728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Snow Equipment or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower

12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower

The Toro Electric Power shovel snow blower delivers a 12 in. snow clearance, making this an ideal choice for sidewalks, steps, decks and small driveways. This powerful blower moves up to 300 lb. of snow per minute and blows snow up to 20 ft. away, helping you quickly and easily clear an area. The blower's telescoping handle alters the handle height to fit the user, and its adjustable handle controls are easy to use. The blower is rust-resistant for long-lasting use.
Overall rating:
4.099 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(544 reviews) 532
Open Ratings Snapshot
83%of customersrecommend this product428 of 515reviews
Rating Breakdown 544 reviews
4.1 out of 5
5
(274)
4
(161)
3
(43)
2
(21)
1
(45)
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
83%of customersrecommend this product428 of 515reviews
Customer questions and answers:
22 Questions | 128 Answers
Customer reviews for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
Review 61 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Kennebunkport Maine
Age Range:55 to 64
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Exceeded Expectations

PostedDecember 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was very impressed with the power shovel. Its performance exceeded expectations. Will now purchase a cordless battery powered snow blower for bigger jobs.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Light Weight, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 62 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower

12 IN. POWER SHOVEL ELECTRIC SNOW BLOWER

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cover was very easy to put on but as soon as we went to pick up the shovel by the handle on the cover the cover tore like paper.
Extremely disappointed.
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 63 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Petosky, MI
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great

PostedDecember 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Works great, just don't blow snow into the wind. Cleared snow right to the wood on our deck
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 64 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Minnesota
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Needs Design Changes

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I am a 5-ft, 72-yr-old female. I was delighted to have the shovel delivered directly to home; thought it was store-pick up. My intended use is for a long driveway, where snow can be moved toward one side only, which means moving the same snow over and over to the edge when shoveling by hand. Have used the power shovel in light snow twice. Worked well, except power controls are placed for a right-handed person; I am left-handed, so the controls are difficult to manage, especially with gloves on. Managing 80 feet of cold power cord is also difficult, but that is not a function of the shovel. Owner's manual states shovel works best downwind. That is definitely true, as I experienced a lot of blow-back, because shovel chute is unidirectional, and I can only move snow one direction, which, in one instance, was into the wind. The shovel is light and relatively easy to handle, except for the controls and chute. Hopefully, I will become more adept with more use. I have not had the opportunity to try the shovel in deeper, heavier snow. For the price ($99), the product is a good buy...if you're taller, right-handed, and free to move snow in any direction. I would recommend this product with above caveats.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
Cons: Limited Features, controls placed for right-handed user, unidirectional chute
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 65 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Chicago, IL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Could be better!

PostedJanuary 13, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It's not all that bad but it needs a few changes. The handle is adjustable according to height but when trying to tighten it keeps slipping out of place. Especially when you are running into some rugged snow patches and you have to bounce it around a little. Also, the snow only blows in the same direction your using it. When in a more enclosed area such as the backyard, it just blows the snow right in front of me giving me even more to clear as I go along. There's no wheels on it so I fear that dragging it on the ground could be wearing away the bottom portion. It's only made of plastic so in due time it's got to scrape the unit to the point where it will even crack. It does blow the snow well though and it is light. Like others have said, using an electric blower has it's advantages but the only disadvantage is how the cord can get tangled or even caught on objects while using. I have only used it once on a recent, large, snowfall in Chicago so I'll just have to see how it feels the second time around.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 66 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Kansas City
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Buy - for Midwest Snow Levels and Types.

PostedJanuary 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I Live in Kansas City. I have used this product for ten years. Lately I have been helping the neighbors with their drives and sidewalks. It handles the light and even heavy wet snows. I have never stalled out the motor and it really can throw snow twenty feet. My neighbors wanted to buy one, so I was checking on the price for them. I had paid 70 dollars ten years ago, it has been worth every penny. I recommend a 12 gauge extension chord.
I would buy this Toro-12-in-Electric-Power-Shovel-Snow-Blower again.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
Cons: none
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 67 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from pawtucket Rhode Island
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

GREAT FOR SENIORS

PostedApril 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We bought our second one last year, does a whole driveway in under an hour. Due to age cannot life a shovel but this is easy. Love it.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 68 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from rome ny

Sooooo Easy

PostedDecember 27, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Bought this for my friend who has a bad back to use instead of trying to shovel. He would be laid up afterwards for the entire afternoon when he shoveled just his walkways. He went nuts and stayed out doing the neighbors sidewalks just to keep going and has not stopped talking about it. Highly recommended for just this reason as there is no lifting at all.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 69 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Lake Arrowhead, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Cleared the deck in no time

PostedApril 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Needs an adapter to plug in cord. Snow was wet and it still sent snow flying. Works best in six inches of snow. Everyone likes to use it so saves me. It is heavier than a shovel but works in a quarter of the time. Love it.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 70 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Stratford, ct.
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Toro power shovel

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I haven't used it yet.
I had an older model years ago and I Loved it.
I Hope this one is as good as the older model.
Pros: Easy to Use, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 71 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Bar Harbor, ME, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Disappointed: too heavy, maybe underpowered

PostedJune 15, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I thought this would be a good idea, especially based on the brand and the reviews. I only have a deck, short walkway, and steps to clear. However, it's really heavy and awkward to handle. Hard to keep it from sinking into the snow while you are trying to make a pass; ends up "tunneling". The idea was to use this so I wouldn't be breaking my back shoveling! Ha! I will try it next season with some sort of brace (I see people have these using a trimmer, so maybe it will help).
The design: the snow exit puts the snow straight ahead of you. It would be better if it were angled to one side (OR, be able to point the output where you want). It also doesn't seem to "spin" very fast at all.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Too Heavy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 72 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower

Anticipation

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
My neighbor has one of these and it seems to work quite well. Although I have a self-propelled snow thrower for the driveway, this power shovel should work well around the porch and tight areas.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 73 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Branson Missouri
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

I hope it will snow at least once

PostedOctober 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Have not had a chance to use it yet but just getting ready.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Light Weight, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 74 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from NJ

Helpful

PostedDecember 19, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Bought it day before the big northeast snow storm of Dec. 19 2009. Just had eye surgery a little over a month ago and did not want to stress. When the snow got to about 4 inches,took it out and used it on my deck, sidewalk and driveway(10x50) and did a great job even though I had to go through the same path 2 or 3 times(have to lay down salt anyway).Usually when shoveling I had to rest every 5 minutes and takes me about 1 to 1-1/2 hour to do the job but, using this I did not have to, except for the occasional switching of hands and took me about 1/2 hour. It's 8pm and still snowing and it looks like it's at least 8 inches outside. Don't know how it will do tomorrow. But, I still recommend it specially if you have a deck.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 75 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower

EXCELLENT!

PostedJanuary 3, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This shovel is an excellent product if you are buying it for the correct purpose. We live on a large corner lot (75' x 150') with a loooong sidewalk but a small driveway. This shovel was perfect for the recent snowstorm. With the snow being almost 2 feet high, I did have to use it twice - once by lifting for the top layer, and then again for the underneath but it made a perfect, straight path. The only disadvantage is that it only blows the snow straight ahead (but you know this before you buy it) so it is difficult on a windy day. Like another reveiwer, I also had to wrap the power crod around and knot it to prevent it from coming unplugged during use. However, I appreciate not having to mess with gasoline. Would absolutely recommend!
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 76 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower

Toro snow shovel

PostedOctober 29, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Bought it last spring, never used it until today. Worked for about 15 minutes, after which it died. I use it for patio snow removal, meaning light duty. I have a 20 foot outdoor extension cable, the outlet is rated at 30 A. Tried other outlets and extensions, same result. Snow depth was less than 2 inches, lightweight. I passed twice over each area, top side first. Not sure what happened, but it quit in the middle of the job. Maybe a lemon, who knows...quite dissapointing.
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 77 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Schenectady, NY, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Light weight, durable and perfect for cleaning small areas

PostedJanuary 1, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I've used this product every winter for the last 4 years. While I have a gas powered two stage blower for my long driveway and walks. I use this electric powered "power shovel" primarily for steps and to clean off several flat roof deck areas, one with rubber membrane decking. Taking your time, you can clear a foot or more of snow, though obviously it is faster with a few inches. The auger does not scrape the surface so it can be used on roofing like this and is actually safer than using a shovel (for the membrane). It would nice if had control of discharge direction, but I found it is pretty easy to take diagonal slices to throw the snow to the side. It would also be nice if the switch could be locked on. My model also includes a brush attachment to use as a power broom, but I have never used it that way.
Pros: Durable, Light Weight, Easy to Store
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 78 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Camillus, ny
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love it for the deck!

PostedFebruary 7, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Last winter we could not keep up with snow on deck...so we bought this. Have only used once (no snow this year but who is complaining?) but very happy when we used it. Easy to use if FRESH snow. Let it settle and it takes a little more oomph to get through crusty snow. One part on handle seemed to slip a bit and I had to readjust while moving - but snow was a little thick and heavy. Overall, if you are moving snow off a deck or small walkway, works very well. Can't imagine on a whole driveway.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 79 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Cincinnati, OH, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Have loved ours for over 20 years!

PostedJanuary 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We purchased this Toro model over 20 years ago and it is still going strong! My husband refuses to upgrade to a larger snowblower because it is small enough to maneuver anywhere he needs. It has been dependable, with no repairs needed over the years. It takes up little space in our garage. Our neighbors have been jealous, so I am very happy to see it is still on the market!
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Great Engine, Easy to Store
Cons: n/a
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 80 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Salem NH
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Much more effective than you might think

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I used this for the first time last week - 8+ inches of moderately sticky snow. Once I got the hang of it, it felt like using a vacuum cleaner, although the snow offers more resistance than trying to vacuum a carpet, but the motion and the approach is about the same. Don't try to pick it up each time - no need to. I got this because my front walk has a few steps along the way so I can't use my snowblower. The power is surprising. I sprayed my nonstick (DuPont) shovel teflon spray inside the housing before starting. I can't vouch for the longer-term durability or reliability, but so far, so good.
Pros: Light Weight
Cons: too soon to tell
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
<< 1 2 3 4 5 6  ... 12 >>