728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Snow Equipment or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower

12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower

The Toro Electric Power shovel snow blower delivers a 12 in. snow clearance, making this an ideal choice for sidewalks, steps, decks and small driveways. This powerful blower moves up to 300 lb. of snow per minute and blows snow up to 20 ft. away, helping you quickly and easily clear an area. The blower's telescoping handle alters the handle height to fit the user, and its adjustable handle controls are easy to use. The blower is rust-resistant for long-lasting use.
Overall rating:
4.099 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(545 reviews) 533
Open Ratings Snapshot
83%of customersrecommend this product429 of 516reviews
Rating Breakdown 545 reviews
4.1 out of 5
5
(274)
4
(162)
3
(43)
2
(21)
1
(45)
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
83%of customersrecommend this product429 of 516reviews
Customer questions and answers:
22 Questions | 128 Answers
Customer reviews for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
Review 1 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Flagstaff, Arizona

Throwing snow at an angle

PostedOctober 14, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have a short, steep driveway and it is difficult to push the shovel at an angle to avoid throwing the snow into the street. (The city prohibits it.)
It would be a more covenient machine if Toro ahd provided the shovel with a retaining ring where the head attaches to the handle so that the shovel head could be angled up to 45 degress left or right. It would be much easier to handle and cut the snow removal time considerably.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Flagstaff, Arizona

PostedNovember 30, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I bought this power shovel to remove the snow off of my deck. This thing is a blast. It is so much fun that my son took it over. It throws the snow off my deck and into the neighbor's yard. It does not seem to gouge my wood deck like my regular snow shovel does.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower

EXCELLENT!

PostedJanuary 3, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This shovel is an excellent product if you are buying it for the correct purpose. We live on a large corner lot (75' x 150') with a loooong sidewalk but a small driveway. This shovel was perfect for the recent snowstorm. With the snow being almost 2 feet high, I did have to use it twice - once by lifting for the top layer, and then again for the underneath but it made a perfect, straight path. The only disadvantage is that it only blows the snow straight ahead (but you know this before you buy it) so it is difficult on a windy day. Like another reveiwer, I also had to wrap the power crod around and knot it to prevent it from coming unplugged during use. However, I appreciate not having to mess with gasoline. Would absolutely recommend!
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from NJ

Helpful

PostedDecember 19, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Bought it day before the big northeast snow storm of Dec. 19 2009. Just had eye surgery a little over a month ago and did not want to stress. When the snow got to about 4 inches,took it out and used it on my deck, sidewalk and driveway(10x50) and did a great job even though I had to go through the same path 2 or 3 times(have to lay down salt anyway).Usually when shoveling I had to rest every 5 minutes and takes me about 1 to 1-1/2 hour to do the job but, using this I did not have to, except for the occasional switching of hands and took me about 1/2 hour. It's 8pm and still snowing and it looks like it's at least 8 inches outside. Don't know how it will do tomorrow. But, I still recommend it specially if you have a deck.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Conn

Does the job

PostedDecember 30, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Wife used to clear porch walks and garage aprons. Did good job and easier than shovel. Ice was only problem but would be problem with shovel. Watch which way the wind is blowing. Well worth the money
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Fairfax, Va

Right product for the light snow 1-3" from drivewa

PostedDecember 5, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Just bought it 45 minutes ago from Home Depot. Brought it home - plugged it in - and 30 minutes later I had a clean driveway (approx 200 ft by 60 ft).
Usually it would tire me - but with this it was so easy. Lets hope it last for 2 years as its advertised.
Very happy with my purchase.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Somerset, NJ, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Replacement for an Old One

PostedOctober 12, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Gave my old one to my daughter. It was used a lot particularly on snow packed by the plows onto our driveway. It was a busy street that got plowed regularly packing the snow into a solid mass. Our old Toro worked without a sweat. Looking forward to this new one this winter.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This product is lite weight and seems like it will be easy for my mom to use

PostedSeptember 27, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I will let you know when we get to use it with the first snow
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower

Lightweight, Easy to use

PostedOctober 25, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We were looking for a small, lightweight blower to use to clear snow from our decks. An ideal solution for that problem!
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Chantilly, VA

12 inch Electric Power Shovel Snow Thrower

PostedOctober 16, 2010
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
First we have had no snow yet, however I have noticed that it is very difficult to hold the trigger on.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower

Don't waste your money

PostedFebruary 13, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
You're better off just using a snow shovel. It doesn't have wheels, so you have to push it on the ground like a shovel, yet it is heavier than a shovel and takes more effort to push. Plus, it is narrower than a snow shovel, so you have to make more passes. It won't tackle more than a few inches and won't make a dent in packed or icy snow. After using it on half my driveway, I switched to the shovel and found it much, much easier. The electrical cord is cumbersome. When it blows the snow, it blows some of it back over the area you just blew. I might buy a more expensive one in the future. This one was a complete waste of money.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Philadelphia, PA

yes but...

PostedDecember 31, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Good news is it works great but 3 not so good aspects:
-it blows straight ahead - need to be careful of the wind
- need to knot the power cord - comes out a lot
-It is built just for small areas
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Waukesha, WI

Expected to pay a lot more than $99!

PostedDecember 10, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Living in Wisconsin you either need a good back, you own a snow blower, or you pay someone else to take care of your snow removal.
I purchased my Torro Power Shovel from an estate sale more than five years ago, and its been my life/back saver every winter since, so when it finally died I was worried I wouldn't be able to replace it! I'm a SWF, 5'4", 125lbs, and I have Fibromyagia, so manual shoveling is out of the question for me; I googled my search, found my query, and I am so excited to find Torro's still making the power shovel, and the $99.00 price tag's the snowy white icing on my happy cake!
I'm going to Home Depo ASAP to purchase my new Torro Power Shovel, and to those of you who chose to write a less than positive review... a good snow shovel costs $30-40 dollars!
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower

worked good until

PostedNovember 10, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this electric snow shovel last year at a gread price and it worked great until one of the paddles broke, so used it again and the other paddle broke leaving me to shovel by hand. If you have any stones or loose gravel it will break the little plastic paddles. Won't buy another one but move up to something that has either metel or rubber paddle blades.
+14points
15out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Chicago,IL

20 inches in 24 hours

PostedFebruary 5, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My power shovel saved my life. When the snow fell on Feb 2, 2011 it was a record fall. I was able to remove snow that came to my thigh. Im only 5'5'', and a woman. Also, I was barracaded in my garage with snow drift as high as my shoulders. I was able to cut a path allowing me to get my car out of the gararge. I thank you Toro for inventing this marvelous product. KUDOS. P.S This is my second winter with this product.
+32points
32out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from DC Metro

It Saved my Back!

PostedDecember 22, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I bought this snowblower about two weeks ago with the intent of using it on my sidewalk if we had a storm. Then we had the blizzard that slammed the NorthEast last weekend. It worked like a charm here in the DC Metro area. I was SMILING the whole time!
I had about 19 inches in my community. I was expecting a delivery of new applicances that day, so I had to keep the sidewalk cleared for safety. I cleaned it twice of about 5 to 6 inches each time. Each time took an average of 15 to 20 minutes. I also cleared my neighbors sidewalk, when we collectively dug out cars and sidewalks.
Amazingly AFTER I finished, the teenagers with shovels came around. I definately got my money's worth and then some from this machine.
This really is a small unit for a small driveway, or just sidewalks like I have. It was perfect for me, at the $99 price. No maintenenance and it has a two year warranty. Just open the box, read the instructions, (for safety) plug it in and go.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from colorado
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Don't like

PostedNovember 2, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Throw snow good but second time I used it it start making loud noise and didn't work good
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Lake Arrowhead, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Cleared the deck in no time

PostedApril 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Needs an adapter to plug in cord. Snow was wet and it still sent snow flying. Works best in six inches of snow. Everyone likes to use it so saves me. It is heavier than a shovel but works in a quarter of the time. Love it.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from rome ny

Sooooo Easy

PostedDecember 27, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Bought this for my friend who has a bad back to use instead of trying to shovel. He would be laid up afterwards for the entire afternoon when he shoveled just his walkways. He went nuts and stayed out doing the neighbors sidewalks just to keep going and has not stopped talking about it. Highly recommended for just this reason as there is no lifting at all.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 12 in. Power Shovel Electric Snow Blower
from Bend, OR, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great tool

PostedNovember 21, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have a two car concrete driveway and the usual walks in front and back of the house. The electric power shovel worked great...One of the best things besides doing the work is that it is easy to store when not inused.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 12 >>