728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 5.8 cu. ft. Beverage Center

5.8 cu. ft. Beverage Center

Serving your favorite beverages at the ideal temperature is easy with the Vissani 5.8 cu. ft. Beverage Cooler. The cooler's elegant, sturdy glass shelves are adjustable to offer versatile storage options, and the unit can hold up to 178 cans for your convenience. The tempered, smoked glass door and stainless steel frame and handle offer durability and an attractive look. The cooler can be built-in or left freestanding to suit your needs.
Overall rating:
2.678 / 5
2.7
 / 
5
(171 reviews) 171
Open Ratings Snapshot
44%of customersrecommend this product73 of 166reviews
Rating Breakdown 171 reviews
2.7 out of 5
5
(36)
4
(34)
3
(12)
2
(17)
1
(72)
Features 
3.1 out of 5
3.1 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
2.9 out of 5
2.9 out of 5
Quality 
2.5 out of 5
2.5 out of 5
Value 
2.7 out of 5
2.7 out of 5
44%of customersrecommend this product73 of 166reviews
Customer questions and answers:
14 Questions | 65 Answers
Customer reviews for 5.8 cu. ft. Beverage Center
Review 1 for 5.8 cu. ft. Beverage Center
from Buffalo, NY
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Only day 1 but......

PostedJuly 8, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My main reason for writing this post is that no reviews ever state the bottle capacity of this unit. I was hoping to use this for 3 rows of bottles but that is not possible due to the height of the bottles. While moving the shelves around you can see from the picture that its only possible to have two shelves with bottle height capability. The light and control panel only allows for 6 rows of cans 6 deep on the top shelf. The bottom 2 shelves fit 8 bottles across "comfortably". The middle shelf has full depth and fits 7 bottles deep allowing for 56 bottles on that shelf and then 5 bottles deep on the bottom shelf allowing for another 40 bottles.
After waiting the 4 hours that was suggested by the manual to wait to plug in, I plugged it in and within four hours the fridge was down to 45 degrees after an additional few hours its down to 38 degrees, and I am assuming will be at the 35ish range by the end of the evening.
My only complaint about this fridge is the misleading light on the front of the box. The light illuminates blue and is not very bright. The tinted glass without the light does not allow for much of a view of what is in the fridge. These things are not a deal breaker as I will eventually replace the lights with white lights. Its only been a day but I am happy with this product so far.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 5.8 cu. ft. Beverage Center
from Dayton, Oh
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wine Cooler is now a Wine and Beverage Cooler...

PostedJune 5, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I purchased a Condo and this Wine Cooler was in it. I could not see us ever needing 50 or so bottles of wine being cooled at any given time. I did however want to use the Wine Cooler as a Wine and Beverage Cooler. I ordered two glass shelves from Magic Chef and received them in about three days. The total cost was just over $50 and it is now very effectively cooling about 6 bottles of wine and quite a large number of Beer and Soft Drink cans. As opposed to some of the Answers I have read on this site, the Wine Cooler is identical to the Beverage Cooler from a Thermostat Setting capacity. I read the included manual and Set the Temperature to 39 Degrees, which is very cool when you take out a can and compare it to one coming out of a standard refrigerator. This now has great value to us.
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great, Stylish
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 5.8 cu. ft. Beverage Center

do not buy! junk

PostedFebruary 14, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this 7 months ago at depot. Led light went out in first month then the whole thing stopped working all together after 7 months. Apparently I'm not the only one....read other people's reviews.
Fluctuations in temperature since new.
Spend a little more and get something else.
Home Depot will not warranty or replace and only 7 months old.
Junk junk junk.....
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 5.8 cu. ft. Beverage Center
from Fairfax, VA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Cautious and Skeptical!!!!

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This is a bit long, but bare with me. We bought the model before this (Magic Chef) in 2007, along with the matching wine cooler. The wine cooler has worked perfectly since 2007. The beverage center did not. Like others it would not get below 50 degs. We dealt with it until it finally died Feb 2014. I looked for another one like it to match the existing wine cooler we have, but the model was no longer available. Well, I think it is, but it is called the Vissani now. The difference is in the door handle. I read and reread all the reviews for this over and over and was hoping that I could buy another and not have the problems everyone else is. I was thinking how can Magic Chef not correct these issues. We have another small refrigerator by Magic Chef and it has worked like a champ. I took the leap of faith and purchased the Vissani again, but this time with the extended warranty (I was worried). After brining it home, I left it stand up right for 24 hours before plugging it in. In hopes of not needing to buy another wine cooler (so they would match), I swapped out the doors from my one that crapped out a few months ago with the door on the Vissani I just bought. It was a perfect fit (they are both the same less the door handle anyway). I plugged it in and waited and waited and the thing would not cool below 50 degs. Forty-eight hours later I was completely frustrated. I was on the Internet and came across a blog/review and the guy was telling the other guy to pull the back off and check a couple wires to see if they were cool or hot to touch. One was supposed to be hot the other cool. So I figured what the heck, I went to unscrew the back panel and I could hardly touch the back panel, it was so hot. Got the cover off and the inside was extremely hot. I noticed the fan was not moving, so I stuck my finger in there and tried to give it a nudge. No luck. Would not turn. I got to looking and saw it was hung up on the coils. I unplugged the unit and then proceeded to bend the coils slightly away (by pushing them in opposite direction of the fan) until the fan would move smoothly with the touch of my finger. I plugged it back in and the fan immediately started spinning. I adjusted the thermostat down to 38 degs and I waited. I came back a couple hours later and low and behold the temperature in the refrigerator was in the low 40's. Another hour later and it was at 39 degs. It made it to 38 degs and has operated like the manual says it should. Cools to set temperature, shuts off until the temperature rises 3 degs and then it turns back on and cools back down to 38. It has been going strong now for a couple months. I am skeptical and hope that it keeps going strong. I probably voided the warranty by opening the back up, but that's okay my beer is the perfect temperature. I do the happy dance every time I walk by it. I am hesitant to rate the Quality and Value until I know this unit is going to keep going. The same holds true as to whether I would recommend this product. I've crossed my fingers and have checked yes.
Pros: Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: didn't work properly when i got it home.
+24points
24out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 5.8 cu. ft. Beverage Center
from South Florida
Age Range:45 to 54
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Looks great, works great, quiet

PostedJuly 27, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was hesitant to purchase this unit after reading other reviews but did anyway because it was the right size and exactly what we were looking for to go next to our wine cooler. It is much quieter than the wine cooler (different brand), looks great with the blue light, 38 degrees is plenty cold enough. I haven't heard the compressor yet. We' had it for 5 days.
Adjustable shelves make it easy to store bottles and cans of different heights. Very pleased so far.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 5.8 cu. ft. Beverage Center
from Pocatello, ID
Age Range:25 to 34
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

DO NOT BUY!!! JUNK!

PostedNovember 20, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this fridge, had it for just over one year, lightly used. After a couple months the temperature would not even come close to what we set it at, 20 degrees warmer or so, then we unplugged it to try to reset it hopefully and then it wouldn't get any colder than room temperature at all. The final unplugging happened just after the one year mark, so it was not covered on warranty. Now to fix it would cost more than buying a brand new replacement. It looks really good but if I am going to buy a $400 fridge again I will make sure the manufacturer has a better reputation or is willing to stand behind their product for more than a year. Please don't waste your money.
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: Not Durable
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 5.8 cu. ft. Beverage Center
from Michigan
Age Range:35 to 44
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Lasted six months

PostedAugust 1, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
If you're looking for a bargain, look elsewhere. That is, unless you're the type to buy a new fridge each season. Bought it because it was so inexpensive relative to the others, and it worked great for the first three months. A little loud, but it was a third the price of the competitors. Then, the temp controls decided they weren't going to do 37 degrees any longer; it got "stuck" at 45 degrees and wouldn't change. Oh well, I thought, that's fine. Six months after purchase, it was reading 75 degrees, compressor trying. Dead as a doornail, as far as cooling goes. Still under warranty, but what a waste of time and effort. I'm concerned they'll be (or are) out of business already after reading the reviews.
Pros: Looks Great, Easy to Clean
Cons: Quality, Digital Display, Repair Costs, Noisy, Maintenance, extremely short life
+22points
22out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 5.8 cu. ft. Beverage Center

don't buy this, unless you like warm beverages

PostedJuly 1, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased this with high hopes, which did not last long. Was never set on its side, but we still waited for 24 hrs before use. Set it to a nice cool 42, and waited. It stayed about 54 and never went cooler. After about a month we had a repairman recharge the unit, thinking that it may have not been fully chargered. Worked o.k.for about 3 weeks then the temp started to rise again. It is now set at 40 and will not drop below 60. Will never purchase this brand again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 5.8 cu. ft. Beverage Center
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked for a year...But priced right

PostedJuly 9, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I guess this is a get what you pay for situation. Had for just over a year and no longer cools and no longer covered by the warranty. It is an inexpensive way to get a built in refrigerator, but I now wish I payed more for one that would last longer.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 5.8 cu. ft. Beverage Center
from Chicago
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Don't be afraid to purchase this great value

PostedJuly 6, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This Vissoni cooler performs as good as it looks! Looks like I spent 3x's as much for a comparable high end brand that I replaced it with.i set temp at 37 degrees & it's still showing same temp after 1 week. Plenty cold for the 48 cans I have in it. I did purchase a protection plan for extra coverage.
Pros: Lots of Features, High Quality, Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 5.8 cu. ft. Beverage Center
from Vasil, AZ
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A great small soda and beer cooler.

PostedJuly 7, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I replaced a small fridge I have been using for several years. I considered another cheap fridge but was disappointed in the last one. Now I can have a very chilled soda or beer. and don't have to ettle for less.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, High Quality, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
Cons: Too Heavy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 5.8 cu. ft. Beverage Center
from Columbia MD
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Looks cool

PostedJune 2, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
We purchased this product for our executive conference room from the local Home depot and the item was damaged on all corners which I hadn't noticed until I got it to the office and unpacked it(that thing is not light!!!). I had to take it back to the store and They didn't have anymore in stock so I had to order it online. I ended up having to pay shipping when ordering online, there should be a way to have that removed if the product is out of stock in the store and it was damaged. Other than this, the product is overall good so far. Very appealing
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design
Cons: Too Heavy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 5.8 cu. ft. Beverage Center
from Spring, TX
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female

Give it a chance

PostedJune 9, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased this model in 2008 when they were still marketed as Magic Chef. The reviews were uniformly awful, but, the sale price ($99) was several hundred less than comparable models. I'm glad I took a chance on it. The unit comes set at 45 degrees from the factory, and can be reset following 3 short steps. If you don't follow the steps, the temp reverts to 45. I'd also recommend filling it in the beginning, rather than just putting in a few cans. Once full, the unit got down to temperature and stayed there.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: setting the temp
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 5.8 cu. ft. Beverage Center

Disposable Fridge

PostedJune 17, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I went online to find the user manual for this because after just over 12 months, it stopped cooling. Then I started to read the reviews and realized, it wasn't user error, it was the fridge. It's cheap, but you get what you pay for. It will last about a year and then die. If you want something for a year, buy it. Otherwise, pay a bit more and get something that will actually last more than 12 months.
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 5.8 cu. ft. Beverage Center
from Naples, FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great fridge

PostedMarch 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Our Monagram finally gave out after many years and we were desperate to find another beverage cooler as good. I had never heard of this brand but took a chance and so happy I did! It's a bit smaller however the storage for all size bottles is perfect! It keeps the temp set perfect and I haven't had any freezing. We are VERY happy with this cooler.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Easy to Clean, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 5.8 cu. ft. Beverage Center

Junk---Don't buy

PostedApril 13, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
What a piece of junk!!!! Never really cooled to set temperature and after 18 months just stopped working altogether. Don't waste your money.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 5.8 cu. ft. Beverage Center

NOT WORTH BUYING.

PostedAugust 20, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This cooler does not keep beer anywhere near beer cold. I bought it on August 31, 2011, so it's not even a year old. I never could get the thing to stay at 35 degrees. It always jumped up to 42-46 degrees. After several calls to the repair service (the cooler is still under warranty), I finally asked for my money back. Vissani agreed to refund my $400.00, although I haven't received it yet. I just wish I would have read the other reviews before buying the piece of junk.
+23points
24out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 5.8 cu. ft. Beverage Center
from Dublin, OH
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Perfect fit

PostedApril 22, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Was just the right size for my bar area, fairly standard, but hard to find something nicely appointed as this in this size. Others were more along the lines of college dorm looks. Had to switch from left hand to right hand opening. Fairly easily done but instructions weren't 100% perfect - easy to figure out though. Only criticism on the inside is that the options for shelving height don't allow for a typical bottle water container to stand up without losing a shelf. Again no big deal, lay the bottles down and stack them like firewood. Works. Excellent cooling, very fast getting down to the desired temperature. Quiet running.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 5.8 cu. ft. Beverage Center
from Northville, MI, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Junk. Worked for about a year.

PostedNovember 21, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
You get what you pay for. Held temp nicely at 39 degrees and then creeped up 1 degree every two months. I cant cool below 47 now. Fortunatley I have extended warranty through american express
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish
Cons: Not Durable
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 5.8 cu. ft. Beverage Center
from Huntington Beach, CA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Purchase!!

PostedMarch 26, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We purchased the display since it was going to be a garage refrigerator and it's awesome! It's quite, regulates itself in one day and stays at 37 degrees and looks great. It sells in store for $399, it was on sale for $368 and we asked if they could discount the item since it was a display and the box had been opened and we bought it for $280.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, High Quality, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 9 >>