728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Snow Equipment or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 12 in. Electric Power Shovel Snow Blower

12 in. Electric Power Shovel Snow Blower

The Toro Electric Power shovel snow blower delivers a 12 in. snow clearance, making this an ideal choice for sidewalks, steps, decks and small driveways. This powerful blower moves up to 300 lb. of snow per minute and blows snow up to 20 ft. away, helping you quickly and easily clear an area. The blower's telescoping handle alters the handle height to fit the user, and its adjustable handle controls are easy to use. The blower is rust-resistant for long-lasting use.
Overall rating:
4.044 / 5
4
 / 
5
(409 reviews) 397
Open Ratings Snapshot
81%of customersrecommend this product313 of 385reviews
Rating Breakdown 409 reviews
4.0 out of 5.0
5
(195)
4
(126)
3
(34)
2
(19)
1
(35)
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
81%of customersrecommend this product313 of 385reviews
Customer questions and answers:
16 Questions | 94 Answers
Customer reviews for 12 in. Electric Power Shovel Snow Blower
Review 1 for 12 in. Electric Power Shovel Snow Blower
from Flagstaff, Arizona

Throwing snow at an angle

PostedOctober 14, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have a short, steep driveway and it is difficult to push the shovel at an angle to avoid throwing the snow into the street. (The city prohibits it.)
It would be a more covenient machine if Toro ahd provided the shovel with a retaining ring where the head attaches to the handle so that the shovel head could be angled up to 45 degress left or right. It would be much easier to handle and cut the snow removal time considerably.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 12 in. Electric Power Shovel Snow Blower
from Flagstaff, Arizona

PostedNovember 30, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this power shovel to remove the snow off of my deck. This thing is a blast. It is so much fun that my son took it over. It throws the snow off my deck and into the neighbor's yard. It does not seem to gouge my wood deck like my regular snow shovel does.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 12 in. Electric Power Shovel Snow Blower
from Fairfax, Va

Right product for the light snow 1-3" from drivewa

PostedDecember 5, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Just bought it 45 minutes ago from Home Depot. Brought it home - plugged it in - and 30 minutes later I had a clean driveway (approx 200 ft by 60 ft).
Usually it would tire me - but with this it was so easy. Lets hope it last for 2 years as its advertised.
Very happy with my purchase.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 12 in. Electric Power Shovel Snow Blower
from Waukesha, WI

Expected to pay a lot more than $99!

PostedDecember 10, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Living in Wisconsin you either need a good back, you own a snow blower, or you pay someone else to take care of your snow removal.
I purchased my Torro Power Shovel from an estate sale more than five years ago, and its been my life/back saver every winter since, so when it finally died I was worried I wouldn't be able to replace it! I'm a SWF, 5'4", 125lbs, and I have Fibromyagia, so manual shoveling is out of the question for me; I googled my search, found my query, and I am so excited to find Torro's still making the power shovel, and the $99.00 price tag's the snowy white icing on my happy cake!
I'm going to Home Depo ASAP to purchase my new Torro Power Shovel, and to those of you who chose to write a less than positive review... a good snow shovel costs $30-40 dollars!
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 12 in. Electric Power Shovel Snow Blower
from NJ

Helpful

PostedDecember 19, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Bought it day before the big northeast snow storm of Dec. 19 2009. Just had eye surgery a little over a month ago and did not want to stress. When the snow got to about 4 inches,took it out and used it on my deck, sidewalk and driveway(10x50) and did a great job even though I had to go through the same path 2 or 3 times(have to lay down salt anyway).Usually when shoveling I had to rest every 5 minutes and takes me about 1 to 1-1/2 hour to do the job but, using this I did not have to, except for the occasional switching of hands and took me about 1/2 hour. It's 8pm and still snowing and it looks like it's at least 8 inches outside. Don't know how it will do tomorrow. But, I still recommend it specially if you have a deck.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 12 in. Electric Power Shovel Snow Blower
from Dallas Center, IA

Only worked for 2 days

PostedDecember 10, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We were very excited to use this shovel and it seemed to work great....for 2 days. The second day we used it, the blade broke in half. The snow was light and fluffy, no ice. Now we get to see how easy it will be to return it. Wish us luck!
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 12 in. Electric Power Shovel Snow Blower
from Rockville, MD

Nice but not great

PostedDecember 17, 2009
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Decent performance.
Main issues:
1. Too narrow - requires 4 passes to clear the pavement
2. Requires a long electric cable / extension cord - somewhat cumbersome to use
3. May create a mess in your snow clearing path since it throws the snow forward rather than sideways - covering in part what you have cleared beyond the first 15-20 feet
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 12 in. Electric Power Shovel Snow Blower
from DC Metro

It Saved my Back!

PostedDecember 22, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this snowblower about two weeks ago with the intent of using it on my sidewalk if we had a storm. Then we had the blizzard that slammed the NorthEast last weekend. It worked like a charm here in the DC Metro area. I was SMILING the whole time!
I had about 19 inches in my community. I was expecting a delivery of new applicances that day, so I had to keep the sidewalk cleared for safety. I cleaned it twice of about 5 to 6 inches each time. Each time took an average of 15 to 20 minutes. I also cleared my neighbors sidewalk, when we collectively dug out cars and sidewalks.
Amazingly AFTER I finished, the teenagers with shovels came around. I definately got my money's worth and then some from this machine.
This really is a small unit for a small driveway, or just sidewalks like I have. It was perfect for me, at the $99 price. No maintenenance and it has a two year warranty. Just open the box, read the instructions, (for safety) plug it in and go.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 12 in. Electric Power Shovel Snow Blower
from Chantilly, VA

12 inch Electric Power Shovel Snow Thrower

PostedOctober 16, 2010
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
First we have had no snow yet, however I have noticed that it is very difficult to hold the trigger on.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 12 in. Electric Power Shovel Snow Blower
from rome ny

Sooooo Easy

PostedDecember 27, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought this for my friend who has a bad back to use instead of trying to shovel. He would be laid up afterwards for the entire afternoon when he shoveled just his walkways. He went nuts and stayed out doing the neighbors sidewalks just to keep going and has not stopped talking about it. Highly recommended for just this reason as there is no lifting at all.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 12 in. Electric Power Shovel Snow Blower
from Noblesville, Indiana

Does as promoted

PostedJanuary 6, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had checked around for the best deal and read the reviews. I have a small deck and small drive so I needed a small unit for little cost. With money tight I figured this is the unit I needed. Brought it home and took it out of the box and within a few minutes I was out moving snow. It threw the snow well away from the path, and after watching the way the wind was blowing keeping the path clear of blown snow was easy. It did a great job and I am looking forward to the snow that is predicted for tonight and on Thursday. No more shoveling with my bad back and breathing problems. For the price and two year warranty so far you can't beat this product.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 12 in. Electric Power Shovel Snow Blower
from Reston, VA

Not good for heavy snow

PostedDecember 13, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
bought this a few years back went to use it first time during the heavy snow in Feb of 2010 it did not handle well nor did it help with the snow shoveling, back to the old shovel.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 12 in. Electric Power Shovel Snow Blower
from Boston, MA

handy in the right circumstances

PostedJanuary 22, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We live south west of Boston in Norfolk county. This winter has been tough so far: 50 inches, where the average is 41 inches per year. I only use this power shovel and a hand shovel to clear my short driveway, the sidewalk and a curving walkway.
Foregoing larger snow blowers, I bought this because I need to work around tight areas. Two cars parked bumper to bumper sit on our driveway; there was no space to maneuver a snow blower. So far the logic has held up and the power shovel does a good job.
Only cons I have, largely the same as the other reviewers:
1) For 4+ inches of snow, two passes are needed.
2) Watch out for the wind; snow can drift to the spaces already cleared, or shoot back to your face.
3) Works best on smooth surfaces.
4) Can't handle ice or wet snow well, so clear snow early and frequently
5) Powering on requires squeezing the on button and a lock; this can be tiring.
6) Vibrations can make extended use painful.
I didn't notice these issues the first time I used the power shovel last year. Now I'm now thinking of upgrading to a snow plow. This year's winter is predicted to be brutal and I doubt if this tool is adequate.
+16points
17out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 12 in. Electric Power Shovel Snow Blower
from Detroit, MI

Great product, great price!

PostedFebruary 2, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I live in Detroit, MI. I purchased this Power Shovel about 2 mos ago, and really put it to use today. It goes all the way to the cement even breaking up the ice.
I'm a female 4'7" and this worked great for me. Easy manuevering. No more shoveling!!!
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 12 in. Electric Power Shovel Snow Blower
from Philadelphia, PA

yes but...

PostedDecember 31, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Good news is it works great but 3 not so good aspects:
-it blows straight ahead - need to be careful of the wind
- need to knot the power cord - comes out a lot
-It is built just for small areas
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 12 in. Electric Power Shovel Snow Blower
from MA

Present for Dad

PostedAugust 24, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My parents have a home in NH with a very large wrap around deck.
This will enable my dad to easily clean off the deck during snow storms instead of with a shovel.
He is very excited to have it.
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 12 in. Electric Power Shovel Snow Blower
from Rural Oregon >4000 ft

Power Shovel Blows!

PostedDecember 12, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Yep - it really does what it is supposed to do. Blows the snow into the air and unto the neighbors yard. I like this so far. Got it to use on my deck and around hot tub. Seems to work for that quite well. It is a little bigger and heavier than I expected, but unlike another reviewer I think a moderately active 60 year old Grandma (like me) can use it with no problem. I had so much fun with it I even tried it on my driveway - worked pretty good for that too even though I had some hard packed ice and snow I did not try - this thing is not made for that. Worked best on about 3 to 4 inches of snow. Even the snow rain mix we had. Do not know how well it will hold up, but have had great luck with other Toro products (especially a small electric weed trimmer I have had and used for around 15 to 20 years!) Hope this holds up as well!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 12 in. Electric Power Shovel Snow Blower

EXCELLENT!

PostedJanuary 3, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This shovel is an excellent product if you are buying it for the correct purpose. We live on a large corner lot (75' x 150') with a loooong sidewalk but a small driveway. This shovel was perfect for the recent snowstorm. With the snow being almost 2 feet high, I did have to use it twice - once by lifting for the top layer, and then again for the underneath but it made a perfect, straight path. The only disadvantage is that it only blows the snow straight ahead (but you know this before you buy it) so it is difficult on a windy day. Like another reveiwer, I also had to wrap the power crod around and knot it to prevent it from coming unplugged during use. However, I appreciate not having to mess with gasoline. Would absolutely recommend!
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 12 in. Electric Power Shovel Snow Blower

PostedDecember 27, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought the product a couple of weeks ago, not knowing we were going to have a major storm this weekend. This product is a back and joint saver! We go 12 inches on snow. I plug it in and off I went. I was done my sidewalk and path to the house before my neighbor was done his sidewalk. He had to stop and watch me as I kept going.
I also moved the snow from the front and back of my van and the car so I could get out to the street.
Pros:
- easy to handle. Height for second handle is adjustable.
- does a great job removing snow - you may have to take two passes for 12 inches, but then this is a shovel type blower, not a $700 snow blower. If you remove the top half of the snow, then go back and do the bottom, it works great. For quite a bit of the snow i removed, I only had to do one pass and it was over 8 inches.
- a back saver. I used to be so sore from shoveling, today, when I was done, I went inside, took a shower, got dressed and went to work. You can see from above that I had A LOT of shoveling to do. I plan on going back and finishing it up after work today.
Cons:
- I had to tie my extension to the blower to stop it from falling out and turning off but it could have been due to the extension cord. I just tied part of the extension to the handle, and forgot about it. It did not fall out and stayed out of my way.
- It would be nice to be able have the option to blow the snow out the side instead of straight ahead so you're not shoveling the snow you just blew. It's still okay, because since you are going forward, you're going to remove that snow anyway.
Overall, as I said, best $99 investment I've ever made!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 12 in. Electric Power Shovel Snow Blower

Toro snow shovel

PostedOctober 29, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Bought it last spring, never used it until today. Worked for about 15 minutes, after which it died. I use it for patio snow removal, meaning light duty. I have a 20 foot outdoor extension cable, the outlet is rated at 30 A. Tried other outlets and extensions, same result. Snow depth was less than 2 inches, lightweight. I passed twice over each area, top side first. Not sure what happened, but it quit in the middle of the job. Maybe a lemon, who knows...quite dissapointing.
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 10 >>