728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Snow Equipment or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower

12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower

The Toro Electric Power shovel snow blower delivers a 12 in. snow clearance, making this an ideal choice for sidewalks, steps, decks and small driveways. This powerful blower moves up to 300 lb. of snow per minute and blows snow up to 20 ft. away, helping you quickly and easily clear an area. The blower's telescoping handle alters the handle height to fit the user, and its adjustable handle controls are easy to use. The blower is rust-resistant for long-lasting use.
Overall rating:
4.064 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(439 reviews) 427
Open Ratings Snapshot
82%of customersrecommend this product340 of 414reviews
Rating Breakdown 439 reviews
4.1 out of 5.0
5
(212)
4
(135)
3
(36)
2
(20)
1
(36)
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
82%of customersrecommend this product340 of 414reviews
Customer questions and answers:
18 Questions | 102 Answers
Customer reviews for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
Review 1 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Pepperell, MA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female

The shovel is lightweight and adjustable and very easy to use right out of the box. Very good buy.

PostedFebruary 3, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We have only had the opportunity to use it once this year. The shovel was able to clear the snow (4 inch deep) easily off our new deck (32' x 16') in half the time it would have taken if shoveled manually. Next time we will try the shovel on the driveway. Tip: spray the blades with silicone spray and the snow won't stick and collect on the blades. The shovel is lightweight and adjustable and very easy to use right out of the box. Very good buy.
Pros: Easy to Use, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower

This is the best thing since Sliced Bread

PostedNovember 1, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I'm 51 year old female and my job after the storm is wielding the shovel :(. For years, the snow of the upper deck didn't get removed from the wrap around deck until spring when it finally melted but last year the amount of ice that accummulated in front of the downstair slider door became really treacherous from the slow melting and freezing of snow from above. This year I hounded my husband for a mini snow blower and he found this for me. It slides easily and handles 3-4 inches of snow easily enough. The last snow storm was 15 inches total but I went out on the deck 3 times and It didn't take long at all, and surprisenly enough if throws the snow a good distance. My husband was impressed as well.
+37points
37out of 37found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Clarkston, MI
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Convenient and easy

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used this power shovel during the last snowfall for the first time recently, and I found it to be easy and convenient to use. I use it for my deck which we use during the winter to access our hot tub. It's light weight design makes it simple to clear off small areas and moves a surprising amount of snow for its compact size. The only drawback is it should be battery operated. I find I get a little tangled in the cord, and if you are going a long distance, you will obviously need more cord.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable
Cons: extension cord
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Adirondacks, NY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

efficient machine

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Only used once but worked fine. As advertised it works best with 6" snow or less. Throws well. Safety button is a bit awkward causing thumb fatigue if used for extended period. This is my second power shovel from Toro. The last one worked for almost 20 years. Hopefully this one was made to the same standards. (A rarity in today's world)
Pros: Powerful
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Kennebunkport Maine
Age Range:55 to 64
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Exceeded Expectations

PostedDecember 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was very impressed with the power shovel. Its performance exceeded expectations. Will now purchase a cordless battery powered snow blower for bigger jobs.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Light Weight, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Petosky, MI
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great

PostedDecember 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Works great, just don't blow snow into the wind. Cleared snow right to the wood on our deck
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower

12 IN. POWER SHOVEL ELECTRIC SNOW BLOWER

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cover was very easy to put on but as soon as we went to pick up the shovel by the handle on the cover the cover tore like paper.
Extremely disappointed.
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Minnesota
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Needs Design Changes

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I am a 5-ft, 72-yr-old female. I was delighted to have the shovel delivered directly to home; thought it was store-pick up. My intended use is for a long driveway, where snow can be moved toward one side only, which means moving the same snow over and over to the edge when shoveling by hand. Have used the power shovel in light snow twice. Worked well, except power controls are placed for a right-handed person; I am left-handed, so the controls are difficult to manage, especially with gloves on. Managing 80 feet of cold power cord is also difficult, but that is not a function of the shovel. Owner's manual states shovel works best downwind. That is definitely true, as I experienced a lot of blow-back, because shovel chute is unidirectional, and I can only move snow one direction, which, in one instance, was into the wind. The shovel is light and relatively easy to handle, except for the controls and chute. Hopefully, I will become more adept with more use. I have not had the opportunity to try the shovel in deeper, heavier snow. For the price ($99), the product is a good buy...if you're taller, right-handed, and free to move snow in any direction. I would recommend this product with above caveats.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
Cons: Limited Features, controls placed for right-handed user, unidirectional chute
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Chicago,IL

20 inches in 24 hours

PostedFebruary 5, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My power shovel saved my life. When the snow fell on Feb 2, 2011 it was a record fall. I was able to remove snow that came to my thigh. Im only 5'5'', and a woman. Also, I was barracaded in my garage with snow drift as high as my shoulders. I was able to cut a path allowing me to get my car out of the gararge. I thank you Toro for inventing this marvelous product. KUDOS. P.S This is my second winter with this product.
+32points
32out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Colorado
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female

Toro Shovel Snow Blower

PostedJanuary 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Absolutely love the snow blow shovel!! I'm a 5'2 woman 110 lb woman and I can use this very easily. I was worried when I ordered it that it might be heavy and awkward to use but it is so easy to use. It blows the snow a long way, about 20 ft. I just got finished using it for the first time on our deck, what use to take me 20-25 min. to shovel was done in 10 min. The snow was about 5 inches deep and it moved through it easily. I would highly recommend this to everyone. I'm going to buy one for my parents they are in their 70's and I know they will have no problem using it.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Cincinnati, OH, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for smaller areas

PostedDecember 29, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased the Toro snow shovel from Home Depot and we finally had a snowfall of 4 inches. The snow was heavy, but the snow shovel plowed right through with ease. It is relatively light weight and easily maneuverable. Because the snow was heavy it only threw the snow 5-6 feet which was not a problem. All the snow is thrown in front of the shovel and there is no adjustment for this. I was able to clear my sidewalk in by my front door and the driveway with ease.Using a longer electric cord would have allowed more cleaning. The cord locks in place. It sure beats using a snow shovel and saves my back. I love it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Small Turn Radius, Easy to Store, Light Weight, a lot of power for such a small package., does the job quickly.
Cons: no adjustment to direction of snow dispersal.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Upstate NY

Great for the deck!

PostedJanuary 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I'm a 52 year old woman who always had to do our somewhat large composite deck (while the boys did the driveways with the "big toys".) The extra lifting to get the snow over the railing while shoveling was always quite a chore. I bought this and used it for the first time this winter when our predicted 6" turned into a foot of snow. Even at that depth, this power shovel pushed right through and threw the snow right over the railing...LOVE IT! It was slightly more cumbersome doing the path in the lawn out to the garage, but still much easier than shoveling. Sometimes the hardest part of shoveling is "where to put the snow"...you don't have to worry about that with this power shovel!
Pros: Easy to Use
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Stratford, ct.
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Toro power shovel

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I haven't used it yet.
I had an older model years ago and I Loved it.
I Hope this one is as good as the older model.
Pros: Easy to Use, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower

Anticipation

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
My neighbor has one of these and it seems to work quite well. Although I have a self-propelled snow thrower for the driveway, this power shovel should work well around the porch and tight areas.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Branson Missouri
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

I hope it will snow at least once

PostedOctober 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Have not had a chance to use it yet but just getting ready.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Light Weight, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from DC Metro

It Saved my Back!

PostedDecember 22, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this snowblower about two weeks ago with the intent of using it on my sidewalk if we had a storm. Then we had the blizzard that slammed the NorthEast last weekend. It worked like a charm here in the DC Metro area. I was SMILING the whole time!
I had about 19 inches in my community. I was expecting a delivery of new applicances that day, so I had to keep the sidewalk cleared for safety. I cleaned it twice of about 5 to 6 inches each time. Each time took an average of 15 to 20 minutes. I also cleared my neighbors sidewalk, when we collectively dug out cars and sidewalks.
Amazingly AFTER I finished, the teenagers with shovels came around. I definately got my money's worth and then some from this machine.
This really is a small unit for a small driveway, or just sidewalks like I have. It was perfect for me, at the $99 price. No maintenenance and it has a two year warranty. Just open the box, read the instructions, (for safety) plug it in and go.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Boston, MA

handy in the right circumstances

PostedJanuary 22, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We live south west of Boston in Norfolk county. This winter has been tough so far: 50 inches, where the average is 41 inches per year. I only use this power shovel and a hand shovel to clear my short driveway, the sidewalk and a curving walkway.
Foregoing larger snow blowers, I bought this because I need to work around tight areas. Two cars parked bumper to bumper sit on our driveway; there was no space to maneuver a snow blower. So far the logic has held up and the power shovel does a good job.
Only cons I have, largely the same as the other reviewers:
1) For 4+ inches of snow, two passes are needed.
2) Watch out for the wind; snow can drift to the spaces already cleared, or shoot back to your face.
3) Works best on smooth surfaces.
4) Can't handle ice or wet snow well, so clear snow early and frequently
5) Powering on requires squeezing the on button and a lock; this can be tiring.
6) Vibrations can make extended use painful.
I didn't notice these issues the first time I used the power shovel last year. Now I'm now thinking of upgrading to a snow plow. This year's winter is predicted to be brutal and I doubt if this tool is adequate.
+16points
17out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower

worked good until

PostedNovember 10, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this electric snow shovel last year at a gread price and it worked great until one of the paddles broke, so used it again and the other paddle broke leaving me to shovel by hand. If you have any stones or loose gravel it will break the little plastic paddles. Won't buy another one but move up to something that has either metel or rubber paddle blades.
+13points
14out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Detroit, MI

Great product, great price!

PostedFebruary 2, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I live in Detroit, MI. I purchased this Power Shovel about 2 mos ago, and really put it to use today. It goes all the way to the cement even breaking up the ice.
I'm a female 4'7" and this worked great for me. Easy manuevering. No more shoveling!!!
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Boulder, CO, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

excellent solution for snow shoveling

PostedNovember 15, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
living in Colorado I had already 2 storms of 10" snow each. it is making shoveling snow much easier BUT slower. so if you are limited in time this will not work.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 10 >>