728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Snow Equipment or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 12 in. Electric Power Shovel Snow Blower

12 in. Electric Power Shovel Snow Blower

The Toro Electric Power shovel snow blower delivers a 12 in. snow clearance, making this an ideal choice for sidewalks, steps, decks and small driveways. This powerful blower moves up to 300 lb. of snow per minute and blows snow up to 20 ft. away, helping you quickly and easily clear an area. The blower's telescoping handle alters the handle height to fit the user, and its adjustable handle controls are easy to use. The blower is rust-resistant for long-lasting use.
Overall rating:
4.05 / 5
4
 / 
5
(403 reviews) 391
Open Ratings Snapshot
82%of customersrecommend this product309 of 379reviews
Rating Breakdown 403 reviews
4.0 out of 5.0
5
(193)
4
(124)
3
(33)
2
(19)
1
(34)
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
82%of customersrecommend this product309 of 379reviews
Customer questions and answers:
16 Questions | 94 Answers
Customer reviews for 12 in. Electric Power Shovel Snow Blower
Review 1 for 12 in. Electric Power Shovel Snow Blower
IowaRN
from Dallas Center, IA

Only worked for 2 days

PostedDecember 10, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We were very excited to use this shovel and it seemed to work great....for 2 days. The second day we used it, the blade broke in half. The snow was light and fluffy, no ice. Now we get to see how easy it will be to return it. Wish us luck!
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 12 in. Electric Power Shovel Snow Blower
Anonymous
from Noblesville, Indiana

Does as promoted

PostedJanuary 6, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had checked around for the best deal and read the reviews. I have a small deck and small drive so I needed a small unit for little cost. With money tight I figured this is the unit I needed. Brought it home and took it out of the box and within a few minutes I was out moving snow. It threw the snow well away from the path, and after watching the way the wind was blowing keeping the path clear of blown snow was easy. It did a great job and I am looking forward to the snow that is predicted for tonight and on Thursday. No more shoveling with my bad back and breathing problems. For the price and two year warranty so far you can't beat this product.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 12 in. Electric Power Shovel Snow Blower
Oack
from Chantilly, VA

12 inch Electric Power Shovel Snow Thrower

PostedOctober 16, 2010
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
First we have had no snow yet, however I have noticed that it is very difficult to hold the trigger on.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 12 in. Electric Power Shovel Snow Blower
SnowBlows
from Rural Oregon >4000 ft

Power Shovel Blows!

PostedDecember 12, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Yep - it really does what it is supposed to do. Blows the snow into the air and unto the neighbors yard. I like this so far. Got it to use on my deck and around hot tub. Seems to work for that quite well. It is a little bigger and heavier than I expected, but unlike another reviewer I think a moderately active 60 year old Grandma (like me) can use it with no problem. I had so much fun with it I even tried it on my driveway - worked pretty good for that too even though I had some hard packed ice and snow I did not try - this thing is not made for that. Worked best on about 3 to 4 inches of snow. Even the snow rain mix we had. Do not know how well it will hold up, but have had great luck with other Toro products (especially a small electric weed trimmer I have had and used for around 15 to 20 years!) Hope this holds up as well!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 12 in. Electric Power Shovel Snow Blower
Mimi2313
from Reston, VA

Not good for heavy snow

PostedDecember 13, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
bought this a few years back went to use it first time during the heavy snow in Feb of 2010 it did not handle well nor did it help with the snow shoveling, back to the old shovel.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 12 in. Electric Power Shovel Snow Blower
Jeja

PostedDecember 27, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought the product a couple of weeks ago, not knowing we were going to have a major storm this weekend. This product is a back and joint saver! We go 12 inches on snow. I plug it in and off I went. I was done my sidewalk and path to the house before my neighbor was done his sidewalk. He had to stop and watch me as I kept going.
I also moved the snow from the front and back of my van and the car so I could get out to the street.
Pros:
- easy to handle. Height for second handle is adjustable.
- does a great job removing snow - you may have to take two passes for 12 inches, but then this is a shovel type blower, not a $700 snow blower. If you remove the top half of the snow, then go back and do the bottom, it works great. For quite a bit of the snow i removed, I only had to do one pass and it was over 8 inches.
- a back saver. I used to be so sore from shoveling, today, when I was done, I went inside, took a shower, got dressed and went to work. You can see from above that I had A LOT of shoveling to do. I plan on going back and finishing it up after work today.
Cons:
- I had to tie my extension to the blower to stop it from falling out and turning off but it could have been due to the extension cord. I just tied part of the extension to the handle, and forgot about it. It did not fall out and stayed out of my way.
- It would be nice to be able have the option to blow the snow out the side instead of straight ahead so you're not shoveling the snow you just blew. It's still okay, because since you are going forward, you're going to remove that snow anyway.
Overall, as I said, best $99 investment I've ever made!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 12 in. Electric Power Shovel Snow Blower
westwoodguy
from Boston, MA

handy in the right circumstances

PostedJanuary 22, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We live south west of Boston in Norfolk county. This winter has been tough so far: 50 inches, where the average is 41 inches per year. I only use this power shovel and a hand shovel to clear my short driveway, the sidewalk and a curving walkway.
Foregoing larger snow blowers, I bought this because I need to work around tight areas. Two cars parked bumper to bumper sit on our driveway; there was no space to maneuver a snow blower. So far the logic has held up and the power shovel does a good job.
Only cons I have, largely the same as the other reviewers:
1) For 4+ inches of snow, two passes are needed.
2) Watch out for the wind; snow can drift to the spaces already cleared, or shoot back to your face.
3) Works best on smooth surfaces.
4) Can't handle ice or wet snow well, so clear snow early and frequently
5) Powering on requires squeezing the on button and a lock; this can be tiring.
6) Vibrations can make extended use painful.
I didn't notice these issues the first time I used the power shovel last year. Now I'm now thinking of upgrading to a snow plow. This year's winter is predicted to be brutal and I doubt if this tool is adequate.
+16points
17out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 12 in. Electric Power Shovel Snow Blower
Earl53
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Snow shovel

PostedDecember 20, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have a snow blower but using it on my deck is not an option so I purchased a snow shovel. It has some weight to it but I only need to slide it along to use it. It works great for what I want and it throws the snow very far. I was impressed. It made clearing the deck s breeze and in a short time. I've only used it once this winter so far and hope to use it more.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 12 in. Electric Power Shovel Snow Blower
CSprings1990

so far so good...

PostedDecember 20, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I just finished using this for the first time. It worked well on the light, powdery snow. I'm curious to see how it does with the heavier, wet snow. The only thing I didn't like was the plug...too short to do the "safety" knot...so had to hold on to the extension cord while using to ensure it didn't come unplugged.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 12 in. Electric Power Shovel Snow Blower
MWhite62
from Parkville,. MD
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Very Helpful....Great Product!

PostedDecember 21, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product is a back saver....instead of having to bend, scoop, lift and throw the shovel does all the work for you...all you do is push. In higher snow falls you may have to lift it and go over same area a few times till it gets rid of a few inches at a time...but still saves you a lot of back breaking work. I highly recommend it!! Bought 3 so far and have given as gifts!!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 12 in. Electric Power Shovel Snow Blower
scott
from harvard,ill.
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

haven't had a snow to remove yet

PostedDecember 23, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
swell good service product i awaiting snow to be used. ok ok ok
-9points
1out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 12 in. Electric Power Shovel Snow Blower
cali
from IL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

snow shovel

PostedJanuary 3, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Hard to handle. I suppose its because of having to drag the electric cord behind or to the side. Only used once will have to wait to see if ease of use improves
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 12 in. Electric Power Shovel Snow Blower
redjade25
from R.I.

WOW- what a product-20 yrs & still running!

PostedJanuary 22, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've had my TORO snow Shovel 20 yrs. and I just did my walk w/ it- FANTASTIC!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 12 in. Electric Power Shovel Snow Blower
Billybob
from SE Wisconsin

Maybe good but...

PostedJanuary 24, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This product started out good. But after 20 minutes use the power stopped. I noticed the handle where the cord goes was shakey, so probably something loose. Anyway, i took it to local HD and they promptly replaced it. I upgraded to the next model 18" with adjustable chute.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 12 in. Electric Power Shovel Snow Blower
Shnzer2Mom
from the burbs
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

No more sore back...

PostedJanuary 24, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
dont have to lift the snow anymore, this really throws it far. The only thing, is that you have to keep your finger on the lever to keep it going, after a while, your hand does get a little tired. Just aim it and a little push & there goes the snow
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 12 in. Electric Power Shovel Snow Blower
Marge
from Frederick, CO, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This product is great for older adults

PostedJanuary 25, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have only used it once. It is light enough in weight for me as I am a senior citizen and couldn't possibly use a large snow blower.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 12 in. Electric Power Shovel Snow Blower
Eljay
from Stoughton, MA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product does what it was purchased for!

PostedJanuary 31, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought the electric snow shovel as a gift for my husband as he hates shoveling! On the small amount of snow we have had so far this year, it has done a good job - we only need it for clearing off pathways and the deck.
It did leave some scratches and gouges on the deck, but user enthusiasm for a clean deck might have had something to do with that.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 12 in. Electric Power Shovel Snow Blower
Retired

nice unit for the size, would like to be able to control the angel of snow thrown.

PostedFebruary 1, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This unit is not for everyone. I wanted to be able to clear sidewalks without to much strain on back. This unit does that, not sure it is much faster than doing it manual but it does help the back.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 12 in. Electric Power Shovel Snow Blower
Denny
from Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

I was very pleased with the product, the prompt delivery, and the way it was packaged to protect the electric snow shovel.

PostedDecember 26, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I was pleased with the product. Unfortunately, I am going to have to return it because I bought it as a Christmas gift for my father. He did not want it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 12 in. Electric Power Shovel Snow Blower
SaltLakeJim

Affordable and very effective.

PostedDecember 28, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We have only used it once so far but it did an awesome job clearing our steep driveway of about a foot of snow. It's a little heavy but nothing compared to having to lift all that snow like before and most of the time we could just slide it along. My partner described it like mowing the lawn. The cord can get in the way sometimes and the wind can toss some of the snow back at you but nothing unmanageable.
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 10 >>