728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Door Knobs & Hardware or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Juno Satin Nickel Entry Knob and Single Cylinder Deadbolt Combo Pack Featuring SmartKey

Juno Satin Nickel Entry Knob and Single Cylinder Deadbolt Combo Pack Featuring SmartKey

Step up to designer styles and superior security with Kwikset signature series products. Juno's elegant, traditional style blends perfectly with most design styles. The 980 deadbolt is both tough and attractive. The crisp, clean appearance of the Satin Nickel finish adds to the overall look of the product and brings a modern feel. The Combo pack provides 2 locking points- keyed entry and a deadbolt. SmartKey Re-key Technology allows you to control who has access to your home. Re-key the lock yourself in seconds in 3 easy steps. Have you recently moved or had a child lose a key. It’s time to re-key. SmartKey provides the highest level of residential security and features BumpGuard to protect against lock bumping.
Overall rating:
4.313 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(198 reviews) 198
Open Ratings Snapshot
87%of customersrecommend this product169 of 194reviews
Rating Breakdown 198 reviews
4.3 out of 5
5
(127)
4
(41)
3
(8)
2
(9)
1
(13)
Quality 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
87%of customersrecommend this product169 of 194reviews
Customer questions and answers:
23 Questions | 97 Answers
Customer reviews for Juno Satin Nickel Entry Knob and Single Cylinder Deadbolt Combo Pack Featuring SmartKey
Review 1 for Juno Satin Nickel Entry Knob and Single Cylinder Deadbolt Combo Pack Featuring SmartKey
from Wake Forest, NC
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

A step forward and two steps back

PostedApril 19, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
While I love the idea of Smartkey, and that they have worked to make it "bump-proof", I really dislike what they did with the connection for the inside handle to the outside handle. Normally the screws would go directly through the inside handle into the receiving sockets that are part of the outside handle assembly. However, for some reason Kwikset found it a good idea that you have to "screw" the inside handle onto the screws for the outside handle. This is really a pain in the rear.
I understand why they would do it, since it's normally fairly difficult to get the screws to both line up with the receiving sockets at the same time. But the handle really can't be tightened properly with this approach they are now using. I've seen it many times before in working with doors over the years, and I've always disliked it. It never works to provide a secure installation, as you either have the screws too tight and the latch won't freely return, or you have it too loose and you can literally turn the inside handle right off the screws.
Two thumbs down for this choice in design. I am returning this product right now, about an hour after I purchased it.
Cons: poor design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Response from By KwiksetApril 22, 2015By KwiksetApril 22, 2015
Hello jwrenn29,
Thank you for your review, and feedback on our products. We appreciate your kind words on SmartKey, and will take your feedback on the inside screw assembly to heart, and pass it along to our product development team. The safety and security of our customers is our number one concern, but we are always open to improvements of our products through real world customer use. If you have any questions or concerns regarding any Kiwkset product please feel free to contact our customer support team at 1-800-327-LOCK (5625).
Thank you, Kwikset kwikset
Review 2 for Juno Satin Nickel Entry Knob and Single Cylinder Deadbolt Combo Pack Featuring SmartKey
from Erie
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great for rentals units

PostedMay 6, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I use the smart key sets on rental units. I can change the keys without taking the locks off.
Keys are changed every time a new renter moves in.
I can also change the key if I have a contractor doing work. When they arefinished I just change it back.
Pros: Easy to Install, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Juno Satin Nickel Entry Knob and Single Cylinder Deadbolt Combo Pack Featuring SmartKey
from Lake Oswego, OR
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great purchase

PostedJune 16, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Easy to install. Easy to re-key. Great for a rental, or your personal residence.
Pros: Easy to Install, Stylish, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Juno Satin Nickel Entry Knob and Single Cylinder Deadbolt Combo Pack Featuring SmartKey

Rekeying is simple, but key in door knob is upside down for my door

PostedJune 3, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I replaced my current knob and deadbolt with this set:
Pros:
~ Door knob was easy to install.
~ Re-keying was easy, AND can be easily re-keyed to give someone access, then changed back!
Cons:
~ For my RH in-swing door, the knob must be installed with the key upside down compared to the deadbolt which is a pain when unlocking the door. I will call the 1800 # to get the part to fix this, but they should include it in the box.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: instructions could be easier to read
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Juno Satin Nickel Entry Knob and Single Cylinder Deadbolt Combo Pack Featuring SmartKey
from North Carolina, USA
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice, easy to do, but needed tool to turn cylinder

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Bought this to replace older handles and deadbolts. Easy to install, replaced 3 sets within an hour. Had to call the 800 number to get a tool to reverse the cylinder on the handles. (a piece of metal that should have been included). Otherwise it was upside down with our installation. Got that within the week and was able to switch them within 15 minutes. Rekeying the lock was easy. Product is sturdy, lock feels tight. With our old handles you were able to open the door in the lock position, go outside and, voilà, you were locked out! These knobs need to be unlocked to open the door from the inside and subsequently you need to relock it if that's what you want to do! Would definitely recommend.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Stylish, Nice Design
Cons: tool to switch cylinder not included
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Juno Satin Nickel Entry Knob and Single Cylinder Deadbolt Combo Pack Featuring SmartKey
from WA state
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to replace old locks, but doorknob outside key hole upsidedown

PostedJanuary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Very easy to replace existing Kwikset locks (old ones were not smartkey) since holes already there, but I had heard from other reviews you had to get a part (free) from Quikset depending which way your doors open. Before removing the old locks, I read the instructions to make sure I understood what to do. I wasn't sure if I needed the part, so I called the 800 number and told the guy which way my door opened and he gave me bad information. He said it wouldn't matter which way the door opened, but something told me he didn't know what he was talking about (and I was right), so I asked him to mail me the free tool anyhow.
I went ahead and installed the deadbolt and he was right about that piece - I just flipped it around so the throw slid in the correct direction (it says "top" on the cylinder piece), but when I installed the knob piece, you can't really flip anything around so the keyed half (outside knob lock) is now upsidedown, which is what I had asked the guy about (he said that wouldn't happen). The instructions don't say anything about this, so I find it misleading that they advertise the product as being able to work on any door (reversible). I heard it's not good to have the lock upsidedown because the tumblers are then on the bottom & can catch water, etc. Makes sense.
I will fix it when I get the tool. FYI, from the outside, as you are facing the door, the hinges are on the right side, so if any of your doors are hung this direction, you will need to get the special tool. Unfortunatley, my other 2 doors are the same way so I will wait for the tool to replace those locks.
Pros: Easy to Install, Stylish
Cons: not reversible, 800# bad information
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Juno Satin Nickel Entry Knob and Single Cylinder Deadbolt Combo Pack Featuring SmartKey
from Central Indiana
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent set. Easy to re-key.

PostedMay 12, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I had to enlarge the slot for the deadbolt. It was a homemade steel plate for extra security. No big deal, just a bit of filing.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Stylish
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Juno Satin Nickel Entry Knob and Single Cylinder Deadbolt Combo Pack Featuring SmartKey
from Acworth, GA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Entry Door Knobs

PostedApril 28, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The knobs work just as advertised. They were easy to install and I would recommend this type of door knob-deadbolt combo pack.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install
Cons: no cons
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Juno Satin Nickel Entry Knob and Single Cylinder Deadbolt Combo Pack Featuring SmartKey
from Chicago
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It's the only lock I will ever buy

PostedApril 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
As a landlord, I have to change locks all the time and it's a pain. This lock is just as easy to install, it's good and sturdy and best of all, I only have to make new keys, instead of getting my tool box. It costs a few dollars more than a standard lock, but in situations where lock changes are frequent, this lock is a must!!
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Stylish, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Juno Satin Nickel Entry Knob and Single Cylinder Deadbolt Combo Pack Featuring SmartKey
from Olathe, KS, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great Lock Set

PostedJune 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This has to be one of the easiest door lock installations I have ever done. It is great. They are high grade and make you feel more secure in your home or business. I like the smart key feature in that I no longer have to re-key the house every time I change a lock. It is very important that you read and follow the directions on how to use your smart key. The fact that they are "bump proof" is an added security feature. They install in the existing openings and if you have to cut an opening, again follow the instructions. If you do what it says and take your time it will work great out for you. They look nice and add value to the house in that incoming owners can change the locks themselves and not pay a locksmith,
These locks are great in all aspects.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Easy to Move, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, follow instructions
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Juno Satin Nickel Entry Knob and Single Cylinder Deadbolt Combo Pack Featuring SmartKey
from Marietta, GA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good value and quality

PostedApril 14, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We purchased 6 of these for our house and are very satisfied with the quality.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Juno Satin Nickel Entry Knob and Single Cylinder Deadbolt Combo Pack Featuring SmartKey
from Southington, CT
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Door lock

PostedApril 11, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Looks great, works great, and easy to install. Smart key makes it simple to program existing keys. So far so good.
Pros: Easy to Install, Stylish, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Juno Satin Nickel Entry Knob and Single Cylinder Deadbolt Combo Pack Featuring SmartKey
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Doorknobs!

PostedMarch 23, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I've used Kwikset Smart Key knobs on all outside doors whenever I've purchased a new house. They are quite easy to install (take a bit of time usually to get everything just right, but that's more user error/slowness than a product fault :)), look beautiful, and function well. They feel sturdy and well-made. I never ran into issues with my Kwikset locks at my old house and just installed this particular set this weekend at my new house. Highly recommend!
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Stylish, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Juno Satin Nickel Entry Knob and Single Cylinder Deadbolt Combo Pack Featuring SmartKey
from Atlanta, GA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great deadbolt combo pack! Very easy to re-key your existing key

PostedApril 7, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Very simple to install, the re-key instructions are very simple to follow and prevents future hassle of changing keys in the future
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Juno Satin Nickel Entry Knob and Single Cylinder Deadbolt Combo Pack Featuring SmartKey
from Gresham, OR 97030, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product

PostedApril 25, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Looks clean and classy. A little awkward to install and actually scratched the nob while trying to angle my screwdriver in to get the screws to tighten. Next one I installed I wrapped it in tape to create a buffer. Worked great. Durable product.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Nice Design
Cons: angle to install screw promoted scratching of prod
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Juno Satin Nickel Entry Knob and Single Cylinder Deadbolt Combo Pack Featuring SmartKey

Great product!!

PostedApril 7, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The door nob works great as intented. Really happy with
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Juno Satin Nickel Entry Knob and Single Cylinder Deadbolt Combo Pack Featuring SmartKey
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Excellent Purchase

PostedDecember 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I just moved into my new home and I ordered dead bolts and new door knob for my front door and my son installed it. I then decided to get another set for my back door. After he installed them, he said that there was a "smart key" and he arranged it so the front and back door have the same key. Wonderful product and now I feel so safe. Also, after I ordered my fan and door know and it was delivered on a day I was not home... I was worried about what I heard on TV about people taking packages... well the wonderful driver went around back of my house and left it on the porch so no one from the street could see it. Wonderful delivery person.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Juno Satin Nickel Entry Knob and Single Cylinder Deadbolt Combo Pack Featuring SmartKey
from Tucson
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I'm Happy

PostedMarch 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Easy install.
Good instructions.
Contacted them via onsite contact form to request Cylinder Removal Tool to correct handedness for one upside down lock.
Tool arrived within one week (no charge).
I'm happy.
Pros: Easy to Install, Stylish, Durable, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Juno Satin Nickel Entry Knob and Single Cylinder Deadbolt Combo Pack Featuring SmartKey
from VA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't know how it works but I love it!

PostedFebruary 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
After 14 years in the house, some of the locksets were getting worn. REally didn't want to re-key a bunch of new ones then I found these. I was able to do my replacements and then a remodel with 6 new doors, two on the deck to the eave storage, two on the new mechanical space one on the poolhouse and the new garage door, all in about 5 minutes a door. Check back in 5-10 years and I'll let you know how they hold up.
Pros: Easy to Install, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Juno Satin Nickel Entry Knob and Single Cylinder Deadbolt Combo Pack Featuring SmartKey
from Peoria, AZ, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Smartkey is great!

PostedMarch 3, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Easy to install and the Smartkey feature makes it very easy to rekey to the existing key combination!
Pros: Easy to Install, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 10 >>