728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Snow Equipment or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower

12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower

The Toro Electric Power shovel snow blower delivers a 12 in. snow clearance, making this an ideal choice for sidewalks, steps, decks and small driveways. This powerful blower moves up to 300 lb. of snow per minute and blows snow up to 20 ft. away, helping you quickly and easily clear an area. The blower's telescoping handle alters the handle height to fit the user, and its adjustable handle controls are easy to use. The blower is rust-resistant for long-lasting use.
Overall rating:
4.077 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(480 reviews) 468
Open Ratings Snapshot
82%of customersrecommend this product372 of 453reviews
Rating Breakdown 480 reviews
4.1 out of 5
5
(238)
4
(143)
3
(38)
2
(20)
1
(41)
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
82%of customersrecommend this product372 of 453reviews
Customer questions and answers:
18 Questions | 109 Answers
Customer reviews for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
Review 1 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Pepperell, MA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female

The shovel is lightweight and adjustable and very easy to use right out of the box. Very good buy.

PostedFebruary 3, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
We have only had the opportunity to use it once this year. The shovel was able to clear the snow (4 inch deep) easily off our new deck (32' x 16') in half the time it would have taken if shoveled manually. Next time we will try the shovel on the driveway. Tip: spray the blades with silicone spray and the snow won't stick and collect on the blades. The shovel is lightweight and adjustable and very easy to use right out of the box. Very good buy.
Pros: Easy to Use, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower

This is the best thing since Sliced Bread

PostedNovember 1, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I'm 51 year old female and my job after the storm is wielding the shovel :(. For years, the snow of the upper deck didn't get removed from the wrap around deck until spring when it finally melted but last year the amount of ice that accummulated in front of the downstair slider door became really treacherous from the slow melting and freezing of snow from above. This year I hounded my husband for a mini snow blower and he found this for me. It slides easily and handles 3-4 inches of snow easily enough. The last snow storm was 15 inches total but I went out on the deck 3 times and It didn't take long at all, and surprisenly enough if throws the snow a good distance. My husband was impressed as well.
+37points
37out of 37found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower

Regret

PostedJanuary 27, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Light frozen snow just gets flung up and falls everywhere including the previously shoveled area and wet heavy snow clogs and seizes the machine. This is not a substitute for a true snow blower or even a shovel.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower

Great for light snowfalls.

PostedJanuary 27, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I use this for light snowfalls that are below the minimum for my professional service or to clear the sidewalk before they can get to me.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Almont, MI
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

12 IN. POWER SHOVEL ELECTRIC SNOW BLOWER

PostedJanuary 23, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Very hard to use ... Trigger is defective, (can't squeeze trigger hard enough to keep it going), Shoots snow almost straight up instead of forward. I have a nice smooth asphalt driveway and can shovel snow much easier than using this worthless thing. I'll probably toss it out.
Cons: Difficult to Use, defective trigger, poor design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Germantown, MD

Shovel and the snow will be on your face and body

PostedJanuary 6, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Today, MD has 3-4 inches of snow. I am glad I bought this snow blower so I don't need to shovel the snow anymore. However, I put this blower on a side and shoveled the snow myself after few attempts. It could not be adjusted where the throw the snow. Indeed, the snow would only throw on your face and your body no matter which direction I push the blower. There's no wind outside but the snow only throw back not front. Will return this to Home Depot and will buy another blower which can be adjust where to throw the snow.
Cons: Too Heavy, could not adjust where to throw the snow
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Merrimac, MA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Glad I bought it

PostedJanuary 24, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
No assembly required, something I loved. Plugged it in and used it today and it made the removal of the snow very easy.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
Cons: could not aim the spray
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Mass.
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

More Power than I expected!

PostedJanuary 18, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
No assembly required. Bought for my mother in law for Christmas. Best $100 ever spent, very easy to use just plug it in and go. Has plenty of power to throw snow sereval feet. Ideal for snow fall a foot and under. Over a foot you simply lift it up and plow down. So much easier than shoveling and mush easier than breaking out the big snow blower.
Pros: Powerful, Light Weight
Cons: need extension cord
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Gaithersburg, MD
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

As Described!

PostedJanuary 20, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The power shovel works as described. We have not had much snow in the DC area this year so have not had to use much. When I did use it, it worked perfectly, through the snow 20-30 feet out of the way.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Minnesota
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Toro Power shovel

PostedJanuary 20, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
For price it appears to be a good piece of equipment.
Packaging for shipment: very poor! It arrived loose in a box with a little piece of bubble wrap on the handle as the only packing material. When I removed it from the box, it seemed to fall apart separating the handle from the motor/shovel. I was not sure if this is the way it was supposed to behave. I found a place where there appeared there might have been a screw. I checked the carton (which was flimsy and not well sealed) and there was a little 1/4inch screw. Not sure how the screw managed to stay in the carton during shipping. Installing the screw solved the problem of the loose handle. There was nothing in the instructions indicating that this should be part of the set-up, nor that the screw even needed to be checked.
Ease of use: It is designed to use with an extension cord (not included). When the weather is below freezing the cord gets very hard making the shovel difficult to use if the cord has been coiled. The shovel part scrapes along the sidewalk. It would be easier to use if there were a wheel mechanism so that the shove could roll along sidewalk instead of scraping.
Product seems substantial, of good quality (now that that little screw is holding everything together!) If the snow is light, the power shovel blows it about 10 feet ahead of the path, which is very helpful for getting the snow off and away from my deck.
I would recommend the product, but Toro definitely needs to improve their packaging!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Harmony, MN
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Dissapointed

PostedJanuary 13, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have used it twice, now I have to jiggle the cord to get it to turn on. If it wasn't for the bad connection I would have loved it. I will be bringing it back and hopefully the next one is better.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Store
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Erie, PA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy

PostedJanuary 13, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Although it is small, it is easy to use. For larger surfaces to cover, I would suggest a bigger, wider model.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Store, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Chicago,IL

20 inches in 24 hours

PostedFebruary 5, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My power shovel saved my life. When the snow fell on Feb 2, 2011 it was a record fall. I was able to remove snow that came to my thigh. Im only 5'5'', and a woman. Also, I was barracaded in my garage with snow drift as high as my shoulders. I was able to cut a path allowing me to get my car out of the gararge. I thank you Toro for inventing this marvelous product. KUDOS. P.S This is my second winter with this product.
+32points
32out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Pittsburgh

Great Little Snow Blower

PostedJanuary 7, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Finally had a chance to try out my Power shovel and it was great! Light weight, efficient, did exactly as described . Only wish I hadn't waited so long to purchase it. Love it
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Great Engine, Light Weight, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from N.H.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Workhorse

PostedJanuary 6, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Good for the intended job.Removed snow and through it far enough away to not have to do it a second time.
Although this is not a big Snow Blower it serves well on my deck and walkway.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower

Very Nice

PostedJanuary 6, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
EVERYTHING NICE EXCEPT EXTENSION CODE NOT INCLUDED
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from New York
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

powerful snow shovel

PostedJanuary 5, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Ready to use right out of the box. Great for cleaning snow off walks.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Clarkston, MI
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Convenient and easy

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I used this power shovel during the last snowfall for the first time recently, and I found it to be easy and convenient to use. I use it for my deck which we use during the winter to access our hot tub. It's light weight design makes it simple to clear off small areas and moves a surprising amount of snow for its compact size. The only drawback is it should be battery operated. I find I get a little tangled in the cord, and if you are going a long distance, you will obviously need more cord.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable
Cons: extension cord
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Catskill Mts., NY
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product!

PostedDecember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Great product! My neighbor had the exact same power shovel, and loved it. Bought it for my parents because it was so easy to use in deep snow.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Colorado
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female

Toro Shovel Snow Blower

PostedJanuary 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Absolutely love the snow blow shovel!! I'm a 5'2 woman 110 lb woman and I can use this very easily. I was worried when I ordered it that it might be heavy and awkward to use but it is so easy to use. It blows the snow a long way, about 20 ft. I just got finished using it for the first time on our deck, what use to take me 20-25 min. to shovel was done in 10 min. The snow was about 5 inches deep and it moved through it easily. I would highly recommend this to everyone. I'm going to buy one for my parents they are in their 70's and I know they will have no problem using it.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 11 >>