728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Snow Equipment or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower

12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower

The Toro Electric Power shovel snow blower delivers a 12 in. snow clearance, making this an ideal choice for sidewalks, steps, decks and small driveways. This powerful blower moves up to 300 lb. of snow per minute and blows snow up to 20 ft. away, helping you quickly and easily clear an area. The blower's telescoping handle alters the handle height to fit the user, and its adjustable handle controls are easy to use. The blower is rust-resistant for long-lasting use.
Overall rating:
4.044 / 5
4
 / 
5
(410 reviews) 398
Open Ratings Snapshot
81%of customersrecommend this product314 of 386reviews
Rating Breakdown 410 reviews
4.0 out of 5.0
5
(195)
4
(127)
3
(34)
2
(19)
1
(35)
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
81%of customersrecommend this product314 of 386reviews
Customer questions and answers:
16 Questions | 94 Answers
Customer reviews for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
Review 1 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Omaha, NE, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I wanted something to ease clearing sidewalks & patio

PostedJanuary 9, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I wanted to simplify clearing the front steps and the rear patio. This seemed like a good solution. Only had one snow to try it but seemed to work great on the patio and clearing a path to the shop. Not sure how well it will work on the narrow steps. It may be adequate even for a small driveway but I will use the big blower for our double-wide drive.
Pros: All In One, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower

Easy on the Back

PostedJanuary 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have a friend that has one of these and he has been recomending it for years to me, so I broke down and got one for me and another for my son. We have only gotten about 3" so far, but I sure wish I would have gotten it years ago.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Salt Lake City, UT, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worthy investment

PostedJanuary 15, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This was a lot more powerful than I anticipated. It made shoveling snow doable as a one man job what was exhausting with two people around my house. I do wish there was a way to control the direction it blows the snow but the trade off is a great price and also the ability to lift it and shovel areas like my patio and stairs.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Great Engine
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Pepperell, MA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female

The shovel is lightweight and adjustable and very easy to use right out of the box. Very good buy.

PostedFebruary 3, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We have only had the opportunity to use it once this year. The shovel was able to clear the snow (4 inch deep) easily off our new deck (32' x 16') in half the time it would have taken if shoveled manually. Next time we will try the shovel on the driveway. Tip: spray the blades with silicone spray and the snow won't stick and collect on the blades. The shovel is lightweight and adjustable and very easy to use right out of the box. Very good buy.
Pros: Easy to Use, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

I was very pleased with the product, the prompt delivery, and the way it was packaged to protect the electric snow shovel.

PostedDecember 26, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I was pleased with the product. Unfortunately, I am going to have to return it because I bought it as a Christmas gift for my father. He did not want it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower

Affordable and very effective.

PostedDecember 28, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We have only used it once so far but it did an awesome job clearing our steep driveway of about a foot of snow. It's a little heavy but nothing compared to having to lift all that snow like before and most of the time we could just slide it along. My partner described it like mowing the lawn. The cord can get in the way sometimes and the wind can toss some of the snow back at you but nothing unmanageable.
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Pagosa Springs, CO 81147, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product does not work as expected.

PostedJanuary 8, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The product blows too much snow up in the air instead of a compact steady stream. It does not blow snow 20 feet as expected. I am thinking of returning it and definitely would not recommend it to my friends.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Rochester, NY
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wonderful Power Shovel

PostedJanuary 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We bought the power shovel because we suddenly got a lot of snow and had only a couple hand shovels. The Power Shovel worked wonderfully - the plows buried our driveway curtain about three times, but we were able to dig out easily and clear more of the driveway than we ever have.
It is easy to move; you can pick it up and carry it without too much effort, and it does a wonderful job of clearing the snow. Just watch out for the cord and the direction of the wind.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Great Engine, Light Weight, Easy to Store
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Very surprised

PostedJanuary 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
If all you have is snow, it works pretty well. Going to get one for my mother-in-law. No sense lefting when you can just push. Can't beat it for the price. Snow does shoot out straight ahead so you may need to adjust your pattern of clearing. Does shoot about 20' with a little fall off along the way.
Pros: Good Size & Weight, small and easy to store
Cons: have to drag extension cord
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Upstate NY

Great for the deck!

PostedJanuary 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I'm a 52 year old woman who always had to do our somewhat large composite deck (while the boys did the driveways with the "big toys".) The extra lifting to get the snow over the railing while shoveling was always quite a chore. I bought this and used it for the first time this winter when our predicted 6" turned into a foot of snow. Even at that depth, this power shovel pushed right through and threw the snow right over the railing...LOVE IT! It was slightly more cumbersome doing the path in the lawn out to the garage, but still much easier than shoveling. Sometimes the hardest part of shoveling is "where to put the snow"...you don't have to worry about that with this power shovel!
Pros: Easy to Use
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower

Great product

PostedJanuary 20, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Used this to clear my patio during the back-to-back Noreasters in 2010; 50 inches of snow in three days. This worked great (my Ariens snow blower, on the other hand died half way throught the storms--it is a piece of junk)
The Toro shovel is worth every penny
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Cincinnati, OH, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Have loved ours for over 20 years!

PostedJanuary 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We purchased this Toro model over 20 years ago and it is still going strong! My husband refuses to upgrade to a larger snowblower because it is small enough to maneuver anywhere he needs. It has been dependable, with no repairs needed over the years. It takes up little space in our garage. Our neighbors have been jealous, so I am very happy to see it is still on the market!
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Great Engine, Easy to Store
Cons: n/a
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Pennsylvania, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works as stated.

PostedJanuary 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I just used to clear my deck after 6" of heavy snow. It did the job in 1/2 the time. Very pleased.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from chicago,IL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Easy to use

PostedJanuary 2, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It does a good job removing the snow, but it throw the snow all over you. I looked like a snowman about the time I finished. I don't like dealing with the cord, so for that reason I'm returning It.
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Good Size & Weight
Cons: Limited Features, cover you with snow.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Schenectady, NY, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Light weight, durable and perfect for cleaning small areas

PostedJanuary 1, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've used this product every winter for the last 4 years. While I have a gas powered two stage blower for my long driveway and walks. I use this electric powered "power shovel" primarily for steps and to clean off several flat roof deck areas, one with rubber membrane decking. Taking your time, you can clear a foot or more of snow, though obviously it is faster with a few inches. The auger does not scrape the surface so it can be used on roofing like this and is actually safer than using a shovel (for the membrane). It would nice if had control of discharge direction, but I found it is pretty easy to take diagonal slices to throw the snow to the side. It would also be nice if the switch could be locked on. My model also includes a brush attachment to use as a power broom, but I have never used it that way.
Pros: Durable, Light Weight, Easy to Store
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Bar Harbor, ME, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Disappointed: too heavy, maybe underpowered

PostedJune 15, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I thought this would be a good idea, especially based on the brand and the reviews. I only have a deck, short walkway, and steps to clear. However, it's really heavy and awkward to handle. Hard to keep it from sinking into the snow while you are trying to make a pass; ends up "tunneling". The idea was to use this so I wouldn't be breaking my back shoveling! Ha! I will try it next season with some sort of brace (I see people have these using a trimmer, so maybe it will help).
The design: the snow exit puts the snow straight ahead of you. It would be better if it were angled to one side (OR, be able to point the output where you want). It also doesn't seem to "spin" very fast at all.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Too Heavy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Cincinnati, OH, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for smaller areas

PostedDecember 29, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased the Toro snow shovel from Home Depot and we finally had a snowfall of 4 inches. The snow was heavy, but the snow shovel plowed right through with ease. It is relatively light weight and easily maneuverable. Because the snow was heavy it only threw the snow 5-6 feet which was not a problem. All the snow is thrown in front of the shovel and there is no adjustment for this. I was able to clear my sidewalk in by my front door and the driveway with ease.Using a longer electric cord would have allowed more cleaning. The cord locks in place. It sure beats using a snow shovel and saves my back. I love it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Small Turn Radius, Easy to Store, Light Weight, a lot of power for such a small package., does the job quickly.
Cons: no adjustment to direction of snow dispersal.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower

it's ok

PostedJanuary 5, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Works great had it for about three winters now. Good up to 6 inches, as long as the winds is at your back. The snow goes whichever way the wind blows
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Buffalo, NY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Its an animal in the snow!!

PostedJanuary 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Pleasantly surprised!! Live in Buffalo and frequently have snow around the front door, garage door and patio. Beats the heck out of dragging out the monster Ariens blower before going to work or just to clear a little snow when coming home. Works great insight places, on steps and on deck.
Good for light or heavy snow. Not going to chew up and throw ice or frozen snow. And not going to replace the Ariens... just a lot more convenient and handy for smaller jobs.
Definitely recommend as a good value for about $100.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Berkshire, MA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Not a bad snow blower for the cost.

PostedJanuary 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Used 2 times in about 3-6 inches of light, fluffy snow. Threw the snow great, just not sure how it would do with heavier wet snow tho. Not a bad snowblower for the money.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 10 >>