728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 5.8 cu. ft. Beverage Center

5.8 cu. ft. Beverage Center

Serving your favorite beverages at the ideal temperature is easy with the Vissani 5.8 cu. ft. Beverage Cooler. The cooler's elegant, sturdy glass shelves are adjustable to offer versatile storage options, and the unit can hold up to 178 cans for your convenience. The tempered, smoked glass door and stainless steel frame and handle offer durability and an attractive look. The cooler can be built-in or left freestanding to suit your needs.
Overall rating:
2.595 / 5
2.6
 / 
5
(153 reviews) 153
Open Ratings Snapshot
42%of customersrecommend this product62 of 149reviews
Rating Breakdown 153 reviews
2.6 out of 5
5
(28)
4
(31)
3
(11)
2
(17)
1
(66)
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
2.7 out of 5
2.7 out of 5
Quality 
2.4 out of 5
2.4 out of 5
Value 
2.5 out of 5
2.5 out of 5
42%of customersrecommend this product62 of 149reviews
Customer questions and answers:
9 Questions | 60 Answers
Customer reviews for 5.8 cu. ft. Beverage Center
Review 1 for 5.8 cu. ft. Beverage Center

do not buy! junk

PostedFebruary 14, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this 7 months ago at depot. Led light went out in first month then the whole thing stopped working all together after 7 months. Apparently I'm not the only one....read other people's reviews.
Fluctuations in temperature since new.
Spend a little more and get something else.
Home Depot will not warranty or replace and only 7 months old.
Junk junk junk.....
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 5.8 cu. ft. Beverage Center
from Fairfax, VA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Cautious and Skeptical!!!!

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This is a bit long, but bare with me. We bought the model before this (Magic Chef) in 2007, along with the matching wine cooler. The wine cooler has worked perfectly since 2007. The beverage center did not. Like others it would not get below 50 degs. We dealt with it until it finally died Feb 2014. I looked for another one like it to match the existing wine cooler we have, but the model was no longer available. Well, I think it is, but it is called the Vissani now. The difference is in the door handle. I read and reread all the reviews for this over and over and was hoping that I could buy another and not have the problems everyone else is. I was thinking how can Magic Chef not correct these issues. We have another small refrigerator by Magic Chef and it has worked like a champ. I took the leap of faith and purchased the Vissani again, but this time with the extended warranty (I was worried). After brining it home, I left it stand up right for 24 hours before plugging it in. In hopes of not needing to buy another wine cooler (so they would match), I swapped out the doors from my one that crapped out a few months ago with the door on the Vissani I just bought. It was a perfect fit (they are both the same less the door handle anyway). I plugged it in and waited and waited and the thing would not cool below 50 degs. Forty-eight hours later I was completely frustrated. I was on the Internet and came across a blog/review and the guy was telling the other guy to pull the back off and check a couple wires to see if they were cool or hot to touch. One was supposed to be hot the other cool. So I figured what the heck, I went to unscrew the back panel and I could hardly touch the back panel, it was so hot. Got the cover off and the inside was extremely hot. I noticed the fan was not moving, so I stuck my finger in there and tried to give it a nudge. No luck. Would not turn. I got to looking and saw it was hung up on the coils. I unplugged the unit and then proceeded to bend the coils slightly away (by pushing them in opposite direction of the fan) until the fan would move smoothly with the touch of my finger. I plugged it back in and the fan immediately started spinning. I adjusted the thermostat down to 38 degs and I waited. I came back a couple hours later and low and behold the temperature in the refrigerator was in the low 40's. Another hour later and it was at 39 degs. It made it to 38 degs and has operated like the manual says it should. Cools to set temperature, shuts off until the temperature rises 3 degs and then it turns back on and cools back down to 38. It has been going strong now for a couple months. I am skeptical and hope that it keeps going strong. I probably voided the warranty by opening the back up, but that's okay my beer is the perfect temperature. I do the happy dance every time I walk by it. I am hesitant to rate the Quality and Value until I know this unit is going to keep going. The same holds true as to whether I would recommend this product. I've crossed my fingers and have checked yes.
Pros: Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: didn't work properly when i got it home.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 5.8 cu. ft. Beverage Center
from Pocatello, ID
Age Range:25 to 34
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

DO NOT BUY!!! JUNK!

PostedNovember 20, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this fridge, had it for just over one year, lightly used. After a couple months the temperature would not even come close to what we set it at, 20 degrees warmer or so, then we unplugged it to try to reset it hopefully and then it wouldn't get any colder than room temperature at all. The final unplugging happened just after the one year mark, so it was not covered on warranty. Now to fix it would cost more than buying a brand new replacement. It looks really good but if I am going to buy a $400 fridge again I will make sure the manufacturer has a better reputation or is willing to stand behind their product for more than a year. Please don't waste your money.
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: Not Durable
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 5.8 cu. ft. Beverage Center
from Michigan
Age Range:35 to 44
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Lasted six months

PostedAugust 1, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
If you're looking for a bargain, look elsewhere. That is, unless you're the type to buy a new fridge each season. Bought it because it was so inexpensive relative to the others, and it worked great for the first three months. A little loud, but it was a third the price of the competitors. Then, the temp controls decided they weren't going to do 37 degrees any longer; it got "stuck" at 45 degrees and wouldn't change. Oh well, I thought, that's fine. Six months after purchase, it was reading 75 degrees, compressor trying. Dead as a doornail, as far as cooling goes. Still under warranty, but what a waste of time and effort. I'm concerned they'll be (or are) out of business already after reading the reviews.
Pros: Looks Great, Easy to Clean
Cons: Quality, Digital Display, Repair Costs, Noisy, Maintenance, extremely short life
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 5.8 cu. ft. Beverage Center
from Portland, Oregon
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Terrible customer service

PostedFebruary 13, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased this from Home Depot 7 months ago. The back started smelling two weeks ago like there was rotten milk. I took everything out and cleaned the inside thinking something might have been spoiled, but the smell came back. When I spoke to Home Depot they only said sorry. I need to call Visanni or buy a extended warranty. It's too bad that you spend so much money and then no one is willing to help.
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 5.8 cu. ft. Beverage Center
from Winchester Virginia
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Dead after 2 and 1/2 years

PostedFebruary 16, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Thought it was great at first. Looked great and kept my cans and bottles fairly cold. Not quite cold enough but close. Couldn't beat the price compared to similar looking Kitchenaid. Now its headed to the dump. Beware. You get what you pay for...
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 5.8 cu. ft. Beverage Center
from Westerly, RI
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Just what I was looking for.

PostedFebruary 6, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Keeps beer at a perfect 38 degrees and hold all my favorite beer. I was taken back by all the negative for this cooler. I think some purchase it think it will work like a refrigerator. It is not designed that way. If you review the specs the coldest the COOLER not REFRIGERATOR will be down to 39 degrees. I am able maintain 37 to 38. For the price it does exactly what is was designed to do.
Pros: Easy to Clean, High Quality, Looks Great, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 5.8 cu. ft. Beverage Center
from Naples, FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great fridge

PostedMarch 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Our Monagram finally gave out after many years and we were desperate to find another beverage cooler as good. I had never heard of this brand but took a chance and so happy I did! It's a bit smaller however the storage for all size bottles is perfect! It keeps the temp set perfect and I haven't had any freezing. We are VERY happy with this cooler.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Easy to Clean, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 5.8 cu. ft. Beverage Center

Terrible purchase

PostedFebruary 1, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Don't buy this!! Brought it home for our lower level bar area next to our theater room.
Was so load we could hear it over our movie. Runs all the time. Set at 39 degrees and runs every 15 minutes to keep that temp. Looks great but not worth the noise and constant running. We are bringing back today and will invest in a better one. What a hassle!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 5.8 cu. ft. Beverage Center

fridge died after 1year

PostedFebruary 7, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
wasted $400 on this garbage...the tempature never worked properly and it finally died. don't buy this fridge
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 5.8 cu. ft. Beverage Center
from Iowa

Great!!!!

PostedFebruary 5, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Not sure why the reviews are bad. We have two and we love them!! We are getting a third for our movie room. They run great and they are sleek looking.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 5.8 cu. ft. Beverage Center

NOT WORTH BUYING.

PostedAugust 20, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This cooler does not keep beer anywhere near beer cold. I bought it on August 31, 2011, so it's not even a year old. I never could get the thing to stay at 35 degrees. It always jumped up to 42-46 degrees. After several calls to the repair service (the cooler is still under warranty), I finally asked for my money back. Vissani agreed to refund my $400.00, although I haven't received it yet. I just wish I would have read the other reviews before buying the piece of junk.
+22points
23out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 5.8 cu. ft. Beverage Center
from Reisterstown, MD
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Junk

PostedJanuary 7, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this cooler 2 years ago. Comments about the inaccuracy of the digital temperature display are correct. It did keep drinks cold, but sometimes they froze. There was always ice in the back of the cooler. At a little over 2 years, the compressor quit. In spite of free replacement for the compressor, the cost of labor and refrigerant came to about the cost of a new cooler. Anyone who can't build a refrigerator that lasts at least 10 years is building trash. I will not buy another.
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 5.8 cu. ft. Beverage Center
from Northville, MI, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Junk. Worked for about a year.

PostedNovember 21, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
You get what you pay for. Held temp nicely at 39 degrees and then creeped up 1 degree every two months. I cant cool below 47 now. Fortunatley I have extended warranty through american express
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish
Cons: Not Durable
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 5.8 cu. ft. Beverage Center
from Knoxville, TN
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female

Broke after 16 months!! Never really kept things that cold.

PostedJanuary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This fridge looks nice, but not worth the money. It never really kept our drinks COLD, stayed at about 38*F and then it stopped working about a month ago... We have had it a little over a year...
It only has a year warranty, so I am just out $400.
You'd think a product "worth" $400 would last MUCH longer. This is one of Home Depot's proprietary brands they take "pride" in.... This is very disappointing.
I was also put through a run-around trying to contact Vissani's customer service.
I'm still waiting for them to call me back to find out if there is anyone in my area that can fix it. Yesterday they suggested using my own repair man.....
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: Not Durable, stops cooling after one yeat, breaks, doesnt keep drinks cold
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 5.8 cu. ft. Beverage Center
from St. Louis, MO, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Terrible refrigerator

PostedApril 23, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I always check out reviews, etc, online before making a major purchase, but my wife and I saw this at the store when purchasing a full sized refrigerator and thought, "Wow, this looks nice for beverages in our downstairs game room, bar area". We just assumed a "Beverage Cooler" could keep beverages COLD. Not even close! It says that it can be set for 35 degrees...but the digital display never went below 37..mostly always 38 or 39. But a "real" thermometer showed that most of the refrigerator stays in the 42-44 range. Beer and soda barely chilled. Contacted manufacturer several times ("Magic Chef") and was curtly told three different times, after being ignored initially, that those temps "were in the acceptable range for this cooler". Then I typed the model into google and saw all of the same temperature complaints! So we just took it back to Home Depot and got our money back. Live and learn. Never "assume" that a Beverage cooler can actually keep your drinks COLD like they should be.
Pros: Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design
Cons: does not keep drinks cold
+19points
21out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 5.8 cu. ft. Beverage Center
from Ohio, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male

STAY AWAY

PostedJuly 26, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased two of these for our bar in the basement. They ran fine at first. The LED interior lighting went out of one at 13 months and just today the second one stopped cooling.
Too much money for just a years worth of use.
I do not recommend.
Cons: Leaks, Quality, Performance
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 5.8 cu. ft. Beverage Center
from Dallas, TX
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Lasted 2 years with very light use

PostedJanuary 8, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Looks nice, but noisy. Kept drinks cool while it worked. However rarely used it in a game room bar. After two years the temperature rose to 64 degrees and that was it. Couldn't be adjusted, unplugging did not help. Would not buy again.
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 5.8 cu. ft. Beverage Center
from White Lake, MI
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Capacity

PostedDecember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I purchased this unit to be placed in the wall in my bar to increase the overall capacity vs the small mini fridge that currently exists. Due to the holidays and hosting family I needed to plug it in and start using it immediately. It has only been operating for a week now and very pleasant on the performance. Cant wait to get it into the wall.
Pros: Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Clean
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 5.8 cu. ft. Beverage Center
Age Range:25 to 34

Works fine for me!

PostedDecember 18, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I've had this beverage cooler for 8 months, and it has done the job for me. I was skeptical at first because it is considerably cheaper than other models, but I have been pleasantly surprised. I have it set at 37 degrees and use it for keeping beer and non-alcoholic beverages cool. I've read other reviews about how it doesn't get drinks very cold or sometimes leave you with downright warm drinks. I won't discount what those folks are saying, but I simply have not experienced that. In fact, I have the opposite problem. If you really fill it up to capacity with cans/bottles, the cans/bottles towards the back can have a tendency to freeze up on you, and I have had a couple aluminum cans literally explode their tops off leaving me with a mess to clean up. I have found that if I leave an inch or two of space just in the back center of the middle row, that seems to alleviate the freezing issue. I am guessing that it allows better air flow for more uniform temperature throughout.
The fridge isn't the quietest thing in the world; it actually sounds about the same as my full-size kitchen fridge when it runs. For perspective, I have it under the counter in my kitchen very close to my family room where we spend most of our time, and although you can hear it running, it isn't a nuisance and doesn't cause us to change the volume on the TV. I do also get an occasional knocking sound when the compressor first kicks on for the cycle which is quite loud - I would classify that as a nuisance if it wasn't for the fact that it happens for a split second once or twice an hour at most, and it certainly doesn't happen each and every time it turns on. Also, it does seem to run frequently which concerned me, but it hasn't had any noticeable effect on my electric bill.
Visually, I think this thing looks better than the picture. I can't explain it other than you'd have to see it for yourself in person. I like that there is a nice Vissani logo provided in the bag that you can affix to the unit (it's secured by double-sided sticky tape), but I left it off because it just provides a cleaner look. I doubt Vissani intentionally provides the logo separately so that people can choose not to put it on, but the unintended "feature" is a plus in my opinion.
Sorry for the long review, but I wanted to give you as much info as I could to help you make your decision. People are generally less inclined to take the time to review a product when it does the job it is expected to do, so we are often left reading mostly negative reviews from frustrated folks that are experiencing problems...what you never really know is whether or not the percentage of the negative reviews correlates to the percentage of product owners that are unhappy with the product. I can't answer that question obviously, but I wanted to at least give you perspective from a "happy" customer for your shopping comparison.
In conclusion, would I say this thing is perfect? No. Do I think it will last for years and years? I'm still a little skeptical. But, it's been running like a champ, and for less than $400, my opinion after 8 months of use is that this unit has exceeded my expectations, and I am planning to purchase a second one in a few months when I finish my basement.
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 8 >>