powerful blower moves up to 300 lb. of snow per minute and blows snow up to 20 ft. away, helping you quickly and easily clear an area. The blower's telescoping handle alters the handle height to fit the user, and its adjustable handle controls are easy to use. The blower is rust-resistant for long-lasting use.
Overall rating:
4.044 / 5
4
 / 
5
(409 reviews) 397
Open Ratings Snapshot
81%of customersrecommend this product313 of 385reviews
Rating Breakdown 409 reviews
4.0 out of 5.0
5
(195)
4
(126)
3
(34)
2
(19)
1
(35)
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
81%of customersrecommend this product313 of 385reviews
Customer questions and answers:
16 Questions | 94 Answers
Customer reviews for 12 in. Electric Power Shovel Snow Blower
Review 1 for 12 in. Electric Power Shovel Snow Blower
from Flagstaff, Arizona

Throwing snow at an angle

PostedOctober 14, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have a short, steep driveway and it is difficult to push the shovel at an angle to avoid throwing the snow into the street. (The city prohibits it.)
It would be a more covenient machine if Toro ahd provided the shovel with a retaining ring where the head attaches to the handle so that the shovel head could be angled up to 45 degress left or right. It would be much easier to handle and cut the snow removal time considerably.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 12 in. Electric Power Shovel Snow Blower
from Dallas Center, IA

Only worked for 2 days

PostedDecember 10, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We were very excited to use this shovel and it seemed to work great....for 2 days. The second day we used it, the blade broke in half. The snow was light and fluffy, no ice. Now we get to see how easy it will be to return it. Wish us luck!
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 12 in. Electric Power Shovel Snow Blower
from Noblesville, Indiana

Does as promoted

PostedJanuary 6, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had checked around for the best deal and read the reviews. I have a small deck and small drive so I needed a small unit for little cost. With money tight I figured this is the unit I needed. Brought it home and took it out of the box and within a few minutes I was out moving snow. It threw the snow well away from the path, and after watching the way the wind was blowing keeping the path clear of blown snow was easy. It did a great job and I am looking forward to the snow that is predicted for tonight and on Thursday. No more shoveling with my bad back and breathing problems. For the price and two year warranty so far you can't beat this product.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 12 in. Electric Power Shovel Snow Blower
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Snow shovel

PostedDecember 20, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have a snow blower but using it on my deck is not an option so I purchased a snow shovel. It has some weight to it but I only need to slide it along to use it. It works great for what I want and it throws the snow very far. I was impressed. It made clearing the deck s breeze and in a short time. I've only used it once this winter so far and hope to use it more.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 12 in. Electric Power Shovel Snow Blower

so far so good...

PostedDecember 20, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I just finished using this for the first time. It worked well on the light, powdery snow. I'm curious to see how it does with the heavier, wet snow. The only thing I didn't like was the plug...too short to do the "safety" knot...so had to hold on to the extension cord while using to ensure it didn't come unplugged.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 12 in. Electric Power Shovel Snow Blower
from Grand Rapids, MI, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

I could tell you better after we have some snow as I have not been able to use it yet.

PostedDecember 21, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
None as yet..,.no snow to try it yet. It currently is a decoration on the garage wall.
Hard to justify the survey with no snow.
-11points
0out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 12 in. Electric Power Shovel Snow Blower
from Parkville,. MD
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Very Helpful....Great Product!

PostedDecember 21, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product is a back saver....instead of having to bend, scoop, lift and throw the shovel does all the work for you...all you do is push. In higher snow falls you may have to lift it and go over same area a few times till it gets rid of a few inches at a time...but still saves you a lot of back breaking work. I highly recommend it!! Bought 3 so far and have given as gifts!!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 12 in. Electric Power Shovel Snow Blower
from harvard,ill.
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

haven't had a snow to remove yet

PostedDecember 23, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
swell good service product i awaiting snow to be used. ok ok ok
-9points
1out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 12 in. Electric Power Shovel Snow Blower
from IL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

snow shovel

PostedJanuary 3, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Hard to handle. I suppose its because of having to drag the electric cord behind or to the side. Only used once will have to wait to see if ease of use improves
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 12 in. Electric Power Shovel Snow Blower

Easier than vacuuming your rug

PostedJanuary 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
What can I say,the best monies I spent.I just plug it in and push,it came assembled too,I found you can angle it so you're not re-blowing the snow.I bought one for my dad as well,the kids even ask if they can do the steps now!!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 12 in. Electric Power Shovel Snow Blower
from Frederick, CO, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This product is great for older adults

PostedJanuary 25, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have only used it once. It is light enough in weight for me as I am a senior citizen and couldn't possibly use a large snow blower.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 12 in. Electric Power Shovel Snow Blower
from Littleton, CO, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Toro Power Shovel - Great!

PostedFebruary 9, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This shovel is an answer to people with health problems. It is lightweight enough to use easily. The instructions state that for snow deeper than 6" simply take the top 6" off with the shovel then go over the area again. This shovel does great on walkways and decks. I have recommended this shovel to many people!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 12 in. Electric Power Shovel Snow Blower
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Very surprised

PostedJanuary 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
If all you have is snow, it works pretty well. Going to get one for my mother-in-law. No sense lefting when you can just push. Can't beat it for the price. Snow does shoot out straight ahead so you may need to adjust your pattern of clearing. Does shoot about 20' with a little fall off along the way.
Pros: Good Size & Weight, small and easy to store
Cons: have to drag extension cord
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 12 in. Electric Power Shovel Snow Blower
from Salt Lake City, UT, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worthy investment

PostedJanuary 15, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This was a lot more powerful than I anticipated. It made shoveling snow doable as a one man job what was exhausting with two people around my house. I do wish there was a way to control the direction it blows the snow but the trade off is a great price and also the ability to lift it and shovel areas like my patio and stairs.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Great Engine
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 12 in. Electric Power Shovel Snow Blower
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

a little heavy for it's size.

PostedMarch 12, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Shipping took longer to get then I was told when I order it.
Heavy for it's size but did a good job.
Cons: Too Heavy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 12 in. Electric Power Shovel Snow Blower
from Minnesota
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

12 In. Electric Power Shovel Snow Blower

PostedApril 30, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I can't successfully rate or review this product because I haven't had an opportunity to use it yet. Physically it's the product I ordered and the weight feels like something I could handle but until I can actually shovel with it, I can't say much else.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 12 in. Electric Power Shovel Snow Blower
from Kansas City
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Buy - for Midwest Snow Levels and Types.

PostedJanuary 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I Live in Kansas City. I have used this product for ten years. Lately I have been helping the neighbors with their drives and sidewalks. It handles the light and even heavy wet snows. I have never stalled out the motor and it really can throw snow twenty feet. My neighbors wanted to buy one, so I was checking on the price for them. I had paid 70 dollars ten years ago, it has been worth every penny. I recommend a 12 gauge extension chord.
I would buy this Toro-12-in-Electric-Power-Shovel-Snow-Blower again.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
Cons: none
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 12 in. Electric Power Shovel Snow Blower

Perfect little thrower

PostedJanuary 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This works well with most snowy conditions, just not with snow that has gotten real high. Despite being electric, you will still get a little bit of a workout, but you won't exhaust yourself and with the price, you won't break the bank either. This is perfect if you just have a small walkway/driveway to maintain that does not justify the purchase of a larger snow thrower.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Light Weight
Cons: Limited Features, cannot direct snow other than forward
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 12 in. Electric Power Shovel Snow Blower
from North New Jersey
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

An AID to snow shoveling

PostedFebruary 3, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased the Toro Power Shovel in mid -January of 2014. I live in northwest New Jersey, and the snows this year have been plentiful, so I have had to try this item out in both a 4" powdery snow and this week in an 8" heavier, wetter snow.
I read several reviews and watched a number of videos before deciding on the Toro. Some of its competitors were less expensive but had questionable quality. I am pleased enough with my purchase but I would also advise anyone who is considering this that it is not the "be all and end all" for removing snow.
I live in a rental community and do not have a private garage. Although the streets are well mantained, my parking area is my own responsibility. It is a small area, but since I am now 65 (and can feel it in my back and hands) I thought this Toro shovel would be a big help. I no longer have to lift heavy shovels full of wet snow, but the power shovel does require some muscle to move it forward and backward. A friend of mine, who does a lot of yard work, showed me the proper way to use the shovel. Place it ON the snow and make of couple of passes to remove the snow. The power shovel will not gobbel up more than 4" of light weight snow. It is a snow THROWER not a snow BLOWER!
I did make sure I purchased a heavy duty extention cord of 14 guage so as not to put a strain on the motor. And contrary to some reviews I have read, once you press the release button on the side of the handle and engage the trigger, the button will stay in, so you do not have to hold both the button and the trigger. Once released, however, you do have to re-engage both. And holding the handle trigger for long periods does require some rest breaks.
This power shovel is lighter than some others, so it is easier to carry. The two adjustable handles seem to give a large range of adjustments for just about anyone. We have two more snow storms coming this week, so the Toro is going to get a work out. I do recommend it as long as the purchaser is aware that they will still have to use an old fashioned shovel for some of the work.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Light Weight, good value
Cons: uni-directional throw
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 12 in. Electric Power Shovel Snow Blower
from new jersey

Worst purchase ever

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Does not work in real snow, hard to push, plus coverage area is very small, better to use a snow shovel than this machine.
Cons: Limited Features, Difficult to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 10 >>