728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower

12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower

The Toro Electric Power shovel snow blower delivers a 12 in. snow clearance, making this an ideal choice for sidewalks, steps, decks and small driveways. This powerful blower moves up to 300 lb. of snow per minute and blows snow up to 20 ft. away, helping you quickly and easily clear an area. The blower's telescoping handle alters the handle height to fit the user, and its adjustable handle controls are easy to use. The blower is rust-resistant for long-lasting use.
Overall rating:
4.099 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(544 reviews) 532
Open Ratings Snapshot
83%of customersrecommend this product428 of 515reviews
Rating Breakdown 544 reviews
4.1 out of 5
5
(274)
4
(161)
3
(43)
2
(21)
1
(45)
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
83%of customersrecommend this product428 of 515reviews
Customer questions and answers:
22 Questions | 128 Answers
Customer reviews for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
Review 1 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Flagstaff, Arizona

PostedNovember 30, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I bought this power shovel to remove the snow off of my deck. This thing is a blast. It is so much fun that my son took it over. It throws the snow off my deck and into the neighbor's yard. It does not seem to gouge my wood deck like my regular snow shovel does.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Dallas Center, IA

Only worked for 2 days

PostedDecember 10, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We were very excited to use this shovel and it seemed to work great....for 2 days. The second day we used it, the blade broke in half. The snow was light and fluffy, no ice. Now we get to see how easy it will be to return it. Wish us luck!
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This product is lite weight and seems like it will be easy for my mom to use

PostedSeptember 27, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I will let you know when we get to use it with the first snow
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Prairie Village, KS, USA
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Well built product for the price.....

PostedNovember 1, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My husband & I both were pleased with the product we received and the condition of the product delivery. Runs nice haven't had a chance to use yet as to early for snow here. We had a bigger Toro before....but since retired and moved to Kansas from Ohio we felt we could use something like this that was easier to handle and we have a smaller driveway now. Easy for even a older lady to handle....great construction and quality.
-6points
2out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Bend, OR, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great tool

PostedNovember 21, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have a two car concrete driveway and the usual walks in front and back of the house. The electric power shovel worked great...One of the best things besides doing the work is that it is easy to store when not inused.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Snow shovel

PostedDecember 20, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have a snow blower but using it on my deck is not an option so I purchased a snow shovel. It has some weight to it but I only need to slide it along to use it. It works great for what I want and it throws the snow very far. I was impressed. It made clearing the deck s breeze and in a short time. I've only used it once this winter so far and hope to use it more.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower

so far so good...

PostedDecember 20, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I just finished using this for the first time. It worked well on the light, powdery snow. I'm curious to see how it does with the heavier, wet snow. The only thing I didn't like was the plug...too short to do the "safety" knot...so had to hold on to the extension cord while using to ensure it didn't come unplugged.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Parkville,. MD
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Very Helpful....Great Product!

PostedDecember 21, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This product is a back saver....instead of having to bend, scoop, lift and throw the shovel does all the work for you...all you do is push. In higher snow falls you may have to lift it and go over same area a few times till it gets rid of a few inches at a time...but still saves you a lot of back breaking work. I highly recommend it!! Bought 3 so far and have given as gifts!!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from harvard,ill.
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

haven't had a snow to remove yet

PostedDecember 23, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
swell good service product i awaiting snow to be used. ok ok ok
-9points
1out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from IL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

snow shovel

PostedJanuary 3, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Hard to handle. I suppose its because of having to drag the electric cord behind or to the side. Only used once will have to wait to see if ease of use improves
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Chicago, IL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Could be better!

PostedJanuary 13, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It's not all that bad but it needs a few changes. The handle is adjustable according to height but when trying to tighten it keeps slipping out of place. Especially when you are running into some rugged snow patches and you have to bounce it around a little. Also, the snow only blows in the same direction your using it. When in a more enclosed area such as the backyard, it just blows the snow right in front of me giving me even more to clear as I go along. There's no wheels on it so I fear that dragging it on the ground could be wearing away the bottom portion. It's only made of plastic so in due time it's got to scrape the unit to the point where it will even crack. It does blow the snow well though and it is light. Like others have said, using an electric blower has it's advantages but the only disadvantage is how the cord can get tangled or even caught on objects while using. I have only used it once on a recent, large, snowfall in Chicago so I'll just have to see how it feels the second time around.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower

Works well overall

PostedJanuary 24, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I was surprised it threw snow as far as it does. It works well, but as is with all electric tools, the extension cord is a challenge.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Frederick, CO, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This product is great for older adults

PostedJanuary 25, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I have only used it once. It is light enough in weight for me as I am a senior citizen and couldn't possibly use a large snow blower.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower

Works well but fragile

PostedJanuary 31, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
If you hit anything like a chunk of ice in the snow, you risk chipping the blade.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Cincinnati, OH, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Have loved ours for over 20 years!

PostedJanuary 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We purchased this Toro model over 20 years ago and it is still going strong! My husband refuses to upgrade to a larger snowblower because it is small enough to maneuver anywhere he needs. It has been dependable, with no repairs needed over the years. It takes up little space in our garage. Our neighbors have been jealous, so I am very happy to see it is still on the market!
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Great Engine, Easy to Store
Cons: n/a
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Salt Lake City, UT, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worthy investment

PostedJanuary 15, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This was a lot more powerful than I anticipated. It made shoveling snow doable as a one man job what was exhausting with two people around my house. I do wish there was a way to control the direction it blows the snow but the trade off is a great price and also the ability to lift it and shovel areas like my patio and stairs.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Great Engine
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from NY
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Not a good product

PostedFebruary 19, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Worked well when it did, but product stopped working for no apparent reason after the 3rd use. Do not recommend acquiring this product.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Cons: Not Durable, stopped working after 3 uses
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Kansas City
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Buy - for Midwest Snow Levels and Types.

PostedJanuary 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I Live in Kansas City. I have used this product for ten years. Lately I have been helping the neighbors with their drives and sidewalks. It handles the light and even heavy wet snows. I have never stalled out the motor and it really can throw snow twenty feet. My neighbors wanted to buy one, so I was checking on the price for them. I had paid 70 dollars ten years ago, it has been worth every penny. I recommend a 12 gauge extension chord.
I would buy this Toro-12-in-Electric-Power-Shovel-Snow-Blower again.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
Cons: none
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower

Worth it

PostedJanuary 22, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Glad and surprised to find it was pre-assembled (box was large as a result of this but box still fit in back seat of a 2008 Volvo S60). I bought this because I do not have the storage space for a traditional gasoline powered snowblower. I have a back injury that should prevent me from shoveling snow but somebody has to do the work around here so it is either lifting a manual snow shovel 500 times each snow storm or looking at alternatives.
I placed an order for this online and used Home Depot in-store pick up. The item was ready for pick-up in a couple of hours. The main reason I did this was to avoid the inconvenience of driving to the store only to find they were out of stock, especially prior to the 1/21/2014 blizzard.
This thing moves a lot of snow fast. It is not going to clear 12" deep snow but if you get out there before it reached 8 inches you'll have no problem removing whatever Mother Nature drops afterward.
There is a learning curve to this machine but after 20 minutes you get the hang of it. Apparently tilting the handle will change the direction of the thrown snow but it can be unpredictable. The only design flaw I really encountered is that it is mostly forward throwing - this means a light breeze will coat you in a fine mist of snow. You will inherently develop a strategy to avoid this (blow with the wind, blow on an angle, etc.) but I have to mention it.
I did a 10x30 deck and a 60x12 driveway. Took a couple of hours but my back does not hurt.
I recommend it. The manual (and box) say it comes with a full 2 year warranty. it is a Toro so I have some confidence in this brand going in.
Good luck. No matter what, trust me, it is better then shoveling.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Small Turn Radius, Easy to Store
Cons: Limited Features
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from North New Jersey
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

An AID to snow shoveling

PostedFebruary 3, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased the Toro Power Shovel in mid -January of 2014. I live in northwest New Jersey, and the snows this year have been plentiful, so I have had to try this item out in both a 4" powdery snow and this week in an 8" heavier, wetter snow.
I read several reviews and watched a number of videos before deciding on the Toro. Some of its competitors were less expensive but had questionable quality. I am pleased enough with my purchase but I would also advise anyone who is considering this that it is not the "be all and end all" for removing snow.
I live in a rental community and do not have a private garage. Although the streets are well mantained, my parking area is my own responsibility. It is a small area, but since I am now 65 (and can feel it in my back and hands) I thought this Toro shovel would be a big help. I no longer have to lift heavy shovels full of wet snow, but the power shovel does require some muscle to move it forward and backward. A friend of mine, who does a lot of yard work, showed me the proper way to use the shovel. Place it ON the snow and make of couple of passes to remove the snow. The power shovel will not gobbel up more than 4" of light weight snow. It is a snow THROWER not a snow BLOWER!
I did make sure I purchased a heavy duty extention cord of 14 guage so as not to put a strain on the motor. And contrary to some reviews I have read, once you press the release button on the side of the handle and engage the trigger, the button will stay in, so you do not have to hold both the button and the trigger. Once released, however, you do have to re-engage both. And holding the handle trigger for long periods does require some rest breaks.
This power shovel is lighter than some others, so it is easier to carry. The two adjustable handles seem to give a large range of adjustments for just about anyone. We have two more snow storms coming this week, so the Toro is going to get a work out. I do recommend it as long as the purchaser is aware that they will still have to use an old fashioned shovel for some of the work.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Light Weight, good value
Cons: uni-directional throw
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 12 >>