728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Snow Equipment or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower

12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower

The Toro Electric Power shovel snow blower delivers a 12 in. snow clearance, making this an ideal choice for sidewalks, steps, decks and small driveways. This powerful blower moves up to 300 lb. of snow per minute and blows snow up to 20 ft. away, helping you quickly and easily clear an area. The blower's telescoping handle alters the handle height to fit the user, and its adjustable handle controls are easy to use. The blower is rust-resistant for long-lasting use.
Overall rating:
4.098 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(542 reviews) 530
Open Ratings Snapshot
83%of customersrecommend this product426 of 513reviews
Rating Breakdown 542 reviews
4.1 out of 5
5
(273)
4
(160)
3
(43)
2
(21)
1
(45)
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
83%of customersrecommend this product426 of 513reviews
Customer questions and answers:
22 Questions | 128 Answers
Customer reviews for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
Review 1 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Baltimore Metro
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A real time saver

PostedMarch 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I had the opportunity to use this item a couple of time. It worked well but manage your expectations. If you are in need of a two stage snow blower to clear 12 inches of snow from your 200 ft driveway this is not going to do it. If you have a townhouse with a two car parking pad in front of your garage and the snowfall you get is less than a constant barrage of chaining storm fronts, then this device will meet your expectations. I was able to shave off about 50% of the time that it normally takes for me to shovel, with no lifting. We had about 9 inches of snow so I went out 2X and had no issues. It was also able to cut through the nice burms left behind by the snow plows.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Easy to Store
Cons: Limited Features
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Pepperell, MA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female

The shovel is lightweight and adjustable and very easy to use right out of the box. Very good buy.

PostedFebruary 3, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
We have only had the opportunity to use it once this year. The shovel was able to clear the snow (4 inch deep) easily off our new deck (32' x 16') in half the time it would have taken if shoveled manually. Next time we will try the shovel on the driveway. Tip: spray the blades with silicone spray and the snow won't stick and collect on the blades. The shovel is lightweight and adjustable and very easy to use right out of the box. Very good buy.
Pros: Easy to Use, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Auburn,NY
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Excellent for it's size

PostedFebruary 2, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have a 24' x 24' deck above my garage, it had 2' of snow on it that I was gonna shovel like I always do. I had to go to Home Depot to get something and seen this electric shovel and said what the heck might as well try it. It was excellent, it took longer as this was more snow than it was made to do. But it did it and I didn't get a back ache. :)
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower

This is the best thing since Sliced Bread

PostedNovember 1, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I'm 51 year old female and my job after the storm is wielding the shovel :(. For years, the snow of the upper deck didn't get removed from the wrap around deck until spring when it finally melted but last year the amount of ice that accummulated in front of the downstair slider door became really treacherous from the slow melting and freezing of snow from above. This year I hounded my husband for a mini snow blower and he found this for me. It slides easily and handles 3-4 inches of snow easily enough. The last snow storm was 15 inches total but I went out on the deck 3 times and It didn't take long at all, and surprisenly enough if throws the snow a good distance. My husband was impressed as well.
+37points
37out of 37found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Canton, OH
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Mixed Feelings

PostedJanuary 31, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I bought this electric snow shovel blower, after reading numerous great reviews on another website, to use on my 2 car driveway and walkway to my front door. In my experience, it's not as perfect as many of the reviews state. I feel people really exaggerate the truth. It does a beautiful job pushing the snow forward and leaving a clear path. It gets down to the concrete, but you still have to take a regular shovel and go over it. And when it's really cold like it is here, the bottom layer of snow is basically iced to the concrete and you have to take a shovel with a steel scraper to get the bottom layer up. This is really just good to get the surface snow. It throws the snow forward, but there always seems to be a breeze and it just blows up in the air and back in your face and back onto the area you are trying to clear most of the time. Granted, it is still better than lifting a heavy shovel. It doesn't get clogged and you don't have to clear snow out of it like you do with those smaller snow throwers. It does not do a good job in more than 3 or 4 inches, as it will stall and you have to back up and try again. There's no chute to worry about turning. You do have to hold the trigger button in the entire time you are using it and that gets a little tiresome on your fingers/grip. It's very easy to start. It has 2 handles, one at the top and one on the pole (kind of like a weed eater). It makes it easier to carry and lift. It is a bit of a pain to have the long extension cord following you and I find myself tripping over it and unplugging it often. It's a little heavy for a thin female with no upper arm strength, especially when you have to carry it back and forth for each pass of the drive way in the freezing cold when you are already exhausted. If it's too windy, I just get my regular shovel and do it the old fashioned way. It's just not worth the hassle. I tried going back and forth but the wind will catch you in one of the directions and your efforts are for not when the wind in blowing against you. You have to try to go with the wind. I bought a Snow Joe small snow thrower before I bought this and returned it...for many, many reasons. I have to say, I like this snow shovel much better and I am planning to keep it. I use it when the snow isn't too deep and then I go over the driveway again with a normal shovel. It makes the job a little easier but not as easy as many reviewers claim. FYI: I highly recommend a product called Quick Winder Rap-100. It makes winding a 12 gauge 100 foot cord a breeze (within seconds), especially in the freezing cold weather. It's a must have if you are going to own an electric snow thrower. They are a little pricey, but completely worth it!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Peabody, MA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wobbling handle

PostedFebruary 26, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Just go it today in the mail as HD had it out of stock for so long. Have the original version from the 90's and is still going strong but I thought this might be a new design. Its no lighter than my old one and this has an adjustable length to the handle. I don't know if this is a defective one but there is a 1/4 inch of play in the unit when you pick it up. Its as if the inner pipe is too small in the larger pipe over it for the extension. Anyone else have this problem? Well its a Toro and based on my old machine I'm looking forward to moving some snow.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Owensboro, KY
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

bad choice. Too hard to use physically for someone my age and health

PostedMarch 5, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this because I'm 65 and have heart trouble. I am not suppose to lift. Tried to use this on 4 inches of snow. It is like trying to run a vacuum cleaner through mud. I was able to clear maybe 3 foot from my garage door and had to quit. This required such physical effort, pushing it, that my chest started hurting and I had to quit. It would probably be fine for someone younger and stronger. I'm hoping that Home Depot will let me return it.
Pros: Accurate, Easy to Store
Cons: Difficult to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Ny
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

works great

PostedMarch 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
great price fast shipping GREAT CUSTOMER SERVICE on the phone and at my local store, in Newhartford NY. great people working there. been shopping there for years. Right out of the box cleared 24 to 30 inchs of snow off the back deck. just worked from the top down had no problems even when it hit the frozen layers. Thanks again HD
Pros: Easy to Use, Durable, Powerful
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower

12 inch Power Shovel Electric

PostedMarch 10, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
First time I used it I was very pleased with the power shovel.
Unfortunately, after only a one day of use, it started making a grinding loud noise and I had to return it to the store.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Chicago,IL

20 inches in 24 hours

PostedFebruary 5, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My power shovel saved my life. When the snow fell on Feb 2, 2011 it was a record fall. I was able to remove snow that came to my thigh. Im only 5'5'', and a woman. Also, I was barracaded in my garage with snow drift as high as my shoulders. I was able to cut a path allowing me to get my car out of the gararge. I thank you Toro for inventing this marvelous product. KUDOS. P.S This is my second winter with this product.
+32points
32out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower

Toro power shovel

PostedMarch 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This Is a great product I would recommend it to anyone I works better than I thought it would. It's worth every penny
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower

Pleased with the product

PostedMarch 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Worked well for accomplishing the job I purchased it for.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Glenville, NY
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Powerful little monster

PostedFebruary 26, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I picked one of these up to clear the snow off my deck. I wish I got it at the beginning of the season, because by the time I got it, I had close to 3 feet of settled snow plus snow I raked off my roof on my deck. So I put this thing through its paces. It worked well, and throws snow farther than the 20ft it advertises. It's a bit awkward, since it only blows the snow straight forward, which made clearing my deck a little tricky, since my hose is L-shaped it was hard to avoid throwing snow at my master bedroom instead of off the back of the deck. Also my hands got cramped up trying to hold both buttons to keep it going. I had to loop the cord around inside the handle a couple times so it would stay plugged in and not pull away. That's it for my nitpicks, over all you can't beat this thing for the money. Only costs 3x as much as a good quality snow shovel, and works mighty well for what it is.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Powerful
Cons: Limited Features
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Moon PA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

NOT BAD AT ALL

PostedFebruary 21, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased this power shovel last year, but didn't try it until this year. For as little as this costs, it has a lot of power and good snow throwing capability. Be aware that this unit can only throw snow straight forward, but with a pretty good distance. Also, ladies {like me}, don't go out to use this in your pretty little Donna Reed dress expecting to use one dainty finger--this takes a degree of elbow grease to push as there are no wheels!
Pros: Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Easy to Store
Cons: not quite as easy as it looks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower

Tori Power shovel

PostedMarch 3, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Great power shovel saves my back from shoveling deck.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower

Garbage

PostedMarch 1, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Too many plastic parts that can't handle the load. Mine spilt right in the middle. Spend the extra money and get a more traditional snow blower
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from fredericksburg Virginia
Age Range:55 to 64
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Had mine 6 or so years

PostedFebruary 17, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have had my Toro electric shovel about 6 years, had it before the great snowmegadon of 2010. I get it out 3 or 4 times a year. I like it, does a great job for my sidewalk and short 2 car driveway.... first remember this isn't intended to be a major piece of snow removal equipment.... It is intended for sidewalks and short driveways. In moderate snow (up to 4 inches) it does great on a single pass, after that you might have to make several passes.... but you aren't lifting anything... you would probably make several passes with your manual snow shovel and have to lift and toss every pound. Mine starts first time, plug it in and pull the trigger.... make sure you an extension cord that is long enough to reach all the places you have to clear. I haven't done any maintenance on it; really none. When this one finally dies I will buy another. Remember if you have long driveways and get significant snowfall this isn't for you.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower

Wonderful Blower

PostedFebruary 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This blower does exactly what it says it does. It will save you time and energy. Very easy to use. Did even break a sweat. lightweight and easy to store. I definitely would recommend this blower.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Colorado
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female

Toro Shovel Snow Blower

PostedJanuary 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Absolutely love the snow blow shovel!! I'm a 5'2 woman 110 lb woman and I can use this very easily. I was worried when I ordered it that it might be heavy and awkward to use but it is so easy to use. It blows the snow a long way, about 20 ft. I just got finished using it for the first time on our deck, what use to take me 20-25 min. to shovel was done in 10 min. The snow was about 5 inches deep and it moved through it easily. I would highly recommend this to everyone. I'm going to buy one for my parents they are in their 70's and I know they will have no problem using it.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Fairfax, VA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wasn't What I Needed

PostedFebruary 17, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We had a 4" powdery snow last night and I pulled a fairly new power shovel out of the box. I couldn't believe how good it looked. Then I remembered why. We have yet to find a snow that it works well in. We live in Northern Virginia and get a wide range of snows. We didn't get good results with the wet, heavy snow (put it away), or the deep snows (put it away) or the really light snows (why bother?). Today's snow was promising, but the power shovel ended up in the box again. It was able to handle the 4" depth and the weight of the snow wasn't a problem. The problem was that it only throws forward. The manual correctly states that to throw the snow to the left or right, aim in that direction. Done. Even with the day being quite still, the snow that became airborne flew right back into my face and coated the area I'd just cleaned. It didn't seem to matter which way I pointed or how fast I walked or anything else. In addition, we had the frustration of dealing with a frozen extension cord. We'll keep hoping that we'll find a snow in this blower's wheelhouse, but it hasn't happened in three years, and we're not holding out much hope.
Cons: Limited Features
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 12 >>