728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Door Knobs & Hardware or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Juno Satin Nickel Entry Knob and Single Cylinder Deadbolt Combo Pack Featuring SmartKey

Juno Satin Nickel Entry Knob and Single Cylinder Deadbolt Combo Pack Featuring SmartKey

Step up to designer styles and superior security with Kwikset signature series products. Juno's elegant, traditional style blends perfectly with most design styles. The 980 deadbolt is both tough and attractive. The crisp, clean appearance of the Satin Nickel finish adds to the overall look of the product and brings a modern feel. The Combo pack provides 2 locking points- keyed entry and a deadbolt. SmartKey Re-key Technology allows you to control who has access to your home. Re-key the lock yourself in seconds in 3 easy steps. Have you recently moved or had a child lose a key. It’s time to re-key. SmartKey provides the highest level of residential security and features BumpGuard to protect against lock bumping.
Overall rating:
4.27 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(174 reviews) 174
Open Ratings Snapshot
86%of customersrecommend this product147 of 171reviews
Rating Breakdown 174 reviews
4.3 out of 5
5
(109)
4
(36)
3
(8)
2
(9)
1
(12)
Quality 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
86%of customersrecommend this product147 of 171reviews
Customer questions and answers:
20 Questions | 89 Answers
Customer reviews for Juno Satin Nickel Entry Knob and Single Cylinder Deadbolt Combo Pack Featuring SmartKey
Review 1 for Juno Satin Nickel Entry Knob and Single Cylinder Deadbolt Combo Pack Featuring SmartKey
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Doorknobs!

PostedMarch 23, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I've used Kwikset Smart Key knobs on all outside doors whenever I've purchased a new house. They are quite easy to install (take a bit of time usually to get everything just right, but that's more user error/slowness than a product fault :)), look beautiful, and function well. They feel sturdy and well-made. I never ran into issues with my Kwikset locks at my old house and just installed this particular set this weekend at my new house. Highly recommend!
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Stylish, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Juno Satin Nickel Entry Knob and Single Cylinder Deadbolt Combo Pack Featuring SmartKey
from Tucson
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I'm Happy

PostedMarch 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Easy install.
Good instructions.
Contacted them via onsite contact form to request Cylinder Removal Tool to correct handedness for one upside down lock.
Tool arrived within one week (no charge).
I'm happy.
Pros: Easy to Install, Stylish, Durable, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Juno Satin Nickel Entry Knob and Single Cylinder Deadbolt Combo Pack Featuring SmartKey
from VA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't know how it works but I love it!

PostedFebruary 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
After 14 years in the house, some of the locksets were getting worn. REally didn't want to re-key a bunch of new ones then I found these. I was able to do my replacements and then a remodel with 6 new doors, two on the deck to the eave storage, two on the new mechanical space one on the poolhouse and the new garage door, all in about 5 minutes a door. Check back in 5-10 years and I'll let you know how they hold up.
Pros: Easy to Install, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Juno Satin Nickel Entry Knob and Single Cylinder Deadbolt Combo Pack Featuring SmartKey
from Peoria, AZ, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Smartkey is great!

PostedMarch 3, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Easy to install and the Smartkey feature makes it very easy to rekey to the existing key combination!
Pros: Easy to Install, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Juno Satin Nickel Entry Knob and Single Cylinder Deadbolt Combo Pack Featuring SmartKey
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Excellent Purchase

PostedDecember 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I just moved into my new home and I ordered dead bolts and new door knob for my front door and my son installed it. I then decided to get another set for my back door. After he installed them, he said that there was a "smart key" and he arranged it so the front and back door have the same key. Wonderful product and now I feel so safe. Also, after I ordered my fan and door know and it was delivered on a day I was not home... I was worried about what I heard on TV about people taking packages... well the wonderful driver went around back of my house and left it on the porch so no one from the street could see it. Wonderful delivery person.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Juno Satin Nickel Entry Knob and Single Cylinder Deadbolt Combo Pack Featuring SmartKey
from WA state
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to replace old locks, but doorknob outside key hole upsidedown

PostedJanuary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Very easy to replace existing Kwikset locks (old ones were not smartkey) since holes already there, but I had heard from other reviews you had to get a part (free) from Quikset depending which way your doors open. Before removing the old locks, I read the instructions to make sure I understood what to do. I wasn't sure if I needed the part, so I called the 800 number and told the guy which way my door opened and he gave me bad information. He said it wouldn't matter which way the door opened, but something told me he didn't know what he was talking about (and I was right), so I asked him to mail me the free tool anyhow.
I went ahead and installed the deadbolt and he was right about that piece - I just flipped it around so the throw slid in the correct direction (it says "top" on the cylinder piece), but when I installed the knob piece, you can't really flip anything around so the keyed half (outside knob lock) is now upsidedown, which is what I had asked the guy about (he said that wouldn't happen). The instructions don't say anything about this, so I find it misleading that they advertise the product as being able to work on any door (reversible). I heard it's not good to have the lock upsidedown because the tumblers are then on the bottom & can catch water, etc. Makes sense.
I will fix it when I get the tool. FYI, from the outside, as you are facing the door, the hinges are on the right side, so if any of your doors are hung this direction, you will need to get the special tool. Unfortunatley, my other 2 doors are the same way so I will wait for the tool to replace those locks.
Pros: Easy to Install, Stylish
Cons: not reversible, 800# bad information
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Juno Satin Nickel Entry Knob and Single Cylinder Deadbolt Combo Pack Featuring SmartKey
from illinois
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

worst customer service ever

PostedFebruary 17, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Easy to install but if you want to contact customer service for a replacement part... forget it. They don't know or understand anything about locks.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: customer service
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Response from By KwiksetFebruary 24, 2015By KwiksetFebruary 24, 2015
Robert,
We are sorry to hear about your customer service experience. Please know that our customer service representatives are trained on all our products, and we have experts on hand to answer more technical questions. If you have a question or concern, that was not resolved initially, please contact our service team at customercare@kwikset.com, and someone will be able to assist you directly.
Thank you, Kwikset kwikset
Review 8 for Juno Satin Nickel Entry Knob and Single Cylinder Deadbolt Combo Pack Featuring SmartKey
from North Carolina, USA
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice, easy to do, but needed tool to turn cylinder

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Bought this to replace older handles and deadbolts. Easy to install, replaced 3 sets within an hour. Had to call the 800 number to get a tool to reverse the cylinder on the handles. (a piece of metal that should have been included). Otherwise it was upside down with our installation. Got that within the week and was able to switch them within 15 minutes. Rekeying the lock was easy. Product is sturdy, lock feels tight. With our old handles you were able to open the door in the lock position, go outside and, voilà, you were locked out! These knobs need to be unlocked to open the door from the inside and subsequently you need to relock it if that's what you want to do! Would definitely recommend.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Stylish, Nice Design
Cons: tool to switch cylinder not included
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Juno Satin Nickel Entry Knob and Single Cylinder Deadbolt Combo Pack Featuring SmartKey
from Olathe, KS, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great Lock Set

PostedJune 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This has to be one of the easiest door lock installations I have ever done. It is great. They are high grade and make you feel more secure in your home or business. I like the smart key feature in that I no longer have to re-key the house every time I change a lock. It is very important that you read and follow the directions on how to use your smart key. The fact that they are "bump proof" is an added security feature. They install in the existing openings and if you have to cut an opening, again follow the instructions. If you do what it says and take your time it will work great out for you. They look nice and add value to the house in that incoming owners can change the locks themselves and not pay a locksmith,
These locks are great in all aspects.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Easy to Move, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, follow instructions
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Juno Satin Nickel Entry Knob and Single Cylinder Deadbolt Combo Pack Featuring SmartKey

Quality

PostedFebruary 4, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought these to replace an old lock to my house. I liked the fact I could reset it to the old key easily so I wouldn't have to cut all new keys for everyone in the house. The lock feels sturdy and quality in the hand. I think it was a great choice for me.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Juno Satin Nickel Entry Knob and Single Cylinder Deadbolt Combo Pack Featuring SmartKey
from Gresham, OR 97030, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product

PostedApril 25, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Looks clean and classy. A little awkward to install and actually scratched the nob while trying to angle my screwdriver in to get the screws to tighten. Next one I installed I wrapped it in tape to create a buffer. Worked great. Durable product.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Nice Design
Cons: angle to install screw promoted scratching of prod
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Juno Satin Nickel Entry Knob and Single Cylinder Deadbolt Combo Pack Featuring SmartKey
from Provo, Utah
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fantastic High-Quality Door Knob and DeadBolt

PostedJanuary 13, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
It was very easy to install. I have the same set on my front, rear, and garage/outdoor access doors. They are very safe, have a great look, and simply work. There are a lot of junk handles out there that I have been through. This set is the last set I am purchasing.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Juno Satin Nickel Entry Knob and Single Cylinder Deadbolt Combo Pack Featuring SmartKey
from Kansas City
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Poor experience

PostedDecember 12, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Always bought another brand, will buy the other brand next time. After installation knob didn't turn well to stiff.
Cons: didn't work well after installation
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Juno Satin Nickel Entry Knob and Single Cylinder Deadbolt Combo Pack Featuring SmartKey
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

Feels cheap, wore out after 2 years.

PostedNovember 28, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Deadbolt works great, but the doorknob part is cheap. Screws holding it together came loose all the time and had to keep retightening them. Then after 2 years it just seized up and wouldn't unlock anymore. Not with the key, and not from the inside with the knob. It was ok while it lasted, but you get what you pay for I suppose.
Cons: Not Durable
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Juno Satin Nickel Entry Knob and Single Cylinder Deadbolt Combo Pack Featuring SmartKey
from Simi
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Smart keys are Junk

PostedAugust 12, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I replaced my front door, secuity door, side, and garage doors with smart key locks. Deadbolts and door handles 8 Total. every 2 to 3 weeks one or another them becomes difficult to open. I reset them and im good for a couple of more weeks until my wife or daughter has to go to the side of the house or some other door to get in because the smartlock once again wont open. The last time I am unable to get the smartlock to open at all so I can't reset it.Very frustrating.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: Not Durable, unreliable
+8points
10out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Juno Satin Nickel Entry Knob and Single Cylinder Deadbolt Combo Pack Featuring SmartKey
from MA
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The best and EASIEST locks to use

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
These locks from Quickset are great. Not only is the quality of the metal good, but they were the easiest ones to re-key! I put the value as 4/5 because they were a little on the expensive side, however you do not need to call a locksmith to re-key them for you. The re-keying of these doors took me a total of 2 mins, about 30 seconds a lock. And guess what, If you lose a key you have another set of keys you can rekey the locks to, as long as you bought more than one set.
I would recommend these locks to everyone that needs to replace old knobs and locks in their house. They are a sturdy products and easy to mount, re-key, and use.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, easy to re-key
Cons: a little $$$$
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Juno Satin Nickel Entry Knob and Single Cylinder Deadbolt Combo Pack Featuring SmartKey
from Yorktown, VA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great, but...

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Great product, but there are no instructions on how to flip the external knob cylinder so that the knob and deadbolt keys are aligned, as I had to do with 3 sets. The solution is found online with several easy-to-follow consumer videos that detail how. All you need is a couple of small flat-head screwdrivers and you're there. There is a tool for it, but neither the tool nor the instructions/video are on the company website. Re-Keying was a breeze, and the extras that come with the set can be used for visitors, then re-keyed back to your master.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: No Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Juno Satin Nickel Entry Knob and Single Cylinder Deadbolt Combo Pack Featuring SmartKey
from Vancouver, WA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

great value

PostedNovember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
easy fit and instalation, works great for the price!!!!
Pros: Easy to Install, Stylish
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Juno Satin Nickel Entry Knob and Single Cylinder Deadbolt Combo Pack Featuring SmartKey
from SD

SmartKey sometimes locks out all keys

PostedSeptember 12, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have several of these locks installed at my rentals. It makes for easy key replacement, but several times I've had to take them back to HD for a reset. It can happen at anytime and the only way to reset it is to have a reset tool. At least HD does this with no problem. You just have to get the lock off and that might be a problem if it's the single entry into the house.
The HD guys have noticed this problem too although they are not allowed to give bad reviews about the products they carry. But when they say something like "been getting a lot of these resets lately..." you know this might not be the best lock.
I have had at least 3 failure so far...all deadbolts.
Pros: Easy to Install, Stylish
Cons: may lockout all keys
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Juno Satin Nickel Entry Knob and Single Cylinder Deadbolt Combo Pack Featuring SmartKey
from Denver Co
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good system for re-keying whole house

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Very easy to install and re-set the key. I used these on all my doors, so the whole house has one key - They also feel very strong and solid.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 9 >>