728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Snow Equipment or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower

12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower

The Toro Electric Power shovel snow blower delivers a 12 in. snow clearance, making this an ideal choice for sidewalks, steps, decks and small driveways. This powerful blower moves up to 300 lb. of snow per minute and blows snow up to 20 ft. away, helping you quickly and easily clear an area. The blower's telescoping handle alters the handle height to fit the user, and its adjustable handle controls are easy to use. The blower is rust-resistant for long-lasting use.
Overall rating:
4.077 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(480 reviews) 468
Open Ratings Snapshot
82%of customersrecommend this product372 of 453reviews
Rating Breakdown 480 reviews
4.1 out of 5
5
(238)
4
(143)
3
(38)
2
(20)
1
(41)
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
82%of customersrecommend this product372 of 453reviews
Customer questions and answers:
18 Questions | 109 Answers
Customer reviews for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
Review 61 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Wilmington, DE, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I love my electric snow shovel!

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this the end of December 2013 for the 2014 winter season which was the worst we have had probably on record. This thing is a god send. I recommend it to EVERYONE!. I used it alot this winter and it held up well. Not sure how many years it will last, but if it died after the 2 year warranty I'd surely buy another one. For 100.00 you cannot beat it!
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 62 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Parker, CO, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great Product

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The electric snow shovel is awesome especially for small spaces like stairs and sidewalks that a front discharge works well with. I highly recommend it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 63 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Harrisburg, PA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Machine

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I used my Home Depot phone app to order and pay for the unit while I was at work, My wife had no problems picking it up. It was waiting at the service desk when she got there. The whole transaction was smooth. The machine is better then expected. It worked right out of the box. It's great for small areas and sidewalks. I have a 3000 square foot driveway. Some storms are too small to get out my big blower and too big to try to shovel with my arthritis. It's just the right size to clean my steps and deck. It's a little heavy on the steps. It's moving parts are plastic so we bring it in the house and let it drain in a plastic pan, till it dries. That keeps the snow from melting and refreezing in the machine thus breaking the plastic parts. this may be why some of the reviews are claiming it doesn't work after the first use.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 64 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Weymouth, MA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good value for small jobs

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased this power shovel to clear my deck. I found that I could clear my driveway, walkway and another area in about 35 minutes with my 8hp snowblower, but it took me about 50 minutes to shovel my deck and stairs. With this little power shovel, I get the job done in less than 10 minutes with only a fraction of the effort of shoveling. I gave only four stars because you can't direct the snow that is being thrown. So if the wind is blowing toward you, you get the blowback. But it's easy to avoid this by having the wind behind you.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 65 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Schenectady, NY, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Light weight, durable and perfect for cleaning small areas

PostedJanuary 1, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I've used this product every winter for the last 4 years. While I have a gas powered two stage blower for my long driveway and walks. I use this electric powered "power shovel" primarily for steps and to clean off several flat roof deck areas, one with rubber membrane decking. Taking your time, you can clear a foot or more of snow, though obviously it is faster with a few inches. The auger does not scrape the surface so it can be used on roofing like this and is actually safer than using a shovel (for the membrane). It would nice if had control of discharge direction, but I found it is pretty easy to take diagonal slices to throw the snow to the side. It would also be nice if the switch could be locked on. My model also includes a brush attachment to use as a power broom, but I have never used it that way.
Pros: Durable, Light Weight, Easy to Store
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 66 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from New Jersey, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

very good

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is my 2nd Toro. My first one lasted for over 15 years. If it weren't for Sandy, I think it would of still worked. This new one is great. Especially like that cord can pushed in & held in place & no more plastic key to make it run. It has decent snow throwing capacity & it is way lighter. Got to use for first time in last storm. Only negative it did not do well on the really packed snow, but I guess that's expected. Otherwise kudo's to Toro. I'm glad I decided to buy a Toro again.
Pros: Powerful, Great Engine, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Cons: not that great on packed snow
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 67 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from WI
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

small snow thrower that handled deep wet snow on short sidewalk fine.

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Light weight, strong enough that handle wet snow. I have only used it a couple times so I can not attest to durability.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 68 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from NJ

Helpful

PostedDecember 19, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Bought it day before the big northeast snow storm of Dec. 19 2009. Just had eye surgery a little over a month ago and did not want to stress. When the snow got to about 4 inches,took it out and used it on my deck, sidewalk and driveway(10x50) and did a great job even though I had to go through the same path 2 or 3 times(have to lay down salt anyway).Usually when shoveling I had to rest every 5 minutes and takes me about 1 to 1-1/2 hour to do the job but, using this I did not have to, except for the occasional switching of hands and took me about 1/2 hour. It's 8pm and still snowing and it looks like it's at least 8 inches outside. Don't know how it will do tomorrow. But, I still recommend it specially if you have a deck.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 69 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Whitehall, PA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

love the value and quality

PostedMarch 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I HAD 1 BEFORE THAT WAS A WORK-HORSE. IT SUSTAINED A TON OF ABUSE (HEAVY &/OR DEEP SNOW; AND, BROKEN WALKWAY WITH LOOSE STONES). I HATED TO RETIRE IT.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 70 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Burnsville, MN
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Product is only fair in it's performance.

PostedMarch 17, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product is truly functional only if the snow is fluffy in nature. Any heaviness to snow makes thrower less than stellar.
Not all that easy to handle either. Weight of head makes a bit to lug around. Smaller users will have a bit of a struggle.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 71 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Virginia, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Effective for deck clearing

PostedMarch 12, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Easily clears deck of snow. Throws snow only toward front and up at high angle. Works best if handled much like a push shovel. Deep snow clears with multiple passes removing a layer at a time. A little awkward to stand up (but then a shovel does not stand up on its own), but hangs on wall easily.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 72 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower

EXCELLENT!

PostedJanuary 3, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This shovel is an excellent product if you are buying it for the correct purpose. We live on a large corner lot (75' x 150') with a loooong sidewalk but a small driveway. This shovel was perfect for the recent snowstorm. With the snow being almost 2 feet high, I did have to use it twice - once by lifting for the top layer, and then again for the underneath but it made a perfect, straight path. The only disadvantage is that it only blows the snow straight ahead (but you know this before you buy it) so it is difficult on a windy day. Like another reveiwer, I also had to wrap the power crod around and knot it to prevent it from coming unplugged during use. However, I appreciate not having to mess with gasoline. Would absolutely recommend!
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 73 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower

Good for small jobs

PostedJanuary 22, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I've been using a Toro Power Shovel for the past four years and chunking my way through snow much deeper than it was designed to handle. This year I bought Toro's 18 in. Power Curve Snow Blower. With the Power Shovel the fact that the snow is only blown straight ahead is a disadvantage. And you can't easily push it along unpaved areas because it has no wheels. Take a broom and tie three full bags of sugar to the business end. Then walk around for an hour holding the other end of the handle and keeping the sugar bags up off the ground in front of you. By golly, 13 lbs. gets heavy. The shovel was designed to slide on pavement/ concrete/decking with modest amounts of snow. When you get older holding it up to chew down through a foot or two of snow is tough. If you're young? Piece of cake.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 74 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Washington, DC, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great Value for the Money

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The guy the lives next door to me brought this item about two years ago and I've been thinking about getting one. I finally purchased it last month and I've only used it for an inch or two of snow. But judging by the way his operates I believe I will be pleased with this gadget.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 75 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

toro snow shovel

PostedMarch 19, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Product well made but too heavy and bulky for me to use. I was looking for just this kind of product but after one use will have to return.
Pros: Sturdy
Cons: Too Heavy, Difficult to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 76 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Buffalo, NY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Its an animal in the snow!!

PostedJanuary 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Pleasantly surprised!! Live in Buffalo and frequently have snow around the front door, garage door and patio. Beats the heck out of dragging out the monster Ariens blower before going to work or just to clear a little snow when coming home. Works great insight places, on steps and on deck.
Good for light or heavy snow. Not going to chew up and throw ice or frozen snow. And not going to replace the Ariens... just a lot more convenient and handy for smaller jobs.
Definitely recommend as a good value for about $100.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 77 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower

Product is not as useful as I expected

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Product is not as useful as I expected. It works ok on a flat surface with no wind. Could be a little more powerful. Hard to maneuver.
Pros: Light Weight
Cons: Difficult to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 78 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower

Toro snow shovel

PostedOctober 29, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Bought it last spring, never used it until today. Worked for about 15 minutes, after which it died. I use it for patio snow removal, meaning light duty. I have a 20 foot outdoor extension cable, the outlet is rated at 30 A. Tried other outlets and extensions, same result. Snow depth was less than 2 inches, lightweight. I passed twice over each area, top side first. Not sure what happened, but it quit in the middle of the job. Maybe a lemon, who knows...quite dissapointing.
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 79 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower

Performed better than advertised

PostedMarch 19, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I ordered the Toro after the 19" snow, so it arrived after the remaining snow was crusty from melt & refreeze. The power shovel did more than advertised. It is recommended for 3 to 4" of snow. However, it carved down 3 ft drifts very well ..... a few inches per pass.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 80 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Cincinnati, OH, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Have loved ours for over 20 years!

PostedJanuary 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We purchased this Toro model over 20 years ago and it is still going strong! My husband refuses to upgrade to a larger snowblower because it is small enough to maneuver anywhere he needs. It has been dependable, with no repairs needed over the years. It takes up little space in our garage. Our neighbors have been jealous, so I am very happy to see it is still on the market!
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Great Engine, Easy to Store
Cons: n/a
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
<< 1 2 3 4 5 6  ... 11 >>