728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Snow Equipment or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower

12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower

The Toro Electric Power shovel snow blower delivers a 12 in. snow clearance, making this an ideal choice for sidewalks, steps, decks and small driveways. This powerful blower moves up to 300 lb. of snow per minute and blows snow up to 20 ft. away, helping you quickly and easily clear an area. The blower's telescoping handle alters the handle height to fit the user, and its adjustable handle controls are easy to use. The blower is rust-resistant for long-lasting use.
Overall rating:
4.089 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(518 reviews) 506
Open Ratings Snapshot
83%of customersrecommend this product405 of 490reviews
Rating Breakdown 518 reviews
4.1 out of 5
5
(259)
4
(155)
3
(39)
2
(21)
1
(44)
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
83%of customersrecommend this product405 of 490reviews
Customer questions and answers:
22 Questions | 127 Answers
Customer reviews for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
Review 61 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Kansas City
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Buy - for Midwest Snow Levels and Types.

PostedJanuary 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I Live in Kansas City. I have used this product for ten years. Lately I have been helping the neighbors with their drives and sidewalks. It handles the light and even heavy wet snows. I have never stalled out the motor and it really can throw snow twenty feet. My neighbors wanted to buy one, so I was checking on the price for them. I had paid 70 dollars ten years ago, it has been worth every penny. I recommend a 12 gauge extension chord.
I would buy this Toro-12-in-Electric-Power-Shovel-Snow-Blower again.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
Cons: none
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 62 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Wayne, NJ, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worried about longevity

PostedNovember 27, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Only used it once. It was great. I am concerned as the impeller is plastic and do not know how long it will last. Otherwise it is great.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 63 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Rochester, NY
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wonderful Power Shovel

PostedJanuary 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We bought the power shovel because we suddenly got a lot of snow and had only a couple hand shovels. The Power Shovel worked wonderfully - the plows buried our driveway curtain about three times, but we were able to dig out easily and clear more of the driveway than we ever have.
It is easy to move; you can pick it up and carry it without too much effort, and it does a wonderful job of clearing the snow. Just watch out for the cord and the direction of the wind.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Great Engine, Light Weight, Easy to Store
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 64 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower

Affordable and very effective.

PostedDecember 28, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
We have only used it once so far but it did an awesome job clearing our steep driveway of about a foot of snow. It's a little heavy but nothing compared to having to lift all that snow like before and most of the time we could just slide it along. My partner described it like mowing the lawn. The cord can get in the way sometimes and the wind can toss some of the snow back at you but nothing unmanageable.
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 65 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower

PostedDecember 27, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought the product a couple of weeks ago, not knowing we were going to have a major storm this weekend. This product is a back and joint saver! We go 12 inches on snow. I plug it in and off I went. I was done my sidewalk and path to the house before my neighbor was done his sidewalk. He had to stop and watch me as I kept going.
I also moved the snow from the front and back of my van and the car so I could get out to the street.
Pros:
- easy to handle. Height for second handle is adjustable.
- does a great job removing snow - you may have to take two passes for 12 inches, but then this is a shovel type blower, not a $700 snow blower. If you remove the top half of the snow, then go back and do the bottom, it works great. For quite a bit of the snow i removed, I only had to do one pass and it was over 8 inches.
- a back saver. I used to be so sore from shoveling, today, when I was done, I went inside, took a shower, got dressed and went to work. You can see from above that I had A LOT of shoveling to do. I plan on going back and finishing it up after work today.
Cons:
- I had to tie my extension to the blower to stop it from falling out and turning off but it could have been due to the extension cord. I just tied part of the extension to the handle, and forgot about it. It did not fall out and stayed out of my way.
- It would be nice to be able have the option to blow the snow out the side instead of straight ahead so you're not shoveling the snow you just blew. It's still okay, because since you are going forward, you're going to remove that snow anyway.
Overall, as I said, best $99 investment I've ever made!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 66 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Chicago, IL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Could be better!

PostedJanuary 13, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It's not all that bad but it needs a few changes. The handle is adjustable according to height but when trying to tighten it keeps slipping out of place. Especially when you are running into some rugged snow patches and you have to bounce it around a little. Also, the snow only blows in the same direction your using it. When in a more enclosed area such as the backyard, it just blows the snow right in front of me giving me even more to clear as I go along. There's no wheels on it so I fear that dragging it on the ground could be wearing away the bottom portion. It's only made of plastic so in due time it's got to scrape the unit to the point where it will even crack. It does blow the snow well though and it is light. Like others have said, using an electric blower has it's advantages but the only disadvantage is how the cord can get tangled or even caught on objects while using. I have only used it once on a recent, large, snowfall in Chicago so I'll just have to see how it feels the second time around.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 67 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Lake Arrowhead, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Cleared the deck in no time

PostedApril 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Needs an adapter to plug in cord. Snow was wet and it still sent snow flying. Works best in six inches of snow. Everyone likes to use it so saves me. It is heavier than a shovel but works in a quarter of the time. Love it.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 68 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from rome ny

Sooooo Easy

PostedDecember 27, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Bought this for my friend who has a bad back to use instead of trying to shovel. He would be laid up afterwards for the entire afternoon when he shoveled just his walkways. He went nuts and stayed out doing the neighbors sidewalks just to keep going and has not stopped talking about it. Highly recommended for just this reason as there is no lifting at all.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 69 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Washington, DC, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Outstanding Product

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I live in the greater Washington DC area. I bought this this year after a big snowstorm and my back was hurting from shoveling. I live in a townhouse with no driveway or garage. I usually shovel my front walk and sidewalk, around our cars in the parking spaces, and I make a nice path out the backdoor to walk the dogs. Usually takes me about an hour or so. Two more sizable snow falls hit after I purchased this and I used it to clear all of the above, plus two of the neighbor’s walks and parking spaces. I was finished in about 15 minutes. I LOVE this thing. It is well made and really cranks the snow out. It only throws the snow in front, but it goes far enough that it does not affect your work. Highly recommend this product.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Light Weight
Cons: cannot change the direction the snow is thrown.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 70 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Salem NH
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Much more effective than you might think

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I used this for the first time last week - 8+ inches of moderately sticky snow. Once I got the hang of it, it felt like using a vacuum cleaner, although the snow offers more resistance than trying to vacuum a carpet, but the motion and the approach is about the same. Don't try to pick it up each time - no need to. I got this because my front walk has a few steps along the way so I can't use my snowblower. The power is surprising. I sprayed my nonstick (DuPont) shovel teflon spray inside the housing before starting. I can't vouch for the longer-term durability or reliability, but so far, so good.
Pros: Light Weight
Cons: too soon to tell
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 71 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Franklin Square, NY, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

LOVE IT!!!

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Just recently found one in my mothers garage while cleaning it out after she moved out of the house. The thing is about 30 years old, I remember using it as a kid. I brought it home to use on my deck when it snowed and it still worked like a charm. Excellent to shovel out those tight spots that the snowblower can't get and the front of your driveway and spot after the plow has pushed all the snow to your side of the street and packed it in, (Just take it off in layers). So impressed on how well it still worked I went out and bought one for my elderly in-laws, they love it.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 72 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Philadelphia, PA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

not as effective as I thought it would be.

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Not as impressed as other users of this product,I did not find its snow removing abilities as effective as other people had found.
The electrical cable is not fun to have trailing around in the snow and you have to make sure your not going to eat it up on one of your passes through the snow.
Probably ok to use on a deck but on a pathway I was not impressed and by the time I had got it out of the basement wired it up to use i could have lifted a fair bit of snow with a shovel as it is only good for light snow.
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 73 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from nj
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female

Not worth it

PostedMarch 2, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I thought I thoroughly did my research before buying this product but when I used it I was extremely disappointed. My thumbs were sore for holding the power button while pushing the snow shovel. I wished they made it where you just have to push a button and it would automatically turn on.. The power depends on your fingers, if you don't have a firm grip, the shovel would turn off. I purchased it in 2011 but that year there wasn't much snow. I only got to use last year 2013 and after a couple of use, it died and never turned on again. This is a waste of money.
Cons: Not Durable, Difficult to Use
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 74 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Schenectady, NY, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Light weight, durable and perfect for cleaning small areas

PostedJanuary 1, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I've used this product every winter for the last 4 years. While I have a gas powered two stage blower for my long driveway and walks. I use this electric powered "power shovel" primarily for steps and to clean off several flat roof deck areas, one with rubber membrane decking. Taking your time, you can clear a foot or more of snow, though obviously it is faster with a few inches. The auger does not scrape the surface so it can be used on roofing like this and is actually safer than using a shovel (for the membrane). It would nice if had control of discharge direction, but I found it is pretty easy to take diagonal slices to throw the snow to the side. It would also be nice if the switch could be locked on. My model also includes a brush attachment to use as a power broom, but I have never used it that way.
Pros: Durable, Light Weight, Easy to Store
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 75 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from NJ

Helpful

PostedDecember 19, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Bought it day before the big northeast snow storm of Dec. 19 2009. Just had eye surgery a little over a month ago and did not want to stress. When the snow got to about 4 inches,took it out and used it on my deck, sidewalk and driveway(10x50) and did a great job even though I had to go through the same path 2 or 3 times(have to lay down salt anyway).Usually when shoveling I had to rest every 5 minutes and takes me about 1 to 1-1/2 hour to do the job but, using this I did not have to, except for the occasional switching of hands and took me about 1/2 hour. It's 8pm and still snowing and it looks like it's at least 8 inches outside. Don't know how it will do tomorrow. But, I still recommend it specially if you have a deck.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 76 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower

EXCELLENT!

PostedJanuary 3, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This shovel is an excellent product if you are buying it for the correct purpose. We live on a large corner lot (75' x 150') with a loooong sidewalk but a small driveway. This shovel was perfect for the recent snowstorm. With the snow being almost 2 feet high, I did have to use it twice - once by lifting for the top layer, and then again for the underneath but it made a perfect, straight path. The only disadvantage is that it only blows the snow straight ahead (but you know this before you buy it) so it is difficult on a windy day. Like another reveiwer, I also had to wrap the power crod around and knot it to prevent it from coming unplugged during use. However, I appreciate not having to mess with gasoline. Would absolutely recommend!
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 77 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Wilmington, DE, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I love my electric snow shovel!

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this the end of December 2013 for the 2014 winter season which was the worst we have had probably on record. This thing is a god send. I recommend it to EVERYONE!. I used it alot this winter and it held up well. Not sure how many years it will last, but if it died after the 2 year warranty I'd surely buy another one. For 100.00 you cannot beat it!
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 78 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Harrisburg, PA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Machine

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I used my Home Depot phone app to order and pay for the unit while I was at work, My wife had no problems picking it up. It was waiting at the service desk when she got there. The whole transaction was smooth. The machine is better then expected. It worked right out of the box. It's great for small areas and sidewalks. I have a 3000 square foot driveway. Some storms are too small to get out my big blower and too big to try to shovel with my arthritis. It's just the right size to clean my steps and deck. It's a little heavy on the steps. It's moving parts are plastic so we bring it in the house and let it drain in a plastic pan, till it dries. That keeps the snow from melting and refreezing in the machine thus breaking the plastic parts. this may be why some of the reviews are claiming it doesn't work after the first use.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 79 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Weymouth, MA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good value for small jobs

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased this power shovel to clear my deck. I found that I could clear my driveway, walkway and another area in about 35 minutes with my 8hp snowblower, but it took me about 50 minutes to shovel my deck and stairs. With this little power shovel, I get the job done in less than 10 minutes with only a fraction of the effort of shoveling. I gave only four stars because you can't direct the snow that is being thrown. So if the wind is blowing toward you, you get the blowback. But it's easy to avoid this by having the wind behind you.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 80 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower

Toro snow shovel

PostedOctober 29, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Bought it last spring, never used it until today. Worked for about 15 minutes, after which it died. I use it for patio snow removal, meaning light duty. I have a 20 foot outdoor extension cable, the outlet is rated at 30 A. Tried other outlets and extensions, same result. Snow depth was less than 2 inches, lightweight. I passed twice over each area, top side first. Not sure what happened, but it quit in the middle of the job. Maybe a lemon, who knows...quite dissapointing.
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
<< 1 2 3 4 5 6  ... 12 >>