728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 5.8 cu. ft. Beverage Center

5.8 cu. ft. Beverage Center

Serving your favorite beverages at the ideal temperature is easy with the Vissani 5.8 cu. ft. Beverage Cooler. The cooler's elegant, sturdy glass shelves are adjustable to offer versatile storage options, and the unit can hold up to 178 cans for your convenience. The tempered, smoked glass door and stainless steel frame and handle offer durability and an attractive look. The cooler can be built-in or left freestanding to suit your needs.
Overall rating:
2.622 / 5
2.6
 / 
5
(143 reviews) 143
Open Ratings Snapshot
42%of customersrecommend this product59 of 139reviews
Rating Breakdown 143 reviews
2.6 out of 5.0
5
(25)
4
(31)
3
(11)
2
(17)
1
(59)
Features 
2.9 out of 5.0
2.9 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
2.7 out of 5.0
2.7 out of 5
Quality 
2.3 out of 5.0
2.3 out of 5
Value 
2.5 out of 5.0
2.5 out of 5
42%of customersrecommend this product59 of 139reviews
Customer questions and answers:
8 Questions | 57 Answers
Customer reviews for 5.8 cu. ft. Beverage Center
Review 1 for 5.8 cu. ft. Beverage Center
from Fairfax, VA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Cautious and Skeptical!!!!

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is a bit long, but bare with me. We bought the model before this (Magic Chef) in 2007, along with the matching wine cooler. The wine cooler has worked perfectly since 2007. The beverage center did not. Like others it would not get below 50 degs. We dealt with it until it finally died Feb 2014. I looked for another one like it to match the existing wine cooler we have, but the model was no longer available. Well, I think it is, but it is called the Vissani now. The difference is in the door handle. I read and reread all the reviews for this over and over and was hoping that I could buy another and not have the problems everyone else is. I was thinking how can Magic Chef not correct these issues. We have another small refrigerator by Magic Chef and it has worked like a champ. I took the leap of faith and purchased the Vissani again, but this time with the extended warranty (I was worried). After brining it home, I left it stand up right for 24 hours before plugging it in. In hopes of not needing to buy another wine cooler (so they would match), I swapped out the doors from my one that crapped out a few months ago with the door on the Vissani I just bought. It was a perfect fit (they are both the same less the door handle anyway). I plugged it in and waited and waited and the thing would not cool below 50 degs. Forty-eight hours later I was completely frustrated. I was on the Internet and came across a blog/review and the guy was telling the other guy to pull the back off and check a couple wires to see if they were cool or hot to touch. One was supposed to be hot the other cool. So I figured what the heck, I went to unscrew the back panel and I could hardly touch the back panel, it was so hot. Got the cover off and the inside was extremely hot. I noticed the fan was not moving, so I stuck my finger in there and tried to give it a nudge. No luck. Would not turn. I got to looking and saw it was hung up on the coils. I unplugged the unit and then proceeded to bend the coils slightly away (by pushing them in opposite direction of the fan) until the fan would move smoothly with the touch of my finger. I plugged it back in and the fan immediately started spinning. I adjusted the thermostat down to 38 degs and I waited. I came back a couple hours later and low and behold the temperature in the refrigerator was in the low 40's. Another hour later and it was at 39 degs. It made it to 38 degs and has operated like the manual says it should. Cools to set temperature, shuts off until the temperature rises 3 degs and then it turns back on and cools back down to 38. It has been going strong now for a couple months. I am skeptical and hope that it keeps going strong. I probably voided the warranty by opening the back up, but that's okay my beer is the perfect temperature. I do the happy dance every time I walk by it. I am hesitant to rate the Quality and Value until I know this unit is going to keep going. The same holds true as to whether I would recommend this product. I've crossed my fingers and have checked yes.
Pros: Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: didn't work properly when i got it home.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 5.8 cu. ft. Beverage Center
from Naples, FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great fridge

PostedMarch 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Our Monagram finally gave out after many years and we were desperate to find another beverage cooler as good. I had never heard of this brand but took a chance and so happy I did! It's a bit smaller however the storage for all size bottles is perfect! It keeps the temp set perfect and I haven't had any freezing. We are VERY happy with this cooler.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Easy to Clean, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 5.8 cu. ft. Beverage Center
from Pocatello, ID
Age Range:25 to 34
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

DO NOT BUY!!! JUNK!

PostedNovember 20, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this fridge, had it for just over one year, lightly used. After a couple months the temperature would not even come close to what we set it at, 20 degrees warmer or so, then we unplugged it to try to reset it hopefully and then it wouldn't get any colder than room temperature at all. The final unplugging happened just after the one year mark, so it was not covered on warranty. Now to fix it would cost more than buying a brand new replacement. It looks really good but if I am going to buy a $400 fridge again I will make sure the manufacturer has a better reputation or is willing to stand behind their product for more than a year. Please don't waste your money.
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: Not Durable
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 5.8 cu. ft. Beverage Center
from Michigan
Age Range:35 to 44
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Lasted six months

PostedAugust 1, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
If you're looking for a bargain, look elsewhere. That is, unless you're the type to buy a new fridge each season. Bought it because it was so inexpensive relative to the others, and it worked great for the first three months. A little loud, but it was a third the price of the competitors. Then, the temp controls decided they weren't going to do 37 degrees any longer; it got "stuck" at 45 degrees and wouldn't change. Oh well, I thought, that's fine. Six months after purchase, it was reading 75 degrees, compressor trying. Dead as a doornail, as far as cooling goes. Still under warranty, but what a waste of time and effort. I'm concerned they'll be (or are) out of business already after reading the reviews.
Pros: Looks Great, Easy to Clean
Cons: Quality, Digital Display, Repair Costs, Noisy, Maintenance, extremely short life
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 5.8 cu. ft. Beverage Center
from Littdle Rock Ar
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice cooler

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Worth the money, especially with a 10% off card. Did not take long to order since there was not one in the store.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 5.8 cu. ft. Beverage Center

NOT WORTH BUYING.

PostedAugust 20, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This cooler does not keep beer anywhere near beer cold. I bought it on August 31, 2011, so it's not even a year old. I never could get the thing to stay at 35 degrees. It always jumped up to 42-46 degrees. After several calls to the repair service (the cooler is still under warranty), I finally asked for my money back. Vissani agreed to refund my $400.00, although I haven't received it yet. I just wish I would have read the other reviews before buying the piece of junk.
+20points
21out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 5.8 cu. ft. Beverage Center
from San Francisco

Last 18 months. Thank god for the protection plan.

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased this in 12/2012 along with the product plan from Home Depot. It worked fine for about 18 months and we loved the ability to control the temperature since we intended to store our wine bottles.
We had no problems for 18 months and it kept all our wine at the perfect temperature for long term storage. Well, 1 weeks ago, we noticed that the temperature had hit the 70s which is not ideal for any wine. We didn't know how long it had been like this, but we attempted to lower the temperature hoping that it would start cooling the bottles again. No luck... unplugged it and plugged it back in. No luck. So we took out all our wine bottles and contacted Home Depot to have it serviced through the protection plan we had purchased.
Unfortunately, they could not find a repair shop to service it in our area so we were reimbursed the total amount. However, buyer beware, avoid this refrigerator at all cost unless you plan to purchase a protection plan with it.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 5.8 cu. ft. Beverage Center
from Iowa
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

$130 Dorm Fridge lasts longer....

PostedJuly 14, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
If it were possible to give zero stars, I would. Got one of these when it was branded Magic Chef and it died after about a year or so (never got below 38 degrees ever!). The Home Depot sales rep in the appliance department was awesome and let us bring it back for exchange.
New one, now called "Vissani", is the same Magic Chef junk as before but with a fancy name. Once again, never got below 38 degrees, and lasted about a year. Now I have this heavy $400+ piece of junk sitting in my storage room until I get rid of it.
Replaced it with a 4.3 cubin foot dorm fridge, a whopping $130, that cannot be set to the coldest temp because it will freeze my beer. Wish I had just gotten this dorm fridge in the first place instead of buying something that looks fancy but performs like junk (Range Rover of the fridge industry).
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: junk
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 5.8 cu. ft. Beverage Center
from Northville, MI, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Junk. Worked for about a year.

PostedNovember 21, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
You get what you pay for. Held temp nicely at 39 degrees and then creeped up 1 degree every two months. I cant cool below 47 now. Fortunatley I have extended warranty through american express
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish
Cons: Not Durable
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 5.8 cu. ft. Beverage Center
from Safety Harbor, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

you have to know how to use it

PostedMay 27, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This cooler is not as straightforward as it seems. If you follow these guidelines, you should be OK...
1. the 'cooler' only maintains the temperature. If you put in room warmth beverages, it will take it days to cool them and it will do so unevenly. I found that this product works best if the beverages are pre cooled to desired temperature. From there, the fridge does a good job keeping them cold (in my case, 36-38 degrees).
2. the fridge keeps the back wall of the fridge cold. In fact, it can build up ice. anything that contacts the back will freeze... so, to avoid messy cleanup and avoid dis satisfaction, do not push objects past the shelf lip to contact the back wall and allow some airspace. likewise, as mentioned before, put precooled beverages in the fridge to avoid throwing the thermostat off kilter.
Overall, this is a good product. it is NOT a mini fridge or a commercial fridge... it is a cooler. a subtle but important difference.
we use it to store cans, juices, water bottles... things that clutter the main fridge and keep the door open the most. for that, it is great
a good way to improve it would be to improve ventilation... in other words, wire rack shelves and improved fan.
It is attractive and has lots of features. it is also the least expensive cooler in this capacity range. Set realistic expectations and understand the product and it will be great.
Pros: Lots of Features, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+16points
17out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 5.8 cu. ft. Beverage Center
from St. Louis, MO, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Terrible refrigerator

PostedApril 23, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I always check out reviews, etc, online before making a major purchase, but my wife and I saw this at the store when purchasing a full sized refrigerator and thought, "Wow, this looks nice for beverages in our downstairs game room, bar area". We just assumed a "Beverage Cooler" could keep beverages COLD. Not even close! It says that it can be set for 35 degrees...but the digital display never went below 37..mostly always 38 or 39. But a "real" thermometer showed that most of the refrigerator stays in the 42-44 range. Beer and soda barely chilled. Contacted manufacturer several times ("Magic Chef") and was curtly told three different times, after being ignored initially, that those temps "were in the acceptable range for this cooler". Then I typed the model into google and saw all of the same temperature complaints! So we just took it back to Home Depot and got our money back. Live and learn. Never "assume" that a Beverage cooler can actually keep your drinks COLD like they should be.
Pros: Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design
Cons: does not keep drinks cold
+18points
20out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 5.8 cu. ft. Beverage Center
from Knoxville, TN
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female

Broke after 16 months!! Never really kept things that cold.

PostedJanuary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This fridge looks nice, but not worth the money. It never really kept our drinks COLD, stayed at about 38*F and then it stopped working about a month ago... We have had it a little over a year...
It only has a year warranty, so I am just out $400.
You'd think a product "worth" $400 would last MUCH longer. This is one of Home Depot's proprietary brands they take "pride" in.... This is very disappointing.
I was also put through a run-around trying to contact Vissani's customer service.
I'm still waiting for them to call me back to find out if there is anyone in my area that can fix it. Yesterday they suggested using my own repair man.....
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: Not Durable, stops cooling after one yeat, breaks, doesnt keep drinks cold
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 5.8 cu. ft. Beverage Center
from Ohio, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male

STAY AWAY

PostedJuly 26, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased two of these for our bar in the basement. They ran fine at first. The LED interior lighting went out of one at 13 months and just today the second one stopped cooling.
Too much money for just a years worth of use.
I do not recommend.
Cons: Leaks, Quality, Performance
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 5.8 cu. ft. Beverage Center
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice Product

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to work with and great product. Would do this again.
Pros: Durable, Lots of Features, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 5.8 cu. ft. Beverage Center
from Denver
Age Range:45 to 54

Compressor went out at little over a year.

PostedSeptember 19, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The compressor went out after a year and half so I called Vassani about the 5 yr. warranty. They were happy to ship a new compressor to a certified repair company once I could provide them with a name and address. I've search for 3 weeks and have not found a single company in the Denver area that is will to repair this beverage center. According to one repair company, "it will be cheaper to buy a new than have me come out to repair it".
Pros: Easy to Install, Nice Design
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 5.8 cu. ft. Beverage Center
from Portland, OR
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

One dead, other half dead after 3 years

PostedAugust 21, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
On the upside, these have worked for us for 3 years, which is longer than for many people on here. On the downside, one completely stopped cooling a month ago and now it's sibling is having a harder and harder time keeping cool, even with very little inside. We now begin the (I'm sure) thrilling Service Center rodeo. I really wish these were longer lasting. They look so cool... (sob). Nobody should buy this without some kind of extended warranty attached. Get it together, Magic Chef. I can only imagine the number of these things in the landfills all over this country.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design
Cons: Not Durable, doesn't last long
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 5.8 cu. ft. Beverage Center

This product is junk

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The first one I bought was very loud. I returned it and tried another one. The packaging was so cheap the unit was damaged inside the packaging. I returned it and bought the Frigidaire brand from Lowes.
Cons: Not Durable, poor quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 5.8 cu. ft. Beverage Center
from Minneapolis-St. Paul
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Performed Poorly for 6 months, then died

PostedApril 28, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Dead after less than six months of use in a temperature-controlled indoor environment. In the six months before it died it was loud when it cycled on. Before it died it performed poorly, slow to cool and never able to cool drinks enough unless it was set to the second highest setting. All in all, one of the worst products I have ever purchased. I am surprised and disappointed that Home Depot carries this product.
Cons: Not Durable, Noisy, poor performance, package should clearly state 'for indoor use only'
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 5.8 cu. ft. Beverage Center
from Reno, NV, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Works Great

PostedJuly 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this cooler for basement bar remodel and it has worked perfectly since I installed it, had a slight problem getting it level, but no big deal. The digital controls are easy to use. It keeps everything between 37-41 degrees, looks great and the price was right. The only thing that I would change is the LED light, it could be brighter but it still looks good. It keeps beer colder than my local bar does!
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Looks Great, Great Value, Easy to Clean, Digital, Reliable, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+2points
6out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 5.8 cu. ft. Beverage Center

Worked for a week

PostedJuly 8, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The unit was purchased at HD and when installed it worked fine for about a week. Then there was a leak and the unit stopped cooling. Since it is a sealed unit, it cannot be fixed. I dont recommend this unit to anyone.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 8 >>