728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Snow Equipment or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower

12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower

The Toro Electric Power shovel snow blower delivers a 12 in. snow clearance, making this an ideal choice for sidewalks, steps, decks and small driveways. This powerful blower moves up to 300 lb. of snow per minute and blows snow up to 20 ft. away, helping you quickly and easily clear an area. The blower's telescoping handle alters the handle height to fit the user, and its adjustable handle controls are easy to use. The blower is rust-resistant for long-lasting use.
Overall rating:
4.077 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(481 reviews) 469
Open Ratings Snapshot
82%of customersrecommend this product373 of 454reviews
Rating Breakdown 481 reviews
4.1 out of 5
5
(238)
4
(144)
3
(38)
2
(20)
1
(41)
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
82%of customersrecommend this product373 of 454reviews
Customer questions and answers:
19 Questions | 109 Answers
Customer reviews for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
Review 1 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Flagstaff, Arizona

Throwing snow at an angle

PostedOctober 14, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have a short, steep driveway and it is difficult to push the shovel at an angle to avoid throwing the snow into the street. (The city prohibits it.)
It would be a more covenient machine if Toro ahd provided the shovel with a retaining ring where the head attaches to the handle so that the shovel head could be angled up to 45 degress left or right. It would be much easier to handle and cut the snow removal time considerably.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Flagstaff, Arizona

PostedNovember 30, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I bought this power shovel to remove the snow off of my deck. This thing is a blast. It is so much fun that my son took it over. It throws the snow off my deck and into the neighbor's yard. It does not seem to gouge my wood deck like my regular snow shovel does.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from rome ny

Sooooo Easy

PostedDecember 27, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Bought this for my friend who has a bad back to use instead of trying to shovel. He would be laid up afterwards for the entire afternoon when he shoveled just his walkways. He went nuts and stayed out doing the neighbors sidewalks just to keep going and has not stopped talking about it. Highly recommended for just this reason as there is no lifting at all.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Waukesha, WI

Expected to pay a lot more than $99!

PostedDecember 10, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Living in Wisconsin you either need a good back, you own a snow blower, or you pay someone else to take care of your snow removal.
I purchased my Torro Power Shovel from an estate sale more than five years ago, and its been my life/back saver every winter since, so when it finally died I was worried I wouldn't be able to replace it! I'm a SWF, 5'4", 125lbs, and I have Fibromyagia, so manual shoveling is out of the question for me; I googled my search, found my query, and I am so excited to find Torro's still making the power shovel, and the $99.00 price tag's the snowy white icing on my happy cake!
I'm going to Home Depo ASAP to purchase my new Torro Power Shovel, and to those of you who chose to write a less than positive review... a good snow shovel costs $30-40 dollars!
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Boston, MA

handy in the right circumstances

PostedJanuary 22, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We live south west of Boston in Norfolk county. This winter has been tough so far: 50 inches, where the average is 41 inches per year. I only use this power shovel and a hand shovel to clear my short driveway, the sidewalk and a curving walkway.
Foregoing larger snow blowers, I bought this because I need to work around tight areas. Two cars parked bumper to bumper sit on our driveway; there was no space to maneuver a snow blower. So far the logic has held up and the power shovel does a good job.
Only cons I have, largely the same as the other reviewers:
1) For 4+ inches of snow, two passes are needed.
2) Watch out for the wind; snow can drift to the spaces already cleared, or shoot back to your face.
3) Works best on smooth surfaces.
4) Can't handle ice or wet snow well, so clear snow early and frequently
5) Powering on requires squeezing the on button and a lock; this can be tiring.
6) Vibrations can make extended use painful.
I didn't notice these issues the first time I used the power shovel last year. Now I'm now thinking of upgrading to a snow plow. This year's winter is predicted to be brutal and I doubt if this tool is adequate.
+16points
17out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Conn

Does the job

PostedDecember 30, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Wife used to clear porch walks and garage aprons. Did good job and easier than shovel. Ice was only problem but would be problem with shovel. Watch which way the wind is blowing. Well worth the money
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Chicago,IL

20 inches in 24 hours

PostedFebruary 5, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My power shovel saved my life. When the snow fell on Feb 2, 2011 it was a record fall. I was able to remove snow that came to my thigh. Im only 5'5'', and a woman. Also, I was barracaded in my garage with snow drift as high as my shoulders. I was able to cut a path allowing me to get my car out of the gararge. I thank you Toro for inventing this marvelous product. KUDOS. P.S This is my second winter with this product.
+32points
32out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower

PostedDecember 27, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought the product a couple of weeks ago, not knowing we were going to have a major storm this weekend. This product is a back and joint saver! We go 12 inches on snow. I plug it in and off I went. I was done my sidewalk and path to the house before my neighbor was done his sidewalk. He had to stop and watch me as I kept going.
I also moved the snow from the front and back of my van and the car so I could get out to the street.
Pros:
- easy to handle. Height for second handle is adjustable.
- does a great job removing snow - you may have to take two passes for 12 inches, but then this is a shovel type blower, not a $700 snow blower. If you remove the top half of the snow, then go back and do the bottom, it works great. For quite a bit of the snow i removed, I only had to do one pass and it was over 8 inches.
- a back saver. I used to be so sore from shoveling, today, when I was done, I went inside, took a shower, got dressed and went to work. You can see from above that I had A LOT of shoveling to do. I plan on going back and finishing it up after work today.
Cons:
- I had to tie my extension to the blower to stop it from falling out and turning off but it could have been due to the extension cord. I just tied part of the extension to the handle, and forgot about it. It did not fall out and stayed out of my way.
- It would be nice to be able have the option to blow the snow out the side instead of straight ahead so you're not shoveling the snow you just blew. It's still okay, because since you are going forward, you're going to remove that snow anyway.
Overall, as I said, best $99 investment I've ever made!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower

EXCELLENT!

PostedJanuary 3, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This shovel is an excellent product if you are buying it for the correct purpose. We live on a large corner lot (75' x 150') with a loooong sidewalk but a small driveway. This shovel was perfect for the recent snowstorm. With the snow being almost 2 feet high, I did have to use it twice - once by lifting for the top layer, and then again for the underneath but it made a perfect, straight path. The only disadvantage is that it only blows the snow straight ahead (but you know this before you buy it) so it is difficult on a windy day. Like another reveiwer, I also had to wrap the power crod around and knot it to prevent it from coming unplugged during use. However, I appreciate not having to mess with gasoline. Would absolutely recommend!
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower

This is the best thing since Sliced Bread

PostedNovember 1, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I'm 51 year old female and my job after the storm is wielding the shovel :(. For years, the snow of the upper deck didn't get removed from the wrap around deck until spring when it finally melted but last year the amount of ice that accummulated in front of the downstair slider door became really treacherous from the slow melting and freezing of snow from above. This year I hounded my husband for a mini snow blower and he found this for me. It slides easily and handles 3-4 inches of snow easily enough. The last snow storm was 15 inches total but I went out on the deck 3 times and It didn't take long at all, and surprisenly enough if throws the snow a good distance. My husband was impressed as well.
+37points
37out of 37found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower

Toro snow shovel

PostedOctober 29, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Bought it last spring, never used it until today. Worked for about 15 minutes, after which it died. I use it for patio snow removal, meaning light duty. I have a 20 foot outdoor extension cable, the outlet is rated at 30 A. Tried other outlets and extensions, same result. Snow depth was less than 2 inches, lightweight. I passed twice over each area, top side first. Not sure what happened, but it quit in the middle of the job. Maybe a lemon, who knows...quite dissapointing.
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Bend, OR, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great tool

PostedNovember 21, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have a two car concrete driveway and the usual walks in front and back of the house. The electric power shovel worked great...One of the best things besides doing the work is that it is easy to store when not inused.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This product is lite weight and seems like it will be easy for my mom to use

PostedSeptember 27, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I will let you know when we get to use it with the first snow
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower

Not a huge help

PostedOctober 30, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
A decent product for getting a surface level of snow off a deck/patio or small driveway, but not highly effective. As you go over the "path", snow kicks back to you, in effect re-covering the path you have just shoveled with a thin layer of snow. Not a big deal, but still a bit annoying. I thought it would be more effective at removing a clear path, and it was not able to for the most part. It certainly can help, but don't expect it to be a full solution
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Prairie Village, KS, USA
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Well built product for the price.....

PostedNovember 1, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My husband & I both were pleased with the product we received and the condition of the product delivery. Runs nice haven't had a chance to use yet as to early for snow here. We had a bigger Toro before....but since retired and moved to Kansas from Ohio we felt we could use something like this that was easier to handle and we have a smaller driveway now. Easy for even a older lady to handle....great construction and quality.
-6points
2out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower

Why did I wait so long?

PostedJanuary 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Shoveling the decks has always been a chore. But with this power shovel, it's easy.
Pros: Lightweight, easy to use, safe, blows far.
Cons: Leaves a "mist" on the surface of fine snow.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Granville, MA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Toro electric power shovel

PostedJanuary 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is an excellent small power machine, I bought it for my wife and she loves it!! Easy to use, It's perfect for our patio and decking.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from R.I.

WOW- what a product-20 yrs & still running!

PostedJanuary 22, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I've had my TORO snow Shovel 20 yrs. and I just did my walk w/ it- FANTASTIC!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Massachusetts, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female

Useful for small areas

PostedJanuary 24, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
If you don't have a large area, or steep inclines, this product can be very useful. Although you can only direct the snow straight ahead-there is no way to get it to go to the side, once you figure out the best method for the area you are clearing, it can save you from lifting and throwing the snow with a regular shovel.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Westminster, MD, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

It does the job

PostedJanuary 24, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Works even with just an inch of snow.....almost totally cleared the walkway.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 11 >>