728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Snow Equipment or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower

12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower

The Toro Electric Power shovel snow blower delivers a 12 in. snow clearance, making this an ideal choice for sidewalks, steps, decks and small driveways. This powerful blower moves up to 300 lb. of snow per minute and blows snow up to 20 ft. away, helping you quickly and easily clear an area. The blower's telescoping handle alters the handle height to fit the user, and its adjustable handle controls are easy to use. The blower is rust-resistant for long-lasting use.
Overall rating:
4.055 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(415 reviews) 403
Open Ratings Snapshot
82%of customersrecommend this product319 of 391reviews
Rating Breakdown 415 reviews
4.1 out of 5.0
5
(200)
4
(127)
3
(34)
2
(19)
1
(35)
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
82%of customersrecommend this product319 of 391reviews
Customer questions and answers:
17 Questions | 95 Answers
Customer reviews for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
Review 1 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Fairfax, Va

Right product for the light snow 1-3" from drivewa

PostedDecember 5, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Just bought it 45 minutes ago from Home Depot. Brought it home - plugged it in - and 30 minutes later I had a clean driveway (approx 200 ft by 60 ft).
Usually it would tire me - but with this it was so easy. Lets hope it last for 2 years as its advertised.
Very happy with my purchase.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Philadelphia, PA

yes but...

PostedDecember 31, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Good news is it works great but 3 not so good aspects:
-it blows straight ahead - need to be careful of the wind
- need to knot the power cord - comes out a lot
-It is built just for small areas
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Reston, VA

Not good for heavy snow

PostedDecember 13, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
bought this a few years back went to use it first time during the heavy snow in Feb of 2010 it did not handle well nor did it help with the snow shoveling, back to the old shovel.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Boston, MA

handy in the right circumstances

PostedJanuary 22, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We live south west of Boston in Norfolk county. This winter has been tough so far: 50 inches, where the average is 41 inches per year. I only use this power shovel and a hand shovel to clear my short driveway, the sidewalk and a curving walkway.
Foregoing larger snow blowers, I bought this because I need to work around tight areas. Two cars parked bumper to bumper sit on our driveway; there was no space to maneuver a snow blower. So far the logic has held up and the power shovel does a good job.
Only cons I have, largely the same as the other reviewers:
1) For 4+ inches of snow, two passes are needed.
2) Watch out for the wind; snow can drift to the spaces already cleared, or shoot back to your face.
3) Works best on smooth surfaces.
4) Can't handle ice or wet snow well, so clear snow early and frequently
5) Powering on requires squeezing the on button and a lock; this can be tiring.
6) Vibrations can make extended use painful.
I didn't notice these issues the first time I used the power shovel last year. Now I'm now thinking of upgrading to a snow plow. This year's winter is predicted to be brutal and I doubt if this tool is adequate.
+16points
17out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Flagstaff, Arizona

Throwing snow at an angle

PostedOctober 14, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have a short, steep driveway and it is difficult to push the shovel at an angle to avoid throwing the snow into the street. (The city prohibits it.)
It would be a more covenient machine if Toro ahd provided the shovel with a retaining ring where the head attaches to the handle so that the shovel head could be angled up to 45 degress left or right. It would be much easier to handle and cut the snow removal time considerably.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Flagstaff, Arizona

PostedNovember 30, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this power shovel to remove the snow off of my deck. This thing is a blast. It is so much fun that my son took it over. It throws the snow off my deck and into the neighbor's yard. It does not seem to gouge my wood deck like my regular snow shovel does.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Rockville, MD

Nice but not great

PostedDecember 17, 2009
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Decent performance.
Main issues:
1. Too narrow - requires 4 passes to clear the pavement
2. Requires a long electric cable / extension cord - somewhat cumbersome to use
3. May create a mess in your snow clearing path since it throws the snow forward rather than sideways - covering in part what you have cleared beyond the first 15-20 feet
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from DC Metro

It Saved my Back!

PostedDecember 22, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this snowblower about two weeks ago with the intent of using it on my sidewalk if we had a storm. Then we had the blizzard that slammed the NorthEast last weekend. It worked like a charm here in the DC Metro area. I was SMILING the whole time!
I had about 19 inches in my community. I was expecting a delivery of new applicances that day, so I had to keep the sidewalk cleared for safety. I cleaned it twice of about 5 to 6 inches each time. Each time took an average of 15 to 20 minutes. I also cleared my neighbors sidewalk, when we collectively dug out cars and sidewalks.
Amazingly AFTER I finished, the teenagers with shovels came around. I definately got my money's worth and then some from this machine.
This really is a small unit for a small driveway, or just sidewalks like I have. It was perfect for me, at the $99 price. No maintenenance and it has a two year warranty. Just open the box, read the instructions, (for safety) plug it in and go.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Detroit, MI

Great product, great price!

PostedFebruary 2, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I live in Detroit, MI. I purchased this Power Shovel about 2 mos ago, and really put it to use today. It goes all the way to the cement even breaking up the ice.
I'm a female 4'7" and this worked great for me. Easy manuevering. No more shoveling!!!
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Bend, OR, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great tool

PostedNovember 21, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have a two car concrete driveway and the usual walks in front and back of the house. The electric power shovel worked great...One of the best things besides doing the work is that it is easy to store when not inused.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower

Easier than vacuuming your rug

PostedJanuary 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
What can I say,the best monies I spent.I just plug it in and push,it came assembled too,I found you can angle it so you're not re-blowing the snow.I bought one for my dad as well,the kids even ask if they can do the steps now!!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This product is lite weight and seems like it will be easy for my mom to use

PostedSeptember 27, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I will let you know when we get to use it with the first snow
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Chantilly, VA

12 inch Electric Power Shovel Snow Thrower

PostedOctober 16, 2010
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
First we have had no snow yet, however I have noticed that it is very difficult to hold the trigger on.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Somerset, NJ, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Replacement for an Old One

PostedOctober 12, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Gave my old one to my daughter. It was used a lot particularly on snow packed by the plows onto our driveway. It was a busy street that got plowed regularly packing the snow into a solid mass. Our old Toro worked without a sweat. Looking forward to this new one this winter.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Waukesha, WI

Expected to pay a lot more than $99!

PostedDecember 10, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Living in Wisconsin you either need a good back, you own a snow blower, or you pay someone else to take care of your snow removal.
I purchased my Torro Power Shovel from an estate sale more than five years ago, and its been my life/back saver every winter since, so when it finally died I was worried I wouldn't be able to replace it! I'm a SWF, 5'4", 125lbs, and I have Fibromyagia, so manual shoveling is out of the question for me; I googled my search, found my query, and I am so excited to find Torro's still making the power shovel, and the $99.00 price tag's the snowy white icing on my happy cake!
I'm going to Home Depo ASAP to purchase my new Torro Power Shovel, and to those of you who chose to write a less than positive review... a good snow shovel costs $30-40 dollars!
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower

a little heavy, but works great on a wet 4 inches!

PostedNovember 8, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
a little heavy, but works great on a wet 4 inches!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower

nice unit for the size, would like to be able to control the angel of snow thrown.

PostedFebruary 1, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This unit is not for everyone. I wanted to be able to clear sidewalks without to much strain on back. This unit does that, not sure it is much faster than doing it manual but it does help the back.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Grand Rapids, MI, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

I could tell you better after we have some snow as I have not been able to use it yet.

PostedDecember 21, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
None as yet..,.no snow to try it yet. It currently is a decoration on the garage wall.
Hard to justify the survey with no snow.
-11points
0out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from MA

Present for Dad

PostedAugust 24, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My parents have a home in NH with a very large wrap around deck.
This will enable my dad to easily clean off the deck during snow storms instead of with a shovel.
He is very excited to have it.
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Chicago,IL

20 inches in 24 hours

PostedFebruary 5, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My power shovel saved my life. When the snow fell on Feb 2, 2011 it was a record fall. I was able to remove snow that came to my thigh. Im only 5'5'', and a woman. Also, I was barracaded in my garage with snow drift as high as my shoulders. I was able to cut a path allowing me to get my car out of the gararge. I thank you Toro for inventing this marvelous product. KUDOS. P.S This is my second winter with this product.
+32points
32out of 32found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 10 >>