728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower

12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower

The Toro Electric Power shovel snow blower delivers a 12 in. snow clearance, making this an ideal choice for sidewalks, steps, decks and small driveways. This powerful blower moves up to 300 lb. of snow per minute and blows snow up to 20 ft. away, helping you quickly and easily clear an area. The blower's telescoping handle alters the handle height to fit the user, and its adjustable handle controls are easy to use. The blower is rust-resistant for long-lasting use.
Overall rating:
4.099 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(543 reviews) 531
Open Ratings Snapshot
83%of customersrecommend this product427 of 514reviews
Rating Breakdown 543 reviews
4.1 out of 5
5
(274)
4
(160)
3
(43)
2
(21)
1
(45)
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
83%of customersrecommend this product427 of 514reviews
Customer questions and answers:
22 Questions | 128 Answers
Customer reviews for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
Review 1 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Flagstaff, Arizona

Throwing snow at an angle

PostedOctober 14, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have a short, steep driveway and it is difficult to push the shovel at an angle to avoid throwing the snow into the street. (The city prohibits it.)
It would be a more covenient machine if Toro ahd provided the shovel with a retaining ring where the head attaches to the handle so that the shovel head could be angled up to 45 degress left or right. It would be much easier to handle and cut the snow removal time considerably.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Flagstaff, Arizona

PostedNovember 30, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I bought this power shovel to remove the snow off of my deck. This thing is a blast. It is so much fun that my son took it over. It throws the snow off my deck and into the neighbor's yard. It does not seem to gouge my wood deck like my regular snow shovel does.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from NJ

Helpful

PostedDecember 19, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Bought it day before the big northeast snow storm of Dec. 19 2009. Just had eye surgery a little over a month ago and did not want to stress. When the snow got to about 4 inches,took it out and used it on my deck, sidewalk and driveway(10x50) and did a great job even though I had to go through the same path 2 or 3 times(have to lay down salt anyway).Usually when shoveling I had to rest every 5 minutes and takes me about 1 to 1-1/2 hour to do the job but, using this I did not have to, except for the occasional switching of hands and took me about 1/2 hour. It's 8pm and still snowing and it looks like it's at least 8 inches outside. Don't know how it will do tomorrow. But, I still recommend it specially if you have a deck.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Dallas Center, IA

Only worked for 2 days

PostedDecember 10, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We were very excited to use this shovel and it seemed to work great....for 2 days. The second day we used it, the blade broke in half. The snow was light and fluffy, no ice. Now we get to see how easy it will be to return it. Wish us luck!
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Conn

Does the job

PostedDecember 30, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Wife used to clear porch walks and garage aprons. Did good job and easier than shovel. Ice was only problem but would be problem with shovel. Watch which way the wind is blowing. Well worth the money
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Rural Oregon >4000 ft

Power Shovel Blows!

PostedDecember 12, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Yep - it really does what it is supposed to do. Blows the snow into the air and unto the neighbors yard. I like this so far. Got it to use on my deck and around hot tub. Seems to work for that quite well. It is a little bigger and heavier than I expected, but unlike another reviewer I think a moderately active 60 year old Grandma (like me) can use it with no problem. I had so much fun with it I even tried it on my driveway - worked pretty good for that too even though I had some hard packed ice and snow I did not try - this thing is not made for that. Worked best on about 3 to 4 inches of snow. Even the snow rain mix we had. Do not know how well it will hold up, but have had great luck with other Toro products (especially a small electric weed trimmer I have had and used for around 15 to 20 years!) Hope this holds up as well!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from MA

Present for Dad

PostedAugust 24, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My parents have a home in NH with a very large wrap around deck.
This will enable my dad to easily clean off the deck during snow storms instead of with a shovel.
He is very excited to have it.
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Chicago,IL

20 inches in 24 hours

PostedFebruary 5, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My power shovel saved my life. When the snow fell on Feb 2, 2011 it was a record fall. I was able to remove snow that came to my thigh. Im only 5'5'', and a woman. Also, I was barracaded in my garage with snow drift as high as my shoulders. I was able to cut a path allowing me to get my car out of the gararge. I thank you Toro for inventing this marvelous product. KUDOS. P.S This is my second winter with this product.
+32points
32out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Somerset, NJ, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Replacement for an Old One

PostedOctober 12, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Gave my old one to my daughter. It was used a lot particularly on snow packed by the plows onto our driveway. It was a busy street that got plowed regularly packing the snow into a solid mass. Our old Toro worked without a sweat. Looking forward to this new one this winter.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower

Lightweight, Easy to use

PostedOctober 25, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We were looking for a small, lightweight blower to use to clear snow from our decks. An ideal solution for that problem!
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Noblesville, Indiana

Does as promoted

PostedJanuary 6, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I had checked around for the best deal and read the reviews. I have a small deck and small drive so I needed a small unit for little cost. With money tight I figured this is the unit I needed. Brought it home and took it out of the box and within a few minutes I was out moving snow. It threw the snow well away from the path, and after watching the way the wind was blowing keeping the path clear of blown snow was easy. It did a great job and I am looking forward to the snow that is predicted for tonight and on Thursday. No more shoveling with my bad back and breathing problems. For the price and two year warranty so far you can't beat this product.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower

Toro snow shovel

PostedOctober 29, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Bought it last spring, never used it until today. Worked for about 15 minutes, after which it died. I use it for patio snow removal, meaning light duty. I have a 20 foot outdoor extension cable, the outlet is rated at 30 A. Tried other outlets and extensions, same result. Snow depth was less than 2 inches, lightweight. I passed twice over each area, top side first. Not sure what happened, but it quit in the middle of the job. Maybe a lemon, who knows...quite dissapointing.
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower

This is the best thing since Sliced Bread

PostedNovember 1, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I'm 51 year old female and my job after the storm is wielding the shovel :(. For years, the snow of the upper deck didn't get removed from the wrap around deck until spring when it finally melted but last year the amount of ice that accummulated in front of the downstair slider door became really treacherous from the slow melting and freezing of snow from above. This year I hounded my husband for a mini snow blower and he found this for me. It slides easily and handles 3-4 inches of snow easily enough. The last snow storm was 15 inches total but I went out on the deck 3 times and It didn't take long at all, and surprisenly enough if throws the snow a good distance. My husband was impressed as well.
+37points
37out of 37found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Chantilly, VA

12 inch Electric Power Shovel Snow Thrower

PostedOctober 16, 2010
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
First we have had no snow yet, however I have noticed that it is very difficult to hold the trigger on.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

no snow

PostedJanuary 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I will be happy to rate this power shovel, but to my surprise and pleasure, I have not had the opportunity to test it as we have no show (1/3/12). I hope the weather trend continues and my first try out will be in 2013. I do like the fact that it is light and appears to be manageable.
-5points
0out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from SE Wisconsin

Maybe good but...

PostedJanuary 24, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
This product started out good. But after 20 minutes use the power stopped. I noticed the handle where the cord goes was shakey, so probably something loose. Anyway, i took it to local HD and they promptly replaced it. I upgraded to the next model 18" with adjustable chute.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from the burbs
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

No more sore back...

PostedJanuary 24, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
dont have to lift the snow anymore, this really throws it far. The only thing, is that you have to keep your finger on the lever to keep it going, after a while, your hand does get a little tired. Just aim it and a little push & there goes the snow
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Boulder, CO, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

excellent solution for snow shoveling

PostedNovember 15, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
living in Colorado I had already 2 storms of 10" snow each. it is making shoveling snow much easier BUT slower. so if you are limited in time this will not work.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Reston, VA

Not good for heavy snow

PostedDecember 13, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
bought this a few years back went to use it first time during the heavy snow in Feb of 2010 it did not handle well nor did it help with the snow shoveling, back to the old shovel.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower

EXCELLENT!

PostedJanuary 3, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This shovel is an excellent product if you are buying it for the correct purpose. We live on a large corner lot (75' x 150') with a loooong sidewalk but a small driveway. This shovel was perfect for the recent snowstorm. With the snow being almost 2 feet high, I did have to use it twice - once by lifting for the top layer, and then again for the underneath but it made a perfect, straight path. The only disadvantage is that it only blows the snow straight ahead (but you know this before you buy it) so it is difficult on a windy day. Like another reveiwer, I also had to wrap the power crod around and knot it to prevent it from coming unplugged during use. However, I appreciate not having to mess with gasoline. Would absolutely recommend!
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 12 >>