728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Snow Equipment or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower

12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower

The Toro Electric Power shovel snow blower delivers a 12 in. snow clearance, making this an ideal choice for sidewalks, steps, decks and small driveways. This powerful blower moves up to 300 lb. of snow per minute and blows snow up to 20 ft. away, helping you quickly and easily clear an area. The blower's telescoping handle alters the handle height to fit the user, and its adjustable handle controls are easy to use. The blower is rust-resistant for long-lasting use.
Overall rating:
4.099 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(544 reviews) 532
Open Ratings Snapshot
83%of customersrecommend this product428 of 515reviews
Rating Breakdown 544 reviews
4.1 out of 5
5
(274)
4
(161)
3
(43)
2
(21)
1
(45)
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
83%of customersrecommend this product428 of 515reviews
Customer questions and answers:
22 Questions | 128 Answers
Customer reviews for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
Review 1 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Boston, MA

handy in the right circumstances

PostedJanuary 22, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We live south west of Boston in Norfolk county. This winter has been tough so far: 50 inches, where the average is 41 inches per year. I only use this power shovel and a hand shovel to clear my short driveway, the sidewalk and a curving walkway.
Foregoing larger snow blowers, I bought this because I need to work around tight areas. Two cars parked bumper to bumper sit on our driveway; there was no space to maneuver a snow blower. So far the logic has held up and the power shovel does a good job.
Only cons I have, largely the same as the other reviewers:
1) For 4+ inches of snow, two passes are needed.
2) Watch out for the wind; snow can drift to the spaces already cleared, or shoot back to your face.
3) Works best on smooth surfaces.
4) Can't handle ice or wet snow well, so clear snow early and frequently
5) Powering on requires squeezing the on button and a lock; this can be tiring.
6) Vibrations can make extended use painful.
I didn't notice these issues the first time I used the power shovel last year. Now I'm now thinking of upgrading to a snow plow. This year's winter is predicted to be brutal and I doubt if this tool is adequate.
+16points
17out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from NJ

Helpful

PostedDecember 19, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Bought it day before the big northeast snow storm of Dec. 19 2009. Just had eye surgery a little over a month ago and did not want to stress. When the snow got to about 4 inches,took it out and used it on my deck, sidewalk and driveway(10x50) and did a great job even though I had to go through the same path 2 or 3 times(have to lay down salt anyway).Usually when shoveling I had to rest every 5 minutes and takes me about 1 to 1-1/2 hour to do the job but, using this I did not have to, except for the occasional switching of hands and took me about 1/2 hour. It's 8pm and still snowing and it looks like it's at least 8 inches outside. Don't know how it will do tomorrow. But, I still recommend it specially if you have a deck.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

no snow

PostedJanuary 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I will be happy to rate this power shovel, but to my surprise and pleasure, I have not had the opportunity to test it as we have no show (1/3/12). I hope the weather trend continues and my first try out will be in 2013. I do like the fact that it is light and appears to be manageable.
-5points
0out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower

Shockingly excellent!

PostedOctober 30, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I just bought this Toro electric power shovel yesterday before our freak Oct. snow storm was about to hit (I've been meaning to get one to do my deck). Well, we got 7" of wet sticky snow and my 9 1/2 horse power snow blower wouldn't do a thing with the snow. I tried the Toro Power Shovel and it went through it like nobody's business. I was so impressed with how it performed on my deck that i decided to try one of my 2 driveways. It blew the snow 20' away like advertised and made clearing out the driveway a BREEZE!! I'm SO glad I bought this!!! Thanks Home Depot for carrying it!
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Chicago, IL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Could be better!

PostedJanuary 13, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It's not all that bad but it needs a few changes. The handle is adjustable according to height but when trying to tighten it keeps slipping out of place. Especially when you are running into some rugged snow patches and you have to bounce it around a little. Also, the snow only blows in the same direction your using it. When in a more enclosed area such as the backyard, it just blows the snow right in front of me giving me even more to clear as I go along. There's no wheels on it so I fear that dragging it on the ground could be wearing away the bottom portion. It's only made of plastic so in due time it's got to scrape the unit to the point where it will even crack. It does blow the snow well though and it is light. Like others have said, using an electric blower has it's advantages but the only disadvantage is how the cord can get tangled or even caught on objects while using. I have only used it once on a recent, large, snowfall in Chicago so I'll just have to see how it feels the second time around.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from IL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

snow shovel

PostedJanuary 3, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Hard to handle. I suppose its because of having to drag the electric cord behind or to the side. Only used once will have to wait to see if ease of use improves
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Chantilly, VA

12 inch Electric Power Shovel Snow Thrower

PostedOctober 16, 2010
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
First we have had no snow yet, however I have noticed that it is very difficult to hold the trigger on.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Ohio, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Haven't used it enough yet.

PostedJanuary 25, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Fortunately it has been a very mild winter and I haven't used it very much. So far it has worked well for 5" of snow and less. We haven't had a heavy snow to see how it will handle that.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Flagstaff, Arizona

Throwing snow at an angle

PostedOctober 14, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have a short, steep driveway and it is difficult to push the shovel at an angle to avoid throwing the snow into the street. (The city prohibits it.)
It would be a more covenient machine if Toro ahd provided the shovel with a retaining ring where the head attaches to the handle so that the shovel head could be angled up to 45 degress left or right. It would be much easier to handle and cut the snow removal time considerably.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Fairfax, Va

Right product for the light snow 1-3" from drivewa

PostedDecember 5, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Just bought it 45 minutes ago from Home Depot. Brought it home - plugged it in - and 30 minutes later I had a clean driveway (approx 200 ft by 60 ft).
Usually it would tire me - but with this it was so easy. Lets hope it last for 2 years as its advertised.
Very happy with my purchase.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower

Toro snow shovel

PostedOctober 29, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Bought it last spring, never used it until today. Worked for about 15 minutes, after which it died. I use it for patio snow removal, meaning light duty. I have a 20 foot outdoor extension cable, the outlet is rated at 30 A. Tried other outlets and extensions, same result. Snow depth was less than 2 inches, lightweight. I passed twice over each area, top side first. Not sure what happened, but it quit in the middle of the job. Maybe a lemon, who knows...quite dissapointing.
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Reston, VA

Not good for heavy snow

PostedDecember 13, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
bought this a few years back went to use it first time during the heavy snow in Feb of 2010 it did not handle well nor did it help with the snow shoveling, back to the old shovel.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Parkville,. MD
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Very Helpful....Great Product!

PostedDecember 21, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This product is a back saver....instead of having to bend, scoop, lift and throw the shovel does all the work for you...all you do is push. In higher snow falls you may have to lift it and go over same area a few times till it gets rid of a few inches at a time...but still saves you a lot of back breaking work. I highly recommend it!! Bought 3 so far and have given as gifts!!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Sylvania, OH, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Throws snow well.

PostedJanuary 24, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Is hard to use on grassy area which we try to clear for our small dogs. But it worked well on the cement surface.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Ma
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Snow Blower

PostedJanuary 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
So far so good. I have only got to use it twice and it worked very nicely. Lightweight and no vibration. Easy to use. Cleared the snow very easily. I would recommend it. The price was right too!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Massachusetts, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female

Useful for small areas

PostedJanuary 24, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
If you don't have a large area, or steep inclines, this product can be very useful. Although you can only direct the snow straight ahead-there is no way to get it to go to the side, once you figure out the best method for the area you are clearing, it can save you from lifting and throwing the snow with a regular shovel.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Westminster, MD, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

It does the job

PostedJanuary 24, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Works even with just an inch of snow.....almost totally cleared the walkway.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower

nice unit for the size, would like to be able to control the angel of snow thrown.

PostedFebruary 1, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This unit is not for everyone. I wanted to be able to clear sidewalks without to much strain on back. This unit does that, not sure it is much faster than doing it manual but it does help the back.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Chicago,IL

20 inches in 24 hours

PostedFebruary 5, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My power shovel saved my life. When the snow fell on Feb 2, 2011 it was a record fall. I was able to remove snow that came to my thigh. Im only 5'5'', and a woman. Also, I was barracaded in my garage with snow drift as high as my shoulders. I was able to cut a path allowing me to get my car out of the gararge. I thank you Toro for inventing this marvelous product. KUDOS. P.S This is my second winter with this product.
+32points
32out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from harvard,ill.
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

haven't had a snow to remove yet

PostedDecember 23, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
swell good service product i awaiting snow to be used. ok ok ok
-9points
1out of 11found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 12 >>